| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7888
Word count: 23423549
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13825
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Ysilme
03/30/17 01:32 am
I suppose they'd have a heart attack if I told them I'm writing fanfic in English these days. *g*
Ysilme
03/30/17 01:31 am
experience like you, Alpha, but with English: two English teachers told me I should try to get a job where I wouldn't need foreign languages as they judged me too little giftd in languages.
Ysilme
03/30/17 01:29 am
My father was a maths teacher, too, which wasn't always easy for me, *g* - my classmates considered it as uncool in a major way to be daugther of a maths teacher. And I made a similar
ziggy
03/28/17 11:13 pm
Wow- Naledi- you were Maths!! I am an English teacher and so agree. I am so careful - don't always get it right but try to make sure every interaction is positive.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Warmth He Gave

Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2016 11:33 · For: The Warmth He Gave

I still feel so guilty that you included EVERYTHING of my prompt. My intention was that my writer picks one thing and ignores the rest! But ... oh my gosh, it's so worth it. Such an amazing fic. I'm still not over it, it makes me so happy!

*can't wipe the huge grin from the face*



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2016 23:24 · For: Illustration By Napoldeinlove

Thanks for sharing!  It looks cute :)  Can I just tell you that I am still thinking about this story?  It still blows my mind!



Author's Response:

Isn't it cute? Napoldeinlove got it so well. you're still thinking about it? Oh that is such a compliment!! I'm so happy! Thank you!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2016 3:02 · For: The Warmth He Gave

I don’t know how to…how does one word?  How do I explain….?  This story was so good I can’t even put it into words!  Just.  OMG.  Wow.

Feanor.  And Maeglin (Maeglin :shrieks:).  Eol.  Fucking Eol in his pearl earrings and GoodFatherEol and hotsex with Feanor and Fingolfin that I really wanted to read Eol.  And Celegorm.  Celegorm!  And Nan Elmoth.  Holy shit the way you write that forest blows my mind!  And Maeglin, again, such a cutie!  And Feanor.  Let me sit down and talk about this man because you have written him so fantastically he’s dripping in charisma and fire (and it was the cutest thing ever that Maeglin mistook Feanor and Fingolfin as gods!) and he’s just so freaking powerfully written and I really really LIKE him in this story and I love that he got all fascinated with Maeglin because I have firmly believed for years Maeglin and Feanor would have gotten along swimmingly.

This story.  It is just so GOOD.

Fingolfin tho.  What is going on with Fingofin?  It’s like he inhaled the Helcaraxë or something when he crossed it and now is an embodiment of it.  And yet he’s lovers with Feanor, and yet he seems to hate being told what to do by Feanor.  But if I were Maeglin I’d be a little terrified too!

And Arehdel.  I was thinking, after reading this, that I’d never really thought about what it meant to her character that she had been BFF with Curufin and Celegorm in Valinor.  But suddenly I understood.  She tried to cut Celegorm’s throat.  Man.  I found myself wondering how much of her rages are the cause of the poisoning and how much of that is really her?  Even tho she’s probably doomed to die (or at least craziness) without her treatment, I can’t help being relieved she’s out of Maeglin’s life. 

 

Thank you so much for writing this!  It was a sheer pleasure!  I never wanted it to end.  You know those stories where you keep obsessively looking at the scroller/chapter number to see how much is left and you feel almost a nervousness in your stomach while your reading because you never want it to end?  (or maybe this is just me being weird lol) But this was one of those stories for me. 



Author's Response:

Oh gosh, oh wow thank you for this amazing review. It made me blush and tear up at the same time!!

I know right! Feanor and Maeglin!! The best combination!! Eol came out especially good in this fic as well, I really enjoyed writing him. He clearly has issues but is trying his best and my headcanon is that really it is being unable to juggle all his responsibilities that would have lead to a rift with maeglin and following the canon. Which it wont. I am very pleased with all the little details I managed to pack into this.

And wee Maeglin who was so fun, sooooo fun to write :D

I am glad you liked Feanor as well because Feanor is so hard to write for me, I have so much trouble with him and I wrote him for this fic and I finally feel like I actually wrote a Feanor that I like and is REALLY Feanor! A proper embodiment of fire and passion and all that it comes with it fueled by the fact that he is most definitely KING in this story. He is a ruler and has been for some time. He also has his silmarilli back so he's more stable. 

As for Fingolfin. I am not sure. I was juggling some ideas about what happened. I wanted him to be ice to be the contrast to Feanor's fire, and I wanted to have him still carrying the Helcaraxe with him. Feanor did not die here, and I think the Helcaraxe is this wound in Fingolfin, this space between them that Feanor has never been able to quite breach or heal. His one failure. Fingolfin is almost holdng onto the Helcaraxe to stop himself from being consumed by this powerful figure that Feanor is creating, and in self protection has become a figure of equal power. Probably to reassure his own followers who wouldn't be happy about Feanor still being King. He's set himself up to be the constant check and balance for Feanor but has lost sight of some of the more earthly things Feanor has.

Aredhel I feel sorry for in this fic. I really do. Its pretty terrible both what happened to her in Aman, and what has happened to her in Nan Elmoth. If this fic had followed canon, Aredhel's growing immunity to Eol's cures and her growing paranoia mixes with her absolute homesickness and what is definitely depression and a desperation to die where home is rather than in the forest that poisoned her. I sort of worked out that Eol's attempt to kill maeglin would have been a killing shot because of where it would have hit, not fatal because of the poison because of Maeglin's immunity. Aredhel meanwhile only recieves a glancing blow but a lack of her balancing medications and her own weakened system from the poison she carries means the poison on Eol's spear is just enough to push her body into complete systems failure.  However we can hope in Gondolin they find a way to stabalise her and she is comfortable? ; ; maybe I will adress it and try to write more one day. (But not now I'm bushed from this XD. Gotta take a break)

Well thank you again for this review. I am so happy that it was loved this much!! Its been so well recieved, better than I thought.  I know the feeling of not wanting a fic to end. I'm awed this was so for you!



You must login () to review.