| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8482
Word count: 25720926
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15752
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 17
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
06/25/18 03:50 pm
Thank you very much! I am up the hospital with her every day this week for pre-chemo tests and pick insertion. It’ll be a long week
Gabriel
06/25/18 01:18 pm
Oh dear, Spiced! My thoughts are with you both in this challenging time. Sending a lot of positivity your way.
NelyafinweFeanorion
06/25/18 06:16 am
Sending good thoughts to you and your mother, Spiced!
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:42 pm
I will go in and sit with her, it’ll take 4 hours and they said 1 or 2 people were welcome.
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:41 pm
My mother starts chemo Thursday. They’re not sure it’ll do any good, but any good thoughts appreciated.
Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Alquien
06/22/18 11:30 pm
Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble with live journal?
Shout Archive



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2018 0:22 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön

Terrible choice for Elrohir .... Legolas or Aragorn, but he made the right one. 

Loved seeing him like that, brilliant and commanding saving the child, Estel. 

But now the real games begin. 

And it does not always go well for Elrohir as far as the Nazgul go. 



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2018 0:11 · For: Chapter 35 Pursuit

Oh Legolas, poor, honorable, brave, foolish Legolas. 

It was Gimli not Elrohir who came looking for you. 

Breaks my heart. :-( 

 



Name: SparkyTAS (Signed) · Date: June 07, 2018 14:17 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön
Woohoo, all our heroes have arrived! Will Legolas be saved? Will Ravéyön be turned to the dark? Will the Nazgul be freed? So many questions left to answer. I have loved your writings for years now and your ability to build intrigue is still amazing. Thank you for this most excellent tale.

Author's Response:

Hello SparkyTAS! Yes, all the heroes arrived (actually Erestor and Glorfindel and Arwen also on their way right behind, and Elrond and co also on their way!) Thank you for reading and reviewing for all these years- it's especially lovely to keep readers who have read everything and encouraged the writing for so long:) xx



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2018 0:37 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön
OMG!!!! This is the Elrohir we have all been waiting for! Our glorious Elrohir! May he prevail and not fall victim to this wretch.
He is finally back! I'm so excited!

Gimli was absolutely amazing in these last two chapters. He truly is a hero. Although Pippin stole the show with that line - "Thank goodness you are here! Legolas has been missing for weeks!" *Cue Elrohir's head exploding* His rages are so impressive. Elladan must be so sick of his shit.

Author's Response:

Ha- he certainly is BACK and gloriously cross! He won't be very happy with Bearos. I forgot I had cut a particular scene and held it over to the next chapter - so you'll see him with Bearos in the nextpost....glad I'm not Bearos.

Cue Elrohir's head exploding* His rages are so impressive. Elladan must be so sick of his shit.

Ha! Yes!

Pippin is just... well, Pippin! And Gimli is -as you say- fabulously heroic- always.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2018 22:57 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön
I am so sorry, I have missed a chapter :( things have been crazy here.

BUT - delighted to see Bearos get his comeuppance at Olorin's hands (although the passage about the baby was sad - I suppose Bearos is really a victim as well as a villain).

Bearos curled his lips back from his long teeth into a snarling grin and then opened his jaws like a serpent, tilting his head and striking at the Man’s throat. He seized it in his wide, fanged mouth and tore, ripped, gnashed so the blood spurted over his face and lips and mouth and he leaned far forwards in his chains and kept the Man upright in his jaws, sucking and swallowing as fast as he could until there was a clattering, shouting upon the stairs beyond the door and he sucked with greater intensity, hard, draining as much blood as he could.

Ugh, nope, changed my mind, sympathy gone.

Love Elrohir riding up through the city like an avenging dark angel. And the medical detail you include is great - so realistic. I think I said this when I was reviewing MDLW but I love how you mingle real world medicine with Elvish craft.

Ah, poor Elrohir, in an impossible situation :'( :'( :'( of course Pippin gives it away...and I hope they haven't played straight into Bearos's hands by letting Elrohir go to him!

Wonderful, Ziggy, as always. I wish I could buy these!

Author's Response:

Bearos is just horrible- well, it;s Khamul really because Bearos the Man has gone. 

Ooh- I like the 'dark avenging angel'!! Thank you for noticing the surgery- I research it for ages and then translate instruments into suitable quenya so it does slow me down but feels authentic. And helps the plot- but thank you for that.

You know you hoped Elrohir hasn't played straight into Bearos' hands - well, he has.

x



Name: lotrfan (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2018 2:46 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön
Ziggy!! Poor Elrohir is in such a terrible bind here! I love how he just swept into Minas Tirith, just a commnanding single minded presence. All the warnings in his heart are so true though. It frightens me that he cannot sense Legolas.
But oh what are you doing to him, making him choose! the healer is not right--you left Legolas in such dire straights that a few precious hours will make the difference to him too!
From a medical viewpoint nice description of a pneumothorax! and the right treatment for it too!
I loved Elrohir going in to the shadow world after Aragorn and bringing him back. It is too much to ask Elrohir to take the path of men though. I will forgive Aragorn for even mentioning it due to his extreme medical state. It is enough he is taking Arwen on the path of men. He can't try to coerce Elrohir too!
I hate Bearos so very much. Or Khamul. Or whatever this frightful beast is right now. I am so fearful for Legolas and honestly absolutely horror stricken for Elrohir because the darkness comes for him. Edge of my seat for this whole chapter and I dread/can't wait for the rest!

Author's Response:

MWHAHAHAHaaaa! Making him choose- like that's a crime! And you didn't love it!!

 

Ooh- you KNEW what I was describing (pneumothorax)! I am so happy:) I spent ages on that, trying to find the right implements that would be convincing and suitably archaic without being medieval, finding the right words for surgical instruments.

Thank you for a lovely review, lotrfan:)

 



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2018 13:30 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön
Well, wow, Ziggy, Elrohir’s sheer presence as he storms into Minas Tirith like red lightning!
I have to admit I hated his having to be drawn back to help Aragorn with Legolas in such straits but I don’t hate Aragorn, and I do see that Elrohir could not really have left him. However, I was hoping he would choose Legolas over Aragorn.

Bearos, I want dead, but rather Khamûl acting through him. And so he has Ravéyön, now, but I hope, hope Eleohir’s fire will destroy all Khamûl’s dreams and hopes. What a chapter! Completely edge of the seat the whole way!

Author's Response:

Thank you my dear Spiced for posting both here and Ao3:) And I am very relieved that Elrohir's entry into MT is effective- I really worked this one for ages to try and edit it down. I was worried that it was too long - but I thought I needed to spend time on the dilemma Elrohir faces in choosing between Aragorn and Legolas- and htis seems to be quite controversial!!

Thank you so much for this lovely review- if you enjoyed it, that means a very great deal!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2018 6:29 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön
Gees Ziggy! Aragorn was much worse than I realised. He was in a whole heap of trouble. What a mess this has all been.

I was a bit shocked that Elrohir's love/grief for Legolas would come before Aragorn's welfare. I mean I realise how strong their love is for one another and I love Legolas as much as the next person and wish to see him safe and well, but Aragorn is family and right there in front of Elrohir bleeding to death. Even Legolas would agree with me on this one, bless him.

I hate the idea that all this is a trap for dear Elrohir, though.

A Teacher and a budding Healer/Surgeon. *Shakes head in awe* You never cease to amaze, Ziggy! ;)

Author's Response:

Do you know, I didn't know either until I started writing that chapter- and then Aragorn was so sick! I have to say as well that Elrohir almost chose Legolas, but Aragorn cried out and was so clearly dying that he could not turn away. And as you say, he was bleeding to death right in front of Elrohir- he couldn't turn away.

 

But it just stokes up the anguish to be honest and I love that!!

Thank you my dear:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2018 23:04 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön

Yay! Make Aragorn suffer! Especially when he tries to guilt Elrohir into taking the paths of men. How dare he pile on the emotional blackmail? I hope Elrohir sticks to his resolution that their paths will diverge. 

I’m totally creeped out by Bearos. I dread to see the trap set for Elrohir. 



Author's Response:

Ha- I KNEW you'd love Aragorn being sick. You do make me laugh about Aragorn - he doesn't know this ishappening, poor guy! You are merciless. Imrahil will be back soon though and Aragorn can have a break from your ire!!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 27, 2018 17:41 · For: Chapter 35 Pursuit
Hah! Take that Bearos! Good old Gimli! And Legolas, poor, darling gallant Legolas who believes it was a trick and refuses to let anyone else be captured. :(

Author's Response:

I know- he is so heroic! But I have just seen you have posted as well so off to reward myself with that:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 27, 2018 12:34 · For: Chapter 35 Pursuit
Hi Ziggy!

Gimli has proven over and over again never to underestimate a dwarf. Our little hero.

I loved watching Bearos lured into a trap by our own stalwart and valiant Dwarf. Especially when Bearos was of the belief that he was in control of that whole situation, gleefully 'playing with his food,' enjoying the hunt only to have himself duped and by a Dwarf no less. It's such a relief to finally have him in irons.

And Gimli was so close, so very close to finding Legolas. But Legolas' decision to bury his song to keep everyone else safe... That's very heroic and thoughtful of him and I understand where he's coming from but Elrohir, Gimli, Gandalf and the others would not see it that way. They would hate for Legolas to put himself in more jeopardy, to sacrifice himself in that way. I know that's who Legolas is, but they love him and would probably be very angry with him for doing so.

I loved the end. Absolute poetic justice. Where Bearos was showing Olorin all his victims and Olorin abhorred by what he was shown unleashed his own brand of justice in honor of those poor souls.

God! Ziggy! Keep going. This is truly awesome. :)

Author's Response:

I had to just give Bearos some nasty old torment- and Gandalf does 'press' Smeagol to tell him what eh knows so I don't think he is above torture- of a mental kind. 

Yes- Legolas is just being his wonderful self and sacrificing himself for everyone else but oh, they will be so angry if they find him and realise what has happened. 

Next chpater underway and I promise Elrohir.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 27, 2018 8:40 · For: Chapter 35 Pursuit

Arwen can’t sense Aragorn? What does that mean? I didn’t think he was too badly hurt. Still, a girl can hope...

Yay for Gimli. It was good to see someone get the better of Bearos at last. But I despair for Legolas. If he’s muted his song, I don’t see how anyone can find him until the Nazgul allow him to be found. I really thought for a moment that Gimli was going to find him. I could weep with the frustration. 



Author's Response:

I know- I am sorry- but I am writing Elrohir on the way right now- I promise:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2018 21:44 · For: Chapter 34 Gimli Gloinsson
Well, I couldn't wait longer than a day after I started. Amazing chapter! It was so good to see the felloewship in action again! And finally seeing straight! ...but how will they restore trust in Aragorn after this? It will be very difficult.

So can get Legolas now? Please....How will he ever recover from this torture?

Author's Response:

OK- sorry, a little bit longer with Legolas captured but I promise things will change in the next three chapters- just not saying how.

x



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2018 1:07 · For: Chapter 33 Ólorin
Ziggy, should I read the next chapter? Should I wait? What should I do?

Author's Response:

Haha- you've already read it:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2018 1:04 · For: Chapter 33 Ólorin
OMG!!!!! This is so baaadddd!!!!

(Not bad writing just bad news..)

Author's Response:

Haha- glad you don't think the writing is bad:) But yes, the news was bad here- but it gets better:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2018 0:50 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar
Not Aradhel! Not Aragorn! Oh my gosh!
I know Aragorn will survive but please spare the clerk! I don't know why but I'm very attached to him.
I hope Arwen gets here fast...we need GIRL POWER!

Author's Response:

Do you know, I really wanted Arwen to get there and be the one to smack Aragorn on the nose, but I just couldn't square it up with the main plotline. Sorry. But she will be there soon:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2018 0:34 · For: Chapter 31 Arrest
Hi Ziggy,
I'm sorry for my long absence but I'm weak-hearted and couldn't bear what was happening to Legolas so I thought I'd let a few chapters pile up before I dipped my toe back in the water.
I have a feeling things are yet unsolved but I have to check it out.
Lovely chapter! I loved the multi-named cat! And poor Faramir!

Author's Response:

So sorry Nash- I am afraid your weak heart has a bit more to go through yet, I don't think you're going to enjoy the next few chapter.:( sorry.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 16, 2018 12:23 · For: Chapter 34 Gimli Gloinsson

Well now I know I am very angry with Aragorn at the moment but I didn’t want you to injure him!

you have no idea how glad I was to see Gimli and he did not disappoint. He was amazing in this chapter.

I especially loved the rap on the head he gave Aragorn!! Despite all the tension that was so funny! 

So Aragorn has been bought back to himself....let’s hope he has learned his lesson this time and listens to Legolas in the future!! 

And let’s hope there is still a Legolas for Gimli to find. :-o



Author's Response:

Haha- you and Naledi need to decide just how much you want Aragorn hurt:)

Thank you for the very kind comment about Gimli- he is one of my absolute favourite characters. He's got a lot in the new chapter as well. LIkes giving people a rap on the head!

Do you think Aragorn will learn to listen to Legolas??? Nah.

Poor Legolas. He needs to be rescued...if he will allow it.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 15, 2018 21:17 · For: Chapter 34 Gimli Gloinsson
Eeeek!!!

Poor, poor Aragorn :( although unless you're going full AU, I assume he's going to be OK.

Gimli is amazing in this chapter. And I loved Gandalf's display of power, and the serpent - wonderfully eldritch.

Fantastic, Ziggy. Thank you for spoiling us with another wonderful chapter :)

Author's Response:

re Aragorn- well Naledi wants him to suffer horribly so there is no guarantee he will be OK. She thinks he deserves tormet and misery;) Glad you liked Gandalf and Gimli- a bit more of them in the new chapter but then it's all Elrohir in the following one (I think anyway)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2018 12:10 · For: Chapter 34 Gimli Gloinsson
What would we do without Gimli!

Stalwart, honorable, valiant master of stone that he is.

I love how you had all the little people save the day. And the Hobbits were awesome to behold, fighting guards and Bearos. Sam especially. What a trooper!

Gandalf joining in at the last, lending aid just enough to tip the situation in their favor.

The serpents defeat did seem a little too easy though. But the important thing is that Aragorn is free of the Nazgul's influence. Yay!

Such a great chapter! Ziggy!

Well, I've finally caught up. It's been such a roller-coaster of a ride reading this wonderful series of yours. Now I can read and review along with everyone else and not have to ignore the updates, when they arrive. Oh, and thanks for being extremely patient with me :D

Author's Response:

Thank you Gabriel- such nice comments. I love Gimli- he is great. I think you'll enjoy a few bits of the next chapter where Gimli is strong. THe next chapters are really action-packed and will move things along really fast now so hope you enjoy them.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 13, 2018 17:16 · For: Chapter 34 Gimli Gloinsson

They’re taking Aragon somewhere more comfortable? Comfortable like a bed of nails, I hope. 

That oily mist was horrible. It’s a good thing Gimli was strong enough to recognise its whispers of malice came from outside himself. I suppose as the root of the evil seems to be from the ring, men are more susceptible. Good old Gandalf, dispelling Bearos‘s  influence. But as he said  it seems too easy. I can’t forget the ring really wants Elrohir. 

 



Author's Response:

Haha- you HATE Aragorn! I might write you in as his nurse:)

I am happy that you have worked out that men are more suseptible and the dwarf and hobbits not so. But yes- the Ring wants Elrohir and don't forget that Legolas worked that out before,so he knows what the Nazgul are up to. Poor Legolas. Promise you will get Elrohir in the very next chapter- not the one just posted but the following.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 13, 2018 12:48 · For: Chapter 33 Ólorin
It's so great to have Gandalf back in the city and Olorin's powerful and protective presence once again.

Such an eerie scene with Gandalf surrounded by mists and the ghoul assaulting him from all sides. You just write Bearos so well.

And Gandalf felt Legolas' weakened song. Thank god! There's hope yet. I just hope they don't muck about too much, while Legolas gets weaker and weaker.

It's such a relief that they still have allies. The two guards outside Faramir's. And to see Arduin and Cendir again. This is not looking so grave yet.

I'm not sure what Gandalf can do to aid Aragorn or Legolas. But I'm hoping something will happen that the Nazgul had not counted on. Fingers crossed.

I really like your idea that the rings that Sauron gave the original Men are actually the Nazgul not the shells of the Men who once existed. I rather like to think that if this is so for the Nazgul then why can't Narya, Vilya and Nenya be the spirit embodiment of their prospective element. I notice you call Narya 'she'. And so when Gandalf called Narya forward I rather imagine the feminine spirit of fire in the form of a woman stepping forth from the ring in a blaze of light. Oooh! I love this kind of stuff. Love talking about it.:)

Great chapter Ziggy!

Author's Response:

Well Gandalf is really worried about Legolas (good thing someone is) but he is not going to be able to penetrate the sorcery and also, if you've read the new update, you'll know that Legolas has made a decision as well (no spoliers though in case you haven't read it)

I like your image of Narya- that's rather lovely.

Yes- I have got the Rings as characters really. So the Nazgul consume the souls of Men and that fed their energy, but now that Sauron is gone, they can do what he forbade them and take the souls of elves. Sauron didn't want them becoming to powerful and even though he made them, I think he would have had them under his own power- but they coul dgo beyond his imagining. I like the idea of technolgy and science in this- that there is a different organic and sentient material/science that goes beyond the physical. Vilya is the most powerful ring of all but Ash Nazg. It will be interesting to see what happens when Nenya and Vilya encounter NArya and what happens about the Mirror.

Thank you for such a an intersting reiew.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 13, 2018 7:27 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar
OH! MY! GOD! NO! NO! NO! NO! NO!

Now, I feel complete and utter sorrow for Aragorn.

I am lost for words, Ziggy!

I was sitting here and with every constriction of that damned serpent about Elessar's body I was on the edge of my seat, hand over my mouth at the horror, wanting to wipe the glee off Bearos' face with a swift backhand and a few other choice actions and maybe some curse words to go with it.


And when Aragorn realized, too late, what was happening and decided on a last ditch effort to send the serpent back to it's maker, {which I'm not even sure he could do anyway}, and wrapped his hand around the Evenstar and it began to flare to life, I wanted him to, 'Kick some Nazgul ass.' Bigtime. But it was not to be. Damn Bearos! Oh! Poor Aragorn.

Sorry Ziggy, got a tad carried away, :)

But to learn that once he is devoured he cannot return, cannot be made whole again. That is even more of a nightmare. *Shivers*

Ziggy! This is just..., words cannot describe... Awesome! And yet horrifically descriptive. And this Bearos/Ghoul, just a fantastic character, with his 'jibbering and chattering.'

Love this story.

Author's Response:

Thank you Gabriel. This was such a lovely review to get. Made my day.



Name: lotrfan (Signed) · Date: May 13, 2018 0:34 · For: Chapter 34 Gimli Gloinsson
Well thank goodness Gimli is back! As expected, he is not tolerating this nonsense at all. Although it is disconcerting how the mist addled his thoughts also. These new "guards" worry me greatly. Their names alone are "other", not typically Gondorian names. I love how irreverent (of course) Gimli is with the guards, the council and even Aragorn himself. Thank goodness for Aragorn's faithful clerk and the unquenchable hobbits! Sam--so steadfast and outraged. Merry and Pippin valiant and ready to do battle. Frodo trying to be the voice of reason. And Frodo feeling the taint of the Nazgul more clearly than the rest. I'm glad Gandalf has his ring still and was able to blast some of his usual sparks at everyone.

But Bearos! Controlling the men, wounding Aragorn! And still Legolas is in captvity, getting weaker by the moment. So much tension and I'm waiting for the others to arrive

Author's Response:

I am so sorry to have taken so long to respond to reviews this time- just trying to get the writing in and so busy at work. Anyway- new chapter just up.

I LOVE that you spotted the guards names were not Gondorian! And I really like Aradhel too- he's just going to become one of those stock characters I think.

Only a very little longer to wait I promise- I know people are impatient and I promise after this next chapter we will get more Elrohir.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 12, 2018 21:23 · For: Chapter 34 Gimli Gloinsson
Thank god for Gimli, stalwart as the roots of the mountains, and for Sam, the incorruptible! And for Gandalf getting there in time.

‘Trust me, Thârkun. It will not pass me.’

No, I do not think it will.

Wonderful chapter, Ziggy! But Legolas needs rescuing soon, the poor thing. I just do not know what the backlash of what has happened to him is going to be, but as it is you, it is bound to be terrible.

Author's Response:

So glad you like Gimli in this and Sam- I just thought Sam would be stalwart and as you say, incorruptible.

Yes- Legolas does need rescuing- I never thought it would take this long. But almost there. Next chapter up and then ...well... then we'll see. 

xx



You must login () to review.