| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14774
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 12
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Coming of Age

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 18, 2016 20:15 · For: Chapter 1

Wonderful! I thought Aragorn was punishing Eldarion by making him hold Legolas - I'm glad to see I was right. But poor Legolas - that was a lot of suffering to teach Eldarion a lesson.



Author's Response: Yes, you were right. This is obviously not the first time Aragorn has had trouble with a headstrong Eldarion not listening when he should. He obviously decided he was old enough to truly face the consequences. But poor Legolas.....and poor Aragorn also. Inflicting pain on people you love is not easy, even when you know it helps them. I think seeing his father's distress at doing that had as great a impact on Eldarion as Legolas' pain.


Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: July 18, 2016 14:43 · For: Chapter 1
This was absolutely fabulous!
Legolas falling from the tree with nothing but a shout...I can just imagine Gimli's sinking feeling. What a terrible sound!
I just loved how Aragorn held Legolas by the fire especially. There was such a deep closeness there. I wish they'd put a scene like that in the movies, if they could manage to not make it romantic. Oh well, this story was just as good. Beautiful job:)

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you liked it. I love Aragorn and Legolas when their friendship works like that and they connect. Both of them had a rough time in this story. But they still manage to transcend that!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2016 10:17 · For: Chapter 1

You write so well, cheekybeak! Gimli's voice is perfect throughout this and you've painted some lovely visual scenes that are very clear. I like the ideas about eldarion growing, not yet a man but soon he iwll best Aragorna dn he be impossilbe- love that closeness between the three of them.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for the compliment. I am glad you thought Gimli's voice sounded ok, especially because your Gimli is so perfect. I think each of them saw Eldarion differently in this. Legolas struggles to understand the rate he grows at and treats him perhaps as younger than he is...hence the fact he seems maybe too lenient. Gimli is in the middle, he thinks Legolas "soft" but also thinks Aragorn treats Eldarion too harshly, treats him as a man when he is still just a boy...and yet Aragorn knows all to well about his sons struggle for maturity and how close he is to manhood. This is obviously not the first time there has been these issues and Aragorn decides it is time for Eldarion to step up to the plate and act like a man since he thinks he is one. And yet through it all the Three Hunters don't lose their closeness.


You must login () to review.