| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086592
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16050
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
09/22/18 01:00 pm
Not to worry Spiced! It was my fault for not submitting it in time. That's the consequences I guess. :)
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 10:03 am
Sorry, Gabriel I took that list from Kenaz’s LJ
Gabriel
09/22/18 05:43 am
I wish there was a delete button on this.
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Narya
09/21/18 06:59 pm
Ahh, Spiced, thank you <3 hope everyone has a lovely weekend planned!
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:10 pm
Okay it is up
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:03 pm
Okay :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Brothers

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2017 14:06 · For: Chapter 1
Oh, I love this! I'd never really thought much about Legolas's relationship with Boromir, but it makes sense that they would be friends after all that time on the road - albeit with all the complexities of Boromir's desire for the ring. And of course Legolas's comment about ensuring Faramir doesn't lose his brother is a bitter moment for the reader, because we all know what comes later.

I loved the meeting with Faramir too, and the echoes of the story's opening conversation with Boromir. The relationship between the Elf and the man is drawn beautifully; I like that Faramir helps Legolas realise how important he is to Legolas, and that Legolas gives Faramir the beginnings of the confidence he needs.

Author's Response:

Legolas and Faramir work well together I think in Ithilien. This is the beginning of a long friendship. I liked describing the effect Legolas had on both these men, his otherworldlyness. The way they both saw him as something special and ethereal. This Legolas has suffered the traumatic loss of his own brother when he was young. That is described in one of the other stories. It has caused him much pain that he failed to protect Faramir from suffering the same grief. 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 2:14 · For: Chapter 1

Oh I really liked this!  It had a lot of sorrow, but the promise of healing at the end too.  Boromir is my favorite Mortal in all of the Middle-earth, so I am so so happy to see the way you wrote him (it’s such a frustration of mind how he’s so often vilified!).  And Legolas having a brother!  And Aragon not even knowing!  I really like the way you wrote Leoglas here, I especially like to see him from the eyes of Mortals; he’s so otherworldly.  That scene when Boromir sees him by the stream was so gorgeously written!

 

I hope you are doing well, and thanks so much for sharing this :hugs:



Author's Response:

Hi! Glad you liked this. 

This is from my non slash universe which I publish under another name on Ffnet.

Legolas in this is young (comparatively) and unused to mortals. He has little experience outside of his woods and didn't know Aragorn before the quest. The story of their first meeting is in "Lost in Translation"

 

And yes, he has a brother. When I wrote this all I knew was his brother was older and had died. I have since discovered that death was a traumatic mess and left Legolas with a heap of undealt with scars. I wrote that in "Darkness in your Heart." But you might not like that story. It is my experiment with writing a female OC and trying to make her believable......and hopefully not a "Legolomance" In the end it became all about his brother's death, the fallout from that, conflict with Aragorn and a romantic relationship that is disintegrating because of appalling communication. 

 

So yeah, his brothers back story can be found there. :-)

 

P.S. I have another Boromir/Legolas story in my head. I also think Boromir gets a really bad deal. Will write it one day!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2016 16:46 · For: Chapter 1

Thank you for posting this, Cheeky - I love it! You've given a really strong sense of Legolas's otherness, here--how he puzzles, infuriates and yet draws others in. I really liked the comparison between Legolas's and Faramir's situations as younger sons suddenly expected to step into the elder's shoes. I'm glad Legolas was able to offer Faramir some comfort.

I had to smile at the mention of the sons of Elrond always glaring. I expect it's because Legolas has another lover in this universe and Elrohir is all jealous and making Elladan suffer as a result :)



Author's Response: Glad you liked it. I really should have posted it before the other story, because it helps show how Legolas feels about his brother's death and also the beginning of his relationship with Faramir.....who is about to appear in the next chapter. Ha, ha, Glaring sons of Elrond....of course that's why! Elrohir is steaming with jealousy and unrequited love. Elladan is sick to death of hearing about it....endlessly...


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2016 15:05 · For: Chapter 1

I am so glad you posted this - I found it a fascinating insight into them all, not just Faramir and Legolas, but Boromir and Aragorn, too.



Author's Response: Thank you! It was you who got me thinking about Boromir in the first place. I meant to put that in the Chapter notes but forgot....by saying Legolas and Boromir had similarities.....that is where this story came from, as so as a result "The Darkness in Your Heart" also.. I am glad you liked it. It is not quite as good as Boromir seeing a naked Legolas in a waterfall and thinking he was a statue though!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 07, 2016 23:42 · For: Chapter 1

I think this is one of your very best, cheekybeak.It is absolutely delightful- full of a wonderful sense of Legolas as mercurial, enigmatic, mishcevious, brilliant and daring- and a rather uncertain Faramir. But I think I like the most the delicacy of the relatioship with Boromir. You make me want ot write those two together.

Lovely work



Author's Response: Thank you! I had forgotten all about this but then Naledi made a comment on the other story that reminded me I really should have posted this first so people could understand Legolas' thoughts on his brother. ..so here it is.... I was very nervous about writing Boromir, I had never written him before and he scared the pants off me. I am pleased you liked that part best. I was terrified I couldn't do Boromir justice! And then this......and Time Waits For No Man.....led into The Darkness in Your Heart story. I am shocking at writing something and then needing to wrote more....and more.....and more....need to stop doing that.


You must login () to review.