| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8482
Word count: 25720926
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15752
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 17
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
06/25/18 01:18 pm
Oh dear, Spiced! My thoughts are with you both in this challenging time. Sending a lot of positivity your way.
NelyafinweFeanorion
06/25/18 06:16 am
Sending good thoughts to you and your mother, Spiced!
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:42 pm
I will go in and sit with her, it’ll take 4 hours and they said 1 or 2 people were welcome.
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:41 pm
My mother starts chemo Thursday. They’re not sure it’ll do any good, but any good thoughts appreciated.
Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Alquien
06/22/18 11:30 pm
Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble with live journal?
Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Humble Gifts

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2016 7:11 · For: Chapter 1

Love this story- the detail makes it very convincing, from the spider's bite and its effects to the lovely nuances of Ithildim's movements - those are very well done indeed and make me feel as though I am actually stadning right next to him. Gimli is fabulous- perfectly written and Legolas is just wonderfully himself.



Author's Response:

Ziggy, I always look forward to your reviews. I am glad you appreciated the detail and descriptions. I always worry I overdo it! I must admit, I adore my Gimli and could write him and Legolas infinitely! I did scare myself with this story, to be honest, as I am not overly fond of spiders!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2016 14:38 · For: Chapter 1

Ooh - this is wonderful. I'm so glad you posted it here. Poor Legolas - we do like to put him through agony, don't we? But I like how his suffering brought Gimli and Ithildim to a friendship that would perhaps have taken longer to form in other circumstances.



Author's Response:

When I was a wee fanfition reader I never imagined I would grow up to be "one of those authors" who liked to torture her characters but... Here I am! And we do love it, don't we? And yes, I do think his suffering served a purpose here! One that has a parallel to Enough and solidifies them as very good friends indeed, i think. Thank you so much for your review. Yours are always so insigtful!



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2016 2:26 · For: Chapter 1
Ooh... this was gripping. Your stories are always so emotionally intense! As soon as I get some time, I'm going to have to go start from the beginning and read my way through.

Only thing I was thinking: when the spider was attached to Legolas -very creepy, by the way- and feeding, why do you think Gimli's first reaction wasn't to attack first and ask questions later? I mean, he was obviously terrified by what he was seeing; how could he stand just sitting there for so long?... Unless Legolas' forced calm wore off on him, or confused him maybe?

Anyway, I'm going to have this story on my mind for awhile; I just know it. I liked the whole feeling of the story. Thank you for posting. x)

Author's Response:

I think he was just flabbergasted and confused. I don't know how I would have reacted! But that is a great point and perhaps I should have explored it more in the piece.  SO glad you found it gripping. This was one of my favorite stories to right, by far! I always appreciate your reviews.



You must login () to review.