| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Upon the Hearth by Narya General Audiences
Narvi is intrigued and a little unnerved by Celebrimbor's companion. Celebrimbor is soppy about his scaly, fire-breathing...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
Rohan: An Anthology by Himring Teen
Anthology for short pieces set in or associated with Rohan. Most of these either feature Eowyn or draw on the material on...
~ Summerland ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
New experiences broaden the mind —trauma and the impossible crack it wide open. A quiet summer holiday, the hint...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 86
Stories: 1688
Chapters: 8616
Word count: 26249432
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16188
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 22
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
11/17/18 12:37 am
Happy Friday :D
Spiced Wine
11/16/18 09:43 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/15/18 04:56 pm
chapter posted is actually new instead of repeat this time.
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/15/18 04:55 pm
snow for us here too! And sorry somehow chapter 39 on "I'll be yours" repeated itself instead of posting chapter 40. I think I've got it fixed now. Sorry for any confusion. Chapter p
Karlmir Stonewain
11/15/18 10:47 am
Snow is in tonight's forecast. Bah! It's too early for snow. Time for a sequel to "Islands of Warmth in a Sea of Cold."
Naledi
11/14/18 10:49 pm
Oops - meant to say, please DM me with your email address!
Naledi
11/14/18 10:48 pm
Can those of you who want to be involved DM me and I'll send out a group email. Cheeky and Ziggy - I know I did have your emails, but I doubt I've still got them.
Naledi
11/14/18 10:46 pm
Yay for everyone joining in with the advent calendar (*waves to Cheeky*). It's probably time we got this show on the road.
Spiced Wine
11/13/18 10:42 pm
And it will still feel like a last-minute rush!
Spiced Wine
11/13/18 10:41 pm
I do not believe we’re already thinking of Christmas. Yet here I am ordering pressies, buying cards, making sure I have addresses...
Shout Archive


Reviews For I know better

Name: UnnamedElement (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2016 4:09 · For: I know better

So, I have not read Silm/HoME fic in a longgggg time, and I am glad I chose this piece as one of my first to ease back in with! I adore your writing, of course, first of all, linguistically. But I particularly loved the way you humanized (for lack of a bettet word) Artanis/Galadriel--the whole structure of the piece did thaT, but passing comments & particular syntactical choices really drove it home--she is relatable here, and it reminds us of the depth of her life and past. Provides motivations we were never really given--because, as you wrote, who asks the women of the house of finwe? I LOVED that line.

 

i also really appreciated--from a professional perspective--the way you represented grooming behavior as well as manipulative or abusive relationship dynamics. While at the same time giving us slivers of Galadriel's lust for revenge via power. But Melkor's treatment of Artanis gave me shivers, because personal and professional experience attest to your representation being horrifyingly accurate, and real. 

 

And the the tone was just lovely. Humorous and light with an underlying power that peaked at the perfect moments. Our elves and valar as we know them--passionate and sometimes dark. And better than how we know them, how many of us imagine them.

 

hope this review makes sense--I am typing on a very old phone! 

 

thank you for writing and posting! 



Author's Response:

I am honestly impressed that you manage to write so much on a phone ! I can read on mine, but the fics always end up on a list to be reviewed later.

I am happy you liked this fic, because I think it's easily one of my bests ! I wanted to do a serie about the women of the House of Finwë, and Galadriel was a good place to start. I had very few headcanons about her at this point and wasn't really interested in her, but thinking about her for that fic was The Thing that made me like her, and start to build a Galadriel that I actually like (and I now have strong headcanons about Galadriel, Fëanor and Alqualondë).

I think Melkor was definitly manipulative, mostly because at this point he probably doesn't know how *not* to be manipulative with anyone, but I am not sure he could be called abusive, mostly because... well, I haven't decided what Melkor actually wanted to do with this relationship. When I was writing, I actually wondered how much of his behavior is for show and how much was sincere. I think he actually liked her (not loved her though), and chose this approach with her because he thought she was interesting, and didn't mind having a companion. Of course, she wasn't as high as the Silmarils or the Trees on his list of priorities, or perhaps he thought that she would follow somehow, or he would have the chance to get her back, or perhaps he didn't care. I really don't know what he really wanted (or if Melkor even knew what he really wanted), but headcanons can go from 100% manipulative asshole to "manipulative but may actually have felt something genuine here". I actually like this fic a lot because it can fit in all my verses.

Also, Melkor really hates Fëanor, so the fact that Galadriel hates him as well is definitly great for him ("yay let's bitch about him", great bonding time).

 

I am so happy you liked this fic ! I hope your come back will lead to many great reads !



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2016 19:57 · For: I know better

I wrote the last review in a bit of a rush but had to ocme back and read this again! LIke you, I never really got into Galadriel till I wrote her and then  POW! you get it! I think you have really dug beneath her skin here- she absolutely COULD do all of this  and as you say, she'd laugh at the Ring's pathetic attempt to seduce her!

 

 

I've been thinking about you lately, I am writing dragons for Sultry in September :) Expect news reviews for our beloved Smaug during the week!

 

ooh- looking forward to that - although I didn't sign up  this time -struggled with the last one so much. But I'll still read everything with avid fangurrrl enthusiasm!!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2016 19:12 · For: I know better
I can't stand Galadriel, so this made me chuckle. It seems very like her. Up her own backside and self-obsessed. While I can understand Fëanor being arrogant, I can't get why Galadriel would be, and I wish Tolkien had swapped her out for one of her brothers instead.

What a silly, horrible woman!

You wrote that very well :) I do like stories that make me feel great love or great dislike, either is good!

Author's Response:

Galadriel is definitly arrogant here, but let's not forget Melkor is good at manipulating people :) she was a teenager hoping to be noticed at this point, he saw that, the unrequited attirance and disappointement and decided to try his luck. Anyway, I like Galadriel better when she is a bit bitchy, ambitious and with a taste for revenge!

I am very glad you liked the fic despite Galadriel being the main character! I don't think Tolkien should have swapped her out for one of her brothers, since there are so very few interesting female characters around in the Silm, but I am a bit disappointed by what she does. What was the point in keeping her around if all she does is stay hidden in pretty forests? It's a waste of her character. She could have been far more badass than this.

I decided to write about her as part of a serie about the women of the House of Finwë. All of them save Galadriel, Aredhel and Nerdanel are underdevelopped to the point of being OC with a canonical name, but I just couldn't connect with Galadriel. The only way I could work with her was by deciding that for this fic she was Fëanor, only female, blond and a lot younger, and overshadowed by Fëanor himself. With that in mind I could remake the character in my head, start anew, and I was surprised by how much I like her now (yes I like self-obsessed, arrogant and annoying character XD).

Then you for the review, I am so happy you too some time to read this fic!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2016 12:37 · For: I know better

This is wonderful! The narrative voice is really compelling ,going from a light naivety to that deep cynicism Galadriel has (actually its not cynicism but knowledge). Really effective writing- a great thought provoking read.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I loved the idea of Galadriel being like "lol you poor ring, I fucked Melkor what do you think you are offering there?". I wasn't really into her but now I am :)

I've been thinking about you lately, I am writing dragons for Sultry in September :) Expect news reviews for our beloved Smaug during the week!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2016 2:41 · For: I know better

Whoa.  Just….whoa.  This was SO good.  Like, I could 100% see this being Galadriel’s secret cannon history!  I feel like you nailed her characterization!  She is THAT ambitious.  She could have totally had a crush on Feanor growing up, and it turned to dislike/distain when he failed to pay her the attention she wanted/thought she deserved.  And just…oh gods, that fantasy of hers when she is sitting at Melkor’s right-hand as his queen and her proud powerful family is kneeling before her!  WOW!  I couldn’t totally see that being a fantasy of hers!

Just….this whole story!  OMG!  I want to fan-girl over it!  It’s just so fing GOOOD!!!!! 

I am never going to get over your awesome characterization of Galadirel!  I mean, I really don’t like her as a person, but me liking her as a person or not has nothing to do with your kickass characterization of her!  Holy!   And, and, and when she’s having sex with Melkor and she thinks she is the one with the power, and (of course!) she thinks about Feanor even then (I love love love that she’s is constantly thinking about Feanor! (I think someone is in denial and never really got over their crush :D)).

 

(I feel like I have done nothing but fail around this whole review.  Sorry!  I don’t think I can put my love for this into words!)



Author's Response:

OMG someone actually reviewed about that fic! And this someone is an author I admire so much *fangirling escalates* The feeling is even better than holding my cat! (Well for my cat's defense, the weather is really too warm to hug a cat right now).

Fëanor/Melkor/Galadriel is so good as a hateship, I really want to spread the love. I'll have to find some time for some unrequited Fëanor/Galadriel, perhaps something pre-Losgar (really Fëanor did you burn those ships to get away from your stalking niece?). Galadriel and Fëanor are so alike sometimes, I can't ship Fëanor/Melkor and ignore the potential with our beloved blond bitch :)

You are so right about Galadriel being obsessed with Fëanor in her youth! I sometimes encounters stuffs about their "rivalry" on Tumblr, but honestly... why would Fëanor even notice her? She is a kid, and one of the youngest. He probably takes her as seriously as Ambarussa. It's too bad for her she was born too late to make a difference.

Also Melkor, the god of "oh look I'm so weak and non threatening, be my friend please", when inside he is cackling with glee and trying not to burn the whole palace down when he comes lol.



You must login () to review.