| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8580
Word count: 26132086
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16093
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 21
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Hi, Fadesintothewest! *waves* good to see you, hope work isn't too painful.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 02:32 pm
That sounds amazing, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:19 pm
who of my music-loving OCs might be interested in playing the nyckelharpa/keyed fiddle... *ggg* )
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:18 pm
I've been to the most wonderful concert yesterday, Swedish Folk string trio Väsen. The music was so beautiful, and it felt so much like Middle-earth, too. (now I need to figure out
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:17 pm
Nice to see you popping in here, fadesintothewest! *waves* *waves generally around, too* Hope everybody else is doing well enough.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 10:53 am
Hope you do, too, Fadesintothewest :) Good to see you!
Fadesintothewest
10/15/18 09:27 am
Just wanted to say hello. I know things are slowed down right now. I wish I could be more present but work. Looking forward to participating more soon!!!
Spiced Wine
10/14/18 12:23 pm
Sign of a good fic, if you ask me :)
Narya
10/13/18 11:23 pm
:D this fic keeps mutating. So far it's sprouted four OCs and an unexpected plot twist which impacts stories that come chronologically later in the series...it's a nightmare but I love it!
Shout Archive



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2015 23:00 · For: Chapter 3
Loved this story. From the action scenes to Elladans's amusing love story.
Legolas and Glorfindel were both to blame in their relationship problems which is very realistic. Glorfindel because he assumed superiority due to his age and failed to treat Legolas as his equal and Legolas for not speaking up about issues he had which meant they continued to grow.

Loved it all!

Author's Response:

Thanks, Cheekybeak! Legolas and Glorfindel aren't my usual pairing, much as I love them together, so I'm glad this story worked for you. I had a lot of fun writing it, and always love to hear that others have enjoyed reading it :)



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 03, 2011 19:11 · For: Chapter 3
This is a great story. The difference between Legolas and Glorfindel, the strife and make up. The binding at the end. And of course the action sprinkled through it all, keeping it from being "just another silly romance story". Well done.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it, especially the action. My stories are usually too short to include much in the way of action, so I enjoyed writing this longer tale that gave more scope to try something a bit different :)

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2011 15:09 · For: Chapter 3
I quite enjoyed the story. I liked your Legolas and Glorfindel as they both have their flaws. I'm in awe of Glorfindel's patience with Legolas temper and I can understand very well why Legolas would be hesitant to speak about his discontent with Glorfindel. Oh, and I liked the action sequences very much!
Tinara

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed this, and that you liked Legolas and Glorfindel despite their flaws.

Glorfindel doesn't mind Legolas' temper - he enjoys the making up so much ;)



Name: IgnobleBard (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2011 4:58 · For: Chapter 3
This is just the kind of story I like, with action, romance, and the kind of characters I enjoy spending time with. The personalities of Legolas and Glorfindel really shine through, and the resolution is sweet and satisfying. An excellent read.

Author's Response:

Oh thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed this. I'm not so used to writing Legolas with Glorfindel, although it's one of my favourite pairings, so I'm glad the characters came across as convincing to you.

Thanks for the lovely review :)



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: July 10, 2011 13:30 · For: Chapter 3
This is a magnificent story. It has humour, romance, drama - all pulled together with a wonderful narrative style that had be laughing, angry, sad, then happy. This is indeed what Tolkien meant in his definition of a 'faerie story'.

Author's Response:

Thank you - I'm so glad you liked it, and that it brought out all those different emotions in you. Your lovely review has really made my day :)



Name: Esteliel (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2011 16:59 · For: Chapter 3
This is such a beautiful story, and one that made me incredibly happy when the SV stories were revealed! I love everything about it: the way you handle Glorfindel and Legolas and their differences, their feelings for each other, Legolas' marvelous rescue mission and Glorfindel's fear for him - and of course, their reconciliation. It's absolutely perfect, and I'm so glad to see it on here too!

Author's Response:

How could I not post this story on your site! Glorfindel/Legolas is a pairing I'm very fond of, so it was a joy to write this. I've always been intrigued by how a large age gap would affect a relationship with elves, so your request gave me the ideal opportunity to explore it.

Thanks for reviewing :)

P.S. I've got another G/L story to post here that I put up on my LJ a couple of Christmases ago, and another one in the pipeline. I love this archive :)



Name: Tamid Levad (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2011 15:44 · For: Chapter 3
:D Such a sweet ending!

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad the ending made you happy :) Thank you for reviewing.



Name: Tamid Levad (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2011 15:37 · For: Chapter 2
Ooh, the tension :D And yay for Elladan and Talagan! (Even if his delicious behind distracts the hapless Peredhil ;))

Author's Response:

*snort* I'm glad you enjoyed that bit! I just couldn't resist giving Elladan some of the action too :)



Name: Tamid Levad (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2011 15:32 · For: Chapter 1
Really interesting idea, how it would play out if Legolas had a lover when he falls under the sea-longing :) Can't wait to see how this plays out!

Author's Response:

Thank you. I'm glad you like it so far. I've always considered that one of the reasons Legolas moved to ithilien was to be closer to the sea. In the end I didn't explore the sea-longing aspect of the story as much as I would have liked. It will be something for a future tale!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2011 15:03 · For: Chapter 3
Oh, this was very well done! You did not skimp on the difficulties Glorfindel faced; it was very honest and thought-provoking, and at the end, joyful!

Author's Response:

Oh thank you! I'm glad you found it convincing. And I'm always one for happy endings :)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2011 14:01 · For: Chapter 2
This is interesting -- to see the kind of chinks that can open in a relationship between two people who love one another deeply, but are both warriors, both experienced, but one younger than the other. Of course Glorfindel cannot but feel protective, but it is where that becomes interference that the fault-line widens.

Author's Response:

Yes, I've always felt that a relationship between an ancient elf and a younger one would be very difficult, because of the huge gap in experience that would always exist. That's what I wanted to explore here - whether Glorfindel would ever be able to see Legolas as his equal. Because of course however much Legolas loves him, he would never settle for less than equality in the relationship.

Thank you for reviewing :)

 



You must login () to review.