| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

At Sea in the Middle of Ithilien by UnnamedElement Teen
This is the story of Legolas' Sea-longing long after it started, through the eyes of his lover, and all the ways it pulls...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
What is Lost by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Maedhros and Maglor in the immediate aftermath of the Nirnaeth Arnoediad. Flashbacks to Tirion. Maedhros and Fingon first...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
I Will Wait by lotrfan General Audiences
For the SWG April/May A Woman's Sceptre Challenge.Prompt:“Some say cavalry and other claim infantry or a fleet of long...
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 79
Stories: 1571
Chapters: 8075
Word count: 24234649
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14483
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Ysilme
09/21/17 01:12 pm
Good to hear, NelyafinweFeanorion! :D
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/19/17 04:20 am
It worked!
ziggy
09/18/17 11:05 pm
I always use arda-lambion and don't worry too much about the grammar! Life's too short:)
Narya
09/17/17 09:30 pm
Anyone know of a reliable Quenya translator?
ziggy
09/17/17 06:31 pm
Welcome FINALLY Nelyafinwefeanorian!! Hurray- you are here:)
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:25 pm
Okay, I hope it works. Maybe it was just some glitch :/ As I say it has happened once or twice before but goodness knows why
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:12 pm
I'll try again from this acct today and see if it works. Thanks to everyone for the encouragement and help and esteliel for the emails.
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:10 pm
I tried last night and it didn't work. I created another account name and tried that and that story posted. At least I think it did--I see it up there on the most recent. I'll try this accoun
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:36 am
The only thing I can think to do is for esteliel or myself to use your password, log in and post your first chapter. I believe the last time this happened it's what I did.
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:34 am
What did esteliel say, Nelyafinwe?
Shout Archive


Reviews For Nelyo

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2017 10:04 · For: Chapter 2 The Eagle
Wow! This is so different. I loved it.
So fantastically done, I don't know whether I could have written from the perspective of the Eagles, so I commend you.
So descriptive you were in this that you've managed to get the Eagles manarisms {I hope I spelt that right} and views of the world down to a Tee.
And your description of Maedhros, hanging on the cliff face; so excellently done and yet sad to read about him so.
Awesome! :)

Author's Response:

Thank you Gabriel. I'm really pleased the eagle worked- it was quite interesting to try and think eagle-like. ANd poor Maedhros- how Tolkien heaped torment upon torment. He really punishes Maedhros and seems so determined to grind him to despair. Always makes me so sad to think of him and Fingon.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2017 9:47 · For: Chapter 1
I really love the way many stories of Maedhros and Fingon have created a romance, a love, desire and lust between them.
Personally I think it should have been this way from the outset in the original silmarillion, but those were the times I guess.
Having them both drunk {and we all know it takes a lot to make an Elf drunk} put a new spin on things.
One of my favourites was the two of them falling into a garden, giggling and trying to shush each other up, made me laugh. Classic.
Fingon's love and desire for his cousin was so eloquently conveyed; so in love with him he is, that he notices how different in colour, strands of Maedhros's hair is. Only someone so invested in another would notice little things like that.
Such an intimately and beautifully written piece Ziggy. Could you possibly write a bit more on them? :D

Author's Response:

Ah -you are true to your word, Gabriel.LOts of lovely reviews- making my day:) Thank you. And because it's you and you are so nice, I will write more of them- probably not this week because I am a bit snowed under but last week of May/1st week of June. I have loads of scenes for these two in my head- happy to get them down to share.

x

 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 03, 2016 17:51 · For: Chapter 2 The Eagle

Maedhros suffered so much, and it really came through in this chapter.  I loved though his defiance as well.  He would not bend.  He would not submit.  Not even to save himself that horror.

I don’t think I’ve ever read a story from one of the eagle’s POV, so this was really unique :)

I am going to assume that the eagles are physically unable to go against Manwe’s will, which is why when Gwahir says he’s has to follow his oath to Manwe, it means he’s physically unable to break it.  I have to feel this way, because otherwise I would really hate Gwahir for leaving Maedhros to suffer when he could have saved him.

 

This was another great chapter :)  One day, do you think you will write more of Fingon and Maedhros in Valinor?  I admit to selfishly wishing there was more of them there.  I want to see how Fingon and Maedhros eventually got together!  Unless…are they not together yet?  Does that happen after Angband?



Author's Response:

Thanks Encairion- it was just something I had lurking in my inbox really and thought I'd pop it up here.

 

Yes- I have a few things to write of these two in Valinor - this isn't a story, just random scribblings really. I've got a plot bunny someone gave me- was it you? Findekano the day after he made a pass at Nelyo. Oh- you are supposing I have got this worked out in my head. I think Nelyo and hten as Maedhros woul dhave ALWAYS denied himself Findekano/Fingo - first because he was protecting him from teh Valar and from Noldor society, then he would have protected him from the Noldor disapproval of the Feanorians, and then as Fingon was king, from the damage to his reputation-Maedhors is all about semf-denial. Loads and loads of UST!! I'll do something more soon, I promise.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 23:08 · For: Chapter 1

I'm sorry he made you uncomfortable molesting Nelyo- I hadn't even thought of that (shows MY morals!!)”

 

You’ve read my stories, so you know the kind of stuff I write, and this isn’t shocking in that sense :)  I think it was just the character that threw me.  I never expected that from Fingon, so I was a little shocked.  But I am glad that you reminded me he was drunk at the time.  We can all make really bad decisions when we are drunk, but I am still glad it stopped before it got too far.  Can you imagine the guilt he would feel after sobering up if he hadn’t?



Author's Response:

I htink you've just inspired me for the next chapter!!!

x



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 18:39 · For: Chapter 1

OMG I love that you are writing these two!  You write the heartbreak of their relationship so perfectly, you stab me through the chest every time we see the after-math of Fingon’s death :sobs: 

I love that they got drunk, and people were scolding them lol

Oh these two!  They are both pinning over each other so badly!  I really liked that twist at the end where it turned out Maedhros was awake the whole time!  But oh, it hurt to get inside his head :(  Oh Maedhros!  It is just like hi to think Fingon would grow out of his infatuation, so of course Maedhros would never ‘take advantage’ (as he would see it) of Fingon’s youthful infatuation.  These two need to be locked in a room together and actually TALK about their feelings lol

I was starting to get upset with Fingon when he was, well, pretty much molesting Maedhros in his sleep (since he didn’t know Maedhros was awake at the time).  I am really glad he stopped!  I get that he’s longing for Maedhros, but please stop yourself Fingon! 

 

I hope the two of them don’t have to wait too longer before they recognize the other’s true feelings!  I have a feeling that the moment Fingon realizes Maedhros feels the same way about him, everything will work out.  Fingon is stubborn enough to make Maedhros see reason and finally understand that no, no this isn’t some infatuation!  He’s in love with you, you idiot lol



Author's Response:

Yes- I love them too- they are so so tragic. I actually need to pull together a load of scraps and bits and pieces and put them in a proper story but I just don't have enough time to be honest. Nelyo is always protective and will continue to do so in my book; he will always be aware of what ohers will think FOR Findekano's sake (and even more when they are in Beleriand and Fingon is King) I'm sorry he made you uncomfortable molesting Nelyo- I hadn't even thought of that (shows MY morals!!) but I'm going to just go back and think about that- how he might feel on reflection and sober. THat's quite a nice prompt actually:) Thank yox



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: July 22, 2016 17:28 · For: Chapter 2 The Eagle
Oh gosh. Loved this! What a surprise and so beautiful.
Loved Gwahir and his devoted protection of Maedhros. You have managed to make me fall for one of those drafted Eagles. Such an inventive and unexpected way of looking at Fingin's rescue.

Loved the way Gwahir translated everything through his eagle lens of seeing the world. Of course Madhros' hair was feathers...what else would it be.

I did notice Fingon didn't have his harp.

Thanks for writing this. Fantastic!!

Author's Response:

Thanks cheekybeak- it's been in my dox for ages and I just thought I should post it. Glad you liked the feathers bit- I had a little fun writing it. xxx



Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: June 30, 2016 20:40 · For: Chapter 1

This is just so sweet. and wonderfully sad too in a way. You describe their feelings so well, and one can easily imagine the situation they are in, and the society which has its own demands and expects certain behaviors from them. Lovely story, with a lot of melancholy really, considering what will happen to them later on. Really great work.



Author's Response:

So sorry- alerts have been going into my junk box for some reason- I think it is since Faerie had to swap sites.

 

Anyway- thank you for reading and reviewing Nuredhel. I always think these two are the most tragic characters ever. Nothing Maedhros does is right and hte nasty old Valar absolutely turn everything to tears.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2016 16:28 · For: Chapter 1

Mmmm...a delicious start to the new year. Thanks, Ziggy!



Author's Response:

Now I hope this might encourage you to write a bit more as well.

xxx



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2016 12:17 · For: Chapter 1
Oh, god, they are so delicious and beautiful and young. Maybe not in years but in the innocence they had before the Exile. It is always so poignant to read them like this, before the Oath, before the war of the Jewels, before everything started falling apart.

He would always protect Fin, he swore. Even it meant he sacrificed himself to do so.

And this is so sad, because we know that at the end - he could not :(

Author's Response:

I knew you would get that- another oath he can't keep. As you say, innocence in the sense of naivety too - they have no idea what's ahead of them yet.  I didn't spend a lot of time crafting this so it's a bit raw but I think/hope that works too. It'll probably find its way into something sometime.  Thank you as always- for your inspiration as well as the review.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2016 7:15 · For: Chapter 1
Oh what a brilliant surprise!!

I loved this......of course, I don't think I have ever read something about these two where the infatuation is from Fingon, it has always been Maedhros waiting around for Fingon to come to his senses.......I wonder why that is? Hadn't thought of it at all before.

You made Maedhros sound like a god in this....of course he is. ( although I had never imagined elves drooling.)

I tried very hard while reading this not to think of poor Maedhros in the darkness of the void where you have put him at the end of it.....with that ribbon......sob.....I failed, and this makes that even more heartbreaking if possible.

I would love to see more of these two......how could I not! ( almost makes up for Glorfindel.....almost.....)

Author's Response:

Well i owe you becausei said i would post the next bit of glass to put everyone out of their misery. I hope i didn't overdo the worship. In Glass there is a bit where Fingon is impatient with Maedhros for holding himself away from Fingon so I hope this is congruent with that. IMO Nelyo /Maedhros always thinks long term is strategic and can see the impact of their relationship. But it also gives it a bit of depth I hope. This was originally for Slashy Santa but it didn't fit the prompts and I'm doing a different pairing now so thought I owed you and Naledi!



You must login () to review.