| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Winds of Change by Verhalen General Audiences
One-shot set in the Northern Lights universe, prior to the start of Chains of Eternity. November 1989, as the Berlin Wall...
Chains of Eternity by Verhalen Explicit
A crossover with Star Wars, set in modern Earth, where a minority of the population is Force-sensitive. (Note: familiarity...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...
~ The Once and Future Kings ~ by Spiced Wine Explicit
After the destruction of the old universe, Vanimórë, sitting outside ‘Time’ in the ‘Monument’...
The City Over the Mountains by Narya Mature
A midwinter dalliance grows into something neither Elemmakil nor Voronwë expect. Duty, family and the ghosts of their past...
Summer's Song by Narya Mature
After the events of Summerland, Claire James flees to Venice, looking for answers - and for her friend, Mark Lowry, whose...

Site Info

Members: 479
Series: 90
Stories: 1753
Chapters: 8911
Word count: 27348584
Authors: 138
Reviews: 16681
Reviewers: 220
Newest Member: Magis
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
07/20/19 09:39 pm
Welcome Magis :)
Narya
07/20/19 07:47 pm
Welcome, Magis :)
Spiced Wine
07/19/19 10:04 pm
Wow, well done!
Verhalen
07/19/19 09:25 pm
Phew, OK Chains is up in its entirety now. *falls over* I'll see about getting other pieces here this weekend...
Spiced Wine
07/19/19 08:10 pm
Great — always good to have mirrored fic, just in case, I think.
Verhalen
07/19/19 07:41 pm
Yes, posting Chains here. I'll be mirroring most of my Tolkien stuff on A03, I think. :D
Narya
07/19/19 07:21 pm
Hard same XD
Spiced Wine
07/19/19 07:14 pm
Are you? Terrific I’ll just read it again :)
Narya
07/19/19 07:13 pm
You're posting Chains here! I'm so glad!
Spiced Wine
07/19/19 07:01 pm
Hi, Verhalen :D
Shout Archive



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2019 10:22 · For: Chapter 55 To the Everlasting Darkness Doom Us
Waaah, you're breaking my heart with Maedhros at the beginning *cries*

I have to pull this out:


His face was wet and he remembered rain.


The rhythm of it and the perfect simplicity of the image are stunning; I've been sitting here reading it aloud to myself for the last minute and a half, grinning. (Sorry. Little things make me happy!)

What are the Three up to...? I'm starting to wonder whether Elrond is right, and Sauron managed to exert influence over them somehow.

Author's Response:

Oh Narya- you are what I needed to prod me into action. I have been faffing about with this next chapter- changed so much of it because I had something in my head and then the Rings did something I really didn't know they could....!!!

 

I love that you like that image. I love Maedhros. Sniff. I wish I could find a happy ending for him but he just...won't...go.....waaaah back at you.

 

Yeah- that Sauron sure was sneaky!! Maybe he did...maybe they have gone a bit mad, like robots who think they are in charge of the world...



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2019 10:04 · For: Chapter 54 Decisions
Whoops, hit submit too early...

Sniffling at the image of Legolas and Elrohir at the end. Come on Gimli, come and rescue them!

Author's Response:

I am mearly there, Narya- as I said, needed a prod and am back on it. Almost at the end of the academic year and will finish this fic very soon- promise.x



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2019 9:59 · For: Chapter 54 Decisions
Argh, I am behind, I'm so sorry!

Love the worldbuilding in this series and the exploration of Noldor craft.

(Love how drinking wine clears Elrond's head when it sends mere mortals like me to sleep ;) )

Author's Response:

Really cold, slightly acidic white wine- does it for me every time. Great clarity of thought comes to me then:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: July 18, 2019 0:08 · For: Chapter 50 The Key
MY LOVELY ELROHIR!!!!! NOOOO! He knows! And he can't do anything! What now!!?

Author's Response:

He does! And no, he can't! (Have you caught up yet? I can't do spoliers until then.)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2019 23:46 · For: Chapter 49 Recovery
The Elrohir and Legolas part was so sweet. I teared up. Thank you for making Legolas say "I love you". It was slowly killing me.

I did feel bad for Aragorn here though, he missed Arwen so much and she ran off to work the day after their wedding. Hahaha

I really hope you are going to elaborate on that Elladan-Glorfindel-Imrahil-Erestor trip. Don't think that slipped by me! What an amusing train wreck that promises to be. Can't wait!

And what is going on with Elrohir? Is he already so far gone that even after someone tells him he's wearing the wrong ring - THE RING - he doesn't take it off? oh god....

Author's Response:

Slowly killing you- ahhh, gooooodddddd (rubs hands like Sauron might with a nice juicy hobbit)

 

Oh don't you worry my dear Nash- lots more of Erestor- I haven't even got started on him yet!!!!

Yep- Elrohir..there you go. (You've read on since then anyway so you know what happens:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2019 0:36 · For: Chapter 48 Healing
Wow, Legolas is just the son in-law Elrond derserves after all this pain and loneliness! Maybe Legolas will help bring father and son together? Legolas already seems to look at him as a paternal figure. I can see Legolas chastising Elrohir when he doesn't spend enough time with his poor father!

The fellowship worrying over Legolas was so sweet too. I so love the cat.

Gritting my teeth for the obvious upcoming mandatory Elrohir angst though. We will persevere!

Author's Response:

Ha! I can actually see that- Legolas has such a good relationship with his father he won't understand Elrohir, They are going tob be suchfun together!!

I love Glaurung too.



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2019 0:07 · For: Chapter 47 Good Advice
This chapter was such a balm to my soul. I loved the interaction between Erestor and Legolas and all the praise he reaped on Legolas. It was so sweet! When this finally all works out I can't wait to see Erestor, Legolas and the twins hanging out together. *Evil laughter* Fearsome Foursome! Elrohir gushing to Glorfindel and Erestor about Legolas was also so sweet. I never saw Elrohir as the sharing type - except with his siblings. It surprised me.
Also glad we finally know for sure what happened with wretched Haldir.

Author's Response:

Thank you Nash, so pleased you like Erestor- I will pick up his story at some point but Elladan is beotted ('m afraid ;)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: July 12, 2019 23:37 · For: Chapter 46 Galadriel
Ziggy! It's been quite awhile since I've been here and I hope you are well. I'm so excited to see how far this advanced and absolutely delighted it's still not over! I'm starting my way through the chapters. I owe you reviews for every new chapter(= I'm so excited!

It's probably old news to you but I can't believe how isolated Galadriel is and how fishy she's being! Will keep reading

Author's Response:

Hello Nash! How lovely to hear from you!! i havr missed you! 

Oh yes- Galadreil is to be feared and watched. She is a bereaved parent and th e power of that isalll encompassin. Cant see her giving upgracefully either!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 08, 2019 22:20 · For: Chapter 55 To the Everlasting Darkness Doom Us

This is getting so tense. It's starting to feel like Galadriel's losing control - losing track of all the different possibilities. You left it on another evil cliffie!

Best wishes for your op tomorrow. xxx



Author's Response:

OOh- I am so pleased you think she is losing control- she is! Those rings aint nuffin but trouble!

I should be in and out pretty quickly and the shoulder can start to heal then. Thank you my dear- oh, by the way- at some point, we have to get back to Imrahil  (smiles sweetly and ducks)

x



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 08, 2019 7:16 · For: Chapter 55 To the Everlasting Darkness Doom Us
Oh! I love the sequence with Maedhros.


He is such a sad, sad figure. Poor, dear Maedhros.


Slowly his fingers found that scrap of silver-blue fabric clutched between them. He did not recall his name, or history. But the small rag of silver-blue held him together. And the sound that resonated, lingered in the Darkness around him.



Fin.



Fingon. Beloved, beloved Fingon.



And in that moment, he became.



Remembering.



Man of Steel. Eru’s champion. His watcher in the Dark.



Maedhros.


His love for Fingon defies all. Burns as an imperishable flame itself. So beautiful!

Another lovely chapter, Ziggy! Thank you.

Author's Response:

Thaks you Gabriel- I confess I nicked that bit from another fic I have done just about Maedhros but just wanted to reuse it- cheating:)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 04, 2019 23:04 · For: Chapter 55 To the Everlasting Darkness Doom Us

It was hard to comprehend the Abyss. Harder still to comprehend Bauglir.


 


The Abyss was colder, darker, an absence of light and sound that made a soul scream and become mad with grief. 


 


Bauglir was a Presence that moved monumentally in the endless, endless blackness in the depths of the Abyss. Colossal… never ending… Leviathan. 


 


Bauglir’s monumental regard was tangible. 


 


 


Brilliant, chilling. Absolutely amazing writing of the Void and what it feels like!


And Maedhros in Angband, slowly being stripped of what he was but refusing to give in. Magnificent!  I did hope we had not seen the last of him. 


 


I don’t trust Galadriel, but I sympathise with her wanting to bring back the past; however she seems interested only in her brother and daughter, no-one else. 


 


And then, you have to leave it with a cliffhanger! UGH! 



Author's Response:

I really appreciate your comments about the void and it feeling convincing- and a 'magnificent' Maedhros- oh no, not seen the last of him by any means- but he is a tragic character as you know all too well... but a hero too.

Yep, Galadriel really lost at this point.  Sorry about the cliffhanger (says Spiced Wine! Queen of the cliffie!!)but this sequence is SO long I have had to cut it into three parts :) 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2019 15:48 · For: Chapter 54 Decisions

Well, I'm glad Elrond's having second thoughts about Galadriel's plan, because the three rings are seriously creeping me out! I'm glad Khamul is gone, but I seriously think someone needs to destroy the Three as well.

It's good to see Elrohir free. I had to smile, though, that you can only give Legolas and Elrohir a mushy moment when they're buried by rubble and Elrohir in danger of bleeding to death. I wouldn't blame Gimli for feeling put-upon that he's always expected to come and rescue them. (Love Gimli for always being there when he's needed, though!)



Author's Response:

They are a flawed technology actually- and we don't even know if it will work. I am half way through the next chapter- it needs to be climactic one so really anxious about getting it right. 

 

Haha- you are so right about a mushy moment half dead and bleeding!!! Made me laugh when I read that`!! You know e so well... but I know you love itxxx



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2019 5:57 · For: Chapter 54 Decisions
Khamul has finally gone. Kudos to Legolas.


But the 'three' are a bit of a worry. Not quite sure about their agenda. I'm thinking the same as Elrond, that maybe Sauron has touched them in some way. I thought it was great that they resonated together and were created to be more powerful as a threesome rather than individually. Now I'm not so sure. They are a little too sentient for my liking.

But the best part is, Elrohir's safety and wellbeing. Fingers crossed these two will finally be able to be together? Or is there more to come.

Wonderful chapter, Ziggy.

Author's Response:

Yes- I really thought Legolas needed that closure and he really went for it to save his adored ELrohir!!

 

Yep- those three are nothing but trouble... although... ah, can't say. Spoilers.

 

I promise the angst for those two is done...I did have another plan but my beta says no!

Thank you my dear Gabriel. Much appreciated.

xx



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: June 08, 2019 22:33 · For: Chapter 54 Decisions
crying. I'm so relieved for Elrohir! So relieved Khamul is gone and the darkness has left him.

and Gimli. Sure, steadfast Gimli. He can make anything better, for Legolas.

Author's Response:

Yes- they can start to actually build a relationship now... although not so sure they will cope with peace!!! :) I love Gimli- he is just so easy to write:)

xx



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: June 08, 2019 10:33 · For: Chapter 54 Decisions

Perhaps he will defeat Khamûl this time? Perhaps he will survive. Their calculations build and build upon each other’s alarca so that the long equations of perfect balance, perfect numbers, wind about each other. Perfect structures. Perfect logic. Calculating the endless possibilities.

They watch Khamûl creeping towards their bright Yôzâira, they can hear Yôzaîra’s heart beats, and the alarca of his body and fëa interfaces softly with theirs, exchanging data, information. 

All possibilities exist, they whisper to each other.

And then, Aícanaro is in the hand of the Yôzâira. Aícanaro, a single force of astra that alone can break the Hyellë. In this, Aícanaro is their enemy and their ally.  They need him and they are threatened by him. They dare not destroy Aícanaro for it has been foretold that Aícanaro will destroy Morgoth.

Aícanaro despises them. Hates the way they seek to wrest control, to override his own Raitafintë. 

 

I love the ‘scientifiction’ as Tolkien called it, in this, it’s absolutely brilliant. 

In a way I’m terribly sorry for Elrond’s decision, because I do want Maedhros rescued, but I simply don’t trust Galadriel, ultimately it’s all about what *she* wants. 




Author's Response:

Thank you- that means a very great deal. I am not a scientist but have an interest and have done quite a lot of research into QM as I know you have- but there comes a point where it defies logic! And I think I understand- and then I don't! And it blurs nicely with an alien technology- have you read mary Gentle's Golden Witchbreed? I think that might lurk in the back of my mind too- aline technology that seems like magic to us.

 

Oh-it breaks my heart too that Maedhros cannot be rescued without destroying everything...it sort of tells you where we have to go with this. But there is still the (oops- nearly gave a massive spoiler!!)

Thank you as alway for your support and inspiration.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2019 19:45 · For: Chapter 53 Legolas
AMAZING, I am so glad that Legolas cut the ring off - I knew he would, if it came to it, but seeing it was so satisfying. Although eek to the cliffhanger! What are you doing to us!?!?!

I saw that you were thinking of wrapping this up after Legolas's rescue but I think this is right for his character arc. He has to learn for himself that he has recovered, that he has the strength to face these enemies, that he is not a victim.

Author's Response:

He really went for it too, didn't he! No messing.Glad you enjoyed that bit:) I am sorry- I didn't expect another cliffhanger- Legolas just sort of went under and is lying there waiting for Elrohir.

Thank you for that reassurance that it is right to have continued this fic- yes, you are right. He had to face and defeat Khamul, so he can exorcise that demon.

Just seen you have posted Paradox- yum:)



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2019 4:00 · For: Chapter 53 Legolas
But, but, I don't want it to come to an end, just see this is where you are taking it. Gulp, what will i do without these cast of characters! I get it that as a writer you want to wrap things up, unlike George Martin, lol. Regardless, I love it!

Author's Response:

Ah- thank you:) I think this story has come to an end though- but I am sure I will write something else soon. Just not quite sure what... I do have to resolve the Glass in Phellanthir and I don't really think i can leave Legolas and Elrohir alone!

xx



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2019 6:14 · For: Chapter 53 Legolas
As the ring explodes, I realize this story is coming to an end. What will i read from Ziggy next? Lol. As always the tension, yikes!!!

Author's Response:

Yes you are right, fadesto thewest, I have felt I should have wrapeed it up after Legolas was rescued to be honest. But a couple more chapters to wrap up the Glass and Three and then it's over.

 

But I may have another fic in me somewhere- wouldn't mind having a go at Erestor and Elladan maybe...



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2019 7:22 · For: Chapter 53 Legolas
Oh My god! Ziggy!

You are so good with suspense.

I honestly thought Elrohir was gone beyond help.

This was such another awesome chapter.

You are definitely, beyond doubt, the queen of horror.

Author's Response:

Putting my crown on now, Gabriel- thank you:) I am deeply flattered by your lovely review. Anar was just so wowed by the moment in the cell when Bearos bites Legolas and he tips his head back I had to give her abnother shot at it. Thank you. x



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 13, 2019 17:54 · For: Chapter 53 Legolas

Oh, Ziggy this was so tense. I was terrified for Legolas and it was extra-creepy, having Elrohir-Khamul as the predator. And now you’ve left it on such a cliffie, I don’t think I’ll be able to sleep until I find out what happens next!

Hope your leg is on the mend xxx



Author's Response:

Mwahahaha - I know you are a cliffie-junkie- that was for you:)

My leg hurts and aches and I have not been able to leave my top floor of my house for over a week- grouchy and mean I am. So Legolas had a nastier time in this chapter thanhe might have done otherwise:)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 12, 2019 15:48 · For: Chapter 53 Legolas

Oh

My

GOD

 

Legolas did it! He cut off Elrohir’s fingers. In fact, once it came to that, I didn’t doubt that he would, that he would have the courage for it, but I was still shocked. But it took the destruction of the Ring to really free Elrohir from it (I hope)! 

 

Wow, that was one incredible chapter, Ziggy, so much tension and I thought for a moment Legolas would succumb. Thank god he didn’t in the end! 



Author's Response:

I am very happy that you felt that, Spiced:) Thank you. First review and I am relived- I always worry it won't work:)x



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: April 27, 2019 9:41 · For: Chapter 52 Hyellë-Vírin
Oh my what a cliff hanger! It's all coming together. And Legolas on his way. What will Elrohir do? I await your next chapter impatiently!

Author's Response:

Thank you fadestothewest! Yes- almost there. About two or three chapters to go. And no spoilers of course:)



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: April 27, 2019 9:29 · For: Chapter 51 The Ale Gezên-aozh
Yes! Legolas has put the pieces together. What a lovely chapter: Legolas running amongst the horses; the reunion with Arod; Gimli digging deep, knowing Legolas needed to talk; and finally! Agh. OMG!

Author's Response:

Glad you liked this chapter- I enjoyed writing it (especially the silly playing with the horses). And yes, Khamûl. Nasssstttyyy my precious.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: April 25, 2019 8:13 · For: Chapter 52 Hyellë-Vírin
Oh, this is amazing! Celebrimbor!! *sobs*

Love love love how you weave science and magic together. And Gandalf...I wonder, has he clocked what's happening? And what is he going to do about it?

Someone please save Elrohir :(

Author's Response:

THank you Narya:) Glad you liked Celebrimbor- I want to write him quite a lot!

Yes- Gandalf is the one hope... and Legolas:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 20, 2019 14:05 · For: Chapter 52 Hyellë-Vírin
Vilya’s light poured over the pages and something happened; lines of coloured light struck out from the book like structures, spread and built, constructed an arena of light in which Elrond stood astonished. Immediately in front of him the air trembled and flickered as if something disturbed it and there appeared a form, which resolved into a figure, tall, broad-shouldered, long bronze hair pulled back into the high tail of the warrior. At first, the face was indistinguishable but that proud carriage, the line of his stance was so familiar that Elrond gasped in shock and grief.

‘Tyelpë!’ Elrond staggered forward, unbelieving, unbearably hoping. Was this his cousin returned somehow from the dead?


He reached out but his hand passed through the image and with crushing disbelief he saw that it was only an image, somehow, amazingly, constructed from the beams of light emitting from the pages of the book.



I loved this.

Ziggy! You have written Celebrimbor perfectly. How he has surpassed his grandfather in the sciences, the art of physics. This is exactly the way I see him too, a genius, so far ahead of his time. And his discourse, like he's some university professor; so fascinating.

I also loved the idea that the 'three' are meant to be used in conjunction with each other and so much more powerful this way and why wouldn't they be. They are like a single entity.

And I, like Elrond, found some of what Celebrimbor was saying, a little above me. But I did my best to understand the overall premise. lol

My dear! You have me in awe at what you have accomplished here. I have always been fascinated by physics and you have ignited that interest in it, again.

Awesome chapter! Thank you :)

Author's Response:

Oh wow- Gabriel- what a fab review- thank you:) I worked really hard on the technology side of it to try to make it really beleivable and not just 'magic'. I am so pleased you enjoyed Celebrimbor- the way you see him is EXACTLY how I wanted it- it is seriously advanced technology and part of Morgoth's constant attack on the Noldor was to obliterate that technology before it became a threat to him- imagine Orcs and Dragons- the genetic engineering he undertook, and then the sentience of weapons that Feanor was creating- almost AI. It's different from what we have invented but similar enough I hope. There are some really good Quantum Physics You tube films- very clear about the Split Screen experiment and Shroadinger's cat. That's all you really need to know for this:) Thank you again my dear, so much appreciate your review.



You must login () to review.