| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14772
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 12
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For No one is to stay

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2016 0:47 · For: Chapter 1

I like the philosophical slant you've givent he orcs and yes, I have Maedhros as the guardian of the Door too so it's good to see that elsewhere. I like the idea of Elladan and Elrohir  as his heirs- given it as a title almost. Intersting- hope you develop that a bit more actually.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review. It means a lot to me since I haven't written Elladan & Elrohir before. Giving them the title Maedhros Heirs tempted me despite my doubts if I could get the point across. I like to think Maedhros influenced Elladan & Elrohir a lot, not just because they're something like his grandsons but because of their own history as well.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2016 21:16 · For: Chapter 1
I do like the idea Elladan and Elrohir could somehow master something similar to Ambarussa and I can really see that happening. I know a lot of fanfiction has them as opposites, with different talents, one a healer one not etc but actually when you read Tolkien he goes to some lengths to underline their sameness. I would love to see something exploring this side of the twins.

You are right. Elrond and Elros are too different, almost as if the human and elvish blood "split" in them. Maybe they are slightly different due to being half elves with a rather large chunk of Mannish blood whereas by the time you get to Elladan and Elrohir the Human side has been diluted down to quite small by their elvish mother.......and she is Galadriels daughter no less!

Love your theories on the more elvish zombie orcs. It makes perfect sense they would still be immortal and I loved the thought of Namo collecting their souls so lovingly to cleanse them back to what they were meant to be. When I first read this I thought....you know who is to say this Orc didn't actually know Maedhros....or earlier than that Finw


Name: KimicThranduilion (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2016 19:38 · For: Chapter 1
I loved this new twist you've given to the orcs. The idea that they haven't lost their immortality and can live to great ages is very intriguing. You've portrayed the Orc in a way I've not seen before - you can see and feel that this Orc truly had elvish origins. It was rather creepy that it could sense Elladans fea.
Also I loved the interaction between the twins. Lovely story. I really enjoyed this!

Author's Response:

I believe the hint that the Orcs can a live long time comes from 'The Return of the King', as far as I know. Apparently there're two orcs keeping conversation and hinting at past Ages but I haven't read up on it yet. Even if it isn't true, I ran away with it. It's simply to tempting. Or a way too easy way to make our elvish uncomfortable. 

And I'm relieved that you liked the interaction between E&E. I wasn't sure if I got their character right.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2016 18:56 · For: Chapter 1
I loved the "elvenness" of this Orc. Twisted and corrupted I could still feel its origins.

And the reference to the twins shared fea. It reminds me of Amborossa in your other story, the twins who are more comfortable being one. Do you see Elladan and Elrohir as that also? The fact the Orc still knew enough about elves to know that is chilling. Or did it still have the ability to sense their fea? Even more chilling that orcs might still be able to interact with the elves like that.
This was thought provoking!!

Author's Response:

First: I've thought about it, the differences between Ambarussa and E&E. Fact is, in my head all elvish twins are one soul raised in two bodies. Perhaps because Elves consciously conceive their children. The soul comes first, the body/ies later. Yet, the little trick of Ambarussa is unique I think. Elurin&Elured were too small and probably wouldn't have been raised in with the right mind for it. Elros and Elrond ... are too different. I can't see it happening here either. So, Elladan&Elrohir are probably the only twin pair beside Amabrussa who could master it, yet there's no one around to teach them.

... you're good at giving me ideas, dammit. Poking at my desire to write more of the twins is fun, eh? xD

The thing about the Orc's ... especially the older ones are more have knowledge. But the fea sensing actually goes back to the Fellowship Movie where Galadriel gets all dark and glowy. If elves can use their fea like this (read: Feanor going up in flames) and their fea can be actually effected by outer influnces than Orcs are literally just fea turned dark. Like ... someone tried to cook, but left it too boil until you had nothing left but the burned scrapes at the bottom of your pot. And you can't scrub the hröa clean either.

If've planned on using the concept in 'The World breaks Everyone', especially after writing this.

So my question behind all of this was: Do Orcs see themselves as Orcs? Do they have tells about their origins they tell their young? Have they a culture, an identiy? Or are they far much closer to Elves than we might think? If look past the movie image, make the Orc's a bit taller and a bit more like the corpses Frodo and Gollum saw in the Dead Marches we have ... Elves with a dead Fea. Zombie Elves ... i'll stop talking now. Orc's as Zombie isn't a good thought right now. Too many possebilities.

But htanks for your review anyway :)



You must login () to review.