| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086592
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16049
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Narya
09/21/18 06:59 pm
Ahh, Spiced, thank you <3 hope everyone has a lovely weekend planned!
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:10 pm
Okay it is up
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:03 pm
Okay :)
Narya
09/21/18 03:36 pm
Thank you, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:17 pm
with SinS online now. Spiced, can you do a news post about the masterlist, or with a link to the AO3 collection? That would be lovely! <3
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:16 pm
Happy Friday to everyone! Narya, I hope you're feeling better soon! Viruses can be rather draining and demand a lot of patience. At least there's lots of lovely reading material
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Price He Pays

Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: December 17, 2016 19:19 · For: Chapter 1
Mm...read this on Teitho and I did vote for it. Dang I was going to send an 'I loved it' back then but forgot! Seriously, it almost made me cry (and I'm not a crier). I just kept thinking of Legolas in Other Side of the Sea, and how very lonely he was! It's tempting to think mortals in Valinor could live forever, but that would be too good, I suppose.

Anyway, lovely piece! Congratulations. :)

Author's Response:

Thanks for this! Got a shit review on FFnet about this piece which ended up making me feel all my writing sucked so it's nice to get lovely reviews here!

I do see Legolas as being very lonely in Valinor. I don't think Valinor would ever be the right place for him and if he hadn't ended up with the sealonging I do think he would have remained in Arda forever. And when Gimli died...which he must have done eventually...poor Legolas. So sad. 

But there is a happy ending for him in the end....in my head. One day I will write it. 

 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 17, 2016 12:12 · For: Chapter 1

Congratulations on the 1st place. So well deserved!

 

I love this - yes, the relief (or disappointment in my case, lol) of Aragorn's recovery is only temporary for Legolas. The grief is yet to come. Do you see Gimli dying in Valinor, or being granted immortality? I've always seen him as dying there after an extended life, but some people have written him as immortal, and I rather like that  - save Legolas further grief :)



Author's Response:

I always see Gimli as living quite a long time in Valinor...given that he was already quite old when he got there...and. ...then yes, dying there. Poor Legolas :-(

sorry Aragorn had to recover. Blame Tolkien, not me!

 



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: December 17, 2016 10:22 · For: Chapter 1

this is a beautiful piece. it bring the reality of Elves outliving everyone so close. My heart bleeds for Legolas ... and for his friends who can't do anything against it.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  

It is just as hard for Legolas' friends I think...knowing this grief is there always and they are the ones causing it. Knowing he will be in pain forever when they die.

and as you say..there is nothing they can do. 



You must login () to review.