| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8482
Word count: 25720926
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15748
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Alquien
06/22/18 11:30 pm
Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble with live journal?
Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Narya
06/20/18 06:15 pm
I look forwards to catching up with you and your stories when I come back <3
Narya
06/20/18 06:14 pm
Hey guys! Just to let you know I'm going camping for ten days; if you don't see me online, don't think I've abandoned you all, I just won't have internet ;)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Brothers

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2017 14:06 · For: Chapter 1
Oh, I love this! I'd never really thought much about Legolas's relationship with Boromir, but it makes sense that they would be friends after all that time on the road - albeit with all the complexities of Boromir's desire for the ring. And of course Legolas's comment about ensuring Faramir doesn't lose his brother is a bitter moment for the reader, because we all know what comes later.

I loved the meeting with Faramir too, and the echoes of the story's opening conversation with Boromir. The relationship between the Elf and the man is drawn beautifully; I like that Faramir helps Legolas realise how important he is to Legolas, and that Legolas gives Faramir the beginnings of the confidence he needs.

Author's Response:

Legolas and Faramir work well together I think in Ithilien. This is the beginning of a long friendship. I liked describing the effect Legolas had on both these men, his otherworldlyness. The way they both saw him as something special and ethereal. This Legolas has suffered the traumatic loss of his own brother when he was young. That is described in one of the other stories. It has caused him much pain that he failed to protect Faramir from suffering the same grief. 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 2:14 · For: Chapter 1

Oh I really liked this!  It had a lot of sorrow, but the promise of healing at the end too.  Boromir is my favorite Mortal in all of the Middle-earth, so I am so so happy to see the way you wrote him (it’s such a frustration of mind how he’s so often vilified!).  And Legolas having a brother!  And Aragon not even knowing!  I really like the way you wrote Leoglas here, I especially like to see him from the eyes of Mortals; he’s so otherworldly.  That scene when Boromir sees him by the stream was so gorgeously written!

 

I hope you are doing well, and thanks so much for sharing this :hugs:



Author's Response:

Hi! Glad you liked this. 

This is from my non slash universe which I publish under another name on Ffnet.

Legolas in this is young (comparatively) and unused to mortals. He has little experience outside of his woods and didn't know Aragorn before the quest. The story of their first meeting is in "Lost in Translation"

 

And yes, he has a brother. When I wrote this all I knew was his brother was older and had died. I have since discovered that death was a traumatic mess and left Legolas with a heap of undealt with scars. I wrote that in "Darkness in your Heart." But you might not like that story. It is my experiment with writing a female OC and trying to make her believable......and hopefully not a "Legolomance" In the end it became all about his brother's death, the fallout from that, conflict with Aragorn and a romantic relationship that is disintegrating because of appalling communication. 

 

So yeah, his brothers back story can be found there. :-)

 

P.S. I have another Boromir/Legolas story in my head. I also think Boromir gets a really bad deal. Will write it one day!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2016 16:46 · For: Chapter 1

Thank you for posting this, Cheeky - I love it! You've given a really strong sense of Legolas's otherness, here--how he puzzles, infuriates and yet draws others in. I really liked the comparison between Legolas's and Faramir's situations as younger sons suddenly expected to step into the elder's shoes. I'm glad Legolas was able to offer Faramir some comfort.

I had to smile at the mention of the sons of Elrond always glaring. I expect it's because Legolas has another lover in this universe and Elrohir is all jealous and making Elladan suffer as a result :)



Author's Response: Glad you liked it. I really should have posted it before the other story, because it helps show how Legolas feels about his brother's death and also the beginning of his relationship with Faramir.....who is about to appear in the next chapter. Ha, ha, Glaring sons of Elrond....of course that's why! Elrohir is steaming with jealousy and unrequited love. Elladan is sick to death of hearing about it....endlessly...


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2016 15:05 · For: Chapter 1

I am so glad you posted this - I found it a fascinating insight into them all, not just Faramir and Legolas, but Boromir and Aragorn, too.



Author's Response: Thank you! It was you who got me thinking about Boromir in the first place. I meant to put that in the Chapter notes but forgot....by saying Legolas and Boromir had similarities.....that is where this story came from, as so as a result "The Darkness in Your Heart" also.. I am glad you liked it. It is not quite as good as Boromir seeing a naked Legolas in a waterfall and thinking he was a statue though!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 07, 2016 23:42 · For: Chapter 1

I think this is one of your very best, cheekybeak.It is absolutely delightful- full of a wonderful sense of Legolas as mercurial, enigmatic, mishcevious, brilliant and daring- and a rather uncertain Faramir. But I think I like the most the delicacy of the relatioship with Boromir. You make me want ot write those two together.

Lovely work



Author's Response: Thank you! I had forgotten all about this but then Naledi made a comment on the other story that reminded me I really should have posted this first so people could understand Legolas' thoughts on his brother. ..so here it is.... I was very nervous about writing Boromir, I had never written him before and he scared the pants off me. I am pleased you liked that part best. I was terrified I couldn't do Boromir justice! And then this......and Time Waits For No Man.....led into The Darkness in Your Heart story. I am shocking at writing something and then needing to wrote more....and more.....and more....need to stop doing that.


You must login () to review.