| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8166
Word count: 24572194
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14776
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2016 16:45 · For: Chapter 12
You know, I feel like I'm getting a detailed insight into a whole new culture here. I kind of wish it was rosier though, on the other side of the sea...Of course then we wouldn't have a story, would we?

So Legolas' mother...she died and yet doesn't 'want' to leave Mandos then, or is it that she can't? Or maybe she doesn't know her husband and son have sailed... That was so sad, waiting so many years to see her again, and both Legolas and Thranduil sailing just to find her not there. -sniff-

Author's Response:

Ah, yes, Legolas' mother. Why she is not there is the centre of the story really. It was soul destroying for Legolas to find she was not there when he sailed but there is a reason for it. An important one.

It would be nice, of course, if all was lovely on the other side of the sea. The Arda elves have viewed Valinor as a kind of "heaven" after all. But it is just another place, and the problems they have still follow them. There is no magic solution. 



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2016 7:26 · For: Chapter 17
Aw this is lovely. This reminds me of the struggles of losing one's parents in adulthood. I can't imagine the loss as a young person as I did not live through this, but this reminds me of the struggles one has when parents are gone and you have to remake yourself to live in a world so utterly changed, a new person, a person with sorrow that has to find the potential for happiness, whether that is in friends, family, work, hobbies...whatever it is. In a way, like our 3 elves, you feel cheated for not understanding the world will be the same happy place without them, but there is no turning away from that new landscape but there are memories of the joy, the hardship, the laughter. So lovely!! Thank you Cheekybeak!

Author's Response: What a beautiful review!! And that's it in a nutshell and something they all had to learn. The world can be a happy place along side your grief. The two things are not incompatible, you do need to remake yourself..... And memories while sometimes painful can also bring us joy. This was my favourite chapter to write of the whole story!


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2016 6:58 · For: Chapter 13
OMG why, why, why! My heart just shattered into a million more little pieces as I have caught up with the story. Elladan, oh Elladan!! So terribly tragic. Of course I love the angst, the damn angst that you just so lovingly write out. Ah Legolas and perhaps you will not be such a fool and so self-centerd, poor thing! Ah all of them, all 3 of them. i would be too, knowing that Heaven or whatever afterlife or such thing isn't all its cracked up to be!!!

Author's Response: I had to go and check what happened in chapter 13 before answering! This story was so angst filled I couldn't remember which bit of angst it might be that was upsetting you! But oh yes, Elladan. Poor Elladan and his secret lost love and poor Legolas and his missing mother.....and poor Elrohir because, well just poor Elrohir. Like you say, it's all so depressing finding out your heaven is just more of the same old emotional agony with no magical solutions.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 21, 2016 9:47 · For: Chapter 1

Legolas is reunited with his mother in the last chapters of The Valinor Trail  (bit of a spoiler that :)    )



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2016 22:46 · For: Epilogue

OOps - realise you have alread posted the reunion - hurrah!  Dashes off to read it...



Author's Response: I did,mI did,Mir wrote itself really and I wanted to know what happened as much as anyone. Glad you found it!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2016 22:45 · For: Epilogue

What a perfect ending for him - I am so glad he has found happiness too.

And please do write Legolas and his mother's reunion - I have imagined it in one of my stories and would love to see your version.



Author's Response: I am so glad you liked Elladan's ending. He really deserved to get the girl in the end I thought. Which of your stories did you write About Legolas's mother because I would love to read it!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2016 8:03 · For: Epilogue

Yay! Happy tears! That was a beautiful epilogue--at last Elladan is reunited with his love.

Of course I want to read about Legolas and his mother! Please, please, pretty please, lovely Cheeky. Please write it!



Author's Response: Well as you can see, I wrote it! Because I wanted to see their reunion as much as anyone. Glad you liked this epilogue. Elladan, who everyone though was the healthiest, most stable, twin has come a long way and is a much more balanced individual now. This is his reward for his years of grief and much needed soul searching. And they live happily ever after, of course.....


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2016 22:27 · For: Chapter 17

What a perfect chapter - the realisation for both of them that neither has to be totally responsible for the happiness, or otherwise, of the other; the chance to reminisce together, and so help each other cope with the remaining grief; Elladan's realisation that he may have been, at least in part, the source of his own grief...

The whole chapter just worked, really, really, well.



Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you liked it because I think this chapter was my favourite.... It has kind of been at the back of my head all along. There is just a little bit more. An epilogue, it is already written, I will post it at the weekend!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2016 21:58 · For: Chapter 17

Such a lovely end to the story, Cheeky. I had a lump in my throat through most of it, especially their remembrance of Eldarion, Arwen and Aragorn at the end. I hope Elrond is right about why certain people have yet to return and Elladan will meet his love when he's fully healed of his prejudice and shame. 



Author's Response: Well.......there is more......just a little bit more, an epilogue.... So you may get your answers about Elladan. I will say no more. It is already written. I will post it at the weekend :D Glad you liked this chapter. It is my favourite I think. I have had that scene where they reminisce about Aragorn and Eldarion in my head the whole way through. That is what I have been working towards!!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 14, 2016 20:37 · For: Chapter 16

Lovely chapter, Cheeky! I really enjoyed seeing loved-up Legolas and Elohir and although Elladan clearly has a long way to go, he's finally confided in Elrohir. It was understandable that Elrohir would be angry at first but thank goodness he listened to Legolas.

i do hope Elladan will get his own happy ending before long. 



Author's Response: Loved up Legolas and Elrohir are there solely because I love writing them and realised they have been at odds this entire story and I haven't given myself a chance to write it! Glad you liked them too. Just as well Elrohir took Legolas with him to be the voice of reason. I think Legolas has had a long, long, time being the object of everyone's pity so it does him good being the strong one who is able to offer help to others. As for Elladan.......well that would be telling.....


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 04, 2016 13:48 · For: Chapter 15

Yay for Legolas and Elrohir finally getting it together! Lovely scene in the sea, where Legolas promises Elrohir to keep him safe. And they actually talked and listened! *faints with shock* Long may it continue!

Now, thank goodness Legolas is going with Elrohir to Elladan, and thank goodness Elrohir didn't immediately jump to the wrong conclusion about Legolas and Elladan. I hope they can help him.



Author's Response: They did talk and listen.....I know......major breakthrough! Perhaps Elrohir being traumatised by the water meant his mind was unable to distract him with trivia!! I think it was important Legolas was able to be the strong one here. He has spent a long time being "poor Legolas" to everybody and taking help and sympathy but giving nothing back. Yeah there was always that possibility of Elrohir jumping to the wrong conclusions. I actually thought that when I wrote it! I am not sure if he has finally matured or if he is just feeling really secure after their little love fest so it didn't enter his mind.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 04, 2016 13:35 · For: Chapter 15

Oh - good lad Elrohir - for not instantly deciding Legolas must be having an affair with Elladan!

It is good to see them, finally, talking to each other - and more.



Author's Response: I know, the thought did flit through my mind the possibility was there for him to misinterpret things. Perhaps it was good timing that Legolas only starting going on about Elladan after he and Elrohir had had a loved up shagfest so Elrohir was feeling nice and secure!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 27, 2016 14:08 · For: Chapter 14

Oh- now what is going on here? You are hinting at much more than just silly misunderstnadings and it seems the trigger was Elrohir saying that it FELT Like he was taking advantage. But its Elladan I am worried about now:(



Author's Response: Elladan is a bit of a mess right now. You are right to worry about him. Hopefully Elrond can sort him out. I think his frustration over what he has lost, (which Elrohir doesn't know about), and what Elrohir actually could have but runs away from has got to the point it is just all spilling over......and talking to Legolas about his loss after so many years not telling anyone has unleashed all his hidden grief. As for Legolas and Elrohir........... Well Legolas doesn't like the idea Elrohir feels he took advantage of him, it makes him feel like Elrohir thinks he is weak but that is not why he has withdrawn. The trigger actually was the physical intimacy of touch and Legolas is frightened....terrified. Remember his panic attack after the dream of losing Elrohir. Legolas is afraid of loss. If he loves Elrohir....and Elrohir loves him.....then he opens himself up to the potential pain of losing him. Loving someone after all means giving them the power to hurt you. For all that Legolas has been unhappy thinking Elrohir didn't care for him it has also given him a measure of safety over his own feelings......they are not real because Elrohir doesn't reciprocate. Suddenly he discovers that is not true. His safety net is whipped away, Elrohir loves him and that is scary.......because one day he might lose him. Legolas would like to lock himself away and never love anyone again just so that he will never lose them either. Does that even make sense?!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: February 27, 2016 10:39 · For: Chapter 14

Oh lads, lads, lads...  which makes me think it's time Gimli gave Legolas a good talking too as well :)



Author's Response: But Gimli is dead.....I Am sure I put that in somewhere.......goes to check.........oh yes, Gimli is definately dead. Otherwise yes, he would be giving Legolas a severe talking to right about now, if he were there that is!! Subconscious ghost Gimli could do it though.......hmmm, now there's a thought...


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 27, 2016 10:19 · For: Chapter 14

Okay - so finally they've admitted they love one another. Poor Elrohir - I can see why he'd think Legolas should just fall into his arms at that point. To tell the truth, I want to give Legolas a clip round the ear and tell him to get over himself, because I just want them to get together! Still, he's spent years believing Elrohir doesn't want him and the issues around his mother haven't gone away. If only he would just tell Elrohir about that rather than drawing into himself...

If Elladan was there, he'd bang their heads together! I hope his talk with his father will do him some good. And then he needs to tell Elrohir.

Please sort them out soon, Cheeky!

 



Author's Response: Don't be too mad with Legolas, he just needs a little time. He didn't expect to hear this and he is terrified.....remember his dreams of losing Elrohir....... He has to be prepared to risk experiencing that loss to be able to love him and despite his misery about it things were quite safe when he thought Elrohir felt nothing for him. Now it's all got too real and too scary. Poor baby......and yeah his mother.....he needs to open up about that but when?? As for Elladan, oh yes seriously needs to talk to Elrond. He is beginning to lose it. As for telling Elrohir, oh that is another whole kettle of fish!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2016 13:06 · For: Chapter 13

Oh poor Elladan... and yet, perhaps, his discussing his own loss might help ease the whole situation.


I hope he finds his love if Elrohir and Legolas ever get themselves together.



Author's Response: Well I think Legolas had his eyes opened to the fact others are just as badly off as he is and yet they still carry on...and manage to be happy. Can he manage to sort the mess out with Elrohir though? Hmm ...I am never sure with these two!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2016 11:45 · For: Chapter 13

Poor Elladan - so now we know his story. How sad that he's carried this grief all this time and no one living knows of it - until now. Legolas is right, though - he needs to tell his brother and father. Funny how it's easy to see the answer to other people's problems! I'm glad Elladan used his agreement to force Legolas to tell Elrohir. Those two really need to talk openly.

I can't wait to find out what happens!



Author's Response: Yes....yes they do. Now if only we could be sure when they talk openly they don't say stupid things. Maybe Elladan needs to be there as an interpreter? Elladan does need to finally share this with his family who will all no doubt feel really bad he has had to deal with it on his own....when they get over the "not telling them" thing. But as he says that was his own fault. An error of youth he has had a lot of time to regret.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2016 19:21 · For: Chapter 12

Oh, how heartbreaking. No wonder Legolas can't believe he'll ever find happiness if the one promise he's clung on to all these years seems to be a lie. Now as well as hoping Legolas and Elrohir finally get together and Elladan finds the love he's been waiting for, I want Legolas's mother to return. That's quite a list you've got to sort out, Cheeky!



Author's Response: As you can see Legolas's time in Valinor got off to a really bad start and I don't think he has been able to move past that. If he had been thinking logically he probably could have worked out there was a chance his Mother wouldn't be there to meet him but when you have something you have determinedly clung to since childhood being logical is hard. Not sure I will be able to fix everything on that list but I promise I will sort out at least some of it!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2016 13:20 · For: Chapter 12

Poor old Legolas. Just everything is wrong.



Author's Response: I know. Told you it sucked to be him in this story. Now I have to try and sort his life out for him. Not an easy task!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: February 13, 2016 21:12 · For: Chapter 11

Ah - poor Elladan.  I'm sure there will be someone here for him somewhere. 

 

Might give Elrohir something else to think about as well :)



Author's Response: I know, poor Elladan. He keeps his angst well hidden normally but it just spilled out there. I am not sure Elrohir really understood how miserable he was though.....too wrapped up in his own misery. He is a bit self absorbed that one!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 13, 2016 20:19 · For: Chapter 11

Oh- you've just gone and dumped a load more angst on me now with poor Elladan:( And I feel for poor Elrohir who is still a nob but a grieiving nob so therefore forgiven. Please bang their heads together

x



Author's Response: I am not very happy with Elladan. He dumped all that stuff at the end of the chapter on me without permission and I really have no idea what he is going on about. It is not part of the plan. Have come to a grinding halt dithering about wether to just ignore him and carry on with things as I thought they would be or allow him to divert me while I try to get to the bottom of it. It's a headache..........maybe I will just write some Condensed Silm for awhile instead and put him.......and his nob of a brother.......in time out.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 13, 2016 20:10 · For: Chapter 10

Oh no!!!! Elrohir, you are such a nob! This is probably someone in Legolas' family or an old friend. Argh!



Author's Response: He is a nob. I have to admit that. I am seriously beginning to wonder if there is any hope for him!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 13, 2016 6:57 · For: Chapter 11

Some hard truths for Elrohir here, but he needs to hear them. Perhaps Elladan is right - Elrohir will have a better chance of winning Legolas when he is healed enough to be confident of the bond between them. I hope he heals quickly though!

And poor Elladan - no one's considered him. Who is the 'she' who might not be here?



Author's Response: Yeah poor Elladan, trucking along holding the other two together and neither of them give him a second thought. Elrohir is guilty of being a bit selfish in that regard. As for "she" yes indeed who is she? A general "none of these chicks does it for me" or someone more specific? I can't say I'm afraid!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2016 20:05 · For: Chapter 10

Aaargh! Elrohir - just tell him!!! I think the mysterious Sinda is one of Legolas's relations. Oropher, maybe? 

I liked Elrohir's reaction to Tirion. Maybe it's a place he and Legolas could both enjoy. If only they get their act together!

lovely chapter!



Author's Response: Poor Elrohir has been a bit of a lost soul since he came to Aman. Running around after Legolas generally making things worse. He hasn't really been able to find a place where he fits in at all. Maybe Tirion is it? He needs to think a bit about himself maybe instead of focusing on Legolas and messing it all up!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2016 11:30 · For: Chapter 10

Hmmm - I wonder.... perhaps Oropher.... perhaps not!



Author's Response: Elrohir's life might be easier if he had stopped to consider other options like you did!


You must login () to review.