| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8482
Word count: 25720926
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15746
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Alquien
06/22/18 11:30 pm
Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble with live journal?
Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Narya
06/20/18 06:15 pm
I look forwards to catching up with you and your stories when I come back <3
Narya
06/20/18 06:14 pm
Hey guys! Just to let you know I'm going camping for ten days; if you don't see me online, don't think I've abandoned you all, I just won't have internet ;)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Just One Word

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2016 11:57 · For: Chapter 1

This made me cry - and remember how it feels to lose your mother and long for her back. Your style in this is perfect and the tenderness of Thranduil too. Lovely writing.



Author's Response: I have lost my mother too. I guess some of that may have come through in this. So happy you liked Thranduil! I deliberately wanted to show him as a caring father here, and that he and Legolas had a stronger bond than it possibly may have been otherwise because of Legolas's mothers absence. Thank you!


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2016 11:32 · For: Chapter 1

Oh this was so beautiful, and also very realistic. You descrive their feelings so well, one can really believe in the situation. Very well done, lovely little story. :)



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2016 7:42 · For: Chapter 1
Gah this is just too moving, especially in the mood you got me. That's the thing about elves returning, oh you Tolkien you, that there is that hope that those dearest that have left you will see again. Alas... Thanks for another lovely part of that tale!

Author's Response: I am glad you liked it...it was lovely to write too, to make them all happy again, a glowing Thranduil, Legolas and Elrohir in a good place with their love and a wonderful, supportive, understanding Elrohir by Legolas's side.......and of course....his mother. Imagine a reunion between Maedhros and Fingon if there ever was!!! Fingon would be out of the halls first I think. Oh THAT would be a tear jerker. I couldn't write it but I bet you could! Off to read more about them right now. Hopefully Fingon finally realises what he's about!!


Name: elfscribe (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2016 0:48 · For: Chapter 1

Oh I just love this!  Very emotionally satisfying. I love the opening with Elrohir fallilng, and then Legolas coming out of the trees and seeing Thranduil.  "The best."  Yes.  And Thranduil's smile and Elrohir putting an arm around Legolas' waist.  So much support.  His legs not being able to hold him because yes.  Lovely reunion!



Author's Response: Thank you! I love your writing so this is high praise indeed. It is always a thrill to get a rice from you. Glad you liked Thranduil. I have a pet hate of the way Thranduil is sometimes demonised in fanfic and wanted to make sure people understood he was a great solo dad. Elrohir's support was significant from the story which came before this. He had maybe been a bit...self absorbed earlier so it signified a real change in him. And boy did Legolas need the support at this moment!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2016 22:52 · For: Chapter 1

Lovely.  it is good to think of the family reunited.



Author's Response: Yes, finally together after centuries. Thanks so much for all the lovely reviews you have left me. They helped hugely in motivating me to keep going!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2016 18:29 · For: Chapter 1

Thank you!!! This was just perfect. Thranduil's radiance, Elrohir's support, and best of all the first embrace between mother and son for so long. Perfect! And happy tears all over again.

I'm so glad you wrote this, Cheeky!

 



Author's Response: I had to write it, just had to see how it went. I am glad you liked Thranduil, I thought he would be transformed by the return of his wife. Originally I had imagined Thranduil and Legolas together at the Gardens of L


You must login () to review.