| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale from Harondor
The Hounds of Love by Verhalen Explicit
Sören Sigurdsson and "Mark Lowry" are continuing what they started in Sausalito over the summer. But they have some challenges...
~ Last Night I Dreamt I Went to Summerland Again ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
At the Monument, after Dagor Dagorath, Vanimöré wakes from a dream. Anything is better than doing nothing and...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Mature
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Chapter 60: A Rounding Up. ‘Seems they are looking forward to having you back,’ Gimli smiled, his earth brown...
A Song of Staying by Himring Teen
In the far future, in a galaxy far, far away, a few lines from the Silmarillion still serve as inspiration.

Site Info

Members: 492
Series: 95
Stories: 1786
Chapters: 9124
Word count: 28226947
Authors: 143
Reviews: 16826
Reviewers: 226
Newest Member: kimaracretak
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 15
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
11/15/19 02:19 pm
Thanks, Spiced! Happy Friday to you all!
Spiced Wine
11/15/19 02:10 pm
Happy Friday, everyone!
Fadesintothewest
11/11/19 02:28 am
Thanks so much Spiced!
Spiced Wine
11/08/19 03:53 pm
Have a great Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
11/07/19 09:46 am
I sent an email, Ziggy :)
ziggy
11/07/19 12:10 am
Can I have the Silm Discord link as well please Spiced- intrigued now!
Spiced Wine
11/06/19 01:25 pm
Welcome, Kimaracretak :)
Spiced Wine
11/05/19 10:20 am
I emailed you through ‘contact; here with the Silm Discord link
Spiced Wine
11/05/19 10:17 am
I’m not sure, let me go and ask them!
Fadesintothewest
11/05/19 07:41 am
Good to know Spice. How can we get onto Silm Discord? It would be nice to join. I'm always looking for other Silm related places.
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2016 1:52 · For: Chapter 1

OMG I loved this!  I just love love loved it!  Fingolfin finally meeting Maeglin and accepting him and Maeglin finally feeling what it means to be loved and just, my gods you have me tearing up with happiness!

(I really want to punch Turgon in the face for this!  And Idril too!  Like, not loving Maeglin back is very much her choice, but holding gossiping sessions about him where they talk about how awful and what a ‘creep’ he was?  That is so not on!).

I hope Fingolfin keeps visiting Maeglin even after he goes to live with the Feanorions! 

 

Now you have me craving to hear more about Feanor’s first visit to Maelgin’s home in the forest.  Or about how Maeglin is adjusting to his life among the Feanorions.  You just have me loving this to bits :)



Author's Response:

Well, I've been soley reading your stories for the past two weeks. All the healing between Maglor and Glorfindel prompted be for some hurt/comfort for another pair. Because ... Fingolfin is a little possessive regarding his grandson. Idril and Gil-galad don't need him. They're well adjusted people and Eärendil is a loner with unique problems.

So Maeglin it is. And they're very like each other, I think. Deep down they have the same edges and mirrors and snarky comments.

P.s.

Now you have me craving to hear more about Feanor’s first visit to Maelgin’s home in the forest.

You know me faaaar too well. Faaaaaar, far too well :DDD ... but let me finish the recent chapter of WorldBreaksEveryone first, okay?

 



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2016 19:27 · For: Chapter 1

Loved this. So glad you wrote about Fingolfin's visit because I did wonder. 

He was perfect here, knowing just what to say to reach Maeglin's poor tortured soul. SO unfair Maeglin gets this torrent of abuse for breaking under torture....I mean, what hope did he ever have? 

Poor old uptight Turgon. He is always a bit of a baddie as well. I like this theory of his concealing Maeglin from Fingolfin. It fits with my head canon of him. Turgon had major issues with loss, I think, truly messed up after the death of Elenwe which seems to have turned him from someone who was just a bit of a killjoy into someone who wanted to hide from the world and clutch everything tight so he lost nothing more. I can totally see this grief damaged Turgon not wanting to let Maeglin go. Not wanting to risk his father sweeping in and taking Maeglin away.

The problem with that was Turgon was also too damaged to love properly. If Maeglin had recieved proper love from him it wouldn't have been so bad. It is like, once his wife went Turgon forgot how to love at all.....even his daughter.....he used all his love up on his wife and hen had nothing left.

This was great. Fingolfin, who is one of my fav's was exactly right will be eagerly waiting if you ever write more. 



Author's Response:

It simply wouldn't leave me alone! I already had written a glimpse of Maeglin's new life yet not how he met Fingolfin. I needed to redemy that. There aren't enough fics of these two out there.

And yeah, Maeglin getting grief for breaking under torture ... I mean how many other elves are there that suffered a similar fate? Is he supposed to be different just because he's related to Finwe around a few corners? Nope. Hence my reasoning why Fingolfin understand him best in that regard.

But I agree with you on Turgon. A lot of what he did he didn't actually mean that way. But it doesn't excuse his actions. Hiding himself away, hiding his nephew and cutting him off from this world.

Yeah, I'll probably write more. But first I'll finish the next chapter of the "The World Breaks Everyone" ... that has priority before NaNo starts in November.



You must login () to review.