| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. The story of how the black arrow that killed Smaug came to Bard. 'Black...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7886
Word count: 23416547
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13821
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 2
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:04 am
I'm bad at keeping up w tv, but I support anything that inspires you to write eomer more, ziggy!
curiouswombat
03/18/17 01:07 am
Oh - please do...
ziggy
03/17/17 11:53 pm
Yes- that is EXACTLY right!! I might have to write Eomer a bit more:)
curiouswombat
03/17/17 11:02 pm
Ziggy - I keep wanting to pinch the characters and turn them into Rohirrim....
Shout Archive


Reviews For Just One Word

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2016 11:57 · For: Chapter 1

This made me cry - and remember how it feels to lose your mother and long for her back. Your style in this is perfect and the tenderness of Thranduil too. Lovely writing.



Author's Response: I have lost my mother too. I guess some of that may have come through in this. So happy you liked Thranduil! I deliberately wanted to show him as a caring father here, and that he and Legolas had a stronger bond than it possibly may have been otherwise because of Legolas's mothers absence. Thank you!


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2016 11:32 · For: Chapter 1

Oh this was so beautiful, and also very realistic. You descrive their feelings so well, one can really believe in the situation. Very well done, lovely little story. :)



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2016 7:42 · For: Chapter 1
Gah this is just too moving, especially in the mood you got me. That's the thing about elves returning, oh you Tolkien you, that there is that hope that those dearest that have left you will see again. Alas... Thanks for another lovely part of that tale!

Author's Response: I am glad you liked it...it was lovely to write too, to make them all happy again, a glowing Thranduil, Legolas and Elrohir in a good place with their love and a wonderful, supportive, understanding Elrohir by Legolas's side.......and of course....his mother. Imagine a reunion between Maedhros and Fingon if there ever was!!! Fingon would be out of the halls first I think. Oh THAT would be a tear jerker. I couldn't write it but I bet you could! Off to read more about them right now. Hopefully Fingon finally realises what he's about!!


Name: elfscribe (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2016 0:48 · For: Chapter 1

Oh I just love this!  Very emotionally satisfying. I love the opening with Elrohir fallilng, and then Legolas coming out of the trees and seeing Thranduil.  "The best."  Yes.  And Thranduil's smile and Elrohir putting an arm around Legolas' waist.  So much support.  His legs not being able to hold him because yes.  Lovely reunion!



Author's Response: Thank you! I love your writing so this is high praise indeed. It is always a thrill to get a rice from you. Glad you liked Thranduil. I have a pet hate of the way Thranduil is sometimes demonised in fanfic and wanted to make sure people understood he was a great solo dad. Elrohir's support was significant from the story which came before this. He had maybe been a bit...self absorbed earlier so it signified a real change in him. And boy did Legolas need the support at this moment!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2016 22:52 · For: Chapter 1

Lovely.  it is good to think of the family reunited.



Author's Response: Yes, finally together after centuries. Thanks so much for all the lovely reviews you have left me. They helped hugely in motivating me to keep going!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2016 18:29 · For: Chapter 1

Thank you!!! This was just perfect. Thranduil's radiance, Elrohir's support, and best of all the first embrace between mother and son for so long. Perfect! And happy tears all over again.

I'm so glad you wrote this, Cheeky!

 



Author's Response: I had to write it, just had to see how it went. I am glad you liked Thranduil, I thought he would be transformed by the return of his wife. Originally I had imagined Thranduil and Legolas together at the Gardens of L


You must login () to review.