| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. The story of how the black arrow that killed Smaug came to Bard. 'Black...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7886
Word count: 23416547
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13819
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:04 am
I'm bad at keeping up w tv, but I support anything that inspires you to write eomer more, ziggy!
curiouswombat
03/18/17 01:07 am
Oh - please do...
ziggy
03/17/17 11:53 pm
Yes- that is EXACTLY right!! I might have to write Eomer a bit more:)
curiouswombat
03/17/17 11:02 pm
Ziggy - I keep wanting to pinch the characters and turn them into Rohirrim....
Shout Archive



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2016 0:23 · For: Chapter 1

Lovely- you get that sense of really alien thinking and yet abslutely adore him at the same time. Love your Gimli. 



Author's Response: Adore him, indeed! I am glad legolas comes off as believable and likable in this short piece. I personally love gimli, so I am glad that my characterization of him makes sense to others. I really appreciate, ziggy, that you have taken the time to read and review! :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2016 0:18 · For: Chapter 1

'What have you been doing?'

'Being.'

Ha - yes! The perfect Wood-elf answer!

Wonderful story. I like the concept that for Legolas to be friends with a mortal, it must feel like being on a constant count-down to their death. No wonder the poor elf needs to go and be in his woods on occasion.



Author's Response: I am so glad you liked that moment about "being"! It almost didn't make the cut on revision but now I am very glad I kept it in. It does seem very "wood-elf," somehow. :) thank you, Naledi, for taking the time to read and write a review for this little piece!


Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: May 28, 2016 22:58 · For: Chapter 1

Well, I can’t believe it.

UnnamedElement Elizabeth (are you going to change that, by the way, am thinking of a name, or gonna make that kind of your trademark, you think?). Only ask because I’m starting to think of you as that, and if you change it, I may not be able to find your stories again! Lol. Anyway, you’ve done it again. I just can’t believe how lovely this was!

It painted such a pretty picture, the hair coming out of Legolas’ braid and into his face…Legolas wrinkling his nose…*sighs*…I fear that particular image is gonna stick with me a long while. ‘He is sickening, yet I love him for it’… absolutely captures Gimli and his real concern and love for him, yet inability to show it. At least Legolas knows him well enough now to see what he really feels. I think that’s all it took for them, bridging the gap. .. Just knowing that they sailed together is such a happy thought.

Sooo… do you have any stories posted on other sites? And if so, under what pseudonym? I’d love to read them. Faerie says there’s only two on here. This story is simply beautiful, and it deserves to be read!D Have a great day, and sorry for rambling on!  

 

 

 



Author's Response: I will not be changing my screenname. I've been using it for about 10 years and can't imagine going by anything else. I write under the same pseudonym on one other site (about 16 LotR stories); the link can be found listed as my "website" on my profile. And I am so pleased to hear that you liked the images, and Gimli's rapport with Legolas--gimli holds an exceptionally special place in my heart. Thank you, Arasa, for always always taking the time to write a review!


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: May 28, 2016 21:12 · For: Chapter 1
I have already reviewed and favorited this tale on another site because it really is a beautiful piece, and deserves tons of reviews. And even if you don't get them, the story is still superb.

Author's Response: Your kind words about this piece mean a lot to me. I really enjoyed writing this one-shot and have been pleased that other people have been able to connect to it as much as I have. Thank you (again), Alpha, for taking the time to leave a review.


You must login () to review.