| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Last Night I Dreamt I Went to Summerland Again ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
At the Monument, after Dagor Dagorath, Vanimöré wakes from a dream. Anything is better than doing nothing and...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Mature
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
The Hounds of Love by Verhalen Explicit
Sören Sigurdsson and "Mark Lowry" are continuing what they started in Sausalito over the summer. But they have some challenges...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Chapter 60: A Rounding Up. ‘Seems they are looking forward to having you back,’ Gimli smiled, his earth brown...
A Song of Staying by Himring Teen
In the far future, in a galaxy far, far away, a few lines from the Silmarillion still serve as inspiration.
Fumbling Towards Ecstasy by Verhalen Explicit
Sören Sigurdsson and Mark Lowry, two professors, are on vacation in California. They become friends... and then a bit more...

Site Info

Members: 492
Series: 95
Stories: 1786
Chapters: 9120
Word count: 28213482
Authors: 143
Reviews: 16824
Reviewers: 226
Newest Member: kimaracretak
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Fadesintothewest
11/11/19 02:28 am
Thanks so much Spiced!
Spiced Wine
11/08/19 03:53 pm
Have a great Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
11/07/19 09:46 am
I sent an email, Ziggy :)
ziggy
11/07/19 12:10 am
Can I have the Silm Discord link as well please Spiced- intrigued now!
Spiced Wine
11/06/19 01:25 pm
Welcome, Kimaracretak :)
Spiced Wine
11/05/19 10:20 am
I emailed you through ‘contact; here with the Silm Discord link
Spiced Wine
11/05/19 10:17 am
I’m not sure, let me go and ask them!
Fadesintothewest
11/05/19 07:41 am
Good to know Spice. How can we get onto Silm Discord? It would be nice to join. I'm always looking for other Silm related places.
Spiced Wine
11/04/19 10:18 am
Dawn Felagund mentioned on SIlm Discord that some people were trying to get the work onto AO3’s Open Doors.
Fadesintothewest
11/04/19 05:04 am
Sad to hear. Like Ziggy, thank you Esteliel and Spice for this site.
Shout Archive



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2019 11:51 · For: Chapter 60 Rounding up
Re: my last comment

Are you sure Thranduil doesn't sail in the end? I could have sworn that he did sail.
As for what you said, about what I said about the twins:
"Yes- twins in the next chapter. Heartbrothers, bloodbrothers. Soul and body and mond. I like the way you see them- interesting dynamic."
I was actually quoting what you wrote in the fic(= I'm curious about THAT and how YOU see them (=

Can't wait for more!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 06, 2019 17:28 · For: Chapter 60 Rounding up

Awww...the cat had kittens! She should have had 7 kittens so there would have been a cat for each remaining member of the fellowship! I did wonder if the cat's sock-stealing was a nod to Squeaky in Nightwing's To See A World. I loved how the cat went loopy over Gimli's boots. It reminds me of how my cat used to bury her face in my dad's slippers and go into ecstasies!

Galadriel's becoming downright scary. She seems to only see people for how they will serve her schemes. Rather like Gandalf, I suppose!



Author's Response:

I did have 7 for each of the 7 dwarves:) but I thought someone would ask how they all fit into the boot!! Yes- I LOVE Nightwing's gorgeous fic- so sad that she is gone. Actually though it is my own old moggy who does this- some cats do it as they become senile and others do it for nesting- making a nice soft home for their kittens:) I am sure Nightwing did influence me though.

Aha- yes! Galadriel and Gandalf are very similar in fact- well spotted!

 

You are going to love the next chapter - or two. 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 04, 2019 11:03 · For: Chapter 60 Rounding up
I know I've mentioned this probably a thousand times already, But you really write, in particular, the Hobbits, Gimli and Gandalf, perfectly. It's like I'm watching the film, every time.


And what are we going to do about Galadriel? She just never seems to stop. Also, I so love how you've given Celeborn more of a role. I like the dynamics between these two. You've really created something gritty and interesting there.

Thanks Ziggy!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much Gabriel- I admit that PJ put their voices in my head and I can write them really easily because of that- so all credit goes to him.

Yep- Galadriel- unstoppable. A force of Nature. She is not going to let a little thing like the Valar stop her!! You've got to admire her for that. 'gritty and interesting'- thank YOU! What a compliment:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: November 03, 2019 22:53 · For: Chapter 60 Rounding up
The chapter was so sweet! Glaurang is absolutely adorable and the kittens were a splendid addition!

I'm glad Gandalf feels ashamed. Even though it's not his fault it gives me hope that he might get through to the Valar and release Maedhros or at least send him some assistance. I loved the scene you depicted after the mirror went black - everyone was so true to character. I especially loved what you said about Galadriel:

"...his incandescent queen, who, if she had brought them to this point in her hubris, was certainly intent on leading them from it in glorious disdain and righteous anger at the dreadful fate of her kinsman"

So poetic! So damn true. She really doesn't stop to dwell on her own failings or defeats, just moves straight on. It's interesting how she's already thinking of ways to use Legolas and the twins in her game of politics. Doesn't she know that Legolas is one big scandal waiting to happen (or perhaps a thousand little scandals and mishaps)? Hahaha. I'm excited to see more of the twins in your next installment. I want to see how those characteristics of Elladan winning the people's hearts but Elrohir leading them, come into play. I've always thought that those who hold the people's hearts will command them as well

I feel bad for Celeborn. Even though Galadriel loves him, she just pushes thoughts of him aside and moves on. She doesn't try to fight for his forgiveness.
Celeborn's story always made me sad. Him staying in Middle-Earth when the fate of the Elves left behind was to fade, is so sad...he never saw Celebrian again.

I saw how you added that reference to Haldir in there(= Bastard doesn't deserve our Legolas. That whole paragragh there is hinting at some really steamy stuff to come with Elrohir - I can't wait!

Author's Response:

So glad you enjoyed this, Nash. We are coming to the end of this fic but as you so rightly point out, none if it is easily finished with and tidied away. I especially loved your comment about Legolas being a whole heap of scandals waiting to happen:)

Yes- twins in the next chapter. Heartbrothers, bloodbrothers. Soul and body and mond. I like the way you see them- interesting dynamic.

Yep- Galadriel is a piece of work for sure! Relentless, focused.

I agree re Celeborn. He is a bit like Thranduil- have you read Jael's fics? Just so heart breaking and poignant. You do wonder if he ever did sail- as you said, otherwise he never sees any of them again and just fades- and I can't imagine Celeborn fading. Or Thranduil. I think they might retreat to a kingdom under the hill - and become known as the Kings of Faerie.

Oh yeah- Haldir. Maybe more of that in later fics- but not sure Elrohir is quite able to hear all that now.

Thank you as always:)



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: October 14, 2019 5:59 · For: Chapter 59 The Healing
I love the absolute love Elladan shows for his brother, knowing that Elrohir too easily blames himself when it was an evil great power! And the exchanges between Aragorn and Legolas. Don't know why made me a little sad. As always lovely!

Author's Response:

Thank you fadestothewest- yes, Aragorn and Legolas always make me a little sad once we get to this point in the story- because the next bit we get is really Aragorn's death- but I aint writing that! It alwya makes me bawl my eyes out. Thank you:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2019 23:51 · For: Chapter 59 The Healing
Wow, I can't believe this is coming to a close. I can't wait to find out what will happen with Elladan, but I'm relieved (although not surprised) he has not chosen the way of men.
But poor Legolas - his speech is just hilarious!

Author's Response:

A couple more chapters to just finish off the loose ends- not all of them though! I think Elladan has to have his own tale o be honest- I want to give that time:) Glad you found poor Legolas' pain so funny oh merciless one! x



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2019 17:07 · For: Chapter 59 The Healing

Yay! I don't have to kill Imrahil after all. I can't tell you how happy this chapter made me!

I'm guessing Elladan's mysterious words are about Erestor. I hope so, anyway. Elladan needs to be with Erestor and Elrohir with Legolas, and they'll all sail to Valinor together, leaving no one behind. No one!

I do worry about Legolas and Elrohir, though. No matter how much Elladan's acceptance has helped, I think Elrohir's feelings of being tainted and unworthy of Legolas will surface sooner or later. I hope Legolas can control himself around Tindomion, too!



Author's Response:

Haha! makes me laugh that you loathe him so violently on Erestor's behalf- but don't think Erestor is going to just give in, will you? Whether they all sail, or together or whatver i am not sure yet- remember that Erestor has sworn to something and he won't go until that id done mwhahahaha!!! Lots of peril yet!! No one is safe!

Legolas knows his heart is Elrohir's, but he is still the naughty sex-mad elf he always was and the the Wood, sex is not the same as love and they are more promiscuous- but he knows how that would hurt Elrohir and won't do anything.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2019 13:48 · For: Chapter 59 The Healing

Lovely that Elrohir and Elladan are not parting, and Elladan's acceptance and forgiveness that was so beautifully written it made me tear up.Just wonderful, Ziggy :) 



Author's Response:

Thank you Spiced- and I am hoping now that work has eased a little and I can finish this and catch up on ASOG!I have four chapters to enjoy:) 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2019 8:03 · For: Chapter 59 The Healing
Another super chapter, Ziggy!

I'm so glad for Elrohir, Legolas' and everyone else's sakes that it's all over. It is all over, isn't it?


And then suddenly the door was flung open and Elladan was there. He swept in like the fresh wind off the mountains, clean and pure, his peaceful calm spread over the rooms. Elrohir heard the healer who was working on his dressing, sigh and her shoulders dropped as if she had been carrying some great burden.


Your descriptions are always so wonderful! And the imagery it evokes is so amazing.

And I am bursting at the seams to know who or what Elladan is speaking of.

Thank you again, Ziggy! Your stories always make my day.

Author's Response:

Thank you Gabriel- yes, it is all over for them and everyone is safe. Elladan is a very good foil forElrohir because hisacceptance iss o important. Ah- haven't yu guessed who he has realised is his? Well- you'll have to wait:)



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: September 12, 2019 8:17 · For: Chapter 58 Morgoth Bauglir
What a stunning chapter! As always you render both the power and terror of the elves and the weight of what that mythos entails. I've read it multiple times to catch details I missed. Just now i returned to it and found this gem: aedhros had an inhuman grin, the red flames of the Balrogs cast a demonic glow upon his face. He moved forwards a little more and swung Aícanaro slightly. A wind swished from the blade, sent a cold drift of air through the Glass. 'My name is no longer important. It is what I am, who I am.'

Author's Response:

Thank you so much ,Fadestothewest. This is such a lovely review. I am so happy you picked out that bit- I spent so long trying to get this chapter right and I didn't get many reviews so each one is very precious as you know. This is particualry lovely. x



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2019 23:19 · For: Chapter 58 Morgoth Bauglir
Ziggy! You can't see it, but I'm dancing in joy! I'm so glad we have reached such a favorably outcome!
Great negotiations! I'm so pleased we spoke!

On a more serious note, I will truly be happy with anything you chose to write (especially anything Legolas related). I am helplessly addicted to your verse.
My puppy dog eyes and I thank you(=

Author's Response:

Haha- if it makes you happy Nash, that is all I ask:) I have a new fic in mind... a scene that came to me quite suddenly. Think you will like it but I need a bit of time to get this one done and work is very very busy. I wish I was rich.



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2019 22:11 · For: Chapter 58 Morgoth Bauglir
Just "a bit of time together at the end"? That's all? You can't see it, but I'm making an extremely sad pouting face. There might be a tear slowly creeping down my cheek. And you can't say there isn't, you can't see me.

Any chance we get a Valinor fic with Legolas, Elrohir and crew? I know I've asked for a million plot bunnies already, including a Thranduil-Elrohir meeting...but you know it never hurts to put that out there, right? You can't see it, but I'm putting on my most charming smile with big pleading eyes.

Author's Response:

I need four lifetimes to write everything you want, Little Miss Pout. You are so demanding!

OK- a bit more than one or two scenes- if I write them in Valinor, I have to face Aragorn's death and I just can't. I find it too upsetting- sorry. But I have quite a lot more plotlines (some are indeed yours!!) before we get to the point of sailing so I hope that will keep you happy with your soppy pleading puppy-eyes! I have to write Elladan- Erestor, Maedhros and the Glass in Phellanthir, Tindomion, Maglor and Elrond, the hobbits, what happens to Glaurung... your demands are ENDLESS!!! 

x



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2019 20:57 · For: Chapter 58 Morgoth Bauglir
Wow, You gave us a taste of the great battles of the past and the glorious bravery (or hard-headedness, depending how you look at it) of the great Noldor lords. I would love to see something of yours set during the first age. You write it so well!
...but then my beloved Legolas wouldn't be in it...I'm conflicted!
Great chapter as always!

Author's Response:

I am so releived you liked the battel- I spent AGES agonising over that scene so I am very pleased you found it good. I have committed to writing a bit First Age - but as you say, no Legolas- and we do love Legolas! Back to Legolas in the next chapter though my dear.



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2019 19:10 · For: Chapter 56 The Door Opens
Wow, I don't know where to begin...
Everyone coming to rescue Legolas and Elrohir and tending to them tenderly was so sweet. I loved seeing everyone together. A family reunion! I liked how they found Legolas and Elrohir cuddled together under the rubble. My heart is just melting.

I also totally forgot about Celeborn. Why do I have a feeling he will save them all? I hope he does because those crazy Noldor need a Sindar to set their head on straight!

Also, I know this bad, but I loved Tindómion being so sweet with Legolas. Legolas needs more love! Also the part where Gimli said Legolas and Elrohir shouldn't be allowed out alone and Glorfindel agreed made me smile so wide(=

As for the second part with the Three, I'm so excited to see Maedhros, but oh my god...what are they doing?! Legolas and Elrohir just got together! Don't ruin this for me!

Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed the reunion and  Elrohir and legolas' moment of tenderness- and yes, it is bad that you liked that but it's oh so good as well!

Celeborn to the rescue- sort of. And Maedhros- well, read on...(



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2019 18:06 · For: Chapter 54 Decisions
The rings are insanely creepy and why do they keep objectifying Legolas as 'Yozaira'? Do they need him and Elrohir for something.

The last part with Legolas and Elrohir was so sweet! Just what I was waiting for!

Author's Response:

Read on, as Mr Bennett says in Pride and Prejudice!

Glad you enjoyed the last bit:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2019 17:53 · For: Chapter 53 Legolas
Finally! Legolas saved Elrohir! (I realize this for most readers this isn't news but I'm making my through the story slowly but surely).
It's wonderful! Also I hope it finally gives them the opportunity to grow together as a couple and I really can't wait to see that(=

Author's Response:

Narya! Thought I had lost you somewhere!! So glad you have caught up:) I promise you will get a happy ending for these two and a bit of time together at the end.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2019 16:11 · For: Chapter 58 Morgoth Bauglir

Wow  - Balrogs and Morgoth - what next?! I feel a bit sorry for the Valar - I doubt even they are a match for Galadriel on the war path.



Author's Response:

Ha- yes, she is (I hope) redeemed a bit. But we have still got a few things to wrap this one up- maybe two or three chapter. x



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2019 15:52 · For: Chapter 57 Aícanaro: The Dark Awakens

Yay! I finally found time to catch up. What a chapter! I love that you've given Celeborn a more heroic role, btw. He doesn't really do much in LoTR, but he must have something going for him for Galadriel to be attracted to him.

Even though they've shut down the mirror, you're so evil, you still have to give a sense that something is lurking within... :)



Author's Response:

Yup.

Evil?

Yup.

Celeborn- lots of people are liking him but have you read Dawn Felagund's latest fic- Celeborn is hilarious!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 01, 2019 10:28 · For: Chapter 58 Morgoth Bauglir

Oh, Ziggy, I sobbed through most of this. Morgoth so titanic and inimical, and the balrogs and Maedhros just not giving up, but so alone, until the end. And still there — still alone, without even the scrap of cloth from Fingon’s banner. 

 

That was incredible, I am a mess, here!



Author's Response:

I am so happy to read this, Spiced, especially from you:) THank you. Inimical is a great word! Glad it breaks your heart- you might write something to cheer him up. and I hope you saw the tribute to Dark Star which I think started all this- it lingers in my mind and just has been slowly perculating!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 01, 2019 7:24 · For: Chapter 58 Morgoth Bauglir
OMG! What a fantastic chapter!

The anguish I felt, as much as Elrond and Erestor at having to watch Maedhros fight flipping mountains was a living thing. I'm so glad he was able to escape and I hate to admit it but he wouldn't have survived, had he kept fighting them and I would not have been a happy camper had his spirit been extinguished forever.

And I have to mention it again, I loved reading Celeborn in this, especially him and Erestor.

This is such a fantastic story, Ziggy!

Thank you for another wonderful, on-the-edge-of-your-seat, chapter.

Author's Response:

Haha- love your comment! I was a bit concerned that readers would wonder how he managed to keep fighting so many balrogs but my beta said she thought it was OK as Aicanaro increased his power. (Maybe I should have added a line... might do that). Happy you liked Erestor and Celeborn- they REALLY don't like each other!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2019 8:48 · For: Chapter 57 Aícanaro: The Dark Awakens
I hope this comment finds you well, Ziggy! *HUGS* And typing with one hand must be excruciatingly slow. Here's hoping everything gets better soon.


What a fantastic chapter!

You absolutely made my week with writing about Celeborn. A character I can't get enough of, lately.

I like how you had the ice between he and Galadriel thaw during and in the wake of the "mirror incident". Despite how dangerously close they came to allowing Ungoliant through the portal, they both needed the shake up, to bring them back to realising how important they are to each other. Although I think Celeborn will have a few choice words, once things settle, to say to his wife about all this.

Such a great chapter, Ziggy! You never cease to amaze!

You take care, okay!

Author's Response:

Thanks Gabriel. Although it was one handed to do this I am back and almost fully fit.

So glad you enjoyed Celeborn - lots of people have liked him so I am happy. But yes, I think things are going to be siad- whether or not they can recover, I don't know. He doesn't sail with her, does he and Tolkien never says if he does eventually sail, or Thranduil. I can't see far enough ahead to say what happens in this arc either. Thank you for the lovely complent, Gabriel. Much appreciated:)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2019 20:03 · For: Chapter 57 Aícanaro: The Dark Awakens

Wow, Ziggy, that was MAGNIFICENT— I am stunned! 

 

Except that she had brought them to this. And Ungoliant was not alone in the Dark. The Mirror was smooth Glass once more but he thought he noticed the faintest ripple in its surface. The merest suggestion that far away,somethingmoved in the Deep and sent a ripple through the vast emptiness. Like something colossal stirred in the deep. 

 

Yes, there is more in the Void than Ungoliant, and I think his attention has been caught. 



Author's Response:

Well. Thank you, Spiced. THat's really nice to hear- bit overwhelmed actually. I've been so anxious about this one- more so about the next though because, yes, HIS attention has definately been caught. I had to read your Dark Prince for inspiration:) Your Morgoth is always so HUGE and malevolent:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 26, 2019 21:31 · For: Chapter 56 The Door Opens

So on the plus side - Legolas and Elrohir have been rescued.

On the slightly worrying side - I hope Elrohir doesn't pick up on the intimacy between Tindomion and Legolas.

On the minus side - Galadriel seems to have opened a door into the void that threatens to suck everyone into non-existence. I really hope Celeborn, Glorfindel and Erestor work out what's happening, because someone needs to stop this madness!



Author's Response:

O h naledi- you so do not hope Elrohir misses that! You KNOW you want the angst, the torment, the self-doubt, the break up and the glorious make up!!:D

Yep- she's sooo dangerous.

I think I HAVE DONE A REALLY GOOD HATCHET JOB ON POOR GALDRIEL- better start rowing that back and rehabiltating her a bit:/

x



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 26, 2019 6:18 · For: Chapter 56 The Door Opens
So nice to hear from you, Ziggy! And I hope you're feeling much better. I hear you've had surgery recently, so a lot of love, hugs and hope for a quick recovery. coming your way.

You never cease to have me on the edge of my seat.

I loved Nelya's cameo and poor old Legolas, he's been through so many trials and still manages to make it out by the skin of his teeth.


I hope Galadriel knows what she's doing or what she's opening herself up to. She's a bit of a worry, with how quick she is at just jumping into the unknown.

It was so nice to see that Maedhros' fea hadn't been completely destroyed. And Elrond holding his hand up to the glass and Maedhros mimicking him from the other side, so emotional. I had tears in my eyes. This is what your lovely writing does to me, Ziggy?

Another lovely chapter! Thank you, my dear, Ziggy!

Author's Response:

I had to have my shoulder ligaments and tendons reattached- very painful and I can't use that arm so writing is very slow. 

You spotted the lovely Nelya:) She was giving me advice about my fractured knee so I wanted to say thank you:) I think Gimli has a thing for her!

 

Galadriel is of course, related to those impetuous Feanorians and shares their fiery spirit-so yes, quick to jump-and she isn't thinking straight. The rings have muddled her thinking. (I am so  happy it made you cry:) Thank you for the lovely review, Gabriel. So much appreciated!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 24, 2019 20:16 · For: Chapter 56 The Door Opens

Honestly I did not see anything I thought of as too long or faffy, Ziggy! 



Author's Response:

Thanks Sian- I overthink! xx



You must login () to review.