| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13823
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 7
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
03/28/17 11:13 pm
Wow- Naledi- you were Maths!! I am an English teacher and so agree. I am so careful - don't always get it right but try to make sure every interaction is positive.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2016 6:24 · For: Chapter 1

Ooooo!  I have never seen an AU where Luthian goes to the Feanorion’s side!

 

I have to agree with you that Melian and Thingol’s relationship is a bit creepy, but I had mostly focused on how they got together (it seemed like she’d enthralled him or something), but thinking about her continuing to influence his mind, and it being her behind so many of his bad decisions, wow!  That’s interesting!  And appropriately spooky :D



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2016 9:17 · For: Chapter 1

I am with you. Melian's relationship with Thingol is seriously creepy. I mean she lures him in To a forest and enchants him for years.....and that's just the start of it. Not exactly a good basis for a relationship.

I am not a Luthien fan. She was too goody, goody for me.....and she got Finrods blood on her hands too, and he is a favourite of mine. Beren and Luthien...yuck!

This Luthien however was quite spooky. 

I did wonder right through it if Celegorm and Huan were one and the same. :-) 



Author's Response:

I actually read a post on tumblr where its theorised that Thingol acted the way he did because he wished to get away from his wife. He was enchanted, traumatised and possibly viewed everything what his "wife" counseled him to do as the one thing he shouldn't. Even if it meant messing up even more. My guess is that Thingol would've been a very different person, had it not been for Melian.

And yeah, canon Luthien is a little controversial. She has blood on her hands, like everyone else in the First Age. But I still like her well enough. She tried, at least.

But nope. This time Huan is just a dog :D



You must login () to review.