| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Summer Heat by Glorfindel Explicit
A modern day, elves who never sailed, detective story in the style of film noir. Erestor was the most evil...
Peregrinations by Veveco Mature
Exploration of various themes. Fourth stop: The game.
A Dawn Of Many Colors by Pink Siamese Mature
How many books out of worlds and worlds out of books? This is the story of Janet Lambert, a thirtysomething college student...
The trails of Nan Elmoth by Chiara Cadrich Mature
Proud and solitary, Aredhel rides freely in the deep forests of Beleriand. She believes she escaped the destiny intended...
Freedom by mangacrack General Audiences
"Do you have any clue where we are?" Elladan asked his brother and looked around. There must be some clues where they ended...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 78
Stories: 1561
Chapters: 7944
Word count: 23572667
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14015
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Naledi
05/20/17 04:57 pm
Yes the bit I did was near Ludlow - around the Knighton and Kington sections. I love Ludlow, too!
ziggy
05/20/17 10:01 am
Naledi- where abouts on Offa's dyke? I've walked a bit of that- near Ludlow. Love Ludlow!!! Great restaurants too. I'll go with you next time:)
Naledi
05/19/17 11:53 pm
Thanks, Cheeky. As you've seen, I found it. I'm not long back from a few days walking a section of Offa's Dyke. So tired!
cheekybeak
05/18/17 10:25 am
Hi Naledi! This time "Fire" really is updated.
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2016 1:52 · For: Chapter 1

OMG I loved this!  I just love love loved it!  Fingolfin finally meeting Maeglin and accepting him and Maeglin finally feeling what it means to be loved and just, my gods you have me tearing up with happiness!

(I really want to punch Turgon in the face for this!  And Idril too!  Like, not loving Maeglin back is very much her choice, but holding gossiping sessions about him where they talk about how awful and what a ‘creep’ he was?  That is so not on!).

I hope Fingolfin keeps visiting Maeglin even after he goes to live with the Feanorions! 

 

Now you have me craving to hear more about Feanor’s first visit to Maelgin’s home in the forest.  Or about how Maeglin is adjusting to his life among the Feanorions.  You just have me loving this to bits :)



Author's Response:

Well, I've been soley reading your stories for the past two weeks. All the healing between Maglor and Glorfindel prompted be for some hurt/comfort for another pair. Because ... Fingolfin is a little possessive regarding his grandson. Idril and Gil-galad don't need him. They're well adjusted people and Eärendil is a loner with unique problems.

So Maeglin it is. And they're very like each other, I think. Deep down they have the same edges and mirrors and snarky comments.

P.s.

Now you have me craving to hear more about Feanor’s first visit to Maelgin’s home in the forest.

You know me faaaar too well. Faaaaaar, far too well :DDD ... but let me finish the recent chapter of WorldBreaksEveryone first, okay?

 



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2016 19:27 · For: Chapter 1

Loved this. So glad you wrote about Fingolfin's visit because I did wonder. 

He was perfect here, knowing just what to say to reach Maeglin's poor tortured soul. SO unfair Maeglin gets this torrent of abuse for breaking under torture....I mean, what hope did he ever have? 

Poor old uptight Turgon. He is always a bit of a baddie as well. I like this theory of his concealing Maeglin from Fingolfin. It fits with my head canon of him. Turgon had major issues with loss, I think, truly messed up after the death of Elenwe which seems to have turned him from someone who was just a bit of a killjoy into someone who wanted to hide from the world and clutch everything tight so he lost nothing more. I can totally see this grief damaged Turgon not wanting to let Maeglin go. Not wanting to risk his father sweeping in and taking Maeglin away.

The problem with that was Turgon was also too damaged to love properly. If Maeglin had recieved proper love from him it wouldn't have been so bad. It is like, once his wife went Turgon forgot how to love at all.....even his daughter.....he used all his love up on his wife and hen had nothing left.

This was great. Fingolfin, who is one of my fav's was exactly right will be eagerly waiting if you ever write more. 



Author's Response:

It simply wouldn't leave me alone! I already had written a glimpse of Maeglin's new life yet not how he met Fingolfin. I needed to redemy that. There aren't enough fics of these two out there.

And yeah, Maeglin getting grief for breaking under torture ... I mean how many other elves are there that suffered a similar fate? Is he supposed to be different just because he's related to Finwe around a few corners? Nope. Hence my reasoning why Fingolfin understand him best in that regard.

But I agree with you on Turgon. A lot of what he did he didn't actually mean that way. But it doesn't excuse his actions. Hiding himself away, hiding his nephew and cutting him off from this world.

Yeah, I'll probably write more. But first I'll finish the next chapter of the "The World Breaks Everyone" ... that has priority before NaNo starts in November.



You must login () to review.