| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Light Wraps You by Narya General Audiences
A moment between Celebrimbor and Orodreth after the news of Finrod's death. Written as a birthday gift for Gabriel – it's...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Night Terrors by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Aragorn and Faramir learn all is not well with Sam
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
I will Lift mine Eyes by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A series of events after his return from Gondor leaves Aragorn's spirits at an all-time low.
I will Lift mine Eyes by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A series of events after his return from Gondor leaves Aragorn's spirits at an all-time low.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1634
Chapters: 8382
Word count: 25385085
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15508
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 15
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
04/19/18 08:22 pm
I’m glad you’ve had a lovely day, Gabriel :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/19/18 05:47 pm
Happy birthday Gabriel!
Gabriel
04/19/18 01:04 pm
Thank you so much Narya. I've had a lovely quiet day spending time with family. :)
Spiced Wine
04/18/18 10:08 pm
What a gorgeous day today! Like a taste of summer! I love sitting working with the door open!
Narya
04/18/18 10:07 pm
Happy birthday for tomorrow, Gabriel! (I am travelling for work and likely to be stuck on trains, so might not have chance to say it on the day.)
Narya
04/15/18 03:05 pm
Got it, Nelya - thanks for playing! :) I messaged you about DW as it turned into too long a post for the shout box.
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/14/18 11:33 pm
what fun, Narya!I just sent you a prompt by PM. I'm not on dreamwidth. Someone please fill me in on Dreamwidth as I'm not familiar with it. Is it something I should look into?
Narya
04/14/18 10:31 pm
Hi Cheeky! I did get it, although it sneaked off into my junk mail for some reason. Great prompt, thank you!! :D
cheekybeak
04/14/18 10:24 pm
Hi Narya! I sent you a pm. For some reason they usually don’t work for me so let me know if you don’t get it!
Narya
04/14/18 11:34 am
Obviously ignore the spaces between the dots...but I know the shoutbox doesn't allow links, so that's the best I can do! Feel free to message me here in response, if you don't have DW
Shout Archive



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2016 13:21 · For: Wedding Traditions of Rohan and Gondor

Wonderful exposé on the more ridiculous customs of weddings- I love this cosy intimacy between the two, I imagine them sitting, sewing, gossiping, looking out of the windown, giggling- they have a lovely relationship. And you have made me love Lothiriel.



Author's Response:

I must admit that I had great fun writing this - and was very glad that none of these were wedding traditions in the NE of England when I got married!

I'm glad you like Lothiriel - I have become rather fond of her... and Éomer who just, occasionally, needs a nudge in the right direction! 

I have another short piece just written for Back to Middle Earth Month set a few years later that I will post soon, too.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2016 20:10 · For: Wedding Traditions of Rohan and Gondor
I loved this little snapshot of tradition. The thought of Aragorn and Arwen having their friends supervise them in the bedchamber was amusing! I pictured a bunch of confused Elves and stern Dunedain standing around uncomfortably!

Author's Response:

Thank you - I'm so glad that you enjoyed it.

I think if it were it only Aragorn's wedding his 'brothers' would have made the most of such a tradition for fun.  But as it was also Arwen's wedding, and I think her brothers would only appear happy, not feel it,  they would not want her embarassed  And so elves, membersof the Dunedain, and a dwarf, would have made sure everyone left the royal bed chamber whilst the two participants were fully clothed!!



Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2016 17:36 · For: Wedding Traditions of Rohan and Gondor
Hello Curiouswombat.

You perfectly explained why these customs took place. I may add some of them endured till WW2 in french countryside, such as hanging out the wash, ostensibly the still blood-stained sheets.

Author's Response:

Thank you Chiara - I'm really pleased that you enjoyed this peek into what Lothiriel refers to, in Cushions, as 'worse customs in Gondor'!



You must login () to review.