| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...
Osss Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1592
Chapters: 8168
Word count: 24578903
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14777
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2017 7:02 · For: Chapter 1
Poor Legolas, lost his best friend and companion and still blames himself for it.
Lossar, now he's just beautiful, not just Legolas's friend and lover, but a real rock, someone Legolas can lean on and rely on. I like this Elf.
The Elves of Mirkwood are just one big wonderful family, aren't they. Quite different from Imladris, not that the Elves of Rivendell are not unified, but there's just this great family unit you've created with Thranduil and his people, It's great! :)

Author's Response:

Oh you lovely lovely person! Three reviews in one night and all just wonderfully encouraging. Def going to write you a Fin/Mae fic.

I'm afraid Lossar is the one who is killed defending Miriel- this is the news Legolas recieves in Where the Shadows Are, so there is an irony in this one. But yes, Lossar is really rather lovely himself. I'm so pleased you think of them as one family- I suppose I am terribly biased and uncritical of Thranduil- I think that living under siege can have that effect as well.

 

Thank you again my dear. Made my day:)



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2016 23:10 · For: Chapter 1
You have been busy writing I see! This interlude of Legolas and his grief over Anglach's death does explain more what was going on in his head when Legolas got to Imraldris. He may have been shallow at the beginning but with everything that happens to him, he becomes one of the more mature of the elves after the war. I have been enjoying your view on how Legolas has grown up.

Author's Response:

I have been on holiday but last day today:( so although I have an easy start back, I'll have no time now to write really. Made the most of the time off though. Glad you've been enjoying reading. Thank you for letting me know, rikwen - it;s always nice to know people are reading and enjoying. Take care:)



Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2016 2:54 · For: Chapter 1

*sniff* Poor Legolas! What an awful memory, and what an awful thing to have witnessed in the first place. (I'm not yet far enough advanced with your stories to have read the context, but I couldn't resist this short one; it's bitter to know now that Anglach is going to die.) But I'm glad for Legolas that somebody is there to console him.

 



Author's Response:

Hello Ysilme- so nice to hear from you:D

 

Do you remember in the Council of Elrond, Aragorn says that Thranduil's folk have failed in their trust and Legolas says that the guards were slain or taken. That was Anglach. Originally I just needed a name to give that comment some context- and then Anglach just demaded to be written about...and this was an outtake and just needed some polishing up.

Lossar nd Miriel are just F*** buddies really (but nicer than that) and kind, well dsiposed and friends with Legolas. It will of course be Elrohir who really consoles him in the end:)

Thank you for reading and reviewing though. x



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 15:02 · For: Chapter 1
Oh my...this was so lovely and devastating. I've been so busy with exams and have a lot of catching up to do on here, but wow, this really made me stop. I can't see how Legolas will ever truly recover from this! Move on maybe, but be himself...? Anglach dies in Gollum's escape, am I right? I think it would have easier if he'd died more honorably, at least have a more sensible death. Legolas's last memory of him was positively heart-rending. Well done. :) Sniff.

Author's Response:

Thank you Arasa17. Good luck wit the exams:( yuk.

I wanted to thank you for all the reviews in a time of review-famine.

 

And you are right that Legolas is completely changed by this. Yes, Anglach is one of the guards who was 'taken or slain', and yes, it is an ignoble death and when Aragorn accuses the Woodland folk of betraying their trust, it makes me want to shake him. Hard. But it makes Legolas the warrior he becomes in More Dangerous and Sons of Thunder. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 10:39 · For: Chapter 1

So beautiful and so sad, Ziggy. Now that we've met Anglach, it really brings home what a turning point his loss is to Legolas. 

My trouble is, I'm a happy ever after kind of girl. I can take angst as long as there's an assurance of a happy ending. But it's getting harder and harder to see how Legolas is ever going to manage that with so many losses. I'm just going to have to imagine a golden reunion scene in Valinor. 



Author's Response:

I am sorry, Naledi. I know (sniff). I have already been thinking that too.But don't forget Legolas has Elrohir now - and that will sustain him...-ish. Sorry darling. Going to have to write you something happy aren't I?

xx



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 7:27 · For: Chapter 1
Ha, ha, I just checked....I am number 5. You are number 1 and WAY ahead of me!!!!

Author's Response:

Really? I am amazed- you are wonderful at reviewing- going to have to have a look now:) But I'm back at work on wednesday so will have to slow down now. Off to have a look at Brothers:)

xx



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 2:47 · For: Chapter 1
Thank you for this! So beautiful. So sad.

Poor poor Legolas. Anglach's death had to have had a huge effect on him....especially the mutilation.

You made me cry. I so want lovely, sweet, Anglach to live.

I wonder what he would think of Elrohir?

Author's Response:

I wonder what he would think of Elrohir?

! I htink he would be terrified!

 

Yes- it changes him completely I think. Thank you so much for ALL your reviews- you must have given the highest number of reviews on Faerie by now:)



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 22:26 · For: Chapter 1
This was short but oh so very sweet! I loved the expression 'Mandos's ramparts.

Author's Response:

Hello you! Nice to see you here and I appreciate the review:) Big hug. Glad you liked it- poor Anglach.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 22:23 · For: Chapter 1
Alone for minutes or hours, he did not know but allowed himself to grieve once more until a cold, comfortless sleep with troubled dreams shrouded him. The stars retreated. Celdir and Anglach’s distant voices called from the edge of Mandos’ ramparts. He followed, quickening his pace as the voices faded until he ran but the sound disappeared into empty darkness like Naurion’s ragged screams as he disappeared along with his orc captors.

Oh, that's so beautifully written, and so sad. Legolas did change a great deal, and something like this would have definitely done such a thing.

“If only there were no last times, only firsts and forever.” Lossar sighed

:( Yes, Lossar, I agree.

Author's Response:

Thank you, Spiced. I had this lurking around on my laptop and fell over it looking for something else. Needed to be posted for the love for Anglach. So sad. And yes, it absolutely does sober Legolas up I think.

x



You must login () to review.