| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8581
Word count: 26138577
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16103
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 16
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
I'm going to try and get out in the country for a nice walk - maybe Ingleton or Aysgarth, to see the waterfalls.
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
Sounds lovely, Spiced. I miss my family like crazy, we're all scattered to the four winds these days. Hope he gets here safe.
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:04 pm
My brother’s over from Spain for a couple of days so I’ll be seeing him. If he ever gets here! Flight delayed by storms in Spain!
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:03 pm
I hope you’re able to relax, Narya, after a busy week.
Narya
10/19/18 10:01 pm
What's everyone up to this weekend?
Narya
10/19/18 09:28 pm
Happy Friday! :D
Ysilme
10/19/18 03:40 pm
Happy Friday to you all! :o)
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 09:43 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/18/18 10:25 am
Narya, they're constantly touring through Europe and the USA, and sometimes even farther abroad. You might be able to find a concert close to you eventually. And I totally agree about the concert!
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Coming of Age

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 18, 2016 20:15 · For: Chapter 1

Wonderful! I thought Aragorn was punishing Eldarion by making him hold Legolas - I'm glad to see I was right. But poor Legolas - that was a lot of suffering to teach Eldarion a lesson.



Author's Response: Yes, you were right. This is obviously not the first time Aragorn has had trouble with a headstrong Eldarion not listening when he should. He obviously decided he was old enough to truly face the consequences. But poor Legolas.....and poor Aragorn also. Inflicting pain on people you love is not easy, even when you know it helps them. I think seeing his father's distress at doing that had as great a impact on Eldarion as Legolas' pain.


Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: July 18, 2016 14:43 · For: Chapter 1
This was absolutely fabulous!
Legolas falling from the tree with nothing but a shout...I can just imagine Gimli's sinking feeling. What a terrible sound!
I just loved how Aragorn held Legolas by the fire especially. There was such a deep closeness there. I wish they'd put a scene like that in the movies, if they could manage to not make it romantic. Oh well, this story was just as good. Beautiful job:)

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you liked it. I love Aragorn and Legolas when their friendship works like that and they connect. Both of them had a rough time in this story. But they still manage to transcend that!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2016 10:17 · For: Chapter 1

You write so well, cheekybeak! Gimli's voice is perfect throughout this and you've painted some lovely visual scenes that are very clear. I like the ideas about eldarion growing, not yet a man but soon he iwll best Aragorna dn he be impossilbe- love that closeness between the three of them.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for the compliment. I am glad you thought Gimli's voice sounded ok, especially because your Gimli is so perfect. I think each of them saw Eldarion differently in this. Legolas struggles to understand the rate he grows at and treats him perhaps as younger than he is...hence the fact he seems maybe too lenient. Gimli is in the middle, he thinks Legolas "soft" but also thinks Aragorn treats Eldarion too harshly, treats him as a man when he is still just a boy...and yet Aragorn knows all to well about his sons struggle for maturity and how close he is to manhood. This is obviously not the first time there has been these issues and Aragorn decides it is time for Eldarion to step up to the plate and act like a man since he thinks he is one. And yet through it all the Three Hunters don't lose their closeness.


You must login () to review.