| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7888
Word count: 23423549
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13826
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Ysilme
03/30/17 01:32 am
I suppose they'd have a heart attack if I told them I'm writing fanfic in English these days. *g*
Ysilme
03/30/17 01:31 am
experience like you, Alpha, but with English: two English teachers told me I should try to get a job where I wouldn't need foreign languages as they judged me too little giftd in languages.
Ysilme
03/30/17 01:29 am
My father was a maths teacher, too, which wasn't always easy for me, *g* - my classmates considered it as uncool in a major way to be daugther of a maths teacher. And I made a similar
ziggy
03/28/17 11:13 pm
Wow- Naledi- you were Maths!! I am an English teacher and so agree. I am so careful - don't always get it right but try to make sure every interaction is positive.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Shout Archive



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2017 21:25 · For: Chapter 30

Elladan had better send a fast messenger to Thranduil, because poor Thranduil is pretty much at the end of his tether by the looks of things! Not that I can blame him. I just hope Elrond can finally call Legolas back and give Thranduil a cause for celebration.



Author's Response: Thranduil really is starting to lose it - he's been so worried for so long now - I think it's finally time to put him out of his misery. And hopefully Elrond will be able to give him the added news that Legolas is awake and will be A-OK. Fingers crossed. Thanks for reading Naledi :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2017 21:04 · For: Chapter 29

It's good to see an update! I'm really worried about Legolas, though. I hope Elrohir and Elladan get him to Elrond quickly so that Elrond can try reaching him.



Author's Response: Yes - took me a while I got distracted by the holidays :) Things do look grim for poor Leggy but at least he's got the twins - if inly they can get him there in time!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2016 22:25 · For: Chapter 28

I feel for Idhes. How terrible to know her son has died and not know any more. Poor Thranduil, too.. he must be dreading to feel the same thing with Legolas. 

While the twins clearly have Legolas's best interests at heart, I don't think Legolas would s going to see it that way when he wakes up to find himself with the Dunedain. I hope he doesn't do anything silly, but of course it's understandable. 

Thanks for updating!



Author's Response: I know - I felt quite bad doing this to her but yeah the wondering, the not knowing would really be a killer. Because how are you supposed to grieve? How do you get closure? Hard times indeed for her. Thranduil is just about holding on - I think he's done well not to explode so far. The twins have really taken to Legolas and only want what's best for him but I don't think Legolas cares about any of that at the moment - he's hurting too much. Here's to hoping he sleeps through the whole ordeal. As ever thank you for reading and reviewing :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2016 21:03 · For: Chapter 27

Oh no - I was so sure the twins would be able to save Faervel. That was so sad. Poor Legolas. No matter what Faervel said, he's going to feel guilty. I just hope he takes Faervel's advice and stays in Imladris long enough to heal completely. I also hope they'll be able to get a message through to Thranduil to let him know Legolas is safe. Also, why do I get the feeling something terrible is about to happen to Rithel?



Author's Response: I know - I'm sorry * hides behind cushion *Yeah our dearest Faervel is gone and yeah Poor ol Leggy will struggle he's on his own in a foreign land and still injured. Tough times for him. Thranduil is stressed out of his mind I think the sooner they get a message out to him the better. As for Rithel I thought it was high time she put in an appearance - she'll be appalled at what's happen to her lasseg. Whether she is also in for trouble ... Hmmm :) Thanks for reading and reviewing Naledi


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2016 0:14 · For: Chapter 26

At last! Thank goodness the twins arrived when they did - I was really worried that Faervel wasn't going to make it. Okay, I know he's still in danger but at least he's getting the help he needs. I wonder how Elrond will react to having a bedraggled son of Thranduil under his care!



Author's Response: Yes the twins are finally here but Faervel isn't out of the woods just yet. Still like you say at least help is on hand. As for Elrond I think their may be a bit more than a raised eyebrow from him when he realises who his sons have brought home!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2016 17:30 · For: Chapter 25

Nooooooooooo! You can't leave it there! Poor Farevel! Thanks goodness Elladan and Elrohir are close by. I hope they get to them in time and are able to save Farevel. I'm guessing if Farevel recovers, Legolas will be so relieved, he'll forget his anger about Farevel being his secret bodyguard...



Author's Response: I'm sorry evil cliffie I know. But like you say our lovely twins are very near by and are here go tailing it to the rescue. So we can only hope they get there in time. Faervel could do worse than have two of Elrond's sons round the corner. And yeah I think Legolas will never be able to stay mad at his best bud for too long. Thanks for reading.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 21:41 · For: Chapter 23

Thank goodness Faervel has found Legolas. I can start to hope that Legolas's torment is at an end :)



Author's Response: Yes he finally has a firend in his corner and can hopefully now get patched up and off that nasty mountain. Again - thank you ever so much for reading and for your kind reviews on all these chapters - it really has made my day! :) Hanon-le mellon-nin :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 21:36 · For: Chapter 22

At this rate he'd soon be naked and covered in bandages made from his clothing.

Hahaha! Even in Legolas's curren dire straits, that made me laugh! And this chapter ends upon hope. Finally Legolas has met up with a friend!

 



Author's Response: Hope is in sight - Legolas may just have been saved. And yes I did realise I had the poor guy tearing all his clothing to shreds to make bandages - poor, poor, elfie.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 21:29 · For: Chapter 21

Oh no! Just when it seemed Legolas was safe. Come on, twins - Legolas needs some help here!



Author's Response: I know he just really just can't catch a break at the minute poor elfie. I promise I will be nice to him at some point in this story :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 21:23 · For: Chapter 20

Ooh, the twins are close by - even better than Beorn! At least, I hope they're near. I really hope they find Legolas.



Author's Response: Yes our lovely twins are also stalking the mountains - more of them to come - they may just be able to help. And yes far better than Beorn - somehow I don't think he'll be able to provide the TLC poor Leggles will need :D


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 21:19 · For: Chapter 19

Hah! I'm happy Aldred got his come-uppance! A bit disappointed Elias got away, though. Now, where's Beorn? I hope he's close, because Legolas could really use some help!



Author's Response: Yes it is satisfying to see the captor become the captive - think I've still got a bit more in store for him though. Mwahaha. As for Elias - I am sorry - I know I've disappointed a few readers by letting him escape (For now) but I promise he will get his just desserts in the end I just didn't think I could fit it in this story all about his background and his elf hate etc. I tried but It would not fit without me loosing focus on the main story so I've decided his comeuppance will have to wait for another time (and story) *cowers sheepishly* I DID try.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 21:12 · For: Chapter 18

Yay! It's great to see Legolas in action here, and he's regained his mother's ring. I worry about how far he'll get, injured and with Elias still at large, though.



Author's Response: Yes I thought it was abouttime Leggy got a little bit of his fight back - he's been down trodden for too long now. But you're right - how long will his strength hold?


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 21:00 · For: Chapter 17

Ha - I must have got confused. I thought Legolas's tormentor was called Theadan, but now I see that must have been a typo of 'the adan' - lol! Well, at least Elias has been found out by Aldred, but I have a horrible feeling Legolas will suffer for it later :(



Author's Response: yes I think my spacing has got a tiny bit messed up their it should read as the adan - his tormentor is Elias - yes. He is an ex-ranger so he learnt the grey tongue growing up but something happened along the way to make him despise the elves. So he's not exactly an elf friend whatever he claims. He's been stopped for now but it a bit too little too late for Legolas. I think the tree torture would be hardest for him to bear


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 20:51 · For: Chapter 16

How on earth did Theadan become an elf friend, if he's telling the truth about that? I can't bear that the tree  thought Legolas was inflicting that damage upon it - so sad.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 20:38 · For: Chapter 15

As worried as I am about Legolas, I hope the elves will be able to save the woodsmen from the mercenaries as well.

On to the next chapter! The good thing about getting behind with a story is having loads of chapters to read at once!



Author's Response: Yeah I like the idea of Thranduil tolerating and protecting these Woods people - even coming to like them. They will be rescued...eventually. And yes I know what you mean - guilty confession - I sometimes get behiond on purpose so I can have a lovely long catch up later on. I've got a few on here to catch up with now.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 20:25 · For: Chapter 14

Yes! The Wood-elves are on their way. I hope they catch up with Legolas soon.



Author's Response: wood-elves to the rescue - do not mess with them.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 19:17 · For: Chapter 13

Yay - I'm so relieved Celegil made it back to the stronghold. I hope she's going to be okay. Now I hope Thranduil finds the men responsible for Legolas's capture and teaches them how foolish it is to mess with the Wood-elves.



Author's Response: Yeah she's a tough cookie and at least she's back at the palace - she's alot better off than her comrades. As for Thranduil can you just imagine - he will be positively furious.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 19:12 · For: Chapter 12

Aargh! Nasty, evil Theadan! I hope he meets an especially horrible end...



Author's Response: He will eventually - although I've become quite attached to him lol. I have plans for him before his end.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 19:02 · For: Chapter 11

Ah - so that's why Aldred cut Legolas's hair. I'm glad Alasson was rescued, though. I just hope it's in time. I feel bad for that old couple, too. I hope these men get their just desserts soon!



Author's Response: Evil, evil,evil - these men are nothing but bad news and causing grief for all they meet but they're still on the loose at the moment I'm afraid.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 18:56 · For: Chapter 10

Grrr...Theadan is evil. And there has to be a reason why he seems to hate elves so much, yet can speak Sindarin.

On to the next chapter...



Author's Response: Yes he's an evil man - and he does have his reasons although I don't think I will be able to get into them in this story - I think I want to save him for another tale that will explore his elf hate in more detail. I'm tickled you've taken the time out to review these chapter by chapter - it's made my day - thank you :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 18:49 · For: Chapter 9

Thank goodness the other elves are recovering from the drug. Now if only Legolas could have a chance to recover his senses...



Author's Response: Yes can'thave them all out of it for too long someone has to rescue our dear Prince.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 18:44 · For: Chapter 8

Why do I get the feeling Celegil's more badly wounded than she's letting on? I hope I'm wrong.

I like the idea of a spider commander. I don't usually imagine the spiders with such intellligence, but it works well.



Author's Response: Celegil is tough little cookie but as with all elves a bit prone to hiding when they are truly injured. I thought having the spiders have their own ranks and their own little military would be fun. They most likely view the elves with equal hatred. And I thought if they can speak (as per The Hobbit) then they must be a little bit intelligent :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 18:41 · For: Chapter 7

Oh no! You know, I almost felt as bad when Aldred hacked off Legolas's hair as when he injured himself falling out of the tree. I wonder what Legolas torture you've got in store, now that I've finally got a chance to catch up!



Author's Response: Hehe - I do love a bit of Legolas angst and torture - I can't help it - thank you for reading - hope you enjoy the rest :)


Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: July 25, 2016 4:03 · For: Chapter 18
Yay, he's free! I was beginning to think Legolas was caring more about revenge than escape. Phew. I hope he gets away!

Author's Response: Yes free.... for now. He's a sensible elf in the end and I think he realised it was time to high tail it out of there. Thanks for reading :)


Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2016 21:24 · For: Chapter 17

Well, hopefully Aldred will take better care of Legolas! He may only do it for profit, but at least poor Legolas won't be beaten as often:(

I've noticed your writing style is very direct, very powerful! I like it. The only thing I can say that would make this  easier to read though, would be shortening any run-on sentences that pop up. If you're working in a Word Document, the grammar check will take care of it. If not , it's really easy just to read through and add a period or semi-colon where a complete thought ends, and where a new one starts up.

I've really enjoyed your story so far! The dialogue is real and the paragraph breaks effective, easy on the eyes. I'm looking forward to next installment. Have an awesome day!-)



Author's Response: Phew! I'm finally back on here - my apologies for taking this long to get back to your review! Just glad I can update again :) We can only hope ALdred will take better care of Legolas but will he really? Hmmm - I don't have much faith. I'm glad you like my writing style - it's something I'm still tring to work on at the moment so thanks for the encouragement. Run-on sentences are a thing I'm struggling with in all honesty but I'l try and take your advice from now on - it's just I'm never sure when I've taken a sentence too ar if you get me? I need to look this up. But thank you so much for taking time to read and leave such a lovely review. Next installment coming up now!


You must login () to review.