| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A Last Conversation by cheekybeak General Audiences
Sometimes the best you can do for those you love is to leave them. Aragorn must find the strength to say goodbye.
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
The Secret Language Brother by Encairion Mature
Caranthir and Curufin’s story. Part of the Price of Eternity series
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 79
Stories: 1563
Chapters: 7954
Word count: 23634665
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14048
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Caunedhiel
05/27/17 03:49 pm
Thanks Ziggy ! I keep posting everywhere and handed out posters. fingers crossed xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:03 pm
you can go in and look. Don't give up. He'll be somewhere tucked up warm and living off mice. I pray anyway.xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:02 pm
Caunedhiel- keeping everything crossed for your moggy's safe return- I have had one go missing for days and it was stuck in a neighbour's garage- GO BACK and look everywhere- ask people if you
Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Naledi
05/20/17 04:57 pm
Yes the bit I did was near Ludlow - around the Knighton and Kington sections. I love Ludlow, too!
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Warmth He Gave

Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2016 11:33 · For: The Warmth He Gave

I still feel so guilty that you included EVERYTHING of my prompt. My intention was that my writer picks one thing and ignores the rest! But ... oh my gosh, it's so worth it. Such an amazing fic. I'm still not over it, it makes me so happy!

*can't wipe the huge grin from the face*



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2016 23:24 · For: Illustration By Napoldeinlove

Thanks for sharing!  It looks cute :)  Can I just tell you that I am still thinking about this story?  It still blows my mind!



Author's Response:

Isn't it cute? Napoldeinlove got it so well. you're still thinking about it? Oh that is such a compliment!! I'm so happy! Thank you!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2016 3:02 · For: The Warmth He Gave

I don’t know how to…how does one word?  How do I explain….?  This story was so good I can’t even put it into words!  Just.  OMG.  Wow.

Feanor.  And Maeglin (Maeglin :shrieks:).  Eol.  Fucking Eol in his pearl earrings and GoodFatherEol and hotsex with Feanor and Fingolfin that I really wanted to read Eol.  And Celegorm.  Celegorm!  And Nan Elmoth.  Holy shit the way you write that forest blows my mind!  And Maeglin, again, such a cutie!  And Feanor.  Let me sit down and talk about this man because you have written him so fantastically he’s dripping in charisma and fire (and it was the cutest thing ever that Maeglin mistook Feanor and Fingolfin as gods!) and he’s just so freaking powerfully written and I really really LIKE him in this story and I love that he got all fascinated with Maeglin because I have firmly believed for years Maeglin and Feanor would have gotten along swimmingly.

This story.  It is just so GOOD.

Fingolfin tho.  What is going on with Fingofin?  It’s like he inhaled the Helcaraxë or something when he crossed it and now is an embodiment of it.  And yet he’s lovers with Feanor, and yet he seems to hate being told what to do by Feanor.  But if I were Maeglin I’d be a little terrified too!

And Arehdel.  I was thinking, after reading this, that I’d never really thought about what it meant to her character that she had been BFF with Curufin and Celegorm in Valinor.  But suddenly I understood.  She tried to cut Celegorm’s throat.  Man.  I found myself wondering how much of her rages are the cause of the poisoning and how much of that is really her?  Even tho she’s probably doomed to die (or at least craziness) without her treatment, I can’t help being relieved she’s out of Maeglin’s life. 

 

Thank you so much for writing this!  It was a sheer pleasure!  I never wanted it to end.  You know those stories where you keep obsessively looking at the scroller/chapter number to see how much is left and you feel almost a nervousness in your stomach while your reading because you never want it to end?  (or maybe this is just me being weird lol) But this was one of those stories for me. 



Author's Response:

Oh gosh, oh wow thank you for this amazing review. It made me blush and tear up at the same time!!

I know right! Feanor and Maeglin!! The best combination!! Eol came out especially good in this fic as well, I really enjoyed writing him. He clearly has issues but is trying his best and my headcanon is that really it is being unable to juggle all his responsibilities that would have lead to a rift with maeglin and following the canon. Which it wont. I am very pleased with all the little details I managed to pack into this.

And wee Maeglin who was so fun, sooooo fun to write :D

I am glad you liked Feanor as well because Feanor is so hard to write for me, I have so much trouble with him and I wrote him for this fic and I finally feel like I actually wrote a Feanor that I like and is REALLY Feanor! A proper embodiment of fire and passion and all that it comes with it fueled by the fact that he is most definitely KING in this story. He is a ruler and has been for some time. He also has his silmarilli back so he's more stable. 

As for Fingolfin. I am not sure. I was juggling some ideas about what happened. I wanted him to be ice to be the contrast to Feanor's fire, and I wanted to have him still carrying the Helcaraxe with him. Feanor did not die here, and I think the Helcaraxe is this wound in Fingolfin, this space between them that Feanor has never been able to quite breach or heal. His one failure. Fingolfin is almost holdng onto the Helcaraxe to stop himself from being consumed by this powerful figure that Feanor is creating, and in self protection has become a figure of equal power. Probably to reassure his own followers who wouldn't be happy about Feanor still being King. He's set himself up to be the constant check and balance for Feanor but has lost sight of some of the more earthly things Feanor has.

Aredhel I feel sorry for in this fic. I really do. Its pretty terrible both what happened to her in Aman, and what has happened to her in Nan Elmoth. If this fic had followed canon, Aredhel's growing immunity to Eol's cures and her growing paranoia mixes with her absolute homesickness and what is definitely depression and a desperation to die where home is rather than in the forest that poisoned her. I sort of worked out that Eol's attempt to kill maeglin would have been a killing shot because of where it would have hit, not fatal because of the poison because of Maeglin's immunity. Aredhel meanwhile only recieves a glancing blow but a lack of her balancing medications and her own weakened system from the poison she carries means the poison on Eol's spear is just enough to push her body into complete systems failure.  However we can hope in Gondolin they find a way to stabalise her and she is comfortable? ; ; maybe I will adress it and try to write more one day. (But not now I'm bushed from this XD. Gotta take a break)

Well thank you again for this review. I am so happy that it was loved this much!! Its been so well recieved, better than I thought.  I know the feeling of not wanting a fic to end. I'm awed this was so for you!



You must login () to review.