| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14773
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2016 13:21 · For: Wedding Traditions of Rohan and Gondor

Wonderful exposé on the more ridiculous customs of weddings- I love this cosy intimacy between the two, I imagine them sitting, sewing, gossiping, looking out of the windown, giggling- they have a lovely relationship. And you have made me love Lothiriel.



Author's Response:

I must admit that I had great fun writing this - and was very glad that none of these were wedding traditions in the NE of England when I got married!

I'm glad you like Lothiriel - I have become rather fond of her... and Éomer who just, occasionally, needs a nudge in the right direction! 

I have another short piece just written for Back to Middle Earth Month set a few years later that I will post soon, too.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2016 20:10 · For: Wedding Traditions of Rohan and Gondor
I loved this little snapshot of tradition. The thought of Aragorn and Arwen having their friends supervise them in the bedchamber was amusing! I pictured a bunch of confused Elves and stern Dunedain standing around uncomfortably!

Author's Response:

Thank you - I'm so glad that you enjoyed it.

I think if it were it only Aragorn's wedding his 'brothers' would have made the most of such a tradition for fun.  But as it was also Arwen's wedding, and I think her brothers would only appear happy, not feel it,  they would not want her embarassed  And so elves, membersof the Dunedain, and a dwarf, would have made sure everyone left the royal bed chamber whilst the two participants were fully clothed!!



Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2016 17:36 · For: Wedding Traditions of Rohan and Gondor
Hello Curiouswombat.

You perfectly explained why these customs took place. I may add some of them endured till WW2 in french countryside, such as hanging out the wash, ostensibly the still blood-stained sheets.

Author's Response:

Thank you Chiara - I'm really pleased that you enjoyed this peek into what Lothiriel refers to, in Cushions, as 'worse customs in Gondor'!



You must login () to review.