| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. The story of how the black arrow that killed Smaug came to Bard. 'Black...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7886
Word count: 23416547
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13821
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 2
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:04 am
I'm bad at keeping up w tv, but I support anything that inspires you to write eomer more, ziggy!
curiouswombat
03/18/17 01:07 am
Oh - please do...
ziggy
03/17/17 11:53 pm
Yes- that is EXACTLY right!! I might have to write Eomer a bit more:)
curiouswombat
03/17/17 11:02 pm
Ziggy - I keep wanting to pinch the characters and turn them into Rohirrim....
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2016 0:49 · For: Chapter 1

My god, I am tearing up over this.  It is just so beautiful.   It is full of the shadow of the coming mourning and yet joy as well.  Have I told you yet that I adore the way you are writing their friendship?  I have never been really into Aragon and Legolas’ friendship before; it was always just a thing, but not one I was really moved one way or the other about.  Not until now.  You write it perfectly.  



Author's Response:

Oh you are such a great reviewer because you always get what I wanted the reader to get. Sorrow and joy, that's exactly the feelings I wanted to convey, because I see this friendship as a real tangle of both emotions, all of the time. 

So glad you like the friendship, it's something else I have got a lot of grief about...don't get me wrong, there are plenty of readers who love it, but the ones who don't are quite outspoken. I know it is not your standard Aragorn/Legolas friendship, because they have conflict...quite a bit of conflict and misunderstanding along the way because of their differences. But they still strive to maintain what they have and that's what counts. 

But there are some readers who think anything other than picture perfect skipping through the tulips friendship is a sacrilege. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 20, 2016 7:28 · For: Chapter 1

One of your best. Absolutely beautiful- full of emotion but subtle and poignant. Very very well written my dear.



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2016 6:32 · For: Chapter 1
Oh Cheekybeak this is absolutely stunning. Beautiful, melancholy, just so brilliantly done. It captures so much of the melancholy of loss that we experience and made so much more poignant through Elves, and here through Legolas and Aragorn. What a beautiful moment in time you caught, something that of course would be part of the psychology of elven/human relations. So lovely.

Author's Response: Thank you! What an amazing review to receive! It is melancholy but also hopeful and positive at the same time I hope. The eventual separation of these two is very sad.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2016 21:14 · For: Chapter 1

Wonderful, Cheeky! Congratulations on getting second place - it deserves first, in my opinion.

This Legolas would make a wonderful father and I love the part where he says he's taking notes about Aragorn so that Aragorn will continue, in some form, through Legolas's line.

 



Author's Response: He would make a good father wouldn't he. No matter what Thranduil thinks....obviously not my usual Legolas. No Elrohir angst here!


You must login () to review.