| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7888
Word count: 23423549
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13826
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Ysilme
03/30/17 01:32 am
I suppose they'd have a heart attack if I told them I'm writing fanfic in English these days. *g*
Ysilme
03/30/17 01:31 am
experience like you, Alpha, but with English: two English teachers told me I should try to get a job where I wouldn't need foreign languages as they judged me too little giftd in languages.
Ysilme
03/30/17 01:29 am
My father was a maths teacher, too, which wasn't always easy for me, *g* - my classmates considered it as uncool in a major way to be daugther of a maths teacher. And I made a similar
ziggy
03/28/17 11:13 pm
Wow- Naledi- you were Maths!! I am an English teacher and so agree. I am so careful - don't always get it right but try to make sure every interaction is positive.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Regrets

Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: March 12, 2017 0:50 · For: Chapter 11
Finally Elrohir talks with Arwen. It was overdue that they talk with each other about their choices. Elrohir is obviously totally smitten and Arwen understands. It is a nice scene between them.

The scene in the garden is very nice. Finally they can be together in front of the others. Although it seems Legolas can't stay still for a certain amount of time ;-). I liked Aragorn's and Elladan's reactions.

You could easily end the story with this chapter, it's a very nice stopping point.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2017 23:02 · For: Chapter 11

Ah- a lovely chapter! Arwen redeems herself with her love for Elrohir and for Aragorn- Ilove that moment when Elrohir sees her shine, and Legolas has his elf and peace:)



Author's Response:

Yes, Arwen redeems herself. It was hard to write her in a not so sympathetic light but I figured she couldn't be perfect all the time. And Elrohir, who has never really accepted his sisters decision, finally understands why she made it. 

As for Legolas. Happiness, security in Elrohir's love.....as long as Elrohir can avoid sparring with him all will be well! 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 09, 2017 9:25 · For: Chapter 11

Oh I loved, loved, loved this chapter! Arwen and Elrohir finally had the talk they should have had ages ago, and Elrohir has made peace with his choice. Yay! The only thing wrong is that Arwen unaccountably refuses to regret her love for Aragorn!



Author's Response:

If it makes it any better, Arwen's certainty in her choice did help Elrohir embrace his.

Yes finally Elrohir is confident, and determined and unshakeable. And much, much better at handling Legolas! (Although he did nearly get sucked in to another sparing match......foolish boy!) 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 04, 2017 15:34 · For: Chapter 10

Nicely woven emotions, the turmoil of Legolas AND Elrohir's doubts are really well thought out and really credible- new love is always vulnerable, volatile and fragile. Nicely done.



Author's Response:

Glad you thought it credible. That means a lot. There are a lot of hurdles for these guys to cross and they both have their issues. Plus this love affair has been a whirlwind and, being secret, also a bit divorced from reality until now. Facing that reality causes them both a few speed wobbles! Poor babies.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2017 13:36 · For: Chapter 10

I think Aragorn is being presumptuous. While it's true he does know Legolas well, and can usually handle him well, it's dangerous for him to think he knows Legolas best. I'll admit in this instance he was right to rebuke Legolas and handled it well, but there must be facets of Legolas's character that he can never understand. Hopefully Elrohir will learn to over time.

It's good that Elrohir recognised Legolas's fear and assured him he'll never walk away. Now for that talk with Arwen...



Author's Response:

Ah...I wondered how you would respond to Aragorn in this chapter!

I think perhaps he is right that at this point he knows Legolas better than Elrohir....well he can read his moods better and knows better how to responds to those moods. It will change, of course, eventually he won't have a patch on Elrohir. He wasn't threatened by Elrohir's defensive response that one day he would be closer to Legolas than Aragorn, so Aragorn didn't mean that as a competition. I think he was more trying to give Elrohir a kick up the butt to open his eyes and start to learn about his lover. 

Remember this Elrohir hasn't done any of this before. Elladan told us earlier Elrohir has been so terrified of his "choice" he has locked his heart away. He doesn't realise the work he has to put in to properly understand his lover. Recognising Legolas was afraid and not simply belligerent and angry was a first step. Arwen knew that of course. They are all completely transparent to her! 

Of course Legolas is not helpful to Elrohir in this. He seems very open and blunt, frank, up front with his feelings. It can be misleading because in actual fact a lot of his mischievousness and cockiness is a front. There is a lot more he hides and that is not immediately apparent. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 21, 2017 4:43 · For: Chapter 9

This makes me so happy. Finally they're talking and listening, and I love it when they are honest about their feelings. It shows why they are so right together, even when they make such a mess of their relationship half the time! They need to sort things out with Arwen, though. 



Author's Response:

They need to slow down and listen! This relationship has been a whirlwind one and they have both been caught up in the excitement of it but haven't taken the time to talk. They simply don't know each other well enough to cope with any speed bumps at the moment. They do need to sort things out with Arwen...they seriously need to do that



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2017 22:00 · For: Chapter 9
Yeah, finally they are talking AND listening. It's about time. I hope they don't screw it up again.

Author's Response:

I know!! It's the listening part that's important. Actually taking the time to hear what the other one is saying. But the screw up is never very far away with these two.....



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2017 1:34 · For: Chapter 8
They are both not easy with each other at the moment. Not to say annoying. Legolas is always so fast to judge, not trying to listen and understand, instead just assuming the worst and walking away and Elrohir should get his act together and try to explain.

This noncommunication they have going is getting them nowhere it only causes them both a lot of hurt.

Author's Response:

Yeah, Legolas....well there will be an explanation for his behaviour coming up. Have you read choices? It may help it make sense....or it may not! And Elrohir, well he doesn't really have much of a clue about communicating in a romantic relationships. And Legolas' volatility makes not much sense to him. It is early days and neither of them know the other very well. It shows. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2017 23:22 · For: Chapter 8

Yay! So many updates! It's a while since you updated this story so I'm really pleased you haven't forgotten it (seriously, I don't know how you manage to keep track of all your different universes!). But even thought I'm glad Elrohir persisted until Legolas let him in, I despair of them making up. Elrohir mustn't give up after one rebuff, or he'll just be proving Legolas right. I hope he sees sense and doesn't leave!



Author's Response:

I put this one on hiatus because I wrote myself into a corner. But I think I have found the way out now. Elrohir's problem is...as Elladan said in the last chapter...he has no idea what he is doing. He knows little to nothing about Silvans and not much more about relationships as he has been so frightened of the choice looming over him he has avoided love in case he ended up in the exact situation he finds himself now...torn in two. 

He doesn't know where to begin with Legolas. It seems too daunting at the moment, just too insurmountable, the issues in front of him. 

And Legolas isn't helping of course!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 22, 2016 23:43 · For: Chapter 7

Elladan to the resuce is good- it puts him back in the good light I am used to seeing him in. I Like the relationship between him and Aragorn too and Aragorn's gradual recognistion of what is going on, and the fact that it is not all abou thim!



Author's Response:

Yeah....Aragorn, it's not all,about YOU.

In fact very little of it is.

I am happier with Elladan being a goodie too. He was grumpy at the beginning of the story because he could see this trouble coming and just wished his brother would be more open regarding what was going on. Turns out Elladan was right and now he gets to be the one to clear up all the mess. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 22, 2016 23:33 · For: Chapter 6

He has taken my heart and ground it into dust

 

Such a great line. It is full of sadness and anger- I love this angsty UST and misunderstanding. 

 



Author's Response:

Poor Legolas. He has taken the wrong end of the stick and run with it. I think because despite his cockiness he has always felt a bit insecure regarding Elrohir's feelings. His sea-longing means he has a tendency to be overly dramatic too!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 22, 2016 23:28 · For: Chapter 5

I like the way Elladan sees this as freeing him to be himself- that's a nice point. And the emotional temperature is staying nicely thorugh the roof!!



Author's Response:

Yip, Elladan, after he calmed down from his initial surprise has really embraced Elrohir's choice to be with Legolas because for the first time in his life he gets to worry only about Elladan. To make a choice based only,upon what is good for him. As a twin, and due to his nature, he has very rarely been able to in the past. 

He will choose Valinor. He leans strongly towards his elven side.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 22, 2016 23:22 · For: Chapter 4

Just re-reading this- such great flashing tension and fury- love the angst!!



Author's Response:

Somehow I missed ALL these reviews! Sorry about that.

Glad you liked the fury, I am just glad I managed to convey that. I see myself as not being very good at writing the more action involved scenes. :-)



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: October 21, 2016 15:11 · For: Chapter 7
Oh Elladan...what a good brother. If anyone can straighten stupid Elrohir out, it could be him. I have a feeling Legolas will only listen to Elrohir though...so his brother had better do a good job.

I love Legolas' touch of melodrama.

Author's Response:

Sorry for being so late replying!

Legolas does have a touch of melodrama about him, doesn't he. I think he gets it from Thranduil who has a tendency for the dramatic!

Elladan is working hard behind the scenes to sort this out but there is only so much he can do. In the end it comes down to Elrohir getting the courage to talk properly about his feelings and Legolas being able to listen. Will that ever happen? We will see!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 20, 2016 20:30 · For: Chapter 7

Yay! It took a while, but at last Aragorn's realised not everything is about him! I hope the revelation about Arwen doesn't put a wedge between them, though. As angry as I am with her for piling the guilt on Aragorn, it's a terrible choice she's made and I like to think she's happy enough with Aragorn that there are no regrets

Good old Elladan. Everyone needs someone like him. I hope he finds his reason to choose soon, and I hope he chooses immortality. Although Elladan is the more 'Elven' of the twins, so I'm not  so worried about him.



Author's Response:

Somehow I missed all these reviews! How did that happen?? 

Elladan will chose immortality, I am pretty sure about that. It where his soul leans to. Elrohir is the one more conflicted. Without Legolas to pull him towards Valinor he really feels more comfortable amongst Men. 

I think Aragorn will understand Arwen, even though he may agree with Elladan that her behaviour has not be the best. But this will give the. An opportunity to talk about how she feels about her choice. Something they maybe should have done earlier!



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2016 2:36 · For: Chapter 6
You know if you ask me...Legolas is blowing this way out of proportion. I'm not sure; it's been a little bit since I read the first chapters... But he's so erratic! Definitely rivals Other Side on that. Elrohir seems to be completely misunderstood.

Unless...by the things (like picking up on his angry response to Arwen), even without real evidence, Legolas is sensing Elrohir's second-guessing?

Anyways, can't wait to see how they're going to solve this. I loved it when Aragorn hugged Legolas.

Author's Response:

Ah, well see it from Legolas' point of veiw. He already has the sea-longing causing him problems...and he is entwined with Aragorn and Gimli who he is going to lose (forever) and remember elves mental health has developed in a way that means they don't deal well with losing people forever because generally they don't need to. 

Legolas was very careful before he gave his heart to Elrohir, (have you read the first story?) Very careful because he knew Elrohir had a choice to make that may seperate them. It wasn't until Elrohir committed his own heart and made that choice that Legolas really threw heart and soul into this relationship. He warned Elrohir not to promise anything he couldn't fulfil.

And yes! Definitely Legolas senses Elrohir's second guessing. They are bound by their fea. He can feel the uncertainty and distress within Elrohir. He left him in Imladris being confident about the two of them and now he meets him again and he is in turmoil. To Legolas this is a straw that breaks the camels back. Another loss looming up in front of him, and one that is worse even than His friends. He can't deal with it. Sure, rationally he should understand this is a difficult time for Elrohir and support him through this but inside he is terrified. 

Elrohir's love was a beacon that helped him through the sealonging and his impending grief, the thought that Elrohir would sail with him and the promise of happiness in Valinor. Now he thinks that is gone. :-( 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2016 17:30 · For: Chapter 6

Aargh! For some reason when I published it Faerie took out all my paragraphs and then you read it before I fixed it! That must have been a nightmare. Sorry :-(

LOL! I didn't notice - I was too engrossed in the story :)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2016 2:21 · For: Chapter 6

Oh, I just want to give Legolas a great big hug and tell him it will all work out in the end. 

*gives Cheeky a stern glare* It does work out in the end, doesn't it? Tell me Elrohir is going to come to his senses.

And Aragorn...I'm not sure that forcing Elrohir to speak is wise. Especially as Aragorn doesn't seem to be listening either, so unless a miracle happens I don't see this going well. 



Author's Response:

Aargh! For some reason when I published it Faerie took out all my paragraphs and then you read it before I fixed it! That must have been a nightmare. Sorry :-(

So Legolas....yip, he is in a mess.  Just in case you couldn't already tell. I mean, he had to be before he even started the whole, "let's fight each other" idea. Dumb as it was. He believes Elrohir has put him aside, will chose mortality and his sister and leave Legolas to eternity without him. And he sees it as a betrayal after he went to so much trouble to be sure of Elrohir's heart before totally committing his own. He feels cheated. 

Aragorn did listen in the end....though he was slow on the uptake. I think simply because the idea of Legolas and Elrohir "together" just never occurred to him. And if something is so far out in left field it just doesn't spring into your mind. And also the fact he didn't know this....that neither of them told him hurts badly. Maybe he just didn't want to hear they had done that.

 

will it go well? Um...I guess the odds are, no. He is angry, very angry and Elrohir is in turmoil.

better hope Elladan is there! 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 14, 2016 12:08 · For: Chapter 5

"If you choose Legolas? You have already chosen him Elrohir. You can not turn your back on that. What are you thinking? He is the best thing that has happened to you for years. The way he looks at you. . . What I would give to have someone look at me with so much love. You would throw that away? For what?"

Yes! Tell, him, Elladan! Thank goodness someone is making sense! I also agree 100% that Arwen has no right to make Elrohir feel guilty for not choosing to stay with her, when she made her choice for love as well. I'm sure she wants him to be happy and will realise how unfair she's being when she thinks about it, but unfortunately she can never take back her words.

I'm happy for Elladan that Elrohir's choice (if he sticks to it!) has freed him to choose for himself. This whole choice thing is horrible. I don't know what the Valar were thinking of. When Elrond chose to be of the Eldar, that should have settled it for his children as well. After all, Elros's children didn't get a choice. But since they do get a choice, they should follow their own hearts, not feel forced to choose with their siblings.

Elladan is also completely right about what Elrohir should do next. But will Elrohir follow that advice? I doubt it - that would be far too sensible!



Author's Response: Oh good point!! I had never thought of that but yes, Elros' kids never got to choose....the choice ended with him...so why Elrond's? That's so unfair!! It IS horrible and I guess that's what these two stories are all about really. The pressure the twins were under once Arwen had made her choice. No wonder they deferred it. They were torn three ways really.....between their sister and foster brother and their parents, and also themselves because I can not see them ever choosing differently like Elrond and Elros did....but that doesn't mean they didn't lean towards different things themselves and I do think this Elrohir, before Legolas, has been more in tune to his Mannish blood....could well have ended up choosing mortality and then what for Elladan?? So in a way Legolas' explosion into his life has saved both him and his twin from separation, (or saved Elladan from making a choice he didn't really want.) Elladan was a star here wasn't he! The voice of reason cutting through the chaos. Let's hope Elrohir listens to him. :-)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 13, 2016 9:16 · For: Chapter 4

Wow - furious Legolas is deadly and sexy! Great action scene here, Cheeky. I love this Legolas. He's so open about his feelings and his heartbreak induced rage gave me goosebumps. 

But what an ending! Hurry up and update this because I need to know Legolas is going to be alright. I also hope Elrohir can sort out the mess he's made. 



Author's Response: He IS deadly and sexy, he really is. Elrohir is really in a serious mess when dealing with this Legolas. He is so different from anyone he has known before. So untamed and direct and while Elrohir may love him, he certainly doesn't understand him. He should never have engaged him here. No matter what inflammatory jibes Legolas threw at him. Aragorn was right.. Elrohir doesn't know his lover very well at all. Glad you liked the action because I do not write action at all really, but Legolas insisted I had to here. It is all his fault!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2016 19:32 · For: Chapter 3

Aaargh! I'm actually a bit cross with Arwen. I do feel sorry for her, but at the same time, she made her choice for love (However misguided that love is, lol) and she should let Elrohir do the same without piling on the guilt. Now Elrohir has made Legolas feel Elrohir regrets their relationship. *cuddles Legolas and glares at Arwen and Elrohir*. Honestly, Elrohir is so useless at relationships...



Author's Response: He is! He seriously is bad at relationships! Whatever universe I write him in he is always totally and completely hopeless. Arwen is way out of line here. As you say, she made her own choice and now she must live with it....so she made it secretly hoping her brother's would choose the same and it's turning out not to be that way....well suck it up, lady. Unfair to pour the guilt on Elrohir for falling in love. Legolas does need a cuddle, he really does.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2016 8:35 · For: Chapter 3

 Legolas was emblazoned across his soul. A lovely line but I really think Legolas is being petulant. Elrohir has a lot to deal with (although he must have known this before so I can see L's pov too).



Author's Response: Legolas IS being petulant. He seems all cocky and self assured but in reality it is just a thin veneer over a very soft core. Elrohir does not know this yet though. He only sees what Legolas shows him. Legolas thinks he has been played for a fool and lost. In "Choices" He warned Elrohir to think carefully before committing to anything more serious....he gave him fair warning. He feels betrayed right now.....and so not very reasonable!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2016 22:39 · For: Chapter 2

Oh CB- this is a really good story. I LIKE the past tense you know I am boringly traditional and find it so much easier to focus on the story so I enjoyed htis. Special moment when Legolas walked in and everyone lit up. and you have written him beautifully, and Elrohir- all jealous love and self doubt and self hatred. Just what we all wanted:) Lovely. x



Author's Response: Glad you like this. It is a bit different I know. This Legolas is such fun to write. He appears to be so self confident and brazen. Poor Elrohir really is all at sea. He struggles to keep up with him. His poor Noldor brain is way out of its depth!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 14, 2016 22:49 · For: Chapter 2

Well thank goodness Legolas turned up safe and sound. Elrohir had better talk to him alone and soon, before Legolas misconstrues Elrohir's anger. 

Arwen shouldn't have pried but I do feel sorry for her. She's lost her parents and now she knows she's going to lose her brothers. I wonder if she was clinging to the hope that they would choose mortality as well. That's going to be an awful burden for Elrohir if that's the case. 



Author's Response: You have it exactly right. Arwen has been secretly harbouring the hope her brother's would choose mortality also. She knows it is unfair, she knows she has made her own choice independant of them but still, deep down, she has had this small hope burning that they may follow her and she won't lose everyone. Hard for Elrohir....so very hard.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 11, 2016 18:10 · For: Chapter 1

Ooh - another Elrohir/Legolas story! Yay! Although I'm finding it hard to untangle your multiple universes in my head. I'll have to reread Choices to make sure I have it straight!

Hmmm...Elrohir is starting with good intentions, but already the lies are starting. I foresee a tangle! And what's happened to Legolas? Update soon so I can find out!



Author's Response: Choices was a story I wrote on the plane to the UK and Legolas turned out to be very wild, very sexy and very dangerous. Poor Elrohir was paralysed with doubt about choosing mortality or immortality and didn't know what hit him when Legolas strode in to his life. Poor Elrohir, he is still worrying!


You must login () to review.