| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7888
Word count: 23423549
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13826
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 7
Members:

Shoutbox

Ysilme
03/30/17 01:32 am
I suppose they'd have a heart attack if I told them I'm writing fanfic in English these days. *g*
Ysilme
03/30/17 01:31 am
experience like you, Alpha, but with English: two English teachers told me I should try to get a job where I wouldn't need foreign languages as they judged me too little giftd in languages.
Ysilme
03/30/17 01:29 am
My father was a maths teacher, too, which wasn't always easy for me, *g* - my classmates considered it as uncool in a major way to be daugther of a maths teacher. And I made a similar
ziggy
03/28/17 11:13 pm
Wow- Naledi- you were Maths!! I am an English teacher and so agree. I am so careful - don't always get it right but try to make sure every interaction is positive.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Shout Archive



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2017 21:34 · For: The Last Day of Work before the Holidays

A belated happy new year! Thanks for posting these! This last one was so poignant, though, knowing what I know about Faervel's fate :(



Author's Response: Same to you! Hope it's going well so far [PS I will finish the last of your Christmas tale and review I've just badly injured my wrists so everything has been on hold :(] And yes I thought I'd give Faervel a nice little tale all to himself after his tragic end :) Glad you liked; thanks for reviewing


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2017 21:30 · For: Christmas Party

This is odd - I'm sure I read this before. Did you post just before the site went down? Anyway, it's lovely to see Legolas and Aeglosson give Estel a confidence boost. It must be hard being the only man amidst all those perfect elves!



Author's Response: Yeah I think I lost it when the site went down so there was a bit of confusion there but I've finally put it back up again so thanks for (re-reading?) reading it.And yeah I honestly can't imagine how poor Estel lived with all those elves all those years and didn't end up an insecure mess. Guess it was down to his brothers and great friends :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2017 21:27 · For: Santa

Hahaha! Gandalf would make the perfect Santa!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 21, 2016 22:17 · For: The Smell of Christmas

Aha! So now we get the other side of the story! Galadriel is loving her visit, but can't let Thranduil know! I love that she's deliberately winding him up. Of course, if Thranduil finds out there really might be war!



Author's Response: I'm a little confused - I think I may have replied to this but never mind :) Thanks for reviewing. I love the thought of a little feud between Galadriel and Thranduil - I think they'd both be just as pompous and stubborn as each other!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 21, 2016 1:01 · For: Christmas Away From Home

Gah! Faerie timed out and I lost my review:(

Lovely story! I like to see the care Legolas takes with his troops:)



Author's Response: Oh no bad times :( YEs - Legolas is a very good Captain - and every little helps when you're away from your loved ones at the holidays - thanks for reviewing.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2016 21:01 · For: Christmas Letters

Hehehe! I thought Thranduil was being over-dramatic, but if Legolas's sister says she's really that bad, I hope they survice without war breaking out. Legolas is lucky to be out of the way!



Author's Response: I actually don't mind Galadriel but this just begged me to be written. And personally I think Legolas was quite enjoying the mayhem from his bolt hole in Imlardris. He's a bit cheeky like that. Thanks for reviewing :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2016 20:56 · For: Gift

What a fantatic gift! I wonder if Elrond knows Legolas is wandering round Imladris armed to the teeth!

 



Author's Response: I think wood elves would really prefer the practical things in life; and I also think they would be weapons fanatics - so yeah Glorfindel came up with the perfect gift :) And I think Elrond is aware but knows it is futile trying to disarm him


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 18, 2016 17:07 · For: Mistletoe

Ooh - thanks for the dedication. What a lovely surprise! And you must have guessed the subject of snogging Legolas is very close to my heart :)

I love poor, confused Legolas here - not surprising if mistletoe is only used as a poison in the Greenwood!

 



Author's Response: Hehe I hoped you would like it - I think Legolas snogging is a subject rather dear to us both :) And yes I do love writing/reading confused Legolas - amuses me no end :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2016 21:14 · For: By An Open Fire

Hehehe! I almost felt sorry for the poor orc. How dare the elves not be distracted enough by the holiday to fail to take notice of the orcs?!



Author's Response: I know right - silly elves how dare they be vigilant and protect their home. :D Little bit of silliness from me - glad you liked.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 15, 2016 22:43 · For: Ornaments

Ah - lovely to see Elladan and Erestor find their way back to their past familiarity:)



Author's Response: Yes it is. I've been a tiny bit obsessed this year bout how the twins would reconcile with their loved ones again once they had gotten over their deep grief. So this tale wormed it way in there. As ever thanks for dropping a line and letting me know what you think.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 15, 2016 22:37 · For: Tree Decorating

I love the image of the trees being decorated. I like the way you've used the symbols of midwinter - looking forward to lighter days - to show the hope that the Shadow will finally leave Mirkwood. 



Author's Response: Thank you - I'm glad it came across as planned and tat you liked it. I love Christmas decorations so his one just had to be in there. Thanks for reading :)


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2016 22:51 · For: A Hot Drink
This is so sweet! :)

Author's Response: Aww thanks for saying so - glad you liked :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2016 22:25 · For: A Hot Drink

This is a lovely moment between father and son. You've made me crave hot chocolate too!



Author's Response: Yea I really don't go in for bad guy Thranduil. I tink he would be a loving father and yeah - hot chocolate for the win! Especially with this grim weather :) Thanks for reading and letting me know what you think.


You must login () to review.