| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
The Price of Vengeance II by Encairion Mature
Sequel to The Price of Vengeance I. A novella of the House of Finwë  from the end of the First Age to the fall...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Islands of Warmth in a Sea of Cold by Karlmir Stonewain Teen
How couples in the Reunited Kingdom and beyond dealt with the bitter cold of midwinter at bedtime. The story takes place...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
A Light in the Heart by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Immediately post rescue from Thangorodrim--Fingon brings an unconscious Maedhros to the Nolofinwean camp.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 81
Stories: 1604
Chapters: 8254
Word count: 24889954
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15162
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 12
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
01/20/18 10:21 am
Many Happy Returns, Ziggy and as always, thank you for your wonderful stories :)
ziggy
01/20/18 08:44 am
THank you Naledi! Spending the day riding my horse, writing the next chapter- will post this evening if I finish or tomorrow. Perfect day:)
Naledi
01/19/18 09:30 pm
Ziggy - happy Birthday for tomorrow. Have a great day!
Spiced Wine
01/19/18 12:10 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
01/18/18 11:07 am
I am not surprised, Karlmir!
Karlmir Stonewain
01/18/18 02:53 am
Hi, Siân! My latest short story and the next one were inspired by this rotten winter weather.
Spiced Wine
01/16/18 11:03 am
Keep cosy, Karlmir
Karlmir Stonewain
01/15/18 11:53 pm
Snow is in tomorrow's forecast here. The storm will last through Wednesday afternoon. About 8" of snow is expected. I planned ahead and did my grocery shopping this morning.
Spiced Wine
01/15/18 10:14 pm
Not sure we’ll get it down here - I hope not! You said it, spring cannot come soon enough for me! I’m sorry you’re not well, Narya
Narya
01/15/18 09:47 pm
Has anyone got snow yet? We're having a hailstorm here, and I'm still coughing. Roll on Spring...
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 19, 2018 12:35 · For: Chapter 4 Memories
Hi ziggy!

Just a quick question.

Didn't Celebrimbor create his mirrors as a means to hopefully and eventually have his family back, or at least have a way to communicate with them?

I remember Nelyo's Fea being imprisoned behind the glass as a sort of sentry to guard against whatever lurked in the dark, keeping them from even having a chance to escape. But I think he was there more for the purpose of keeping Morgoth in the eternal dark.

It was heartbreaking to watch Nelyo fighting something, may have been a balrog, I'm not sure. To watch his fea get ripped apart to the point where there wasn't much left of him and to have Erestor, hands on the mirror, in the desperation he could help in some way, anguish and horror etched into his face at what was left of his beautiful Lord. Really sad. :(

*Through the Glass Darkly* fantastic part of your Series, ziggy! :)

I apologize too, for needing clarification at times on parts of your story. Memory isn't what it used to be. :/

Author's Response:

Great question, Gabriel!

We don't really know why Celebrimbor created the mirrors- there was a hall full of them as well and Elrond talked about walking through light, like a prism. We can guess at his reasons but since he is long dead we can't know for sure. But Maedhros/Nelyo does remember seeing him so we might assume that whatever he THOUGHT he was doing, the result was seeing Nelyo.

And yes, at the very least, Nelyo believes he was given a choice by Eru - to go into the Dark and forever battle against Morgoth- a watchfire.

Yes- it was the balrog that slew Glorfindel- it is Glorfindel's presence that draws it to the Glass, and Erestor's presence that draws Maedhros.

I have rather a soft spot for that story as well because it is out of the Legolas/Elrohir arc really and still was enjoyable writing it.

Thank you for the very kind comments:)x



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2018 6:39 · For: Chapter 3
Gimli is truly in his element sitting there little hammer and chisel in hand carving a piece of granite while observing with Hawk like interest and the patience and strength of stone all that goes on around him. I love that about him. :)

I totally understand why Elladan blew up about Gandalf deciding to bring the mirror with them. But at the same time I also understand Gandalf's stance on the matter too. This mirror whatever its power or whatever it possesses would be a danger to everyone no matter where it was. So best to take it with them, that way they can keep a keen eye on it and as an added bonus it would be unlikely to fall into the wrong hands.

This is getting really good Ziggy. Thoroughly enjoying this part of the story so far. :)

Author's Response:

Thank you, Gabriel- glad it;s got you interested:) No spoilers!! I'm trying hard not to tell readers what is going on when I respond to reviews- but it's VERY hard not to!!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 15, 2018 6:06 · For: Chapter 2
Gimli is such a laugh! ziggy. He and Pippin really bring a lot of humor to the story.

*'I am perfectly able to ride a horse and keep an eye on one recalcitrant dwarf,' Legolas said quickly with a smile and reached behind him to catch Gimli's hand before he stuck the ends of his beard into his mouth. 'Thank you Nana Gimli. And I have cleaned my teeth and brushed my hair, and I have washed my face, hands and feet this morning.'

Beside him, Imrahil leaned over slightly to Elladan and said quietly, 'Is Nana a title of affection, like Elvellon?'

Elladan opened his mouth to explain but Gimli said quickly and rather loudly, 'Many times I have had to explain, Prince Imrahil. It means great Dwarf-lord who is fearsome and pinches little Elves if they do not behave.'*

It does not bode well, when Legolas sees a green light wash over Minas Morgul like a mist. its got to be worrying when no-one else can see it, especially Gandalf. It had me thinking; was it just residue from the spider venom or possibly a sign/foresight that the Nazgul will return or has the spider venom given Legolas the sight to see things that still exist. So it appears to everyone else that Minas Morgul is abandoned but in actual fact the darkness is still alive and well, just hidden and waiting.

To add more fuel to the fire, I'm sure Legolas did not imagine the hideous face that leered at him from the ancient mirror and Gandalf's hesitance at going to investigate spoke volumes at something he did not wish to give voice to.

Very creepy! *shivers* Love it! :)

Author's Response:

SORRY GABRIEL- I REPLIED TO this but it hasn't entered- still, always nice to get a chance to chat!!

I love writing Gimli- his 'voice' is very strong and he just acts out/speaks in front of me and gives me the words- I have a very strong sense of his presence - you know what I mean. Pippin i s similar- strangely I write Pippin far more than Merry and I almost never write as Frodo or Sam.

Oh yes- the mirror! Very creepy- your ideas about whether Minas Morgul is still 'inhabited' in some way are really hood- I think you've just revealed something to me that I didn't quite realise!! Thank you")



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 12, 2018 9:25 · For: Chapter 1 On the edges of Mordor
This was the first chapter I ever read and reviewed. So good to read it again. :)

I love the way you write the Hobbits, ziggy and Legolas and Pippin's interactions especially.

I know I've probably said it a thousand times already, but you write them with such a wonderful lightheartedness and humor. It warms the heart as you read. :)

Now Elrohir. Hmm! There still seems to be a few issues in need of being ironed out and he still has doubt of Legolas' intentions, still believes he's just another notch on the Woodelf's belt. What on earth is it going to take to make him see the truth.

For someone who shows himself to be a pillar of strength and steel, a veteran warrior, with a 'No Mercy' policy, Elrohir seems to have some vulnerability concerns. I'm trying to remember, ziggy, where this might have come from. Isn't it because he's never been in love before and this is complicated by the fact that Legolas' reputation as a Woodelf with many lovers could never reciprocate that love and therefore Elrohir is hesitant to give of himself in that manner for fear of being hurt and alone. I hope I got it right. I should be a psychologist! Lol.

Great start to this part of Your wonderful and highly entertaining series. :)

Author's Response:

Yes- you've got Elrohir pretty much right. He is actually very naive when it comes ot relationships and inexperienced. And yes, Legolas has had loads so Elrohir is a little scared, a little hard on himself too because he cannot quite beleive that he is loveable, so doubts Legolas really can love him because he is so unworthy.  Yes- you should be a psychologist!! x

Thank you again for such very nice comments:)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2018 19:18 · For: Chapter 12 The Reign of Aragorn II
But for him too, and his brother, father; at last, their long guardianship was at an end; no more Heirs of Isildur in Imladris. No more foster brothers…. It seemed for a moment that they all stood beside him like ghosts, watching the child of their children slowly enter the gates of Minas Tirith and pause to look about himself wonderingly. Arathorn. Arador. Argonui. All the way back to Aranarth, who had been a tall, gangling youth with arms and legs too long and then grown into one of the most accomplished warriors Elrohir had ever ridden with. He had loved Arathorn for his quiet kindness, and then Aragorn most of all.

This is beautiful. I forget sometimes that of course Elrond, Elladan and Elrohir would have known all of them :'( and that they'd have to cope with each one being the next Great Hope, then growing old and dying. So sad, and such a poignant reminder of the gap between Elves and Men.


A jolt shot through Elrohir like he had been bitten.



Ravéyön



He snatched his hand back and glanced down in shock. The Man wore an old ring but there was nothing untoward, and he was looking straight ahead as if unaware of Elrohir’s reaction.


Ooh! Giving me the shivers again :D

Elrohir searched for Legolas but could see nothing and sudden fear grabbed his heart. Surely nothing could have happened during the procession? Gimli did not look alarmed.

Aww, he's so paranoid! Poor Elrohir. And their reunion is gorgeous :D

‘I love you,’ Elrohir murmured and Legolas smiled and nestled into him.



‘Of course,’ he said smiling.



But he did not think of saying that he loved Elrohir, for it was so obvious; his song soared whenever he was with Elrohir.


Silly Legolas! Tell Elrohir what he needs to hear.

I forgot to mention last time I think, but I did notice a comment that suggested Gimli is starting to think of Elrohir as an ally, and it made me smile, especially having read More Dangerous recently - he's really hostile to Elrohir in that!

Fabulous couple of chapters, ziggy. Disappearing into your 'verse is such a treat after a long day.

Author's Response:

Haha- yes,Gimliis softening towards Elrohir, especially if he thonks he can stop Legolas from doing things he doesn't like. Elrohir and Legolas- a very new relationship, quite fraglie so they don't really know each other properly yet. You know when you first get together and everything is all rosey and nice, but you make mistakes, misunderstnad etc That's where they are- but Elrohir hasn't had enough relationships to really understand this. And silly Legolas (as you so righty say!!) doesn't know enough to keep reassuring Elrohir that he loves him, that he's OK, etc etc.

Just eough to keep the pair of them slightly angsty:)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2018 21:11 · For: Chapter 10 Dreams and Discoveries
It's an interesting development that something about Legolas (i.e. the bloodlust because he believes his loved ones have been killed) frightens Gimli. I suppose everyone develops a dark side in war.

‘Laersul- who is taller than anyone here, and very strong. He is the leader of our troops. Our people love him.’ He paused. ‘As do I. When Laersul is with you, you feel that you can never come to harm.’



“That’s just how I feel about you, Legolas!’ exclaimed Pippin.



Legolas looked surprised and pleased and almost ducked his head as if faintly embarrassed. Gimli’s heart gave a fond squeeze of affection.


Aww! That's such a lovely description of Laersul. I adore Pippin guilelessly revealing that he feels about Legolas the same way that Legolas feels about his older brother, especially when Legolas is always comparing himself unfavourably to Thalos and Laersul.

‘And Laersul…’



Legolas stilled. His heart gave a dreadful jump.



‘…was injured in the assault upon Dol Guldur and had to be returned home. He has awoken now but has no memory of the attack. Galion says he has not been so grumpy since he was a small child and lost his mumakîl. But Laersul has never been grumpy.’


Phew! I'm glad he's alive, although I'm worried that there might be more to his injury than there seems...but you wouldn't do something like that to us, ziggy, would you!?

Old gold, worn thin. A red gem, dull with mud dried over its smooth surface. He rubbed his thumb over the stone, it glowed. Like an eye.

...oh dear.

Sorry if this comment is a bit babbly or disjointed. I'm feeling under the weather today and not really with it.

Author's Response:

So sorry to hear you aren't very well Narya- hope you feel better soon.

Yes- I took pity on everyone who was worried about Laersul and gave you the good news. Don't worry, that wound really is small and insignificant. I promise:)

 

Yes- that ring. That mirror. What COULD the problem be?

mwhahahaha!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2018 11:21 · For: Chapter 8 The Elendil
Merry is so kind, and quite the politician - making sure Faramir is in Aragorn's side, ensuring Eowyn is included. I really love all your Hobbits, but I think he's my favourite.

Lol, of course Elrohir is grumpy at being treated like an invalid. And I get the feeling he isn't keen on Imrahil...I do like Aragorn giving him purpose by asking him to heal the grieving Dunadan. Well done, little bro.

Is it the mirror that unsettles Elrohir so much, or being away from Legolas?

Author's Response:

I love Merry but I think Pippin is my favourite- I feel Frodo and Sam have been through enough so I leave them out of it a bit. 

I'd forgotten all those little details with Elrohir. 

 

Oh, does the Mirror unsettle Elrohir??? You'll find out soom, Narya:)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2018 10:44 · For: Chapter 25 New Purpose

Oh Erestor is SO annoying! His determination to push Elladan away is driving me mad. I was almost....almost...pleased when he was jealous about Imrahil! Can’t wait for him to meet him.

And Galadriel is plotting, of course. to get her daughter back so she does not have to go to Valinor, and Elrond wants Maedhros. The two of them were beginning to sound ever so very totally devious.I can’t see Gandalf agreeing to a damn thing though, whoever asks, Unless it suits his purpose.  Elrond...he surprised me a bit. His love for Maedhros seemed to eclipse Celebrian. That made me sad but he seemed ever so slightly dismissive of Celebrian. She didn’t rate beside Maedhros.  

And my poor, terrified Legolas. What are you doing to him? Now, as well as being trapped forever in a cell with an evil ghoul he has to think Gimli is dead too?? 

So cruel! 

Wheres Maedhros???? He needs to protect my woodelf. 



Author's Response:

Haha- yes, Erestor is just tiresome and annoying and rather magnificent. Elladan is his weakness - he just is so hung up about not being good enough for Elladan that he can't see straight.

 

Elrond knows that Celebrian is in Valinor and he will see her again. He knows/intends to sail to be with her. But in this, Galadriel has not/doesn't know if she has been pardoned- she thinks she will never see Celebrian again- I need to make that clear in the next chapter. Sorry hun.

 

Yeah- Legolas is really really really in a bad way. No one knows he is there. No Maedhros in sight! In Glass, it was Glorfindel's presence that drew the Balrog, and it was that AND Erestor who drew Maedhros. I'm afraid Maedhros is not in sight - not yet anyway.

Poor Legolas. How we enjoy torturing him!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2018 10:21 · For: Chapter 24 The Three

Oh I hope they do! Free Maedhros, I mean. I hope it but I am not holding my breath. I imagine they probably won’t. 

I really like Galadriel. She’s a favourite of mine. I know she is a busybody meddler but still...

I find a lot of writers turn her into some kind of megalomaniac power crazy demon woman. I don’t know why...because she is a powerful woman and can’t just be powerful for her own sake? She somehow has to be nasty with it? Whereas the Men are allowed to have all the power they like and still be “nice”? 

Anyway. I like her here. I empathise with her desperate love for her daughter. I love, love, love, her thoughts of Finrod. I imagine there is great grief she carries in her heart at his demise. It’s how I see her so this was perfect. 



Author's Response:

Oh I AM glad you see through the meglomania! Galadriel is stupendous- gloriously pwoerful but if she was a man, it wouldn't be necessary because she would be King of some kingdom, like Finrod. Or have inherited Nargothrond and it would not have fallen. ANd she is a mother whose daughter is lost to her forever- she clenches her hand over her womb when she feels Celebrian's loss.  And she and Celeborn cannot find each other - both too deep in grief. A long time ago, a work colleague lost her child- it was her fault and he got run over. She and her husband ended up hating each other becuase he couldn't hel blaming her. It was so destructive. And she lost all her kindness. I see Galadriel a little bit like that- not as bad obviously, bit she has lived such  along long time. She is fascinating. And yes, she loved Finrod.

 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2018 1:06 · For: Chapter 7 Dagorlad
He looked down to see black fluid stained his fingernails and bits of jelly and skin flecked his tunic, his hands. There was a taste of iron on his lips.



‘They have killed Laersul,’ he said dully. ‘They have killed my brother.’ And Theliel…It was all true. Saruman had not lied.


What? No!! Not allowed!

(Of course it is allowed, it's your story, but you'll break my heart...)

‘Shall we mount Arod and just head North, Legolas?’ he murmured. ‘For my people suffer too. And likely my own kin have died. Shall we abandon Aragorn and the Hobbits and head home?’

I love Gimli here, gently talking sense into his friend. Of course they can't abandon the rest of the Fellowship.

I also enjoyed the conversation with Eomer, although the sudden hope Eomer has is sad to read, because of course Legolas belongs with Elrohir.

He turned his head briefly and saw the silhouette of Legolas against the fire. He was very still, head slightly bent and long legs still stretched out, leaning on one elbow. He was still there when the sun cracked a long line of daylight over the horizon.

And that's such a beautiful, poignant image.

Happy weekend, Ziggy :)

Author's Response:

Yes- sorry about that one, Narya. That hasn't gone away:( And I lovw Gimli here too- he is just so sensible and down to earth. He just absolutely gets it. And poor Eomer- but as you say, Legolas is Elrohir's now and there's nothing anything of them can do about that- remember the last time Legolas tried to be kind to Eomer back in Sons 1 when Elrohir ended up calling Legolas a whore and nearly strangling him- that didn't end well! (

Thank you my dear- and is it your birthday? LJ said it was and I stuck Happy Birthday on the Shout box but no one else said anything so I am doubting myself....



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2018 20:22 · For: Chapter 1 On the edges of Mordor
Re the crackfic, I did do a piece ages ago where Khamul made Sauron a trifle (don't ask) and tried to organise a holiday for the rest of the Nazgul...this sounds like it could be in the same vein!

Author's Response:

Oh I remember that! Wonderfully funny:)Now you are looking to get this going, aren't you? You're terrible for me;D

 

Ok

Khamul looked over his shoulder into the tall mirror. The long silk of his robes swished and he turned about. 

No. He shook his skull-like head and reached into the shadows, pulled out another robe and held it up to himself. 

Oh yes. Definitely the pink, he thought. And the sequins. They set off my eyes perfectly.

 

Now stop it! Or you do Angmar:)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2018 17:22 · For: Chapter 5 A conversation
No! No! Don't hurt Thranduil - or Laersul!

'I do not think this Glass has any worth,' Legolas found himself saying, again, as if he were standing a long way away from himself and watching his mouth move, words form. 'It is old and faded. There is nothing special about it.'

Oh, this is interesting. What has got its nasty claws into our Legolas now?

'Oh I am sure the Balrog never came there,' said Gimli cheerfully and, Aragorn thought, unreasonably optimistic. 'It would be worth exploring and seeing what remains'

*snorts* I love Gimli's conviction that the Balrog would have known to leave the Hall of Mirrors alone - maybe Balrogs are scared of their own reflection!?

I love the dynamic between the three of them. I know Aragorn makes some mistakes, but I actually like him; he's just a decent guy doing his best in a strange new world. And I'd be bloody exhausted too after all those battles.

Can't wait to see where this goes.

Author's Response:

'Don't hurt Thranduil or Laersul'

You'll have to wait I'm afraid- I'm trying to be more disciplined about spoilers:)

I love Aragorn- I try to show that he is just a Man in the end and makes mistakes. Also that suddenly being King isn't just an easy transition. As you say, just a decent guy doing his best.

Thank you for reading and reviewing all these chapters my dear Narya!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2018 16:59 · For: Chapter 4 Memories
‘Are you really here? Not just conjured by my fevered imagination?” He lurched to his feet and then clutched the edge of the bed in agony. He could not stifle the cry that tore from his lips and instantly Legolas was at his side, kneeling beside him and carefully lowering him to the bed.

Oh, it's so lovely to read them like this - all tender and caring, after the angst and uncertainty and anger in MDLW and Through a Glass. It sounds corny but it genuinely gives me a little glow seeing Legolas looking after Elrohir this way, and seeing how much Elrohir loves and needs him.

Elrohir would not ask like some needy maiden; he had already decided he had no call upon Legolas. In fact he was so deeply in his debt that should Legolas never return his heart and simply use him until he was bored and throw him away, Elrohir was determined he would not feel betrayed or used or misled, for he owed Legolas more than he could ever repay.

Ach, you silly Noldo, are you blind!? (Sorry, I know what he's been through and we really can't blame him, but it's heartbreaking that he still thinks like this.)

I have an awful feeling that Elrohir knowing how Rhawion died and keeping it from Legolas is going to come back and bite them later :(

And yes I did very much enjoy Gimli's jokes about the mirror. "Is black a good colour for me?" LOL - I can see a crack!fic with Khamul designing new outfits for them all...I'll file that one away along with my idea about Orcish Christmas parties...

Author's Response:

Oh, Elrohir is just so deeply smitten! He is in that infatuated, obsessed glowy silly stage of love where Legolas wlaks on water:)

Rhawion's...death/disintegration- yes, that WILL come back to haunt them all. 

Oh- I LOVE the crackfic...and here we go again!! You and Cheekybeak and me with Nazgul in sparkly shrouds- how's the pink then, for a party mood? Sauron likes me in pink!- not a good combination!!



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2018 1:09 · For: Chapter 25 New Purpose
The picture you draw of Galadriel is quiet disturbing. It seem she has no scrupel to pursue her interests. She seems very cold here, even if she has suffered a loss, that isn't an excuse to go against everything.

It's good to see Elrohir so relaxed, although I fear that won't last long. If he knew what goes on in Minas Tirith, he would be horrified.

Coming to that: What are you doing to the poor boy? Didn't Legolas suffer enough during Sons of Thunder? The horror he must feel, trapped within the dark with that cursed mirror with no hope of rescue. And I fear it only gets worse. The poor guy deserves a break, don't you think?

Author's Response:

As you say, Galadriel seems to have no scruples- she is ...well, a bereaved mother. She cannot go to Aman. But also she is hungry for knowledge and power- I find her interesting.

Legolas? Oh yes, Of course he deserves a break! He's just not going to get one;)

 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 22:02 · For: Chapter 3
‘A dangerous mirror?’ Gimli said practically. ‘Perhaps it is very unflattering, makes you look like a ghoul.’



Legolas looked at him sharply. He said nothing but his mouth was a thin line and Gimli found that unexpectedly disturbing.


Eep, ziggy, this is giving me goosebumps. Although I did have a chuckle at Aragorn not remembering the names of the different lords of Gondor. I suppose there must have been quite a lot of them, it can't just have been Faramir and Imrahil!

‘Minas Ithil was a beautiful city. Its spires reminded me of tales of Gondolin, and the bells used to ring through that valley, echo from the mountains. When the moon shone upon the walls, it was indeed white and silver. And there was great wealth too.’

Ooh - did Elladan and Elrohir spend time in Gondor? I'd love to read about that...

Author's Response:

Yes- I had Elrohir remember Minas Morgul during the trek to the Morannon. They will have certainly spent some time , I htink, in Gondor where the Heirs of Isildur's heritage is. I think there is evidence in Tolkien that they spent time in Rohan before it was Rohan so they must have ridden widely in that area.

 

Did you like Gimli's jokes about the Mirror- does my bum look big in this shroud? sort of thing!

 

If you've got goosebumps now, just wait.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 20:22 · For: Chapter 2
I really like that you pull out the issue of how soldiers cope after war. It's not something I've seen addressed a lot in the fics I've read. Mind you, I tend to read fics where the battle is still raging, so maybe that's why...!

The atmosphere is wonderfully spooky - it feels very Lovecraftian, with all that ancient evil lurking in corners.

Why do I get the sinking feeling that the Nazgul haven't really gone...!?

Author's Response:

Sinking feeling about the Nazgul? Really? You think they might not have quite gone? Whatever gives you that idea??!!!

I am very happy to be described as Lovecraftian- I al so pleased the horror is coming across- I try to frightne myself when I write and create that sensation of holding your breath so IT can't hear you breathe.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 20:10 · For: Chapter 1 On the edges of Mordor
I couldn't resist starting this, I wanted to get a good way through it before I go back to work on Thursday. The atmosphere is lovely - the glow of victory laced with the sadness of loss, and the uncertainty they still face. I enjoyed Legolas and Elrohir flirting at the Council, and Aragorn's exasperation.

I wonder what Gandalf has been saying to Pippin, though? Our favourite Took doesn't seem happy...

Author's Response:

Ooh- you are on a marathon!! I am intensely flattered:)

I like the way you describe the atmosphere- the glow of victory laced with the sadness of loss, and the uncertainty they still face 

And yes, Legolas is SUCH a flirt!!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 19:01 · For: Chapter 25 New Purpose

Aaargh! No, poor Legolas. I can't bear to think what's planned for him. I still have nightmares about what the wraiths did to him last time, and now it looks like they've got him again. And Elrohir's too far away this time :(

‘There are others to help guide Aragorn too,’ Elladan said with a nod of agreement with Tindomion. ‘Faramir is the Steward now, Boromir’s brother. He has his brother’s qualities but it seems, none of his pride. There is Prince Imrahil of Dol Amroth too,’ he said and something in Elladan’s voice alerted Erestor. His voice stroked the name of Imrahil and a flush came to his cheeks and he looked away. But Erestor saw there was a difference too in the way Elladan looked; more knowing, perhaps a little more confident. Erestor recognised that look; it was the look of someone who had discovered something about himself, had done things and lost a little innocence. It was the look of someone who was cradled in the thoughts of another, who was in love.

 

And in spite of his vow earlier and his promise to encourage Elladan to find his beloved, Erestor felt like he had been kicked in the belly. It made him unkind.

Yes, Erestor should get angry and unkind! Imrahil's no match for him, if only he would get over this whole belief he's corrupted and unworthy. He needs to get over himself and crush Imrahil to a pulp!



Author's Response:

Oh my poor Naledi- it's going to get a bit worse too. Sorry.]

Haha! I am writing the next chapter now and keep thinking about you:) Erestor is too good really- except he does have a bit of a self-destruct button where Elladan is concerned- he is so desperate for Elladan to not love him.  Oh -you aren't going to like what I am doing mwhahahahahaaaaaa!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2017 16:09 · For: Chapter 25 New Purpose
I would say 'poor Erestor' but he is of a kind to deflect pity, and I'm sure he wouldn't want it anyway. And a bit of jealousy will not hurt him. But for any of them, those who survived the Elder Days, it feels to me as if this 'waning' time is not a triumph at all, bout a slow diminishing of power and purpose, which is why it's exciting to see the Three coming into play.. But I remain uncertain of Galadriel and am not sure if Mithrandir will agree. He may see more than both Galadriel and Elrond, whose desires are personal, really, Celebrían and Maedhros. (Well, I say personal although Galadriel's speaking of overthrowing the Valar...!)

Oh, my god, now who/what is this approaching poor Legolas? That feels ghastly; your writing of this kind of supernatural suspense and horror is amazing, Ziggy!

Author's Response:

Thank you Spiced! I'm really pleased you enjoyed (??) the last scene- I wasn't going to include it but felt bad leaving poor Legolas alone in that horrible dungeon without even popping in to see how he was;) 

I agree with you that the post-War is a time where the Elves diminish and Men grow strong. But this story seems to want something else (at least at first) and I'm interested to know at what point Galadriel is told she can go home- and why? And why the Three diminish after Sauron's destruction- there is no logic in that except for poetic logic in that it brings the story to an end. But they were never touched by Sauron so why would they diminish? Having said that, I think that all the artefacts of the Elves, especially Feanorian, would be wanted in Valinor- (and I am trying to NOT be too affected by your wonderful writing and make the Valar wicked!! ) There is more to come in terms of revelations about purposes- but no spoilers!!

Thank you again for the review:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 25, 2017 23:37 · For: Chapter 24 The Three

So the three rings still have a purpose. And they are sentient. That creeps me out, because if that fact was hidden from their bearers all this time, it makes me worried Galadriel and the others are being used. After all, the bearers of the Nine were deceived.

Most of all, I’m worried about Legolas. I want to know what’s happening to him, and I’m very worried about the glimpse Galadriel got of the man writhing in pain. 



Author's Response:

Yes-exactly. There is FAR more going on with those Three Rings than has been revealed so far- which is hardly surprising. I think Tolkien never really even scratched the surface of the Rings- when you think what the possibilities are.

 

I am sorry- yes, Legolas is who she has seen. I have almost done the next chapter and then we'll get back to Legolas...not that it will give you any comfort I'm afriad.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: December 25, 2017 20:59 · For: Chapter 24 The Three
It's coming together, but what, exactly? Will they need the Three to break Maedhros out of the Void, perhaps? But would Galadriel use Nenya for that purpose?


This was really magnificently written, Ziggy, just beautiful, every line, and building toward a crescendo.

Author's Response:

Yes- it is coming together- the Three are doing that now of their own volition. And oh yes- Galadriel is an unknown but Mithrandir? What will he do/think? 

Thank you- that really means a lot- I was quite anxious about it, ffeling that perhaps there was too much internal monolgue rather than action- but action coming next!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: November 30, 2017 8:45 · For: Chapter 23 Entrapment

Oh no!!! 

Could it BE any worse??? 

No, no it really couldn't. 

I don't know how I missed this chapter. But man...is it scary!

what was Legolas thinking though? How did he ever think Gimli would send him such a nonsensical message or call him to Pelagir? My only explaination is he has lost all sense because of their separation. He's pining for Gimli. 

So who is going to save Him? No Gimli, No Elrohir, Aragorn doesn't have the sense he was born with and can't see through Bearas. 

Where is Maedhros when you need him?? He must be in that mirror somewhere!!! 

 

P.S. Love Luthien the cat! 



Author's Response:

Hello Cheekybeak! Oh, it sooooo can be worse!! And may well get that way before long (mwhahaha)

 

Yes- he's not the brightest spark -he just trips along, not wondering why Arod has been sent off to Lebinnin, not questioning (not much anyway) the note, he is just BORED! And feeling left out. 

 

I'm not answering any of your questions about who is going to save him...you'll have to wait:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2017 13:01 · For: Chapter 23 Entrapment
*A horrible scream echoes through a modern day apartment complex. Neighbors rush to see what terrible event has occured and disrupted their weekend. They leave annoyed and resentful. Disappointingly, inside the disruptful apartment is just some lady staring at a computer screen in horror while making loud hurt animal noises. She gives incoherent explainations about elves and mirrors. The neighbors resolve to avoid her in the future...and perhaps limit their children's internet access from now on. God forbid they end up like that one day.*

But seriously - I am extremely upset and I can't explain it to anyone. Are they going to send Legolas back in an altered state or keep him captive. I feel the first option is worse. I skipped over all the details and adjectives in the second half and just rushed to the end to see what happened. The horror!!!

I love the part about Legolas throwing stuff at Aragorn from a tree though(=

Author's Response:

Oh you did make laugh to read your reaction, Nash!! 

I'm afraid it's not going to be a picnic ceratinly- they don't have those where the Nazgûl are:) But I jest. Actually I am feeling quite guilty about what's happening- and I'm going to leave him there for a bit while I write about Elrohir and Galadriel and so on. Sorry...



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: November 13, 2017 1:45 · For: Chapter 23 Entrapment
Oh you are mean. I knew something like that would happen but still didn't expect it that way. Didn't Legolas suffer enough? Poor Elrohir, far away and totally in the dark about what happens in Minas Tirith.

I shudder to think about what will happen to the poor guy.

Author's Response:

You are so right to shudder! Bearos is impossilby wicked and his designs upon Legolas beyond evil I'm afraid! Makes the previous fic seem postively tame;/ 

Thank you for reviewing:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2017 18:30 · For: Chapter 23 Entrapment

P.S. Love all the names the cat's picked up. I meant to say that before, but then was so taumatised by what happened to Legolas it slipped my mind.



Author's Response:

Haha- yes. Gotta love that cat!!



You must login () to review.