| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Half-brothers in heart, full brothers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. A romance. Warning: this...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
The Story of Aule's Firstborn by Ellynn Teen
Durin I Deathless was the very first dwarf Aule had created. He lived a very long, successful and glorious life, and achieved...
Fit for a Prince by Narya General Audiences
In which some Elves of Dorthonion learn a thing or two about cheese-making, and about Eldalótë.
Seven Stars and Seven Stones by ziggy General Audiences
Seven Stars and Seven Stones   Tall ships and tall kings Three times three, What brought they from the foundered...
~ A Crown of Ash ~ by Spiced Wine General Audiences
Set directly after A Throne of Shadows, with the Clouds now gutted by fire, events move to the north-west of Scotland. The...
~ A Fire in the Night ~ by Spiced Wine General Audiences
When Tindómion vanishes after leading Gil-galad’s army back to Lindon, Glorfindel searches for him.

Site Info

Members: 515
Series: 98
Stories: 1831
Chapters: 9233
Word count: 28251332
Authors: 144
Reviews: 17121
Reviewers: 229
Newest Member: jrallister
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 54
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 18
Members:

Shoutbox

Fadesintothewest
07/07/20 10:14 am
Hello All! I hope every one is healthy and well! Watching everyone do better with COVID than those of us in the U.S. Lets hope we stay healthy!
Spiced Wine
07/04/20 10:27 am
Happy 4th July for all who celebrate :) Keep safe and well
FirstAmazon
07/03/20 03:06 pm
Happy Friday! :D
Spiced Wine
07/03/20 09:11 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
06/30/20 09:54 am
Don’t apologise, Karlmir; pain does make us miserable
Alquien
06/30/20 07:12 am
Feel better, Karlmir.
Karlmir Stonewain
06/29/20 08:53 pm
My back pains have abated somewhat. Sorry for being overly dramatic earlier.
Spiced Wine
06/26/20 10:21 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
06/25/20 10:20 pm
I’m so very sorry, Karlmir :(
Karlmir Stonewain
06/25/20 08:11 pm
It's bad enough that I'm pained by arthritis, but now my back has been bothering me for the past few days. Oh! the vicissitudes of old age! I am so very tired. Come, Death. Draw the final curt
Shout Archive



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2020 9:58 · For: Chapter 62 AFTERGLOW

So many congratulations for finishing this stunning story, Ziggy! It seems to have been part of my life for a long time, and the prequel  too! 



Author's Response:

Thank you my dear Sian. I now have time to catch up and read everything I am missing! For example, YOUR fabulous fics!!



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2020 9:06 · For: Chapter 60 Rounding up
I love this plotting Galadriel! Getting ready. ANd the scene with the Hobbits and Legolas. I can never get enough of what was momentary happiness that gives way to such melancholy. But these moments, ah, they are lovely.

Author's Response:

Oh you are lovely to review the old chapters:) Thank you. Yes- Galadriel is really not finished with any of this! I wish I had time to write ALL of it, but alas, work and RL just gets in the way:( glum face.)



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2020 8:49 · For: Chapter 59 The Healing
Phew, after the last couple of chapters--had to go back and reread as a refresher--this chapter allows our elves some semblance of pausing, healing. As always I enjoy how Elladen and Elrohir interact. On to the next!

Author's Response:

Thank you Fadestothewest, I am always happy when readers go back and enjoy it:) 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2020 22:06 · For: Chapter 62 AFTERGLOW

Just perfect, Ziggy. I loved everything about this chapter, especially Elrohir’s promise to sail with Legolas. There were so many poignant touches, with Legolas’s awareness of his friends’ mortality, Gimli’s throwaway comment about goblins and the way the sea-longing means Legolas will never truly be at peace in the Greenwood. I loved it all!



Author's Response:

Thank you darling Naledi. So glad you enjoyed this. This one took time to polish although I had it pretty much written way back, I have not had time to do the edits etc. So pleased it worked:) Thank you for your kind and generous support over all this time. x



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2020 18:52 · For: Chapter 62 AFTERGLOW
Oh Ziggy, I'm just tearing up. I can't believe this story has come to an end.
Legolas and Elrohir's story and all it's characters have been constant companions for so long. I always look forward to your updates. Your characters have all wormed their way into my heart and it's hard to say goodbye. Especially to my lovely Legolas. He is such a one of a kind.
I look forward to the next part of this universe when you choose to continue it.
Thank you so much for sharing with us. This saga is one of my favorite of all times and reading the development of the characters over the years has brought a lot of joy. Thank you!!

Author's Response:

Thank you my dear Nash- it feels really weird not having anything to write but my life is so busy right now I may well take a break, certainly from writing epics! You have been such a wonderful reviewer and friend through all this- thank you:) I am sure Legolas will pop up again!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2020 18:53 · For: Chapter 61 The Reckoning

How did I not find this earlier? This chapter makes me so happy. I loved Legolas and Elrohir together and how Elrohir's Song helps Legolas overcome his memories of the Ghoul. Just gorgeous!

I also had to laugh at Gimli blurting out all the Khuzdul names. He's going to have to go with Legolas to Valinor, because when the Dwarves find out he's given away their secret names to a Wood-elf no less, they're going to hound Gimli out of Middle-earth!



Author's Response:

Hello you- I am glad you enjoyed this my dear Naledi. Haha- glad you got Gimli's going to be in SUCH trouble- I might do that as a one-shot:) x



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2019 22:08 · For: Chapter 61 The Reckoning
God I love Gimli. His faux-hatred of the boots "He almost sighed but remembered he hated them and stamped his feet instead" and his protectiveness of Legolas "he just needed to know where the Elf was, who he was with and that that person, whoever he might be, knew that Gimli knew what he had done, how he had done it and why and that Gimli was onto him if anything should go wrong". This last part just killed me! It is absolutely hilarious. I can just see Gimli at their wedding sneaking some very unsubtle treats into his best man speech while Legolas glares at him and Thranduil smiles smugly.
Speaking of which, I saw you sneak that Thranduil reference in there with the map! Damn I miss seeing him.

Fantastic chapter! Hope you had a Merry Christmas and wishing you a Happy New Year!

Author's Response:

Thank you my dear- I have missed you this Christmas writing our advent calanedars but maybe next year- this year was just overwhelming I think for many of us.

So happy you picked up Gimli's faux-hatred:) I love Gimli so much.

I miss Thranduil too- might do something of him next... except I have promised Elladan some me-time.

So glad you enjoyed this- I was so anxious about it, spent WEEKS tweaking and adding, deleting and scraping whole chunks of it. Merry Christmas to you as well my dear, and Happy 2020!!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2019 15:42 · For: Chapter 61 The Reckoning

Whether you sail the Sea, or if somehow you find Mandos’ Halls, I will follow,’ Legolas continued softly, his eyes fixed upon Elrohir’s averted face, willing him to look up. ‘If you remain here in Middle earth for all the long days of your life until you fade and are but a shadow in the woods, then I will be your shadow.’ He placed his hands on either side of Elrohir’s face, but Elrohir kept his eyes downcast. ‘I will never leave you. Say that you are mine and mine only. Forever.’ Legolas pulled Elrohir towards him. He knew there was a note of pleading in his voice that was unfamiliar but he had never felt like this.

 

This is so beautiufl, it reminds me of Ruth: 'Do not plead with me to abandon you, to turn back from accompanying you; for where you go I shall go, and where you spend the night I shall spend the night. Your people will be my people, and your God my God. Where you die I shall die, and there is where I shall be buried.



Author's Response:

I didn't know Ruth's words until you said but yes, they are very apt and beautiful. I think I had in my head the lines of a Genesis Song- Afterglow, which has these lines:

But I, I would search everywhere

Just to hear your call,

And walk upon stranger roads than this one

In a world I used to know before.

I miss you more.

 

It's what I hear when I write Elrohir and Legolas declaring themselves. I heard it first at Uni and never forgot it. I am hoping to finally finish the last chapter and then can indulge myself with some reading -I am woefully behind! xx



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2019 11:51 · For: Chapter 60 Rounding up
Re: my last comment

Are you sure Thranduil doesn't sail in the end? I could have sworn that he did sail.
As for what you said, about what I said about the twins:
"Yes- twins in the next chapter. Heartbrothers, bloodbrothers. Soul and body and mond. I like the way you see them- interesting dynamic."
I was actually quoting what you wrote in the fic(= I'm curious about THAT and how YOU see them (=

Can't wait for more!

Author's Response:

ooh- how did I miss this one?? So sorry Nash.

I don't think there is anything anywhere that says whether he sailed or not but happy to be corrected.

And about what you said that I said that I said that you said...:)

Last chapter on its way- full of fluff.

x



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 06, 2019 17:28 · For: Chapter 60 Rounding up

Awww...the cat had kittens! She should have had 7 kittens so there would have been a cat for each remaining member of the fellowship! I did wonder if the cat's sock-stealing was a nod to Squeaky in Nightwing's To See A World. I loved how the cat went loopy over Gimli's boots. It reminds me of how my cat used to bury her face in my dad's slippers and go into ecstasies!

Galadriel's becoming downright scary. She seems to only see people for how they will serve her schemes. Rather like Gandalf, I suppose!



Author's Response:

I did have 7 for each of the 7 dwarves:) but I thought someone would ask how they all fit into the boot!! Yes- I LOVE Nightwing's gorgeous fic- so sad that she is gone. Actually though it is my own old moggy who does this- some cats do it as they become senile and others do it for nesting- making a nice soft home for their kittens:) I am sure Nightwing did influence me though.

Aha- yes! Galadriel and Gandalf are very similar in fact- well spotted!

 

You are going to love the next chapter - or two. 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 04, 2019 11:03 · For: Chapter 60 Rounding up
I know I've mentioned this probably a thousand times already, But you really write, in particular, the Hobbits, Gimli and Gandalf, perfectly. It's like I'm watching the film, every time.


And what are we going to do about Galadriel? She just never seems to stop. Also, I so love how you've given Celeborn more of a role. I like the dynamics between these two. You've really created something gritty and interesting there.

Thanks Ziggy!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much Gabriel- I admit that PJ put their voices in my head and I can write them really easily because of that- so all credit goes to him.

Yep- Galadriel- unstoppable. A force of Nature. She is not going to let a little thing like the Valar stop her!! You've got to admire her for that. 'gritty and interesting'- thank YOU! What a compliment:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: November 03, 2019 22:53 · For: Chapter 60 Rounding up
The chapter was so sweet! Glaurang is absolutely adorable and the kittens were a splendid addition!

I'm glad Gandalf feels ashamed. Even though it's not his fault it gives me hope that he might get through to the Valar and release Maedhros or at least send him some assistance. I loved the scene you depicted after the mirror went black - everyone was so true to character. I especially loved what you said about Galadriel:

"...his incandescent queen, who, if she had brought them to this point in her hubris, was certainly intent on leading them from it in glorious disdain and righteous anger at the dreadful fate of her kinsman"

So poetic! So damn true. She really doesn't stop to dwell on her own failings or defeats, just moves straight on. It's interesting how she's already thinking of ways to use Legolas and the twins in her game of politics. Doesn't she know that Legolas is one big scandal waiting to happen (or perhaps a thousand little scandals and mishaps)? Hahaha. I'm excited to see more of the twins in your next installment. I want to see how those characteristics of Elladan winning the people's hearts but Elrohir leading them, come into play. I've always thought that those who hold the people's hearts will command them as well

I feel bad for Celeborn. Even though Galadriel loves him, she just pushes thoughts of him aside and moves on. She doesn't try to fight for his forgiveness.
Celeborn's story always made me sad. Him staying in Middle-Earth when the fate of the Elves left behind was to fade, is so sad...he never saw Celebrian again.

I saw how you added that reference to Haldir in there(= Bastard doesn't deserve our Legolas. That whole paragragh there is hinting at some really steamy stuff to come with Elrohir - I can't wait!

Author's Response:

So glad you enjoyed this, Nash. We are coming to the end of this fic but as you so rightly point out, none if it is easily finished with and tidied away. I especially loved your comment about Legolas being a whole heap of scandals waiting to happen:)

Yes- twins in the next chapter. Heartbrothers, bloodbrothers. Soul and body and mond. I like the way you see them- interesting dynamic.

Yep- Galadriel is a piece of work for sure! Relentless, focused.

I agree re Celeborn. He is a bit like Thranduil- have you read Jael's fics? Just so heart breaking and poignant. You do wonder if he ever did sail- as you said, otherwise he never sees any of them again and just fades- and I can't imagine Celeborn fading. Or Thranduil. I think they might retreat to a kingdom under the hill - and become known as the Kings of Faerie.

Oh yeah- Haldir. Maybe more of that in later fics- but not sure Elrohir is quite able to hear all that now.

Thank you as always:)



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: October 14, 2019 5:59 · For: Chapter 59 The Healing
I love the absolute love Elladan shows for his brother, knowing that Elrohir too easily blames himself when it was an evil great power! And the exchanges between Aragorn and Legolas. Don't know why made me a little sad. As always lovely!

Author's Response:

Thank you fadestothewest- yes, Aragorn and Legolas always make me a little sad once we get to this point in the story- because the next bit we get is really Aragorn's death- but I aint writing that! It alwya makes me bawl my eyes out. Thank you:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2019 23:51 · For: Chapter 59 The Healing
Wow, I can't believe this is coming to a close. I can't wait to find out what will happen with Elladan, but I'm relieved (although not surprised) he has not chosen the way of men.
But poor Legolas - his speech is just hilarious!

Author's Response:

A couple more chapters to just finish off the loose ends- not all of them though! I think Elladan has to have his own tale o be honest- I want to give that time:) Glad you found poor Legolas' pain so funny oh merciless one! x



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2019 17:07 · For: Chapter 59 The Healing

Yay! I don't have to kill Imrahil after all. I can't tell you how happy this chapter made me!

I'm guessing Elladan's mysterious words are about Erestor. I hope so, anyway. Elladan needs to be with Erestor and Elrohir with Legolas, and they'll all sail to Valinor together, leaving no one behind. No one!

I do worry about Legolas and Elrohir, though. No matter how much Elladan's acceptance has helped, I think Elrohir's feelings of being tainted and unworthy of Legolas will surface sooner or later. I hope Legolas can control himself around Tindomion, too!



Author's Response:

Haha! makes me laugh that you loathe him so violently on Erestor's behalf- but don't think Erestor is going to just give in, will you? Whether they all sail, or together or whatver i am not sure yet- remember that Erestor has sworn to something and he won't go until that id done mwhahahaha!!! Lots of peril yet!! No one is safe!

Legolas knows his heart is Elrohir's, but he is still the naughty sex-mad elf he always was and the the Wood, sex is not the same as love and they are more promiscuous- but he knows how that would hurt Elrohir and won't do anything.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2019 13:48 · For: Chapter 59 The Healing

Lovely that Elrohir and Elladan are not parting, and Elladan's acceptance and forgiveness that was so beautifully written it made me tear up.Just wonderful, Ziggy :) 



Author's Response:

Thank you Spiced- and I am hoping now that work has eased a little and I can finish this and catch up on ASOG!I have four chapters to enjoy:) 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2019 8:03 · For: Chapter 59 The Healing
Another super chapter, Ziggy!

I'm so glad for Elrohir, Legolas' and everyone else's sakes that it's all over. It is all over, isn't it?


And then suddenly the door was flung open and Elladan was there. He swept in like the fresh wind off the mountains, clean and pure, his peaceful calm spread over the rooms. Elrohir heard the healer who was working on his dressing, sigh and her shoulders dropped as if she had been carrying some great burden.


Your descriptions are always so wonderful! And the imagery it evokes is so amazing.

And I am bursting at the seams to know who or what Elladan is speaking of.

Thank you again, Ziggy! Your stories always make my day.

Author's Response:

Thank you Gabriel- yes, it is all over for them and everyone is safe. Elladan is a very good foil forElrohir because hisacceptance iss o important. Ah- haven't yu guessed who he has realised is his? Well- you'll have to wait:)



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: September 12, 2019 8:17 · For: Chapter 58 Morgoth Bauglir
What a stunning chapter! As always you render both the power and terror of the elves and the weight of what that mythos entails. I've read it multiple times to catch details I missed. Just now i returned to it and found this gem: aedhros had an inhuman grin, the red flames of the Balrogs cast a demonic glow upon his face. He moved forwards a little more and swung Aícanaro slightly. A wind swished from the blade, sent a cold drift of air through the Glass. 'My name is no longer important. It is what I am, who I am.'

Author's Response:

Thank you so much ,Fadestothewest. This is such a lovely review. I am so happy you picked out that bit- I spent so long trying to get this chapter right and I didn't get many reviews so each one is very precious as you know. This is particualry lovely. x



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2019 23:19 · For: Chapter 58 Morgoth Bauglir
Ziggy! You can't see it, but I'm dancing in joy! I'm so glad we have reached such a favorably outcome!
Great negotiations! I'm so pleased we spoke!

On a more serious note, I will truly be happy with anything you chose to write (especially anything Legolas related). I am helplessly addicted to your verse.
My puppy dog eyes and I thank you(=

Author's Response:

Haha- if it makes you happy Nash, that is all I ask:) I have a new fic in mind... a scene that came to me quite suddenly. Think you will like it but I need a bit of time to get this one done and work is very very busy. I wish I was rich.



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2019 22:11 · For: Chapter 58 Morgoth Bauglir
Just "a bit of time together at the end"? That's all? You can't see it, but I'm making an extremely sad pouting face. There might be a tear slowly creeping down my cheek. And you can't say there isn't, you can't see me.

Any chance we get a Valinor fic with Legolas, Elrohir and crew? I know I've asked for a million plot bunnies already, including a Thranduil-Elrohir meeting...but you know it never hurts to put that out there, right? You can't see it, but I'm putting on my most charming smile with big pleading eyes.

Author's Response:

I need four lifetimes to write everything you want, Little Miss Pout. You are so demanding!

OK- a bit more than one or two scenes- if I write them in Valinor, I have to face Aragorn's death and I just can't. I find it too upsetting- sorry. But I have quite a lot more plotlines (some are indeed yours!!) before we get to the point of sailing so I hope that will keep you happy with your soppy pleading puppy-eyes! I have to write Elladan- Erestor, Maedhros and the Glass in Phellanthir, Tindomion, Maglor and Elrond, the hobbits, what happens to Glaurung... your demands are ENDLESS!!! 

x



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2019 20:57 · For: Chapter 58 Morgoth Bauglir
Wow, You gave us a taste of the great battles of the past and the glorious bravery (or hard-headedness, depending how you look at it) of the great Noldor lords. I would love to see something of yours set during the first age. You write it so well!
...but then my beloved Legolas wouldn't be in it...I'm conflicted!
Great chapter as always!

Author's Response:

I am so releived you liked the battel- I spent AGES agonising over that scene so I am very pleased you found it good. I have committed to writing a bit First Age - but as you say, no Legolas- and we do love Legolas! Back to Legolas in the next chapter though my dear.



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2019 19:10 · For: Chapter 56 The Door Opens
Wow, I don't know where to begin...
Everyone coming to rescue Legolas and Elrohir and tending to them tenderly was so sweet. I loved seeing everyone together. A family reunion! I liked how they found Legolas and Elrohir cuddled together under the rubble. My heart is just melting.

I also totally forgot about Celeborn. Why do I have a feeling he will save them all? I hope he does because those crazy Noldor need a Sindar to set their head on straight!

Also, I know this bad, but I loved Tindómion being so sweet with Legolas. Legolas needs more love! Also the part where Gimli said Legolas and Elrohir shouldn't be allowed out alone and Glorfindel agreed made me smile so wide(=

As for the second part with the Three, I'm so excited to see Maedhros, but oh my god...what are they doing?! Legolas and Elrohir just got together! Don't ruin this for me!

Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed the reunion and  Elrohir and legolas' moment of tenderness- and yes, it is bad that you liked that but it's oh so good as well!

Celeborn to the rescue- sort of. And Maedhros- well, read on...(



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2019 18:06 · For: Chapter 54 Decisions
The rings are insanely creepy and why do they keep objectifying Legolas as 'Yozaira'? Do they need him and Elrohir for something.

The last part with Legolas and Elrohir was so sweet! Just what I was waiting for!

Author's Response:

Read on, as Mr Bennett says in Pride and Prejudice!

Glad you enjoyed the last bit:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2019 17:53 · For: Chapter 53 Legolas
Finally! Legolas saved Elrohir! (I realize this for most readers this isn't news but I'm making my through the story slowly but surely).
It's wonderful! Also I hope it finally gives them the opportunity to grow together as a couple and I really can't wait to see that(=

Author's Response:

Narya! Thought I had lost you somewhere!! So glad you have caught up:) I promise you will get a happy ending for these two and a bit of time together at the end.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2019 16:11 · For: Chapter 58 Morgoth Bauglir

Wow  - Balrogs and Morgoth - what next?! I feel a bit sorry for the Valar - I doubt even they are a match for Galadriel on the war path.



Author's Response:

Ha- yes, she is (I hope) redeemed a bit. But we have still got a few things to wrap this one up- maybe two or three chapter. x



You must login () to review.