| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Out of the Woods by lotrfan General Audiences
Summary: Oropher receives word regarding the mustering of the armies of the Last Alliance and Thranduil confronts his doubts...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1679
Chapters: 8567
Word count: 26093548
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16065
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members: Starfox

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/24/18 10:14 am
I would just choose whichever you want then, Gabriel. It’s what I tend to do when there is no clear answer
Gabriel
09/24/18 06:31 am
I have tried to look for it on other sites, but they have given two time frames which is a little confusing. One in the S.A. the other in the T.A.
Gabriel
09/24/18 06:24 am
I have a little question to ask. totally off the subject. Does anyone know when Bree was built? Was it up and running when Gil galad was king of the Noldor and Celebrimbor was in Eregion?
Gabriel
09/24/18 02:45 am
Okay. If its not too much trouble. Thank you Spiced. :)
Spiced Wine
09/23/18 11:53 am
It’s not a problem, I shall just go in and edit the announcement
Gabriel
09/23/18 07:31 am
Besides, I don't want you having to go out of your way just to add me to the list. But thank you for offering. :)
Gabriel
09/23/18 07:27 am
I don't want to be a bother, Spiced. I think I'll just wait till my other fic has done its dash in the recents list and post the SinS after it. Its no problem.
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
But I can definitely add it for you
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
I can add it, Gabriel, but only using a keyboard and iPad I cannot hotlink it I have no mouse, and everything is a pain in the neck
Gabriel
09/22/18 01:00 pm
Not to worry Spiced! It was my fault for not submitting it in time. That's the consequences I guess. :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For No one is to stay

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2016 0:47 · For: Chapter 1

I like the philosophical slant you've givent he orcs and yes, I have Maedhros as the guardian of the Door too so it's good to see that elsewhere. I like the idea of Elladan and Elrohir  as his heirs- given it as a title almost. Intersting- hope you develop that a bit more actually.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review. It means a lot to me since I haven't written Elladan & Elrohir before. Giving them the title Maedhros Heirs tempted me despite my doubts if I could get the point across. I like to think Maedhros influenced Elladan & Elrohir a lot, not just because they're something like his grandsons but because of their own history as well.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2016 21:16 · For: Chapter 1
I do like the idea Elladan and Elrohir could somehow master something similar to Ambarussa and I can really see that happening. I know a lot of fanfiction has them as opposites, with different talents, one a healer one not etc but actually when you read Tolkien he goes to some lengths to underline their sameness. I would love to see something exploring this side of the twins.

You are right. Elrond and Elros are too different, almost as if the human and elvish blood "split" in them. Maybe they are slightly different due to being half elves with a rather large chunk of Mannish blood whereas by the time you get to Elladan and Elrohir the Human side has been diluted down to quite small by their elvish mother.......and she is Galadriels daughter no less!

Love your theories on the more elvish zombie orcs. It makes perfect sense they would still be immortal and I loved the thought of Namo collecting their souls so lovingly to cleanse them back to what they were meant to be. When I first read this I thought....you know who is to say this Orc didn't actually know Maedhros....or earlier than that Finw


Name: KimicThranduilion (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2016 19:38 · For: Chapter 1
I loved this new twist you've given to the orcs. The idea that they haven't lost their immortality and can live to great ages is very intriguing. You've portrayed the Orc in a way I've not seen before - you can see and feel that this Orc truly had elvish origins. It was rather creepy that it could sense Elladans fea.
Also I loved the interaction between the twins. Lovely story. I really enjoyed this!

Author's Response:

I believe the hint that the Orcs can a live long time comes from 'The Return of the King', as far as I know. Apparently there're two orcs keeping conversation and hinting at past Ages but I haven't read up on it yet. Even if it isn't true, I ran away with it. It's simply to tempting. Or a way too easy way to make our elvish uncomfortable. 

And I'm relieved that you liked the interaction between E&E. I wasn't sure if I got their character right.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2016 18:56 · For: Chapter 1
I loved the "elvenness" of this Orc. Twisted and corrupted I could still feel its origins.

And the reference to the twins shared fea. It reminds me of Amborossa in your other story, the twins who are more comfortable being one. Do you see Elladan and Elrohir as that also? The fact the Orc still knew enough about elves to know that is chilling. Or did it still have the ability to sense their fea? Even more chilling that orcs might still be able to interact with the elves like that.
This was thought provoking!!

Author's Response:

First: I've thought about it, the differences between Ambarussa and E&E. Fact is, in my head all elvish twins are one soul raised in two bodies. Perhaps because Elves consciously conceive their children. The soul comes first, the body/ies later. Yet, the little trick of Ambarussa is unique I think. Elurin&Elured were too small and probably wouldn't have been raised in with the right mind for it. Elros and Elrond ... are too different. I can't see it happening here either. So, Elladan&Elrohir are probably the only twin pair beside Amabrussa who could master it, yet there's no one around to teach them.

... you're good at giving me ideas, dammit. Poking at my desire to write more of the twins is fun, eh? xD

The thing about the Orc's ... especially the older ones are more have knowledge. But the fea sensing actually goes back to the Fellowship Movie where Galadriel gets all dark and glowy. If elves can use their fea like this (read: Feanor going up in flames) and their fea can be actually effected by outer influnces than Orcs are literally just fea turned dark. Like ... someone tried to cook, but left it too boil until you had nothing left but the burned scrapes at the bottom of your pot. And you can't scrub the hröa clean either.

If've planned on using the concept in 'The World breaks Everyone', especially after writing this.

So my question behind all of this was: Do Orcs see themselves as Orcs? Do they have tells about their origins they tell their young? Have they a culture, an identiy? Or are they far much closer to Elves than we might think? If look past the movie image, make the Orc's a bit taller and a bit more like the corpses Frodo and Gollum saw in the Dead Marches we have ... Elves with a dead Fea. Zombie Elves ... i'll stop talking now. Orc's as Zombie isn't a good thought right now. Too many possebilities.

But htanks for your review anyway :)



You must login () to review.