| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14774
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Wrath and Ruin

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2017 21:42 · For: Chapter 7

I feel for Thranduil. Not just the physical pain he's suffering, but his awareness of the need to project his authority as a king at all times. It means there are so few people he can confide in, and even fewer he can allow himself to appear weak to. That must make his injuries all the more difficult to deal with.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2017 5:02 · For: Chapter 1
Oh! This is such a sad chapter.

I could really feel the rising tension and anguish in young Legolas, as he strives to find his father.

And the Royal Healers shock at the severity and uniqueness of Thranduil's wounds.

An enjoyable read!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and dropping me a line too - much appreciated. Yes poor little Legolas will be going through some stress throughout this fic! I'm glad you liked my little opener. I hope you find the rest of the story as enjoyable.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2017 23:45 · For: Chapter 2

I like the careful detail of your descriptions, the dress-making is very good, and the images of a small and rather sad Legolas leaning against the window. And you have got the character of Radagst down to a tee.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 03, 2017 23:04 · For: Chapter 1

Ilike the idea of this and the title. Intrigued.



Author's Response: Glad to hear I've piqued your curiosity Ziggy - do read on and let me know what you think :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2017 16:22 · For: Chapter 6

Poor Legolas - what a terrifying nightmare. I'm not surprised Rithel is out for Mithrandir's blood! It's good to see some hope for Thranduil, if only a tiny hope at present. I hope Legolas will soon be able to see him, because surely however bad Thranduil is, it can't be worse than what Legolas is imagining.



Author's Response: I know poor wee Legolas - such a nightmare would be truly terrifying. Rithel is a super protective big sis so Gandalf is certainly in for it! There is some hope for Thranduil of course but I'm not sure he can really see it at present - he's so caught up in his current misery and pain that he's not looking at the bigger picture right now. More angst to come for him I'm afraid. Thank you for reading and reviewing :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2017 19:15 · For: Chapter 5

Oh, poor Legolas. I hope a wise adult finds him and helps him through. Facing up to a loved one's suffering is so hard to bear. I hope Thranduil allows him to visit soon as well. It might help calm the worst of Legolas's fears if he sees Thranduil for himself.

I'm sorry to hear about your wrists. Get well soon!



Author's Response: Poor Legolas indeed with the over confidence of the young he thought he could handle the truth but reality is different. Legolas seeing Thranduil would help but I don't think Thranduil is in the right frame of mind to face anyone at the moment. Poor elfies Thanks for reading and reviewing and thanks for your well wishes. Both wrists are heavily bandaged at the moment but I'm still determined ;)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2017 13:47 · For: Chapter 4

Poor Thranduil! I like how you tie this in with that brief glimpse we got in the Desolation of Smaug, though. This explains Thranduil's 'melting face' moment. Now I wonder how Legolas will react to his father's injuries. That's going to be tough for both of them :(



Author's Response: Yea - I always felt like PJ left us hanging a bit what with showing us Thranduil's melted face then never mentioning it again - so that's what inspired this really. My own little take on it. Poor Leggy and Thrandy are both in for a tough time - I can't imagine recovery from such injuries would be easy. Thanks for reading and reviewing :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2016 21:51 · For: Chapter 3

Poor Thranduil - you brought his suffering to such vivid life I almost felt his pain. Thank goodness Mithrandir was able to bring him back, although his recovery will be v slow, I fear. Legolas seems to be on the edge of a breakdown too, hardly surprising. I think he's going to need the wizards just as much as Thranduil to stop him fading. 

Great chapter! I look forward to more :)



Author's Response: I'm glad I was able to get his pain across - I re-wrote that bit so many times I'm glad tfinally worked. Our lven King survives with thaid of his wizadry friends but it will be a lenghty recovery process for poor Thrandy. How will he cope with it all? And yes Legolas is two steps away from his own crisis - a bad time all round for the House of Oropher at the minute. As ever hannon-le for reading and reviewing :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2016 21:22 · For: Chapter 2

Oh poor Thranduil. Things look bleak. Thank goodness the healers have the sense to send for the wizards. I get the feeling Legolas might need their help as well...



Author's Response: Poor ol Thrandy is in a bad way but wizards to the rescue. I'm having a bit of fun writing those two. And yeas we can't leave Legolas out of the angst can we? *wicked grin* Thanks as ever for reading and reviewing Naledi


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 11, 2016 22:42 · For: Chapter 1

A great start. I like how you show Legolas's belief in Thranduil's invincibility. His denial of what all the evidence points to is very realistic. Poor Thranduil and poor Legolas. It's going to be a long, hard road ahead for both of them, I imagine. 



Author's Response: Legolas is quite young here (12-13) so he still has that unwavering belief in a parents strength. He just doesn't want to believe anything bad could happen to his Adar - especially after the previous loss of a parent - I think he just blocks out all the evidence. And yes - recovery from this will be quite difficult for Thranduil - and poor Leggy too once he accepts facts that is. Thanks for reading and reviewing :)


You must login () to review.