| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8480
Word count: 25716640
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15744
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Alquien
06/22/18 11:30 pm
Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble with live journal?
Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Narya
06/20/18 06:15 pm
I look forwards to catching up with you and your stories when I come back <3
Narya
06/20/18 06:14 pm
Hey guys! Just to let you know I'm going camping for ten days; if you don't see me online, don't think I've abandoned you all, I just won't have internet ;)
Shout Archive



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2016 13:21 · For: Wedding Traditions of Rohan and Gondor

Wonderful exposé on the more ridiculous customs of weddings- I love this cosy intimacy between the two, I imagine them sitting, sewing, gossiping, looking out of the windown, giggling- they have a lovely relationship. And you have made me love Lothiriel.



Author's Response:

I must admit that I had great fun writing this - and was very glad that none of these were wedding traditions in the NE of England when I got married!

I'm glad you like Lothiriel - I have become rather fond of her... and Éomer who just, occasionally, needs a nudge in the right direction! 

I have another short piece just written for Back to Middle Earth Month set a few years later that I will post soon, too.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2016 20:10 · For: Wedding Traditions of Rohan and Gondor
I loved this little snapshot of tradition. The thought of Aragorn and Arwen having their friends supervise them in the bedchamber was amusing! I pictured a bunch of confused Elves and stern Dunedain standing around uncomfortably!

Author's Response:

Thank you - I'm so glad that you enjoyed it.

I think if it were it only Aragorn's wedding his 'brothers' would have made the most of such a tradition for fun.  But as it was also Arwen's wedding, and I think her brothers would only appear happy, not feel it,  they would not want her embarassed  And so elves, membersof the Dunedain, and a dwarf, would have made sure everyone left the royal bed chamber whilst the two participants were fully clothed!!



Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2016 17:36 · For: Wedding Traditions of Rohan and Gondor
Hello Curiouswombat.

You perfectly explained why these customs took place. I may add some of them endured till WW2 in french countryside, such as hanging out the wash, ostensibly the still blood-stained sheets.

Author's Response:

Thank you Chiara - I'm really pleased that you enjoyed this peek into what Lothiriel refers to, in Cushions, as 'worse customs in Gondor'!



You must login () to review.