| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Consign Me Not to Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
Finrod accompanies Beren to retrieve a Silmaril and is captured, along with his companions. His encounter with Sauron in...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Let the Memories Be Good by lotrfan General Audiences
Legolas and Gimli must come to terms with Aragorn's aging, as well as Gimli's own. Set after events of LOTR. Written for...
The Bear Incident by Himring General Audiences
During the Years of the Trees: Celegorm and Fingon escape into the mountains, on a dare. Maedhros finds out and follows...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1667
Chapters: 8518
Word count: 25900316
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15898
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 2
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
08/17/18 10:49 pm
Happy Friday :) :) :)
Spiced Wine
08/17/18 07:22 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
08/17/18 07:22 pm
Never mind, Fades, I can’t do it either
Fadesintothewest
08/17/18 09:02 am
I wish I had the tech skills to administer the site :-(
Spiced Wine
08/15/18 07:28 pm
LOL. I am very sure I am not, but thank you :)
ziggy
08/15/18 06:55 pm
Spiced- just realised that my reply to your lovely review reads oddly- I mean that YOU are the Queen of Epics!!
Spiced Wine
08/15/18 10:47 am
Thank you, Alquien :) Unless we have to move to a new server, money is not a problem :)
Alquien
08/15/18 04:50 am
Just now playing catch up here but anyway, count me in for a donation. I love this archive!
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:21 pm
I think it’s important to keep these Tolkien specific archives going, especially with so many dying.
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:20 pm
She’s quite willing to keep it hosted on the same server, just the admin/tech work would be done by someone else.
Shout Archive



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2018 17:34 · For: Chapter 38 Khamûl

Yay! Erestor’s arrived. I hope he hurries up and snogs Elladan senseless, and drives all thought of that upstart, Imrahil, from Elladan’s head.

And double yay that Elrohir got Legolas out of that cell. But I still fear for them both. Elrohir's had a taste of power. Yes, he threw back the ring, but I'm worried that the Nazgul will still be able to worm into his spirit. I don't think Elrohir will find it so easy to cast off the ring's effects. I hope it is, though, obviously! But I have a feeling it will take all of Gandalf, Erestor, Glorfindel and Tindomion's power, combined with the Fellowship, to truly get rid of them.



Author's Response:

Haha- love that scene you have written already in your head:) Erestor has to have his own scene now. You've done it.  I know you hate Imrahil so I will have to write you in as compensation to him for not having Elladan;D

Ah- you're a clever little thing, Naledi. It ain't easy to get rid of that thing indeed!!

x



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2018 10:25 · For: Chapter 38 Khamûl
Hey Ziggy!

I don't know how many times I've mentioned this but I absolutely unequivocally love Erestor. And the way Gimli describes him as being, 'vulpine and alien with his topaz eyes' oooh! the images. Gives Erestor this almost creepy otherworldly feel to him.

And Oh! What a chapter! You had my heart racing, thinking Elrohir was going to be imprisoned by the Nazgul, especially when the mirror bubbled and tried to capture him and when he slipped the ring on his finger. (Nail biting stuff)

Just your way of describing everything in the cell, from Legolas' state of being to Bearos and the mirror, truly masterful writing.

But I get this niggly fear that this is not over by a long shot. And Khamul betraying his brethren, I did not see that coming.

Super duper stuff, Ziggy!

Author's Response:

Haha- I love him too, Gabriel. He keeps sneaking in and wanting to take over the story!! I am going to have to give in at some point and let him have his head:)

Thank you for such lovely appreciative comments- makes me happy that I have written something that excites people.

But you are so right- not over by a looooonnnnng shot!!

x



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2018 22:22 · For: Chapter 38 Khamûl
He always gave me the creeps to be honest, there was some series he wrote that was on t.v. When I was younger (or he contributed to) Tales of the Unexpected, and a few of them really left a mark on me! and that story sounds awful, but it probably would not scarify me as much as this.

No, I didn’t think it was over at all, not do I want it to be, in fact! ;) For one thing, the Mirror does not just contain the Nazgûl!

Author's Response:

I remember that too! And the music. SOme of them really freaked me out too- there was one where a voodoo doll wassent to a woman and it chased her around the house. Silly but so scary!

 

For one thing, the Mirror does not just contain the Nazgûl!

Exactly!!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2018 22:19 · For: Chapter 38 Khamûl
"As to Elrohir well. It's not over yet" - waah, no, ziggy, what are you doing to me!?!? :( :( :( I'm going to be biting my nails until the next chapter now!

Author's Response:

MWAHAHAHAHAHAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Bit your nails, Narya. It won't help but it will give you something to do!!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2018 21:24 · For: Chapter 38 Khamûl
My heart as in my mouth,, Ziggy! That was such a chapter of fear and violence and darkness. That mirror absolutely chills me to the bone.

And poor Legolas, thank god he has been found, but he is in such a terrible state. And yet, he still fought. That was so wonderful!

The iron gate swung slightly in the wind created by the battle between Khamûl and the Brethren. Quickly Elrohir kicked open the gate and they lurched into the dark passageway. He turned as they fled, pulled the Ring from his hand and hurled it towards Khamûl, clanging the gate shut behind him. You can be your own master!he told it.

I am terribly afraid this is not ended, but so relieved Elrohir rejected the ring and the power. And, as in LOTR, evil fights itself because it has no loyalty. An amazing chapter!

Author's Response:

Thank you spiced:) I am so happy that you enjoyed this chapter. It took such a lot out of me to be honest. I am really pleased the mirror creeps you out- I think we have had chats about this before - a Roadl Dahl story where a man sits in front a mirror fr three nights- and watches as first a parrot, then a cat, a dog disappears -even though the animals are with him in the room, they have no reflection. And then of course, the last night- he sees the door open and something creeps in and nabs HIM. Urgh-stayed with me all my life!

I am terribly afraid this is not ended, but so relieved Elrohir rejected the ring and the power. And, as in LOTR, evil fights itself because it has no loyalty. An amazing chapter!

You are soooooo right to think it is not over -tempted to give an evil laugh here:)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2018 21:15 · For: Chapter 38 Khamûl
Hooray, an update!

Very happy to see sword-wielding Arwen. And poor Erestor, even in the midst of all that chaos, longing to run to Elladan. (Just do it, Erestor!)

I love the slightly scary, predatory edge Erestor has, and that he still insists on being announced as a lord of Himring. I wonder whether he might get anywhere with Bearos...if he was let loose with him, that is.

This made my heart sing:

Elladan turned now to Erestor. ‘I go to find Elrohir,’ he said. ‘Will you stay with Arwen?’







‘No, Erestor said immediately. ‘She doesn’t need either of us. By the time we return she will have the whole kingdom shipshape and organised.’


I love his faith in her.

Yay for Gimli, hunting them through the stones! But oh, no, Elrohir, finding Legolas like that and losing his grip on himself and dashing into the cell. And then the mirror opening... *shivers* your description of it is so wonderfully evocative and shiver-inducing.

Standing over him, breathing hard and utterly exhausted and trembling, was Legolas, looking as Elrohir had never seen him in any battle. His face was white and his hand trembled. In his hand was Aícanaro, the dark blade coated with blood but the grey folds of the Glass had squeezed through Khamûl’s coils and begun to billow around them. The Nazgul screamed and dived at Khamûl who thrashed and struck his fangs again at the Nazgûl, driving them back again into the Mirror’s frame.

I shouted! Legolas defending Elrohir despite the state he is in - what a moment! I feel like I'm watching a film :D and Elrohir rejecting the pull of the ring, too...that more than anything felt like his triumph over his own demons and dark temptations.

Wonderful, wonderful chapter, ziggy.

Author's Response:

Thank you for noticing the little things as always, Narya:) You always pick up details like Arwen being the most capable and practical person in the WHOLE story:) Galadriel's grandaughter. Yeah- Erestor after Bearos!! Was it your idea about Gimli listening for Legolas ? I tried really hard to have Gimli find Legolas but it had to be Elrohir in the end. 

Soooglad you liked the Legolas moment:)

As to Elrohir well. It's not over yet.

:D

x



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 24, 2018 13:01 · For: Chapter 37 Yôzâira
Eeeek! :( :( :( oh, I hope there is a way out of this for them!

I think my favourite thing this chapter, though, was Gimli's vow to Elrohir. It was a wonderful moment of respect and acceptance between the two of them, even in the midst of all that. And ugh, Bearos, like some savage deranged dog...

Great chapter, as always! Hope you have a lovely restful holiday.

Author's Response:

Ah- I am SOOOO glad someone noticed Gimli perfect nobility- he just insisted on that and it popped out of nowhere. So you know he is following. Yes- Bearos- that's a good description actually- he is foul, but in the end he might just remember...or not.

Thank you Narya- weeks of reading and writing now:D



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 23, 2018 8:45 · For: Chapter 37 Yôzâira

Gaaah! Noooo, don’t do it, Elrohir! Where’s Gandalf? We need a blast of his magic to stop the Nazgûl consuming Legolas’s soul. I can’t bear the thought of the Nazgûl’s ring being able to influence Elrohir either. It’s almost impossible to imagine how both Elrohir and Legolas can escape with their souls intact. 



Author's Response:

Oh yes- it's a bit of a stalemate. But Angmar is going to be furious that Legolas has stopped Elrohir from coming in- but for how long do you think will ELrohir resist once Angmar starts feeding? He will goad Elrohir int losing it I suspect9 realise I am goving you spoilers here but you'd have worked that out). Thank you Naledi:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 23, 2018 5:40 · For: Chapter 37 Yôzâira
No! Ziggy! A cliff hanger?!

I was sitting here chewing my nails as Elrohir inched closer and closer to finding his beloved, trying to think of ways he could save Legolas without being captured himself. No matter how hard I tried, just couldn't see a way out of this.


Bearos made me shiver several times and had my heart pounding against my chest at some of the things he did and how absolutely disgusting a character he is. But I guess that's down to your AWESOME writing.

Fantastic chapter. I am so happy I've caught up. :)

Author's Response:

Well, I haven'tquite worked things out yet either but sort of knw-ish what happens next. I hope I will have some time now to be able to write and get this one finished, although there is a sequel to this one already (oops, no spoilers)

Thank you for the nice comments:)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 22, 2018 21:11 · For: Chapter 37 Yôzâira
No,, no,no, no! Elrohir cannot be captured like this after all he has been through, all that Legolas has suffered. I cannot bear it! Legolas being fed on as if he is some larder for the
Nazgûl, and now Elrohir has that ring right next to his life-force. Ahhh! I don’t think My nerves can take much more!

Author's Response:

There was a film I once saw - it was an old sci-fi B movie but the creature had done exactly this and kept a man to feed off. It really horrified me. That's what gave me the idea for Legolas I think. 

Khamûl is treacherous and is absolutely the threat.



Author's Response:

There was a film I once saw - it was an old sci-fi B movie but the creature had done exactly this and kept a man to feed off. It really horrified me. That's what gave me the idea for Legolas I think. 

Khamûl is treacherous and is absolutely the threat.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2018 0:22 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön

Terrible choice for Elrohir .... Legolas or Aragorn, but he made the right one. 

Loved seeing him like that, brilliant and commanding saving the child, Estel. 

But now the real games begin. 

And it does not always go well for Elrohir as far as the Nazgul go. 



Author's Response:

Glad you liked this one, especially Elrohir with Estel- I liked that bit too and that he had t stay to save Aragorn. He did make the right choice as you say. He'd have been in torment forever had he not. And oh yes, as you say- the games begin in earnest! Those Nazul!!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2018 0:11 · For: Chapter 35 Pursuit

Oh Legolas, poor, honorable, brave, foolish Legolas. 

It was Gimli not Elrohir who came looking for you. 

Breaks my heart. :-( 

 



Author's Response:

So sorry I didn't see you had left this, sweetie. Thank you:) 



Name: SparkyTAS (Signed) · Date: June 07, 2018 14:17 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön
Woohoo, all our heroes have arrived! Will Legolas be saved? Will Ravéyön be turned to the dark? Will the Nazgul be freed? So many questions left to answer. I have loved your writings for years now and your ability to build intrigue is still amazing. Thank you for this most excellent tale.

Author's Response:

Hello SparkyTAS! Yes, all the heroes arrived (actually Erestor and Glorfindel and Arwen also on their way right behind, and Elrond and co also on their way!) Thank you for reading and reviewing for all these years- it's especially lovely to keep readers who have read everything and encouraged the writing for so long:) xx



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2018 0:37 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön
OMG!!!! This is the Elrohir we have all been waiting for! Our glorious Elrohir! May he prevail and not fall victim to this wretch.
He is finally back! I'm so excited!

Gimli was absolutely amazing in these last two chapters. He truly is a hero. Although Pippin stole the show with that line - "Thank goodness you are here! Legolas has been missing for weeks!" *Cue Elrohir's head exploding* His rages are so impressive. Elladan must be so sick of his shit.

Author's Response:

Ha- he certainly is BACK and gloriously cross! He won't be very happy with Bearos. I forgot I had cut a particular scene and held it over to the next chapter - so you'll see him with Bearos in the nextpost....glad I'm not Bearos.

Cue Elrohir's head exploding* His rages are so impressive. Elladan must be so sick of his shit.

Ha! Yes!

Pippin is just... well, Pippin! And Gimli is -as you say- fabulously heroic- always.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2018 22:57 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön
I am so sorry, I have missed a chapter :( things have been crazy here.

BUT - delighted to see Bearos get his comeuppance at Olorin's hands (although the passage about the baby was sad - I suppose Bearos is really a victim as well as a villain).

Bearos curled his lips back from his long teeth into a snarling grin and then opened his jaws like a serpent, tilting his head and striking at the Man’s throat. He seized it in his wide, fanged mouth and tore, ripped, gnashed so the blood spurted over his face and lips and mouth and he leaned far forwards in his chains and kept the Man upright in his jaws, sucking and swallowing as fast as he could until there was a clattering, shouting upon the stairs beyond the door and he sucked with greater intensity, hard, draining as much blood as he could.

Ugh, nope, changed my mind, sympathy gone.

Love Elrohir riding up through the city like an avenging dark angel. And the medical detail you include is great - so realistic. I think I said this when I was reviewing MDLW but I love how you mingle real world medicine with Elvish craft.

Ah, poor Elrohir, in an impossible situation :'( :'( :'( of course Pippin gives it away...and I hope they haven't played straight into Bearos's hands by letting Elrohir go to him!

Wonderful, Ziggy, as always. I wish I could buy these!

Author's Response:

Bearos is just horrible- well, it;s Khamul really because Bearos the Man has gone. 

Ooh- I like the 'dark avenging angel'!! Thank you for noticing the surgery- I research it for ages and then translate instruments into suitable quenya so it does slow me down but feels authentic. And helps the plot- but thank you for that.

You know you hoped Elrohir hasn't played straight into Bearos' hands - well, he has.

x



Name: lotrfan (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2018 2:46 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön
Ziggy!! Poor Elrohir is in such a terrible bind here! I love how he just swept into Minas Tirith, just a commnanding single minded presence. All the warnings in his heart are so true though. It frightens me that he cannot sense Legolas.
But oh what are you doing to him, making him choose! the healer is not right--you left Legolas in such dire straights that a few precious hours will make the difference to him too!
From a medical viewpoint nice description of a pneumothorax! and the right treatment for it too!
I loved Elrohir going in to the shadow world after Aragorn and bringing him back. It is too much to ask Elrohir to take the path of men though. I will forgive Aragorn for even mentioning it due to his extreme medical state. It is enough he is taking Arwen on the path of men. He can't try to coerce Elrohir too!
I hate Bearos so very much. Or Khamul. Or whatever this frightful beast is right now. I am so fearful for Legolas and honestly absolutely horror stricken for Elrohir because the darkness comes for him. Edge of my seat for this whole chapter and I dread/can't wait for the rest!

Author's Response:

MWHAHAHAHaaaa! Making him choose- like that's a crime! And you didn't love it!!

 

Ooh- you KNEW what I was describing (pneumothorax)! I am so happy:) I spent ages on that, trying to find the right implements that would be convincing and suitably archaic without being medieval, finding the right words for surgical instruments.

Thank you for a lovely review, lotrfan:)

 



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2018 13:30 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön
Well, wow, Ziggy, Elrohir’s sheer presence as he storms into Minas Tirith like red lightning!
I have to admit I hated his having to be drawn back to help Aragorn with Legolas in such straits but I don’t hate Aragorn, and I do see that Elrohir could not really have left him. However, I was hoping he would choose Legolas over Aragorn.

Bearos, I want dead, but rather Khamûl acting through him. And so he has Ravéyön, now, but I hope, hope Eleohir’s fire will destroy all Khamûl’s dreams and hopes. What a chapter! Completely edge of the seat the whole way!

Author's Response:

Thank you my dear Spiced for posting both here and Ao3:) And I am very relieved that Elrohir's entry into MT is effective- I really worked this one for ages to try and edit it down. I was worried that it was too long - but I thought I needed to spend time on the dilemma Elrohir faces in choosing between Aragorn and Legolas- and htis seems to be quite controversial!!

Thank you so much for this lovely review- if you enjoyed it, that means a very great deal!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2018 6:29 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön
Gees Ziggy! Aragorn was much worse than I realised. He was in a whole heap of trouble. What a mess this has all been.

I was a bit shocked that Elrohir's love/grief for Legolas would come before Aragorn's welfare. I mean I realise how strong their love is for one another and I love Legolas as much as the next person and wish to see him safe and well, but Aragorn is family and right there in front of Elrohir bleeding to death. Even Legolas would agree with me on this one, bless him.

I hate the idea that all this is a trap for dear Elrohir, though.

A Teacher and a budding Healer/Surgeon. *Shakes head in awe* You never cease to amaze, Ziggy! ;)

Author's Response:

Do you know, I didn't know either until I started writing that chapter- and then Aragorn was so sick! I have to say as well that Elrohir almost chose Legolas, but Aragorn cried out and was so clearly dying that he could not turn away. And as you say, he was bleeding to death right in front of Elrohir- he couldn't turn away.

 

But it just stokes up the anguish to be honest and I love that!!

Thank you my dear:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2018 23:04 · For: Chapter 36 Ravéyön

Yay! Make Aragorn suffer! Especially when he tries to guilt Elrohir into taking the paths of men. How dare he pile on the emotional blackmail? I hope Elrohir sticks to his resolution that their paths will diverge. 

I’m totally creeped out by Bearos. I dread to see the trap set for Elrohir. 



Author's Response:

Ha- I KNEW you'd love Aragorn being sick. You do make me laugh about Aragorn - he doesn't know this ishappening, poor guy! You are merciless. Imrahil will be back soon though and Aragorn can have a break from your ire!!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 27, 2018 17:41 · For: Chapter 35 Pursuit
Hah! Take that Bearos! Good old Gimli! And Legolas, poor, darling gallant Legolas who believes it was a trick and refuses to let anyone else be captured. :(

Author's Response:

I know- he is so heroic! But I have just seen you have posted as well so off to reward myself with that:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 27, 2018 12:34 · For: Chapter 35 Pursuit
Hi Ziggy!

Gimli has proven over and over again never to underestimate a dwarf. Our little hero.

I loved watching Bearos lured into a trap by our own stalwart and valiant Dwarf. Especially when Bearos was of the belief that he was in control of that whole situation, gleefully 'playing with his food,' enjoying the hunt only to have himself duped and by a Dwarf no less. It's such a relief to finally have him in irons.

And Gimli was so close, so very close to finding Legolas. But Legolas' decision to bury his song to keep everyone else safe... That's very heroic and thoughtful of him and I understand where he's coming from but Elrohir, Gimli, Gandalf and the others would not see it that way. They would hate for Legolas to put himself in more jeopardy, to sacrifice himself in that way. I know that's who Legolas is, but they love him and would probably be very angry with him for doing so.

I loved the end. Absolute poetic justice. Where Bearos was showing Olorin all his victims and Olorin abhorred by what he was shown unleashed his own brand of justice in honor of those poor souls.

God! Ziggy! Keep going. This is truly awesome. :)

Author's Response:

I had to just give Bearos some nasty old torment- and Gandalf does 'press' Smeagol to tell him what eh knows so I don't think he is above torture- of a mental kind. 

Yes- Legolas is just being his wonderful self and sacrificing himself for everyone else but oh, they will be so angry if they find him and realise what has happened. 

Next chpater underway and I promise Elrohir.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 27, 2018 8:40 · For: Chapter 35 Pursuit

Arwen can’t sense Aragorn? What does that mean? I didn’t think he was too badly hurt. Still, a girl can hope...

Yay for Gimli. It was good to see someone get the better of Bearos at last. But I despair for Legolas. If he’s muted his song, I don’t see how anyone can find him until the Nazgul allow him to be found. I really thought for a moment that Gimli was going to find him. I could weep with the frustration. 



Author's Response:

I know- I am sorry- but I am writing Elrohir on the way right now- I promise:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2018 21:44 · For: Chapter 34 Gimli Gloinsson
Well, I couldn't wait longer than a day after I started. Amazing chapter! It was so good to see the felloewship in action again! And finally seeing straight! ...but how will they restore trust in Aragorn after this? It will be very difficult.

So can get Legolas now? Please....How will he ever recover from this torture?

Author's Response:

OK- sorry, a little bit longer with Legolas captured but I promise things will change in the next three chapters- just not saying how.

x



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2018 1:07 · For: Chapter 33 Ólorin
Ziggy, should I read the next chapter? Should I wait? What should I do?

Author's Response:

Haha- you've already read it:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2018 1:04 · For: Chapter 33 Ólorin
OMG!!!!! This is so baaadddd!!!!

(Not bad writing just bad news..)

Author's Response:

Haha- glad you don't think the writing is bad:) But yes, the news was bad here- but it gets better:)



You must login () to review.