| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Nowhere Man by lotrfan General Audiences
What happened to Maglor after he cast the Silmaril into the sea? Did he survive into our own times? A modern AU about Maglor...
The Secret of Frywald by Ysilme Mature
Not long after the war of the Last Alliance, a dragon troubling the East Bight forces the captain of Imladris and the king...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The FŽanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
The Price of Vengeance II by Encairion Mature
Sequel to The Price of Vengeance I. A novella of the House of Finwë  from the end of the First Age to the fall...
Time Present, Time Future by Narya Teen
In Valinor, FindarŠto has a vision and Tyelkormo tries to comfort him. Fluff, friendship and foreshadowing. Rated Teen...
Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 81
Stories: 1616
Chapters: 8303
Word count: 25092456
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15291
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
02/20/18 07:48 pm
Sunny but cold - Iím in the Czech Republic :)
Glorfindel
02/19/18 06:25 pm
I hope you are somewhere sunny, Naledi :)
Naledi
02/19/18 08:21 am
Thanks for the birthday wishes, everyone! I had a lovely day and I still have a whole week of holiday to go!
Narya
02/18/18 06:09 pm
Have a wonderful day, Naledi :)
Glorfindel
02/18/18 05:31 pm
Happy Birthday. Naledi!
Spiced Wine
02/18/18 01:15 pm
Many Happy Returns, Naledi :)
Spiced Wine
02/18/18 01:15 pm
Many Happy Returns, Naledi :)
Gabriel
02/18/18 06:54 am
Happy Birthday, Naledi! Have a brilliant day! :)
Narya
02/16/18 10:17 pm
Have a great holiday, Naledi, and happy birthday for Sunday!
Naledi
02/16/18 10:03 pm
Thanks, Ziggy and Ysilme. My birthday is on Sunday. Iím on holiday at the moment, so not able to check in so often.
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2018 5:00 · For: Day 22
Poor Ithilir! I guess there was relief and sorrow in having to release his father to the stars and ultimately Valinor after so long trapped, houseless and wandering aimlessly the wilds of Middle-Earth.

I love the whole thing with Feredir. The journey he took Ithilir on to find his father, by using both Ithilir's Song and the tree's Song interwoven. A Really beautiful touch.

Now hopefully Elladan and Ithilir can be together. Fingers crossed, :)

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed that. Yes, there's relief and sorrow for Ithilir. His whole life has been focused on releasing his father, and now he's accomplished his task. What, or who, can fill the void in his life? I doubt the answer will surprise you!

Thanks for taking the time to review :)

 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2018 4:21 · For: Day 21
OMG! Naledi! Just disregard the last part of the last review I made. Ithilir is truly my hero. :)

Sacrificing himself the love he has for Elladan and the relationship they could have so no-one else has to. I guess its only fitting being Oropher's son. Only its a little troubling-the prospect of him not coming back from such a thing. It would devastate Elladan that's for sure. :(

The fact that he is steeling himself to return has got to be encouraging. :)

Author's Response:

Hehehe! I'm so glad you're warming to Ithilir. I know he didn't make a good first impression, so it's lovely to know he's redeeming himself in your eyes :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2018 3:40 · For: Day 20
Hi, Naledi!

Apologies for taking so long to review, and there's no worries about not getting back to me straight away. We've all been there. :)

See! Elladan! What are brothers for, if not to lift your spirits and give a little information that you did not know about before that would ultimately change your views on things.

I really don't think Elrohir offering himself up as Penitent is going to go down all that well. Not with Legolas or Elladan. Ithilir on the other hand might see this as a type of redemption on the part of the House of Elrond or he might just flatly argue against Elrohir's proposal altogether, for his Nephew's sake.

I guess I'll just have to wait and see. :)

Author's Response:

No problem, Gabriel - I'm sorry it's taken so long to respond!

I think you're right - no one is going to like Elrohir taking on the Penitent's role!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 21, 2018 5:42 · For: Day 19
This ritual is not sounding all that good or easy to accomplish, Naledi.

I wonder also, who is going to offer themselves as Penitent?

Author's Response:

You're right - it won't be easy. And nobody wants someone they care for to take the risk of offering themselves as Penitent, so there's a free-for-all coming up!

Thanks for taking the time to review, Gabriel :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2018 7:39 · For: Door 18
Oooh! So Elladan, huh! Able to tug at Ithilir's very core, his spirit, to fan the flames of yearning that has Ithilir a quivering mess of desire and not even with Elrond did he feel this oneness. That's got to be a slap in the face!

So he does have feelings for Elladan. I'm so glad. Now he's going to sacrifice them so Elladan can be safe from the price that will be demanded.

Wow! Ithilir has gone up a rung or two in my estimation of him. :)

Onto the next chapter! :D

Author's Response:

Yes, Ithilir has feelings for Elladan. And now he's terrified Elladan will be forced to pay the price.

I'm glad you approve of Ithilir's act of sacrifice :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 14, 2018 12:41 · For: Day 17
Its good to see Elrond very accepting of Elladan's intentions toward Ithilir. But not without warning.

So now Elladan looks like he has been meddling in Ithilir's affairs. Not good.

And what on earth is Elladan doing admitting his love for Ithilir so early on in their relationship! Oh well, I guess I'll just have to see how Ithilir takes this. :)

Author's Response:

Sorry I'm so late replying. Yes, Elrond recognises his true soul-mate is Celebrian, so can be accepting of Elladan's feelings. But, yeah - that wasn't a good time to admit his love, especially when Ithilir's angry with Elladan for meddling into his business.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 11, 2018 9:29 · For: Day 16
OMG! Naledi! I couldn't stop laughing at your chapter notes. :D

*Behind door 16 we have a meeting with Elrond. I was tempted to make it a naked meeting especially for Cheekybeak, but even the thought made me want to scrub my brain with bleach.*

Anyway onto the chapter.

I'm not at all surprised that Elrond and Celebrian have no secrets between them.
But Elladan still needs to tell his father. I'm not sure how Elrond will take it, but its not like he can do anything about it.

And Celebrian has saved the day! yay! Well, hopefully, if all runs smoothly.

Can't wait to see how this all turns out. :)

Author's Response:

Hehehe! Glad you enjoyed the chapter notes as well as the chapter!

Yes, I couldn't see Elrond marrying Celebrian without her knowing all about his past, but I don't think his past with Ithilir is something he'd be comfortable telling his sons about. Still, as you say, now Elladan is involved with Ithilir, it's time father and son confided in one another.

Thanks for reviewing!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2017 11:39 · For: Day 15
I wish Ithilir would go to Elrond lay things out on the table, no matter how ugly or painful and just talk to him. Try and come to some understanding. Is it just his pride stopping him or something else?

I'm enjoying getting back into this story. :)

Author's Response:

It’s nearly a year since I wrote this, so the details are a bit hazy now, but I don’t think I had a scene where Ithilir and Elrond really communicated. Something of an omission, as I agree they needed to talk. However, I was already juggling four points of view, so that vital conversation slipped through the cracks!

Lovely to see you back! Thanks for your reviews!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2017 11:26 · For: Day 14
I completely understand Ithilir's dislike of Elrond, Naledi.

On the one hand he feels guilt at having his life saved when he believes there were much more important issues to consider.

And on the other feels Elrond betrayed him, his father, his family and probably every Sinda for not observing the Sindarin way and traditions, especially considering Elrond put himself forward as Sindarin first and foremost to win Oropher's alliances. Tut! Tut! Elrond.

It's rather a sad state of affairs.

Author's Response:

Absolutely. As far as Ithilir is concerned, Elrond’s behaviour is not only a betrayal but proof that Elrond doesn’t respect the beliefs of the Greenwood elves. Elrond, of course, had valid reasons for doing what he did, but Ithilir can’t see that. Ithilir’s memories are also distorted by his injuries. It is very sad 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2017 10:53 · For: Day 13
I hope Ithilir doesn't break Elladan's heart and backtrack and withdraw from his own feelings for him.

Why is Ithilir becoming so impossible. This whole trial is becoming more and more about him and less about Legolas' happiness. Otherwise he would have already given his blessing.

Poor Elrohir just can't do anything right in this trial.

Author's Response:

It is more about Ithilir, but to be fair to him, he doesn't see that. He genuinely believes he has Legolas's best interests at heart and wants to stop him making what he sees as a terrible mistake. Elven marriage is for ever, so marrying the wrong person is a devastating mistake. It's just that Ithilir doesn't see that he's imposing all his experience onto Legolas. It doesn't help that Elrohir is so similar to Elrond...

Thanks for taking the time to review!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2017 10:32 · For: Day 12
Oh! I really hope everything works out for Elladan with Ithilir. He seems a little out of sorts, a loose end, what with Elrohir's betrothal to Legolas and all. It would be nice to see him in love too and maybe planning a future with that special someone.

Author's Response:

Yes, I love writing Legolas and Elrohir together, but always feel sorry for Elladan that he must be lonely. He and Elrohir are so close that seeing Elrohir turn to another has got to hurt, no matter how much he wants Elrohir to be happy.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2017 10:03 · For: Day 11
Damn! Naledi! I was hoping for more naked Elves!

I don't think Elladan was expecting to feel anything for Ithilir as Ithilir was not anticipating the same for a son of Elrond. The irony! These two need a stiff drink and a good talking to, or is it a good drink and a stiff talking to. Lol!

Author's Response:

Sorry! Yeah, this was supposed to be all sparkly and Christmassy and ended up dark and angsty.

Ithilir certainly hadn't intended an entanglement with a son of Elrond. He already thinks Legolas is making a mistake!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 14, 2017 6:29 · For: Day 10
Yes! The plot just thickens concerning Ithilir. He strikes me as a bit of an enigma himself.

If Elladan's right, why does he feel the need to keep their interlude a secret?

And I must say, Ithilir seems to go all out with his lovers. Doesn't leave anything to the imagination. What is that all about?
He must be just a very sexual being, not that Elladan's complaining. Lol.

Getting good! Naledi!

Author's Response:

hehehe! Yes, Ithilir doesn't believe in holding back with his lovers. He's embraced the Silvan culture, which is very open when it comes to sexuality (in my imagination, anyway).

 

I'm glad you're enjoying it. Thanks for taking the time to review.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 14, 2017 6:13 · For: Day 9
Yes I'm with Legolas, what is Ithilir playing at, putting gorgeous Elrohir through such a thing, just because he blames Elrond for Oropher's and many many Silvan deaths at Dagorlad and has a lot of lingering problems with that, he shouldn't be letting that cloud his judgement with Elrohir.

And does that mean he's actually using Elladan? Another way of getting back at Elrond. I hope that this is not the case. :)

Author's Response:

Yes, Ithilir is laying Elrond's actions onto Elrohir at the moment. It's not fair, but the pain has been festering for years. He's not using Elladan to get back at Elrond, but he's in total denial about the depths of his feelings and is doing his best to compartmentalise them.

Thanks for your review! I'm glad you're enjoying it.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 14, 2017 5:53 · For: Day 8
Ithilir seems to have a middle earth version of PTSD. Which is such a horrible thing to experience. So losing himself in something that gives him pleasure, with someone who is a pleasure to be with, I guess would chase away the dark, even if for just a short time.

And why is Ithilir so forward and or controlling, especially when it comes to lovers. It's just how he comes across. Maybe Elladan likes it that way, but I would hope Elladan would be treated as an equal not as a play thing.

Sorry Naledi! Just getting carried away with the intricacies of the characters. I really hope I'm reading them right, otherwise this review will seem a bit confusing to you. Lol.

Author's Response:

Oops - sorry for the late reply. I thought I'd already replied, but obviously that was only in my head!

When I write my advent calendars, they are pretty much written from day to day with no planning because I'm desperately scrabbling to get something posted. So I'm always interested to find out what others read into characters' actions. Ithilir was deeply affected by what happened at Dagorlad, although I see it more as feeling betrayed by his lover, who was forced to make a difficult choice. Ithilir does see Elladan as an equal, but he's also in denial about their relationship being about anything more than a fleeting pleasure.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2017 9:52 · For: Day 7
I'm with Elrohir, what in all of Arda sort of trials are these?

It seems this is more about the weight of command and sacrificing what you want against what is right. I wonder what's behind it all? Why Ithilir has chosen this rather than trials of physical prowess? Interesting!

You have me intrigued now, Naledi! :)

Author's Response:

There is a reason behind the trials Ithilir has chosen - more will be revealed in later chapters. He genuinely believes what he's doing is in Legolas's best interest, but there's more to it than that.

Thanks for your reviews. I'm glad you're still enjoying it :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2017 9:21 · For: Day 6
Sorry it's been a while, Naledi!

I love the way Arwen is some sort of cheeky matchmaker. :)

And Ithilir, he doesn't waste time does he. Just jumps into bed at a moments notice with whomever is offering. Lol.

Author's Response:

No worries - it's great to see you back!

Yup - neither Arwen or Ithilir are being particularly subtle here! Ithilir in particular has no patience when he sees something he wants!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2017 2:27 · For: Day 4
Oh! The images of Legolas in a kilt and an ornate collar and nothing else.

Mmm, Mmmm! yum o!

Author's Response:

You can thank Alpha for that image. After reading her Protege series, I'm totally in love with the idea of Legolas in a kilt :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 25, 2017 14:35 · For: Day 3
I'm really interested in finding out more on these Binding Trials, they sound intriguing. I hope they're not too difficult to accomplish, otherwise Elrohir's going to have a hard time convincing Ithilir of his worth as his Nephew's husband. :)

Author's Response:

Sorry it's taken me so long to reply. Yes, the Binding Trials. I knew nothing about them until they suddenly appeared in this chapter. I had to work out what they were pretty quickly!

Thanks for your review!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2017 9:17 · For: Day 2
Yes, who is this Prince Ithilir?

Is he Thranduil's brother or Thranduil himself. The plot thickens.

I really don't want to see Elladan disappointed or left out.

Author's Response:

Aha! All will be revealed in good time! Don't worry, Elladan gets his fair share of the action in this story.

Thanks for taking the time to review. I'm glad you're enjoying it.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2017 8:56 · For: Day 1
When I read the words;

'He was close, so close!' Before reading any further, it read like someone was close to an orgasmic conclusion, and I thought, 'Gee, Naledi really gets straight to the point.' Lol. Or maybe I need to get my thoughts out of the gutter. :D

Author's Response:

Ha! Yes, I can see how you could put that interpretation on the start! As much as I love writing about my favourite elves indulging in their favourite pursuit, I usually give the reader time to prepare before they dive in, as it were ;)



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2016 23:24 · For: Day 24
I love the scenery description where the binding took place. In all, a wonderful end to a lovely story :)

Author's Response:

Thanks, Glorfindel. I'm glad you enjoyed this. It was lovely to read all your reviews, so thanks for the support. It really helped me find the motivation to write when I was pushed for time.



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2016 23:18 · For: Day 23
This is going to be a double wedding, isn't it?

Author's Response:

No, this is Legolas and Elrohir's big moment. I won't let anyone steal their thunder. Besides, I have to have another idea waiting in the wings if I get time to do another advent calendar next year!



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2016 23:16 · For: Day 22
Spotted this: Feredir signed the others to form a rough circle around him, then he said to Feredir,‘Now reach inside yourself. Feel all the bonds joining you to loved ones... I think you meant Ithilir.

Elladan is a bit dramatic isn't he? He would be good in the old silent movies lol

Author's Response:

Oops! Yes. It's usually Elladan and Elrohir that I muddle up so I didn't check to see if I'd muddled up Ithilir with someone else! 

I like the idea of Elladan in a silent movie. I think he'd really enjoy hamming it up!



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2016 23:06 · For: Day 21
Well that's nicely sorted out! Thank goodness lol

Author's Response:

I keep trying to respond and getting the 'bad gateway' error, so I hope it will post this time. Yes, things are gradually getting better for our heroes!

Thanks for reviewing!



You must login () to review.