| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
The Condensed Silmarillion. (Which is not so short any more.) by cheekybeak General Audiences
The Silm you read when you are not really reading the Silm. Everything you always wanted to know......but missing all the...
Heaven's Reward Fallacy by mangacrack Explicit
In which Fingon struggles with life and never seems to get it right.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
Path of Honor-Part II: Far From Home by IdrilsSecret Explicit
To avoid the scandal that is still following Rumil in Lothlorien, he is sent on a mission to Mirkwood. He must negotiate...
Our love was raw and young by mangacrack Explicit
AU. Maedhros cheats, Caranthir eavesdrops and Maglor is a political mastermind.
Not so Valiant not so Wise by Fadesintothewest Explicit
*EDITED (2015)*An unlikely secret night of passion threatens the relationship between Fingon and Turgon. One possible scenario...

Site Info

Members: 469
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 7981
Word count: 23749302
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14179
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: merwinem
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 13
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
06/23/17 10:45 pm
Thank you and happy Friday :) I am going to buy a cheap laptop soon so I can write properly
Encairion
06/21/17 01:54 am
Hi Spiced, good to hear from you :) I am sorry things been weighing you down, and work piling up. I hope a chance to relax and do what you love comes soon :hugs:
ziggy
06/21/17 01:25 am
Lovely to hear you are getting back, Spiced!
Alquien
06/20/17 06:16 am
Hope you are feeling better now Spiced. ((hugs))
Spiced Wine
06/19/17 07:18 pm
I hope you're all okay my loves. Such appalling things going on the last few weeks :( I am overwhelmed by that and a work backlog, but trying to get that done to write again. Hugs to all
Ysilme
06/11/17 01:37 pm
Have a great trip and a great time, Naledi!
Naledi
06/11/17 09:19 am
Thanks! Maybe I'll be inspired - who knows?
ziggy
06/10/17 01:39 pm
Have a lovely time, Naledi- how lovely. hope you are inspired to write something for all of us!!xx
Spiced Wine
06/09/17 10:25 pm
Wonderful! Your are so lucky, Naledi. Have a lovely time. Have a great weekend everyone!
Naledi
06/09/17 07:20 pm
Happy Friday, everyone! I'm off on holiday to Pembrokeshire for a week but I hope I'll have internet access.
Shout Archive



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2016 23:04 · For: Chapter 16

I really like this theme of home that you have going through this. It binds the work together very nicely. And Elrohir is coming out of this quite well too. Love the way you write Aragorn in this.



Author's Response:

Thanks! It was central, the searching for a home, having a home and losing it. All tied up with Aragorn and Legolas. Legolas loses his place in the world just as Aragorn finds his. I am glad you like Aragorn. Didn't want him to be too difficult to sympathise with....even though he did rather make a mess of things! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2016 22:59 · For: Chapter 15

This is a lovely chapter- the image of Legolas lost in the sea is superb. And Aragorn is so convincingly tired. Again, Eladan to the rescue- I almost want him to end up with Legolas!!



Author's Response:

Oh I am glad you thought Aragorn's tiredness was convincing. I gave him such a hard time but I do think he has some relevant excuses. His life is hell at the moment. You want Legolas with Elladan??? Ah well I remember I wanted your Legolas to be with Elladan. I wanted that SO badly.........and I never got it, not really. :-( 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2016 22:45 · For: Chapter 13

LOvely chapter! LOve Elladan in this and his careless waving away of Legolas' questions.



Author's Response:

Oh poor,you. I didn't mean you to have to trawl all the way through this story just to read one chapter of subtle slash in the new one! I could have given you a synopsis :-) I am glad you like this Elladan. He is quite soft and gentle at this point. And a master manipulator of Legolas. Has him eating out of his hand by the end. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2016 22:40 · For: Chapter 12

I love this chapter- had lost sight if it for how prolific you are in writing and I can't keep up and go to work and do my own writing! Don't know how you do it.  

 

Poor old Aragorn- between us we give him such a hard time over this- but quite right too! I love how you have Gimli holding onto Legolas.



Author's Response:

I write quickly. And in short bursts, and on my phone when I am waiting for things. 

Poor Aragorn, yes. I give him a really,hard time in this story. This chapter was probably his lowest ebb.

Gimli though, Gimli is determined he will drag that elf through the war alive if it is the last thing he does. 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2016 6:23 · For: Chapter 16

First: I am so ecstatic that you decided to write it!

.but you will also have to put up with the female lover. She is part of the deal I am afraid. :-) 

 

Oh, it’s not that I have a problem with het.  I can enjoy if it I find both characters interesting (same for slash, really).  It was only that I felt so much UST with Elrohir that I was longing to see it fulfilled :)



Author's Response:

It will be interesting to see how you feel when she enters the picture then.....presuming you haven't read the other story and so she is completley new to you.

Of course I didn't even like her until half way through the last story...but you weren't meant to. And she will be different in This one, (hopefully) You can already see from what Legolas says about her letter to him and their parting she was quite an immature selfish little thing before. :-) 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2016 4:18 · For: Chapter 16

Quick first note: something happened to the formatting on this chapter, there are no spaces between the paragraphs.  Just a heads up :)

Oh I want to stab the Valar’s eyes out!  I hate the sea-longing, hate it, hate it, hate it!  It is so terribly unfair, why don’t it just leave them alone! :weeps:

“"Enough, Elrohir! You are better than this and Legolas does not deserve it. He is a fine warrior, perhaps even your equal and definitely your better with the bow. He has been loyal to a fault and he is my friend. I am sick of hearing this from you!  “

Thank you Aragon!  Really, enough was enough!  I get Elrohir was feeling resentful over not being picked, but he has to let that go!  (This is in no way a criticism of your writing of the twins, while I personally wanted Elorhir to let it go, that he didn’t was a true testament to his character because I could totally see him nursing that resentment all these months for sure!)

I am glad he is more understanding of Legolas’ sea-longing though!

“Yet he still followed. He still stepped through that door behind me. He could have turned back and saved himself, so could have Legolas who sits in my tent nearby, a gaping hole torn in his soul where his home used to be. All because he followed me.  
At times it feels as though my life is cursed. . . Or I am. The people I care for are doomed by their love of me. Halbarad, Legolas, even Arwen. She too will die because she loves me. I am at the centre of all their misery.  “

Oh, wow.  This gave me all kind of Aragon feels!  Now you have me feeling all sympathetic with him, and I have completely forgiven him everything!

I have felt so alone, so grief-stricken, so incapable of what is being asked of me. A curse upon all those that know me. And now he comes, a blazing light across my life, the wings under my spirit, an unjudgemental love to keep my whole. 
"I do not deserve you, Legolas." It is all I can say, all I can force my bewildered mind to enunciate, and it is oh so true. “

 

Awwww!  What a beautiful ending for these two :D  It felt just perfect.  And I liked that you tied that search for home up in the ending along with their strong and enduring friendship.  This was a sweet chapter :)  Now though you have me wondering what passed between Leoglas and Elrohir that night, course Gimili was there, but still!!!!  These two have barely interacted yet you’ve got me craving for from them so I do hope one day you end up writing something with them :)



Author's Response:

Aargh!! I can't believe it did that to the paragraphs AGAIN!!! I fixed it once before. Sigh...thanks for telling me...will go and do it all over again!

I am glad you felt some Aragorn sympathy. I have been quite hard on him throughout this story....and some of it he did deserve....but he has a hard road and was struggling, I think, throughout this. Legolas shines through with his pure unconditional and forgiving love and it makes such a difference to Aragorn's state of mind. I really wanted, after a story of trouble between them, to focus on the strength of their friendship.

I do kind of like writing Aragorn/Legolas conflict in this non slash world. People are almost as upset about that as they are about grumpy twins! 

Glad you liked Aragorn's lecture to Elrohir! Poor Elrohir :-( But he did come through as far as the sea-longing goes.....now why did he do that? I am only just finding out!

You bringing this Elrohir/Legolas thing up has caused me to think on it some more...I had shelved it in the too hard basket. But I have actually written a bit today....and I am pleased with how it is shaping up. It starts at the Black Gate, so shortly after this ends, and I am going to try and make it a sequel to "Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" both at the same time. So you will find out what happens between Elrohir and Legolas maybe sooner than you think.......but you will also have to put up with the female lover. She is part of the deal I am afraid. :-) 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2016 5:14 · For: Chapter 13

There really is a ton of UST between Elrohir and Legolas!  I felt it from the first!  And I keep thinking about the way he’s thought more about Elrohir than he as his love….I didn’t even know he had a love back home until he mentioned not wishing to leave her, and that….says a lot….but I have read the story of them so I will try to withhold any more opinions :) 

 

But I feel you about fanfiction.net and wanting to stay away from slash hate.  The first story I ever wrote was over there and it was het.  As you can imagine, when I tried to add just the hint of a slash relationship (it wasn’t even the main pairing!) there was outrage galore.  Ugh.  That was the last story I posted over there.  (In the Tolkien fandom.  I’ve noticed it’s not so bad in other fandoms).



Author's Response:

Yeah they are drowning in the UST. You have got me thinking about them again and I think I am going to have to write it, them having some kind of liaison. It will wreck havoc with what Legolas already has going on though. His love back home...well they think it is a forever thing but Legolas has issues which are not apparent so far in these fellowship stories, (apart from Brothers) because while on the quest he is not being confronted by them. And his girl, well she is fairly young....they both are by Elven standards, and at this stage her love is quite a selfish, self absorbed one, as the young can be. 

They do have a rough road to hoe after the War. The changes wrought in Legolas by the war cause big problems. They deal with it all in "Darkness" plus a whole lot of Aragorn/Legolas conflict. I think I can see a way for me to work an Elrohir incident in and still have it be believable

 

funnily enough I have had more grief and anger from readers about writing stern, moody Sons of Elrond than slash so far! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 22:42 · For: Chapter 13

“ Do I turn back now? Is that why Galadriel sent her message? Is that what she wished me to do? It frustrates me, that message, and I wish she had never sent it. Better that I did not know what loomed ahead of me. Better to go blindly towards whatever fate might hold. “

Yes, I think Galadriel’s message was pretty useless, all it did was cause Legolas grief :(  Surely if she had looked into their hearts when the Fellowship arrived in Lothlorien she would have seen Leoglas was never going to abandon Aragorn.

“Even a Noldo one. I have not realised how isolated I have become. How much my fea yearns for the brush of others. Lately it has been like living my life behind glass. I can see my friends but not touch them, and slowly my light dims. “

I really love this element in the story.  Legolas’ isolation and the differences between Mortals and Elves.  I’d never thought before about how deeply Elves feel each other’s souls and are able to communicate through them.

 

And Ah I am glad to see Legolas and Elladan connecting!  And it’s interesting to see you carried on the idea of Elladan suffering from the sea longing, only this time Legolas finds out so soon!  I wonder how that will affect things?



Author's Response:

I am glad you like the Elven fea aspect of the story. I see them having a whole other layer of communication, this spirit level that underlies the more surface communication we usually think of. Some of them have more power obviously,Galadriel for instance, so she can actually read and manipulate thoughts. Legolas cannot do that but he can sense feelings. And feel the presence of others. So having no elves around him at all, well it must be as disabling as us losing a sense...like being blind or deaf. 

It does make him feel very lonely without that connection so even though he is very anti the twins he cannot resist reaching out to Elladan's fea when he feels it. 

I don't know what it is, I just always picture Elladan with the sea longing. So here he is saddled with it here once again! Kind of helpful for Legolas at this point though, I have to say. 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 22:29 · For: Chapter 12

Ach!  I want to hit Aragorn over the head!  And I agree with Legolas.  It isn’t that he doesn’t understand the sacrifices of war, it’s that Aragorn didn’t even think of him when he made his choice :(

 

I am seriously wondering if you have any plans for Elrohir/Legolas :wink wink:  I cannot help thinking about Ziggy’s work and wondering if there is more to Elrohir’s dislike than meets the eye :)



Author's Response:

Ha, ha, It's funny you ask that!

so this is in my non-slash universe, and had a huge following on FFnet when I published it there. Legolas in this universe has a girl waiting for him in Mirkwood who we see in Darkness in Your Heart. BUT that being said, I got to this point and thought exactly the same as you.....oh gosh, the UST between Legolas and Elrohir just sizzles! I was so tempted to take this story off into a whole different direction. But then I had all these non slash readers reading it, the most I had ever had.....so I wondered about just writing a bit of Legolas/Elrohir slash in to it just for this site. But in the end I didn't. :-( 

I AM thinking, however, about writing a story that comes later where that Legolas/Elrohir tension does turn into something that threatens his other het relationship. Still thinking on it. It would have to be a faerie only story, would upset the FFnet people too much I think! 

As for Aragorn, yes, that's it in a nutshell. Legolas isn't hurt by Aragorn's choice, in fact he would never have him change his decisions simply to try and save Legolas. It is the complete lack of any thought towards him at all that hurts.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 22:06 · For: Chapter 11

Ohhhhh!  I want to see what will happen next!  I love this tension between the sons of Elrond and first Leoglas and now Gimil because Gimil is going to have his elf’s back!  Gosh though the twins are coming off as complete asses (at least Elrohir) but that is exactly, exactly, how I think they’d act/come across!  This is such a great portrayal of them, and I really love how Gimil compared them to what he’d once thought Elves were: arrogant and superior.  It really contrasted them with how close Legolas and Gimil have grown :)



Author's Response:

You have no idea how much flack I recieved when I posted this on FFnet about the depiction of the twins! Apparently they were too grumpy, and too mean, and too uncaring!! But, like you, that's how I think they would have seemed. And in the books they don't have any nice chummy relationship with Legolas. They barely acknowledge him and only interact with Aragorn. As for Elrohir....yip, he has issues. He is burning with resentment about not having been chosen for the quest and he is not good at hiding it!

 

glad you caught the contrast between the way Gimli sees Legolas and the way he sees the twins!!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 22:05 · For: Chapter 10

I am wondering if there is more going on with Legolas than meets the eye.  He seemed to have gotten really rowed up about the Palantir.  Is it just the Kinslaying behind this or something else?   I am sure he would have been fed tales of the Feanorions’ barbarity from the time he was a child by his father, but I had thought he had started to look at his own prejudice against the Noldor in Imladris?  Of course he is injured and hasn’t slept, so it could also be just that too.

I really love how Gimili has Legolas’ back :) 

 

I also agree with this interpretation of Aragorn: his neglect once the Dunidain and sons of Elrond come.  Of course he’s under a lot of pressure too, but I do think he didn’t repay Legolas’ friendship well at all when he took the Paths of the Dead…and yet what other course was there?  And of course Legolas was going to follow.  It’s a tricky situation and I don’t entirely blame Aragorn since he had a lot of tough choices to make, but I do wish he’d show more worry for Leoglas!



Author's Response:

Now this is why I love your reviews so much! Because you catch all the little things! 

Yes there IS something going on with Legolas re the palantir....more than just his Feanorian issues. He has started to examine his Noldor prejudice, as you said....but something that ingrained is very hard to shake. Even if you are consciously trying. So despite his best efforts it continues to rear its ugly head far into the future from here, especially in times of stress. It is his default position and then he has to deliberatly try to see past that. This is one thing about Legolas that drives Aragorn to distraction and causes them problems down the line. His Noldor issues.

That being said....there IS definitely something more at play here! 

Glad you like Aragorn here. I am trying to get a fine balance because he IS exhausted, and faced with such a mess to try and lead through. But still....even despite that, he drops the ball as far as Legolas is concerned. Note Legolas seems to understand this more than Gimli. I decided Legolas had more insight into the pressures of leading in a bleak and hopeless situation than Gimli, who had possibly never been in that position before. 

 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2016 15:18 · For: Chapter 8

"Ah, we are here!" He exclaims as if that is a truly ground-breaking discovery. "Well, this place looks intimidating. What do you wait for Aragorn? If I am forced to ride in with you like an imbecile the least you can give me is a grand entrance." 

Oh my lord.  This is so good :)

“ and Legolas dances around them as if he has lost his mind. “

OMG.  I keep laughing!

 

Ah, I like the way this chapter ended.  It was a nice moment between Aragon and Legolas, they really have built a deep friendship, and we can see it clearly now :)



Author's Response:

Glad you saw that! That moment between Aragorn and Legolas. The friendship underlying everything already between them is important, especially with what lies ahead in this story. This story appears to be about Gimli and Legolas, I know, because of their perspectives that I am using, but if you look at the title you can see it is actually about Aragorn! 

 

Drugged Legolas was so fun to write! He really is totally uncontrollable like that! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2016 15:17 · For: Chapter 7

I have been enjoying this story immensely, and needed to stop myself and leave a review!  (Sorry I didn’t leave more before, I’ve just been tearing through :D)

"Aragorn, the elf has gone mad!" It is such a relief to see him turn, his face as shocked as mine when he notices the elf careening wildly across the grass.”

:snorts:  Poor GImil, but this imagine is priceless!  Gods, I feel so bad for Legolas though, he’s going to be sooooo embarrassed when the drugs wear off!

“Legolas is changeable at the best of times, changeable and unpredictable. Just when you think you understand him he surprises. Just when you believe you know what he will do he does the opposite”

I really like how this concept of Leoglas has come through so strongly in the story.  I like how Gimili and Aragorn had such trouble understanding him at times, and yet he is the exact same way when trying to understand them.  And I like how much he’s missing his own kind.  I think that is a concept of the Fellowship that it not explored enough, and I love that you are doing it.  Legolas has probably never been away from Elves for more than the time for traveling in the wilds his whole life, and now here he is, alone with Mortals for months, with no Elven company (and the same for Gimil with Dwarves).  It is completely understandable that they are missing their own people.

 

I am really curious to see if Leoglas is still in this state when the sons of Elrond arrive!  Oh gods, that could be such a disaster!  And poor Legolas having to wake up from the drug after what he’s sure to view as complete humiliation, and with the sons of Elrond seeing him like this as well!



Author's Response:

Oh, I am excited you are reading this story! It will be interesting to see what you think. You picked up on exactly what I wanted people to in the midst of the chaos....the isolation they are all feeling. Legolas and Gimli especially since none of their people are there. This Legolas—as you say—is inexperianced with mortals and so lonely, especially with the absense of Elven company. Gimli likewise, I see him as more well travelled but Dwarves stick together. I doubt he has ever been anywhere without a single dwarf alongside him. Even Aragorn, who is among his own people is lonely....the other two have this strong knowledge of family waiting for them, a home to retreat to in their mind when the going gets rough. Aragorn doesn't have that really. No "proper" home at all. 

As for the Sons of Elrond....oh yes Legolas would have been mortified if he was still under the influence when they arrived. I couldn't do that to him. I had to sober him up before then. (There is more than enough trouble between him and the sons of Elrond anyway!!) 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2016 14:08 · For: Chapter 16

So Elrohir isn't completely without compassion where Legolas is concerned. That's good to know. I also like your explanation for why Legolas and Gimli weren't included in the council meetings - it's always made me cross that Legolas was treated as a mere foot soldier after the Dunedain and the twins turned up. At least your version has him treated with a little more respect!



Author's Response:

No, Elrohir is not completely devoid of feeling. When it pertains to something elven the Elves stick together. Do you remember Legolas talking in "Darkness" about how he and the twins went together to the Dead marshes to pay respects to the elven dead there, which is just after this. They can work together when they need to. But Elrohir and Legolas do not gel well still, and maybe never will. If this was a slash story there would be all this UST between them, and firewroks! 

I get annoyed with Legolas and Gimli being omitted from the council at this point also.....so came up with another explanation! And Aragorn is slowly learning how to be a better friend to a wood elf. He is guilty of assessing all elves as if they were Noldor. He assumes he knows them all because he was bought up with the Noldor. It doesn't work when dealing with Silvans.

and also results in him completely overlooking his brother's Sindar side, as you pointed out earlier. I don't think he makes the same mistake with Arwen....but perhaps he does and she has to train it out of him! Thanks for all your reviews for this little story :-)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2016 21:13 · For: Chapter 15

For a horrible moment I thought Aragorn wasn't going to go to Legolas straight away. Thank goodness he did. I'm glad he finally saw what Legolas's loyalty cost him. Of course, he has to try to jump in and save Legolas without thinking! 

I really like your Elladan. So wise - a true son of Elrond. I can't tell if it's a good or bad thing that Elladan is hiding his sea longing from Aragorn though. Aragorn really doesn't think about the full implications of Elladan's Sindar side!



Author's Response:

Aragorn was on the edge of making another bad mistake then wasn't he! But in the end he made the right decision. Glad you like Elladan. ...and that he truly felt like a Son of Elrond. That's important. He is wise, and calmer and more considered than his hotheaded brother. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 04, 2016 14:01 · For: Chapter 14

Yay for Elladan! He might be suffering from the sea longing, but he hasn't lost his healing touch. I love how he healed the influence of the palantir and the poison. It's good to see Legolas in better spirits and actually having a meaningful conversation with Elladan rather than a scowling match! I hope he'll be able to win Elrohir over, too.

"I have no magic beyond my natural charm, Gimli." I throw my arm across his shoulders. "It is to be expected you could not resist it. There are not many who can."

Lol! I love that bit!

 



Author's Response: Elladan has always been sympathetic towards Legolas. It is just that I didn't let you see that clearly before. I hid him behind Elrohir's antagonism. He is a skilled and powerful healer, of course, and just what Legolas needed right at this moment. And Elladan can listen. It is his greatest skill. He hears what people say. More of him in the next chapter!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2016 10:03 · For: Chapter 13

Okay - I'll admit to getting muddled up with your various universes. But Legolas speaks of his love and his lost brother...so this is the universe with Maewen? In that case no lustful interludes with a scowling Elrohir. Pity! But I did enjoy this conversation with Elladan and the shock revelation that Elladan is afflicted with the sealonging. How long has he kept that a secret? And will he be able keep in under check when they hear the gulls?



Author's Response: Yeah, this is non slash...pre Darkness, Maewen/ the dead brother/ Mum who ran away, Legolas. Well it is on FFnet where I post all those stories under a different pen name from the Leggy/Elrohir ones. BUT.... You have got me thinking about what a bit of Elrohir slash might be like in this story. (And I think it would be GOOD!) I was going to write a bit of slash in just for this site.....or write an alternative ending... Still thinking on it. Anyway, Elladan. Yeah secret sealonging, just like in my slash stories. For some reason I just always see Elladan like that no matter what universe he is in. What will it be like when he hears the gulls? Well not very pleasant I think. I think he has kept it secret for some considerable time.


Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2016 14:31 · For: Chapter 12
So, why are these people so convinced Galadriel's warning means his death? I mean, sure 'having' to sail is their equivalent to death. But having the want to sail isn't really the same thing. Unless they're misinterpreting it...

Anyway, very dramatic, Legolas climbing to the top of the fortress to escape. I liked that alot. :)

Author's Response: So many people have asked me that question I am going to have to write an authors note about it on the next chapter on FFnet. (Why do they all think Galadriels message means death?) So I will write it here early for you! In the books, when Gandalf tells Galariels messages he says Aragorn's first, which is a very depressing one saying the path he must take will be lined with the dead. He follows straight on into Legolas' your heart will not rest under the trees one. I know, quite inoquous really but when combined with Aragorn's death filled one the two of them sound quite despairing. Gimli then complains, "She sent no message to me" and Legolas replies to that, "Do you want her to speak openly about your death?" That line, to me, suggests that, at least at that point, he believed this message to refer to his death........maybe he worked it out later? But early on at least, Thats what he thought. Gandalf himself pondered on the messages and was unable to decipher them. He didn't know what they meant and he didn't correct Legolas' assumption they meant death. So that's what I use. It is my head canon. They thought the message referred to death, or at least there was a high possibility it did. Also....Gimli was a dwarf, from a family who hated Elves. He would not have even known about the sea longing. Why would he reference it? And Aragorn was raised by Noldor not Sindar so again, the sea longing may not have been the first thought in his mind. And if even Gandalf didn't think of it??.........then why would the others? Also I think Legolas' resistance of the sea longing was relatively unheard of so yeah....even the sealonging meant death as far as Legolas, Gimli and Aragorn go. Legolas himself ponders sailing just after he acquired it. I am not sure an elf HAD resisted it for any length of time before. ........ Glad you like Leggy's climb. This Legolas likes the high places. They clear his mind!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2016 10:36 · For: Chapter 12

"I know the cost you pay for your leadership." I say to him in the end, as I struggle to calm the turmoil inside me. I must not make a scene here. I must not shame my father any more than I have done on this quest already. "I know what it is to lead in the dark, to make choices where there are none. When your options are only how many you will lose, when you cannot save everyone. I know that Aragorn for I have been there. I do not blame you if the best choice ahead of you is one which will sacrifice me, but tell me one thing.

"When you thought on this......did you give any thought to me?"

And the look on his face tells me he did not.

Yes - that's the heart of the matter. Of course Legolas understands the agony of having to make decisions that will cost lives, but the knowledge that Aragorn didn't even consider him at all has to hurt.

So if only one Noldo has followed him with Gimli, which one? Part of me hopes it's Elladan, because at least Elladan might persuade Legolas to let him look at his wound. But a scene with scowly, resentful Elrohir would be fun too!

 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 20, 2016 23:13 · For: Chapter 11

I love Gimli's fury and indignation- and you know what I think of Aragorn's carelessness with Legolas- we so agree!! But you have written Aragorn really well, very tired and preoccupied and so I almost forgive him.



Author's Response: Oh you made my day with this review because that is exactly the response I wanted. Aragorn has dropped the ball here big time regarding Legolas, he really has, but there are mitigating factors. He is tired, (they are all tired, which hasn't helped their communication any) and he is, I think, at this point unused to having this scope of Leadership. He is faced with few choices and all of them are unpalatable. Legolas is right when he says Aragorn is burdened and perhaps he can see it where Gimlu can't because he knows the load of leader people in a dark, desperate, situation. No wonder Aragorn leans towards his older brothers for support when they arrive out of the blue!!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 20, 2016 21:07 · For: Chapter 11

Go Gimli! I love to see him stand up to Aragorn like this. And Aragorn really does need to have some home truths pointed out to him. 

I wonder why Elrohir is so scowly. Is it Wood-elves in general or Legolas in particular he dislikes? Or maybe he fancies Legolas rotten and is ashamed for some reason. At least Elladan is more reasonable. I hope he can help Legolas because Gimli's right - there's no way they'll stop Legolas coming with them. 

I love how Legolas picks the perfect moment to make his entrance. Can't wait for the next bit!



Author's Response: Told you Gimli was going to be outspoken!! He is not going to keep quiet and let his friend be walked over. As for Elrohir, he is angry..angry he wasn't chosen for the quest. This harks back to the story Lost in Translation. We see Elladan there, and a glimpse of his resentment at Legolas being chosen. Since Elladan is the more reasonable of the two I think you can take that resentment and multiply it ten times for Elrohir!! Any perceived weakness in Legolas, Elrohir is going to jump all over...as he does here!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 20, 2016 7:55 · For: Chapter 10

 Tall, noble, elegant and severe.

 

Please let there be slashy UST between Elrohir and Legolas. I miss them!!

Best reason I've ever heard that Legolas doesn't get a wound seen to- but I hope is enough of a soldier to know the risk he is posing to others by being weakened- he won't go into danger like that, will he? I love your Gimli- THAT is exactly as he is- perfectly written.



Author's Response: Oh you need to read the new chapter of Regrets I posted last week! Major slashy Elrohir/ Legolas UST there!!! You have no idea how happy it makes me to think you like Gimli...because yours is the perfect Gimli...in fact your Gimli/ Legolas dynamic is perfect too! Someone is coming along to help Legolas soon.....don't worry!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2016 21:26 · For: Chapter 10

Now how did you know it was Elrohir doing the sneering???

Who else could it be? They both practise looking fierce and sweeping into view with billowing cloaks, but only Elrohir practises sneering and scowling as well :D



Author's Response: I can just see it.... Elrohir: "Brother, what do you think of my latest scowl? I have been working on this one for days!" Elladan: "Oh for goodness sake, Elrohir, now you are taking this, 'we must look fierce in case we stumble across a lonely wood-elf' thing far too far!!"


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2016 17:52 · For: Chapter 10

Oh, and I was so busy being angry that Legolas and Gimli are being ignored, I forgot to be angry that Aragorn is totally neglecting to check on Legolas's wound. A reunion with his kinsmen is no excuse!

I'm frothing at the mouth now. I so wish I could set Thranduil on him!



Author's Response: Ha,ha, yeah! Call that artistic license on my part to underline the point.......in case anyone missed it...... Yes, people, yes, he IS being negligent.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2016 17:44 · For: Chapter 10

That's right, Gimli - you should be angry. From this point on, you and Legolas will be expected to follow Aragorn without any consideration for what that will mean for you and with precious little say in any decision-making, either!

I like how you point out that Legolas and Gimli aren't even introduced when Halbarad and the Dunedain arrive. Suddenly because they're not Men, they're irrelevant. I get very cross that they're not included in the council meeting after the Battle of the Pelennor Fields.

I'm glad Elrohir and Elladan are here, though. I hope Elrohir changes his mind about Legolas soon. He should be lusting after Legolas, not sneering at him!



Author's Response: I knew this chapter would press all your buttons!! However in this story Gimli is a bit more vocal and Legolas too for that matter, so wait for the fireworks next chapter. Now how did you know it was Elrohir doing the sneering??? (It was, by the way!)


You must login () to review.