| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
The Condensed Silmarillion. (Which is not so short any more.) by cheekybeak General Audiences
The Silm you read when you are not really reading the Silm. Everything you always wanted to know......but missing all the...
Heaven's Reward Fallacy by mangacrack Explicit
In which Fingon struggles with life and never seems to get it right.
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
Enough: So Beautiful the Lungs Are Breathless by UnnamedElement Teen
Things are dark in Mirkwood, and the death of the Elvenking's eldest daughter Lieutenant Felavel sends the family into a...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8004
Word count: 23834109
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14254
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
07/20/17 10:19 pm
I hope you had a lovely time, Naledi. And Ziggy, I hope you are recovering well
Naledi
07/20/17 10:10 am
Thanks, Ziggy. Oh no - heaven forbid that the Shoutbox should be civilised! It sounds like things need to be shaken up!
ziggy
07/18/17 11:53 pm
Welcome back Naledi! It's been very civilised in your absence:) Everyone has been behaving and not making people write things they shouldn't;)
Naledi
07/18/17 09:00 pm
Hi all, I've been quiet lately because I've been away a lot. Sorry I missed your birthday, Glorfindel. I hope everyone's well.
ziggy
07/13/17 12:00 am
Yes- have a lovely day Binki:) xx
Alpha Ori
07/12/17 09:52 pm
Have a great day Binky!!
Spiced Wine
07/11/17 10:13 am
Have a lovely time Alquien. Same for me, internet/wifi both very iffy.
Alquien
07/10/17 03:21 pm
Starting today, I am on vacation for 2 weeks. No internet though (or very iffy, at best) so I will have lots to catch up on when I get back. Have fun everyone! ((hugs))
Spiced Wine
07/06/17 06:00 pm
I hope you are all okay. I have finished by backlog of work, and I notice I have missed Encarion's update, so I will treat myself by reading it
Ysilme
06/27/17 10:44 am
So good to have you back, Spiced! *hugs*
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2017 7:02 · For: Chapter 1
Poor Legolas, lost his best friend and companion and still blames himself for it.
Lossar, now he's just beautiful, not just Legolas's friend and lover, but a real rock, someone Legolas can lean on and rely on. I like this Elf.
The Elves of Mirkwood are just one big wonderful family, aren't they. Quite different from Imladris, not that the Elves of Rivendell are not unified, but there's just this great family unit you've created with Thranduil and his people, It's great! :)

Author's Response:

Oh you lovely lovely person! Three reviews in one night and all just wonderfully encouraging. Def going to write you a Fin/Mae fic.

I'm afraid Lossar is the one who is killed defending Miriel- this is the news Legolas recieves in Where the Shadows Are, so there is an irony in this one. But yes, Lossar is really rather lovely himself. I'm so pleased you think of them as one family- I suppose I am terribly biased and uncritical of Thranduil- I think that living under siege can have that effect as well.

 

Thank you again my dear. Made my day:)



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2016 23:10 · For: Chapter 1
You have been busy writing I see! This interlude of Legolas and his grief over Anglach's death does explain more what was going on in his head when Legolas got to Imraldris. He may have been shallow at the beginning but with everything that happens to him, he becomes one of the more mature of the elves after the war. I have been enjoying your view on how Legolas has grown up.

Author's Response:

I have been on holiday but last day today:( so although I have an easy start back, I'll have no time now to write really. Made the most of the time off though. Glad you've been enjoying reading. Thank you for letting me know, rikwen - it;s always nice to know people are reading and enjoying. Take care:)



Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2016 2:54 · For: Chapter 1

*sniff* Poor Legolas! What an awful memory, and what an awful thing to have witnessed in the first place. (I'm not yet far enough advanced with your stories to have read the context, but I couldn't resist this short one; it's bitter to know now that Anglach is going to die.) But I'm glad for Legolas that somebody is there to console him.

 



Author's Response:

Hello Ysilme- so nice to hear from you:D

 

Do you remember in the Council of Elrond, Aragorn says that Thranduil's folk have failed in their trust and Legolas says that the guards were slain or taken. That was Anglach. Originally I just needed a name to give that comment some context- and then Anglach just demaded to be written about...and this was an outtake and just needed some polishing up.

Lossar nd Miriel are just F*** buddies really (but nicer than that) and kind, well dsiposed and friends with Legolas. It will of course be Elrohir who really consoles him in the end:)

Thank you for reading and reviewing though. x



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 15:02 · For: Chapter 1
Oh my...this was so lovely and devastating. I've been so busy with exams and have a lot of catching up to do on here, but wow, this really made me stop. I can't see how Legolas will ever truly recover from this! Move on maybe, but be himself...? Anglach dies in Gollum's escape, am I right? I think it would have easier if he'd died more honorably, at least have a more sensible death. Legolas's last memory of him was positively heart-rending. Well done. ‹:) Sniff.

Author's Response:

Thank you Arasa17. Good luck wit the exams:( yuk.

I wanted to thank you for all the reviews in a time of review-famine.

 

And you are right that Legolas is completely changed by this. Yes, Anglach is one of the guards who was 'taken or slain', and yes, it is an ignoble death and when Aragorn accuses the Woodland folk of betraying their trust, it makes me want to shake him. Hard. But it makes Legolas the warrior he becomes in More Dangerous and Sons of Thunder. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 10:39 · For: Chapter 1

So beautiful and so sad, Ziggy. Now that we've met Anglach, it really brings home what a turning point his loss is to Legolas. 

My trouble is, I'm a happy ever after kind of girl. I can take angst as long as there's an assurance of a happy ending. But it's getting harder and harder to see how Legolas is ever going to manage that with so many losses. I'm just going to have to imagine a golden reunion scene in Valinor. 



Author's Response:

I am sorry, Naledi. I know (sniff). I have already been thinking that too.But don't forget Legolas has Elrohir now - and that will sustain him...-ish. Sorry darling. Going to have to write you something happy aren't I?

xx



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 7:27 · For: Chapter 1
Ha, ha, I just checked....I am number 5. You are number 1 and WAY ahead of me!!!!

Author's Response:

Really? I am amazed- you are wonderful at reviewing- going to have to have a look now:) But I'm back at work on wednesday so will have to slow down now. Off to have a look at Brothers:)

xx



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 2:47 · For: Chapter 1
Thank you for this! So beautiful. So sad.

Poor poor Legolas. Anglach's death had to have had a huge effect on him....especially the mutilation.

You made me cry. I so want lovely, sweet, Anglach to live.

I wonder what he would think of Elrohir?

Author's Response:

I wonder what he would think of Elrohir?

! I htink he would be terrified!

 

Yes- it changes him completely I think. Thank you so much for ALL your reviews- you must have given the highest number of reviews on Faerie by now:)



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 22:26 · For: Chapter 1
This was short but oh so very sweet! I loved the expression 'Mandos's ramparts.

Author's Response:

Hello you! Nice to see you here and I appreciate the review:) Big hug. Glad you liked it- poor Anglach.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 22:23 · For: Chapter 1
Alone for minutes or hours, he did not know but allowed himself to grieve once more until a cold, comfortless sleep with troubled dreams shrouded him. The stars retreated. Celdir and Anglach’s distant voices called from the edge of Mandos’ ramparts. He followed, quickening his pace as the voices faded until he ran but the sound disappeared into empty darkness like Naurion’s ragged screams as he disappeared along with his orc captors.

Oh, that's so beautifully written, and so sad. Legolas did change a great deal, and something like this would have definitely done such a thing.

“If only there were no last times, only firsts and forever.” Lossar sighed

:( Yes, Lossar, I agree.

Author's Response:

Thank you, Spiced. I had this lurking around on my laptop and fell over it looking for something else. Needed to be posted for the love for Anglach. So sad. And yes, it absolutely does sober Legolas up I think.

x



You must login () to review.