| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8580
Word count: 26132086
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16102
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 23
Members:

Shoutbox

Ysilme
10/18/18 10:25 am
Narya, they're constantly touring through Europe and the USA, and sometimes even farther abroad. You might be able to find a concert close to you eventually. And I totally agree about the concert!
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Hi, Fadesintothewest! *waves* good to see you, hope work isn't too painful.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 02:32 pm
That sounds amazing, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:19 pm
who of my music-loving OCs might be interested in playing the nyckelharpa/keyed fiddle... *ggg* )
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:18 pm
I've been to the most wonderful concert yesterday, Swedish Folk string trio Väsen. The music was so beautiful, and it felt so much like Middle-earth, too. (now I need to figure out
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:17 pm
Nice to see you popping in here, fadesintothewest! *waves* *waves generally around, too* Hope everybody else is doing well enough.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 10:53 am
Hope you do, too, Fadesintothewest :) Good to see you!
Fadesintothewest
10/15/18 09:27 am
Just wanted to say hello. I know things are slowed down right now. I wish I could be more present but work. Looking forward to participating more soon!!!
Spiced Wine
10/14/18 12:23 pm
Sign of a good fic, if you ask me :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Breathless

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 10, 2017 13:55 · For: Chapter 6 - Rising to the Challenge
I'm so glad Glorfindel and Turgon decided to be honest with themselves and their people. It's a great weight off their shoulders.
For a while there I thought Rog was going to do some serious damage to Glorfindel. Thankfully Glorfindel has proven once again why he is a great Warrior.
Great story Elfscribe! :D

Author's Response:

I think Glorfindel will be quite sore after getting bashed around so tboroughly. Thank you so much, Gabriel, for such kind reviews. I haven't gotten any reviews on Faerie in forever so thanks for brightening my day. Cheers!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 10, 2017 13:37 · For: Chapter 5 - The Roof of the World
Yay! Finally Ecthelion and Glorfindel finally get it together. I like how Ecthelion has been in love with him for some time, while Glorfindel has been pursuing something which cannot go beyond what it is and hasn't noticed what or who is right under his nose.
Awesome! :)

Author's Response:

Glorfindel wasn't very observant, was he. Lol.   When I started writing this, I didn't know how they'd work together but as soon as Ecthelion entered the scene, there was chemistry.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 10, 2017 13:07 · For: Chapter 4 - Outcasts
I think you've nailed Turgon's character in this story. Still so immensely affected and weighted down by Elenwe's death even after all this time, {Elven memory} what a liability. Kingship on top of that and now the Glorfindel situation, it's all starting to wear Turgon down.
I love reading about Ecthelion and Glorfindel together, such great characters to create stories around.
Great story!

Author's Response:

Glad you felt Turgon rang true in this. I never thougbt his "going down with tbe ship" response to Morgoth's invasion was very effective as resistance. It was fun to write Glorfindel and Ecthelion. I'd always wanted to try that pairing and the swap request was tbe perfect opportunity.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 10, 2017 9:56 · For: Chapter 3 - Wasters and Rhymers
What a piece of work that Pengolodh is, trying to blackmail the King and harm the reputation of others.
I especially like the song with it's hidden insinuations.
:)

Author's Response:

I'm afraid I did a bit of a character assassination on Pengolodh. I was going to write this ponderous song but that little ditty is what came out. Thank you so much for reviewing!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 10, 2017 9:00 · For: Chapter 1 - The Morning After
Turgon and Glorfindel, this puts a new spin on things, a very interesting one.
It seems that as so much time has past and many things have come to pass, that Turgon and Glorfindel's relationship, {If you could call it that} has reached an impasse and as a result they seem to meet up just to go through the machinations of it.
Poor Glorfindel, although cares for Turgon, has lost the inner fire he once had for him and what they once had.
I know there's more to it than Glorfindel's and Turgon's feelings on the matter, but it seems such a sad state of affairs with these two.
Love it!

Author's Response:

So pleased to get such a lovely review. Glad you are enjoying the story!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 08, 2016 9:05 · For: Chapter 6 - Rising to the Challenge
Well that's one way to come out of the closet.... Public declaration in front of a crowd of thousands. Glorfindel doesn't do anything by halves does he?

Love him and Ecthelion together, Ecthelion is so good for him.

Glad Turgon has seen sense too.

It's happily ever after......until the fall of Gondolin that is!

Author's Response:

Right, nothing like REALLY coming out.  Of course, he'd already been outed pretty badly by Pengolodh, so this was a way to regain his integrity.  I agree, Ecthelion and Glorfindel are good together, and glad Turgon wasn't as much of a toad as he could have been.  Right, until the Fall-- which we won't think about right now.  Thanks so much Cheeky for commenting on every chapter.  It let me know that someone was actually enjoying the fic.  Cheers!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2016 7:54 · For: Chapter 5 - The Roof of the World
Oh I love the "rescue by eagle" ......... At least Thorondor didn't wait until they were dead before he showed up......well he does that to Glorfindel later of course.

So come on Glorfindel, break it off with Turgon. You only have limited time with Ecthelion after all.

It makes me sad now to think of these guys burnt to a chrisp by Balrogs.

Author's Response:

"At least Thorondor didn't wait until they were dead before he showed up ..."   LOL!!  Yeah, he does have a tendency to do that.  Oops, late again, Thorondor. Fingolfin could have used his help a bit earlier, so could Glorfindel. Fortunately he showed up in time for Maedhros and for Beren and Luthien.   Yes, very sad what happens eventually.  Wonder whatever happens to Ecthelion?  One can only hope he's reborn in Valinor.  He certainly deserves a happy life after his sacrifice.  Thanks for your reviews!  There's one more chapter to go, but I've got no time to post now.   Will have to wait until later tonight or tomorrow.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2016 2:52 · For: Chapter 4 - Outcasts
Aargh!!! Are you serious??? For gods sake Glorfindel, stop overthinking things!!

He can't seriously be worried about what Turgon will think can He?

Poor Ecthelion, I feel sorry for him and Glorfindel is so slow on the uptake he is missing all his clues. He has no idea he has just hurt him by what amounted to a rejection.

So frustrated with him in this chapter!

Author's Response:

LOL!  He is overthinking things a bit, isn't he?  Well, I think Fin is having some trouble shifting geers in several ways.  I think he might come around eventually.  Thanks again for your reviews.  Much appreciated!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2016 9:35 · For: Chapter 3 - Wasters and Rhymers
Ah now here is Glorfindel's "someone else" Ecthelion will do just fine. I like him! why on earth has Glorfindel not hooked up with him before?

As for the mess he finds himself in now.....oh dear.....I can't see this ending well for anyone!

Author's Response:

Glad you like Ecthelion.  I do too and I agree with you, he'd be better for Glorfindel.  We'll see what happens.  It is indeed a mess.  Thank you so much for reading and for the encouraging comments!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 02, 2016 5:32 · For: Chapter 2 - History
Poor Glorfindel. He is in a worse mess than I thought...and Turgon is not that much better!

They both seriously need some counselling.

And to get far, far, far away from each other.....but that's not really doable is it!

Author's Response:

Ah yes, my swap recipient asked for an unhealthy relationship, so that's indeed what they have. You're right, kinda hard for Glorfindel to get away from his King when he's his Master of Arms and they're stuck in Gondolin.  Thanks so much for reviewing!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 01, 2016 9:36 · For: Chapter 1 - The Morning After
Poor Glorfindel. He is not going to get anywhere with Turgon I don't think....
Perhaps he needs to find someone else?
I just want to give him a hug.

Author's Response:

Hi cheekybeak!  I agree with you that Glorfindel should find someone else. This arrangement with Turgon is very problematic.  More of the reasons why will be revealed.  Thanks for the review!



You must login () to review.