| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Come of Age by Fadesintothewest Mature
*Completed*Fingon is recently come of age. Maedhros is recently returned to Tirion. Together they forge an everlasting friendship...
Three by Narya Mature
As children, Filwyn, Haddan and Leofwyne of Rohan barely spent a moment apart. But as they grow up and the War of the Ring...
At Sea in the Middle of Ithilien by UnnamedElement Teen
This is the story of Legolas' Sea-longing long after it started, through the eyes of his lover, and all the ways it pulls...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
What is Lost by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Maedhros and Maglor in the immediate aftermath of the Nirnaeth Arnoediad. Flashbacks to Tirion. Maedhros and Fingon first...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 79
Stories: 1571
Chapters: 8077
Word count: 24236704
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14502
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

UnnamedElement
09/23/17 01:27 am
Thank goodness for Fridays!
Narya
09/22/17 08:12 pm
ziggy, thank you for the tip! :) Happy Friday, Tolkien fans.
Ysilme
09/21/17 01:12 pm
Good to hear, NelyafinweFeanorion! :D
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/19/17 04:20 am
It worked!
ziggy
09/18/17 11:05 pm
I always use arda-lambion and don't worry too much about the grammar! Life's too short:)
Narya
09/17/17 09:30 pm
Anyone know of a reliable Quenya translator?
ziggy
09/17/17 06:31 pm
Welcome FINALLY Nelyafinwefeanorian!! Hurray- you are here:)
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:25 pm
Okay, I hope it works. Maybe it was just some glitch :/ As I say it has happened once or twice before but goodness knows why
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:12 pm
I'll try again from this acct today and see if it works. Thanks to everyone for the encouragement and help and esteliel for the emails.
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:10 pm
I tried last night and it didn't work. I created another account name and tried that and that story posted. At least I think it did--I see it up there on the most recent. I'll try this accoun
Shout Archive



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2017 7:01 · For: Chapter 9 News from Home
Ah so bittersweet. i admit i skipped ahead and read the parts where Laersul and Thalos were safe and then went back to read the rest.

Author's Response:

Haha! Of course:) I would have done that too:D



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2017 6:32 · For: Chapter 8 The Elendil
Wow!!! So happy I have this story to return to. This scene totally made me melt for Elladan:

He turned his head to see that Elladan came walking towards them through the gathered crowd. Men parted for him as he approached for he was tall and his handsome face and ready smile had already won over the hearts of the Men of Gondor.

My heart was won too!

Poor Elrohir, he shouldn't feel so terrible for not being happy about his brother's choice, what that means for them. And I keep asking myself, Gandalf, what you up to? He's gotta be more sensitive to all our hurt Elven babies running round. A pleasure as always to read. After this I am getting back to Black Arrow!

Author's Response:

Hm-he is rather a dish, Elladan, with none of the complications of Elrohir- I admit I thought Legolas was going to end up with him but I'm afraid our fav Woodelf had ideas above his station and just loves a bad boy! Wants to save him...and it's the greatest sex!

 

And you are so right about Gandalf- he is such a meddler!



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: September 17, 2017 3:03 · For: Chapter 1 On the edges of Mordor
Makes me so happy to be able to read and review this again. I can never tire of your Legolas. Seems a treat to revisit this story and catch up on all the chapters I have missed!

Author's Response:

Well how nice! I'm so glad you are back and posting again- there isn't much good stuff out there so we need all the good writers to kepp posting:)



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: September 13, 2017 23:05 · For: Chapter 21 Theft
This story gets creepier with each chapter. I can't help but pity Bearas. Originally, he was not a bad fellow. Good thing that he at least didn't kill his child.

Poor Legolas, looks like you have some more bad experiences in store for him. The note is very bad indeed because Legolas will come when he thinks Gimli calls for him.

Author's Response:

You are so right, Starfox- treasure indeed for the Ring!I'm relieved someone pities Bearos- he really is possessed and the ring has devoured him as it did the Nazgûl, except he is not strong enough or powerful enough to bear it really. Yes- Legolas is in real danger. And yes, nasty things ahead!!



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 10, 2017 22:22 · For: Chapter 21 Theft
Poor Legolas!!! What is going on? Oh the intrigue...
I feel bad that Gimli has been taken in by Bearos though...and I'm scared for Legolas...
Very excited about the reappearance of the Rivendell elves though! Will they have tidings from the Greenwood?

Author's Response:

Yes- poor Legolas! He is now the beast's prey. Everything is ready:/ gulp.

 

Hm, yes. I suppose the Lothlorien elves coul dvery possilby have furhter tidings of Mirkwood, if that is what you wish my dear:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 10, 2017 22:16 · For: Chapter 21 Theft

Oh you've got my emotions going every which way. Especially concerning Bearas. One minute I hate him and the next I feel intense pity and wish someone could save him from the evil of the ring. I was terrified he would hurt the baby, but to know his old self was trapped inside the beast, unable to claw his way out made it worse somehow, than if he was wholly evil. 

I did wonder why Bearas was so insistent Gimli write to Legolas, and now we know. He's vulnerable, alone, and he's going to be lured to the mirror. I don't know if I can bear to read what happens next. Has Gandalf already explained why he's afraid what will happen if Legolas looks in the mirror? I've forgotten if he has. 



Author's Response:

I have to admit, I had every intention that he was going to take the baby and cut its throat over the mirror but in the end, Bearas just struggled through- only to lose himself. He is truly gone now. That was his last attempt to assert himself.

Gandalf has not shown Legolas what happened in Phellanthir - only Gimli knows. So although Legolas knows that there was a mirror in Phellanthir and this one is probably like, he does not understand what that means. Although he can feel the mirror's absnece when he returns from Dagorlad with Gimli. So he doesn't have that sense of fear that he needs to have.

 

We're going to Lothlorien now to meet up with Glorfindel and Erestor and Tindomion. Oh, and Haldir will be there too:) Fun!



Name: SparkyTAS (Signed) · Date: September 01, 2017 7:30 · For: Chapter 1 On the edges of Mordor
I especially like the cat!

Author's Response:

Haha- everyone does:) I've had more comments about the cat than anything else!



Name: SparkyTAS (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2017 13:57 · For: Chapter 20 The House of the Dead
Oooh, here we are at chapter 20 and the intrigue just keeps growing! What a wonderful story. Thank you.

Author's Response:

Sparky TAs!!! Hello!! MIssed you and so glad you are back and enjoying this:) Do you like the cat?



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2017 21:51 · For: Chapter 20 The House of the Dead
This chapter made my skin crawl. It starts to get really creepy. The way Gandalf showed Gimli what happened was cleverly done.

Poor Legolas has obviously experienced more dreadful things than anybody suspects. I wonder if he ever will open up to Elrohir about his past.

Author's Response:

Thanks Starfox. Thanks for the compliment about Gandalf's 'reveal'.

Yes- poor old Legolas has had some quite nasty encounters with the Nazgul- both in his previous career if you like as captain/ warrior of the Woodland Realm, and in Sons of Thunder, both he and Elrohir have that huge encounter with the Nazgul (not sure if you have read that) and that is the really nasty one. 

 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2017 0:46 · For: Chapter 20 The House of the Dead

Hmm...so just me and Cheekybeak, then.  *pulls on black conspirator's cloak and goes in search of Cheeky for some serious plotting*



Author's Response:

Haha! Can't wait to see what you two come up with!!



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2017 16:50 · For: Chapter 20 The House of the Dead
Ziggy - that's not fair! I never hated on Imrahil! It was CHeekybeak and Naledi...I just thought it was really funny(=

Naledi - I had to comment! It was awesome(= But, I'm sorry though. I can't plot with you! Elladan would be really upset and I actually kinda like Imrahil...but perhaps I could turn a blind eye if I happen to see some funny business about his person(= My gift to you!

Author's Response:

Aha! You LIKE Imrahil!!! Take that Naledi!  (Sorry Nash! Doing you a great disservice) lol!!



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2017 3:04 · For: Chapter 20 The House of the Dead
There is so much Aragorn needs to know. I am pleased although surprised that Gandalf is entrusting Gimli with this information. The memories of the other mirror and Glorfindel were as chilling as the first time. I love the references to Celebrimbor and Gimli knowing his preferences. I had a bad feeling when Gimli saw his own face with no distortion that the mirror has been tampered with or stolen. The plot about the guards of this place thickens.
I fear for Elrohor now--this mirror is tied to him in some way and that terrifies me.
Such tension and unease set up in this chapter Ziggy!
Legolas thoughts on the creature he saw near Dol Guldur and the references the Thuringwethil were well done. It does sound like a vampire.
He CANNOT be allowed out by himself again!! You think the four hobbits can take him?
Legolas you ridiculous Elf--relishing the fact that the cat was sick on Gimli's slippers!!
Glaurung?? Now I am even more suspicious of this cat--the heavy footsteps worry me.
I think frodo gives good advice--I like the fact that Legolas finds it hard to deny frodo anything,
I laughed at the image of hobbits perpetually eating with brief smoke breaks!
Bearas is up to something with that mirror I know it! That ring of his!

Author's Response:

Hm. Yes- maybe you're right about Gandalf trusting Gimli with this info- there is a development that this sort of helps along a bit of course, but maybe it was a bit soon...it was as much as anything a plot device to remind readers/ tell first time readers what the mirror at Phellanthir was all about otherwise they would be mystified about the fuss. A bit of me really wants Gimli to have a chance to examine the mirror, but that would be so dangerous!!

Thank you for your very kind comments, Nelya. Making me blush.

 

Hahaa! Glauring's heavy footsteps!! Yes! But my cat sounds like an elephant when she comes downstairs- so perhaps that's just me:) Everything else is spot on! Bearas is defintely invovled - but he is trapped inside the Ring almost and it controls him (JUst written a quite horrific scene for the next chapter and wondering if I've gone too far...) But he is being controlled by the Nine, so it would be cruel. I think I'll get some flack though!

 

Going to enjoy reading your post now:)

 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2017 15:50 · For: Chapter 20 The House of the Dead

Nash: LOL! That's the first time I've had a review reviewed :D Glad you liked it. Can I persuade you to join me in plotting against Imrahil?!

 



Author's Response:

You two are dreadful!! Poor Imrahil. I think he's rather sexy actually.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2017 12:11 · For: Chapter 20 The House of the Dead
This was incredible Ziggy, especially Olórin's in the mirror, eerie and grand and beautiful with much more waiting beyond...

You honestly have a gift for this kind of genre (and I hope you are much better)

Author's Response:

I am so glad to hear from you Spiced- I was getting worried about you again and just about to send Feanorians after you!!

Thank you for the very kind comment:)

Yes- loads better thanks- 3 months today since the op so I can ride. Except my horse is a bit frisky and bouncy so I'm going to take it steady!

 



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2017 20:29 · For: Chapter 20 The House of the Dead
NALEDI - your review is hilarious!!
"The cat is going to make a nest in Gimli's beard and be the light in what I fear is going to be a very dark time for Legolas, Gimli and Elrohir. Although if you fancy killing Imrahil in a hideous way, you have my blessing :D"

I am definitely rooting for the cat appearing again and again. As for Imrahil, someone really needs to tell him to look over his shoulder. hahahahaha Poor guy!

Author's Response:

I have already expressed my deep concern about yours and Naledi's persecution of Imrahil! It is terribly unfair!!

I will have to give him a greater part now:D

OK_ that cat is a real show stealer! Looking like it needs a spin-off all of its own!



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2017 20:17 · For: Chapter 20 The House of the Dead
That is a great name for a cat. Some people might find it distressing he named it after the enemy though. But I hope the Noldor get to hear the name. Imagine the reactions! Hahaha

It's interesting how careful Legolas is with his things. I wonder how his simple living and the Noldor's materialism with work together. Noldor love *things*. BTW why do you specifically mention it was a bed he was left rather than claimed? Is it to show how generous or considerate he is, or how opulence does not draw him, or maybe how creature comforts have become so alien to him?>

I'm happy you are sending Merry with Legolas! We all need more hobbits in our lives.
As for Legolas' brightness drawing the darkness - totally get that! Who wouldn't be drawn to him?!

And where is that mirror!!?? Ominous...

Author's Response:

Aha! I think Maglor might have to make a reappearance just so Legolas and Elrohir can be talking about Glaurung and Maglor be totally confused:D

Hm. Noldor love of things and Legolas' complete disregard- yes, yes, I can see some nice little plot bunnies -Elrohir: look at these jewels I am giving you, Legolas. Why is Gimli wearing them? Oh! And why is Berensul wearing that bracelt I gave you, and Eomer wearing that tiara! hop hop bang! Bang!

 

BTW why do you specifically mention it was a bed he was left rather than claimed? Is it to show how generous or considerate he is, or how opulence does not draw him, or maybe how creature comforts have become so alien to him?>

 

I did that deliberately, wanting to create a sense that he had been a bit outside the Fellowship for a while because he had been with Elrohir, but it is also because he doesn't usually sleep in a house in this sense- it's a talan or the stronghold. I think a house would feel odd- neither safe enough nor open enough to Nature.

 

OOh- I'm so glad you reminded me it was Merry going with him- I;ve just started writing Pippin!!

 

You'll find out where the mirror is in the next chapter. Yes- very ominous. Especially because they all think it's somewhere else!!

 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2017 17:46 · For: Chapter 20 The House of the Dead

Creepier and creepier! I wonder what that ghoul is. If it's anything like the creature Legolas saw in the south, it sounds like some kind of vampire. It would certainly explain the way the body was drained of all blood.

I had to chuckle at the thought of the cat being sick on Gimli's slippers. I prefer to think of it as Glaurung rather than Lobelia. Why would Frodo choose to name such a cute kitten after his vile cousin! Hasn't the cat suffered enough?

Now, come on, Ziggy. Where are those slashy scenes you promised? Creepiness is good, but slash is better :)



Author's Response:

Yes- I am sorry. No slash in the last chapter but it was getting so long! Next chapter might not have any either- no, I'm not gonig to get away with that ,am I? I have already written the next one... but am getting an idea as I write...

 

Yes- vampire sounds right, doesn't it? THere were vampires in the Silm and werewolves so it's not too far out to think the Nazgul might have been along those sorts of lines. They did devour Men's souls after all. 

 

I think this cat is called Glaurung Lobelia Azaghâl.  Depending who is calling to it. 

 

OK- I will do my best:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2017 20:15 · For: Chapter 19 Pursuit

I'll put in a bit of fantasising next chapter just to keep you happy:)

Just as long as the fantasising isn't about Imrahil!

Oh, and having read your other reviewer - you can't make the cat a Nazgul spy! No! The cat is going to make a nest in Gimli's beard and be the light in what I fear is going to be a very dark time for Legolas, Gimli and Elrohir. Although if you fancy killing Imrahil in a hideous way, you have my blessing :D



Author's Response:

Haha! On A03 there has been a naming competiton for the cat! It is taking centre stage so I have to keep writing it and giving it a bigger part each time. Maybe it knows when the ghoul is about and starts hissing- like a feanorian blade glows blue when orcs are about!!x

 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2017 5:06 · For: Chapter 19 Pursuit
Ziggy!!! I was so stressed out and worried reading that chapter! I think I may be as furious with Legolas as Gimli is!! He shouldn't have been there alone in the first place and should have hightailed it out of there when he saw that creepy face!! Scaling walls in a rainstorm! I can't believe Gimli is actually going to go with Gandalf and let Legolas out of his sight.
You've even made me suspicious of the cat!! I know it's cute and skinny and sad but I'm suspicious of EVERYONE right now.
I immediately thought of the face in the mirror when you described the features Legolas saw. Something has escaped the mirror I'm afraid. Ugh.
Now I want Maedhros to appear to battle this thing like he did with the other mirror at Ost-in-edhil! If this thing is as fast as Legolas thinks it might be a match for even him. But maybe not a first age elf or Maia.
I worry about what Elrohir felt on the road-it's all related and I a, so uneasy.
Talk about building up the tension!!! Can't wait for the update!!

Author's Response:

Haha! The cat ! Yes-creepy cat spy that's insinuated itself into the house of the fellowship. Over on Ao3 there has been a bit of a cat name competiton and here it's a Nazgul spy:)

I deliberately frighten myself when I am writing thse things- try to be on my own at night and imagine orcs, nazgul creepy things so I use my own scaredness (?!) to help me write. The face at the window is inspired by Henry James' The Turn of the Screw, which is one of the creepiest stories I have ever read. 

Oh- wouldn't it be wonderful for Maedhros to be freed from the mirror and fight this thing- but it is not First Age so will not bring him. (I thought I'd be somewhere else in the story -thought I'd be back in Phellanthir but this story seems not to be going there so I'm thinking this won't get to that point- might need a further sequel)

Elrohir is in danger- yes. Maybe not quite now- but soon.

Thank you for the review, Nelya.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2017 12:30 · For: Chapter 19 Pursuit

I so neede that gorgeous scene with the kitten at the end - the rest of the chapter was terrifying! The storm...the ghastly face at the window...the corpse drained of blood...what are you trying to do to me? Bring on the slash! And more cute kitty scenes :)



Author's Response:

I coudn't leave that kitty- in fact, I spent more time fussing over that cat than the rest of the scene! Trying to work out WHEN Legolas should rescue it - because it appeared in the previous chapter and I knew then it needed rescuing. (This is an IMAGINARY cat!! And I worried about it!)

 

Slash on its way- oh, and what slash it's going to be my dear- delectable and worth the wait:) I'll put in a bit of fantasising next chapter just to keep you happy:)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2017 20:46 · For: Chapter 18 A lucky meeting

Oh so lovely to see the old thoughtful Elladan here, the Elladan who notices and cares for his brother. 

I think he is wrong. I think he CAN love as passionately and ferociously as Elrohir, he just hasn't yet found the right person to love. I am determined Elrohir will not lose his twin to mortality no matter what hints you leave about that! I put my fingers in my ears and ignore them. 

As for Legolas running after Nazgul by himself....has he learned nothing??? Silly fool! 



Author's Response:

Haha! I wrote that for you and Naledi:) Imagining you putting your fingers in your ears and doing the whole Smeagol/Gollum thing- 'Not listening,' lalalalalala

No, of course not! Mortal danger? Nazgul lookalikey? What else would you do? Go running over slippery roofs in the storm and  rain of course, with no coat and no dwarf to look out for you! What else.

 

I have got some lovely things in story for you my dear CB! SOme lusciously sexy scenes coming up- oh yeah. Well, in a sort of..kinky, twisted-Elrohir sort of way. Anar and I worked out the main narrative this afternoon and oh boy, you are going to love it MWHAHAHAHAHAHAhahahahaaaaaaaa. Not sure how I'm going to get them out of it mind. Oh, and you are going to LOVE who comes to  the rescue. Sigh.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2017 20:29 · For: Chapter 17 Gimli the Finder

Sorry I have been very slack in reviewing. I have been reading! 

Had some surgery and then got struck down with a terrible flu, (it's the middle of winter here) In fact my whole family caught the flu and it wiped us out for days. My poor little boy was left having to make himself 2 minute noodles for tea because neither Mum or Dad could function to look after him.

Anyway alls better now.

I love it when you write interaction between Legolas and the hobbits, especially Pippin. I think Gimli is right....there is an eager youthfulness that make Legolas and Pippin very alike!

I have noticed something though. Legolas and the hobbits do interact and bond very often over food! The only time these guys eat substantialally is when Legolas and those hobbits get together!

loved the last little conversation. What an understatement from Pippin.....oh Legolas SO does not understand lace curtains and doilies!!! 

 



Author's Response:

Oh god- you and me both! Not an infection but major surgrey- it hits you so hard!! I found myself unable to write for weeks, or even read really- it got me down q a bit. But in the 10th week of recovery (total knee replacement) and only 2 more weeks before I can start riding again yippee!!

Your poor little lad having to make himself pot noodles! Flu is a horrible thing but I have got this image in my head of a little tacker standing on a chair with a kettle and a pot whilst Mum and Dad are sneezing and snuffling away in the corner!!

 

Glad to hear you are better though:) Legolas would not have found all that snot and phelgm very attractive!!

Oh, just realised that you are ABSOLUTELY right! They do only interact really over food. And there are always terrible table manners- shocking. I must give the hobbits a more substantial role than dinner companions:)

 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2017 20:43 · For: Chapter 18 A lucky meeting

Hahaha! I knew Imrahil was evil! So he's trying to separate Elladan from everyone close to him, so he (Imrahil) can have Elladan all to himself! Well, as long as I've got my sword I'll do all in my power to thwart him. And maybe snog Legolas in the process....



Author's Response:

I love the idea of you, sword in one hand and a swooning Legolas in the other, snogging him till he faints! 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2017 18:29 · For: Chapter 18 A lucky meeting

"Hinges" are getting darker?!! This is what happens when I review on my iPad! That autocorrect is so outrageous I can't even remember what it was supposed to be. Probably "Things". 

Either that or another Nazgul ring was melted down and turned into door hinges...



Author's Response:

xx



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2017 11:29 · For: Chapter 18 A lucky meeting

Oh, hinges are getting darker. So much for Legolas charming a little old lady! I was suspicious of her from the start, so was relieved when it was apparent Legolas was, too. Now I'm worried about him going off alone in this ominous storm. 

As for Elrohir, the dreams he's suffering seem too vivid for just bad memories. Elladan is right to insist he consults Galadriel and Elrond. I hope they can free him from whatever evil influence is lingering. 

Of course, Elladan is very wrong about something else. You know what I mean - the evil Imrahil! No, Elladan, you don't love him! Leave him alone!!! 



Author's Response:

I've already read your other review about hinges and the suggestion the ring is melted down into door hinfes- I cannot imagine anyhting worse!! Imagine....

 

The door hinges creaked ominously. Creak Creak. Open me, they seemed to say. Open me and go through into the dark...Stretching ahead was endless, endless night. Naledi though, bright sword in her hand and heart focused on her beloved elf who she was convinced, was trapped somewhere in this infernal plot and writhing against the tendrils of narratives too impossilbe to believe, stepped through and found her feet sinking as if she stood on nothing.

 

Creak creak

 

The hinges of the door seemed to be working of their own volition

 

And suddenly, the door slammed shut.

 

On the other side of the door, she heard faint laughter. 

 

'Imrahil!' she cried. 'You fiend!'

 

xx



You must login () to review.