| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Warning for explicit slash in this chapter. Not...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The FŽanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8133
Word count: 24444960
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14683
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members: cheekybeak

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Come of Age

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2017 7:46 · For: Epilogue
Oh my God!

I had tears in my eyes reading this.

I had a sneaky suspicion Galilas was going to be caught up in the kinslayings. Holding her son as he died, so so horrible. Horrified in watching the Elf she thought a friend cut down her son and her people.

Horrified still at coming face to face with Findekano knowing he had also played a part in it.These once beautiful men, so full of life, now reduced to monsters and murderers.

Saddened a little by some of Nolofinwe's host fleeing north with Feanaro. I loved how Nolofinwe took control of the situation and thankfully wasn't involved in the kinslaying, so strong, so valiant, such a High Prince. Love him!

Absolutely awesome ending! :)

Author's Response: I knew that when I first planned for this review that I would have to plan on closing the story this way. The kinslaying was terrible, and I wanted to exploer the implications of it on the elves. It makes it all the worse, ugh, just such a sad tale :-( Thanks again for the review and I glad you enjoyed the story!!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2017 7:18 · For: Chapter 8 The Return Home
Hi there, Fadesintothewest!

Sorry I haven't reviewed in a while, been having a little problem with the internet in the last week.

I have to say great slash! Full on!

I also liked the way you highlighted the huge amount of pressure Maedhros has ever been under; the first born of the Crown Prince, being under extreme scrutiny right from birth. Not to mention the high expectations from his Father, Grandfather and the Noldor as a people. It is any wonder Maedhros, who viewed his desire for men, a weakness, an imperfection, was depressed and full of anxiety.

Great story! :)

Author's Response: On no worries, thank you for the review! I always worry about writing slash, it's hard to know how far to go or what to leave to the imagination! I was worried about writing Maedhros as having depression, especially since elves are believed to be infallible but I've never bought that, well at least during the early days of the elves. I hope it was realistic enough, drawing from my own past experience, and those I know with the disease that is still so largely misunderstood. Thanks again for the review!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2017 6:16 · For: Chapter 7 Alqualond
They really have gone on quite a journey of self discovery while in Alqualonde, haven't they and created deep ties with some of the Falmari. Which makes what happens in the future all the more tragic.

I'm sorry Fadesintothewest. Sometimes when I read fics I get very caught up in the story and drama of it all and sometimes miss key things. And because my view of Findekano as a character is exactly how you've written him, all the little hints of his love for Maitimo I've misinterpreted as Findekano being the loving, kind, tactile and always cheerful Findekano. So please don't feel like you haven't written the hints enough for me to notice. It's all on me. And now that you've brought attention to it, I can see the little hints now. :)

I can't wait to see what happens in the next chapter. Back in Tirion! *Rubbing hands together with anticipation*

Author's Response: Please no need to apologize :-) . That's the beauty of writing and reading is that folks have diverse responses! It's certainly not on you! I am glad that your view of Findekano matches up how I have written him. He's obviously my favorite so I do tend to dote on him in these stories, but I can't help it! Alqualonde remins such a tragic and formative aspect of who they become, and I can imagine that there were relationships there. After all the time spent in Valinor must have meant much traveling and visiting the different settlements. I hope the Tirion chapter is what you expected!!!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2017 10:19 · For: Chapter 6
This is such a beautiful chapter, Fadesintothewest.

Maitimo and Findekano enjoying some much needed quality time together, in Alqualonde. With Findekano being Findekano. He is so gorgeous. I mean Findekano is everyone's dream guy. He is the ultimate brother, cousin and friend. Doing his utmost to bring a smile to Maitimo's face and draw him out of his depression.

I love the part where Maitimo shifts his gaze to Findekano, something he tries to avoid for he finds himself falling into him as if some strange enchantment has its tendrils wrapped around him. Oh my god! He is so smitten!

I just wish these two would just get it on, already! Lol. But it seems Findekano does not have the same feelings or desires Maitimo has, at the moment. So it begs the question, how is this love we know is inevitably going to evolve between them, going to eventuate? I can't wait to find out!

A great read! :)

Oh and I especially liked the Leonard Cohen lyrics at the beginning. :D

Author's Response: I love Findekano, so so much, not sure why his character has always stood out to me so much. I love writing about him. He's not without his failings. I hope there are enough hints to how Findekano feels. Thanks so much for the review. I love that Leonard Cohen song so much, there is a georgeous cover of it by Nina Simone that is on the interwebs!!!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2017 9:48 · For: Chapter 4: A Betrothal
This story is getting good!

Oh! Findekano! What was he thinking! Putting himself into a very compromising situation where he could, as a Scion of Finwe be manipulated.

I'm so glad you've included Feanaro as well as Nolofinwe in this story. Love them both.

This is proving to be a very interesting read. I love how Maitimo went to his father for advice in the matter even though Findekano was concerned how his Uncle would receive him or how his father would react to him seeking Feanaro out instead of him. I have to say I was a little surprised at the way Feanaro was towards his Nephew, I guess I was expecting a lot of animosity. Another surprise was how Feanaro spoke of his brother; in a manner not derogatory or inflamatory, showing that he is an Elf of integrity and does care for Nolofinwe and his nephews and nieces and does not wish to make matters worse between them or their Houses. Priceless!

Can't wait to read more. :)

Author's Response: Thanks Gabriel, I am glad you are enjoying it. Lol, yes, Findekano in this story is not thinking at times! I love the Feanorians and they always sneak into my stories. I love Feanor, and its too easy to treat him as terrible but I've never seen him this way. I like to think of his relationship with his other siblings as having love between them but also conflict. Why else would his brothers follow him if there wasn't that respect there in the first place. Thanks for the review!!!!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2017 13:46 · For: Epilogue

This is a brilliant ending -such a dark juxtaposition on the light affectionate loveliness of earlier. Grea to have actual names to theTeleri as well- gives it credibility and depth.



Author's Response: I didn't want to write it but knew that this is inevitably where this story ends up!!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2017 13:17 · For: Chapter 3: Repressed memories
Oh! Poor Maitimo!

How awful to be the only one of the House of Finwe that does not know of his Grandfather's lover. I would gather Maitimo would feel quite betrayed and alone in that quarter.

Nerdanel's insistence that Maitimo should not be told would invariably make anyone feel like a disgrace. Something to be ashamed of. Yet I can see that she thought she acted out of what she thought was the best for him, even if we know it was not.

Amanian society seems very archaic and backward. How the Valar can enforce such terrible laws is beyond me.

Love is love, I say!

I hope everything gets better for Maitimo. :)

Author's Response: Yes, I hope Maitimo's sense of betrayal was palpable as well as Nerdanel trying to protect him. It seems, to me, many times people hurt those they love it's not because they are being cruel but instead are acting in ways thinking they are protecting their loved ones. The elves and Valar present an interesting way to think about how morality, ethics, law and social order can reflect archaic beliefs. Thanks for the review!!!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2017 7:33 · For: Chapter 2: Flower Garlands
Oh my gosh!

The first flutters of love. Yet their friendship and the beginnings of something more, is complicated by the rising tensions between their Houses. Its a little sad.

I did like the Elder magic in which they brought the gardenias back to life. I feel every story containing the Eldar should have a touch of magic.

Author's Response: Yes, they flutters are there! There is always a backdrop of sadness to their story that I cannot avoid for these two. It's what makes them so compelling to write and read about. I agree about the magic. While Tolkien was circumspect with his use of magic it was nevertheless there which is why I loathed Jackson's wood elves. Lol sorry for that aside. Thanks again for the review. Always lovely to read !


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2017 6:00 · For: Chapter 1: Come of Age
Oh! I absolutely love these two!

Your Findekano is so gorgeous. And I like how Maitimo is quite besotted with his cousin yet doesn't wish to give attention to it. So sweet!

I'm also glad you included Nolofinwe in this. He is also one of my favorites. :)

Author's Response: I do too! They are my most favorite of Tolkien characters. I am so glad you like my Findekano. I love this character so! I love Nolofinwe too, though I feel for him, he goes through so much in all our stories and in Tolkien of course! Thus I like to see him in happy moments! Thank you for the review!!!


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2017 4:29 · For: Chapter 1: Come of Age
I read this all through, in one sitting. I love both Maedhros and Fingon and their relationship. You did such a wonderful job with them both. Poor Maitimo--so burdened, so conflicted, so torn. I had my suspicions that Findekano understood far more than he was letting on and that he was hinting far more than Maitimo was realizing. A lovely progression of their story to their mutual confessions and act of love

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you for this review! I really enjoyed writing this story, offering me an opportunity to sit with these two. I cannot get enough of them, and of course Findekano understood fare more than he was letting on, our sly elf. And Maitimo, I love him as a character and love to play with his characterization. Your review also served to remind me that I never posted the concluding chapter here on Faerie!!!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 20, 2016 6:44 · For: Chapter 8 The Return Home

Your final note is a bit doom-laden so I'm expecting the very end to be the actual end - it will make me cry- but it IS lovely to get a happy ending for these two- love them so much. I Like the way you have written Findekano as 'all about the body', and taking th elead seems, in this, perfectly right.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! Oh yes, things between these two! I just want happiness and love and all that good stuff, but soo much bad awaits them. I love thinking about all the different options, ways to tell the story of these two! I just can't get enough!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! Oh yes, things between these two! I just want happiness and love and all that good stuff, but soo much bad awaits them. I love thinking about all the different options, ways to tell the story of these two! I just can't get enough!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2016 9:01 · For: Chapter 8 The Return Home
Finally!!

Oh Fingon has been keeping secrets from us. I never guessed what he had been up to!

Happy for them, especially Maedhros...of course!

Author's Response: That Fingon, he's sneaky that way! Of course I knew the desire was there so I am glad it wasn't obvious, and Maedhros can have a few moments of happiness, but writing this story has made me rethink, consider, ruminate on their relationship post Alqualond


Name: jules (Signed) · Date: March 25, 2016 7:46 · For: Chapter 7 Alqualond
what a lovely chapter - thank you. You know a lot about boats!

Author's Response: Oh thank you! What a lovely treat to come back from hiatus to a review. My husband knows about boats! I just pestered him with questions :-)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 24, 2016 3:41 · For: Chapter 7 Alqualond

Just catching up on this lovely story- it reminds me of Steinbeck's Sweet Thursday and Cannery Row with its beautiful images of the Sea- so very very well written and described. Like jewels. And the gradual deepening of htier relationship - slow, developing the delth of emotion and gently, their friendship is what will lead them to love. (Suzanne- beautiful song to inspire this. I can hear/see the imagery of it in these chapters) I have really enjoyed reading these last chapters- so very beautifully written.)



Author's Response: Oh thank you so much Ziggy. It's always so lovely to come back to read wonderful reviews. I love the sea and am lucky to have spent most of my adult life next or near it, and indeed married into it (those darn Swedes love the sea and boats). I'm like you, I really love a good slow build for a relationship where you can have lots of longing and pining and just excruciatingly achingly good long waits before the expressions of love! Thanks again!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2016 8:10 · For: Chapter 7 Alqualond
You know what was all I could think of when I read this about Fibgon and Meadhros in Alqualond


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2016 3:40 · For: Chapter 6
Loved the imagery here of the elven dancing and their freeness. Also the differentiation you have made between the Noldor and the Teleri.
But oh Fingon.....come on now, are you not going to take the advice given to you????
Maitimo doesn't need your friends, he needs you!

And you need him......even though you do not know it yet.

I was so happy to see an update to this story!

Author's Response: I am glad you enjoyed this chapter and my little world building that sometimes I tend to get lost in. Fingon really needs to take the advice, doesn't he? But that little bugger is so stubborn!!! I'm updating tonight. Just happy to have a break to read your lovely fic and other folks works :-)


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2015 7:19 · For: Chapter 5: A Meeting of Minds
Oh Fingon is so close to discovering Maedhros! So very close!!
I loved the politics and intrigue and the complicated relationship between Feanor and Fingolfin. It seemed very realistic.

Author's Response: Yes he is very close! I am glad you enjoyed the politics. I enjoy writing that and am never sure if people like this type of detail! Thank you for your review!!!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2015 4:48 · For: Chapter 5: A Meeting of Minds

Clever way out! And the politicking is good too. Let's hope this makes Findekano open his eyes to poor Maitimo.

 

 



Author's Response: I am glad you liked the politicking. I can get a little lost in that so I am glad it worked here!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 25, 2015 12:02 · For: Chapter 4: A Betrothal
What a mess Fingon! Naughty, naughty boy!!

At least however trying to sort it out seems to have helped Maedhros shake off his depression.
I look forward to seeing Fingolfin arrive. I wonder how that will go? I imagine he won't be very pleased with Fingon run in got Feanor but he may be relieved if they can find a way out of this.

Author's Response: Fingon is a naughty boy. I can't help thinking about what his younger days were like. Fingon always seems to find away to help Maedhros, even if unintended. It's like he can't help himself. Fingon has a way of bringing people together doesn't he! Thanks for the review :-D


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2015 22:52 · For: Chapter 3: Repressed memories

I love that final reconciliation with Nerdanel and her love for him. Poor Maitimo, he has a difficult path ahead of him and a clueless Findekano can only complicate matters. Lovely.:)



Author's Response: Yes he does have a difficult path ahead for him. Poor Maedhros, the fandom puts him through the ringer :-) Oh clueless Findekano, but hopefully he makes up for it!!! Thanks for the review!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2015 10:04 · For: Chapter 3: Repressed memories
I loved this. I can so see it happening.
Poor Maedhros, he is such a mess. And his mother thought she was doing the right thing and it was all wrong. Parenting is often like that!

I wonder what is going on in Fingon's mind? What thoughts is he having now??
......because the two of them with the flowers.......so much chemistry.

Eagerly awaiting more!

Author's Response: He is such a mess. That poor guy, the things we do to him! Yes parenting is often like that and it's why i love the Silmarillion elves, they are so imperfect, not weary, have such fire in their hearts!!! Ah Fingon, I think he knows more but he just might get himself into trouble, hopefully something he can get himself out of! Thanks and hopefully I can upload a new chapter. I am on vacation with spotty internet. I know I should enjoy it, but part of how i unwind is fanfic!!!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2015 12:23 · For: Chapter 2: Flower Garlands

LOvely unresolved UST! Love that scene with the eldar magic- and I really like the way you describe it as knitting matter together- so there is a sense of the science behind it. I like the lightness of their dialogue with the heaviness of all that is unpsoken. Hope you update VERY soon please!



Author's Response: I absolutely love unresolved lust!!! I find that sometimes the Noldor aren't elfy enough--if that makes sense-- so I try to weave that in as part of the arc of who they were, or once were. I am updating today! Im finally feeling well enough to focus on these two again! Thanks for the review!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2015 12:08 · For: Chapter 1: Come of Age

I completely agree with your sentiments about Fingon being short! Ridiculous! And I love the indulgnece you give Nelyo when he is looking at Findekano, admiring him. Love these two so much!



Author's Response: I'm finally getting back after a nasty head cold! Be gone vile virus! And can you believe that? Poor Fingon! I am entirely too sappy with these two. I can't help it. They compel it! Glad you enjoying it!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2015 8:24 · For: Chapter 2: Flower Garlands
Ah poor Maitimo, he is all at sea.
"Things between us are back to normal."
I think NOT!

I loved young Glorfindel too.

I like a complicated sad hearted Maedhros so yours suits me perfectly!
Why on earth would people want to emasculate Fingon? He is Fingon the Valiant, not Fingon the Pansy!!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2015 23:05 · For: Chapter 1: Come of Age
Ah but WILL Nelyo keep Findek


You must login () to review.