| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8580
Word count: 26132086
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16093
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 20
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Hi, Fadesintothewest! *waves* good to see you, hope work isn't too painful.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 02:32 pm
That sounds amazing, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:19 pm
who of my music-loving OCs might be interested in playing the nyckelharpa/keyed fiddle... *ggg* )
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:18 pm
I've been to the most wonderful concert yesterday, Swedish Folk string trio Väsen. The music was so beautiful, and it felt so much like Middle-earth, too. (now I need to figure out
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:17 pm
Nice to see you popping in here, fadesintothewest! *waves* *waves generally around, too* Hope everybody else is doing well enough.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 10:53 am
Hope you do, too, Fadesintothewest :) Good to see you!
Fadesintothewest
10/15/18 09:27 am
Just wanted to say hello. I know things are slowed down right now. I wish I could be more present but work. Looking forward to participating more soon!!!
Spiced Wine
10/14/18 12:23 pm
Sign of a good fic, if you ask me :)
Narya
10/13/18 11:23 pm
:D this fic keeps mutating. So far it's sprouted four OCs and an unexpected plot twist which impacts stories that come chronologically later in the series...it's a nightmare but I love it!
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2016 1:52 · For: Chapter 1

OMG I loved this!  I just love love loved it!  Fingolfin finally meeting Maeglin and accepting him and Maeglin finally feeling what it means to be loved and just, my gods you have me tearing up with happiness!

(I really want to punch Turgon in the face for this!  And Idril too!  Like, not loving Maeglin back is very much her choice, but holding gossiping sessions about him where they talk about how awful and what a ‘creep’ he was?  That is so not on!).

I hope Fingolfin keeps visiting Maeglin even after he goes to live with the Feanorions! 

 

Now you have me craving to hear more about Feanor’s first visit to Maelgin’s home in the forest.  Or about how Maeglin is adjusting to his life among the Feanorions.  You just have me loving this to bits :)



Author's Response:

Well, I've been soley reading your stories for the past two weeks. All the healing between Maglor and Glorfindel prompted be for some hurt/comfort for another pair. Because ... Fingolfin is a little possessive regarding his grandson. Idril and Gil-galad don't need him. They're well adjusted people and Eärendil is a loner with unique problems.

So Maeglin it is. And they're very like each other, I think. Deep down they have the same edges and mirrors and snarky comments.

P.s.

Now you have me craving to hear more about Feanor’s first visit to Maelgin’s home in the forest.

You know me faaaar too well. Faaaaaar, far too well :DDD ... but let me finish the recent chapter of WorldBreaksEveryone first, okay?

 



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2016 19:27 · For: Chapter 1

Loved this. So glad you wrote about Fingolfin's visit because I did wonder. 

He was perfect here, knowing just what to say to reach Maeglin's poor tortured soul. SO unfair Maeglin gets this torrent of abuse for breaking under torture....I mean, what hope did he ever have? 

Poor old uptight Turgon. He is always a bit of a baddie as well. I like this theory of his concealing Maeglin from Fingolfin. It fits with my head canon of him. Turgon had major issues with loss, I think, truly messed up after the death of Elenwe which seems to have turned him from someone who was just a bit of a killjoy into someone who wanted to hide from the world and clutch everything tight so he lost nothing more. I can totally see this grief damaged Turgon not wanting to let Maeglin go. Not wanting to risk his father sweeping in and taking Maeglin away.

The problem with that was Turgon was also too damaged to love properly. If Maeglin had recieved proper love from him it wouldn't have been so bad. It is like, once his wife went Turgon forgot how to love at all.....even his daughter.....he used all his love up on his wife and hen had nothing left.

This was great. Fingolfin, who is one of my fav's was exactly right will be eagerly waiting if you ever write more. 



Author's Response:

It simply wouldn't leave me alone! I already had written a glimpse of Maeglin's new life yet not how he met Fingolfin. I needed to redemy that. There aren't enough fics of these two out there.

And yeah, Maeglin getting grief for breaking under torture ... I mean how many other elves are there that suffered a similar fate? Is he supposed to be different just because he's related to Finwe around a few corners? Nope. Hence my reasoning why Fingolfin understand him best in that regard.

But I agree with you on Turgon. A lot of what he did he didn't actually mean that way. But it doesn't excuse his actions. Hiding himself away, hiding his nephew and cutting him off from this world.

Yeah, I'll probably write more. But first I'll finish the next chapter of the "The World Breaks Everyone" ... that has priority before NaNo starts in November.



You must login () to review.