| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A Faerie Slashy Advent Calendar by Naledi Mature
A round-robin advent calendar. Elrohir is pursued by orcs to the eaves of Mirkwood. What happens next is anyone's guess.
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Child of Dying Embers by arafinwean Mature
"We are not the same, child of Melian, you were born of love and trust and I? I was born of hate and envy."She is not supposed...
Change by arafinwean Mature
Fingon takes Maedhros from Thangorodrim, but the journey isn't pleasant, nor is all forgiven.Maedhros is released from Thangorodrim...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Ossė's Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1597
Chapters: 8199
Word count: 24672775
Authors: 137
Reviews: 14891
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
12/12/17 11:12 pm
Oh, ziggy, btw, are you happy with Friday or is Saturday easier for you? I can do either.
Narya
12/12/17 03:27 pm
Great pair of chapters, ziggy and cheeky! I'm so excited to see what happens next.
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/12/17 02:12 pm
Ok Ziggy Thursday it is for me!
cheekybeak
12/12/17 10:28 am
I managed it :-) and even got the next chapter up early! Not my best, but it was a busy day. That's my excuse.
ziggy
12/12/17 07:26 am
@Cheekybeak- Haha! Serves you right for the last curved ball:D Nelya- yes, fine. You do Thursday, I'll find it easier doing Friday anyway.
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/12/17 01:14 am
Ziggy do you have Thursday too? If not I can do Thursday instead of Friday if someone else wants to pick up Friday? Let me know!
cheekybeak
12/12/17 01:05 am
Oh, seriously, Ziggy?? What are you doing to me?! How do I follow that???
cheekybeak
12/12/17 12:58 am
Me!
ziggy
12/12/17 12:16 am
OK- sorry ! Who's next?
ziggy
12/11/17 10:41 pm
I am onto the next chapter but got home very late- apologies. Scribbling away as we speak (sort of)
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2017 11:39 · For: Day 15
I wish Ithilir would go to Elrond lay things out on the table, no matter how ugly or painful and just talk to him. Try and come to some understanding. Is it just his pride stopping him or something else?

I'm enjoying getting back into this story. :)

Author's Response:

It’s nearly a year since I wrote this, so the details are a bit hazy now, but I don’t think I had a scene where Ithilir and Elrond really communicated. Something of an omission, as I agree they needed to talk. However, I was already juggling four points of view, so that vital conversation slipped through the cracks!

Lovely to see you back! Thanks for your reviews!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2017 11:26 · For: Day 14
I completely understand Ithilir's dislike of Elrond, Naledi.

On the one hand he feels guilt at having his life saved when he believes there were much more important issues to consider.

And on the other feels Elrond betrayed him, his father, his family and probably every Sinda for not observing the Sindarin way and traditions, especially considering Elrond put himself forward as Sindarin first and foremost to win Oropher's alliances. Tut! Tut! Elrond.

It's rather a sad state of affairs.

Author's Response:

Absolutely. As far as Ithilir is concerned, Elrond’s behaviour is not only a betrayal but proof that Elrond doesn’t respect the beliefs of the Greenwood elves. Elrond, of course, had valid reasons for doing what he did, but Ithilir can’t see that. Ithilir’s memories are also distorted by his injuries. It is very sad 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2017 10:53 · For: Day 13
I hope Ithilir doesn't break Elladan's heart and backtrack and withdraw from his own feelings for him.

Why is Ithilir becoming so impossible. This whole trial is becoming more and more about him and less about Legolas' happiness. Otherwise he would have already given his blessing.

Poor Elrohir just can't do anything right in this trial.

Author's Response:

It is more about Ithilir, but to be fair to him, he doesn't see that. He genuinely believes he has Legolas's best interests at heart and wants to stop him making what he sees as a terrible mistake. Elven marriage is for ever, so marrying the wrong person is a devastating mistake. It's just that Ithilir doesn't see that he's imposing all his experience onto Legolas. It doesn't help that Elrohir is so similar to Elrond...

Thanks for taking the time to review!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2017 10:32 · For: Day 12
Oh! I really hope everything works out for Elladan with Ithilir. He seems a little out of sorts, a loose end, what with Elrohir's betrothal to Legolas and all. It would be nice to see him in love too and maybe planning a future with that special someone.

Author's Response:

Yes, I love writing Legolas and Elrohir together, but always feel sorry for Elladan that he must be lonely. He and Elrohir are so close that seeing Elrohir turn to another has got to hurt, no matter how much he wants Elrohir to be happy.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2017 10:03 · For: Day 11
Damn! Naledi! I was hoping for more naked Elves!

I don't think Elladan was expecting to feel anything for Ithilir as Ithilir was not anticipating the same for a son of Elrond. The irony! These two need a stiff drink and a good talking to, or is it a good drink and a stiff talking to. Lol!

Author's Response:

Sorry! Yeah, this was supposed to be all sparkly and Christmassy and ended up dark and angsty.

Ithilir certainly hadn't intended an entanglement with a son of Elrond. He already thinks Legolas is making a mistake!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 14, 2017 6:29 · For: Day 10
Yes! The plot just thickens concerning Ithilir. He strikes me as a bit of an enigma himself.

If Elladan's right, why does he feel the need to keep their interlude a secret?

And I must say, Ithilir seems to go all out with his lovers. Doesn't leave anything to the imagination. What is that all about?
He must be just a very sexual being, not that Elladan's complaining. Lol.

Getting good! Naledi!

Author's Response:

hehehe! Yes, Ithilir doesn't believe in holding back with his lovers. He's embraced the Silvan culture, which is very open when it comes to sexuality (in my imagination, anyway).

 

I'm glad you're enjoying it. Thanks for taking the time to review.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 14, 2017 6:13 · For: Day 9
Yes I'm with Legolas, what is Ithilir playing at, putting gorgeous Elrohir through such a thing, just because he blames Elrond for Oropher's and many many Silvan deaths at Dagorlad and has a lot of lingering problems with that, he shouldn't be letting that cloud his judgement with Elrohir.

And does that mean he's actually using Elladan? Another way of getting back at Elrond. I hope that this is not the case. :)

Author's Response:

Yes, Ithilir is laying Elrond's actions onto Elrohir at the moment. It's not fair, but the pain has been festering for years. He's not using Elladan to get back at Elrond, but he's in total denial about the depths of his feelings and is doing his best to compartmentalise them.

Thanks for your review! I'm glad you're enjoying it.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 14, 2017 5:53 · For: Day 8
Ithilir seems to have a middle earth version of PTSD. Which is such a horrible thing to experience. So losing himself in something that gives him pleasure, with someone who is a pleasure to be with, I guess would chase away the dark, even if for just a short time.

And why is Ithilir so forward and or controlling, especially when it comes to lovers. It's just how he comes across. Maybe Elladan likes it that way, but I would hope Elladan would be treated as an equal not as a play thing.

Sorry Naledi! Just getting carried away with the intricacies of the characters. I really hope I'm reading them right, otherwise this review will seem a bit confusing to you. Lol.

Author's Response:

Oops - sorry for the late reply. I thought I'd already replied, but obviously that was only in my head!

When I write my advent calendars, they are pretty much written from day to day with no planning because I'm desperately scrabbling to get something posted. So I'm always interested to find out what others read into characters' actions. Ithilir was deeply affected by what happened at Dagorlad, although I see it more as feeling betrayed by his lover, who was forced to make a difficult choice. Ithilir does see Elladan as an equal, but he's also in denial about their relationship being about anything more than a fleeting pleasure.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2017 9:52 · For: Day 7
I'm with Elrohir, what in all of Arda sort of trials are these?

It seems this is more about the weight of command and sacrificing what you want against what is right. I wonder what's behind it all? Why Ithilir has chosen this rather than trials of physical prowess? Interesting!

You have me intrigued now, Naledi! :)

Author's Response:

There is a reason behind the trials Ithilir has chosen - more will be revealed in later chapters. He genuinely believes what he's doing is in Legolas's best interest, but there's more to it than that.

Thanks for your reviews. I'm glad you're still enjoying it :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2017 9:21 · For: Day 6
Sorry it's been a while, Naledi!

I love the way Arwen is some sort of cheeky matchmaker. :)

And Ithilir, he doesn't waste time does he. Just jumps into bed at a moments notice with whomever is offering. Lol.

Author's Response:

No worries - it's great to see you back!

Yup - neither Arwen or Ithilir are being particularly subtle here! Ithilir in particular has no patience when he sees something he wants!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2017 2:27 · For: Day 4
Oh! The images of Legolas in a kilt and an ornate collar and nothing else.

Mmm, Mmmm! yum o!

Author's Response:

You can thank Alpha for that image. After reading her Protege series, I'm totally in love with the idea of Legolas in a kilt :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 25, 2017 14:35 · For: Day 3
I'm really interested in finding out more on these Binding Trials, they sound intriguing. I hope they're not too difficult to accomplish, otherwise Elrohir's going to have a hard time convincing Ithilir of his worth as his Nephew's husband. :)

Author's Response:

Sorry it's taken me so long to reply. Yes, the Binding Trials. I knew nothing about them until they suddenly appeared in this chapter. I had to work out what they were pretty quickly!

Thanks for your review!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2017 9:17 · For: Day 2
Yes, who is this Prince Ithilir?

Is he Thranduil's brother or Thranduil himself. The plot thickens.

I really don't want to see Elladan disappointed or left out.

Author's Response:

Aha! All will be revealed in good time! Don't worry, Elladan gets his fair share of the action in this story.

Thanks for taking the time to review. I'm glad you're enjoying it.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2017 8:56 · For: Day 1
When I read the words;

'He was close, so close!' Before reading any further, it read like someone was close to an orgasmic conclusion, and I thought, 'Gee, Naledi really gets straight to the point.' Lol. Or maybe I need to get my thoughts out of the gutter. :D

Author's Response:

Ha! Yes, I can see how you could put that interpretation on the start! As much as I love writing about my favourite elves indulging in their favourite pursuit, I usually give the reader time to prepare before they dive in, as it were ;)



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2016 23:24 · For: Day 24
I love the scenery description where the binding took place. In all, a wonderful end to a lovely story :)

Author's Response:

Thanks, Glorfindel. I'm glad you enjoyed this. It was lovely to read all your reviews, so thanks for the support. It really helped me find the motivation to write when I was pushed for time.



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2016 23:18 · For: Day 23
This is going to be a double wedding, isn't it?

Author's Response:

No, this is Legolas and Elrohir's big moment. I won't let anyone steal their thunder. Besides, I have to have another idea waiting in the wings if I get time to do another advent calendar next year!



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2016 23:16 · For: Day 22
Spotted this: Feredir signed the others to form a rough circle around him, then he said to Feredir,‘Now reach inside yourself. Feel all the bonds joining you to loved ones... I think you meant Ithilir.

Elladan is a bit dramatic isn't he? He would be good in the old silent movies lol

Author's Response:

Oops! Yes. It's usually Elladan and Elrohir that I muddle up so I didn't check to see if I'd muddled up Ithilir with someone else! 

I like the idea of Elladan in a silent movie. I think he'd really enjoy hamming it up!



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2016 23:06 · For: Day 21
Well that's nicely sorted out! Thank goodness lol

Author's Response:

I keep trying to respond and getting the 'bad gateway' error, so I hope it will post this time. Yes, things are gradually getting better for our heroes!

Thanks for reviewing!



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: December 25, 2016 15:36 · For: Day 24
Oh, happy ending! I just loved Elrohir and Legolas sneaking off from their own party. So naughty. And I hope there's going to be a calendar again next year (like Ithilir and Elladan maybe)!

We got to the end with no naked Elrond, too. How do you get better than that? Lovely thing, Naledi, the whole piece. Thank you!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for being such a faithful reviewer all the way through. I'm glad you enjoyed the ending. I hope I'll have the time to do another advent calendar next year - I've loved doing this. It all depends what stage I'm at in my real-life work - the perils of being a freelancer!



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: December 25, 2016 15:26 · For: Day 23
Betrothed? Yaah! That was such a sweet apology, Ithilir gave. How could Elladan possibly resist?

It's just sickening though, thinking of the years Ithilir wasted, looking for a way to save his father. At least he gets to feel Oropher one last time, his father's relief and joy. It must help heal so much for him.

Author's Response:

Yes - now he's come to his senses he's not wasting any time! It is sad to think of how Ithilir suffered all alone for so long, but Elladan will do his best to make the future better ;)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 25, 2016 9:44 · For: Day 24

Each one of these are the most delightful jewels, as I have said before. This one is especially perfect- the waterfall and scene is an absolute delight. (hoping this will post)



Author's Response:

I'm so glad this final chapter worked for you. I really enjoyed writing this fic, and reading your reviews was the icing on the cake. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 25, 2016 9:28 · For: Day 20

Just treating myself to the rest of your advent calendar- and rather sadly because I think this will be it from you for a while (you should write more often, Naleid- you are a lovely writer). They're all so beautifully heroic and noble (sigh)



Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed it, Ziggy, and thanks for reviewing. I'd love to write fanfic more often, but real life does get in the way, unfortunately :(



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 25, 2016 8:47 · For: Day 24

Naughty Legolas and Elrohir!!! Running away from their own binding celebration. Shocking boys! Just shocking. 

Now I am lining myself up already for next year's advent calender with the promised naked silvan wedding, (as long as Elrond doesn't participate) and whatever other drama you manage to cook up for us! 

This is such a good idea! have enjoyed it so much...seeing what's new every morning. Brilliant. Thanks so much for doing this :-) 



Author's Response:

Hehehe! They are naughty, aren't they? 

Hmmm...a naked Silvan wedding next year. I'll have to think about that!

Thanks for all the reviews...it's the interaction that's kept me going. 



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 25, 2016 8:44 · For: Day 23

Ah yes, the hot pools....where Elrond skulks round in the dead of night and I can only hope he keeps his clothes on! 

And lovely Ithilir and Elladan all snuggly together. Loved this steamy chapter......minus the rogue Elrond.....

 



Author's Response:

Ah, but the possibility of a rogue naked Elrond makes you appreciate the times he's not there all the more!

Thanks for repeating your reviews!



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: December 22, 2016 16:32 · For: Day 22
Ooh, that was so well done. Such imagery, the Stars' pathway and Ithilir's father clinging to the trees. And Ithilir is giving in! Finally they can be together. And Ithilir won't be such a recluse anymore, with Oropher freed. They'll be happy, I just know it!

This chapter was so beautiful and so powerful. Really. Just...wow.

Author's Response:

Yes, as you'll know by now, a happy ending is just around the corner!



You must login () to review.