| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Let the Memories Be Good by lotrfan General Audiences
Legolas and Gimli must come to terms with Aragorn's aging, as well as Gimli's own. Set after events of LOTR. Written for...
The Bear Incident by Himring General Audiences
During the Years of the Trees: Celegorm and Fingon escape into the mountains, on a dare. Maedhros finds out and follows...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1666
Chapters: 8517
Word count: 25898884
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15880
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
08/15/18 10:47 am
Thank you, Alquien :) Unless we have to move to a new server, money is not a problem :)
Alquien
08/15/18 04:50 am
Just now playing catch up here but anyway, count me in for a donation. I love this archive!
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:21 pm
I think it’s important to keep these Tolkien specific archives going, especially with so many dying.
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:20 pm
She’s quite willing to keep it hosted on the same server, just the admin/tech work would be done by someone else.
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:19 pm
I don’t think we need to worry about the archive going, esteliel just thinks it would be better if someone acted as host/admin who was in the fandom.
Ysilme
08/14/18 11:52 am
Thank you, Spiced!
Kalendeer
08/14/18 10:47 am
So I would be ready to contribute as well and really sad to see the archive go :)
Kalendeer
08/14/18 10:43 am
I am mostly on AO3 but I like Faerie a lot better than FFnet to be honest, and the best reviews I ever got were on Faerie.
Spiced Wine
08/13/18 02:14 pm
If you do, Ysilme, I will pass you email on to Esteliel :) You would make a great overall host for the archive.
Ysilme
08/13/18 02:04 pm
I also might be able to help with the technical site of things. I'll send you a mail, Sîan, for details.
Shout Archive



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2015 23:00 · For: Chapter 3
Loved this story. From the action scenes to Elladans's amusing love story.
Legolas and Glorfindel were both to blame in their relationship problems which is very realistic. Glorfindel because he assumed superiority due to his age and failed to treat Legolas as his equal and Legolas for not speaking up about issues he had which meant they continued to grow.

Loved it all!

Author's Response:

Thanks, Cheekybeak! Legolas and Glorfindel aren't my usual pairing, much as I love them together, so I'm glad this story worked for you. I had a lot of fun writing it, and always love to hear that others have enjoyed reading it :)



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 03, 2011 19:11 · For: Chapter 3
This is a great story. The difference between Legolas and Glorfindel, the strife and make up. The binding at the end. And of course the action sprinkled through it all, keeping it from being "just another silly romance story". Well done.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it, especially the action. My stories are usually too short to include much in the way of action, so I enjoyed writing this longer tale that gave more scope to try something a bit different :)

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2011 15:09 · For: Chapter 3
I quite enjoyed the story. I liked your Legolas and Glorfindel as they both have their flaws. I'm in awe of Glorfindel's patience with Legolas temper and I can understand very well why Legolas would be hesitant to speak about his discontent with Glorfindel. Oh, and I liked the action sequences very much!
Tinara

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed this, and that you liked Legolas and Glorfindel despite their flaws.

Glorfindel doesn't mind Legolas' temper - he enjoys the making up so much ;)



Name: IgnobleBard (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2011 4:58 · For: Chapter 3
This is just the kind of story I like, with action, romance, and the kind of characters I enjoy spending time with. The personalities of Legolas and Glorfindel really shine through, and the resolution is sweet and satisfying. An excellent read.

Author's Response:

Oh thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed this. I'm not so used to writing Legolas with Glorfindel, although it's one of my favourite pairings, so I'm glad the characters came across as convincing to you.

Thanks for the lovely review :)



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: July 10, 2011 13:30 · For: Chapter 3
This is a magnificent story. It has humour, romance, drama - all pulled together with a wonderful narrative style that had be laughing, angry, sad, then happy. This is indeed what Tolkien meant in his definition of a 'faerie story'.

Author's Response:

Thank you - I'm so glad you liked it, and that it brought out all those different emotions in you. Your lovely review has really made my day :)



Name: Esteliel (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2011 16:59 · For: Chapter 3
This is such a beautiful story, and one that made me incredibly happy when the SV stories were revealed! I love everything about it: the way you handle Glorfindel and Legolas and their differences, their feelings for each other, Legolas' marvelous rescue mission and Glorfindel's fear for him - and of course, their reconciliation. It's absolutely perfect, and I'm so glad to see it on here too!

Author's Response:

How could I not post this story on your site! Glorfindel/Legolas is a pairing I'm very fond of, so it was a joy to write this. I've always been intrigued by how a large age gap would affect a relationship with elves, so your request gave me the ideal opportunity to explore it.

Thanks for reviewing :)

P.S. I've got another G/L story to post here that I put up on my LJ a couple of Christmases ago, and another one in the pipeline. I love this archive :)



Name: Tamid Levad (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2011 15:44 · For: Chapter 3
:D Such a sweet ending!

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad the ending made you happy :) Thank you for reviewing.



Name: Tamid Levad (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2011 15:37 · For: Chapter 2
Ooh, the tension :D And yay for Elladan and Talagan! (Even if his delicious behind distracts the hapless Peredhil ;))

Author's Response:

*snort* I'm glad you enjoyed that bit! I just couldn't resist giving Elladan some of the action too :)



Name: Tamid Levad (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2011 15:32 · For: Chapter 1
Really interesting idea, how it would play out if Legolas had a lover when he falls under the sea-longing :) Can't wait to see how this plays out!

Author's Response:

Thank you. I'm glad you like it so far. I've always considered that one of the reasons Legolas moved to ithilien was to be closer to the sea. In the end I didn't explore the sea-longing aspect of the story as much as I would have liked. It will be something for a future tale!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2011 15:03 · For: Chapter 3
Oh, this was very well done! You did not skimp on the difficulties Glorfindel faced; it was very honest and thought-provoking, and at the end, joyful!

Author's Response:

Oh thank you! I'm glad you found it convincing. And I'm always one for happy endings :)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2011 14:01 · For: Chapter 2
This is interesting -- to see the kind of chinks that can open in a relationship between two people who love one another deeply, but are both warriors, both experienced, but one younger than the other. Of course Glorfindel cannot but feel protective, but it is where that becomes interference that the fault-line widens.

Author's Response:

Yes, I've always felt that a relationship between an ancient elf and a younger one would be very difficult, because of the huge gap in experience that would always exist. That's what I wanted to explore here - whether Glorfindel would ever be able to see Legolas as his equal. Because of course however much Legolas loves him, he would never settle for less than equality in the relationship.

Thank you for reviewing :)

 



You must login () to review.