| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. The story of how the black arrow that killed Smaug came to Bard. 'Black...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7886
Word count: 23416547
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13819
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:04 am
I'm bad at keeping up w tv, but I support anything that inspires you to write eomer more, ziggy!
curiouswombat
03/18/17 01:07 am
Oh - please do...
ziggy
03/17/17 11:53 pm
Yes- that is EXACTLY right!! I might have to write Eomer a bit more:)
curiouswombat
03/17/17 11:02 pm
Ziggy - I keep wanting to pinch the characters and turn them into Rohirrim....
Shout Archive



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2016 23:10 · For: Chapter 1
You have been busy writing I see! This interlude of Legolas and his grief over Anglach's death does explain more what was going on in his head when Legolas got to Imraldris. He may have been shallow at the beginning but with everything that happens to him, he becomes one of the more mature of the elves after the war. I have been enjoying your view on how Legolas has grown up.

Author's Response:

I have been on holiday but last day today:( so although I have an easy start back, I'll have no time now to write really. Made the most of the time off though. Glad you've been enjoying reading. Thank you for letting me know, rikwen - it;s always nice to know people are reading and enjoying. Take care:)



Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2016 2:54 · For: Chapter 1

*sniff* Poor Legolas! What an awful memory, and what an awful thing to have witnessed in the first place. (I'm not yet far enough advanced with your stories to have read the context, but I couldn't resist this short one; it's bitter to know now that Anglach is going to die.) But I'm glad for Legolas that somebody is there to console him.

 



Author's Response:

Hello Ysilme- so nice to hear from you:D

 

Do you remember in the Council of Elrond, Aragorn says that Thranduil's folk have failed in their trust and Legolas says that the guards were slain or taken. That was Anglach. Originally I just needed a name to give that comment some context- and then Anglach just demaded to be written about...and this was an outtake and just needed some polishing up.

Lossar nd Miriel are just F*** buddies really (but nicer than that) and kind, well dsiposed and friends with Legolas. It will of course be Elrohir who really consoles him in the end:)

Thank you for reading and reviewing though. x



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 15:02 · For: Chapter 1
Oh my...this was so lovely and devastating. I've been so busy with exams and have a lot of catching up to do on here, but wow, this really made me stop. I can't see how Legolas will ever truly recover from this! Move on maybe, but be himself...? Anglach dies in Gollum's escape, am I right? I think it would have easier if he'd died more honorably, at least have a more sensible death. Legolas's last memory of him was positively heart-rending. Well done. :) Sniff.

Author's Response:

Thank you Arasa17. Good luck wit the exams:( yuk.

I wanted to thank you for all the reviews in a time of review-famine.

 

And you are right that Legolas is completely changed by this. Yes, Anglach is one of the guards who was 'taken or slain', and yes, it is an ignoble death and when Aragorn accuses the Woodland folk of betraying their trust, it makes me want to shake him. Hard. But it makes Legolas the warrior he becomes in More Dangerous and Sons of Thunder. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 10:39 · For: Chapter 1

So beautiful and so sad, Ziggy. Now that we've met Anglach, it really brings home what a turning point his loss is to Legolas. 

My trouble is, I'm a happy ever after kind of girl. I can take angst as long as there's an assurance of a happy ending. But it's getting harder and harder to see how Legolas is ever going to manage that with so many losses. I'm just going to have to imagine a golden reunion scene in Valinor. 



Author's Response:

I am sorry, Naledi. I know (sniff). I have already been thinking that too.But don't forget Legolas has Elrohir now - and that will sustain him...-ish. Sorry darling. Going to have to write you something happy aren't I?

xx



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 7:27 · For: Chapter 1
Ha, ha, I just checked....I am number 5. You are number 1 and WAY ahead of me!!!!

Author's Response:

Really? I am amazed- you are wonderful at reviewing- going to have to have a look now:) But I'm back at work on wednesday so will have to slow down now. Off to have a look at Brothers:)

xx



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 2:47 · For: Chapter 1
Thank you for this! So beautiful. So sad.

Poor poor Legolas. Anglach's death had to have had a huge effect on him....especially the mutilation.

You made me cry. I so want lovely, sweet, Anglach to live.

I wonder what he would think of Elrohir?

Author's Response:

I wonder what he would think of Elrohir?

! I htink he would be terrified!

 

Yes- it changes him completely I think. Thank you so much for ALL your reviews- you must have given the highest number of reviews on Faerie by now:)



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 22:26 · For: Chapter 1
This was short but oh so very sweet! I loved the expression 'Mandos's ramparts.

Author's Response:

Hello you! Nice to see you here and I appreciate the review:) Big hug. Glad you liked it- poor Anglach.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 22:23 · For: Chapter 1
Alone for minutes or hours, he did not know but allowed himself to grieve once more until a cold, comfortless sleep with troubled dreams shrouded him. The stars retreated. Celdir and Anglach’s distant voices called from the edge of Mandos’ ramparts. He followed, quickening his pace as the voices faded until he ran but the sound disappeared into empty darkness like Naurion’s ragged screams as he disappeared along with his orc captors.

Oh, that's so beautifully written, and so sad. Legolas did change a great deal, and something like this would have definitely done such a thing.

“If only there were no last times, only firsts and forever.” Lossar sighed

:( Yes, Lossar, I agree.

Author's Response:

Thank you, Spiced. I had this lurking around on my laptop and fell over it looking for something else. Needed to be posted for the love for Anglach. So sad. And yes, it absolutely does sober Legolas up I think.

x



You must login () to review.