| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A Last Conversation by cheekybeak General Audiences
Sometimes the best you can do for those you love is to leave them. Aragorn must find the strength to say goodbye.
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
The Secret Language Brother by Encairion Mature
Caranthir and Curufin’s story. Part of the Price of Eternity series
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 79
Stories: 1563
Chapters: 7954
Word count: 23634665
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14049
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Caunedhiel
05/27/17 03:49 pm
Thanks Ziggy ! I keep posting everywhere and handed out posters. fingers crossed xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:03 pm
you can go in and look. Don't give up. He'll be somewhere tucked up warm and living off mice. I pray anyway.xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:02 pm
Caunedhiel- keeping everything crossed for your moggy's safe return- I have had one go missing for days and it was stuck in a neighbour's garage- GO BACK and look everywhere- ask people if you
Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Naledi
05/20/17 04:57 pm
Yes the bit I did was near Ludlow - around the Knighton and Kington sections. I love Ludlow, too!
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 4:51 · For: Chapter 6

This was beautiful.  This whole chapter from start to finish was just perfect.  My god I think this story is the best I’ve ever read of yours, and you know how much I enjoy your work!  I just really really love this one!



Author's Response:

I am so glad you liked this story because it really is one of my own favourites in this non slash universe. "When The World Stops Making Sense" is the best I think. (For me personally)

This chapter was actually written awhile later as a one shot but someone suggested to me it fitted very well with Legolas and Gimli in Imladris and I think they were right....it is a perfect ending with their friendship finally beginning after the nightmare start they had! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 4:51 · For: Chapter 5

Ah!  I really loved that conversation between Legolas and Glorfindel!  It is good to see Glorfindel coming off in a better light!  And I loved that Legloas ended this chapter and took the first steps on the quest with a light heart.



Author's Response:

Yeah, I couldn't leave Gorlfindel being the baddie! And so many people were clamouring for me to make him nicer when I originally wrote this.... So he comes good here, and proves it doesn't matter how old, Or how important you are you can still learn things. 

And he gave Legolas some much needed support at exactly the right time. 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 4:51 · For: Chapter 4

I like that Leoglas really hesitated and deliberated over his choice to go on the quest.  I think it must have been like that, for he is right, his people are facing a lot of dangers as well and he would have felt bound to return home.

 

I am liking the way his friendship with Aragon is developing :)



Author's Response:

I do think it must have been a difficult decision for him to make and it was not one he was expecting. There must have been a lot of soul searching befor he came to his decision. 

His friendship with Aragorn is but a spark of promise here. Right at the very beginning of it. But it has potential and you can already see it, ( I hope) They both respect each other and that's a great start.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 4:50 · For: Chapter 3

Legolas was magnificent in this.  Magnificent.



Author's Response:

So glad you liked him because I loved writing this!! It was so much fun, and he was magnificent wasn't he? Totally Thranduil's son and no mistake. 

He made those Noldor sit up and take notice! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 4:50 · For: Chapter 2

"Keep him under control Aragorn." Glorfindel turns to me as he pushes Legolas into the empty seat beside me. "For all our sakes see if you can ensure he behaves." 

This is so…OMG what an ass!  But I will forgive Glorfindel if he really has a reason for saying this.  I don’t want to think he’s someone so…prejudiced.

But that altercation between Gimili and Leoglas was hilarious!

"Open your eyes Glorfindel!" He cries, "Do not allow yourself to be so bound by past prejudices!" 

 

Now you’ve got me dying of curiosity.  What’s this about?  Shall it be revealed in time?



Author's Response:

Yes, Glorfindel is an ass at the beginning of this story. And a conceited ass at that. Since you have read it all you now know it was because he felt slighted at not being considered for the Fellowship himself. He really wanted to go. ( and also, mainly because I wanted to have a go at writing a not so loveable Glorfindel, you rarely see him written in any kind of negative way.)

Poor Gimli and Legolas. Both talking at cross purposes, neither of them understanding the other. They have come a long way from this! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 4:50 · For: Chapter 1

I absolutely love the way Legolas views Imladris, and that bit of contempt he feels for it.  It’s very interesting to read from this alternative Legolas’ POV when I am so used to the Legolas from the other stories who has been a regular visitor to Imladris for centuries.

“ I get muddled as I translate the words to Silvan in my head. They all speak it so fast. The way the dwarf says the words makes them almost unintelligible.””

I love this little detail.  It makes the isolation of Leoglas life in Mirkwood (that he has been exposed to few outside experiences) really hit home.

 

God, this is such a great start!  I have to read more!!



Author's Response:

OMG!! I went to check my emails and I had all these alerts from Faerie. "Oh no, more spam" I thought ......and then I found out they were REAL! It so made my day. :-)

I am glad you liked Legolas' struggle with the languages. It was actually what started this story in my mind in the first place. Wondering about Legolas' linguistic skills...how good they were? or not! I have tired to stick quick closely to canon in these stories and in the books he is written as being quite naive about the outside world. Definitely not well travelled. I imagined his Westron would be good enough to get him by when dealing with Laketown, but no better than that. 

 

 



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: May 30, 2016 0:21 · For: Chapter 6

I think you are absolutely right - it makes a very good last chapter for this :)



Author's Response: Thank you! I was in two minds how to post it, separately or not, but it just seemed to fit so well with this and I thought the rest of the story made it something more than it would have been on its own.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2016 23:01 · For: Chapter 6

This is absolutely lovely, Cheekybeak. So sweetly written and tender, so utterly trusting that Gimli will tell him the truth, and Gimli all bluster and honesty and just wonderful.



Author's Response: I am glad you liked it. I have always wondered how Legolas felt about the Balrog business, not particularly good I don't think and this Legolas is well aware some of the Noldor thought him lacking. I could see him convincing himself he should step aside. And Gimli, getting the surprise of his life when he discovered they actually were already beginning to form a friendship and they didn't even know it!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2016 18:55 · For: Chapter 6

Wonderful - what a great explanation of that unexplained change of heart in Lorien. It's the perfect ending to the story :)



Author's Response: Thanks, it has always seemed strange to me that change of heart, they hate each other, they hate each other, they hate each other....oh suddenly they are best friends!


Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2016 18:11 · For: Chapter 6

This was so sweet. Legolas is such a light, such a brilliant fighter. He needs to know it, and Gimli's the one to do it! Beautiful short, and great story as always.)



Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you liked it. Yes Legolas has a bit of a self esteem problem here. He is well aware the Noldor think him less than they are.....and remember this is the same Legolas who is in Darkness in Your Heart and we know there he feels inadequate and that he doesn't live up to his dead big brother. Some of that inadequacy shows through here I think?


Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2016 15:27 · For: Chapter 1

Oh, I loved this so much. 'Everyone will see my regal good manners'...poor Legolas! I gather you're not following the movie version of Legolas and Aragorn's prior friendship? Well, we have five more chapters to read and find out. Beautiful job!



Author's Response: Oh yeah, poor little Legolas. He got things so badly wrong with Gimli at the beginning! You will know by now that yes, I don't follow the movie version of Aragorn/Legolas. Instead I have them getting to know each other as the quest goes on...glad you liked this !


Name: Himring (Signed) · Date: April 17, 2016 0:44 · For: Chapter 5

Really nice! The misunderstandings are fun and the alternate viewpoints work really well for this.

I hope someone explains to Gimli, at some point later on. How ironic that a dwarf should confuse a wood-elf with botanical metaphors!

Legolas's loyalty to his father and his grandfather is touching.



Author's Response: Thank you! I am really glad you liked it. This story kind of wrote itself, it all just fell into place and so I was quite sad to finish it. I figured Legolas, growing up in relative isolation in Mirkwood would feel quite intensely loyal to his father. I think Legolas will tell Gimli one day, when this is far behind them and they are friends.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2016 23:30 · For: Chapter 5

Hurray- Glorfindel came good!!! Lovely moment this. 



Author's Response: Did you ever seriously think that he wouldn't come good! I couldn't be that mean to Glorfindel. I figured that given time he was old enough to work out he had been acting like an idiot. And Legolas needed a bit of support to get through the last night so ....... Perfect solution!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2016 10:39 · For: Chapter 5

Lovely ending! Glorfindel's back in my good books for making up with Legolas and helping him through the farewells.

Legolas to stay away from the Dwarf, though...? That would be a shame!



Author's Response: Wel I couldn't leave Glorfindel being a total numpty forever now could I! I figured he was old enough to sort himself out when he had time to think on it. As for the dwarf......well luckily for us Legolas doesn't manage to stay away from him!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2016 10:20 · For: Chapter 5

A good ending - or a good beginning depending on how you look at it I guess!



Author's Response: A beginning, definitely a beginning I think. .......now to sort out Gimli........


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2016 1:04 · For: Chapter 4

LOve this scene with Aragorn and hte way it endsi in particualr. And go Legolas for standing up to a very snooty and unpleasant Glorfindel- but I'm pelased Erestor was gloating and enjoying the spat. Great fun!



Author's Response: Yes, Glorfindel has turned out to be quite disagreeable in this.....is he beyond salvation? He only has one more chapter to come right! I couldn't let Legolas not get his own back somehow!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 11, 2016 16:24 · For: Chapter 4

So Legolas has been chosen! I wonder if it was all down to him standing up to Glorfindel. After all, anyone who can speak his mind to the high and mighty Balrog Slayer would have no problem marching into Mordor and finishing off Sauron single-handed!



Author's Response: You know, I think that might have had more than a bit to do with it. I think they would all have been impressed with his courage there, maybe even Glorfindel himself! (when he calmed down from the shock of it.)


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2016 15:48 · For: Chapter 3

Go Legolas!



Author's Response: Well he had to do something! Thranduil's son was never gong to take this kind of treatment lying down!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2016 23:36 · For: Chapter 3

Oh no - now I can totally imagine a Legolas/Elrohir fic based on Dirty Dancing!



Author's Response: You have to write that!!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2016 23:08 · For: Chapter 3

Ha! I thought you were going to end your last comment by saying, 'No one puts Legolas in a corner.' !!!



Author's Response: Well that too...of course!!!! Now he just needs to indulge in some dirty dancing.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2016 16:42 · For: Chapter 3

Yeah - go Legolas! Wonderful how he tells Glorfindel what's what. It's good to see Glorfindel being shown up after the way he's judged and spoken to Legolas. In  fact, he shows them all up - it's perfectly true what he says about being judged without him even realising he was on trial. I hope the others treat him with more respect from now on.



Author's Response: Yeah they are all guilty of being a bit closed minded. Except Gandalf, who, I think is just playing a long game to get Legolas into the fellowship....but he should have told him before he started that. As for Glorfindel, well he needed to hear that! And to experiance some of the embarrassment he subjected Legolas to when he berated him in front of a hall full of people. No-one pushs Legolas around!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2016 16:27 · For: Chapter 2

Ooh - I like this! It appears that Legolas's misunderstanding has more serious consequences than first appeared in chapter 1. I wonder how Legolas would feel if he knew just what Gandalf was planning for him!

I love your Gandalf for having such faith in Legolas. I get the feeling Glorfindel's grumpiness is more down to feeling miffed about not being chosen for the quest himself, so I'm prepared to forgive him. I hope Legolas manages to win him round in the end!



Author's Response: Yes Glorfindel is in a huff because they won't let him go....and I guess the idea they are even discussing sending some young unknown Sindar/Silvan instead of him really winds him up. Not really fair but who ever said emotions are fair! I am not sure yet if Legolas will win him over but he won't let this public insult go unanswered. He is very proud of his family. Glad you like it!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2016 11:37 · For: Chapter 2

Oh -POOR Legolas- how humiliating to have your hero speak like that to you. What on earth is Glorfindel thinking!!! Well, I konw he is disappointed but his brutal insult is unnecessary and careless. He must know how he is regarded. I am disappointed in him. Grumpy as you say!!

But at least Gandalf and Aragorn are on Legolas' side. Looking forard very much to this- it feels like a story with a good plot and action. Perfect!



Author's Response: Yeah Glorfindel is a bad tempered meanie....boo, hiss. During a discussion with Alpha it was decided he must have had a secret fling with Oropher years ago and is still pissed off he went and got himself killed! But seriously, no excuses for his behaviour...it was pretty appalling. Dont worry, Legolas is no shrinking violet though, he won't let that go unanswered. Glad you like it!


Name: jules (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2016 9:24 · For: Chapter 1
you're good at these misunderstandings! I can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Thank you! I am glad you enjoyed it....more still to come!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2016 18:51 · For: Chapter 1

Oh dear - not a good start. I feel sorry for Legolas, but also for Gimli who swallowed his pride only to receive an apparent rebuff. I don't think Legolas's attempt to make amends is going to go down well, either...



Author's Response: I know, if you look at things from Gimli's point of view this encounter was pretty soul destroying. I wrote this a while ago and have just finished a second chapter which will show you what happens when Legolas tries to fix this up. Will post it later this week. The odds of success are not high, I admit.


You must login () to review.