| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14774
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 15
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Brothers

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2017 14:06 · For: Chapter 1
Oh, I love this! I'd never really thought much about Legolas's relationship with Boromir, but it makes sense that they would be friends after all that time on the road - albeit with all the complexities of Boromir's desire for the ring. And of course Legolas's comment about ensuring Faramir doesn't lose his brother is a bitter moment for the reader, because we all know what comes later.

I loved the meeting with Faramir too, and the echoes of the story's opening conversation with Boromir. The relationship between the Elf and the man is drawn beautifully; I like that Faramir helps Legolas realise how important he is to Legolas, and that Legolas gives Faramir the beginnings of the confidence he needs.

Author's Response:

Legolas and Faramir work well together I think in Ithilien. This is the beginning of a long friendship. I liked describing the effect Legolas had on both these men, his otherworldlyness. The way they both saw him as something special and ethereal. This Legolas has suffered the traumatic loss of his own brother when he was young. That is described in one of the other stories. It has caused him much pain that he failed to protect Faramir from suffering the same grief. 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 2:14 · For: Chapter 1

Oh I really liked this!  It had a lot of sorrow, but the promise of healing at the end too.  Boromir is my favorite Mortal in all of the Middle-earth, so I am so so happy to see the way you wrote him (it’s such a frustration of mind how he’s so often vilified!).  And Legolas having a brother!  And Aragon not even knowing!  I really like the way you wrote Leoglas here, I especially like to see him from the eyes of Mortals; he’s so otherworldly.  That scene when Boromir sees him by the stream was so gorgeously written!

 

I hope you are doing well, and thanks so much for sharing this :hugs:



Author's Response:

Hi! Glad you liked this. 

This is from my non slash universe which I publish under another name on Ffnet.

Legolas in this is young (comparatively) and unused to mortals. He has little experience outside of his woods and didn't know Aragorn before the quest. The story of their first meeting is in "Lost in Translation"

 

And yes, he has a brother. When I wrote this all I knew was his brother was older and had died. I have since discovered that death was a traumatic mess and left Legolas with a heap of undealt with scars. I wrote that in "Darkness in your Heart." But you might not like that story. It is my experiment with writing a female OC and trying to make her believable......and hopefully not a "Legolomance" In the end it became all about his brother's death, the fallout from that, conflict with Aragorn and a romantic relationship that is disintegrating because of appalling communication. 

 

So yeah, his brothers back story can be found there. :-)

 

P.S. I have another Boromir/Legolas story in my head. I also think Boromir gets a really bad deal. Will write it one day!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2016 16:46 · For: Chapter 1

Thank you for posting this, Cheeky - I love it! You've given a really strong sense of Legolas's otherness, here--how he puzzles, infuriates and yet draws others in. I really liked the comparison between Legolas's and Faramir's situations as younger sons suddenly expected to step into the elder's shoes. I'm glad Legolas was able to offer Faramir some comfort.

I had to smile at the mention of the sons of Elrond always glaring. I expect it's because Legolas has another lover in this universe and Elrohir is all jealous and making Elladan suffer as a result :)



Author's Response: Glad you liked it. I really should have posted it before the other story, because it helps show how Legolas feels about his brother's death and also the beginning of his relationship with Faramir.....who is about to appear in the next chapter. Ha, ha, Glaring sons of Elrond....of course that's why! Elrohir is steaming with jealousy and unrequited love. Elladan is sick to death of hearing about it....endlessly...


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2016 15:05 · For: Chapter 1

I am so glad you posted this - I found it a fascinating insight into them all, not just Faramir and Legolas, but Boromir and Aragorn, too.



Author's Response: Thank you! It was you who got me thinking about Boromir in the first place. I meant to put that in the Chapter notes but forgot....by saying Legolas and Boromir had similarities.....that is where this story came from, as so as a result "The Darkness in Your Heart" also.. I am glad you liked it. It is not quite as good as Boromir seeing a naked Legolas in a waterfall and thinking he was a statue though!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 07, 2016 23:42 · For: Chapter 1

I think this is one of your very best, cheekybeak.It is absolutely delightful- full of a wonderful sense of Legolas as mercurial, enigmatic, mishcevious, brilliant and daring- and a rather uncertain Faramir. But I think I like the most the delicacy of the relatioship with Boromir. You make me want ot write those two together.

Lovely work



Author's Response: Thank you! I had forgotten all about this but then Naledi made a comment on the other story that reminded me I really should have posted this first so people could understand Legolas' thoughts on his brother. ..so here it is.... I was very nervous about writing Boromir, I had never written him before and he scared the pants off me. I am pleased you liked that part best. I was terrified I couldn't do Boromir justice! And then this......and Time Waits For No Man.....led into The Darkness in Your Heart story. I am shocking at writing something and then needing to wrote more....and more.....and more....need to stop doing that.


You must login () to review.