| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1651
Chapters: 8442
Word count: 25536419
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15676
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 7
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2016 1:52 · For: Chapter 1

OMG I loved this!  I just love love loved it!  Fingolfin finally meeting Maeglin and accepting him and Maeglin finally feeling what it means to be loved and just, my gods you have me tearing up with happiness!

(I really want to punch Turgon in the face for this!  And Idril too!  Like, not loving Maeglin back is very much her choice, but holding gossiping sessions about him where they talk about how awful and what a ‘creep’ he was?  That is so not on!).

I hope Fingolfin keeps visiting Maeglin even after he goes to live with the Feanorions! 

 

Now you have me craving to hear more about Feanor’s first visit to Maelgin’s home in the forest.  Or about how Maeglin is adjusting to his life among the Feanorions.  You just have me loving this to bits :)



Author's Response:

Well, I've been soley reading your stories for the past two weeks. All the healing between Maglor and Glorfindel prompted be for some hurt/comfort for another pair. Because ... Fingolfin is a little possessive regarding his grandson. Idril and Gil-galad don't need him. They're well adjusted people and Eärendil is a loner with unique problems.

So Maeglin it is. And they're very like each other, I think. Deep down they have the same edges and mirrors and snarky comments.

P.s.

Now you have me craving to hear more about Feanor’s first visit to Maelgin’s home in the forest.

You know me faaaar too well. Faaaaaar, far too well :DDD ... but let me finish the recent chapter of WorldBreaksEveryone first, okay?

 



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2016 19:27 · For: Chapter 1

Loved this. So glad you wrote about Fingolfin's visit because I did wonder. 

He was perfect here, knowing just what to say to reach Maeglin's poor tortured soul. SO unfair Maeglin gets this torrent of abuse for breaking under torture....I mean, what hope did he ever have? 

Poor old uptight Turgon. He is always a bit of a baddie as well. I like this theory of his concealing Maeglin from Fingolfin. It fits with my head canon of him. Turgon had major issues with loss, I think, truly messed up after the death of Elenwe which seems to have turned him from someone who was just a bit of a killjoy into someone who wanted to hide from the world and clutch everything tight so he lost nothing more. I can totally see this grief damaged Turgon not wanting to let Maeglin go. Not wanting to risk his father sweeping in and taking Maeglin away.

The problem with that was Turgon was also too damaged to love properly. If Maeglin had recieved proper love from him it wouldn't have been so bad. It is like, once his wife went Turgon forgot how to love at all.....even his daughter.....he used all his love up on his wife and hen had nothing left.

This was great. Fingolfin, who is one of my fav's was exactly right will be eagerly waiting if you ever write more. 



Author's Response:

It simply wouldn't leave me alone! I already had written a glimpse of Maeglin's new life yet not how he met Fingolfin. I needed to redemy that. There aren't enough fics of these two out there.

And yeah, Maeglin getting grief for breaking under torture ... I mean how many other elves are there that suffered a similar fate? Is he supposed to be different just because he's related to Finwe around a few corners? Nope. Hence my reasoning why Fingolfin understand him best in that regard.

But I agree with you on Turgon. A lot of what he did he didn't actually mean that way. But it doesn't excuse his actions. Hiding himself away, hiding his nephew and cutting him off from this world.

Yeah, I'll probably write more. But first I'll finish the next chapter of the "The World Breaks Everyone" ... that has priority before NaNo starts in November.



You must login () to review.