| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
The Light Wraps You by Narya General Audiences
A moment between Celebrimbor and Orodreth after the news of Finrod's death. Written as a birthday gift for Gabriel – it's...
Night Terrors by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Aragorn and Faramir learn all is not well with Sam
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
I will Lift mine Eyes by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A series of events after his return from Gondor leaves Aragorn's spirits at an all-time low.
I will Lift mine Eyes by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A series of events after his return from Gondor leaves Aragorn's spirits at an all-time low.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1634
Chapters: 8384
Word count: 25392429
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15513
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
04/20/18 10:35 pm
Happy Friday :) it's been a gorgeous day here.
Spiced Wine
04/20/18 09:51 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Gabriel
04/20/18 12:47 am
Thank you Nelya, thank you Spiced. :)
Spiced Wine
04/19/18 08:22 pm
I’m glad you’ve had a lovely day, Gabriel :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/19/18 05:47 pm
Happy birthday Gabriel!
Gabriel
04/19/18 01:04 pm
Thank you so much Narya. I've had a lovely quiet day spending time with family. :)
Spiced Wine
04/18/18 10:08 pm
What a gorgeous day today! Like a taste of summer! I love sitting working with the door open!
Narya
04/18/18 10:07 pm
Happy birthday for tomorrow, Gabriel! (I am travelling for work and likely to be stuck on trains, so might not have chance to say it on the day.)
Narya
04/15/18 03:05 pm
Got it, Nelya - thanks for playing! :) I messaged you about DW as it turned into too long a post for the shout box.
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/14/18 11:33 pm
what fun, Narya!I just sent you a prompt by PM. I'm not on dreamwidth. Someone please fill me in on Dreamwidth as I'm not familiar with it. Is it something I should look into?
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Warmth He Gave

Name: arafinwean (Signed) · Date: December 05, 2017 8:14 · For: The Warmth He Gave
Ohhhh gosh, i read this somewhere before and didn't review it then but your writing is such a joy to read. I love your descriptions of light and how you gave Eol and Maeglin such wonderful personalities! Celegorm was a delight to read as well and I loved your descriptions of Feanor and Fingolfin. They were absolutely stunning.


Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2016 11:33 · For: The Warmth He Gave

I still feel so guilty that you included EVERYTHING of my prompt. My intention was that my writer picks one thing and ignores the rest! But ... oh my gosh, it's so worth it. Such an amazing fic. I'm still not over it, it makes me so happy!

*can't wipe the huge grin from the face*



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2016 23:24 · For: Illustration By Napoldeinlove

Thanks for sharing!  It looks cute :)  Can I just tell you that I am still thinking about this story?  It still blows my mind!



Author's Response:

Isn't it cute? Napoldeinlove got it so well. you're still thinking about it? Oh that is such a compliment!! I'm so happy! Thank you!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2016 3:02 · For: The Warmth He Gave

I don’t know how to…how does one word?  How do I explain….?  This story was so good I can’t even put it into words!  Just.  OMG.  Wow.

Feanor.  And Maeglin (Maeglin :shrieks:).  Eol.  Fucking Eol in his pearl earrings and GoodFatherEol and hotsex with Feanor and Fingolfin that I really wanted to read Eol.  And Celegorm.  Celegorm!  And Nan Elmoth.  Holy shit the way you write that forest blows my mind!  And Maeglin, again, such a cutie!  And Feanor.  Let me sit down and talk about this man because you have written him so fantastically he’s dripping in charisma and fire (and it was the cutest thing ever that Maeglin mistook Feanor and Fingolfin as gods!) and he’s just so freaking powerfully written and I really really LIKE him in this story and I love that he got all fascinated with Maeglin because I have firmly believed for years Maeglin and Feanor would have gotten along swimmingly.

This story.  It is just so GOOD.

Fingolfin tho.  What is going on with Fingofin?  It’s like he inhaled the Helcaraxë or something when he crossed it and now is an embodiment of it.  And yet he’s lovers with Feanor, and yet he seems to hate being told what to do by Feanor.  But if I were Maeglin I’d be a little terrified too!

And Arehdel.  I was thinking, after reading this, that I’d never really thought about what it meant to her character that she had been BFF with Curufin and Celegorm in Valinor.  But suddenly I understood.  She tried to cut Celegorm’s throat.  Man.  I found myself wondering how much of her rages are the cause of the poisoning and how much of that is really her?  Even tho she’s probably doomed to die (or at least craziness) without her treatment, I can’t help being relieved she’s out of Maeglin’s life. 

 

Thank you so much for writing this!  It was a sheer pleasure!  I never wanted it to end.  You know those stories where you keep obsessively looking at the scroller/chapter number to see how much is left and you feel almost a nervousness in your stomach while your reading because you never want it to end?  (or maybe this is just me being weird lol) But this was one of those stories for me. 



Author's Response:

Oh gosh, oh wow thank you for this amazing review. It made me blush and tear up at the same time!!

I know right! Feanor and Maeglin!! The best combination!! Eol came out especially good in this fic as well, I really enjoyed writing him. He clearly has issues but is trying his best and my headcanon is that really it is being unable to juggle all his responsibilities that would have lead to a rift with maeglin and following the canon. Which it wont. I am very pleased with all the little details I managed to pack into this.

And wee Maeglin who was so fun, sooooo fun to write :D

I am glad you liked Feanor as well because Feanor is so hard to write for me, I have so much trouble with him and I wrote him for this fic and I finally feel like I actually wrote a Feanor that I like and is REALLY Feanor! A proper embodiment of fire and passion and all that it comes with it fueled by the fact that he is most definitely KING in this story. He is a ruler and has been for some time. He also has his silmarilli back so he's more stable. 

As for Fingolfin. I am not sure. I was juggling some ideas about what happened. I wanted him to be ice to be the contrast to Feanor's fire, and I wanted to have him still carrying the Helcaraxe with him. Feanor did not die here, and I think the Helcaraxe is this wound in Fingolfin, this space between them that Feanor has never been able to quite breach or heal. His one failure. Fingolfin is almost holdng onto the Helcaraxe to stop himself from being consumed by this powerful figure that Feanor is creating, and in self protection has become a figure of equal power. Probably to reassure his own followers who wouldn't be happy about Feanor still being King. He's set himself up to be the constant check and balance for Feanor but has lost sight of some of the more earthly things Feanor has.

Aredhel I feel sorry for in this fic. I really do. Its pretty terrible both what happened to her in Aman, and what has happened to her in Nan Elmoth. If this fic had followed canon, Aredhel's growing immunity to Eol's cures and her growing paranoia mixes with her absolute homesickness and what is definitely depression and a desperation to die where home is rather than in the forest that poisoned her. I sort of worked out that Eol's attempt to kill maeglin would have been a killing shot because of where it would have hit, not fatal because of the poison because of Maeglin's immunity. Aredhel meanwhile only recieves a glancing blow but a lack of her balancing medications and her own weakened system from the poison she carries means the poison on Eol's spear is just enough to push her body into complete systems failure.  However we can hope in Gondolin they find a way to stabalise her and she is comfortable? ; ; maybe I will adress it and try to write more one day. (But not now I'm bushed from this XD. Gotta take a break)

Well thank you again for this review. I am so happy that it was loved this much!! Its been so well recieved, better than I thought.  I know the feeling of not wanting a fic to end. I'm awed this was so for you!



You must login () to review.