| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14776
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Just One Word

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2016 11:57 · For: Chapter 1

This made me cry - and remember how it feels to lose your mother and long for her back. Your style in this is perfect and the tenderness of Thranduil too. Lovely writing.



Author's Response: I have lost my mother too. I guess some of that may have come through in this. So happy you liked Thranduil! I deliberately wanted to show him as a caring father here, and that he and Legolas had a stronger bond than it possibly may have been otherwise because of Legolas's mothers absence. Thank you!


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2016 11:32 · For: Chapter 1

Oh this was so beautiful, and also very realistic. You descrive their feelings so well, one can really believe in the situation. Very well done, lovely little story. :)



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2016 7:42 · For: Chapter 1
Gah this is just too moving, especially in the mood you got me. That's the thing about elves returning, oh you Tolkien you, that there is that hope that those dearest that have left you will see again. Alas... Thanks for another lovely part of that tale!

Author's Response: I am glad you liked it...it was lovely to write too, to make them all happy again, a glowing Thranduil, Legolas and Elrohir in a good place with their love and a wonderful, supportive, understanding Elrohir by Legolas's side.......and of course....his mother. Imagine a reunion between Maedhros and Fingon if there ever was!!! Fingon would be out of the halls first I think. Oh THAT would be a tear jerker. I couldn't write it but I bet you could! Off to read more about them right now. Hopefully Fingon finally realises what he's about!!


Name: elfscribe (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2016 0:48 · For: Chapter 1

Oh I just love this!  Very emotionally satisfying. I love the opening with Elrohir fallilng, and then Legolas coming out of the trees and seeing Thranduil.  "The best."  Yes.  And Thranduil's smile and Elrohir putting an arm around Legolas' waist.  So much support.  His legs not being able to hold him because yes.  Lovely reunion!



Author's Response: Thank you! I love your writing so this is high praise indeed. It is always a thrill to get a rice from you. Glad you liked Thranduil. I have a pet hate of the way Thranduil is sometimes demonised in fanfic and wanted to make sure people understood he was a great solo dad. Elrohir's support was significant from the story which came before this. He had maybe been a bit...self absorbed earlier so it signified a real change in him. And boy did Legolas need the support at this moment!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2016 22:52 · For: Chapter 1

Lovely.  it is good to think of the family reunited.



Author's Response: Yes, finally together after centuries. Thanks so much for all the lovely reviews you have left me. They helped hugely in motivating me to keep going!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2016 18:29 · For: Chapter 1

Thank you!!! This was just perfect. Thranduil's radiance, Elrohir's support, and best of all the first embrace between mother and son for so long. Perfect! And happy tears all over again.

I'm so glad you wrote this, Cheeky!

 



Author's Response: I had to write it, just had to see how it went. I am glad you liked Thranduil, I thought he would be transformed by the return of his wife. Originally I had imagined Thranduil and Legolas together at the Gardens of L


You must login () to review.