| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Wolf Luck by arafinwean Mature
(Or, that Finwion Mage AU that is eating my soul)There were things lost on the journey to Aman, history and culture, art...
Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1593
Chapters: 8169
Word count: 24580612
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14784
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 18
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2016 1:52 · For: Chapter 1

OMG I loved this!  I just love love loved it!  Fingolfin finally meeting Maeglin and accepting him and Maeglin finally feeling what it means to be loved and just, my gods you have me tearing up with happiness!

(I really want to punch Turgon in the face for this!  And Idril too!  Like, not loving Maeglin back is very much her choice, but holding gossiping sessions about him where they talk about how awful and what a ‘creep’ he was?  That is so not on!).

I hope Fingolfin keeps visiting Maeglin even after he goes to live with the Feanorions! 

 

Now you have me craving to hear more about Feanor’s first visit to Maelgin’s home in the forest.  Or about how Maeglin is adjusting to his life among the Feanorions.  You just have me loving this to bits :)



Author's Response:

Well, I've been soley reading your stories for the past two weeks. All the healing between Maglor and Glorfindel prompted be for some hurt/comfort for another pair. Because ... Fingolfin is a little possessive regarding his grandson. Idril and Gil-galad don't need him. They're well adjusted people and Eärendil is a loner with unique problems.

So Maeglin it is. And they're very like each other, I think. Deep down they have the same edges and mirrors and snarky comments.

P.s.

Now you have me craving to hear more about Feanor’s first visit to Maelgin’s home in the forest.

You know me faaaar too well. Faaaaaar, far too well :DDD ... but let me finish the recent chapter of WorldBreaksEveryone first, okay?

 



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2016 19:27 · For: Chapter 1

Loved this. So glad you wrote about Fingolfin's visit because I did wonder. 

He was perfect here, knowing just what to say to reach Maeglin's poor tortured soul. SO unfair Maeglin gets this torrent of abuse for breaking under torture....I mean, what hope did he ever have? 

Poor old uptight Turgon. He is always a bit of a baddie as well. I like this theory of his concealing Maeglin from Fingolfin. It fits with my head canon of him. Turgon had major issues with loss, I think, truly messed up after the death of Elenwe which seems to have turned him from someone who was just a bit of a killjoy into someone who wanted to hide from the world and clutch everything tight so he lost nothing more. I can totally see this grief damaged Turgon not wanting to let Maeglin go. Not wanting to risk his father sweeping in and taking Maeglin away.

The problem with that was Turgon was also too damaged to love properly. If Maeglin had recieved proper love from him it wouldn't have been so bad. It is like, once his wife went Turgon forgot how to love at all.....even his daughter.....he used all his love up on his wife and hen had nothing left.

This was great. Fingolfin, who is one of my fav's was exactly right will be eagerly waiting if you ever write more. 



Author's Response:

It simply wouldn't leave me alone! I already had written a glimpse of Maeglin's new life yet not how he met Fingolfin. I needed to redemy that. There aren't enough fics of these two out there.

And yeah, Maeglin getting grief for breaking under torture ... I mean how many other elves are there that suffered a similar fate? Is he supposed to be different just because he's related to Finwe around a few corners? Nope. Hence my reasoning why Fingolfin understand him best in that regard.

But I agree with you on Turgon. A lot of what he did he didn't actually mean that way. But it doesn't excuse his actions. Hiding himself away, hiding his nephew and cutting him off from this world.

Yeah, I'll probably write more. But first I'll finish the next chapter of the "The World Breaks Everyone" ... that has priority before NaNo starts in November.



You must login () to review.