| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8482
Word count: 25720926
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15746
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 21
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Alquien
06/22/18 11:30 pm
Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble with live journal?
Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Narya
06/20/18 06:15 pm
I look forwards to catching up with you and your stories when I come back <3
Narya
06/20/18 06:14 pm
Hey guys! Just to let you know I'm going camping for ten days; if you don't see me online, don't think I've abandoned you all, I just won't have internet ;)
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 01, 2016 3:24 · For: Chapter 1

I love that it was Feanor who finally drew Maeglin out, and that he just showed up one day at Maeglin’s hut!  And it seemed completely natural that Maeglin would find the greatest comfort with the Feanorions.  I did really like that Maeglin’s family was accepting and forgiving (especially loved Fingolfin’s ride into the forest and how happy he was after!), but I bet Maeglin never felt completely comfortable with them because he was always wondering in the back of his mind if they really had accepted him/loved him/ forgiven him or it is was all pity, or something, but with the Feanorions these fears are finally eased.

I love Maeglin re-born fics!  And the Feanorions too!  So this was a treat :)  Thanks for sharing!

 

 



Author's Response:

First, I'm pretty sure that it was Fingolfin who prompted Feanor to visit Maeglin. Just imagine, Fingolfin gushing over how magnificent his grandson is, bursting with pride so that Feanor how to see for himself. (It would be too good if his brother's line finally produced someone with a sense for craft! But Aredhel has always been the best of that bunch, so no surprise there) ... and Maeglin ... is drawn to Feanor like a moth a flame. I think he finally sees a teacher, a mentor he never had.

The rest is ... well the Feanorians know that the elvish equivalent to PSTD looks like. And Maeglin has lots of it, so he is better of with them. Fits better with them, he's too much of his parents child to exist anywhere else. Not to mention that a bunch of kinslayers are much less likely to judge a traitor like him. 

Not lets just imagine that Maeglin will spend many, many wonderful days in Feanor's house ... and the sass level multiplies whenever he and Curufin meets by a hundred.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: September 28, 2016 9:02 · For: Chapter 1
I loved this. I have a huge soft spot for Maeglin. I think he got a very rough deal...right from the start. But the fact he was captured and tortured by Morgoth but yet when he returned, nobody even seemed to have bothered that he was gone, is quite crushing.

I especially loved Fingolfin in this. So exactly how I see him!

Author's Response:

I feels like this as well. Maeglin just deserves ALL the cuddles. With blankets and chicken soup. There's so much what worked against him, ... he never had a chance. I imagine it was the doom working in subtle ways against him, the Noldor and against Turgon in general. Because Maeglin could've just easily been the bridge between Fingolfin and Thingol, given how Eöl is rumored to be related to him.

Not to mention that Maeglin is OLDER THAN GIL-GALAD! Maeglin could've easily become High-king, had Aredhel chosen to seek sanctuary with her father.



You must login () to review.