| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The trails of Nan Elmoth by Chiara Cadrich Mature
Proud and solitary, Aredhel rides freely in the deep forests of Beleriand. She believes she escaped the destiny intended...
Freedom by mangacrack General Audiences
"Do you have any clue where we are?" Elladan asked his brother and looked around. There must be some clues where they ended...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
A Dawn Of Many Colors by Pink Siamese Mature
How many books out of worlds and worlds out of books? This is the story of Janet Lambert, a thirtysomething college student...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
Summer Heat by Glorfindel Explicit
A modern day, elves who never sailed, detective story in the style of film noir. Erestor was the most evil...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 78
Stories: 1561
Chapters: 7939
Word count: 23566406
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14011
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Naledi
05/20/17 04:57 pm
Yes the bit I did was near Ludlow - around the Knighton and Kington sections. I love Ludlow, too!
ziggy
05/20/17 10:01 am
Naledi- where abouts on Offa's dyke? I've walked a bit of that- near Ludlow. Love Ludlow!!! Great restaurants too. I'll go with you next time:)
Naledi
05/19/17 11:53 pm
Thanks, Cheeky. As you've seen, I found it. I'm not long back from a few days walking a section of Offa's Dyke. So tired!
cheekybeak
05/18/17 10:25 am
Hi Naledi! This time "Fire" really is updated.
Caunedhiel
05/16/17 12:27 am
@ ziggy thank you :) hopefully i can
ziggy
05/15/17 11:58 pm
@Caunedhiel- you have to just keep writing through the blocks- even if you ditch it, you have to keep the habit. With all of us cheering you on!!
Caunedhiel
05/15/17 10:01 pm
hopefully i get somewhere with my Evelyn story before it runs out for another couple of years!!
Caunedhiel
05/15/17 10:01 pm
actually feeling inspired to write lately. what is wrong with me?! XD
Pink Siamese
05/13/17 02:59 am
@Alquien it's 10 years old, so...no worries, it's not like it's going anywhere :-)
Shout Archive



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2017 0:33 · For: Chapter 33
I really like your Gimli. He is so down to earth and so practical. It's a nice counterpart to Legolas as he is at the moment. He took the news with Elrohir quite well even if he too can't see things working out between Legolas, Maewen and Elrohir.

I'm curious what his talk with Arwen will reveal.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2017 23:57 · For: Chapter 33

This is a lovely chapter- I love the description of Elrohir and Legolas coming down from the rdige and elrohir's expression- and then the quick recap of what has happened is a very timely reminder of all that has gone on(godd structure!). But I felt a little zing when Legolas said how he felt about Elrohir- the fire dancing in his soul (ahhh- lovely) and Gimli thinking it was Legolas.

 

I love Gimli's tender care for Legolas, his anxiety about Maewen and his not understnading but scrambling around to try. Great characterisation.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2017 23:51 · For: Chapter 33

Sneaky Gimli! But it was a good way to get at the truth. Even so, Legolas has a point, because Gimli fails to understand the Silvan way. Of course, Elrohir does too, so Legolas is being naive as well. 



Author's Response:

It was sneaky! He had a fair idea....but it was a gamble. He can't understand it, but he will try. It's all just so far from his dwarven experiance. 

Legolas is indeed being naive. He is swept up in this new love feeling, and is totally ignoring the fact Elrohir is not used to this silvan love situation either....maybe Legolas just doesn't want to think about that.



Name: CassieHughes (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2017 22:30 · For: Chapter 33
Trust Gimli to get the truth out of Legolas and not reject it all out of hand. I think he has handed this far better than Aragorn. I knew he would want to speak to Maewen and Elrohir too. He likes to have all the facts before him I think, even if he is somewhat disbelieving that what legolas says about it being OK to love both Elrohir and Maewen.
I do hope that Arwen can add some enlightenment as to Legolas' mental state too.
If anyone can sort this mess of elves and men out it is Gimli Gloinsson!

Author's Response:

He HAS handled it much better than Aragorn......but there is a reason for that......coming up later. 

You have Gimli summed up just right. He is very considered. He needs all the information he can get before coming to a decision as to whether this relationship with Elrohir is something desirable or to be discouraged. He is reserving judgement at the moment!



Name: CassieHughes (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2017 22:22 · For: Chapter 32
The scene with Eldarion and Legolas was so heartbreakingly beautiful and the way you allowed us to see Gimlis feelings as he realised just how it must have felt for the others to see Legolas buried and to all intents and purposes dead was wonderfully written. You know just how to get into the heads of your characters and therefore your readers!
Gimli is not going to give up until he fathoms out just what is going on between Legolas and Elrohir is he!

Author's Response:

Glad you liked seeing Legolas and Eldarion. The last time they were together was pretty negative, (Legolas being quite jealous of Elrohir spending time with Eldarion) they needed a positive reconnection. 

I needed Legolas to realise how traumatic his "death" was for those left behind....especially Elrohir and Maewen. Who else was going to be brave enough to tell him but this small boy? And Gimli, too, needed to think about that as he missed out on the entire drama! 



Name: CassieHughes (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2017 21:52 · For: Chapter 31
No! Gimli! Do not give up so soon! He said himself that it would not be easy and would take hard work and time yet he is already doubting that it can be done. I rather think it is his confusion talking here. Gimli's own mind is obviously worrying away about Elrohir and what has created the change in him and how this impacts upon Legolas so he is not thinking clearly. I don't think it will be long before he puts 2 and 2 together and then the proverbial will hit the fan. I hope that he, unlike Aragorn, actually listens to Legolas and Elrohir then. Knowing the dwarf he will need to speak to Maewen before coming to any conclusions though. (I hope)

Author's Response:

He doesn't give up. It's a small stumble in confidence when he realises just how hard it is going to be. It would have been unrealistic if he hadn't had an internal moment of doubt. It doesn't hold him back though......onwards and upwards for Gimli. Elrohir IS bothering him at this point and Gimli is like a dog with a bone. Once he gets an idea he is mulling over he doesn't let it go until he has worked it out. 



Name: CassieHughes (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2017 21:14 · For: Chapter 30
At last! Some free time to get back to this. I have missed your wonderful characters so much.
I hope Gimli understands just what he has let himself in for here, but I rather think he does. As we have just seen, it is going to be a long, hard journey for both of them to get Legolas back to where he should be. It is a good job that the stubborn dwarf is very stubborn!

Author's Response:

Yay! So good to see you. :-)

As you have seen already Gimli maybe did not fully grasp quite how difficult this task will be but he is stubborn and determined and will not let go now he has set his mind to doing this. Gimli is as staunch a friend as you could ever have. Legolas is so lucky to have found him! 

 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2017 16:39 · For: Chapter 33
I love this chapter!!
Yes! YES!!! Oh I was waiting for the follow up to that comment of Gimli's! I love that it was conjecture but he got Legolas to basically confirm it!!
So Gimli suspected and I must agree with him--what he saw that morning certainly would be suspicious, considering Elrohir's past attitude towards Legolas. I think the others forget just how observant Gimli is. He may not see as far as Legolas abd may not always sense emotional turmoil in others as Aragorn or Arwen can but he is unbelievably astute at reading body language, facial expressions and tone. And he can multi-task--fight battles and still keep an eye out for subtle alterations in the behavior/affect of others. Three cheers for Gimli.
I love how patient he is and how he really tries to reassure Legolas that he will do his best to understand. Poor Legolas has likely realized Gimli is even more of a prude than Aragorn so confessing to Gimli and having Gimli take it all in with no major recrimations is a good start. The whole Maewen/Erynion thing may take him a bit to get used to.
I think Gimli as a go-between with the others makes sense although his forthright tone and ways may complicate things a bit! I'm looking forward to his conversation with Elrohir--yikes!
But Gimli doesn't appear to have noticed the import of Legolas' words about Elrohir's ability to stave off the sea-longing. He kind of blew by that and that's a key to Legolas regaining his walls and re-ordering his mind I think.
I think Arwen has more insight than others realize as well and I think he would be wise to seek her out--she is far less volatile right now than any of the other players.
Good old Gimli.
I love how sweet Legolas is when he speaks of Elrohir.
He wants Maewen now but this triangle is still unstable and precarious with Maewen-Legolas-Elrohir. She may have sent Elrohir to Legolas but that balance is still lacking and at some point they need to talk about it.

Author's Response:

Glad you liked it! Gimli is intelligent and astute. I think how observant he is is often underestimated by the others. He watches people. 

This senario Legolas has presented him with is way out of his comfort zone and will be very difficult to get his head around, still, Legolas comes first for him. He worries about the Maewen implications, as he worried after the Black Gate when Legolas seemingly didn't see Elrohirs infatuation, but he worries because he can only see hurt ahead for Legolas. Wereas Aragorn saw it as a betrayal, an anathema of what he knew of Legolas, appalling behaviour in his moral upright eyes, Gimli sees disaster. 

And he is also aware of Legolas' very fragile, not completley logical state. 

You are right though; at the moment Elrohir's effect on the sea-longing has passed him by. Just wait until Gimli pins Elrohir down though! He still badly resents the Dead Marshes incident even though he doesn't know exactly what happened there. He had to pick up the pieces of Legolas Elrohir left behind. 

Legolas is in the flush of new love when he speaks of Elrohir...that infatuated, floating on air stage, but he wants Maewen because she is a stable rock for him....she anchors him and also....she is the silvan one, the one who's love he is most secure with. You are 100% right. Their love triangle is by no means stable. Nothing has been sorted, they have not defined their roles and because of that Legolas—scrambled as he is—feels very insecure. Plus he still needs constantly to ensure to himself Maewen is accepting. He doesn't really believe that yet. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2017 16:39 · For: Chapter 32

I'm confused. Did you update this? There's no new chapter. 



Author's Response:

I updated the wrong story! Then when I deleted the chapter the story stayed on the updated list....sorry :-( 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2017 18:53 · For: Chapter 32

Duh duh DUH!!!! Portenous music!!

I love that Gimli knows- it may well unlock this whole thing now!



Author's Response:

Oh yeah! I need a soundtrack. 

How could Gimli not know? He notices all the little details, this dwarf. And they needed someone to piece all the bits together! 



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2017 0:44 · For: Chapter 32
Oh yeah, you really dropped a bombshell right now. How the heck does Gimli know? I don't know if it's the right moment to tell Legolas that.

Lovely interaction with Eldarion. You drew a really sad picture of him kneeling in the dirt, trying to safe Legolas and grieving for him.

Author's Response:

Gimli will tell you how he knows in the next chapter...but he is a very astute dwarf. 

I am glad you liked that scene with Eldarion. I love writing him. He needed to see Legolas and reassure himself things were still ok. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 04, 2017 17:50 · For: Chapter 32

Legolas really needed to see Eldarion, and it sounds like Eldarion needed to see Legolas, too. Their reunion was lovely, but so heartbreaking that Arwen senses something is wrong. Even more worrying that Legolas knows something's wrong, but can't define it.

I'm enjoying Gimli putting two and two together about Elrohir - he's quick to pick up that Eldarion mentioned Elrohir wept when Legolas died, and I love how he heard Legolas's not-meant-to-be-heard 'Or Elrohir'. But you've left it at a cliffie again. Evil Cheeky!



Author's Response:

They DID need to see each other. Things had been tense between them before the accident and they needed to reconnect. It was a difficult reunion for Legolas but now it's done. 

My Arwen has quite a lot of Galadriels abilities so of course, more than anyone she can feel Legolas' chaos. What she can do about that I don't know, but I wonder at Elladan not involving her sooner. Perhaps he has just become to focused and blinkered? 

Gimli has spent long years encouraging Legolas and Aragorn to think his hearing is worse than it is...for this exact moment, when he can hear something he is not meant to!!! Now to try and get to the bottom of the Elrohir issue. :-) 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: May 04, 2017 7:13 · For: Chapter 32
Aaaaaaahhhhh!!!
Lovely beginning part. Legolas needed to see Eldarion and they needed to have that conversation. Legolas needed to know others were there and how they reacted and Eldarion needs to know Legolas is struggling and to not take his words and actions the wrong way.

I'm hoping Arwen has a clearer understanding of what a mess Legolas is currently and adds her support to Gimli's endeavors.

I love the comment about Legolas not eating enough and being spindly and scrawny!

I had always suspected Gimli has far better hearing than others credit him.

Ha!!! He's not going to have that hard a time figuring it out, is he? He already knows!!! Gimli you secretive dwarf!!!
I cannot wait to see how this conversation plays out!

Author's Response:

Yes, Legolas did need to see Eldarion. of course if you remember back several chapters the last interaction Legolas and Eldarion had was fairly fraught and involved Legolas being jealous and hurt by Elrohir's attentions towards Eldarion, (and this left Eldarion feeling as if he was at fault when Legolas was injured) so they REALLY needed to see each other. And I wanted Legolas to be aware of the pain and grief that happened while he was "dead" Who else was going to tell him that? 

My Gimli is always worrying about Legolas' nutrition. That has shown up in several of the stories. He thinks he is way too thin. And the hearing has been mentioned before as well...in Hands of the King. Legolas and Aragorn were whispering behind Gimli's back and he commented that he could clearly hear them although they thought otherwise! 

So on to seeing exactly how Gimli knows about this tete a tete of Legolas and Elrohir!  



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2017 6:23 · For: Chapter 31
Of course we know his horse is fine because Eldarion and Elrohir have been making sure of it.
Dear Legolas. Just a brief moment of joy and now he's berating himself again. Sigh.
I'm glad Gimli has an insight that there was so much going on behind Legolas' walls before that none of them were aware of--something to keep in mind for the future, once they get him well, or at least better.
Ok Gimli--you are observant and bright--start putting the clues together. Finding Legolas with Elrohir. Their changed attitude towards each other, the comment Legolas let slip, the information that serious, distant, stern Elrohir is hanging around a stable frowning just so Legolas' horse is cared for; come on Gimli!!! Figure it out!
I think Gimli is quite discouraged but I don't think his practical nature truly believes it is as bleak an outlook for recovery as he seems to feel at the end of this chapter. It's just going to be MUCH harder than he thought, no question. But they can do it, together, especially if he figures out the Elrohir factor and harnesses that powerful bond. Elrohir is focused on being whatever Legolas needs right now--he's wasted too much time and almost lost him--he's not going to make that mistake again.

Author's Response:

Gimli IS discouraged here but as you say, it is a temporary disappointment only. He is stubborn and determined, He was just beginning to feel truly optimistic and then Legolas slipped back, but this will happen many, many times before they are done with this. It takes a huge mental effort for Legolas to maintain the control he has been and as the day goes on his ability to do that lessons. Gimli needs to ensure the second half of the day is easier. 

You have summed up Elrohir perfectly. Like I said in my reply to Ziggy, Elrohir is an all or nothing kind of guy. He has made his choice and is 100% about Legolas at the moment. He will go every day to sit in that stable for all eternity if Legolas needs it. (Of course the time he spent in The stables wasn't ALL about Legolas.....a large part of it was his new discovery of how much he enjoyed Eldarion too.)

As you say, Gimli is observant...he will put these puzzle pieces together, (and he needs to. He will not mend Legolas without knowing the full picture, much as Legolas is afraid to tell him.) 

And yes, Gimli needs to remember that flash of insight that this overwhelmed and emotional Legolas might just be a glimpse of the real Legolas behind the smooth elven exterior. I think Maewen knows him well enough to know that.......and possibly Erynion who has grown with him since childhood....but I doubt any of the others truly realise the extent of Legolas' fragility. Not even Aragorn, and definitely not Elrohir who has ALOT to learn about what lies at the heart of his lover. 



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2017 18:59 · For: Chapter 31
Poor Gimli. Now his confidence is shaken badly. It looks like they have a longer road ahead of them.

I'm curious how he will react when he realizes the relationship between Legolas and Elrohir.

It's a nice revelation to them that Elrohir did that for Legolas.

Author's Response:

Gimli is about to put all the pieces of this puzzle together. He needs to because he cannot help Legolas without having the full information. This is just a speed bump, this shaking of his confidence. He won't let Legolas see it. He knows how important it is Legolas believes in Gimli's absolutely unshakeable belief they can succeed here. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2017 15:43 · For: Chapter 31

How lovely to see Legolas's reunion with his horse and see him happy, if only for that short time. A pity it doesn't last, but it's too soon for Gimli to despair. He needs to listen to his own advice  and remember he's only been there for a day.  Healing is going to take far longer than that. 

 

 



Author's Response:

A brief moment of Legolas joy there. But it couldn't last....that would be too easy. You are right. Gimli needs to take his own advice here, and he does really. This is a small moment of doubt he puts aside to soldier on. It's a bump in the road....and as he said, Legolas has already achieved more than Gimli would have imagined when he first found him hiding in that garden. But it takes a huge mental effort and as the day goes on things are likely to spiral downward because of tiredness. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2017 15:11 · For: Chapter 31

I love this 3rd person view we get of Elrohir, just sitting waiting and everyone scared of his sterness. But his absolute commitment and kindness to Legolas now he knows (sigh) - doncha just love those two!! And Gimli -just exactly as he should be!!



Author's Response:

Yip, thats Elrohir. Silently sitting in the corner with his natural glare on and everyone else being rather scared of him. Have you heard of bitchy resting face? Elrohir has one I think. And yes, Elrohir is a single minded dude. Now he has finally made this choice and decision he will not be swayed. He is 100% about Legolas now. He will sit in the stables every single day for eternity if Legolas needs it. 

So sweet. 



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: April 17, 2017 20:09 · For: Chapter 30
Gimli is great in this. His presence was obviously much needed. It's a bit of a mystery that he can handle Legolas so well while the others stumble along.

Author's Response:

Gimli is so good isn't he! I think he and Legolas have really bad to work hard to understand each other,mand they still work hard at it.Maybe this has meant Gimli is just a bit better at really looking and seeing what is behind Legolas' behaviour.....but a lot of it is simply his lovely steadfast personality.  



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2017 13:57 · For: Chapter 30

Poor Legolas- that description of his feeling there are no walls is quite alarming and I'm not sure what Gimli is going to do about this- but oh, lovely to see him and Elrohir:)



Author's Response:

Elrohir was quite a sweetie wasn't he. He does have a softer side! And after years of moping over Legolas from afar he is going to cherish him now. 

Gimli has a plan but he is going to have to start from the beginning, Like teaching a child emotional control. Because let's face it.....we all start off with no "walls" and then slowly we build them :-) 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2017 18:46 · For: Chapter 30
Gimli is such a breath of fresh air here! He knows Legolas so well but the key is that even when he screws up he remains unflinchingly determined to keep going. The others so far have only managed to make things worse when they mess up--Gimli notes it, readjusts his game plan and keeps on going . It's perfect. There is a depth of understanding that perhaps only comes from being so different--Legolas is so uniquely "not dwarf" that Gimli has had to really learn how to read him and respond--it's true in the reverse as well. In a way it makes them more sensitive to each other, in ways the others can't grasp--the other Elves and even Aragorn have had a lifetime of learned behaviors and this situation doesn't fit any of them. Gimli is going back to the basics--companionship, generating a safe space and food. He is also not letting Legolas wallow-another key point. And he's getting him outside--another thing he needs desperately. It's simple day to day things that Legolas loves and make him who he is. If you need to build walls back up there's no one better then a dwarf for that task!

Author's Response:

I know! Gimli is the best isnt he! And you have summed it all up so well. Somehow the fact he is so different from Legolas helps him deal with this better. He has to work hard ALL the time to read Legolas and understand him. They are often confused by each other but they acknowledge that. And so, they are more sensitive to each other's nuances. And Gimli's straightforward practical determined way of approaching this is just right. As you say, he makes a mistake, he adjusts his plan and carries on. Plus he will let Legolas get away with nothing! He holds him on task and focused. Any dramatics? Gimli puts his foot down. In the crazy erratic world of Legolas' head boundaries are just what he needs. He needs the firmness to control his extremes when he is unable to control them himself. And so he says Gimli feels "safe".



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2017 11:17 · For: Chapter 30

I love your Gimli. He manages Legolas so well. I think if Legolas had been with anyone else he would now be running wild-eyed through the citadel in search of his horse. I love how Gimli can reach him. It's sad, though how this incident reveals what a fragile hold Legolas has on his emotions. I hope Gimli really can find a way to mend him. 



Author's Response:

Absolutely, if it was anyone else they would not have been able to keep a hold on Legolas here! Something about Gimli's directness just cuts right through so Legolas can hear him. And yes, this incident does reveal just what an uncontrolled mess Legolas is inside his head. But as long as Gimli can maintain the ability to enable Legolas to focus on logical answers then there is hope. And Gimli won't take no shit from him! No sir. 



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2017 20:43 · For: Chapter 29
Nice confrontation between Gimli and Elrohir. I'm curious how long it takes Gimli to figure things out.

Legolas and Elrohir desperately need some time to themselves to talk. Always someone intrudes before they are able to do that.

I like the interaction between Gimli and Legolas. It's nice to see that Gimli still can make Legolas smile.

Author's Response:

Gimli will definately figure it out eventually. At the moment I think the idea of Legolas and Elrohir together is just not at all how he has seen them so it will take a bit of time for that idea to float into his head. 

Re Legolas and Elrohir....they have had that time, at least a little, Elrohir went to Legolas when he stormed out of Aragorn's study the night before so they had the night to talk—but Legolas is still recovering from physical injuries so probably did spend most of it asleep. But it is still new and strange for them to be "together" and open with each other about that, hence they do seem a bit stilted and awkward still. They will get there....eventually. 



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2017 20:23 · For: Chapter 28
It's good that Gimli is there. It seems that Legolas trusts him very much and he has a no nonsense way of stating things and setting the others straight.

Author's Response:

Oh,Legolas does indeed trust him. Gimli is simple, straightforward and most of all safe for Legolas. There is nothing complicated between him and Gimli. No angst or drama, so he can relax. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2017 10:07 · For: Chapter 29

Another stupendously lovely chapter- those tender moments between Elrohir and Legolas, and Gimli-is just delicious.  Lovely lovely writing.



Author's Response:

Ah, Legolas and Elrohir are all, new love, touchy feely here. They just don't want to let go of each other.....but Elrohir has a bit of proving himself to do if Gimli is to let him near his elf for any length of time. Gimli doesn't trust him yet. And as far as Legolas is concerned Gimli is in charge now. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2017 10:02 · For: Chapter 28

I congratualte you CB, for this chapter in particualr- the writing herre is absolutely brilliant. The details are so convincing, Gimli is perfect, the arguement really well constructed and completely credible and right. Perfect.



Author's Response:

Oh thank you! Your writing is so beautiful so I am quite chuffed you thought this ok. And especially pleased it was credible. Those grumpy Imladris elves....they are giving Gimli a headache! 



You must login () to review.