| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Warning for explicit slash in this chapter. Not...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The FŽanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8133
Word count: 24444960
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14683
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 57
Members: ziggy

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive



Name: Aista (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2016 6:32 · For: Chapter 32
Heya Ndil! Apologies for getting you excited about a review, this was supposed to be a PM but for some reason there was an error and I couldn't get it to send you a message.

Anyway, around Xmas I made some fanart, forgot about it and now I've found it again ... so was just wondering whether you'd like to see it? It's probably best sent via email. Anyway let me know ...

Author's Response:

I'm so sorry! I never got your PM messages or this review's notification - suddenly everything from Faerie is ending up in my spam box again. I've PMed you my e-mail address. Mightely curious, by the way... :-) 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 26, 2015 1:01 · For: Chapter 31

Yeayyyy! I love that you have written anothe chapter and EVEN more that she tells Legolas!!! Whhhoooo. Lovely.



Author's Response:

Hi Ziggy! Sorry for the late reply, I never got notified that there was a new review. I keep hoping there'll be time to finish the story, but I don't dare to promise anything. Than you for all the support given though :-)



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: November 24, 2015 23:22 · For: Chapter 32

Oh ho!  So many words of wisdom there. 

 

Also - I've sometimes thought the same thing about male elves having low sperm counts!



Author's Response:

Thank you for your review :-). Leave it to the hobbits to be wise :-P



Name: Aista (Signed) · Date: November 10, 2015 15:07 · For: Chapter 31
Oh.
Oh gosh.

Poor Iris and poor Legolas. And I see what you did there Aragorn ... a bit hypocritical don't ya think? And I really just want to hug everyone!

This was quite an emotive chapter; to be a fly on that wall ... (Well, tent wall.) This is like the LOTR version of 'The OC' but way better - drama drama drama. I wish I could leave a more constructive review but the last scene was INTENSE.

Thank you very much for the update!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review! I kept rewriting it and then it took so long that I barely dared to post it. So its really encouraging to see that the drama didn't scare you away.

I'm already working on the next chapter, so I promise I won't take forever this time ;-)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2015 15:52 · For: Chapter 30

You've got a great sense of the chaos of battle in this- moving quickly from one scene to another and then hell-deep in the Houses of Healing- or patching them up quickly and getting them back out there.  So they have won and now they've just got Mordor to deal with!



Author's Response:

Yes, only Mordor :-) thanks for hanging in there.

 



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 25, 2015 23:40 · For: Chapter 30

Oh good stuff! I think this is a really good description of the assault on Minas Tirith; Iris' viewpoint works really well.



Author's Response:

Thank you! :-)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2015 9:59 · For: Chapter 29

This is such a great story- usually I loathe the girl-fell-into-ME but this is told with such humour and wit and credibitlity, also your writing is superb and I am just sucked into this. Love the confusion of her feelings towards Legolas.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reviewing again :-) I was worried about this chapter (nothing much happens, even though it took me forever to write), so I'm really glad your still following!



Name: Aista (Signed) · Date: December 08, 2014 10:43 · For: Chapter 28
Hi Ndil!

I happened to check for recent stories and noticed you’d updated. It’s great to see you writing again (I’ve missed reading about Iris’ adventures) so of course it was a perfect excuse to have a lazy day rereading the whole thing!

I particularly liked the dialogue in this chapter, but I’ve also been enjoying the gradual lengthening and ‘opening’ of conversation between not only Legolas and Iris, but also how Iris is able to approach topics with others that they haven’t seem to have given much thought to previously.

Just a few things to keep in mind:

1.I noticed a repetitive typo where ‘three’ is used instead of ‘tree’ or ‘trees’ (this occurs in chapters 6, 14, 20 and 25).

2.When punctuating dialogue keep periods (ie. fullstops) and commas inside the quotation marks. For example, chapter 28: ["Here" I said] should be ["Here," I said].

3.In the last scene of this chapter I noticed Legolas slept with his eyes closed. I’m not sure whether this story is planned as an AU and is therefore not intending to be canon compliant (if so, ignore me!) but I’ll mention it anyway …

In regards to Elves and sleep, Tolkien seemed to imply that it’s more like meditation for them and they do it with their eyes open:

“ … it is plainly suggested that Elves do ’sleep’, but not in our mode, having a different relation to what we call ’dreaming’. Nothing very definite is said about it (a) because except at a length destructive of narrative it would be difficult to describe a different mode of consciousness, and (b) for reasons that you so rightly observe: something must be left not fully explained, and only suggested.” [Letter to a Mr Britten by Tolkien dated 5 November 1956]

“Only Legolas still stepped as lightly as ever, his feet hardly seeming to press the grass, leaving no footprints as he passed; but in the waybread of the Elves he found all the sustenance that he needed, and he could sleep, if sleep it could be called by Men, resting his mind in the strange paths of elvish dreams, even as he walked open-eyed in the light of this world.” [The Two Towers: The Riders of Rohan : page 31]

“Legolas already lay motionless, his fair hands folded upon his breast, his eyes un-closed, blending living night and deep dream, as is the way with Elves.” [The Two Towers: The Riders of Rohan : page 49]

Thanks again and I hope your muse continues to inspire!

Author's Response:

Hi Aista!

Thank you for writing the 50th review to this story! A very useful one at that too :-) I've corrected at least 11 'threes' that should have been 'trees'; I hope I caught them all. I have no idea when the two started to get mixed in my mind, but obviously they did and I'm really glad you pointed that out to me. What you say about punctuation is a bit more difficult. To fix that, I would probably have to read through all the dialogs I've written, and then I'll probably get stuck at fixing/rewriting things. So I've just fixed the one example you gave, and I'll promise to try and be less sloppy from now on. 

The sleep thing was intentional, to point out that Legolas is far more exhausted than he should be. Obviously I failed at that, so I tried to make it a little clearer. Thank you for rereading the whole thing - that's a huge compliment :-D!

 



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: December 07, 2014 1:00 · For: Chapter 28

I really enjoyed this game of twenty questions!



Author's Response:

Good to hear :-)! Iris is full of questions of course. Thanks for reviewing!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: December 05, 2014 5:53 · For: Prologue

Yay a new chapter!  This was such a juicy chapter, things are really heating up.  I like all the little steps forward, the little hints as they swing ever closer to their final admittance of their feelings for each other :D   I liked their discussion about the nature of Men, and that Legolas was feeling both despairing and a bit contemptuous of them, and also that Iris started feeling attacked.  Well, I liked all their discussion lol, but that was the part that stuck out,  oh, and I liked hearing your interpretation of <i>fëa</i>!



Author's Response:

Thanks! I really wasn't sure about posting this chapter (of course I never really am), but you mention exactly the things I wanted to be 'liked', if you know what I mean :-) Thanks so much!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2014 2:19 · For: Chapter 27

I got in the mood for a girl-falls-into-Middle-Earth story and thought I’d try this one out, and I’m glad I did!  There were some elements to the story I really liked, and that kept me reading.  I like that Iris has depth.  It took a while to show, but she has insights into characters like Aragorn and the twins that I have enjoyed reading, as well as her own personal history.  It’s her thoughts on the twins that I have liked the most, and also that she tried to take the Ring herself, because that’s not something I have ever seen done before in this type of story.

I would say, overall, that the story has gotten progressively better.  I will continue reading, and wish you the best of luck in the writing :D



Author's Response:

Thank you very much for your review, it really made my day!  I'd really like to go back to the beginning and start speeding things up there, but I feel I should first finish,because otherwise I probably never will :-P

 



Name: Kernigh (Signed) · Date: April 23, 2014 5:25 · For: Chapter 26
I like those rare stories by authors who know that Westron is not English. That is why I began to read _When Everything Stopped Making Sense_. Authors who know that a modern girl shares no languages with Middle-earth tend to write better fan fiction.

_A purpose:_ In the early chapters, I found no purpose to this story. Iris falls into Moria and must go with Frodo and company. While Iris learns about her new companions, nothing else happens. The company cross Moria, lose Gandalf, and reach Lothl


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2014 13:56 · For: Chapter 25

Argh! You can't leave it there!!!

Great couple of chapters- I like having this quiet-ish (until now ) time between Iris and Legolas. There are some really interesting developments in their characters and interaction. And the narrative voice is lovely- just a slightly contemporary ironic tone, a slight 21st C twang almost that doesnt jar in ME. So enjoying this!!



Author's Response:

:-D glad to hear it!



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2014 0:13 · For: Chapter 25

Meep!

Sorry - I am sometimes the queen of the very short review...

Actually, can I just say that the fight is really well written - and I can just imagine Legolas expecting everyone to just be able to find East.



Author's Response:

Sorry for the cliffhanger :-P Thanks for your review, which really wasn't that short at all :-P

I'm glad you liked it.



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: March 12, 2014 3:04 · For: Chapter 24

So much angst in this chapter, So Much Angst... Call me cruel but I love it! You are really good at putting these difficult emotions under words.

On a lighter note, I kinda agree with Legolas; I think Thingol's "go get me a silmaril from Morgoth" request was a worse condition for marriage... xD



Author's Response:

I'm glad your still following and that you liked the chapter :-). I always think angst is much harder write, so I am glad it worked. 

i wonder why Elvish father's don't just say 'forget it, I don't want you to marry her', rather than sending these poor blokes on Mission Impossibles.:-)

 

Thank you for reviewing!



Name: Aista (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2014 9:44 · For: Chapter 23
Apart from a few spelling errors and word usage mix-ups (like 'believe' instead of 'beliefs') this is fantastic writing. Your characterisation is multifaceted and deep. Iris is a human being, she's a woman, she has periods and bad moods and she's flawed but she has a whole other side to her as well - I like her. She made me laugh quite a few times. I also like how you've developed the rapport between the characters. The insight into Aragorn's esteem issues and how he treats Elves/Humans was unexpected but interesting.

Overall, respect. I have enough trouble writing in my mother-tongue let alone a second/third language! I am in awe of you.

Thanks for sharing this story.

Author's Response:

Thank you Aista for your extremely kind review and also for reading it this far! Words that sound the same and yet have different uses, trick me every time :-) I'll ctrl-F through the chapters in a minute to replace the believes with beliefs - thanks for the tip!

I've not posted new chapters in a while, but that doesn't mean I haven't been writing. I just need to organise it a bit and connect the dots. More is coming! 



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2013 13:57 · For: Chapter 23

**No one hugs, while having one hand on the hilt of their knife; that's just awkward and rude.**

That really epitomises the twins in this time, I think.

And Legolas' last line is perfect.

Author's Response:

It kind a was supposed to do that, yes :-) 

And thank you also for referring to Legolas' last line. It was my favourite bit of this chapter, so I'm glad you liked it too :-)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 01, 2013 23:38 · For: Chapter 23

That first line made me laugh out loud! And then this

 

I missed it. Gimli's voice has a tendency to temporarily reduce my hearing sensitivity, whenever he sneezes, and more so when he swears." I wasn't sure if he felt ashamed with himself or annoyed with Gimli.

 

I'm so glad Legolas is going with her. HIs cool logic is very necessary right now!

 

Such great writing. Wit and style combined.



Author's Response:

Thanks again Ziggy! :-D



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 01, 2013 7:43 · For: Chapter 22

Had to re-read this after your looooonggg absence but so welcome return! Love this chapter and the heavy handed moralising- made me laugh. And so well written and deftly humorous. Gorgeous!



Author's Response:

Thanks Ziggy, and I'm sorry for making you wait! I'm glad you liked it despite needing to re-read :-)



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2013 22:36 · For: Chapter 23

Another chapter of awesomeness. You made me laugh, so many times! 

Gimli being all "Say something Elf!" made me crack up, and Legolas... well, Legolas being Legolas as usual was priceless too (as in, staring in the distance, being confused, and making unexpectedly deep remarks...)

I love Iris more with every passing chapter, and that doesn't often happen to me with an OC. She is so... realistic! Really, you do a great job on writing her. On writing all the characters, actually. They all have something that just makes you like them. 

Hope to see another update soon!

PS: One little critic; one doesn't say "to revenge someone/something", it is either "to avenge someone/something" or "to take revenge for/on someone/something". Just thought to point this out, no offence meant.



Author's Response:

Thanks Quantumphysica! And don't be silly, please just say it whenever I make mistakes in my English! I'm glad you pointed this one out to me, and I've fixed it! :)



Name: Aralinn (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2013 0:21 · For: Chapter 21
I definitely just laughed out loud at this chapter and the football game!

Author's Response:

Thanks! 



Name: Aralinn (Signed) · Date: September 01, 2013 13:45 · For: Chapter 13
Well of course I hate she's bein affected by the ring, however, I think it's also a good thing though. Her being human makes her vulnerable to it's power, which a lot of writers don't include, good job! But of course I sincerely hope she comes to her senses!

Author's Response:

As you see I'm starting to deviate a bit from the original version here. I guess I just felt Iris couldn't keep her 21st view on things while contradictory experiences piled up - so eventually the ring was going to get to her too :-) I'm glad you liked it :-)



Name: Aralinn (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2013 23:55 · For: Chapter 9
“I noticed before; you prefer your right arm, but it tires quicker as your left.” Aragorn said, as if.... Here it should be it tires quicker than your left.

Author's Response:

fixed it! thanks!



Name: Aralinn (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2013 19:52 · For: Chapter 8
I already feel like in this revised version that she already has more feelings and thoughts that are expressed to us readers. Great job, and the grammar has also improved a lot. I haven't seen nearly as many!

Author's Response:

Thanks! That's good to hear! :-) I'm really glad you don't mind reading it all again.



Author's Response:

Thanks! That's good to hear! :-) I'm really glad you don't mind reading it all again.



Name: Aralinn (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2013 16:26 · For: Chapter 3
Well I've gotten to start reading the rewrite, yay! I only noticed one mistake- . Aragorn was hit and loosed consciousness. - it should be lost consciousness I believe, other than that, great job!

Author's Response:

Hi again, Aralinn! 

Thanks for pointing out that grammar mistake, I've fixed it. Please keep pointing these kind of things out to me :-).

Also: welcome to this site! This might not be the biggest fanfiction archive, but you'll see its members are rather active. There are a lot of very friendly reviewers here and suprisingly many are also extremely talented authors. I don't know how lotrff is these days, but a while ago it seemed a bit dead. If still so, know that there are nice people here who might like to read your stories :-). 



You must login () to review.