| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14776
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Masters of Fate

Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 5:03 · For: Chapter 1

“The Fellowship turn as a man to see him, to see what he laughs at for why would he possibly be laughing here? He tosses his head, golden hair glowing in the dark, unconcerned at the scrutiny and grins at me.”

Legolas is so freaking beautiful.  I just love that he is the Fellowship’s light, and the way they depend upon him to lift their spirits.  It’s really beautiful.

 

But I love that he is more than that too, that there is darkness he broods over and insecurities.  Gosh, I have really fallen in love with the way we wrote in here!  It’s just so freaking good.



Author's Response:

Oh that is so exactly how I see him. The Fellowships light. I think that is such a big reason why Elrond chose him and so important for the others! But yes, there is more to him than just that. I didn't want him to be one dimensional ... He comes into this with a back story and his own issues bought from his dark woods. His strangth is being able to overcome those dark places within him and still shine his light regardless. 

 

Of course also the ring is here in this story and magnifying both Legolas' prejudice and defensiveness and also Aragorn's own insecurities. Just subtly, subtly working away at their weaknesses. But Legolas pushes through! 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2016 16:25 · For: Chapter 1

I thought I'd already reviewed this - obviously not! I'm really enjoying these glimpses of Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli (well, less of Aragorn - you know my feelings about him! - but still, I enjoy your version of how he relates to Legolas).

I like how mercurial Legolas appears here. Almost like a sulky teenager at one point, because Gandalf has failed to consult him, then his mood switching to merry in a blink. 

I liked how he sent Aragorn to tell Gandalf to think more like an Elf. And really, Gandalf should have known better. I've always been angry on Legolas's behalf on how his worth and contribution seems to be ignored. Gandalf just seems to use him as a walking, talking telescope at times!

Ooh, getting  all hot under the collar. I'd better go for a walk to calm down!



Author's Response: Oh I like that! A walking, talking telescope.......that's exactly how it was! I can't avoid writing Aragorn in these I have discovered, much as I would sometimes like to.....so I am trying to point out his imperfections instead........because, you know, he annoys me just as much as you. I think part of Legolas' moodiness in this one is the Ring, whispering to him outside Moria about how little the others think of him and his people. Just for once he listened to it, but the lighthearted Legolas is never far away.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2016 20:56 · For: Chapter 1

Re drabbles - I have written, literally a couple of hudred over the past 5 or 6 years - usually in sets of 5 or 6 at a time to make a short story - and so I have just posted the set I was reminded of when thinking of Legolas's similarities to Boromir...



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2016 16:29 · For: Chapter 1

They do both carry that burden of ancestorswith one dimensional reputations, don't they?

I  think Legolas has, also, a number of things in common with Boromir, too.

Which reminds me - I have an awful lot of drabble sets that I haven't posted here...



Author's Response: Yeah they do.....when you think about it. I guess the difference is, because of elves longevity, while there are generations between Aragorn and Isildur so Isildur is no more than just a name to him, for Legolas, Oropher is very real. Even though he didn't meet him he has heard stories from people who actually did. The connection is a much more emotional one. I am intrigued to think Legolas might have things in common with Boromir too....haven't thought of that! ........... Ooh, what Drabble sets??


Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2016 16:14 · For: Chapter 1

I kind of like that Legolas has still Sindar views in this one. As much as I believe that Aragorn doesn't tolerate the endless Noldor vs Sindar debate around him, it shows that Legolas has still room for development. One thing I loved about the Hobbit! Legolas with slightly proud asshole behavior.



Author's Response: Yes that!!! Legolas has to grow, he can't be this perfect, open, understanding elf right from the start. Not in my head anyway, and I think coming straight out of Thranduil's forest, having been raised by someone who quite obviously does have a big Noldor/Sindar chip on his shoulder, how could Legolas have not, at least begun his journey, having inherited some of that. Unlike his father and grandfather he can get past it more easily but you can't show that unless you show where he has come from. I don't think Aragorn tolerates it either, hence his frustration with Legolas at the start of this. Oh, and also.....remember the One Ring is here, playing on all their weaknesses. Wangling its way into Legolas' mind and pointing out to him how little The Noldor/Aragorn/Gandalf/Gimli think of him and his people. I guess he was listening to it a bit here.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2016 11:41 · For: Chapter 1

Glad to see a little glimpse into the dark here- I always think this either over written with Legolas bent double with pressure of being underground (which he never is the the book) or compeltely ignored. I like the balance ou have here- clearly the Ring is having an effect, and making Legolas grumpy, but then we get that mercurial lightness again. I like that Aragorn feels guilty too! Good. He should do.



Author's Response: Ah yes, the ring! Even lighthearted Legolas is not completely immune! He has inherited some of his Father and Grandfathers pride, which is not necessarily a bad thing in moderation, and the ring uses it as a crack in his armour to twist and manipulate, But the young, changeable Legolas is still there.....just under the surface. Aragorn, of course, doesn't realise the ring is at work here, in Legolas' sulky pride or his own self doubt, it is very subtle. I don't like the "Legolas falling apart in the darkness" interpretation of this either. I dont think he found it very pleasant but I also don't think he was a total wreck because of it!! I am glad Aragorn's guilt felt OK. I imagined that up until this point he had maybe neglected getting to know Legolas....perhaps concentrated on the more difficult relationship with Boromir, and had just taken Legolas at face value, young, lighthearted, uncomplicated and agreeable, (when not with dwarves,) but there was more to him than that of course!


You must login () to review.