| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
A Last Conversation by cheekybeak General Audiences
Sometimes the best you can do for those you love is to leave them. Aragorn must find the strength to say goodbye.
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
The Secret Language Brother by Encairion Mature
Caranthir and Curufin’s story. Part of the Price of Eternity series
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 79
Stories: 1563
Chapters: 7955
Word count: 23640387
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14051
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
05/29/17 01:26 pm
Encairion! You're back!! I thought we'd lost you in drowned Beleriand:)
Caunedhiel
05/27/17 03:49 pm
Thanks Ziggy ! I keep posting everywhere and handed out posters. fingers crossed xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:03 pm
you can go in and look. Don't give up. He'll be somewhere tucked up warm and living off mice. I pray anyway.xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:02 pm
Caunedhiel- keeping everything crossed for your moggy's safe return- I have had one go missing for days and it was stuck in a neighbour's garage- GO BACK and look everywhere- ask people if you
Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Shout Archive



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2016 13:21 · For: Wedding Traditions of Rohan and Gondor

Wonderful exposé on the more ridiculous customs of weddings- I love this cosy intimacy between the two, I imagine them sitting, sewing, gossiping, looking out of the windown, giggling- they have a lovely relationship. And you have made me love Lothiriel.



Author's Response:

I must admit that I had great fun writing this - and was very glad that none of these were wedding traditions in the NE of England when I got married!

I'm glad you like Lothiriel - I have become rather fond of her... and Éomer who just, occasionally, needs a nudge in the right direction! 

I have another short piece just written for Back to Middle Earth Month set a few years later that I will post soon, too.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2016 20:10 · For: Wedding Traditions of Rohan and Gondor
I loved this little snapshot of tradition. The thought of Aragorn and Arwen having their friends supervise them in the bedchamber was amusing! I pictured a bunch of confused Elves and stern Dunedain standing around uncomfortably!

Author's Response:

Thank you - I'm so glad that you enjoyed it.

I think if it were it only Aragorn's wedding his 'brothers' would have made the most of such a tradition for fun.  But as it was also Arwen's wedding, and I think her brothers would only appear happy, not feel it,  they would not want her embarassed  And so elves, membersof the Dunedain, and a dwarf, would have made sure everyone left the royal bed chamber whilst the two participants were fully clothed!!



Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2016 17:36 · For: Wedding Traditions of Rohan and Gondor
Hello Curiouswombat.

You perfectly explained why these customs took place. I may add some of them endured till WW2 in french countryside, such as hanging out the wash, ostensibly the still blood-stained sheets.

Author's Response:

Thank you Chiara - I'm really pleased that you enjoyed this peek into what Lothiriel refers to, in Cushions, as 'worse customs in Gondor'!



You must login () to review.