| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Gift of Friendship by lotrfan General Audiences
While enjoying a reunion at Isengard with Merry and Pippin, Legolas realizes it is his begetting day. Conversation between...
Of Elemmakil and his Coming to Gondolin by Narya General Audiences
Love and loyalty demand hard choices... A gift for Kenaz for Fandom Stocking 2018.
All Through the Night by Narya General Audiences
"Time together had grown precious and rare, and there were nights when Maedhros would not sleep..." A gift for Uirgiliana...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
~ Storm Warning ~ by Spiced Wine General Audiences
~ It was something he had wondered about, almost idly, for a long time.Unwilling to further intrude on the lives of Claire...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1712
Chapters: 8709
Word count: 26534773
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16427
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 19
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
01/22/19 01:01 am
Thank you SparkyTAS and Gabriel- this is lovely- you get birthday wishes for days!
SparkyTAS
01/21/19 07:46 am
Happy birthday Ziggy! Wishing you all the best.
Gabriel
01/20/19 10:27 pm
Happy Birthday, Ziggy! I hope you've had a terrific day. :)
ziggy
01/20/19 09:14 pm
Thank you Nelya:)
NelyafinweFeanorion
01/20/19 08:38 pm
happy birthday, Ziggy!!
ziggy
01/20/19 05:03 pm
Thank you everyone:) That just made me ever so happy seeing all those kind wishes. Actually, just reading Narya and Spiced Wines' updates perfectly happy now:)xx
Naledi
01/20/19 04:29 pm
Happy Birthday, Ziggy. Hope you’re having a great day xxx
Narya
01/20/19 01:57 pm
Happy birthday, Ziggy!!
Spiced Wine
01/20/19 01:27 pm
Is it your Birthday, Ziggy? Happy Brithday :)
Ysilme
01/20/19 12:53 pm
Ziggy, a very Happy Birthday to you! May your next year be a good one bringing you joy, happiness, and create good memories.
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2019 6:20 · For: Chapter 47 Good Advice
Oooh! Another update! Love this.

I know I'm probably going to sound like a broken record, but, love, love, LOVE, your Erestor. He is such a cad.

I don't know why, call me strange, but I just kept getting the vibe, earlier on, that Haldir was going to sidle up to him and take advantage of his inebriation. Just a feeling, I know, weird right? Not that I don't like Haldir, mind, he just seems a tad villainous in this. But when Legolas had that confrontation with him... Poor Legolas. It just shows that he desperately needs a lot more time to heal, if he can truly be healed from this.

I did love the conversation Erestor and Legolas had. Erestor putting Elrohir and their relationship in persepctive for Legolas. Erestor mentioning Maedhros and Fingon but not betraying their confidence in respect to their relationship. You know Erestor could have his own story. Just saying. :)

***

Do you love him? Really love him?’


‘He is more than life itself.’



More than life itself.



Erestor drank the whole goblet down then, remembering: they had been standing on the frost-cracked stone of Himring. The bitter wind swept down from Thanogodhrim and tangled its cold fingers in Maedhros’ long red hair but he seemed not to feel it, swathed in silver wolf fur and his grey eyes like steel had not softened. He is more than life itself.It had been Fingon of whom Maedhros had spoken. The words burned themselves into the stone, the ice.



Fingon, beaten and stamped into a bloody pulp in the mud.



And now here they were spoken again. A tremor of foreboding settled in his belly.

***

So, so, sad. You wrote that so beautifully and the description of Maedhros' grief and the cold bitter aftermath of the war...


This is why I love reading this series.

Thank you for another wonderful chapter Ziggy!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much Gabriel- much appreciated!

re erestor's own story- I think Through a Glass is more Erestor's than anyone else's really. He is VERY heoric in that one. I did start writing Narmofinion, but ended up just putting bits into the other fics. But he has his story too- beyond this one and one day I will write Fingon and Maedhros and he will be in that one of course.

Haldir- yes, sorry. He really is completely unlikeable in this although I tried to make him a little bit sympathetic when he is rejected by Elrohir and then in htis by Legolas. But not much.

 

Thank you again, Gabriel- really appreciated:)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 12, 2019 22:29 · For: Chapter 47 Good Advice
Oh, YES, weekend treat :D

Adore Erestor being so narked off that Bearos wrecked his good robes, and being so proud of his scars. He's such a wonderful character, I love him.

And this luscious gold velvet sparkled with silver thread and he looked glorious, he knew. Like Fingon. Not like Fingon, he amended drunkenly. Maybe Finrod. He grinned lasciviously. Ah, Finrod was glorious too.

Good grief, he's so vain! XD

Great bowls of fire hung from the rafters in the manner of the First Age

Oh, yes, love love love that image, might have to swipe that if it's OK?

The Hobbits too were dancing and singing with Tindómion who was trying to avoid having ale sloshed over him.

D'awwww!

The comparison between Legolas and Finrod...oh, my heart. And I am glad to see you share my sentiments on Beren - pesky Man, didn't deserve Finrod or Luthien!

‘Fingon was so exciting to be around. You never knew what might happen. It was no wonder my lord Maedhros…’ He stopped. Too far in his cups now, he reprimanded himself. That was not his story to tell and he had never, ever betrayed them. Wouldn’t start now. ‘It’s probably one of the things we all love and admire about you.’

Ohhhh, yes, I can see that too!!!

Erestor passing on what Elrohir has said about Legolas is wonderful. This chapter is showing such a kind, soft side to Erestor that it's fascinating (and heartwarming) to see explored.

He is more than life itself.It had been Fingon of whom Maedhros had spoken. The words burned themselves into the stone, the ice.



Fingon, beaten and stamped into a bloody pulp in the mud.



And now here they were spoken again. A tremor of foreboding settled in his belly.


Ohhhh, no, ziggy, what are you planning!? :O

Drunken Hobbits at the end were lovely, bless them. Fab chapter, ziggy, as always

Author's Response:

I am so happy that everyone loves Erestor- he is rather gorgeous I have to say. I'd be hard pressed to choose which Elf I'd most like to run away with but you just know you'd have so much fun with Erestor!

You have any images you like, Narya!

Drunken hobbits- everyone should have them:) Thank you as always my dear. x



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 12, 2019 20:42 · For: Chapter 47 Good Advice

Gaah! Erestor needs to step in right now and get Elladan away from slimy Imrahil, preferably beating Imrahil to a pulp in the process. Seeing Elladan all starry eyed over that git is just wrong. 

I enjoyed Erestor’s conversation with Legolas. And who knew Erestor could get so maudlin with wine? The hobbits were fun too. But what is Gimli making?

I’ve got a bad feeling about this camping trip. Nothing good ever happens to Legolas when he goes out into the wilds...

oh, I liked how you tied in Legolas’s avoidance of Haldir with the inexplicable way Legolas and Gimli went around together all the time in Lorien :)



Author's Response:

Ha- I did that bit especially for you:) Your review made me laugh so much!!

Ah, Eresotr- yes, he can be a right soppy sod. Oh, Gimli's 'project' - you won't like it. 

The camping trip? I promise you nothing will happen...well, nothing between Gimli and Legolas anyway! Of course, there are orcs around still, left over from the war, and the usual hazards, and he's still very weak and can't really defend himself...cackle!

 

Glad to liked the reason for Legolas and Gimli to hang out tgoether in Lothlorien- dwarf-protection!

Thank you

x



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 12, 2019 20:25 · For: Chapter 47 Good Advice

Erestor is very wise, well, he would be with all his history, and it was kind of him to take time to talk to poor Legolas. He did seem to cheer him a little. (Although the best thing he could do, I think is to get out with Gimli for a while). The memories are so sad, though :( They are as vivid to him now as they were in the Elder Days. 


I love Gimli’s protectiveness and I am so GLAD Legolas told Haldir to hop it. What a sleaze bag. So he did have an interlude with Legolas and did take it too far. I wondered about that!  I so want someone to punch him on the nose. Preferable Elrohir (who has his own issues with Haldir) or Legolas, but at this stage anyone will do! 
And drunk Hobbits are so hilarious. 
Lovely chapter update! 





Author's Response:

Thank you Spiced- I love Erestor. He just wanted a bit of time but there are things he found out from Bearos before he died that he hasn't told Legolas of course. I think at some point someone is going to have to deal with Haldir- I think Galadriel might be very angry with him about Elrohir so if she finds out, he's in trouble.

Glad you enjoyed drunk hobbits! They ahve been popular with everyone:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 01, 2019 22:05 · For: Chapter 46 Galadriel

Aaargh! I should havekilled Imrahil when I had the chance!



Author's Response:

Haha- too late. He nows has Elladan besotted- wait until the next chapter!! x



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 01, 2019 16:35 · For: Chapter 46 Galadriel

Eek - has Galadriel learned nothing? I'd have thought she'd be done with meddling by now. But Arwen's loss on top of everything else must be a powerful drive to attempt to restore Celebrian to her. I suppose with all the ancient elves have lost and suffered, it's surprising they haven't all turned into gibbering wrecks. 

I'm growing more and more worried for Elrohir, too. The rawness of his love for Legolas is making him vulnerable to Khamul's attack. I had hoped that Galadriel, Elrond or Gandalf wuld notice his ring and see what was happening, but they seem too wrapped up in their own pain and plans to see what's happening. I don't suppose there's any way of cloning Gimli and Pippin? They seem to be the only ones in this story to see what's happening!



Author's Response:

Oh Galadriel hasn't even got started yet- she hasn't even gone to the Mirror yet- my dear Naledi! But she is winding in those people she needs to make her greatest desire happen.

Poor Elrohir- he is going to become aware of the Ring properply in the next chapter- but Khamul is too cumming and hiding at the moment. Legolas has the greatest chance of noticing, although he doesn't really know Elrohir well enought yet. And Elladan is too busy at the moment:) with Imrahil:) I'm surprised you didn't notice - oh, oops. That's in the next chapter:)

Yes- Gimli and Pippin are the onyl sensible ones:)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 01, 2019 16:15 · For: Chapter 46 Galadriel
Ahh, what a perfect treat to begin 2019 with! But poor, poor Elrohir :( I have done nearly a complete 180 on him; when I first started reading your fic I was intrigued by him and felt sorry for him, but wasn't sure how he could be redeemed. The journey you've taken him on is incredibly powerful, and it breaks my heart that it all seems to be in jeopardy now.

Your Galadriel is fascinating. I am a huge fan of dark!Galadriel :D

though she may have to rid the Mirror in Phellanthir should her cousin, Maedhros understand her purpose and seek to oppose her

Ohhhhh, good luck with that one; I can't see Elrond letting that happen!

‘Mairon. Your heart-brother,’ she said softly. ‘The other half of your spirit before his fall from Grace.’

Eeeeeeeee!!!!!

Coincidentally I have been thinking a lot about Mairon and Olorin, and their relationship with each other - the fact that Olorin fears him so much suggests he knows him well, a bit like Varda knowing Melkor of old. I am fascinated to see where this goes!

Author's Response:

Haha- yes, I have fallen in love with Galadriel as well: 'instead of a dark Lord you will have a dark Queen!!!!!' Fab-u-lus! She has become quite terrifying- but I have seen a bereaved mother who's fault it was that her child died- used to work with someone- and it completely destroyed her so she cared nothing for anyone or anything. Although Celebrian is alive, at this point, Galadriel believes she will never see her again. (I don't know when she gets the message that the Valar have pardoned her and she can sail- Tolkien sort of skates over that. And he says nothing about how she feels about that- I just can't see her bowing her head and being penitent- I'd rather she went defiantly, holding them to ransom! Ooh- plot bunny)

Olorin and Mairon- yes. I think Spiced got me thinking about those two. Sauron is Gandalf's 'great work' in a way- bringing him down. I like to hint at there being something a but more between them than just adversaries. I think it started it SOns 1 with the Battle of the Morannon. There is something in the actual book that sort of hints at something but I can't remember where.

 

Anyway. thank you for the review Narya. LOvely and thought-provoking!

x



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 01, 2019 7:19 · For: Chapter 46 Galadriel
Happy New Year! Ziggy!


Oh my gosh! Poor Elrohir and Legolas! I hate to say it, but, not again!

I also felt such sadness for Galadriel and Celeborn, more so Celeborn. Their marriage, if you could call it that, pretty much disintegrated over the loss of Celebrian and all she's been through. I would imagine Celeborn feeling utterly beside himself, that he was unable to protect her. Probably blames himself, even.


He was like stone to her. Or perhaps glass, for his veneer of calm was brittle, fragile, could shatter under too much pressure. But she might yet change that. Celeborn would forgive everything, she thought, when she had returned their daughter. And if he did not, she no longer cared as she used to.



Celeborn had abandoned her as soon as the wedding had been completed and she saw how his eyes avoided her. He moved between groups of Elves and Men, easily, talking of the forests, of the seasons, the cycles of planting and harvest, the breeding of horses. He was always at ease, put others at their ease too. Here he was talking with Glorfindel and Saeldir, captains of Imladris. Now he turned to greet Imrahil and his sons.

They don't even appear husband and wife, anymore. :(



But! Oh my gosh! I don't know who's worse, Galadriel or Khamul.

What is she thinking? Well, we know what she's thinking. But I mean, I don't think she quite realises what she's letting herself in for, well maybe she does, with that as well. She seems so intent of having Celebrian back whole again and probably even Finrod, that she's willing to sacrifice everything, everyone and Maedhros, bless him, for the sake of having the world the way it would have been had there been no doom, no war, no death and ultimately no Morgoth. Is that what she wants? She seems a tad power hungry. (Sorry I'm going on and on, Ziggy! Just love where you've taken this story.) Thinking about it though, its not a bad idea, its just the way in which she wants to go about it, that's frightening and it could turn on her.

Anyway, I've probably bored you to tears with this extra long review. I'll sign off now and leave you to enjoy the rest of your day.

Author's Response:

You are right that Celeborn blames himself- and Galadriel- her mirror, which he loathes, did not warn her and so he is really confused about his feelings- he hates Galadriel's pursuit of power, curvê and it did them no good when having foresight could have prevented what happened to his little girl (in fathers' minds, their daughters are always their little girls). If you have ever seen the blame that happens between a mother and father if their child dies, you'll know this happens- they can't bear to be together in the end. The only thing that might draw Celeborn eventually is that he may see Celebrian- but he doesn't leave with Galadriel.

And yes, Galadriel is very focused, determined and ruthless. 

 

Oh- long reviews are meat and drink, my dear Gabriel. Please ramble on as long as like!!

 

Happy New Year!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2018 21:48 · For: Chapter 46 Galadriel

Oh, Ziggy, the plot thickens! 

But, ugh,  Haldir, whom I loathe for how he was with Elrohir. Not Legolas, but Elrohir. I don’t know if he was with Legolas, or just wants to be, but I think Legolas could handle that. However, how he acted with Elrohir really infuriates me. 

 

And Galadriel, you old Machiavelli! trying to charm Gandalf/Olórin into your net. I think I mistrust her more than anyone; she may have refused the One Ring, but she is not above longing for power! 

 

Wonderful chapter! 



Author's Response:

Thank you Spiced- Happy New year as well!!

 

I'm afraid Haldir is pretty loathsome in this- you'll see a bit more from Legolas' pov in the next chapter- which I have already written(amazingly! On a roll here:) You're right that Legolas can probably handle things- but doesn't like what was done. But he was far more experienced than Elrohir- and so his heart is not engaged like Elrohir's was. 

 

Oh yes- Galadriel- isn't she fun!! Yes- power is her goal. I was never really convinced about her meek acceptance of the 'pardon' from the Valar- shehas more to her than that. But she would long for Celebrian. 

Thank you, Sian. I really apprecaite that.

 



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2018 17:29 · For: Chapter 45 The Wedding

It was so good to see Legolas more like himself until this:

 

Legolas stared down at him, his green eyes wide with horror.  He sat frozen for a moment and then at last, he drew back until he was sitting back on his heels and looked away, drawing a hand over his eyes. ‘I am sorry… I thought…for a minute I thought…’

 

Elrohir sat up, concerned, and grasped Legolas’ hand. ‘What? Did you think of the Ghoul? Did something I say…’ He swallowed. ‘Or do? Did I make you think…?’ He had already wondered if more had happened in that cell that he had seen for himself. He had already wondered if Bearos had taken more than blood, had inflicted some other heinous crime upon his beloved. It seemed he might be right.

 

‘Legolas?’ Elrohir could not bear to think what might have happened. Bloody thighs, sobbing, hands grasping. A hulking shape shoving in and out, grunting…the stink of blood and semen.

 

He wanted to be sick.

 

Had the same happened to Legolas as had happened to his poor mother?

 

Legolas pushed himself to his feet and swung away to stand by the window.

 

Outside the night had darkened and Gandalf’s fireworks were still exploding slowly one by one like huge blossoms of fire. Legolas stood by the window looking out. He was silent.

 

Elrohir rose to his feet, pulling the sheet about himself in case his own excited state of arousal frightened Legolas. He stood beside him, carefully. Not one hand, not one part of him brushed Legolas. ‘Did he…touch you?’

 

A ragged laugh tore itself from Legolas’ throat. ‘Touch me? Oh yes. He ripped into me to get my blood. His claws raked over my skin, he traced the yára-carmë, smeared my own blood over me. So yes. He touched me.’ His voice was higher than usual and overwrought. ‘Once I escaped. He chased me, hunted me. When he caught me, he dragged me back by my hair.’

 

Elrohir knew exactly what Legolas referred to for Bearos had shown him the very same moment when the Ghoul had been leading Elrohir into the crypt with the promise of showing him where Legolas was. Bearos had enjoyed Elrohir’s horror.

 

….He had seen Bearos pounding through the darkness, clambering over sarcophagi and knew he was in the crypt. He had been able to feel how Bearos had smelled, sniffed and tracked someone in the Dark, how he had felt, saw, the slightest shift in the darkness. 

 

There. Crouching by a tomb. Silent.

 

A figure. Hunched. Hiding. A glimmer. 

 

Elrohir had seen, felt, experienced everything as Bearos had. He had heard the Elf's heart hammering in his chest. Pumping blood. Pulse racing. Bearos had laughed maniacally at the Elf’s struggles, the physical strength of the Elf pinned beneath him. Bearos had been so strong! 

 

'Time to feed,’ he had whispered as he dragged his victim by his hair. The Elf had fought and kicked, but Bearos had smashed his fists into him, bending one of his arms up behind him almost to cracking. Even still, the Elf had struggled and kicked and bit. And then Bearos slammed his face into the wall so he was completely stunned, making it easier.......

 

Elrohir had known it was Legolas but he could do nothing. It had happened. It was a moment past.



.......


and it’s not over, that ring, the evil within the corruption, and now the jealousy :( 

Author's Response:

Yep- it's certainly not over;) Only just got started really. Thank you Spiced- much appreciated.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2018 15:11 · For: Chapter 45 The Wedding

Glad to see you have exorcised your Imrahil-phobia!!

Hah - never! I was just saying that if he had to be there I was glad he'd brought Lothiriel. By the way, your description of her makes her sound like Legolas. I wonder if that might help Eomer transfer his affections!

 



Author's Response:

Yes- I deliberately made her quite elegant and handsome, like Legolas, rather than petite and pretty. Eomer strikes me as not having much use for a woman who isn't his equal and this Lothiriel is certainly that! I am surprised by her to be honest, and quite charmed! (Wait till you see what I do in the Advent calendar if no one gets her first!)

 

re Imrahil- oh, I didn;t really think you had! I thought you might be working up a head of steam in he advent calendar leading to one terrible denouement! In fact, I rather think I have guessed it!!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2018 11:35 · For: Chapter 45 The Wedding

Oh, that ring is so creepy. Horrible that Khamul seems to have infected Elrohir's ring with the power of his own ring. At least, that's how I understand it. Otherwise it was a happy chapter, but the references to the ring make an ominous warning that this is just a pause before the horror returns.

If Imrahil had to be there, it's a good thing he brought Lothiriel. Hopefully her presence will make things easier for Eomer!



Author's Response:

Well whatever happened, Khamûl is certainly around Elrohir- coiled, and tightening his grip. Ominous- oh yes. You weren't hapoing for a Happy Ending, were you?

 

Glad to see you have exorcised your Imrahil-phobia!!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2018 7:37 · For: Chapter 45 The Wedding
And so it begins! (clapping hands together gleefully and squealing)

Oh my god! You have such a way with descriptions, Ziggy! Wonderful detailed and vivid. From everyone's attire to the wedding. It always feels as if I'm there, walking amongst the people.

Just when I think Elrohir and Legolas have buried the hatchet and left all that has come before, behind and able to finally enjoy one another, the old jealousies and insecurities rear their ugly heads once again, not to mention a new threat.

You always have me on the edge of my seat.


I have to mention also, the bow 'Culanthul' gifted to Legolas from Celeborn, lovely addition and such a gift. It has such a 'WoW! factor attached to it. I love this idea of characters unearthing or being gifted weapons or great creations the Elves of old once wielded. It has me in awe of the history associated with it, even if none of it is real. It just shows how much we all love this verse.

Lovely read, Ziggy! Thank you!

Author's Response:

OOh- someone looking forward to the misery and torment continued! Mwhahaha! Oh, yes- Not A Happy Ending- as I've just told Naledi;z

Thank you for appreciating those details about the wedding- I try really hard to use all the senses so you do feel a connection- it's great when it has worked. And I am really glad you felt Culathûl is a significant weapon and worthy. I feel that Legolas is really well protected now withGimli's knives and Celeborn's bow. He should be invincible now!

Thank you Gabriel.



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2018 0:36 · For: Chapter 45 The Wedding
I really pity Elrohir. He seems already under the thrall of Khamul. But how the hell does he still have the ring when he took it off. I thought Khamul slipped into the one from his mother. He couldn't have carried both rings on one finger, so there shouldn't be any confusion.

I'm glad they told Elrond and he approved. At least that is revolved.

I fear that Elrohir will seriously overstep the bounds between himself and Legolas.


Shouldn't Elrond or Galadriel something amiss in Elrohir?

Author's Response:

Yes- Khamul has indeed thwarted Elrohir- I'll reveal that in the next chapter. (Actually that's made me think of something so thank you!) You are right that they would have been on different fingers- even hands maybe. But Khamul is deadly and magic so something happened. Elrohir hasn't realsied yet of course. Your fear that he will overstep the mark is not unrealistic at all- in fact, at some piint you just know Kahmul will force that so he destroys Elrohir a little more each time.

 

Yes, you'd think they would know- but look at how the One Rign travelled with Gandalf all that time on the way back from Erebor, how he knew Bilbo had a magic ring and didn't guess? Khamulhas slunk down low and no one is looking for him.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: November 30, 2018 23:58 · For: Chapter 45 The Wedding
Wellll, I was going to go to bed, but I guess just not yet ;)

I like the sound of your Lothíriel - hopefully we get to see more of her! But oh, Legolas, don't start blaming Faramir :'(

I do love the description of Gimli as a dwarf-lord from the ancient world. In my head I started hearing Thorin's theme from The Hobbit, and I teared up a bit. The hobbits making barrel jokes, though...that made me snicker.

Glorfindel though gave Legolas a look that was too much like Thranduil for Legolas to ignore

*snorts*

I blubbed when Elrohir told Elrond about Legolas. And Gandalf's fireworks the backdrop - so gorgeous. And the bow! Are you trying to break my heart? :')

But the next morning, as Tindómion had dressed for battle, his skin showed the marks of passion. Though he had never spoken of who it was he had shared his bed, Elrohir knew now it had been Legolas. A furious jealousy coiled in his breast and hissed. Dark lust and rage rose its head in the dark and eyes glittered hard, like the crimson gemstone on the ring upon his finger.

Ohhhh no, you meanie, leaving it on a cliffhanger like that!!!!!!

Author's Response:

Lothiriel is a bit of a surprise to me too- very much Eomer's type (have I just written this to Naledi?) and I think she is quite feisty so Eomer will be more than distracted! She has elven blood too of course. 

I am really pleased those descriptions worked for you and esp your imagining of Gimli with Thorin's theme music (wow- made me REALLY happy). Haha- so you liked the Elrond- Elrohir bonding? You've been asking for that for ages in one way or another so there it is. 

 

Cliffhanger? Moi?



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 08, 2018 13:37 · For: Chapter 44 The House of the Fellowship

Yes, yes, YES! At last a chance to rid Middle earth of that irritating upstart!

By the way, I meant to say great call referencing Indigo Bunting's The River. I read that years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. I must look for it again. After I've devised an evil way to kill Imrahil....



Author's Response:

Haha- but I have an idea that will make this REALLY good fun. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 06, 2018 12:17 · For: Chapter 44 The House of the Fellowship

BTW an idea for the Advent calendar- Cats in Mirkwood? Erebor? Minas Tirith? Imladris?

Or shall we just do Legolas and Elrohir again?

We could have a reunion of the Fellowship in Minas Tirith. It could be a slashy murder mystery. Guess who gets murdered? Bwahahaha!

 



Author's Response:

ooh- I love that idea!  Who gets murdered???!!! You can't!!!!!!!!! NNNnnnoooooooooooooooo!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 05, 2018 20:30 · For: Chapter 44 The House of the Fellowship

I loved this chapter so much. There are so many perfect touches - Legolas's reunion with the cat, the hobbits and their many breakfasts, the map...but there were two moments that made me well up. First when Legolas searched for and eventually found Frodo's Song, and then when Gimli gave Legolas the knives. I LOVE those knives. If I didn't love Legolas and Elrohir together so much, I'd start lobbying for Legolas and Gimli to get together!

It's good to see Legolas finding himself again, although he clearly has a way to go. Now I'm dreading the angst to come, because I'm sure there's more!



Author's Response:

Thank you my dear Naledi. Haha- Legolas and Gimli together- I must suggest that to them just to see their faces:)

BTW an idea for the Advent calendar- Cats in Mirkwood? Erebor? Minas Tirith? Imladris?

Or shall we just do Legolas and Elrohir again?



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 04, 2018 11:22 · For: Chapter 44 The House of the Fellowship
*He closed his eyes and listened more deeply, hummed lightly under his breath, and tried to push his way through the ash… but he could not hear Frodo’s song, and so he sang softly of tall beech trees crowding over the hill beneath which were the Elvenking’s halls, the tall silver beeches spread branches of gold and russet and brown. He sang softly of the forest river, and its little streams that poured and gurgled over granite and slate into mossy pools where the beech leaves floated. He sang of the woods in Spring when the new green leaves unfurled in the sunlight. And all the time, he listened for the slightest note, the little strain of melody that was Frodo…it was there somewhere, he was certain. He was no great healer though, he just knew the Song.



…and there it was, finally. He smiled and tilted his head towards Frodo, hearing it then, the smallest trickle of water, a whisper of wind through leaves…Like a shy deer stepping slowly into a clearing. Gently he coaxed it, along the shady pools and sandy little banks of the river, beneath the oak trees.



He touched Frodo’s feä very, very lightly. Tell me of the hills,he questioned, and slowly it was revealed; rolling hills and fields, the chuckling streams and woods. Mist lying in the valleys in the early morning.*


This was amazing! I loved this so much. The images! You showed Legolas, elves in general, how very beautiful a people they are. Its as if you understand them better than anyone, Ziggy! The way you describe them and their connection to the earth and the song, which binds everything together. Lovely.


Of course he and Frodo now have this kind of bond that connects them. This shared understanding of journeying into the abyss, into the darkness and then being brought back to the light and the effects that has on someone. Do you know what I mean? I hope I'm making sense.


Such a beautiful chapter. So profound. :)

Author's Response:

I am so glad you liked that scene with Frodo, Gabriel. I was going to delete it but Anar said I should leave it in- she really liekd it too. Your comments are very kind- thank you.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 04, 2018 9:32 · For: Chapter 43 ELrond
Oh My Gosh! Poor Elrond!

I know they've all lost, but it seems Elrond has lost ten fold, a hundred fold.


'But as the sun sank over the mountains, Vilya had suddenly seemed to still, like a horse startled at a sudden sound. And then she flared and ignited, a spiral of blue-white Power thrusting upwards and away into the sky. The green fire of Nenya shot through Vilya’s white lightning, spinning upwards and then shooting towards Minas Tirith where they could feel Mithrandir wielding Narya’s fire like a blade. Vilya’s white Power caught Elrond up like lightning. He had been aware of Galadriel standing with him, her head thrown back in exhilaration…'

I absolutely love this whole thing you've created with the rings. Making them able to be used together, as one and as weapons. And having them sentient, stroke of genius. I don't think I can ever see them any other way, now.

Its not over is it? What on earth is Legolas seeing and feeling. And not just him, Elrond too. This whole thing with the Ghoul and the Nazgul is far from over. I keep forgetting Khamul is still underground stuck to the mirror keeping his brethren imprisoned. What is that all about?

Ziggy! You are the best at storytelling!

Author's Response:

I think Elrond is really miserable actually- Tolkien punishes some characters disproportionately and Elrond is one of them. Maedhros is the other who really suffers- maybe Finrod too, but less that these two.

Oh yes- those rings are not going to just quietly fade! Galadriel won't just fade either- we know she was allowed to sail, but not really why. And I think it's worth just exploring that- no way would she have gone back as a penitent!

No -not over yet:) We've still got that pesky mirror and Khamul to deal with:)

Thank you. That's a really nice comment.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 04, 2018 8:06 · For: Chapter 42 Arwen
Loved the scene with Arwen and Aragorn. God! And I thought Aragorn was desperate to bed Arwen. Lol


Loved how Faramir and Aradhel took control of the situation with Arwen. Now they're the type of people Aragorn needs to surround himself with and rely on.

And Ziggy! You write Sam fantastically. Every time you gave him a line or a mannerism, it was our beloved Sam from the movies.

Lovely chapter.

Author's Response:

Oh I think Aragorn is going to be able to leave everything in Arwen's more than capable hands:) He can just concentrate of being Kingly then and do what he's good at- keeping people happy, on side, being in charge- but not actually doing the work:)

Thank you for the comment about Sam- he is very easy to write actually.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 04, 2018 6:56 · For: Chapter 41 Restoration
Sorry this is taking so long, I'm having to re-write this comment as I was timed out. {Rrrr}


Love Gimli, as I've mentioned before. He loves Leggy so much.

Sam. What a sweetheart bringing a bunch of flowers for Legolas. He is adorable. You know he and Gimli aren't much different from one another. Both hero's in their own right, but its the honorable and loyal friendship that they give which makes them a cut above.


'Elladan laughed out loud then, knowing that Erestor was merely teasing. He felt all the sadness and emptiness flow out of him and instead there was light and joy in his heart.'

And that, my dear Elladan, is the answer to the 'twin of your heart.' Oh Ziggy! You are a tease, with these two. :) Imrahil or Erestor?

Another superb chapter. I can't get enough of this story. :)

Author's Response:

Haha- Elladan is just so oblivious- actually, he isn't. He got rebuffed very gently by Erestor long ago when he was a youth and so has grown a skin/scab over that particular wound. But he is so Erestor's! Yeah- tease tease- much more fun!

 

Glad you liked the Sam with Legolas- if you remember it was Legolas who did that for Sam at the very start of this fic.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 04, 2018 5:30 · For: Chapter 40 Bearos
Apologies for taking so long, Ziggy!


My god! Erestor has some balls! {grins}.

Oh! I just loved his memories of being hunted by Morgoth.


'Quietly and silently he sat, dampening the glimmer of his fëa, cloaking his Song, suffocating every trace of his presence so that none would know of his presence. The Ghoul. Nazgûl. Bauglir. None would know he was there. He had learned the art long ago in the Woods of Ossiriand when the armies of Morgoth hunted every last survivor of Himring, of Thargelion, of Dor-lómin. Relentlessly. Determined to wipe out every last drop of Feänorian blood, every last one of their followers.'

There is so much to your Erestor, Ziggy, so much he has survived, so much he has seen and experienced, more than meets the eye. It is as if he has lived a thousand lifetimes in one. This just made me love him more. Just opened up a part of him you would not have normally understood.

I have to say I like the fact that it is Erestor that kills the ghoul.

Another wonderful chapter! Onto the next. :)

Author's Response:

Never apologise for a review, Gabriel- it's just lovely to get reviews at all:) I'm really pleased you are enjoying Erestor- I love writing him. Did you notice he has a minor ring?I didn't know that until this chapter. And it just felt right that he killed the ghoul- he enjoyed snitching it from Glorfindel:)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: November 03, 2018 12:13 · For: Chapter 44 The House of the Fellowship
Oh, lovely! Exactly what I needed on a Saturday morning :)

I adored the homely scenes with the hobbits - I could nearly taste the food! - but I think my favourite part was the knives - such beautiful description - and I adore that they speak to him, like a loving, wholesome counterpart to Aicanaro.

Speaking of which, this line is super naughty:


He was safe. He was recovering and getting stronger. He had knives to hand and could defend himself and he would never be so easily duped again.


I hope you aren't going to have Legolas hurt Elrohir :O :O :O

Author's Response:

OOoh- love the idea they are a loving counterpart to dark Aícanaro! Love that.x

Haha- supernaughty grin;)

xx



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2018 23:19 · For: Chapter 43 ELrond
(= (= (= I don't have a story to give an ending to. But I completely support this endeavour! I just wouldn't even know where yo start! Or if I could follow through. I understand giving endings to stories is actually important(=
I'm good at reviews though!

Author's Response:

So sorry- meant Narya:/ She's writing her Maglor one at the moment and I really really want a happy ending!! But your reviews are even more important as far as I am concerned!! Keeps me writing and posting and not just day dreaming it in my head:) xx



You must login () to review.