| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13823
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
03/28/17 11:13 pm
Wow- Naledi- you were Maths!! I am an English teacher and so agree. I am so careful - don't always get it right but try to make sure every interaction is positive.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Price He Pays

Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: December 17, 2016 19:19 · For: Chapter 1
Mm...read this on Teitho and I did vote for it. Dang I was going to send an 'I loved it' back then but forgot! Seriously, it almost made me cry (and I'm not a crier). I just kept thinking of Legolas in Other Side of the Sea, and how very lonely he was! It's tempting to think mortals in Valinor could live forever, but that would be too good, I suppose.

Anyway, lovely piece! Congratulations. :)

Author's Response:

Thanks for this! Got a shit review on FFnet about this piece which ended up making me feel all my writing sucked so it's nice to get lovely reviews here!

I do see Legolas as being very lonely in Valinor. I don't think Valinor would ever be the right place for him and if he hadn't ended up with the sealonging I do think he would have remained in Arda forever. And when Gimli died...which he must have done eventually...poor Legolas. So sad. 

But there is a happy ending for him in the end....in my head. One day I will write it. 

 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 17, 2016 12:12 · For: Chapter 1

Congratulations on the 1st place. So well deserved!

 

I love this - yes, the relief (or disappointment in my case, lol) of Aragorn's recovery is only temporary for Legolas. The grief is yet to come. Do you see Gimli dying in Valinor, or being granted immortality? I've always seen him as dying there after an extended life, but some people have written him as immortal, and I rather like that  - save Legolas further grief :)



Author's Response:

I always see Gimli as living quite a long time in Valinor...given that he was already quite old when he got there...and. ...then yes, dying there. Poor Legolas :-(

sorry Aragorn had to recover. Blame Tolkien, not me!

 



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: December 17, 2016 10:22 · For: Chapter 1

this is a beautiful piece. it bring the reality of Elves outliving everyone so close. My heart bleeds for Legolas ... and for his friends who can't do anything against it.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  

It is just as hard for Legolas' friends I think...knowing this grief is there always and they are the ones causing it. Knowing he will be in pain forever when they die.

and as you say..there is nothing they can do. 



You must login () to review.