| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
~ A Crown of Ash ~ by Spiced Wine General Audiences
Set directly after A Throne of Shadows, with the Clouds now gutted by fire, events move to the north-west of Scotland. The...
Half-brothers in heart, full brothers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. A romance.
A Man of Constant Sorrow by NelyafinweFeanorion General Audiences
Summary:Modern AU where Maglor lives and works in New York City as a bartender and musician. He fills his days with work...
Gentle yearning of the heart by FirstAmazon General Audiences
"Then the waves hunted us like living things filled with malice, and the lightnings smote us; and when we were broken down...
What We May Become by Narya Mature
"Love is begun by time And time qualifies the spark and fire of it..."  - Hamlet, William Shakespeare. * The story...
Sugar And Spice by Narya General Audiences
Modern AU. Elfhild is at the Arda Games in Dol Amroth as Rohan's reserve for the equestrian cross country event - though...

Site Info

Members: 516
Series: 98
Stories: 1841
Chapters: 9301
Word count: 28462775
Authors: 144
Reviews: 17203
Reviewers: 229
Newest Member: Caranor
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 54
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 19
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/18/20 04:51 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:14 pm
So if you copy that link and paste it in a browser it takes you to the image, (lovely!) but it doesn’t look like a link from a host site due to the http
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:13 pm
wait a sec
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:08 pm
this tinyMCE WYSWYG option is the rich text
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:07 pm
It depends if you’re using HTML links or rich text — which do you post in on here?
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 04:13 pm
The links don’t actually link or show anything. They just clog the note up with text ????
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 04:06 pm
@Spiced Wine—I tried to add a link to hosting site last night but it didn’t work. I added a link to Narya’s tumblr post in the fic notes but not sure that’s working either
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 09:58 am
@Nelya — did you work it out? I can do it, if you like. You need to upload it to a hosting site and then get the link and post that
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 05:23 am
I've just posted my first story in a year for TRSB with Narya as my art partner! I couldn't figure out how to post the art link here :(
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 05:22 am
Hi everyone! Just logged back in after an extremely long absence. Hope all are well.
Shout Archive



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 07, 2016 2:24 · For: Chapter 4 Anglach's dwarf
Oh wow!! Loved this! Thranduil is magnificent.....as he should be of course.
LOVED the orcrist scene!!

Thorin is obnoxious as always. I loved how Anglach called him "it"

I guess you could argue Elrond "gave" Thorin orcrist. (Movie verse of course) and Elrond is strictly speaking, heir to Gondolin so maybe Thorin has a point but seriously.......Thranduil needs to have that sword!

I was a bit put out by Thranduil giving poor Thalos such a hard time. What a meanie! I am still though, worrying about Thalos. Thranduil should be too...If he knew you he would be!!

Fantastic chapter. Love you OC's SO much. They are so real and I care about them every bit as much as the "real" characters. I have started writing an OC for the very first time in my newest story and am suddenly realising how hard it is to do! She is not a patch on yours. I am in awe of you!!

Author's Response:

Yes- you COULD argue that, but Thorin chooses to be diffcult, and Thranduil might have given itback- but might have chosen to be difficult too. And that sword just needs ot be with Thranduil- although of course he gives it back at the end as you know.

Thranduil giving Thalos a hard time is one of those moments where leadership is about being hard on people to make sure they dont screw up when it really matters. And don't worry, Thrnaduil is still a very devoted dad- he will be anrgy with Thalos as his captain but anxious about his son too.

 

You say such lovely things, but I am more than confident your OC will be delightful!!

 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 06, 2016 23:58 · For: Chapter 4 Anglach's dwarf

It's always such a treat to get an update from you and this was wonderful. I love the power and presence of your Thranduil and I loved the glimpse into his heart - how difficult it is to send his sons into danger. 

So he's detected a power in his woods. I wonder how he will feel when Bilbo is in his halls....

I can't wait for more!



Author's Response:

Yes- you are absolutely right that Thranduil will feel the Ring there s that moment in the mive when he gives Bilbo a curt look - I liked that. Much oddness will start to happen no with the Ring wandering about teh stroghold:)



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2016 21:15 · For: Chapter 3 Feast of Winter Gathering
Ohhh, the elves version of the Hobbit. Looking at it from this side one can see why Thranduil was so angry at Galadhon for failing to keeping them away from the winter festival. At least the elves are being patient here and trying to steer the dwarfs away from the party.

And while all the dancing is going on around them, you are giving us hints and snippets about Legolas wishing he could meet the Sons of Thunder. He sounds so young and naive here talking to Thalos about going to Lothlorien or Imraldris to find soneome that he can love.

Love your description of the winter festival with the colored globes and fires dotting the grounds where the elves are eating and dancing. I feel the dizziness of Legolas drinking too much wine and watching the elves as they swirl around him. It's like a kaleidoscope of color and movement, very pretty but alien at the same time.

Glad to see this chapter, hoping more is on the way soon.

Author's Response:

So sorry I missed this one! I'm pleased you liked the description of the glade- glad especially it came across as a little alien- I like the idea tha thte elves are different from us, more dangerous indeed!!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 02, 2016 18:25 · For: Chapter 3 Feast of Winter Gathering

I loved this!

'She always liked them short,' came a voice. His older brother and captain, Thalos, stood behind him, and pushed a second cup filled with wine into Legolas' hand, his dark head close to Legolas'. 'If she waits a little longer, she can have her pick of a troop of dwarves that have been wandering about in the forest.

Hehehe - naughty Ziggy! That explains so much about Tauriel! I can't believe Legolas would have any trouble attracting whoever he wanted, though. I think his lovelorn act was just a ploy to lure some poor, unsuspecting elf! Nice to see his hero-worship of the Sons of Thunder already coming into play :)



Author's Response:

Couldn't resist a reference to Elrohir in this... I am very tempted tohave them swing by having helped drive off the Necromancer...



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 02, 2016 18:10 · For: Chapter 2

Ooh - 2 chapters - yay! What a lovely welcome back from my weekend away :) I enjoyed Anglach observing the dwarves in this chapter and how he helped them with the boat. I especially liked that insight into the Dwarves' Song. Of course, we know the Dwarves do indeed attract the spiders and what happens to them, but it's fun reading it from a different perspective.

Now on to the feast!



Author's Response:

So sorry ot have not replied sooner my dear!! Glad you liked Anglach- he is so sweet and a bit stupid. Hope you liked the next chapters too.x



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 10:30 · For: Chapter 3 Feast of Winter Gathering
What a beautiful scene-setting, Ziggy! But this was the Wood, not the Valley, and here the Elves sang and laughed and feasted for a purpose- to keep away the Dark and to rejoice in the Song, which was strong, and green and thick in the air tonight.

That is so beautifully poetic.

Poor Legolas. He really will have to travel far to find his lover!

It's wonderful seeing this from the Elves side, and I have to admit I am really sorry for the dwarves. They are just lost and hungry!

Author's Response:

I have been waiting ages to write this scene- and the res tof the Hobbit from the Wood-elves pov- it is such fun writing them. I haven't planned any loveing for Legolas in this, but it would be a shame to keep him completely celebate:) Might have to go off-arc as it were and amke this a different arc from Sosn:)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 9:57 · For: Chapter 3 Feast of Winter Gathering
Just so long as you are clear about what it is you have to write! : )


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 9:44 · For: Chapter 3 Feast of Winter Gathering
Now listen here. Elladan is going to fall head over heels for Erestor and the two of them will live happily ever after....even if it is in Arda for awhile while Erestor sorts out his Maglor issues.
That is what is happening and I refuse to countenance anything else!!!! Even if it is different when you write it I will ignore it! I will put my hands over my ears and sing loudly so I don't hear it.

Author's Response:

You do make me laugh!!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 9:24 · For: Chapter 3 Feast of Winter Gathering
And I worry about Elladan too!
(But you know that)

Author's Response:

Hm. Yes. You should do....sorry.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 9:18 · For: Chapter 3 Feast of Winter Gathering
I worry about BOTH Legolas' brothers.....because I do not trust you......especially after Glorfindel....I am still scarred from his near demise, and if Glorfindel is fair game....then who else????

Author's Response:

Ah! Hurt, wounded, cut tot he quick -you don't trust me??? (mwahahaha) Yes- it's true. If you kill someone off it mkes your writing more convinving and thrilling- remember when Gandalf falls to the Balrog? That nearly killed me too- it showed me the power of that. MAde me absolutely beleive Tolkien.



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 8:16 · For: Chapter 3 Feast of Winter Gathering
Oh Thalos, how I love him....and poor Legolas. Just wait, you will meet your love soon enough. Anglach is something isn't he? Once more, so lovely Ziggy. The feasting was brought to life. i am loving seeing the elves side of things and Thranduil....what will he say and do Galadhon and Anglach!!!

Author's Response:

Soooo glad you like Thalos- I am a bit smitten too. Thranduil does have a punishment for them- but he has this really soft spot for Anglach - so he never really blames him for anyhting. I think it;s because he has some sort of premonition about how he will end.:(



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 8:16 · For: Chapter 3 Feast of Winter Gathering
Oh Thalos, how I love him....and poor Legolas. Just wait, you will meet your love soon enough. Anglach is something isn't he? Once more, so lovely Ziggy. The feasting was brought to life. i am loving seeing the elves side of things and Thranduil....what will he say and do Galadhon and Anglach!!!

Author's Response:

Thank you fadesintothewest! I am glad this little fic is getting a positive response- I was getting worried! I have always loved this bit of The Hobbit and wanted ot write it for ages. I get to write from Bilbo's pov too! Anglach is a sweetie- it hurts when I htink he is killed by orcs when Smeagol is released. I wish I had written this before More Dangerous, I might have written it differently.



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 8:05 · For: Chapter 2
Oh Anglach what will you do? I too would be mesmerized by the dwarves like Anglach. Of course we all know what comes next but knowing you there will certainly be some unexpected fun! I'm loving this!

Author's Response:

Oddly I didn't get notification of this review- sorry!!

So glad these things are delighting you- I enjoyed writing it so much!! Anglach just has charmed me completely. :( so sad what happens to him)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 3:40 · For: Chapter 3 Feast of Winter Gathering
Oh Anglach is so lovely! Such a tender hearted soul.....why ever did you have to kill him?

Loved this chapter. Thank goodness Legolas didn't get himself embroiled with Tauriel! There is someone much better than her waiting for you Legolas!!

I love Thalos.....and I worry for him and what you have planned for him for I do not think it is good in the end and even now he seems to be bearing the worst of the darkness. I try not to think about whatever it is you have awaiting him in the future.

So good to see your Legolas again, such a lovely breath of fresh air he is! And seeing him so young again just brings home how much he changed during the quest. How the Legolas you will be writing in the sequel to Sons is not this Legolas any longer.

Loved it....as always!

Author's Response:

I know- I think that too. I know that Treehugger did exactly the same with her characters but if you start with the quest and go back, it's inevitable. I hurt for Anglach. Thalos is going to be fine I think- if that alleviates your anxiety and helps you to enjoy this. He is still alive during LOTR if you recall as is Laersul. (Think it's Laersul you are worried about- the oldest brother.) I enjoy writing Legolas- he is very different in Sons as well because he is being seen by Men and to Elves he is not that different. 

Already got another chapter done and plan to give you that next weekend I htink:)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2016 11:28 · For: Chapter 2
But I hadn't got to know Anglach when I wrote MDLW, it was in Black Arrow that I started to develop him and now it hurts everytine I write him:(

Author's Response:

I know. (sniff)



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2016 4:21 · For: Chapter 2
Ohhhhh, I am so happy. I have not read LOTR in forever. I came back on and found this story. A continuation of Black Arrow makes me very happy and seeing all the characters in place has me wondering how the elves will see the invasion of their home by the dwarves. I love reading your stories as they make me question what Tolkien was thinking when he was writing this tale. Anxious for the next chapter and now I feel I should check on everyone else and see what they have been writing.

Author's Response:

Welcome back rikwen96! I have missed your lovely encouraging reviews and am so pleased you found this first. Next chapter going up today in honour of your return:)



Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2016 1:22 · For: Chapter 1 Prologue

Watching the story from this point of view is a fascinating idea, and will certainly prove to be a great read! :D I loved this beginning, with Thranduil having so many things to consider to keep his realm and people safe.



Author's Response:

Hello Ysilme! Glad you got here after all the glitches!! I just felt the story needed telling from Thranduil's POV. Thank you for reading and commenting.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 29, 2016 20:06 · For: Chapter 2
Oh, my god what happens to Anglach - is he the one that Legolas couldn't save?

Author's Response:

He's one of the guards when Smeagol is released. In MOre dnagerous, Legolas keeps wanitng to tell Glorfindel about Anglach. But I hadn't got to know Anglach when I wrote MDLW, it was in Black Arrow that I started to develop him and now it hurts everytine I write him:(



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 29, 2016 17:43 · For: Chapter 2
'Look! They are trying to snag the boat,' exclaimed Anglach in an excited whisper. 'Aren't they small. Look at their little boots and beards!'

'And their little axes and bows,' added Galadhon, a little more sceptically. He quirked an eyebrow at Anglach's enthusiasm. 'They are intruders, Anglach, whatever you think. The King will not be pleased.'

'Oh, he will understand their wish to visit the Wood,' Anglach said happily, silvan through and through.

Ceredir and Galadhon exchanged an unhappy look. Anglach had practically grown up with the King's youngest son, Legolas, and was almost a member of the family. He was famously and astonishingly blind to anything but the King's virtue and generosity, and did not believe that Thranduil could be anything but Good and Wise.


This made me laugh so much, Anglach is so shiny and happy :D

Author's Response:

So glad:) Poor Anglach:(



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 29, 2016 11:44 · For: Chapter 2
Well you know how to break my heart, writing about poor Anglach, so happy, and light, and .......doomed.

Loved his perspective on the dwarves! Bilbo, a female dwarf! Ha!

I look forward to the midwinter feast. And Legolas.

But oh, no, Tauriel.... I am rather anti Tauriel I am afraid, I just didn't like her at all. I will be interested to see how you write her.

Author's Response:

I'm not very interested in Tauriel either if I'm honest so she will probably just float about as a reference. But Anglach...I write him out of the picture before I even knew him- he was just a name in More Dangerous and then I started writing him...and it kills me every time:(

 

Next chapter ready to go actually so this weekend.



Author's Response:

I'm not very interested in Tauriel either if I'm honest so she will probably just float about as a reference. But Anglach...I write him out of the picture before I even knew him- he was just a name in More Dangerous and then I started writing him...and it kills me every time:(

 

Next chapter ready to go actually so this weekend.



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2016 6:33 · For: Chapter 1 Prologue
Oh how exciting to come back and find this. Oh no Thalos. I hope something doesn't happen to him. I am so excited to jump back into your Wood Elf stories. They are the best!

Author's Response:

This made up for the three nasty spam bots waiting in my tray:( Thank you !

Thalos...welll...we'll see. Of course you know he is in More Dangerous less wise so he must survive this of course. I know that's a spoiler but I hate not knowing if I am going to lose a character I like. Hope that helps your enjoyment:)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 17, 2016 19:19 · For: Chapter 1 Prologue
Ah- such a nice response makes me want to write and I did have a little blip after so few reviews for Glass (apart form you, Spiced and CB of course)

I am really surprised about that, because it's one of the most brilliant and 'deep' stories, with the Void and quantum physics and beautiful tragic trapped Maedhros that I was devouring it. And I certainly don't think your average Tolkien reader would find that too hard to grasp!

I think in general reviews are just getting much fewer, and it saddens me because it is not encouraging to the writer. We're not just machines churning out stories; they mean a lot to us. I have not had many lately myself, and don't like to ask, so I am beginning to think 'To hell with it.

Just trust me that all your work is so absorbing and beautifully written, that I for one will always be reviewing! {{{Hugs}}}

Author's Response:

Yes- we've had this conversation before, haven't we. I suppose it's inevitable that only the die-hard Tolkien fans will keep reading/writing. I will ALWAYS read your stories- they are beautiful and lusciously written, such images and texture. Thank you for your comment about Glass- I have been trying to get my head around QP and I get to a certain point and then just can't get any further- to me it feels philosophical rather than scientific.

Anyway- thank you. Looking forward to YOUR next post!



Name: Himring (Signed) · Date: April 17, 2016 14:09 · For: Chapter 1 Prologue

Very true--Thranduil would hardly be impressed with Gandalf's plan for dealing with Smaug, even if Gandalf had remembered to tell him.

It sounds as if Thranduil wasn't informed about the plans for the attack on Dol Guldur either, at least not at this point?



Author's Response:

It's very odd I think, that the White Council overthrows Dol Guldur and drives out the Necromancer- but Thranduil seems to know nothing of it in the Hobbit- although I will do something a bit different in this probably as I have the Wood-elves with a presence in that neck of the woods. Thank you for reading this- I know this is not your 'thing' but the Silm and First Age so I really appreciate it.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 17, 2016 11:21 · For: Chapter 1 Prologue
I am so looking forward to how this plays out in your 'verse, Ziggy! :)

Author's Response:

Thank you Spiced- but now you've sort of put something in my head that might have to out!!

 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2016 23:04 · For: Chapter 1 Prologue

Yay - I'm so excited about a follow-up to The Black Arrow! This should be good - to see the events of the Dwarves' arrival in Mirkwood from the Elves' perspective.

I wonder what it is about Thalos that makes Thranduil reluctant to send him? You might have explained before but I can't remember. But anyway, I have high hopes of seeing the brothers together in this story.

And the Ring is on its way. At least, I assume that's the disturbance Thranduil feels. It always strikes me as unlikely that the Wood-elves wouldn't detect such a malevolent force in their own forest, so I'm interested to see your take on it. And of course I'm looking forward to more of your gorgeous, sexy Legolas :)



Author's Response:

Ah- such a nice response makes me want to write and I did have a little blip after so few reviews for Glass (apart form you, Spiced and CB of course). Thalos is clever, subtle, thoughtful- and curious- in Black Arrow, Thranduil is worried that Thalos will go to Smaug and listen, and be entrhalled- and he knows that Smaug is actually lonely and that Thalos might stay with him and be lost. It's what he worried about for all of them but Thalos in particular. Yes- I want to write all three together too- I'm not quite sure what Laersul is going to be doing for a bit though. Have to see.

And I agree- HOW could the Ring have not been noticed by the elves when you see their reaction in Rivendell just at the sound of Black Speech!!! Ridiculous. And i was relaly disappointed to not have more time in the Hall of the Elven king in PJ's movie= and all that nonsense with Tauriel instead. Although I have got her in a cameo role.

Just finished the first chapter and it's with Anar.

Legolas right from the word go!!



You must login () to review.