| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086464
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16051
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
But I can definitely add it for you
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
I can add it, Gabriel, but only using a keyboard and iPad I cannot hotlink it I have no mouse, and everything is a pain in the neck
Gabriel
09/22/18 01:00 pm
Not to worry Spiced! It was my fault for not submitting it in time. That's the consequences I guess. :)
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 10:03 am
Sorry, Gabriel I took that list from Kenaz’s LJ
Gabriel
09/22/18 05:43 am
I wish there was a delete button on this.
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Narya
09/21/18 06:59 pm
Ahh, Spiced, thank you <3 hope everyone has a lovely weekend planned!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Fight or flight

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2016 10:14 · For: Fight or flight

Those were days of stones and bones; a time when the elves knew little of the shining veins of earth; a time when it took little to fill their eyes with wonder.

 

A WONDERFUL opening line! And your writing just goes on in that gorgeous vein of rich imagery and poetry

 

 a voice, slow and deep and deliberate; it came from the deeper shadows under the trees, from an elf-shaped creature that moved with the softness of a wolf. The warm light of Eöl’s fire shone only on the bone-whiteness of a mask carved in ivory, crowned with snowy hair like Thingol’s.

 

I want to steal this! JUst beautifully written Kalendeer. And I love this linking to your longer fic - but this is on its own a great piece of writing.



Author's Response:

Well that's Mirfin for you, he's sexy and dangerous and a sorcerer (even if that's easy to forget since he doesn't do any sorcery past the first chapter of Full brothers in blood XD). I love his silver mask but the ivory mask is so wild and creepy, there's a Morrowind feel to it <3 (also the white hair; I think the Mulaks and Gashans have white hair because Thingol's hair turned to white when he married Melian, so it's something of a "royalty thing" in pre-noldorin ME).



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 4:11 · For: Fight or flight

Nooooo!  Eol what are you doing!  Gosh that was the perfect way to lure him in!  But somehow it feels all the more tragic that he choose this when I do believe he was tortured once he got there (like, I am sure they didn't spar the whip if he failed to ever lived up to their high demands).  Unless this story is not cannon compliant and Eol's fate is a lot different as one of Mirfin's people?  I am curious why Mirfin picked out Eol?  Was he on the look out for Elves to lure away or was it something about Eol especially that caught his interest?



Author's Response:

Well as someone who was not born in Angband like Mirfin was, Eöl probably had a hard time here; the title Simug, however, means "smith", and Eöl was recruited to be "quality" rather than a slave. The thing is that I got the impression that the early Sindar did not work metal themselves and bought their weapons from the dwarves, Eöl being a notable exception of this... so where did he learn? Did he invent everything himself? In my opinion, Eöl ranked as beta, so he lived well in Angband, but he is also someone who likes solitude and values freedom (but fails to secure it for himself everytime he tries, he just emprison himself). At some point I guess he just walked away while he was out searching for ore lol. It was because he had few markings of his captivity that he could return to Menegroth so easily, thought Melian and Thingol were probably suspicious. Escaping if you are a beta before Melkor's return is actually very easy, especially since there are commercial relations with the Avari, who trade food for manufactured goods.

Mirfin was on the look out for elves, but not just any elves. Mairon wouldn't send out one of his Mulaks just for a petty razzia (he does send uruks, but not Mirfin). Mirfin would be sent out to select elves to be shaped into beta for his own people; Eöl definitly caught his interest since he was obviously as backward as all those Sindar (they don't write, they don't work metal, while the Tatyarsh are already working with Iron), but he was trying to invent a forge on his own... so definitly beta material, perhaps even alpha material. He could definitly picture a future Gashan here.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 4:10 · For: Fight or flight

Nooooo!  Eol what are you doing!  Gosh that was the perfect way to lure him in!  But somehow it feels all the more tragic that he choose this when I do believe he was tortured once he got there (like, I am sure they didn't spar the whip if he failed to ever lived up to their high demands).  Unless this story is not cannon compliant and Eol's fate is a lot different as one of Mirfin's people?  I am curious why Mirfin picked out Eol?  Was he on the look out for Elves to lure away or was it something about Eol especially that caught his interest?



You must login () to review.