| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14772
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 16
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For I am an Elf

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2016 22:54 · For: Chapter 7

Good- we're moving along nicely now and you've got the plot up and running. I like the idea that he had lost his feä it seems and the Song actually, almost seems to be cut off from that. In our noisy and brassy world it would be hard not to. The characters are coming alive now- I think Kristine is well drawn and I like the switches from one pov to another. 



Author's Response: The fea of an elf is totally unique to them, yes. Humans may have souls...but not in the same way at all. He's so used to feeling himself and others, he's starting to miss it. It's like living in a glass box to him; you can see, but not feel. Anyway, you know it's amazing the mistakes and off-spots you catch reading something a few weeks later. I have to remember that in the future! Haha. Sorry about those. And thnx for reviewing! :))


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2016 18:44 · For: Chapter 7

Aha! So they're finally beginning to communicate, albeit slowly. I loved the LOTR references. I was so glad you included them. I kept waiting for Kristy to find some slashy Legolas fanfic!

I think Kristy took a risk going to the hospital, although Legolas clearly did need stitches, so I can't think what else she could have done. But I worry that the blood tests will show Legolas is different and set the hunt on them.

And poor Legolas, losing the sense of others' spirits. It must be like losing your sight or hearing. Very disorienting.

This is getting more and more interesting! I'm really looking forward to more. And the chapter length didn't seem too long at all, btw.



Author's Response:

Haha! Oh, that would be a sight... Legolas reading some of the fanfiction written about him?

Yes, losing his spirit is maybe one of his biggest issues. He still has a soul of course, a human's. But the fea of elves is really a unique thing! He's so used to feeling his own and others' that he's becoming lonely.

Anyway, thnx for reviewing! x)



Name: spinster (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2016 13:32 · For: Chapter 1
Oh, wow. You really have a grasp of being alone and lost and not able to be understood. When I began reading I thought 'oh, no, another Legolas in modern-land, plus girl' and I flinched. But I kept reading. I am SO glad I did. You tell such a compelling story, I can't wait for the next installment...chapter 7? And A LOT MORE, I hope. Thanks for a great read!

Author's Response: Haha! Yeah, I know the feeling. Legolas=earth=girl=love at first sight. I wanted to make a typical storyline decent though, as I said to ziggy (below). I've read tons of them, and they just never do it how I want it. Thanks for the lovely review! I'm so happy you enjoyed it. :))


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2016 13:07 · For: Chapter 6

Phew- thank goodness he's back and safe. But I want to know now how he got there and how he is going to get back please. We've got a good relationship now and she's not going to ditch him again so I'm looking forward o finding out what's happening. Really well written -I'm there all the way!



Author's Response:

Oh... Thanks! *hugs* Legolas isn't going to be getting home till about chapter 20-ish though. Before he gets his own memories back, he doesn't even know what home is. Which might actually be good, in a way. It can't hurt so much when you don't know what you're missing.

Well anyway, *cough cough*, nice thing about a cold is there's nothing more to do than read! I can get back to Black Arrow! I tell you, I don't sleep as well not getting to settle down with it. I've been helping paint and re-furnish a friend's apartment, see, so she can move in. So busy. :-)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2016 12:54 · For: Chapter 4

Oh my. What he needs is to be taken to the mountains where he can just live. And taught english of course.



Author's Response: Hmm... the hills. Yes! Too bad he wasn't dropped there to begin with, some backwater place in the Smoky mountains or something. Life wouldn't be so different for him then.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2016 12:29 · For: Chapter 3

Oh - that was a big mistake. Don't think I would want to be Reiner next time he visits!



Author's Response: Haha! Poor Reiner. He really did get the raw end of it.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2016 12:01 · For: Chapter 2

Ah- THAT answered my big question- how come she didn't think the ears were a bit odd. I also wondered how he understood what she was saying- or at least that is how it was coming across- might have got that wrong. So now, it;s a bit more serious if he has been changed.



Author's Response:

Yes, I think he would have handled it all better (besides even that his system is in shock at having changed to a mortal) if he could have at least kept his body.

That's an overlying theme in this, really (besides wanting to free Legolas from Tauriel's shadow after what PJ did to him, that is). If you lost your true body, memory... everything, could you really be the same person? Or would you always carry aspects of the person you became from it? How much?

Nature vs. nurture, I suppose; I do wonder. That's is why Legolas might seem somewhat out of character, here. What made him who he is?



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2016 11:55 · For: Chapter 1

Do you know, I normally don't go for these stories but it's so well written I have become drawn in. 



Author's Response: Well...that's heartening to hear. I'm glad you like it! I know what you mean about 'this kind of story', really. I guess I must want to write it anyway because it's a challenge, to make a typical type storyline decent. So many like this are done though and it's always 'Why didn't you do THIS instead?!' Stories that are less far-fetched (such as yours and quite a few on here), more canon-type feel are already so fabulously done, how could you improve on that? Haha. Anyway, if any of that makes sense, thanks for reviewing. I just love it when someone actually starts from the beginning and comments as they go along. Take care! :))


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2016 18:52 · For: Chapter 6

I'm so relieved Kristy came to her senses. And Legolas's pride and reluctance to accept her help again rang so true. This was a really powerful chapter.

Now I hope we find out what's going on with these quakes soon. I also hope Kristy's rudeness doesn't get her evicted!



Author's Response:

Haha! Nah... The landlady is more bark than bite. :)) If all else fails, at least Legolas does have his pride. I'm afraid he's more than a bit out of his element. That's the way he's thinking of it here.

Actually, I started this story because (besides feeling affronted at the way PJ left Legolas from dastardly Tauriel), I wondered what would a person do when everything they know is gone? Their memory, body, spirit... Could they possibly be just the same? Or would whole new facets of a character they didn't know they had before then, develop? Anyway...happy you like the story so far. xD

(P.S. ...Still waiting for that new advent calendar;)



Name: UnnamedElement (Signed) · Date: November 20, 2016 8:33 · For: Chapter 5

Fantastic. Such lovely descriptive writing. Have you ever thought of writing YA novels? 

 

I really enjoyed getting both L and Kristy's points of view in these past few chapters. I hope we get to read more of Kristine in the future. 

 

Thank you you for writing and posting! 



Author's Response:

Ooh, thank you! Novels...Well, I don't think any wanna-be writer has never thought about it. But really I hate the pressure. Waiting, scrabbling for editors' time whether your work is good or not, always wondering if the whole thing is just plain stupid or egotistical... I'm finding I like fanfiction more and more. You get some level of appreciation with reviews, the same happiness from the actual writing. ...What's left? I don't need the money (well, everyone thinks they could use more:) But not in reality. Maybe in a few years. Anyway, thanks gain for the lovely review! :))



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 20, 2016 8:14 · For: Chapter 5

It was inevitable he was going to get into trouble but I hope he's not been badly hurt. But what are those strange lights? I have a feeling they're the reason he's here. I hope we get some answers soon. I also hope Kristy comes to her senses and decides to help. 



Author's Response: She doesn't have a bad heart... Kris just tries to be one of those 'don't get involved' people, and fails at it. Whereas Legolas is thinking his life is on the line! Which it is, in more than one sense. She just doesn't have that mindset yet, fight or flight, live and die. She's still caught up in a hum-drum, hands off, city-life mode. ...But, the storms are changing things. :}


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 20, 2016 8:09 · For: Chapter 4

Oh no! Poor Legolas, being abandoned in such a hellish place with no way of communication or knowledge of how to get by. I dread to think what will happen to him. 



Author's Response: It might not be so hard on him if it were the country, or a small little town. But the city can be shockingly cold. Legolas just doesn't know how to cope with that. Kristy is putting herself up on a shelf, trying to think with her head instead of her heart. Thank you for reviewing. :))


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 14, 2016 13:20 · For: Chapter 3

Ooh - such wonderful images of Legolas here - young and strong, yet old at the same time.

Legolas thought about it, trying to put his feelings into words. “I…I should feel the wind and the sun. I know green and the trees; they should speak to me. And yet, they do not sing. They are smothered in steel and voices that do not listen. I cannot hear even my own mind.”

That gave me the shivers. Poor Legolas, trapped in this alien world. And unable to comprehend gadgets like taps and thermometers. As for the doctors, I think Reiner had better look out if Legolas sees him again!



Author's Response: Yes, poor old Reiner... And Legolas just hasn't gotten into the mindset to accept these things . He wants to fight and take control, but there's nothing left for him to grapple onto. It's like a void and he calls out, but there's no one to answer. Thank you for the lovely review!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 14, 2016 13:05 · For: Chapter 2

Oh, poor Legolas! What's happened to him? I hope he and Kristy can find a way to communicate because I really want to know how Legolas has ended up here.

Love the bit about him thinking Kristy was half-naked!

 



Author's Response: Language gap is a bit of a messy problem, isn't it? But where there's a will there's a way. It makes Legolas feel even more isolated and alone, though... He has to trust his life to someone who can't even understand him.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2016 20:05 · For: Chapter 1

Ooh - nice start! How did Legolas get there and how are they going to communicate? I look forward to finding out :)



Author's Response: Hello, Naledi! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed the first chapter. I know this site kind of prefers canon, Silmarillion type stories (and I like reading them; I just can't seem to write them, for some reason), not Earth/Arda, Legolas/OC type. But...fanfiction .net has nearly twelce chapters posted and I haven't contributed anything here for far too long. :) Mm! By the way, I just barely started on your last advent calendar. Oo, I like it! I never knew you were such a prolific writer! Don't think I've ever even read anything of yours. However did that happen? Thankfully, I have a few nights off coming up to fix that.


You must login () to review.