| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Out of the Woods by lotrfan General Audiences
Summary: Oropher receives word regarding the mustering of the armies of the Last Alliance and Thranduil confronts his doubts...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1679
Chapters: 8567
Word count: 26093548
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16065
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/24/18 10:14 am
I would just choose whichever you want then, Gabriel. It’s what I tend to do when there is no clear answer
Gabriel
09/24/18 06:31 am
I have tried to look for it on other sites, but they have given two time frames which is a little confusing. One in the S.A. the other in the T.A.
Gabriel
09/24/18 06:24 am
I have a little question to ask. totally off the subject. Does anyone know when Bree was built? Was it up and running when Gil galad was king of the Noldor and Celebrimbor was in Eregion?
Gabriel
09/24/18 02:45 am
Okay. If its not too much trouble. Thank you Spiced. :)
Spiced Wine
09/23/18 11:53 am
It’s not a problem, I shall just go in and edit the announcement
Gabriel
09/23/18 07:31 am
Besides, I don't want you having to go out of your way just to add me to the list. But thank you for offering. :)
Gabriel
09/23/18 07:27 am
I don't want to be a bother, Spiced. I think I'll just wait till my other fic has done its dash in the recents list and post the SinS after it. Its no problem.
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
But I can definitely add it for you
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
I can add it, Gabriel, but only using a keyboard and iPad I cannot hotlink it I have no mouse, and everything is a pain in the neck
Gabriel
09/22/18 01:00 pm
Not to worry Spiced! It was my fault for not submitting it in time. That's the consequences I guess. :)
Shout Archive



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: October 14, 2016 9:17 · For: Chapter 1

Ah, I very much liked this. How the cultural differences shine through in Gimili and Legolas. Not to mention that they both struggle how to deal with war and not being with their people to help them directly. Especially for Legolas it wouldn't be easy. Rarely the Fellowship Fics deal with the issue of guilt, leaving your own people behind in need, find out how they died and suffered while you were off on a far different mission. 

Great Writing



Author's Response:

Thank you! I am especially glad you felt a cultural difference between these two. I think it would have been vast but it is difficult to capture in writing. I think both of them would have struggled with being apart from their people...especially the guilt associated with that. And they have no way of finding out, until the end, wether that was the right decision or not. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 20, 2016 7:59 · For: Chapter 1

"If you are really of so little importance, so inconsequential, your father will not miss you surely. You may as well stay with us since you are here." The dwarf sat himself down on a log with a thud, arms folded and smiling smugly. He was quite pleased with this last argument. Outsmarting the elf and using his words against him, for he was a slippery customer and difficult to pin down at the best of times.

 

Lovely.

 

He found the elf where he knew he would. Up in the very heights of the place, perched on the walls at the end of what had been a very tiring climb up winding steps. Why he always felt the need to retreat to places so high the dwarf did not know. 

 

It was a very annoying characteristic. 

 

"What are you doing up here, Lad?" He asked. "Why must I always climb so many steps to find you?"

 

Another beautifully written section.

 

I love this- a really well written and perfect assessement of hpw Legolas makes the decision to follow Aragorn.



Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked Gimli's thoughts about his elven friend. You are seeing the build up to the Helms Deep part of this in The Hands of the King at the moment. Same characters...same universe. So everything you are reading there....Aragorn's neglect of Legolas etc, etc has happened before this. Not sure if that changes the scene at all......maybe it does? Maybe it makes Gimli feel a bit more strongly Legolas should choose self preservation...


Name: Karlmir Stonewain (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2016 13:29 · For: Chapter 1
Certainly a lot of soul-searching and angst. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks :-) yip, angst, lots of angst. I have a weakness for it!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2016 22:45 · For: Chapter 1

Lovely! I like how you use Legolas's wrestling with his choices at those different stages of the quest to highlight the progression of his friendship with Gimli.



Author's Response: Thanks. Poor Gimli, he didn't know how precious their friendship was to him until he thought he might lose it.


You must login () to review.