| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8482
Word count: 25720926
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15746
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 16
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Alquien
06/22/18 11:30 pm
Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble with live journal?
Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Narya
06/20/18 06:15 pm
I look forwards to catching up with you and your stories when I come back <3
Narya
06/20/18 06:14 pm
Hey guys! Just to let you know I'm going camping for ten days; if you don't see me online, don't think I've abandoned you all, I just won't have internet ;)
Shout Archive



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2016 23:08 · For: Chapter 1

I'm really pleased to see this here- I read it ages ago but it still strikes me as one of the most thoughtful post-Feanor pieces- the dark would have spooked everyone- you are right.

 

There are so many bleak images that foresee the future for them and this one really has stuck in my mind ever since I first read it.

 

:‘Makalaure’, repeats Maedhros and goes on, ‘if you are made to swear an oath a second time that was meant to be unbreakable in the first place, does it make the oath more unbreakable or less so?’

 

Maglor does not answer, but abruptly switches from the lowest strings to the highest and continues playing—if what he is doing can be called playing an instrument. The new chord, equally dissonant, produces a high-pitched shrieking effect. Everyone around Maglor continues flinching periodically except for Maedhros, who listens intently as before.

 

After a while, Maedhros says: ‘He didn’t trust us all that much, did he?’

 

Maglor lifts his hand and drops it on the strings and for a while they sit there, side-by-side, Maglor crouching exhaustedly beside his harp.

 

And then those last lines are so...utterly tragic. It really does imprison them for securely than anything Morgoth did. It just fills me with sadness every time I think of Maedhros- surely the most tragic character in Tolkien's work and let;s fce it, there are quite a number! FAbulous writing - still gives me a shiver to read those last lines.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, Ziggy! Good to hear those last lines still work for you--and that Maglor's reaction and Maedhros's thoughts still seem convincing!



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2016 16:04 · For: Chapter 1
This is wonderful. A moment I have not seen written about before. I've always wondered about the thoughts the sons of Fëanor had as the events progressed and their thoughts on the Oath. Tyelpe, never having sworn, but being the closest bystander, had a hard position. I love the question. Maedhros asks Maglor and their questioning if Fëanor truly trusted them and their resolve. This could have been a moment to step back but that is not his the House of Fëanor works, is it?

Author's Response:

Thank you very much!

When their father was dying before their eyes, it might be difficult for them to refuse to swear again or even consider doing so, but afterwards the fact that he asked for a second oath might well set them thinking.

Yes--very difficult for Celebrimbor--he's still very young here and, although he questions, he doesn't  exactly have any suggestions to make.

But of course already there are not all that many options left by this stage. Valinor is shut against them and the boats are burnt. It might be a moment to step back, but there is not all that much space to step into...



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2016 16:01 · For: Chapter 1
This is very sad, very poignant, truthful, and lovely. Thank you for posting it here :)

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for reading and letting me know you like it!



You must login () to review.