| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14772
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 15
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 01, 2016 3:24 · For: Chapter 1

I love that it was Feanor who finally drew Maeglin out, and that he just showed up one day at Maeglin’s hut!  And it seemed completely natural that Maeglin would find the greatest comfort with the Feanorions.  I did really like that Maeglin’s family was accepting and forgiving (especially loved Fingolfin’s ride into the forest and how happy he was after!), but I bet Maeglin never felt completely comfortable with them because he was always wondering in the back of his mind if they really had accepted him/loved him/ forgiven him or it is was all pity, or something, but with the Feanorions these fears are finally eased.

I love Maeglin re-born fics!  And the Feanorions too!  So this was a treat :)  Thanks for sharing!

 

 



Author's Response:

First, I'm pretty sure that it was Fingolfin who prompted Feanor to visit Maeglin. Just imagine, Fingolfin gushing over how magnificent his grandson is, bursting with pride so that Feanor how to see for himself. (It would be too good if his brother's line finally produced someone with a sense for craft! But Aredhel has always been the best of that bunch, so no surprise there) ... and Maeglin ... is drawn to Feanor like a moth a flame. I think he finally sees a teacher, a mentor he never had.

The rest is ... well the Feanorians know that the elvish equivalent to PSTD looks like. And Maeglin has lots of it, so he is better of with them. Fits better with them, he's too much of his parents child to exist anywhere else. Not to mention that a bunch of kinslayers are much less likely to judge a traitor like him. 

Not lets just imagine that Maeglin will spend many, many wonderful days in Feanor's house ... and the sass level multiplies whenever he and Curufin meets by a hundred.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: September 28, 2016 9:02 · For: Chapter 1
I loved this. I have a huge soft spot for Maeglin. I think he got a very rough deal...right from the start. But the fact he was captured and tortured by Morgoth but yet when he returned, nobody even seemed to have bothered that he was gone, is quite crushing.

I especially loved Fingolfin in this. So exactly how I see him!

Author's Response:

I feels like this as well. Maeglin just deserves ALL the cuddles. With blankets and chicken soup. There's so much what worked against him, ... he never had a chance. I imagine it was the doom working in subtle ways against him, the Noldor and against Turgon in general. Because Maeglin could've just easily been the bridge between Fingolfin and Thingol, given how Eöl is rumored to be related to him.

Not to mention that Maeglin is OLDER THAN GIL-GALAD! Maeglin could've easily become High-king, had Aredhel chosen to seek sanctuary with her father.



You must login () to review.