| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8580
Word count: 26132086
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16102
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 13
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/19/18 09:43 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/18/18 10:25 am
Narya, they're constantly touring through Europe and the USA, and sometimes even farther abroad. You might be able to find a concert close to you eventually. And I totally agree about the concert!
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Hi, Fadesintothewest! *waves* good to see you, hope work isn't too painful.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 02:32 pm
That sounds amazing, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:19 pm
who of my music-loving OCs might be interested in playing the nyckelharpa/keyed fiddle... *ggg* )
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:18 pm
I've been to the most wonderful concert yesterday, Swedish Folk string trio Väsen. The music was so beautiful, and it felt so much like Middle-earth, too. (now I need to figure out
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:17 pm
Nice to see you popping in here, fadesintothewest! *waves* *waves generally around, too* Hope everybody else is doing well enough.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 10:53 am
Hope you do, too, Fadesintothewest :) Good to see you!
Fadesintothewest
10/15/18 09:27 am
Just wanted to say hello. I know things are slowed down right now. I wish I could be more present but work. Looking forward to participating more soon!!!
Shout Archive



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2018 23:59 · For: Chapter 42 Arwen
Oh, don't worry, it is very VERY convincing! First thing I thought was - PTSD for sure and he so wants to feel like a brave warrior like Glorfindel and the twins that it must be crushing for him to think he doesn't measure up and that they would even be disgusted...my poor baby..

"Glad you enjoyed Elrohir and Legolas together:) A moment of sweetness...before the next bit;/"
ZIGGY! You evil woman! Don't doooo this!!!!

.....but then again if that drags this story out even longer, well...more for me(=

Author's Response:

I am just sitting here, cackling and rubbing my claw-like hands in wicked glee!! MWHAhahahaaaa (Have I already done that?) x



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2018 22:13 · For: Chapter 42 Arwen
I am so late with this, I'm really sorry! Life is mad at the moment...

Loving your Aragorn and Arwen - madly in love like a pair of silly teenagers, and unable to keep their hands off each other :D and of course Arwen is being super practical and sorting out the city's water supplies, and has Aradhel and Faramir completely on side in an instant. She is wonderful.


‘Aradhel has been keeping your kingdom going while you snored loudly enough to wake Smaug himself.’


*snorts*

Even without looking, he knew it was Elrohir. HisSong was wrapped about Legolas like a blanket: the cry of a lone eagle, high above snow-covered mountains, pristine, untouched. Legolas knew the refrain like he knew his own hands.Without turning his head, he could see beside himlong black leather boots clasping long legs, clad in black leather breeches. And he could smell the musky, masculine scent that was Elrohir. Now it was home.

Ohhh :'( :'( :'( I'm crying! (Weirdly, I've just noticed, the sound of your Elrohir's Song is very like how I write Maedhros's...I wonder if I subconsciously borrowed it...apologies if so!)

His fingers brushed the ring on Elrohir’s hand, and a spark pricked his fingers like a bite and he pulled back instinctively. It was the ring that Elrohir’s mother had given him, Legolas thought. Perhaps Celebrían reached out from beyond the Sea to protect her child from the horror that Legolas represented, the danger to her child?

Ziggyyyyyy!!!! :O :O What are you doing to me!??!

And Sam is so wonderful and kind and gentle. But poor Legolas. No wonder he can't eat meat.

Author's Response:

I am really happy that you enjoyed Arwen and Aragorn.  I liked it that Arwen was so good at sorting everything out- she is Erestor's pupil so she knows how to run things. Aragorn will be so happy leaving it all to her so he can play at Rangers!

Well, if you have 'borrowed' it, you are most welcome. I have borrowed things fro otehr people- sometimes completely unconsciously.

MWAHAHAHAaaaaaaa- Yeeesssss precious. NAssty ziggy. xx



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2018 19:52 · For: Chapter 42 Arwen
OMG....my poor baby!!! He needs so much therapy! He's so embarassed! I feel awful for him! He isn't close to any of the elves there. I hope he can talk to Gimli, Sam, Gandalf or Elrohir. I want him to go back to the whole and resilient Legolas. Poor baby! So worried about what everyone will think after he's been through hell...worse than rape almost..

But Elrohir and Legolas were so beautiful together. It is so wonderful and sweet.

Author's Response:

I hate seeing him like this too- the temptation to just skip over this is enormous- but he will heal quite quickly in his body. So he'll soon be his usual gorgeous self:) His humiliation is -I hope- quite convincing so it becomes 'real'.

Glad you enjoyed Elrohir and Legolas together:) A moment of sweetness...before the next bit;/



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2018 19:25 · For: Chapter 41 Restoration
Gimli perception of Elrohir is so accurate. I love the extra insight but it seems really worrying. It amazes me he doesn't know how much Legolas loves Elrohir. Is he in denial?

"It made Gimli wary for he thought that Elrohir would be a jealous and possessive lover… And Legolas was not"
hahahaha I snorted when I read this! The pause is so...pregnant.

Having the Imladris crew in Gondor is going to be so much fun!! I can't wait!

Elladan's POV was also very insightful. Great to have it. BTW I wonder who you added that bit about Elladan not really loving Imrahil deeply hmmmm (=
Also, Erestor leaving the house of healing was a vision(=

Author's Response:

Haha- Gimli is really funny. He is very very fond of Legolas but also really aware of his proclivities and so he is unsire just how lasting Legolas' latest 'infatuation' is going to be. Also he is a bit mistrustful of Elrohir on Legolas' behalf.

 

Imladrian crew in Minas Tirith- fun? Oh yeeeaaahhhh! Tindomion, Haldir, maybe even Berensul! So much fun:)

Knew you lot would spot the bit about Elladan- I didn't actually say he dioesn't love Imrahil...just, he doesn't really know if he does...yet.

So glad you enjoyed Erestor's particular sense of humour and his dramatic flourishes!



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2018 0:37 · For: Chapter 42 Arwen
His fingers brushed the ring on Elrohir’s hand, and a spark pricked his fingers like a bite and he pulled back instinctively. It was the ring that Elrohir’s mother had given him, Legolas thought. Perhaps Celebrían reached out from beyond the Sea to protect her child from the horror that Legolas represented, the danger to her child?

So did Khamul or part of Khamul hides in Elrohir's ring? Could that be possible for it is a normal ring?

You really are a tease. I fear the worst for the relationship between Elrohir and Legolas, depending on your las review reply.

Author's Response:

Well, if I ssay anything at all, it will be a spoiler:) So best say nothing;D Just that sometimes, something apears to be something it's not.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2018 15:54 · For: Chapter 42 Arwen

Oh poor Legolas. How horrific, what Bearos did to him. It's hard to believe he'll ever fully recover from that. I'm glad it was Sam that discovered he couldn't eat, and not Elrohir. At least Legolas and Elrohir had that cosy moment together before the horror came crashing down on Legolas again. Apart from that hint about the ring, of course *shudders*.



Author's Response:

Poor Legolas indeed- Sam is the right person for him right now. I don't think he can bear the idea of anyone else knowing- it's the shame of being caught, being helpless, being a victim. And he doesn't want Elrohir seeing him that way. But you know it's coming, right?



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2018 11:54 · For: Chapter 42 Arwen

 I really gag at the thought of being force fed raw meat, let alone human flesh. Who woudn't be traumatised by that?

 

It struck me as it’s the kind of thing Vanimórë would have gone through and probably poor Maedhros in Angband. And the first Elves corrupted into orcs, like Edenel, so, yes, it really made me feel nauseous myself. 

Poor, poor Legolas, because this isn’t the end of his torments I think, let alone Elrohir’s. I hope it is, but I fear not. 



Author's Response:

Yes- I think you are right- orcs and nazgul etc would think nothing of using corpses or killing people to eat and it would give them a peverse pleasure in trying to get their prisoners to eat it. NOw you've given me a plot bunny!!

x



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2018 20:03 · For: Chapter 42 Arwen

Later, the ghoul had forced shreds of raw, bloody meat into Legolas’ mouth. In horror, he had spat it out until the Ghoul had forced his mouth shut, held his nose so he had no choice…but he knew what it was and he felt sick. At first he had regurgitated it immediately afterwards until the Ghoul found the way to make him keep it down by holding him down on the flat rock floor ….  

 

 

 

‘Careful now,’ Sam said. ‘You should sip it. I know you want to guzzle it down but it’ll only make you sick.’ 

 

 

 

Legolas felt his stomach rebel and leaned forwards, urging. Sam patted his back concerned and kind, pushing his hair away and holding a basin under him. But there was nothing in his belly but bile and burning liquid  strung from his mouth, his eyes wept. The lump of meat sat in a pool of liquid, saliva and bile in the bowl.

 

 

 

‘Ah, I should have fed it to you by teaspoon,’ said Sam annoyed with himself but Legolas looked up at the Hobbit desperately. He found compassion in his brown eyes, and understanding. He let his gaze slip down to the coverlet. He could trust Sam.

 

 

 

‘Sam,’ he said and had to stop for a moment, horrified at the sound of his own voice. More like a croak than the voice he knew. He licked his lips and tried to swallow. Better. ‘Sam, please…I can’t…’

 

 

 

‘It’s all right. You just need to sip it slowly. Just a little,’ Sam coaxed but Legolas turned away, frightened.

 

 

 

‘I can’t! I can’t eat…that. Please don’t make me.’

 

 

 

Sam stared at him uncomprehending. ‘All right,’ he said at last. ‘If you don’t want it, you don’t have to eat it, he said soothingly but he glanced at Legolas in concern. But Legolas closed his eyes and covered his face with his hands. He could not bear it. No one must know what he had been forced to eat …. They would be horrified, treat him differently. 

 

 

............

 

 

Aww Legolas, oh, god, not they would NOT treat you differently. Oh, you poor thing. I didn’t think his healing was going to be easy, but this is dreadful. Oh, he should tell someone, he must. They would know he had been forced :( 




Author's Response:

I am really relived that you think this is horrilbe- no one else has mentioned it and I really gag at the thought of being force fed raw meat, let alone human flesh. Who woudn't be traumatised by that?



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2018 1:59 · For: Chapter 41 Restoration
Thank God Legolas has been found and seems to get better. But after this experience, can he ever return to the way he was? I think what he went through will change him drastically. How can he be the carefree elf he was when living with such dark Memories?

Gimli rubbed his eyes. It was true that Elrohir had sacrificed himself without thought at the battle of the Morannon, and had taken the dreadful Black Web to himself in order to spare Legolas. There was no doubt now, in Gimli’s mind, that Elrohir would have laid down his life if it had been necessary to save Legolas this time.

But the devoted adoration that was in Elrohir’s eyes now was as extreme as his contempt, thought Gimli, watching him surreptitiously. It made Gimli wary for he thought that Elrohir would be a jealous and possessive lover… And Legolas was not.

Please tell me that in his jealous rage Elrohir doesn't do something stupid and hurts Legolas again, mentally or physically.

Author's Response:

You are right to question whether Legolas can ever go back to being quite the way he was before. He has had such a trauma.

OOh- do you think Elrohir might hurt Legolas??? Well .No spoilers;)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2018 11:06 · For: Chapter 41 Restoration

Oh, poor Legolas. It’s heartbreaking to see him in this state, but at least he’s aware of the presence of Gimli, Elladan and Elrohir. Elrohir’s self-loathing is frightening, though. Gimli’s very perceptive to see how Elrohir has channelled it into his adoration for Legolas. I’m very worried what Elrohir might stoop to in a misguided attempt to help Legolas. And as for Elladan’s glimpse of Elrohir’s skeletal appearance, so like Bearos’s appearance at the start of his transformation... *shudders*

But perhaps it is merely time, he thought. Perhaps if I had more time with Imrahil, I will find the other part of me.

Noooooooo! No no no no no. Come on, Elladan. Open your eyes. Think about how you feel when Erestor is around. 

Honestly, what’s it going to take to get those two together?



Author's Response:

You do make me laugh with your DESPERATE attempts to get Erestor and Elladan together:) It brings out the tease in me:D

Gimli is the bestest friend ever- and he will always stand firmly whatever the situation. So I have faith that Gimli will perceive any threats... it's just whether or not he can actually do anything about everything that they might encounter (I'm trying to NOT give any spoilers).

So I've just posted the next chapter and hope you like that one too.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 15, 2018 12:37 · For: Chapter 41 Restoration
But the devoted adoration that was in Elrohir’s eyes now was as extreme as his contempt, thought Gimli, watching him surreptitiously. It made Gimli wary for he thought that Elrohir would be a jealous and possessive lover… And Legolas was not.

In fact, Legolas had been prolific and indulgent in his love affairs throughout the quest, thought Gimli anxiously. He found the ends of his beard in his mouth. He really hoped that Haldir would not be in the wedding party from Lothlorien. Or his brothers. And that Berensul was not in the party from Rivendell. It was bad enough that Tindómion was here and Eomer would be returning for the wedding too.


Yes, it is true, Elrohir has almost a Fëanorion jealousy.

You have got to stop going off without me, Legolas,’ Gimli scolded fearfully. ‘Every time you do, something bad happens. Look at Phellanthir, when you went off into the Tower on your own. And then when you went off onto the Mindolluin,’ he said more quietly with a quick, nervous look over his shoulder at Elrohir, for Elrohir had gone with Legolas at Gandalf’s behest (and Gimli still had not completely forgiven the Wizard for that particular idea.) ‘And what about when you left my side at the Morannon? What happened there?’ He tutted. ‘And now, off you go in search of the Ghoul and not telling anyone where you’d gone. There is a pattern here, Legolas. You should have waited for me to come back.’

Aww, Gimli! What a friend!

He watched his brother for a moment; Elrohir’s long legs were stretched out and crossed at the ankle. His head had dropped forward so his chin was almost on his chest. Candlelight gleamed on his long black hair and threw his cheekbones into sharp relief. It made him look thinner, drawn almost. For a moment, Elladan was acutely aware that his skin merely covered the skull, it draped over the jawbone, the cheeks, nose, stretched over the eye sockets. It made Elrohir skeletal for a horrid moment and brought a cold shiver to Elladan’s own skin.

Oh, god, I don’t like this at all, or that Elrohir’s blood has been given to Legolas!

Erestor. He is injured?’ ‘Barely,’ Tindómion said with a quick smile. He jerked his head towards the door. ‘They cannot keep him in there much longer. I will wager he follows me out of there in …’ He paused and counted, ‘Four, Three, Two, One…’

At that the door burst open and Erestor strode forth, he was looking back over his shoulder to where a bundle of anxious healers fluttered. ‘I thank you. Imladris thanks you.’ He bowed with a flourish of lace sleeves and velvet. ‘The King thanks you. Gondor thanks you!’

Elladan could imagine the wolfish grin on Erestor’s face as he bowed and indeed, as Erestor turned, his teeth were bared in a terrifying smile and his eyes glinted amber.


Oh, lord, I have to laugh! :)



Author's Response:

Ha- thank you Spiced. So sorry I didn't reply to this. Just lost track. 

 

I am quite sure that YOU have influenced me hugely in how Elrohir behaves:)

 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 14, 2018 23:13 · For: Chapter 41 Restoration
Ohh, yay, I am so happy to see an update to this!! :D made my Friday.

Gimli wondered if they used it for everything now in these Houses since Aragorn had arrived.

This made me laugh - Aragorn's signature scent. As did Gimli telling Elladan and Elrohir to stop faffing :D

By rights Legolas should have been boiling hot with all the blankets but he felt so cold.

Uh oh, I don't like the sound of this.

Gandalf was disguised as a sailor

Oh my days, that's a comic gapfiller I need to see (or write...!?) at some point.

I love seeing the brothers work together as a team like this, Elladan effortlessly calming Elrohir even in the face of everything that's happened.

He watched his brother for a moment; Elrohir’s long legs were stretched out and crossed at the ankle. His head had dropped forward so his chin was almost on his chest. Candlelight gleamed on his long black hair and threw his cheekbones into sharp relief. It made him look thinner, drawn almost. For a moment, Elladan was acutely aware that his skin merely covered the skull, it draped over the jawbone, the cheeks, nose, stretched over the eye sockets. It made Elrohir skeletal for a horrid moment and brought a cold shiver to Elladan’s own skin.

Ohhh, no, Ziggy, what are you planning!??!?!

Ahh, and the penny begins to drop for Elladan :)

This made me snort:

Erestor shrugged. ‘It is the basis of our affection. He is prim, I am annoying. His primness annoys me. My carelessness annoys him.’

Perfect thing to unwind with this evening, and I am simultaneously dreading and longing for the next instalment!

Author's Response:

Goodness me- I haven't posted since Spetember and not replied to this- sorry, Narya:( Just really really busy.

Glad you liked the references to athelas, well I thought that in LOTR they do see it as a bit of a healall! If you have a gapfiller in mind, do feel free:) I know I'm not going to write it- just got no time, too many other things to write.x

WHat do you mean,  Ohh, no, Ziggy, what are you planning!??! 

Moi? Planning? Dreading and longing? But this is the Happy Ever After you wanted...isn't it?

 

MWHAHAHAHAHAAAaaaaaaaaaaaa

Sorry. COuldn't help that;)



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: September 10, 2018 0:34 · For: Chapter 40 Bearos
I am caught up! Wow what a ride! But all is still not safe, not yet. Thank goodness Aragorn is back, I hope. I never know with this story. But for now at least Legolas is saved. And Gimli, as always, is one of my favorites!

Author's Response:

Ha- 'I never know with this story' - makes me so happy to hear that:) 

Yes, Aragorn is back and himself again, and Legolas saved. No tricks I promise.



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2018 0:28 · For: Chapter 40 Bearos
Oh my... I can't believe Bearos is dead. Without Khamul Erestor just finished him off. Poor Legolas. I hope he isn't too hard on himself for being captured and having had to be rescued. He has his warrior's pride.
I miss him! Can we see him soon?(=

Also, was it just me or did you slip in that Erestor learned one of his tricks from the Green Elves of Ossiriand aka the Silvan? (= Does he know much about the Silvan. Legolas, Erestor and the twins together will be such an interesting combo.

I loved that part with Khamul around the mirror with Erestor mocking him hahaha. I am actually quite interested in his character. I have never felt that way about the Dark Lord's servants before.

Fantastic reading as always!!!

Author's Response:

I did have a Legolas scene at the end of this but it was getting so long I kept it back for the next chapter. So promise it's the next one.

Yes- Erestor learned how to silence his Song, dampen his aura and generally disappear in Ossiriand. But I have no idea how much he knows about Silvan elves or culture- he just surprises me suddenly with things:)

I LOVE that you picked out Erestor's sarcastic jibe at Khamul (I say this because honestly, that wasn't me writing but Erestor just whispered to me). Yes- I know what you mean about Khamul- there is a lot more going on wih him than meets the eye!

Thank you dear Nash:)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2018 20:11 · For: Chapter 40 Bearos
‘What shall we do with this?’ Glorfindel asked, holding the head up.

Mithrandir’s face went white and his eyes widened. ‘Wait,’ he said breathlessly. ‘This is not Bearos.’


Arrrgh, I knew it couldn't be Bearos!!!!!! Too easy. Dammit.

In the deep quiet of the crypt, Erestor shared a low plinth upon which rested one of Gondor’s long dead Kings. He had not bothered to see the name. Old bones in little piles crumbled almost to dust, encased in stone tombs. Crude letters scratched upon the stone tomb in a language almost forgotten.

*shivers* wow, ziggy. How evocative and atmospheric.

I adore that Erestor has one of Celebrimbor's Rings. It's a fitting reward for his loyalty to that House. (OoooOooH - any chance of a Celebrimbor/Erestor one shot at some point!?)

And a spy...what was he spying on? Have I missed something? (Entirely possible...)

You promised Glorfindel not to peek, the better-part-of-himself reminded the less-than-good-half. But the less-than-good-half shrugged, used to winning these arguments with his better-half, rose and flattened himself against the iron door anyway.

LOL, oh, I love Erestor. Fabulous little angel-and-devil moment there.

‘I hope you do not think to feed me to Khamûl. That is hardly polite.’

*snorts*

But this is so heartbreakingly sad:

But now as his eyes dimmed, he remembered he had wanted to make a pair of gloves for his little daughter, rabbit skin ones for they would be soft and warm on her little hands that clasped his. He hoped Marinel had gone, hoped she had fled with Gerda and the baby and that he had not committed the worst of sins. He did not know. He could not remember…And now it was dark and a sob broke from him. But in the dark, a strong hand clasped him. Warm. Itwas filled with light and hope. It held onto him though he sank, and sank into the emptiness.

Always the way with these broken, corrupted things in fiction - Smeagol, Dracula, Frankenstein's monster...it's the confused humanity underneath that gets me every single time.

And yet, the Ring was still at large, somewhere, Erestor thought. Did someone have it? Or was it lying somewhere, waiting, like it had for Bearos?

Hmmm, I wonder :D

Author's Response:

Celebrimbor and Erestor one shot! You are incorrigible and insatiable, Narya!!!!!!

 

Of COURSE he was a spy;) He can't help but be a spy. On Celebrimbor for Gil-Galad- to a certain extent. On Gil for Celebrimbor- probalby more forthcoming. For Maedhros, for Elrond...you name it!

 

Love that you get all those moments with Erestor;)

 

Ring? Ur...oh. THAT ring... mwahahahahaaaa



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2018 14:40 · For: Chapter 40 Bearos
Yes, it was too easy, thinking that Bearos would be the one killed, so simply!

But Erestor is a force to be reckloned with, rarely caught off guard, and always insouciant. :) I am so glad Bearas/ghoul is now gone, although it was very sad what he became and how he struggled against it.

Deep inside the Pit, Bearas felt himself slipping deeper, falling away until he was staring up and the sides of the Pit was a long tunnel of polished Glass. Then he let himself fall and he was gone. Completely. But now as his eyes dimmed, he remembered he had wanted to make a pair of gloves for his little daughter, rabbit skin ones for they would be soft and warm on her little hands that clasped his. He hoped Marinel had gone, hoped she had fled with Gerda and the baby and that he had not committed the worst of sins. He did not know. He could not remember…And now it was dark and a sob broke from him. But in the dark, a strong hand clasped him. Warm. Itwas filled with light and hope. It held onto him though he sank, and sank into the emptiness.

I hope he finds peace.

But what did the ghoul mean, and did he mean Elladan? And not safe from Erestor? Amazing chapter, Ziggy, so beautifully written! And I am so delighted Celebrimbor gave Erestor a ring

Author's Response:

I am releived that readers saw Bearos again as a human, and a vicitm in hte way that Semagol is a victim- he is the most tragic character in LOTR and it's just so sad that he tried to save the ring at his own expense. Bearos is a little bit like that.

Elladan not safe from Erestor? (sneaky grin) Nooo spoilers;)

Thank you.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2018 12:33 · For: Chapter 40 Bearos

Uuurgh - creepy! Thank goodness for Erestor and his ring, though. Now he knows Khamul is on the wrong side of the mirror I can only hope they'll find a way to send him back. He knows Bearos had the ring, too, so finally they'll know what they're up against.

But Erestor shouldn't be on his guard against Elladan. No! He needs to snog him. Now!



Author's Response:

Haha- chasingbluefish says the same on Archive of our Own! I have told her what you said. I am working on Elladan going to see Erestor now- but oh, of course Erestor has Bearos' words in his head right now so that snog might have to wait a bit:)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2018 9:16 · For: Chapter 40 Bearos
Eeeee! Will review properly tonight, but didn't want to read and run - this is great, ziggy! But I am frightened for Erestor...where did that pesky ring go!?

Author's Response:

xxx



Author's Response:

xxx



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: August 26, 2018 0:35 · For: Chapter 39 Rescue
Finally! So happy to see Glorfindel, Erestor and Tindómion join the fray!
Almost all the our characters are together! Thranduil and crew will be furious to have been excluded.
I'm extremely excited that Elrohir and Legolas are together. They are so tender and loving. Although Elrohir seems to be infected with something I really really hope is just jealousy. Haven't they been through enough!?
Gimli is spectacular as always(= I love how illusioned each of them are regarding their own stuborness and meddling. I keenly look forward to Gimli berating Legolas for running off(=

And Erestor's jibes hahahaha "I promise I won't lose it" hahaha


One thing wasn't clear for me though. I just don't understand why Khamul went through all this trouble only to regret everything. Or was he using Elrohir as a way to assasinate Angmar? I'm not sure I understand what happened there. Also, how can Bearos live on without Khamul? Aren't they the same entity at this point?

I missed this so much!!! So great to get back into this world!

Author's Response:

Haha- oh, Thrnaduil will indeed be furious! Not only at having missed the party but his beloved son in such danger thanks to Elrond!

Elrohir- yes indeed. Not quite out of the woods yet. Haven't they been through enough??? Nah.

So glad you spotted Gimli's self-delusion:) He is such a joy to write. One day I will have to write HIS story.

One thing wasn't clear for me though. I just don't understand why Khamul went through all this trouble only to regret everything. Or was he using Elrohir as a way to assasinate Angmar? I'm not sure I understand what happened there. Also, how can Bearos live on without Khamul? Aren't they the same entity at this point?

MWAhahahahaaaaaaaa- NOoooospoilers:D

Except I will point out a couple of things I sneaked in earlier

Khamul regrets nothing. THere is no trace of regret when he apparently changes sides- he does say he doesn't want to be enslaved by Angmar.

 

Extract from previous chapter:

 Khamûl’s bitter eyes met his. In that moment, Elrohir understood all that was in Khamul’s mind: he did not want the tyranny of Angmar. He did not want to be the Witchking’s lieutenant, subservient, ordered, compelled. It was as much Khamul’s desire that the Witchking remain in the Dark as Elrohir’s. 

 

And second answer- Bearos isn't dead- he wore the Ring and it changed him, but like Smeagol, he has a life beyond the Ring, so he is changed but still alive. Good question though because it was one I asked myself too.

 

Glad you like Erestor- he is in the next chapter:)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2018 10:23 · For: Chapter 39 Rescue
Erestor guarding it is the moist dangerous thing about this! Glorfindel though, does actually trust him. It's just whether he is right to.

I would trust Erestor’s skill and strength, but just not his longing to bring out Maedhros — which of course he would, and many others would, but it’s what might happen if he does that is terrifying!

Poor tormented Elrohir, thinking Legolas shouldn’t be with him, he needs to shed that notion for good and all. Legolas did choose him, after all!

Author's Response:

'MOIST DANGEROUS'!! A whole new concept:)

 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2018 23:16 · For: Chapter 39 Rescue
Oh, Ziggy, what a brilliant chapter :D so much to love here, I don't know where to start!

It seemed to be lurching towards them, a strange misshapen thing. Lumbering from one side of the tunnel to the other, it was half falling against the stone wall.

This is so visual - I've said this before about your work, but I feel like I'm watching a film. I see every detail you describe.

‘What is that?’ Tindómion whispered to Gimli

Brilliant that even Tindómion is reliant on Gimli, down here underground. I really love that in your fics, all of the characters get their chance in the spotlight, and to show what they're best at - Gimli and his affinity with stone, Legolas's shooting and athleticism, Arwen sweeping in and sorting out the messes everyone else makes, Elrohir's fierce courage, Erestor's wiles...I love them all. They're a wonderful cast.

‘You have my axe for as long as you live, Elrondion. And my gratitude.’

I sobbed. I didn't realise how badly I wanted these two to put the past behind them and truly become brothers in arms, but clearly I wanted it pretty badly!

But Gimli was watching Elrohir: in that moment, his face transformed, from tender compassion to intense anger, jealousy.

Ahh, no, Elrohir, don't go there :(

And all the while who knows what is trying to get out of the mirror? I don't know whether I hope Maedhros comes to the glass again or not - I'm not sure what Erestor would do. (Well, actually, I am, but it would probably end very badly for everyone else...)

The sword glittered even in the darkness of the tunnel, for it too had been made by Celebrimbor and perhaps it remembered the hands of its maker, perhaps was offended by the corruption of the Mirror by the Nazgûl

Ooh! Ooh! Or could it be responding to the Feanorion(s) hidden on the other side? (Very wishful thinking, I know.)

Adore Erestor using Glorfindel's old name. Lovely touch.

Now, why do I have a bad feeling about Gimli going to Bearos's house...?

Thank you so much for this enthralling tale, Ziggy. It's been such a treat to have so many updates lately; thank goodness for summer!

Author's Response:

Thank you Narya, especially for such a lovely observation about all the characters. Made my day! Haha- looks like Gimli made yours too:) Love that you are so emotionally involved in them:) Erestor had promised Glorfindel not to peek, so maybe he means it?

Gimli going to Bearos' house- yes, not a ood idea.

Only got a week left so writing frantically to get the next chapter out in time.

x



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2018 21:11 · For: Chapter 39 Rescue

So Elrohir, Elladan, Tindomion, Erestor and Glorfindel are all here. When Legolas is recovered he's  going to have his work cut out to suppress his slutty instincts! No wonder Elrohir got jealous.

Like Gimli, though, I worry that Elrohir's behaviour isn't just jealousy. Dare I say it - the lack of grace Gimli observes is horribly like the beginning of Bearos's transformation.

But on a brighter note - Erestor is wearing flamboyant thigh-high boots. Yay! There's no way Elladan will be able to resist him now. Let's hope Erestor won't be able to resist Elladan!

 



Author's Response:

I LOVE  Legolas' slutty instincts!! He can't help himself, but now he has Elrohir of course so it should all be faithful and sweet now, shouldn't it?

Haha- 'Like Gimli, though, I worry that Elrohir's behaviour isn't just jealousy. Dare I say it - the lack of grace Gimli observes is horribly like the beginning of Bearos's transformation.' No spoilers:)

Yeah- Erestor is dressed to kill! I can't resist him either. He has a nicely dashingand Elladan WILL notice, I promise, in the next chapter I'll do a little extra bit just for you and Cheeky. Ah, but Erestor is so determined.

x



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2018 13:06 · For: Chapter 39 Rescue
Oh, Ziggy, that was amazing, love Gimli with his ‘feel’ for the deep places, and his handy tools :)

But that BOOM, the mirror, things trying to get out, ugh. What an atmosphere. I am a bit claustrophobic and it makes me go all cold with fear and gasp for breath.

Legolas’ gaze was drawn to Tindómion’s face, and when he saw who it was, he gave a small, astonished smile for he had not yet seen who his rescuers were. But Gimli was watching Elrohir: in that moment, his face transformed, from tender compassion to intense anger, jealousy.

So, thought Gimli, there is something between Legolas and Tindómion. It could only have been between their return from Phellanthir and the time the Fellowship left, he thought shrewdly. A few days at most. So nothing meaningful…Much like Haldir…and Eomer…And that servant in Rivendell. There had been other even briefer dalliances on the way, much to the Hobbits’ astonishment, concern from Sam and wide-eyed , open-mouthed admiration from Pippin and Merry. Gimli was certain that Elrohir knew about Tindómion. Clearly. But briefly he wondered if Legolas had spoken of any of the others to Elrohir. And thought he probably had not.


Aww, bless, Legolas and his little dalliances, lol. Love how they evoke differing responses :D. Well, Legolas and Elrohir were not in a relationship at that time, and Elrohir can’t go round hating everyone who’s slept with Legolas — or can he? He must know what he and Legolas have between them, whereas the rest were just Legolas being Legolas.

Suddenly Legolas twitched and his head rolled back, his breath was loud and rasping. Elrohir immediately put his hand on Legolas’ cheek and turned the Woodelf’s face towards him. ‘Legolas?’ he cried loudly, panicking. ‘Legolas, open your eyes. Can you hear me?’

Oh no, is he going into shock or is it worse?

Something huge was throwing itself against the Glass, he thought. Or the walls themselves. Were the Nazgûl so substantial, so present in the Dark that they could cause such a tremor in the earth?

Or is it something worse?

It was Tindómion, unusually, who broke the tense silence. ‘I felt the stirring of others even in the chaos of the Úlairi,’ he said softly. He glanced at Erestor first and then Glorfindel. ‘Elrohir said that he saw only Angmar and his brethren, but in Phellanthir, there was the Balrog.’ He did not say there was Maedhros also but it hung on the air unspoken, heavy with accusation.

‘The Úlairi are not alone in there,’ said Erestor defiantly.

Tindómion turned, hand on his sword. He leaned in slightly towards Mithrandir and his long hair streamed down his back. ‘Who else is in there, Mithrandir? Morgoth?’ he said aggressively. ‘Apart from my kin, that is.’ His eyes burned silver-bright. ‘My kin whom your lords banished to that dreadful place.’

I don’t think Erestor is really fuelling Tindómion’s anger he does have a lot of pent-up rage inside him, and sorrow too.

Tindómion had breathed in sharply. It was clear now that he would not abandon this hopeful aside but seek an understanding, even if he would join the hunt he would not leave until he was satisfied. He was so like Feänor sometimes, it hurt. Now he asked, ‘Was it only Maedhros? Of all the Elves, is he alone in there?’

Ah, thought Glorfindel with compassion. It was Gil he longer for. He sighed. ‘Yes, we saw only Maedhros.’ He glared at Erestor for feeding Tindómion’s hopes.

‘It is not Maedhros coming here that alarms me,’ Glorfindel said sharply. ‘So much Power and energy focused in this one small space has already attracted attention. We have all felt Him turning towards this place.’


Oh dear, yes, I suppose Tindómion would think about Gil-Galad being in there. But there could be something worse. This could indeed be very much worse than I want to contemplate. How do you let one soul or more out without allowing everything else out? And what about Erestor staying to guard it, surely he will be wanting to bring Maedhros to him again? How could he help it, really?

Okay they must kill that awful ghoul (and I hope it does not go to the house because Gimli is going to search it) And Legolas must get better, because I don’t know how he manages to keep his cheerful, insouciant spirit with everything that has happened to him over the last two books!

That was so absorbing, Ziggy! Just amazing!

Author's Response:

Thank you for your lovely comment about the atmosphere- I hate the idea of being stuck underground with something dangerous. 

Exactly- Legolas and Elrohir were not in a relationship so he hasn't been unfaithful- but Elrohir is constantly feeling unworthy, unloveable and so he is always going to feel that someone else is more worthy of Legolas than him. Tindomion is so glorious and noble, he is really the only 'threat'.

 

And you are right of course- it's not Gil in there (I Know in Spiced world they are but not in this) but Morgoth is. And you have absolutely hit the nail on the head - if one soul comes out, others can too. So Maedhros escaping the Mirror is going to leave the Glass more fragile. Erestor guarding it is the moist dangerous thing about this! Glorfindel though, does actually trust him. It's just whether he is right to.

Yes- That ghoul needs sorting out once and for all:) No spoilers:D

x



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2018 9:36 · For: Chapter 39 Rescue
OMG! Ziggy! I hope Erestor's going to be okay down there in the tunnels by himself. I mean I know he's a veteran warrior and everything (and gorgeous)and Cendir's coming to help but that's the Nazgul in that room and possibly something else much more terrible than them trying to get loose.

Gimli is such a treasure. I love how you've given him a much larger role in your story. And how everyone respects and honors his ancient knowledge of the earth and his abilities as a seasoned warrior. Even the likes of the great Glorfindel look to Gimli for any help he can give.

I am so glad Legolas is out of danger. And oooh! Elrohir's jealousy at Tindomion and Legolas' exchange. I'd like to see how that all turns out. ;) Poor Elrohir, he is so very insecure. But Legolas having many lovers in the past doesn't exactly help matters does it. Especially when one of them is still hanging around and still holds affection for Legolas, and the memory of their shared passion together.

This is sooo good! :)

Author's Response:

Thank you Gabriel- I love that you pick out Gimli. He is so easy to write. Thank you for noticing Glorfindel recognises Gimli's qualities- I love Glorfindel. Erestor IS in danger but not for long- but no spoilers:)

Poor Legolas had done quite enough time in that cell- so it's good to have him reunited with Elrohir:) But as you say, Elrohir is very insecure and his jealousy is not going away anytime soon. All those ex-lovers- just storing up trouble ahead;)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2018 17:34 · For: Chapter 38 Khamûl

Yay! Erestor’s arrived. I hope he hurries up and snogs Elladan senseless, and drives all thought of that upstart, Imrahil, from Elladan’s head.

And double yay that Elrohir got Legolas out of that cell. But I still fear for them both. Elrohir's had a taste of power. Yes, he threw back the ring, but I'm worried that the Nazgul will still be able to worm into his spirit. I don't think Elrohir will find it so easy to cast off the ring's effects. I hope it is, though, obviously! But I have a feeling it will take all of Gandalf, Erestor, Glorfindel and Tindomion's power, combined with the Fellowship, to truly get rid of them.



Author's Response:

Haha- love that scene you have written already in your head:) Erestor has to have his own scene now. You've done it.  I know you hate Imrahil so I will have to write you in as compensation to him for not having Elladan;D

Ah- you're a clever little thing, Naledi. It ain't easy to get rid of that thing indeed!!

x



You must login () to review.