| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Warning for explicit slash in this chapter. Not...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The FŽanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen
We Wll Be Who We Are by lotrfan General Audiences
The Army of Valinor has come to Beleriand. Maedhros and Maglor feel they must join in this battle against Morgoth but are...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8132
Word count: 24433648
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14673
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 2
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: September 11, 2016 23:30 · For: Chapter 30

A perfect end.  I do like Legolas with taste and dresss-sense!



Author's Response: Oh he does have dress sense when he chooses to use it! He is Thranduil's son after all. And the magnificence is all the more startling because he usually hides it! Thanks so much for all your lovely reviews :-)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 11, 2016 19:16 · For: Chapter 30

Yay! I loved this chapter. My favourite bit of all was when Thranduil calls Maewen 'daughter'. But there was so much else to love too. Especially Legolas's joy and inner light and how considerate he is to Maewen. I hope we see more of them another time. After all, there's still the matter of Legolas's inability to visit the Greenwood...

I really enjoyed this story, Cheeky and the ending was a wonderful finale. 



Author's Response: Glad you liked it. Just a bit of soppiness to end the story off! That moment with Thranduil was significant for Maewen. She struggles with the difference in class between her and Legolas although neither Legolas or Thranduil seem to consider it a problem...so that acceptance from him will hopefully help her. Thranduil's wife ditched him, remember, when they had problems after the death of his son. I think he respects Maewen for sticking in there and keeping on trying with the relationship even though she and Legolas have been struggling. Both Legolas and Maewen have come a long way....although he still has problems. Him more so than her now. The Greenwood thing does need to be sorted. Thanks for all the lovely, motivating reviews!!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2016 10:25 · For: Chapter 29

Ha! I should have known not everything would be resolved at once. It's one thing for Maewen to decide she mustn't be resentful, but Legolas's lack of communication has hurt her and she needs to tell him.

It's lovely to see Legolas and Thranduil so close, though. It is sad Legolas is hesitant to return to the Greenwood. It won't be all that long (in elf time) before he sails and then he'll never get to see it again. It would be terribly sad if he didn't allow himself to visit while he still can.

Finally, I can't help sharing Maewen's doubts about the wisdom of alllowing Legolas to take Eldarion into the woods. I mean...this is Legolas we're talking about. The angst magnet.



Author's Response: I missed this review! How did that even happen? Of course now you know how it all turns out. You made me laugh though with the last comment....Legolas the angst magnet, because he SO is. And when you see it like that well. What were Aragorn and Arwen thinking, letting him go into the forest with Eldarion!!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 26, 2016 21:01 · For: Chapter 28

I loved this chapter! Now Legolas has begun the healing process, he's finally getting to the root of his problems. The way Maewen understood and didn't judge was perfect. I can really see how right they are for each other now. Id love to see another story of Legolas's reunion with his mother and maybe even Laerion.



Author's Response: Oh,you just made my day! In the middle of this story I had people begging me to split these guys up because they thought they were a disaster together....and they were, but that was not really the truth of the two of them together. Now you can see what they can be like. So glad you caught that! Hopefully now it makes sense why they persisted in struggling to stay together when they were so toxic with each other. They knew how good they could be. I have a Laerion/Legolas story in my head to write as a sequel to this, so that's definitely happening.....didn't think of including his mother....hmm another interesting possibility


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 25, 2016 9:21 · For: Chapter 27

At last! Thranduil is telling Legolas what he needs to hear. I'm guessing it will take a while to sink in fully, seeing as he's held onto the lies for so long, but at last his eyes have been opened. Poor Thranduil - he kept silent because he didn't want Legolas to hate him, only to discover it caused his son to turn that hatred against himself. I think they both need a long holiday in Ithilien to heal. And Maewen, of course. I hope she feels included in the family.



Author's Response: I know! A conversation they should have had years and years ago. I guess Thranduil should have worked out Legolas would be blaming himself but I think he just didn't want to acknowledge that.....and was frightened he would lose his son if they had this heart to heart. So better late than never. I think Thranduil will be very aware of Maewen's importance to Legolas. He has suffered from losing his wife after all...and Legolas has been brave enough to admit to problems with Maewen so Thranduil will be on alert for that.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2016 22:16 · For: Chapter 26

Aha! I knew Thranduil had come of his own accord. Thank goodness Maewen talked him out of storming in, throwing accusations at Erynion. I love Thranduil here. Now maybe he can talk some sense into Legolas!



Author's Response: Of course! Legolas and Maewen were totally fooling themselves if they thought they could ever pull the wool over Thranduil's eyes as to how bad Taenor's death effected Legolas. As if, given Legolas' other circumstances, he would ever have read that and gone..."oh well" Glad you like Thranduil, he is a fine balance between being imposing and slightly scary, and loving his son. Hard to get right I am finding!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2016 11:59 · For: Chapter 26

More chapters!  Thank you.

And how good to see Thranduil even if he scares the living daylights out of half the inhabitants; Legolas really needs his Ada right now I think.



Author's Response: Thranduil does make them all a bit nervous....even Legolas! But you are right. Legolas needs him and has needed him for quite a while now I think! Maybe he will listen to his father!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2016 0:09 · For: Chapter 24

It is good to see him and Maewen finally moving in the same direction - and this reliving of his brother's death will be painful but, perhaps, cathartic.



Author's Response: Yeah, you are right...very painful, but something that had to happen for him to move forward. It was Aragorn's plan all along to force this on him. Could have gone horribly wrong tho so rather risky!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2016 16:53 · For: Chapter 25

Another update - yay! And just for a moment, I actually liked Aragorn:

"In truth, I envy you your silvan nature, your ability to see joy in the simplest of things, the way you feel the world around us. Through your eyes I get a glimpse of something marvellous, something that would otherwise pass me by. I bear a heavy weight and sometimes it feels as if the very life is crushed out of me. Then you will arrive, all joy and light, a breath of fresh air, a conduit to a better place, a more satisfying life. You uplift me. You help me remember my true self, the Estel I used to be.

Legolas needed to hear that so much and from someone who wasn't 'supposed' to love him. You actually made me shed a tear or two!

But best of all...Thranduil's here. Double yay! I think Legolas needs to talk to Thranduil about Laerion, now the good memories have been freed again, and really get it into his thick skull that what happened wasn't his fault.

 



Author's Response: Oh! I feel as if I achieved something if Aragorn won you over a little bit. :-) He really did step up to the plate here. Legolas DID need to hear this. He sees the silvan side of himself far too negatively and is always measuring himself against his missing brother, (who has become a bit godlike to him), and thinking he is not as good. Legolas never knew his brother as an adult, he was only just old enough to fight when Laerion died. So he sees him forever through a hero-worshipping younger brothers eyes. He didn't ever know a lot of his brothers negatives. People have been clamouring for me to bring Thranduil into things for ages! So here he is. Let's see what light Thranduil can shed on what really happened during and after the death of his son.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2016 1:15 · For: Chapter 24

Oh, this is heartbreaking:

I search for his fea in desperation. Always the touch of that soul has been with me. Now it is gone, entirely and completely gone. In its place is a ragged empty hole of blackness and I cannot feel him, I cannot feel him!

I was all set to slap Aragorn a bit more, but it's been apparent for a while that there is more to Legolas's grief than losing Taenor. Maybe if he can finally face up to his brother's loss, he can heal fully at last. If coming here is the catalyst then maybe it's not such a bad thing after all. 

I love Legolas's reawakened love, too. Although he should be ashamed it took Gimli to point out Maewen's disappearance. It's good that he's doing his best to make up for his short comings, though. 



Author's Response: Poor sweet dreamy Legolas, his tendency to distraction really is his weakness. Floating along in his happy bubble of love and completely forgetting Maewen altogether! At least, as you say, he tried to make up for it. Now you see what Aragorn was aiming for. Forcing the issue, creating a breakdown that would make Legolas face up to a lot he has been running from for a long time. A very risky business to try. We still have to see if it pays off or causes an even bigger mess.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2016 1:00 · For: Chapter 23

*slaps Aragorn around the face with each word* Stop abusing Legolas's friendship! He's not your subject! 

Honestly, anyone with an ounce of compassion would see that it's cruel to expect Legolas to revisit the site of Taenor's death. I suppose the request did give Maewen a chance to declare her love in no uncertain terms. I just hope she got through to him this time. 



Author's Response: Ha, ha, you are so funny!! I know you think as little of book Aragorn as I do. However he does have an ulterior motive here...to be devils advocate.....but at this point, yes, it seems he is being quite callous. Maewen finally, finally, said some things she should really have said years ago! Did they get through Legolas' inability to listen properly? We will see in the next chapter!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2016 20:21 · For: Chapter 22

I hope Legolas and Maewen get their happy ending - but I can see them having another misunderstanding or two yet.... even if Aragorn and Legolas are back on speaking terms now!



Author's Response: To tell the truth I haven't 100% decided on Legolas and Maewen's fate yet. I change my mind with every chapter I write! So maybe the happy ending is not so definite yet!!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2016 15:43 · For: Chapter 22

Yes, Legolas, all is fine, apart from that huge, looming lump of denial stuck in your head! Still, it's good they've made up for now and all will be well until the next mood change!



Author's Response: Ha, ha, it is like a sentance of doom isn't it....all will be fine.....or not! Total denial. He is being more like Eleohir than Legolas today.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2016 11:53 · For: Chapter 22

Ha!  I know you too well by now, Cheekybeak; it won't last...  :P



Author's Response: I am so hurt! Where is your faith, your trust in my good nature.....I usually manage to scramble together a happy ending, don't I? Well apart from Ties that Bind Us, that wasn't happy.....oh ok, maybe you are right!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2016 22:22 · For: Chapter 21

Gaah! I'd hoped being in Ithilien might help, but Legolas is so tetchy it's going to take a miracle to salvage his and Aragorn's friendship. Okay, tetchy is an understatement! Where's this anger suddenly come from? He seemed much better when Maewen was with him to greet Aragorn. I'm dreading what he's going to do next...



Author's Response: Oh I am glad you picked up on the anger! That's significant :-) All will be revealed.....eventually. As for him and Aragorn.....well we just have to hope Aragorn has enough sense not to stuff this up. Surely he has learned some Legolas manipulation skills after all this time!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 30, 2016 23:33 · For: Chapter 21

Oh Legolas sometimes you can be such a... a ... Woodelf! 

I am sure there are times when you are very like Oropher.



Author's Response: Oh he is! That is exactly who he is like and he struggles with it. That mixture of pride and a hot temper gets him into trouble. But you've got to have a character flaw though...right? So you can grow. So glad you thought this!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 16, 2016 18:03 · For: Chapter 19

Oh dear... I think she was right to tell Gimli, and right to stay apart a little to avoid them hurting each other when they are both so stressed - but it doesn't make it any easier!



Author's Response: Yes she was right on both counts....but sometimes you are damned if you do, damned if you don't! Let's hope Aragorn can sort this mess out because Maewen and Legolas are getting nowhere fast at the moment.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2016 23:35 · For: Chapter 20

Ah - another layer of Legolas's mental state has been revealed - he blames himself for his mother's departure. I hope Aragorn can help, but I still think the best person to help has to be his father. 



Author's Response: Yeah, once I opened up Legolas' head I found all these other issues hiding in there. The guys a mess. He needs Elrohir to come along and sort him out....seriously! Aragorn does have his work cut out for him here. And how can he help when he doesn't know about half these issues??? As you say....why the hell didn't they call Thranduil in the first place?


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2016 22:59 · For: Chapter 19

Although it's going to cause trouble between them, I'm relieved Maewen has confessed what she's told Gimli. I think it's important there are no more secrets between them. But it's worrying Legolas has no memory of his fugue state after Taenor's death. I wonder what that means. 



Author's Response: Yes. Absolutely! She needed to tell him this. She was right to tell Gimli but she needs to stop being afraid of the consequences to their relationship when she is trying to help him. And they have all been happily assuming Legolas knew exactly how messed up he was after Taenor's death and he didn't. How will we find out what it means? Maybe a glimpse inside Legolas' head is what we need.......


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2016 22:51 · For: Chapter 18

Nooooooooo! 

I seem to say that a lot in reviews to your fics! How am I supposed to cope with a separated Legolas and Maewen here when you've separated Legolas and Elrohir in your other universe? Oh, this is just too sad :(

At least you've posted more chapters, although I fear it's going to get much worse...



Author's Response: Sorry! Seem to be going through a break them up phase at the moment! But these two have been struggling for a long time and really are quite dysfunctional....can they really let each other go?


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2016 23:33 · For: Chapter 17

Hurrah for Gimli! If Thranduil's not available, Gimli's the next best bet. He could certainly teach the elves a thing or two about managing Legolas. 

Oh, but Maewen, no good can come of eavesdropping. I've got a bad feeling about this...



Author's Response: How did I miss replying to this? Yes, Giml is an excellent Legolas manager. But as for Maewen....well it is all about to get worse...


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2016 12:48 · For: Chapter 17

Oh lass you will get caught...



Author's Response: Oh yes, yes indeed! Not her best moment!!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2016 12:43 · For: Chapter 16

**I am haunted by visions of Legolas on the Dead Marshes.**

Me too.  I had not thought of it, but now I can imagine him, and the twins, there very easily.

By the way - I didn't notice the updates because, would you believe, I had mamanged to delete the new link rather than the old one from my favourites list!!



Author's Response: Yeah it seemed to me they would do that. Take themselves off on a pilgrimage of some sort to pay respects and I imagine it to be just the elves, no Gimli, no Aragorn. A truly elvish thing. ...I did the same thing initially...lost the new link! There was a brief moment of panic!!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2016 20:46 · For: Chapter 16

Legolas went to the Dead Marshes? Oh my gosh, Cheeky, you're making me cry. It's a good thing Legolas joked about the Elrondionath practising fierce looks or I'd be a total mess. They do, naturally,  practise being fierce. They also practise sweeping out of a room with billowing cloaks :)



Author's Response: Oh yes! I can just see that. Billowing cloak practise!! Absolutely. They probably rate each other on a scale of 1 to 10. 10 being awe inspiring billowing, and 1, barely a flutter. But yeah, poor Legolas putting himself through that. But I think he felt it was a bit of a pilgrimage, a journey of respect. Just as well those strange fierce Sons of Elrond accompanied him.


Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2016 19:08 · For: Chapter 15

Yes! Now that I think of it, Gimli might be just what he needs. Maewen's willingness to sacrifice for him now could be too. After all this time, pulling her head out of the sand could help him much more than just pretending everything's all right. I loved the last  end scene with Legolas in their rooms, btw. Maybe the next time Maewen gets so angry with him, she can remember him like that.(

Anyways you're spoiling me with all these updates! I almost didn't notice this new chapter out 'cause i thought it was on the 'recent list' for the last chapter. My Monday is a better place! 

 



Author's Response: Gimli will cut through all the crap! He is very forthright and to the point. A good choice I think. And yes, Maewen needs to get over herself, stop hiding away from things she doesn't want to hear and face up to some of Legolas' experiences. You are right, she does need to remember Legolas' vulnerablity at the times when he is being unreasonable. Next chapter is a few days away...so hopefully you won't miss it!


You must login () to review.