| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Deception by Starfox General Audiences
A trade delegation from the south visits Mirkwood and Thranduil and Legolas are highly suspicious.
Fairest by Narya General Audiences
Artanis works on a project and begins to realise that Valinor cannot give her what she needs. A gift ficlet for Cheekybeak...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
A Love Unspoken by cheekybeak General Audiences
A prequel to “Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls.” On a ship at Pelegir a newly stricken Legolas battles with the sea-longing...
Shadows and Cages by Narya Teen
In Gondolin, Fanari and Aredhel spend an evening by the fire. A gift ficlet for Spiced Wine for Legendarium Ladies April.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1638
Chapters: 8393
Word count: 25414431
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15536
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
04/26/18 09:45 am
Also on Dreamwidth. See Narya if you are not on Dreamwidth or Tumblr for more information :)
Spiced Wine
04/26/18 09:41 am
Tolkien Summer Reverse Bang News is up on News. Narya is running it on Tumblr. @naryaflame or search for narya on search
Narya
04/22/18 10:25 pm
Yes, the world felt all clean and fresh today - we had a bit of a storm last night but not as dramatic as I was hoping!
Spiced Wine
04/22/18 09:51 am
We had two storms, late evening and about 1.15, really energetic, incredible lightning! It’s nice this morning though!
Narya
04/21/18 10:08 pm
Beautiful weather again today :) although thunderstorms forecast soon - I am waiting up for it, I love a good storm. How is everyone's weekend so far?
Narya
04/20/18 10:35 pm
Happy Friday :) it's been a gorgeous day here.
Spiced Wine
04/20/18 09:51 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Gabriel
04/20/18 12:47 am
Thank you Nelya, thank you Spiced. :)
Spiced Wine
04/19/18 08:22 pm
I’m glad you’ve had a lovely day, Gabriel :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/19/18 05:47 pm
Happy birthday Gabriel!
Shout Archive



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 27, 2018 7:11 · For: Chapter 33 Ólorin

Ooh, creepy!! 

Well Gandalf has it all sorted out quite quickly.... but what will he do? Already he seems to have almost given up on Legolas. Thank Goodness Gimli and Elrohir won’t. 

I am worried now how Legolas is going to be at the end of this. I am confident—perhaps foolishly—that you will not kill him off...but mentally, emotionally, what will he be like? I know he is a resilient soul but I would not be surprised if this experience didn’t shatter him completely. 

I hate reading about that horrific ghoul. Gives me nightmares! No more than the nightmares Aragorn is having at present though I suspect. 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 23, 2018 12:19 · For: Chapter 26 Departures
Oh! I love Niphredil!

A horse after my own heart and with its own cameos.

These two were made for each other. lol 'Sweet thing' indeed. :D

I love how the people you thought had good judgement, were duped, and the ones who appear foolish and or gullible are the ones who have deduced suspicious circumstances surrounding Legolas in this chapter.

That Hobbit Detective Agency is looking better by the second. :)

I do hope they can find Legolas before its too late. Poor thing. And just when Elrohir is riding high on cloud nine. :/


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 23, 2018 11:23 · For: Chapter 25 New Purpose
You know, Ziggy, its any wonder Glorfindel and Erestor get on at all. They are such opposites.

Erestor's self-loathing at what he's done to and is still doing to himself and Elladan.

Glorfindel has become Erestor's conscience of sorts. The friend who's ethics in all things is honorable and valiant. I mean Glorfindel hates seeing Erestor doing this to himself, denying his right to love and happiness. He is so much like Elrohir.

And Glorfindel still holds a torch for Idril, that's so beautiful.

Now, Galadriel on the other hand, is a bit of a worry. Her talk about opening the doors of night, using the rings to somehow turn back the clock so Celebrian can be whole again and returned to them. There has to be consequences to all of this.

I for one would love to see Maedhros released, but who would be there as sentinel to guard the gate against the darkness within. I can't believe Elrond would agree or even go along with this. Mind you, who can say no to Galadriel once she has her mind and heart set on something.

Galadriel's powerful, yes, a force to reckon with, but up against a whole army of evil, balrogs, possibly even a Vala, I'm not sure she's that powerful.

Wonderful chapter, Ziggy! :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2018 7:02 · For: Chapter 24 The Three
Hey Ziggy!

Thank you for being so patient with me, reviewing like this, two at a time. :)

This is a wonderful idea. Of having the rings not so much separate but have them work in conjunction with each other.

And they can open the gate to the everlasting dark. Together. I'd like to see that.

More importantly I'm with Erestor and Glorfindel, in wanting to release Maedhros from the dark. That whole part of the story with Maedhros in Phellanthir, guarding the gate between the world and the everlasting dark, so heartwrenching.

Now, Galadriel is not one of my most favorite characters. But that does not mean I don't like her. When you write her though, you do her justice, Ziggy! The mirror scene with Nenya, wonderful! I actually enjoy reading about her when you write her.

Thanks Ziggy. Have a great Sunday! :)

Author's Response:

I'm really pleased you enjoy Galadriel- I don't 'like' her either but I have sympathy with her for so many losses, especially her only child. She beleives she cannot return to Valinor so can never see her again- isn't that dreadful. And the Three HAVE to work together, don't they? Celebrimbor made them to wear himself to preserve etc so it just seemed so obvious to me- so glad you like that idea because Tolkien doesn't actually say very much about them. I think they will keep trying to get back together- are sentient, like Ash Nazg.

Thank you for all the lovely reviews, Gabriel. 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2018 5:49 · For: Chapter 23 Entrapment
OMG! Ziggy! Poor Legolas.

I knew the instant that poor boy turned up at the door, that the note was a ruse to lure Legolas.

And now he's trapped where no one can find him. And with a mirror at the back of his cell. The Minas Morgul mirror. {Shivers}.

What are the Nazgul planning to do to Legolas, using the mirror?! What on earth is in that mirror, Ziggy, just waiting to be released?

This is terrible. I hope someone realises something is amiss. And soon. :(

Author's Response:

Sorry Gabriel- I'm afriad Legolas is stuck in there for some time! 



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 08, 2018 12:43 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar

To be honest I haven’t forgiven him for letting Legolas be sent out to the Nazgûl in “Sons” yet....nor Gandalf for that. 

At least Elrohir is mortified, horrified and deeply regretful about his part in that......the other two? I’m not so sure. 

(Well I know Gandalf isn’t bothered by it, your Gandalf is so single minded and ruthless.) 

Does it bother Aragorn he allowed that to happen? I don’t think so particularly. 

I have a long memory, Aragorn, and you haven’t been treating my elf very nicely. Mess with Legolas at your peril :-) 



Author's Response:

No- I don't think I have ever forgiven Aragor for saying at elrond's council-' how come the folk of Mirkwood have failed in their trust' - outrageous thing to say!! 

Yes- I have made Gandalf very ruthless. I always think that he is like a general and has to sacrifice a few for the good of the the many- but he works for the Valar so in the end, he has a hidden purpose too. This fic is about that as well.:)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 08, 2018 9:29 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar

I am prepared to see if he redeems himself :-) 

The jury’s out on him at the moment....but after all I used to loathe Elrohir....so theres still hope for Aragorn!

I have decided he is at least still a sentient being inside his ensorcellment and so probably well aware of the magnitude of his error. Perhaps the horror with which he must be watching this play out will be punishment enough :-) 



Author's Response:

haha- OK. We'll see if we can persuade you he is a worthwhile human being:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 08, 2018 7:17 · For: Chapter 22 Lothlorien
When I first began reading this series I became totally enthralled by the way you viewed and wrote Galadriel and Celeborn. I don't know whether you remember the comments I made.

I loved your Galadriel and Celeborn, especially Celeborn. He was a strong, commanding presence, gorgeous and absolutely delicious a character. I found it hard to believe that Galadriel could spurn him when they were together. And that he still loved her with the same ferocity as when he first set eyes on her. But if I remember, the ring and her ambitions for power were slowly pushing them apart. I hope my memory served me well there, Ziggy.{Shakes head} Such a waste.

I would love to read a fic all about those two. You write them so wonderfully! But I understand Ziggy, if its not in the works. Please don't feel you have to write one just because I asked. It's fine, really. I would rather you want to than feel you have to. You know what I mean? :)

Anyway, onto the chapter.:D


It is so great to have Elrohir happy for a change totally in love with Legolas. Although there were still a few moments where I noticed his self loathing again. He has raised Legolas on a pedestal and sees himself kneeling at his beloved's feet. Will this view of himself ever go away? Poor Elrohir. I suppose it could take sometime before he is free of it.

Oh! And yes! I had almost forgotten about Tindomion. That situation is going to prove very interesting. But more torture for poor Elrohir. :(

There was a passage where Elrohir was remembering their lovemaking where Legolas was acting as if he was bound? My thoughts instantly flew to 'Interlude in Lothlorien' where Haldir mentioned he bound and gagged and tortured Legolas? OMG! Ziggy! Is Elrohir ever going to find out Haldir had Legolas and not in a nice way. And if I remember wasn't it mentioned that Haldir did something to Elrohir when he was very young that created all this violent behaviour with sex?

OMG! Just when I thought everything was looking up for Elrohir new problems replace the old.

I loved your Arwen! Dancing in front of her brother while they chatted. It was so adorable. She seemed so childlike, so delightful, like nothing could touch her. But somehow in no way naive.

I'm quite worried for Legolas though. The Ghoul has plans for him. So Elrohir and the Company from Imladris better make haste, because Minas Tirith is going to need them I fear.

Fantastic chapters Ziggy! You are constantly outdoing yourself with every new chapter. :)

Author's Response:

Thank you for those very nice comments about Galadriel and Celeborn- you are right that she does push him away but it's because of Celebrian- everytime her parents come together for closeness, sex, she can'tstop thinking about Celebrian- that they have lost her, what was done to her- it's complex. She does want to use Nenya to undo all of that and go back to the way it was- I think grief like hers must be overwhelming and if there is a way to stop it, you would take it. Of course Celeborn doesn't see things the same way- he lives in the moment though he grieves too- obviously.

 

Yes- Elrohir is completely besotted, devoted, worshipping. Can't be good for when Legolas does things wrong and reveals he is just as flawed etc as the rest of us!

And yes to both points about Haldir- he did seduce Elrohir when he was very young- his first experience of sex, and then in Elrohir's eyes, 'corrupted' him by making him go along with Haldir's BDSM games so Elrohir feels he never had the innocence of first love/experience. Haldir seduced Legolas  too- but hardly unwillingly- and played games with him too- he certainly told Erestor that he hadn't stopped when L asked him, but you never know with Haldir if he is just saying that to excite his lover. But at some point, Elrohir is going to discover that Legolas had Haldir too- and how is that going to play out??

 

Yes- the Ghoul certainly does have plans. 

Thank you reading and reviewing, Gabriel!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 08, 2018 5:28 · For: Chapter 21 Theft
Hey Ziggy! Hope you're having a great weekend!

You know I did not like Heredir when he was first introduced, but he has redeemed himself a hundred fold in this chapter. Throwing accusations at Bearos. This Lord knows nobility like the back of his hand, like he can sniff it out from a mile away and that does not bode well for poor old Bearos.

*'I know not how you come to be at this council,' Heredir said. He leaned back in his chair and fixed his rheumy blue eyes upon the man. 'You have no lands, no titles. You are no Lord. At best a Merchant.'*

*And here is the King himself, also but lately come and without lands or titles.' Bearos laughed once and something in it chilled Gimli. He saw the other Lords felt it too.*

*But Heredir met the Man's eye boldy and with great hostility.'The King has the blood of Elendil in his veins,' the old man said coldly. He is not some peasant just come down from the mountains.'*

Oooh! I love it! He's got balls! lol. But then I suppose he wouldn't be in the position he's in if he didn't have some courage.

And then further down the chapter; *Heredir shoved the chair away with a derisive sneer, and leaning on his cane, he said to Bearos, 'Do not think to fool me the way you have fooled all these others.' He leaned closer to Bearos. 'I can smell you.' He wrinkled up his nose. 'You smell of Mordor.'*

Haha! I absolutely loved that part!

Then I thought, Oh my god! He's going to die! Shut up! Heredir! Shut up! Don't say another word. And sure enough the 'thing' is thinking those exact thoughts once the council breaks.

And then I had a pang of sorrow for Bearos, for being a slave and prisoner to this creature that uses his body. And his family who the 'thing' is playing mind games with, have to live in fear. His baby son who the Ghoul cannot wait to devour. {Shivers} And to have Bearos fight his way to consciousness, to the surface to stop the 'thing' from harming his son. I was so surprised by his daring to rise against the creature in order to save his child. Not surprised that he would do it, surprised that he would face this beast with all its strength and power and might. To face something the stuff of nightmares and come out on top even if briefly.

And then the horror of Bearos being consummed and lost forever. OMG! so heartwrenching! No doubt in my mind Bearos regretted picking up that dam ring in the first place. The moment he slipped it on he was lost. But there's nothing he can do about it now, is there. :(

Author's Response:

Oh Heredir is quite a crusty old man but used to power, having things his own way- and I won't give you any spoilers!

But I am glad to felt the pathos of Bearos- he is like Smeagol in that he is consumed by the Ring really- that he disappears and the Ring/Nazgul take over. He does get nastier though!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2018 23:37 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar

Well I assumed Elrohir would be too busy beating himself up, as he always does, to get on Aragorn’s case! 

Aragorn has regained a microcosm of cred back.....a microcosm. 

Still very angry with him. He’s sposed to better than this and when you take things right back to their beginning it’s his inattention that led us here. 

And he doesn’t learn his lesson?? Are you serious? 



Author's Response:

I am not sure whether Aragorn learns his lesson or not only because I haven't written that far ahead yet CB- please don't hate Aragorn!!

Yes- Elrohir will almost certainly blame himself for the entire incident:)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2018 23:20 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar

And now I’ve finally caught up on reading I have gone to read the reviews. Join me up for the major Aragorn ass-kicking please! So glad I’m not the only one pissed at him. (Though I knew Naledi would be) 

So over that boy. He has so much to answer for. Please let Gimli be first! 



Author's Response:

Gimli first then:) Followed by Naledi, Nash and you:)

Poor Aragorn- I think the kicking he will get from Elrohir will be the worst though.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2018 23:15 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar

Oh dear. 

Well Aragorn put up a good fight but it was all too late. 

Just as well Arwen is with the twins....I think they will need her.

But I’m still angry with Aragorn. He had so many chances before it got this dire. So many times he saw warnings and turned his eyes from them....in the beginning....before Bearas’ sorcery started in earnest...it was simply because it was all too difficult and he chose the easier route. 

Legolas warned him, and for not the first time, he ignored him. 

 

So yeah, good job here Aragorn you proved your mettle, but too late...and it doesn’t absolve the mistakes of earlier for me. 

Legolas will forgive him though...again. But should he? I hope Aragorn finally learns some lessons after all this.



Author's Response:

Well I am relieved Aragorn has got some cred back- it's not his fault entirely but he does have ad readful tendency to ignore Legolas' warnings and he should know by now that he is always wrong and legolas is always right!!

Yes- he should learn...not sure if he does though.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2018 22:59 · For: Chapter 31 Arrest

Thank god Gimli is back. 

That’s all I can say about this chapter. 

:-o

and perhaps Gandalf will give Aragorn and Faramir a slap around the head.

god knows they need it. 

 



Author's Response:

Haha! Yep- they certainly do:)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2018 22:47 · For: Chapter 30 Angmar

Ok, so this isn’t how it happened is it? For Elrohir...when he summoned the Nazgûl? I mean he was a total mental mess at that point but he did it to save Legolas.....right? But it was an incredibly dumb idea all along that blew up in his face. So long since I read that scene I cant remember but I will assume this is Angmar twisting things.

I may be foolish but I am confident you are not going to kill off Legolas here so now my worry is what this will do to the two of them? Don’t destroy their love!!!!

And the most creepy thing.....that damn Bearas feeding Legolas human meat. OMG. 

 

And then there is Aragorn: OMG I have no words with him. 

And just when I think he is finally going to get up and go do something...away from Bearas’ influence....go out and do some snooping for himself.....he doesn’t.

Damn the man. 

 

 



Author's Response:

Yes- Elrohir did summon the Nazgul to try and give them what Gandalf wanted without involving Legolas- but they tricked him- outwitted him and so got to Legolas befire he could get back there. And yes, Angmar twisting everything- I thought I'd have to put that scene back in because it is such a long time since it was posted adn I hate having to flick back and forth in stories to try and work out what had happened- I never know if I overdo the flashbacks.

 

Yes- that human meat bit is disgusting. I frighten myself sometimes, the depths my mind can get to.

Poor Aragorn- not his fault. He doesn't know there is a ring. I feel the need to defend him whilst writing his ass being kicked hard by Gimli ad the hobbits:)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2018 22:24 · For: Chapter 29 Blood

SO annoyed and fed up with Aragorn! Seriously.

He is always failing Legolas. Waiting, waiting for him to get his act together and think sensibly when Bearas isn’t around. 

I did love the flash of inspiration the evenstone gave him. 

Come on Aragorn, show us what you are made of. You are supposed to be an extraordinary man....better than Isildur....

And poor Faramir.....my heart bleeds for him. You make me so, so sorry for him. 

Thank god for the hobbits. The only ones using their heads.

ignoring what you are doing to Legolas.....it’s just too horrible. :-o 



Author's Response:

:) I know. Vile. And it hasn't finished yet I'm afraid. I hate to see him helpless- even if he makes a few breaks for freedom he's still absolutely imprisoned. Sorry.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2018 12:50 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar

Oh yes, I'm going to enjoy the Aragorn ass-kicking scene. Frankly I'd far rather be written into that one, frying pan in hand. I will never drool over Imrahil :D



Author's Response:

OK- might have you waving a lace hankershief then and cheering Gimli on delicately:)



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2018 1:51 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar
Arwen, Elrohir, Gimli, Gandalf and all four Hobbits should be kicking Aragorn's ass about all this! Well, the Hobbits might have to settle for kicking his shins and Gandalf for knocking him in the head with his staff!

Author's Response:

Poor Aragorn! Everyone is so cross with him!! I love your idea of a group ass-kicking!!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2018 15:16 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar

Do what you like with him, throw him to Bearos for a good chew?

Yes - great plan! Distract Bearos by letting him drain Aragorn's blood. While he's doing that the hobbits can find and save Legolas. Oh, and don't think I've forgotten about Imrahil, either. As he has traces of elvish blood, Bearos would surely enjoy Imrahil's blood, too. So Imrahil would serve as an additional distraction to give the hobbits more time.



Author's Response:

Hahaha! I am laughing so hard right now!!!

You are merciless! You're going to enjoy a later sceene where Aragorn gets the most MASSIVE ass-kick in his whole life- everyone lining up right now- I think Gimli is fighting Elrohir for first place!! 

I actually thought you had forgotten Imrahil! I was going to write an enjoyable little piece in about five chapters- maybe fewer, just for you:) You and Narya all over him- swooning like silly maids!!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2018 20:53 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar
Ugh, Bearos gibbering and clacking and chattering all over the place is making me feel a little sick...it's a testament to your amazing powers of description, though, that you can evoke genuine physical revulsion in your readers!!

I wonder whether Aragorn would have been so easily influenced if he wasn't worn out from all his new kingly duties? :( hopefully Arwen can set him straight when she gets here.

I was really hopeful that Hirluin might have seen through Bearos - but then I suppose Bearos would just have killed him :(

I am on tenterhooks for the next chapter, ziggy. Somebody please stop Bearos and rescue Legolas soon!

Author's Response:

I am weirdly delighted that he revolts you like this! I find him repellant too - I hope I haven't overused the gibbering clacking stuff. 

re Aragorn- I think he was very much on his guard to Ash nazg and he has no idea bout Khamul- he doesn't even know it;s there and so he trust Bearos, who has spent a long time cultivating him. But Arwen is going to be very very cross! 

I think Hirluin has seen through Bearos- he just doesn't care, doesn't think Hirluin is important and Aragorn AND Bearos can , as you say, just have Hirluin imprisoned or excuted, or quielty bumped off. None of this is good for Gondor!

A little longer to go my dear Narya, but help IS on the way:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2018 16:03 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar

Gaah - evil Bearos! What a hideous image of him with his disintegrating body and clacking teeth.

Thankfully I'm not an Aragorn fan, so I don't mind reading how Bearos has him almost completely under control. Just as long as the hobbits, Gimli and Gandalf keep their wits, you can do what you like with Aragorn. I like Hirluin, though, so I hope Bearos doesn't try and get rid of him.

But seriously, someone needs to find Legolas and save him now! It's a good thing I don't know where you live, or I'd  be marching up and down outside your house with a placard saying 'Save Legolas NOW!'



Author's Response:

I like Hirluin too- he has become rather an interesting good guy and I think I will keep him in the future scenes actually- I love oyour cavalier approach to Aragorn! Do what you like with him, throw him to Bearos for a good chew? 

Oh dear- a Save Our Elf campaign! Don'tworry- not long now- but not quite straight away, there's a little bit more to come yet. 

x



Name: SparkyTAS (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2018 15:13 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar
And the intrigue just keeps growing. I'm still loving this story. I can't wait to see what happens when the Elrondionnath arrive. And what about the trust between Aragorn and Faramir? And who is going to save Legolas? So many questions. Thank you for sharing this wonderful story.

Author's Response:

Thank you my dear SparkyTAS! Glad you are enjoying this:)

 Yes- Elrohir is on his way with his posse! But they are a couple of days away yet- maybe three? Maybe only two? Long enough for plenty to happen though:) I think you are absolutely right that Aragorn has destroyed any trust between himand faramir- maybe that is why Faramir goes off and rules Ithilien rather than staying in the city as Steward? Ah- who saves Legolas? I'm not quite clear yet- there are some unexpected possibilities!! 



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2018 13:16 · For: Chapter 32 Elessar
Hirluin, Bearos noticed with malicious delight, was struck dumb. He gaped like a caught fish and could not find the words to protest for it was so convincing! Who had not noticed at the coronation feast how miserably the Steward watched Eowyn hanging upon Legolas’ arm, how they had laughed together and he poured her wine? Bearos knew he had won when Hirluin sat heavily in the chair and did not look at him. And he saw too how the King’s eyes were fixed upon him, how his mouth was frozen in a rictus, unable to speak for Khamûl had filled his mouth now, crammed his coils into the mouth, the throat, his gullet and he silently choked. Elessar knew now what was happening to him, but could not speak to save himself.
Much like Faramir! Bearos stifled a chuckle at the comparison.


Oh Hurluin, you did try. This is awful, Khamûl wrapping his coils around Aragorn, choking him, and the plausibility of Faramir’s (supposed) actions :( And Legolas being fed off as if he were a piece of meat in a larder. Such a terrible usurpation of all that is hopeful and good in Aragorn’s return. God, Bearos, I want you to die horribly!

Author's Response:

I have ended up quite liking Hirluin- for a stock character to just move the story along, he has been quite interesting and rather heroic so I'll probably have more of him. I'm glad faramir's actions/ evidence against him seems plausible- Bearos has been quietly buidling things up. storing them away etc- he is modelled a little bit on Thomas Cromwell and Henry Viii's intrigue against Ann Boleyn- a bit of hearsay here and there, a false witness or two, planted evidence that is very thin- but it all stacks up when you have someone who has had poison dripped in their ear for a little while- add a magic ring that influences Men and Bob's your Uncle!!

Thank you, Spiced.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2018 14:14 · For: Chapter 20 The House of the Dead
Oh dear! Poor Arduin! Gimli's such a pillar of strength in Arduin's hour of need.

And what's with Ioralas' extreme white pallor. That 'thing' sucked all the blood from him? How gross! Maybe that's it sustenance or the only way it could escape the mirror. Horrible!

This story is getting so good. :D

The description of the Tombs of the Kings and Stewards, so wonderful Ziggy!
It almost had the feel of an Egyptian Tomb. It was so vivd I almost felt like I was there with Gandalf and Gimli walking the long dark passageways.

Loved Gandalf showing Gimli what happened in Phellanthir. Stepping outside his old corporeal form as Olorin. I love it when he does that. Love it when he uses his power in his true form.

*Gimli saw not the Wizard, but something, someone else; radiant, light shining through him, long silver-white hair and a face of such benevolence and stern kindliness he felt like weeping.*

This is just great! Now the mirror has been stolen! But what did I expect. It's a thing of power, a doorway between this world and the dark. This is not good at all! They could just bring anything through those doors. I shiver to think. :/

Legolas is really quite haunted by whatever that 'thing' was. And what of the device on the dagger, the letters. What on earth does it all mean, Ziggy! It has me super intrigued.

Had to laugh at Frodo feeding little Glaurung and the poor little thing promptly sicking it all up over Gimli's slippers. Ha! Ha!

You are such a great storyteller, Ziggy! Thank you for another intrigue filled and delightful chapter! :)

Author's Response:

Thank you Gabriel- such nice comments made my day!! I love the idea that you see it as an Eygptian tomb- that's wonderful. And I like Gandalf becoming Olorin as well- he slips in and out of mortal flesh. I like thinking that he is so much more powerful than he appears to be.

Yes- the mirror is really really powerful. Like you say, same as the one in Phellanthir. As you say, it could bring anything...no spoilers;)

 

Love that cat!!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2018 11:35 · For: Chapter 19 Pursuit
Hi Ziggy! Hope you're having a great Easter!


OMG! Ziggy!

Reading this first part of the chapter gave me goosebumps. Brrrr!

Fantastic chapter! Especially Legolas lying in wait in the derelict part of the city for the man/thing that followed he and Merry.

The whole time Legolas was pursuing that ghoulish figure I kept glancing over my shoulder as if something or someone was standing behind me.

Of course it didn't help that I was sitting in a dark living room alone with only a single lamp to lend light. :/

What did Legolas think he was doing, following this thing, whatever it is, by himself! He could have been killed. But I guess some good came from it, that he found Ioralas. Not the way I would have liked Ioralas to be found, but there it is. Very sad. I feel more for Anduin, finding out the man he loved is dead and not being able to realise their dream together. :(

There's nothing like a furry feline to warm the cockles of you heart. Love the names. Gimli naming it Azaghul and Legolas calling it Glaurung?! These two are precious. LOL. I love reading about your Gimli, Ziggy, he's wonderfully written.

Not that its been confirmed yet, but what are they going to do when they find the Nazgul or one of them at least, are alive and well, not that you can call white and haggard with jagged teeth, well, running around their fair city?

I hope they figure this all out soon. Because the longer evil has free reign, uninhibited access and is able to gather strength, the harder it might be to take them down.

Another one on its way, Ziggy! :D

Author's Response:

Oh yes- this was a creepy one, Gabriel- very important for the next bit of the story.

Love Gimli too- and there is yet another name for the cat awaiting you- the Hobbits are going to call her something else!!

Yes- that Ghoul is going to be around a bit later on as well I'm afraid. Glad you are enjoying it, Gabriel:)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2018 22:50 · For: Chapter 31 Arrest
Nick whatever takes your fancy - I'd be honoured if a stray thought of mine was included in the story! :)

Author's Response:

Thank you:) 



You must login () to review.