| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
~ A Crown of Ash ~ by Spiced Wine General Audiences
Set directly after A Throne of Shadows, with the Clouds now gutted by fire, events move to the north-west of Scotland. The...
Half-brothers in heart, full brothers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. A romance.
A Man of Constant Sorrow by NelyafinweFeanorion General Audiences
Summary:Modern AU where Maglor lives and works in New York City as a bartender and musician. He fills his days with work...
Gentle yearning of the heart by FirstAmazon General Audiences
"Then the waves hunted us like living things filled with malice, and the lightnings smote us; and when we were broken down...
What We May Become by Narya Mature
"Love is begun by time And time qualifies the spark and fire of it..."  - Hamlet, William Shakespeare. * The story...
Sugar And Spice by Narya General Audiences
Modern AU. Elfhild is at the Arda Games in Dol Amroth as Rohan's reserve for the equestrian cross country event - though...

Site Info

Members: 516
Series: 98
Stories: 1841
Chapters: 9301
Word count: 28462775
Authors: 144
Reviews: 17203
Reviewers: 229
Newest Member: Caranor
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 54
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 20
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/18/20 04:51 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:14 pm
So if you copy that link and paste it in a browser it takes you to the image, (lovely!) but it doesn’t look like a link from a host site due to the http
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:13 pm
wait a sec
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:08 pm
this tinyMCE WYSWYG option is the rich text
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:07 pm
It depends if you’re using HTML links or rich text — which do you post in on here?
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 04:13 pm
The links don’t actually link or show anything. They just clog the note up with text ????
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 04:06 pm
@Spiced Wine—I tried to add a link to hosting site last night but it didn’t work. I added a link to Narya’s tumblr post in the fic notes but not sure that’s working either
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 09:58 am
@Nelya — did you work it out? I can do it, if you like. You need to upload it to a hosting site and then get the link and post that
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 05:23 am
I've just posted my first story in a year for TRSB with Narya as my art partner! I couldn't figure out how to post the art link here :(
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 05:22 am
Hi everyone! Just logged back in after an extremely long absence. Hope all are well.
Shout Archive



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: July 24, 2016 12:04 · For: Chapter 1
Ha! That's exactly what I wrote, that after the Balrog, Legolas would feel there were others who should have gone in his stead....particularly Glorfindel, actually in that story Glorfindel rather thought he should have gone himself and was ever so slightly unreasonable.

Anyway that's by the by, what I wanted to know was....is it Maglor from "The World Breaks Everyone" or another version? I mean is it insane, slightly unhinged and a bit creepy Maglor riding with the twins? Actually I can't imagine that version of Maglor surviving the loss of Maedhros....but maybe he does?

Oh and then I thought about your Erestor going with the fellowship....you know, because of who he actually is, Finweion and all. Now that would be something, Fingolfin's son in the Fellowship!

Have to tell myself to stop it....lots of thoughts of why Erestor would be in Imladris with Elrond while Maglor rode with the twins....I had never taken the Erestor/Maglor thing out that far!

Author's Response:

Nope, this Maglor isn't from the World breaks Everyone. Different version, who has his own backstory. Did I ever mention that my to-write list is reaaaally long? that's one reason. But you're pointing out issues that I can't talk about yet without spoilering everything. But perhaps I write more than one version of what happens in the future with insane!Maglor and Argon!Erestor. The possebilities are simple too great to choose just one.

As for Legolas ... Tolkien deemed Glorfindel too powerful. He would've overshadowed Aragorn. In one fic I once read that Legolas was the least likely elf to take the ring. Since he is from Mirkwood he has no history with it and Sauron is reason why he wishes to protect his people in the first place. So he's a bit like Frodo. There ring can't really offer him anything. And until he met the Balrog he had no reason to believe he could need more power.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: July 11, 2016 13:02 · For: Chapter 1

I thought all through Feanor’s discussion with Leoglas that it was Maglor!  You took me by surprise on that one, but when I saw it was Feanor :squeals:  And then to see him interacting with Galadriel, and more: to see them working together!  That was a treat.  I really like their parting conversation too.  Yes, I think death would defiantly have changed Feanor, especially dying the way he did: in failure, leaving such heavy shackles about his sons’ wrists to bear.

I enjoyed your take on Legolas.  I can totally see him volunteering for the quest as a form of rebellion against his father.  I wonder if they ever reconcile after the war?  Probably, just as death changes a person, so too would an experience like that.

 

And I really loved your idea for the star glass!  It certainly is a puzzle how the glass contained the like of the Silmaril, but this is a good explanation.



Author's Response:

Oh yes, my main reasoning for writing the fic to give Galadriel aid during the ring war. It's often written as her final test so that she's allowed to go west. But Feanor isn't having it. His niece suffered to much and feels abadoned by the Valar - which he can relate to - so he HAS to do something. It's not much but he knows his presence helps. And death changed him into the being he was supposed to be. Time allowed the anger to subside and make peace with the fact there was little what could've prevented the circumstances that lead to the First Age.

Hm, I didn't even wonder about Legolas meeting with Thranduil after. I guess it entirely depends on Thranduil, if mellows after the Ring War but giving the fact that Legolas moves to Ithilien and goes West after Estel's death with a dwarf ... I think not? They weren't close before and if Thranduil admits that his child is an adult now who can has his own opinions, then they can hold a civil conversation but I can also see it happening that Legolas dislikes the way Thranduil clings to the Old Ways (aka Prejudge against Everything that is Noldor). Hm, new material :D

Well, the Light of Eärendil had to come from somewhere. And gathering that light has been a theme for an eternity! Nothing short of Feanor could've managed that feat - though I think Celebrimbor succeeded with the rings somewhat. Especially since I recently read a version where Feanor creates the Silmarils via singing and Eru gifts him with something that is taken from the Flame Imperishable. (No wonder Melkor was SO MAD at Feanor)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: July 10, 2016 20:40 · For: Chapter 1
New story! Yay!
Well I love Legolas...but only the right kind of Legolas. I don't like a lot of fanfiction Legolas. Guess I am just fussy, and I am not sure I even manage to write him how I Like him myself.

His reaction to the Balrog has fascinated me recently. I even wrote about it myself a couple of months ago...and as the motivation to close the gap between him and Gimli. It just feels like it must has been a truly significant moment for him, not just because Gandalf dies as most focus on, but for what that meeting meant for him, elven history wise. I feel he might have seen it as a huge failure on his behalf and feel unworthy.

So I guess what I am saying is I like your interpretation of how it affects him.

Spirit Fëanor! Well, well, well. Spirit Fëanor gently meddling in the fellowship....well guiding more than meddling....that is an interesting concept. I wonder if this is the only moment he does that? Is he restricted to Elven enclaves or does he roam the world. He does feel very healed here. Slightly un-Feanor as we usually know him.....which is mad and tortured of course.

And Maglor is riding with the Dunedain and the Twins? Is he doing that openly or hiding in the shadow? I guess what I mean is...do the Twins know he is there?

Lots of questions as always!
P.s. I don't have your email....probably a good thing. Saves you for endless Maedhros/Nelyo/Maglor speculation.

Author's Response:

You speak from the bottom of my heart. I dislike Legolas in most fics. And your reasoning that Legolas felt unworthy in the face of the Balrog, was exactly like mine. Espcially since there were so many other Elfs which could've taken his spot. People like Glorfindel. (Erestor was a candidate as well. Originally he was supposed to go in Pippin's place!) As young as he is, that confrontation affected him.

Hence Feanor! He tries as best as he can even if he doesn't have much influence. Usually he only can reach out to Galadriel. Elrond sometimes. Mostly via Irmo's realm but he can watch the world close up if he wants. But it gets tiring to be just a bystander. The light of the Silmaril bridged the real solid world with the one he lives in.

And yes, Maglor is riding with the twins. Well spotted. (And yes the twins know who he is) I entertained the idea before, just never had to time to use it. Will do one day.

Email is, by the way, ju.mclia@gmail.com ... ask ahead :)



Name: Urloth (Signed) · Date: July 10, 2016 12:46 · For: Chapter 1

Oh I just loved this a lot. So much pathos. Brilliant characterisations.



Author's Response:

*bursts with joy and pride* Thank you. It means a lot to me, especially coming from you. Love you works.



You must login () to review.