| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
A Last Conversation by cheekybeak General Audiences
Sometimes the best you can do for those you love is to leave them. Aragorn must find the strength to say goodbye.
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
The Secret Language Brother by Encairion Mature
Caranthir and Curufin’s story. Part of the Price of Eternity series
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 79
Stories: 1563
Chapters: 7955
Word count: 23640387
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14051
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
05/29/17 01:26 pm
Encairion! You're back!! I thought we'd lost you in drowned Beleriand:)
Caunedhiel
05/27/17 03:49 pm
Thanks Ziggy ! I keep posting everywhere and handed out posters. fingers crossed xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:03 pm
you can go in and look. Don't give up. He'll be somewhere tucked up warm and living off mice. I pray anyway.xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:02 pm
Caunedhiel- keeping everything crossed for your moggy's safe return- I have had one go missing for days and it was stuck in a neighbour's garage- GO BACK and look everywhere- ask people if you
Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Shout Archive



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: September 13, 2016 10:56 · For: Chapter 10

I admit I was a bit surprised that the story is over. But when I thought about it, it actually made sense. I had the feeling that I was waiting for something, in the last view chapters. The whole introspection of Elladan and Elrohir took up so much that I wondered where it would lead. To conclude it like this is brilliant! Gildor finally solves to longing in the twins hearts! He gives them back their war. Meets their underlaying need to fight something. No matter if the reasons might differ between the twins. 
And I like the concept how the truth is difficult to tell and to remember because the Valar are fucking around again. It makes much sense, given how they're able to rule the world trough their powers. Truth is a matter of perception and history is written by the survivors. Of course things can get ... lost. Deliberately, I might add. Also ... Varie weaves the tapestries. How much influence does she have over 'the past' this way? Perhaps she can't alter the history, the main events, but she can color them in a different light. It's her interpretation as artist to weave things like the Kinslaying especially gruesome, to paint the Feanorian's as cruel monsters no matter if the other side killed as well. 
At last: I feel for Elrohir *pats his head* ... but he's going to get better once has has a few Feanorians / Noldor from the First Age around him. The feeling of being tainted somehow won't leave him, never perhaps, but people like Curufin and Maedhros can show him how to turn this darker edge into duty, a sacred task no one else has or should do alone. 



Author's Response:

“I admit I was a bit surprised that the story is over. But when I thought about it, it actually made sense. I had the feeling that I was waiting for something, in the last view chapters. The whole introspection of Elladan and Elrohir took up so much that I wondered where it would lead. To conclude it like this is brilliant!

I am glad to hear this!  I actually had similar thoughts at first.  It felt…sudden, but the more I thought about it, the more it seemed just right.  Their story isn’t over, but this chapter is complete.

“Gildor finally solves to longing in the twins hearts! He gives them back their war. Meets their underlaying need to fight something.”

Yes, this is what they have needed: both a fight and HOPE that that fight can achieve something.

Also ... Varie weaves the tapestries. How much influence does she have over 'the past' this way? Perhaps she can't alter the history, the main events, but she can color them in a different light. It's her interpretation as artist to weave things like the Kinslaying especially gruesome, to paint the Feanorian's as cruel monsters no matter if the other side killed as well. 

Oh this is an interesting thought!  I’d never considered that her tapestries had any influence on the living world, but I like it a lot!  …now I am wondering how much influence she had on the re-born Elves and their memories (I’d planned to have the Valar messing with my re-born Elves heads, but I am just wondering in general too, not in the context of this AU.  I wonder how much tinkering went on in Mandos’ Halls (defiantly something.  It even says in cannon I think about Elves being reborn different or something….can’t remember.  But I like the thought that it was her doing the subtle weaving of minds rather than Mandos).

At last: I feel for Elrohir *pats his head* ... but he's going to get better once has has a few Feanorians / Noldor from the First Age around him. The feeling of being tainted somehow won't leave him, never perhaps, but people like Curufin and Maedhros can show him how to turn this darker edge into duty, a sacred task no one else has or should do alone. 

Very true.  He will feel less isolated inside himself once he has more family members around him like him.  I have some ideas for his healing :)

 

Thank you so much for the review :hugs:



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2016 11:23 · For: Chapter 10
This is actually interesting cuz I thought all the readers must be able to read my mind of something (lol) and knew what I had planned :snorts: Yes, yes, they are going back to fight!!!! Oh I can’t wait :rubs hands together:

Oh, that is my fault not yours. Everything just seemed so hopeless, (and I also wanted to punch Valandur on the nose. I really cannot stick the Gondorians. I was actually glad when Númenor was destroyed. And now they have the whole of Arnor and want Rivendell too. Men are such greedy bastards).

I suppose I just did not get why Elladan and Elrohir were hanging around, when I would have thoughts they would be swimming the ocean ahead of any ships and charging into Valinor - but now I know that their ears had been stopped, and they didn't know what the truth was, I understand.

It got me all hyped up all over again for what’s coming! I can’t wait! (And I am the one writing it lol)

Haha! You should have seen me, I was clapping my hands, dancing round the room after reading it. YES. They're going. It's beginning!

Author's Response:

Oh, that is my fault not yours. Everything just seemed so hopeless,

It’s probably a good thing that you felt that way until the reveal, since that’s what Elrohir and Elladan were feeling too :)

“I was actually glad when Númenor was destroyed.

I am sure you weren’t the only one with how many slaves they were hauling off to their island!  Like, is it any wonder with the way they and Gondor behaved (for a lot of the time it had kings) that a lot of fellow Humans didn’t like them?  I think Gondor actually improved without the kings!  Probably because it wasn’t going around conquering other peoples.  I think they still had a problem with seeing other people as their equal, but by the time of the war of the ring, I think some of their pride (I’m thinking Boromir here) was more of a defense mechanism then anything.  He didn’t expect any help to come.

“I suppose I just did not get why Elladan and Elrohir were hanging around, when I would have thoughts they would be swimming the ocean ahead of any ships and charging into Valinor - but now I know that their ears had been stopped, and they didn't know what the truth was, I understand. 

Yes, especially these two.  They would love a fight!  And of course, there is Maglor and Glorfindel and all the rest still hanging around, but it is only to make sure the twins come, otherwise their war with the Valar would have started when Elrond and the rest sailed.

Haha! You should have seen me, I was clapping my hands, dancing round the room after reading it. YES. They're going. It's beginning!

 

This makes me really happy!  I am so glad it got you so excited!  Yeah! :fist pump:



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2016 13:01 · For: Chapter 10
Oh, powerful, wonderful writing, Encairion. Elrohir sounds the very depths of his hate and violence, and that is soul-shaking and so very tragic. He rips his whole self open, and then Gildor sews him back up, and that was beautiful to read. He healed not only Elrohir's past, but his future, too. Elrohir deserves more than all that inward-burning fire eating him up.

I had wondered and wondered why anyone would go back to Valinor, until Gildor explained to him, that they were going back not to drift back into a cage but to fight.

“Something is not right there. I feel it. I see bars upon the mind, a fire cloaked, a spider’s web, hearts corrupted by sulfur fumes—” He broke off, blinking as if shaking off the dream-world.

He found Gildor’s eyes eating up his face, drinking his words like morning dew. Gildor’s hand shot out and took Elrohir’s wrist in a ring of fingers.
“I do not doubt the truth of your vision. The Sight runs strong in your blood. But how can you think of turning your back on this? Can you not feel the first rumblings of rebellion in your blood? How can you do nothing?” His fingers tightened, words jumping like embers from his mouth to sink into Elrohir’s heart. “You have glimpsed the reality –or a possible future—of our people, so why are you not lining up to be the first off the boat to fight for them?”

Elrohir stared at Gildor as if every word out of Gildor’s mouth was an unknown concept, a revelation Elrohir had never before encountered, never dared dreamed. Gildor’s words launched like a path of fire straight through the vast emptiness Elrohir had been swallowed in.


Yes, yes! Go back to fight! and break the chains and the cages of the Valar! I am so delighted! And I cannot wait for more! Brava, my dear!

I only just read chapter 9, but I loved this.

“Listen to me now. Your ears are open, so you can hear at last what I, and many others before me, have sought to make you see: a battle lies before us, greater than any we have ever faced, one that has been building since before the rising of the sun.”

Oh, yes. No more lies about fading, no despair. They're going to war!

Author's Response:

He rips his whole self open, and then Gildor sews him back up, and that was beautiful to read. He healed not only Elrohir's past, but his future, too. Elrohir deserves more than all that inward-burning fire eating him up.

I am so happy to hear it turned out so well :)  That scene whew!  It was a tough one to write.  I got all emotional over Elrohir.  He’s such a mess, and has known so little happiness or peace in these last centuries :(

I had wondered and wondered why anyone would go back to Valinor, until Gildor explained to him, that they were going back not to drift back into a cage but to fight. “

This is actually interesting cuz I thought all the readers must be able to read my mind of something (lol) and knew what I had planned :snorts:  Yes, yes, they are going back to fight!!!!  Oh I can’t wait :rubs hands together:

Yes, yes! Go back to fight! and break the chains and the cages of the Valar! I am so delighted! And I cannot wait for more! Brava, my dear! 

Thank you :D  And yes, the fight is upon them!  Oh I can’t wait until these guys step off the boat in Valinor!  Maglor, Glorfindel, and all the rest! 

 

Thank you so much for the review, Spiced :)  It got me all hyped up all over again for what’s coming!  I can’t wait!  (And I am the one writing it lol)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2016 10:36 · For: Chapter 9

There was something prideful and undaunted in the way it dominated the room, from corner to corner, an almost a smugness, something unconquerable that reminded Elladan of Maglor’s mouth when visiting Elves stared, aghast, at the Kinsalyer in Imladris’ halls.

 

Valandur got hold of his anger, and wrapped his word up in the solid block of his square chin. It tilted at Elladan like entitlement, 

Great image. And a wonderfully interesting take on the relationship between elves and Men in this twilight of the elves- because one day, the Men will have the Valley.Elladan would hold onto Imladris even if his gum’s bled from the bite until every last soul in this house was good and ready to sail. Another great image. And that realisation is perfect- but what I love is that Gildor make sit not an ending, but a mere dlay to the REAL work to be done in Valinor- so that now I want them to get on and leave!!

 

You are slwoly storing up tragedy for Erestor, are you not? How he iwll mourn all his days, like Elrond.



Author's Response:

Yes, the battle is on its way!  We have only been building up to this from the very first story! Lol it has taken years.  Annnnnd it’s not even here yet cuz I haven’t finished writing Vengeance 2 :face plant:

You are slwoly storing up tragedy for Erestor, are you not? How he iwll mourn all his days, like Elrond.

Wellllll, I think it will depend on how exactly Erion dies and how long he stays dead.  But yeah.  Loosing his son is going to hurt.

 

Thank you so much for the reviews and support!  You are the best :hugs:



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2016 10:16 · For: Chapter 8

I must have got interrupted when I read this because I missed so much!! There is the deeply moving and wonderful scene with Elrohir and Elladan (oh god, Elrohir! SOOoo tormented and broken- could you not find healing for him in someone?) And this sadness of Eroin's aging- I love that little detail with the cream he puts on his wrinkles- how desparate this is, his love for Elladan (and this worries me you know) and Erestor's dread that he will see his son die. Encairion- you are a sublime writer.



Author's Response:

“There is the deeply moving and wonderful scene with Elrohir and Elladan (oh god, Elrohir! SOOoo tormented and broken- could you not find healing for him in someone?)

You got me hooked on tormented Elrohir, it’s all your fault lol  But I can’t leave him like this forever, that would be too cruel! 

“And this sadness of Eroin's aging- I love that little detail with the cream he puts on his wrinkles- how desparate this is, his love for Elladan (and this worries me you know) and Erestor's dread that he will see his son die. 

I am an awful person lol Erion is going to die, but in my defense he won’t stay dead forever!!!  But yeah, it’s really going to hurt Erestor :(  I think I have an obsession with tormenting Erestor lol

Encairion- you are a sublime writer.

 

Awww!  Thank you :hugs:



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2016 1:41 · For: Chapter 10
And so Elrohir has his purpose. He has been looking for it for so long! I wonder why Maglor never tried this tack with him? Or did he and Elrohir simply couldn't hear it as Elladan couldn't also?

But now I want to read the rest!!! I am waiting SO impatient to see all of them in Valinor! What is Finrod up to? Has he reconciled with Finarfin? Is he there hiding his true self from the Valar or is he a puppet? I have so many questions.

What of Legolas the Silvan who was so intrinsically tied to the land and should never have sailed in the first place...it just feels so not where his spirit should be. How is he in Valinor? Raging in fury about having gone there? Swallowed up by the Valor? What does he do?

I had forgotten, completely forgotten when we first discussed Gildor and Elrohir that Gildor is Celebrian's cousin. Of course! Finrod and Galadriel! How could I not have remembered that. And now it feels as if that is incredibly significant....that Gildor was the one to reach Elrohir, that the unconditional forgiveness he gave him found a way through Elrohir's self pity. And Gildor has some resemblance to Celebrian who's traumatised rejection is at the heart of Elrohir's pain. Perfect circle!

Loved Gildor here.

So sad this is the end of the story.....I want the next part!!!!!

Author's Response:

And so Elrohir has his purpose. He has been looking for it for so long! I wonder why Maglor never tried this tack with him? Or did he and Elrohir simply couldn't hear it as Elladan couldn't also? 

To be completely honest, I haven’t yet worked out why NOW Elladan and Elrohir could hear Gildor’s words and not before.  I think Maglor and their father and Erestor and so many others have tried to tell them the truth over the years, but the Valar blocked the twins (and other Elves) from ever really receiving those words and understanding.

But now I want to read the rest!!! I am waiting SO impatient to see all of them in Valinor! What is Finrod up to? Has he reconciled with Finarfin? Is he there hiding his true self from the Valar or is he a puppet? I have so many questions.

I have tons of questions too! lol  And I want to keep writing their story too and see what happens, but….I feel like I have to finish Vengeance 2 first.  There is so much stuff I’m planning to write in that story that is going to need to be written before the final story that I can’t just leave it.  I just need to sit down and sort Glorfindel’s story out once and for all.  Even if that means rewriting chapters :(  (I have a lot more written then I’ve posted, but I am too conflicted with the direction the story was going to keep posting.  Now this story is finished though, so Vengeance 2 is my only WIP so I have no more excuses to put it off lol).

“What of Legolas the Silvan who was so intrinsically tied to the land and should never have sailed in the first place...it just feels so not where his spirit should be. How is he in Valinor? Raging in fury about having gone there? Swallowed up by the Valor? What does he do?

I think he hates it right now.  He wouldn’t have sailed if it wasn’t for the Sea :(  But I bet it didn’t take him too long to get involved in the resistance movement though!  He can have fun with that while he’s waiting :)

“I had forgotten, completely forgotten when we first discussed Gildor and Elrohir that Gildor is Celebrian's cousin. Of course! Finrod and Galadriel! How could I not have remembered that. And now it feels as if that is incredibly significant....that Gildor was the one to reach Elrohir, that the unconditional forgiveness he gave him found a way through Elrohir's self pity. And Gildor has some resemblance to Celebrian who's traumatised rejection is at the heart of Elrohir's pain. Perfect circle!

Oh good!  I am happy it came together so well!  I’d actually forgotten Gildor was Celebrian’s cousin for a while too lol  I’ll have to think up some scene where they meet for the first time.  I already have one in my head for the first time Gil-galad learns Gildor is family :)  I think Gil-galad always really craved to have more of his family alive and with him.  I see him as hiding a lot of loneliness as a king, though he was also a very strong leader.

“So sad this is the end of the story.....I want the next part!!!!!

 

I am just so happy you liked the story so much!  :dances around:  And I will try to pick up the writing pace :)  Thank you again, Cheeky, my dear friend, for all the support!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2016 1:16 · For: Chapter 9
I have never been more frustrated with Elrohir than I am right now! Come on Man!!!!! Everyone is waiting for you!

This was a lovely chapter as far as Elladan goes. Compared to when we first met him it is easy to see how far he has come. Lovely to see the recognition of his bad behaviour with his father. And the love and admiration he has for his father return. Also to see a much more healthy working partnership existing with Erestor. No longer is he fighting and struggling against that.

He is right to trust Eldarions support but Gildor is right also...after Eldarion...what then?

Elladan has, since the first moment we met him, needed a cause to fight for. He has felt lost and aimless, desperate to fight for something but having nothing to fight for. Knowing something exciting awaits him in Valinor, that he is needed there will transform him.

But Elrohir, as always, holds him back.

Author's Response:

This was a lovely chapter as far as Elladan goes. Compared to when we first met him it is easy to see how far he has come. Lovely to see the recognition of his bad behaviour with his father. And the love and admiration he has for his father return. Also to see a much more healthy working partnership existing with Erestor. No longer is he fighting and struggling against that. 

I am so glad that his character growth came off well in the story.  Him and Elrohir were tricky (not that Elrohir has really changed as yet!), but I tried not to make Elladan’s change to abrupt but take it a step at a time.  It took me a while to figure out what Elladan was feeling for Elrond, I wondered if maybe he really did blame Elrond, but in the end not even Elrohir truly believes Elrond is to blame for their mother’s sailing.  I’d say Elladan has more forgiveness in his heart just waiting for the day he can tell his father he still loves him, then Elrohir does.  Though that might change now Elrohir no longer feels like he will never see his father again because he never thought he could sail.  We’ll see what their meeting looks like in Valinor!

He is right to trust Eldarions support but Gildor is right also...after Eldarion...what then?

This is a big question for the Wood-elves.  Few of them have sailed, so they will still be trying to exist in a world dominated by Men.  I’ve been thinking though that maybe once the Valar are gone the Wood-elves might be able to endure Valinor if Endor had become unsafe.

“Elladan has, since the first moment we met him, needed a cause to fight for. He has felt lost and aimless, desperate to fight for something but having nothing to fight for. Knowing something exciting awaits him in Valinor, that he is needed there will transform him. 

Yes, both the twins need this.  They need purpose.  They had true purpose during the Ring War, but I feel like most of their lives lacked this.

 

Thanks for the review!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 23:47 · For: Chapter 8
Was it too quick? Sorry Aragon, I didn’t want to write you anymore so I killed you :snorts:

Ha, Ha!!!! You made me laugh out loud!
Poor Aragorn.

Was it too quick? Well only from a selfish point of view because I loved the glimpses we saw of your slightly confusing Legolas. I am sad he has gone.
He seemed so light and fresh and yet.....underneath there were hints of deepness, that he was more troubled than he appeared on the surface. I don't know, he intrigued me.

PS still heartbroken over Erion
PPS Are you mad? Your stories are so great I will always be rushing to an update :-)

Author's Response:

Was it too quick? Well only from a selfish point of view because I loved the glimpses we saw of your slightly confusing Legolas. I am sad he has gone. 
He seemed so light and fresh and yet.....underneath there were hints of deepness, that he was more troubled than he appeared on the surface. I don't know, he intrigued me.

I am glad you enjoyed Legolas so much!  I promise we will see more of him later (remember I still want to pair him with someone.  The question is still who though!).  I really want him to be a character with depth though.  I want to explore more of his house and the Elves of Greenwood.  There’s a lot going on there we’ve only seen brief flashes of with Lindir!

PPS Are you mad? Your stories are so great I will always be rushing to an update :-)”

Aww!  Thanks!  I do really appreciate it though :)  I find you, and my other reviewers, so amazing because you always give me support right away after I post a chapter, no matter how long it’s been since I posted last! 

 

Still sorry about Erion!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 2:45 · For: Chapter 1
Oh gosh! Such a lot in this chapter. Aragorn dead..,Legolas gone.., that was a shock. I didn't expect to arrive at this time so soon.

A lot of people wanting to be together but not being able to, Erestor and Lindir, Erion and Elladan, Elladan and Elrohir,

I found myself angry with Elrohir....probably unreasonably so. I mean he is being less selfish, thinking of his brother, caring that Elladan is healing but still, it seems like he just stubbornly won't move from his misery. As if he deliberately clings to it for no good reason. It is his identity now. And no matter how much he magnanimously tells Elladan to stay behind he is still poisoning Elladan's life by his refusal to heal. I am frustrated with him.

Loved Glorfindel! So amazing when you look back to where Glorfindel came from. Who ever would have thought Glorfindel could become so magnificent! I am wondering how these other elves are thinking about sailing? Do any of them want to?? I mean the others—not the twins. Does Erestor want to go? I can't see Lindir ever wanting to.
Glorfindel, I would imagine, will not go without Maglor

And what have you done to Erion???? OMG still my heart! You are making him age??? Too cruel. What would happen if he sailed? Would that save him?
Is the aging even real or is it a figment of his imagination after the long years of obsessing over it.?
So many questions. So happy to see an update!

Author's Response:

“Aragorn dead..,Legolas gone.., that was a shock. I didn't expect to arrive at this time so soon.

Was it too quick?  Sorry Aragon, I didn’t want to write you anymore so I killed you :snorts:

“it seems like he just stubbornly won't move from his misery. As if he deliberately clings to it for no good reason. It is his identity now. And no matter how much he magnanimously tells Elladan to stay behind he is still poisoning Elladan's life by his refusal to heal. I am frustrated with him. 

I think you have a strong point here.  He has so many people around him wanting to help him, and yet he pushes them all away and clings to his misery.  I think it all comes down to that belief that he doesn’t deserve to be forgiven.  He hates himself so utterly and thinks himself so unworthy, that he won’t be able to accept anyone help until he reaches the very end of himself and simply cannot fight anymore.

“ I am wondering how these other elves are thinking about sailing? Do any of them want to?? I mean the others—not the twins. Does Erestor want to go? I can't see Lindir ever wanting to. 
Glorfindel, I would imagine, will not go without Maglor”

Good quentions!  You might have noticed that Gildor hinted at sailing in this chapter, but was waiting on Elladan and Elrohir’s response.  This is the way it is for all of them.  They don’t want to leave the twins behind.  I think they all know that if they do, if they leave without them, then Elladan and Elrohir will never sail.  But the waiting is getting long, and things need doing in Valinor!

“Is the aging even real or is it a figment of his imagination after the long years of obsessing over it.? 

What a cool idea!  I really like this!  And now I want to write an AU of this story where this is what happens! (I had meant for the ageing to be real though….but don’t be too sad!  He’s got an Elf’s soul, he’ll be reborn one day!)

 

Thank you so much for the review!  It means so much to me that even with how erratic I am with my postings, you are always there supporting me when I come back :hugs:



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 23:14 · For: Chapter 8

Their deaths poured without anything like peace down his throat. Last night his feet took him to their long-abandoned bedrooms, fingering the mementoes of Estel’s childhood and his sister’s leftovers. The smell of dust had been heavy in the air, but the grief did not drive him to his knees and cut a brutal line through his life of Before and After as Mother’s sailing had done. Estel and Arwen were not with him, but somewhere out there they were together, hands entwined like two pieces of a whole.

 

I have missed your beautiful style, Encairion. This image is just fabulous.



Author's Response:

Aww, thank you, Ziggy!  Your reviews always leave me shy because you say such nice things to me :hugs:



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 22:26 · For: Chapter 8
Dust and ashes, and such a sense of things dying and hopelessness. I have to agree with Mangacrack. We need the Noldor to return with all the fire and passion and the sense of destiny that has been lost, dwindling down and down into what this becomes. No hope, Valinor a prison of ennui, the ascendancy of Men. It is too sad, too tragic like this, in an entirely different way to the Silmarillion - endings - not with a bang but with a whimper. :(

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review, Spiced!  I didn’t know you were reading the story!  That made me happy :)

You summed up what the Third Age feels like to me so perfectly here.

“in an entirely different way to the Silmarillion - endings - not with a bang but with a whimper. :(

Yes, this exactly.    Even as the Elves are driven back again and again, they are still fighting, still clawing against their Doom, refusing to bow to it.  And yet, in the Third Age, it feels like the Elves had quietly resigned themselves to their end.  Sometimes, it doesn’t even feel like they are real anymore.  It’s like they are just memory, just glimpses into a bygone Age.

 

Thank you for the review, and for checking the story out :)



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 21:30 · For: Chapter 8

Ah now I've found people I need to coodle because they need it so damned much. Poor Elladan. Mostly Elladan but Elrohir and Erion are up close.

God, the discovery of Erion aging hurt so much. I hoped he would live in immortality though it treats him well to face life at a different pace. But to think what it will do to others! Elladan will hate himself for not trying to love Erion at least, if he has just a short time in this world.

Still, Erion is best of right now.

Even Elrohir is mostly fine. Yes, he's lost and searching with an itch under his skin because he doesn't know what to do ... I guess he isn't truly trying to get out of the headspace he's in because there's so little outside of fighting what could bring him joy. There's no enemy to fight, nothing he can throw his anger against.

I guess Elrohir will end up in a thunderstrom one day, screaming at the sky "Why?" ... "Why me, why not me," ...

But Elladan, guh, ... he too feels that there's nothing he can do. Nothing to make his people great again. Most of them aren't even living ... they just go through the motions because they're used to it. Elladan sees that they have no dreams, no convinctions or goals to thrive for.

*desperately wants some Feanorians in Middle Earth*

I have the feeling that's the only thing that could help to get the twins out of their depression.

Though ... thumbs for for the truly lovely scene these two had together. I see them this way as well. It doesn't matter if Elrohir does something Elladan doesn't want. Staying at his brother's side is more important. Always.



Author's Response:

“God, the discovery of Erion aging hurt so much. I hoped he would live in immortality though it treats him well to face life at a different pace. But to think what it will do to others! Elladan will hate himself for not trying to love Erion at least, if he has just a short time in this world.

I was so evil with that!  But it might not be an unhappy ending.  While it will defiantly hurt a lot of people (especially his father) to watch him die, his soul is an Elf’s so he can be reborn.  And when he does, it will be interesting to see what his new body is like?  I remember talking to you before about how Elves grow more powerful after re-birth, and I can easily see Erion’s second body being strong enough to sustain his spirit :)

“Even Elrohir is mostly fine. Yes, he's lost and searching with an itch under his skin because he doesn't know what to do ... I guess he isn't truly trying to get out of the headspace he's in because there's so little outside of fighting what could bring him joy. There's no enemy to fight, nothing he can throw his anger against.

But is he mostly fine?  He does seem that way in this chapter because we see him interacting with Elladan who is the only one he can find a semblance of peace with.  But what is he really like when Elladan isn’t around?  How much is he hiding from Elladan because he doesn’t want his brother to worry anymore then Elladan already does?

I think you are quite right that if there was a clear enemy to fight, he could have throw himself into it (like he did with the Ring War) and that would have helped him.  But now there really is no one but himself (and the memories) to fight :(

“But Elladan, guh, ... he too feels that there's nothing he can do. Nothing to make his people great again. Most of them aren't even living ... they just go through the motions because they're used to it. Elladan sees that they have no dreams, no convinctions or goals to thrive for.

Yes, it really does come down to the lack of future for Elladan.  As far as he knows, he, and the Elves, have nothing to look forward to but a slow fading, and he hates that.  He has rebelled against this fate all his life, and yet nothing he does can change it, it seems.

“*desperately wants some Feanorians in Middle Earth*

Gods yes!  This!  When Celebrimbor was still alive, there was no ‘quietly accepting their fate.’  Celebrimbor was like, hell no!  And threw his all into defying the Valar’s ‘prediction’ of the Elves ‘fate.’  (Of course there are still two Feanorions: Maglor and Glorfindel…..what are they doing/thinking/waiting for?  They certainly aren’t walking quietly to their slow deaths.  So what’s going on?  Ha!  I shall be evil and not tell!)

 

Thank you so much for the review!  I am glad you are still enjoying the story , thank you for sticking by it :hugs:



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2016 15:39 · For: Chapter 7

Oh- Enciarion- they are all so sad and desperate. You've got the fading and bitterness of IMladris really perfectly written, and the sterilty of Elladan's coupling with Erion seems ot perfectly relfect their situation. Poor Erion, poor Elladan and my poor dear Elrohir. No hope for any of them. And I really think you wrote Tamar very nicely indeed- realsitically too that she never recovered from her slavery, there was no  real happy ending for her even with all the many many years of peace.  I do hope something is going to change for at least one of them so they begin to get some sort of relief from their misery:( Your writing is delectable, poetic, little jewels, one after the other.



Author's Response:

“You've got the fading and bitterness of IMladris really perfectly written, and the sterilty of Elladan's coupling with Erion seems ot perfectly relfect their situation. 

Ooo, I really like how you connected how dead-end Elladan and Erion’s coupling is with the slow fading of Imladris.  I hadn’t seen that before, but I like!

And I really think you wrote Tamar very nicely indeed- realsitically too that she never recovered from her slavery, there was no  real happy ending for her even with all the many many years of peace. 

I am glad you thought so!  I ended up really liking Tamar as a character, but for all that, it just didn’t feel true to her story that she ever really healed.  Maybe, if things had been different, maybe if she’d gone home (?), I don’t know.  I think sometimes the scars of trauma like that just never fade :(

 

Thank you so much for the lovely words and encouragement!  I am hoping for some happiness for these guys soon too!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2016 15:26 · For: Chapter 6

I am very worried about Elrohir- and Elladan actually as there seems to be no destination, no promise of relief for either of them- Elladan is not in love and has recognised there is no tenderness in his heart for Erion, and Maglor loves Elrohir only as his grandson. Bleak and violent seems their future. It's truly sad and desperate against the backdrop of loss, of Aragorn and Arwen, of Elrond and Celebrian.. Beautifully written. 



Author's Response:

Ah, thank you :huggles:

 

Yes, things are looking terribly bleak right now.  It seems like everyone is in a bad place, Elrohir especially, and Elladan gets falling down into the spiral of destruction with Elrohir.  But he didn’t join Elrohir this time, and while it is a hard thing for Elrohir, I think it is the first step towards Elladan’s healing.  Running off into the wilds to kill things and brood is not a recipe for healing.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2016 14:37 · For: Chapter 4

Oh my lord. I am SOOOO glad Elladn intervened- it owuld have been horrible if that had happened. Even if it was very very sexy. FAbulous writing my dear- wonderful scenes of naked Elrohir and Elladan- phew. This should be triple X-rated.



Author's Response:

“I am SOOOO glad Elladn intervened- it owuld have been horrible if that had happened.

Yes, I agree with you.  Even through Erion was of age, the age difference and experience difference, and then just Elrohir being Elrohir…it would have ended in nothing but confusion and pain I think.

“wonderful scenes of naked Elrohir and Elladan- phew. This should be triple X-rated.

 

Lol!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2016 14:23 · For: Chapter 3

I had lost track of this wonderful story, Encairion- but the joy of finding it whith so many chapters posted is wonderful. Your writing is sublime in this- not prose at all but deelpy poetic.

 

But he loved the house that had born him best of all, even as he feared it. His mother’s rose garden, still carrying the scent of her. The Healing Wards with the freshness of crushed herbs and the aftertaste of spells crawling under his skin with the reminder of everything he no longer was. The smell of his brother’s paints and Elladan’s upside-down grin from the scaffolding where he perched, painting a masterpiece into the ceiling. The curves of his sister’s smile as her hands, deft and carrying the talented bones of a Noldo just like Elladan’s stitched a perfect, tinny star-flower into a hem. The sound of Estel’s boyhood-laughter as he flew through the halls. The scent of books, warm wood under the sunlight, his father’s neck he used to nose into as a child, the ink that stained Elladan and his hands as they labored over their studies, weaving adventures the twin of the other’s heart, and the scent of innocence running through it all and reminding him like the pain of a sword through his ribs that he no longer remembered what light tasted of.

 

Wonderfully evocative.

And the violence of Elrohir is brilliantly written- although there are many lines and images, this is one example - loved the idea of using words like fists:

 

Elrohir used his words like fists, fracturing jaws, beating them all off until they threw up their hands and marched from the room with a slammed door and bitten off retort. Only Elladan weathered the storms under his skin. 

 

Only Elladan understood. Only Elladan could lick his bones clean, gather all the howling pieces of him, and stitch them back together with hands the mirror of his own, wearing the same blood and craved with the same scars. Only Elladan saw the snarl on his lips and heard not the beast Elrohir had become but the ones roaming the forests inside his mind. Only Elladan could kiss him tender on his brow, hold him in a lock of love, and be the only one Elrohir trusted enough to put his heart into for safekeeping, because if he had to save what was left of the man he once was alone, he would have lost it somewhere in the line of decimated corpses long ago.

 

You get the sense that he barely holds back from tearing them all apart. And the scene where he does actually do that to an orc is so disturbing I could hardly read it. Contrasting wiht Elladan - wonderful.

 



Author's Response:

I had lost track of this wonderful story, Encairion- but the joy of finding it whith so many chapters posted is wonderful. Your writing is sublime in this- not prose at all but deelpy poetic.

I am glad to see you back, my dear :hugs:  I hope things have been wonderful for you :)  I really appreciate this too.  I have this deep-seeded fear that my writing is way over the top with the purple prose sometimes, but I don’t know how to write any other way!  So hearing this gives me confidence :)

“And the violence of Elrohir is brilliantly written

Coming from you, this means the world!  You must have noticed how heavily your Elrohir has influenced my perception of him.  I don’t think I will ever look at Elrohir the same way after reading your work.  You fleshed him out and brought him to life for me :D

“You get the sense that he barely holds back from tearing them all apart. And the scene where he does actually do that to an orc is so disturbing I could hardly read it. Contrasting wiht Elladan - wonderful.

That’s just what I hoped to convey :fist pump:

 

Thanks so much for the review!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: July 14, 2016 9:04 · For: Chapter 7
Gosh, you are giving me an infatuation with Elladan myself! The way you describe him through Erion's eyes is so delicious. He is irresistible!
This was a surprise. I did not see this coming, possibly only because I was inside Erion's head and not Elladan's. What has happened then To Elladan to cause him to give way, To let his guard down like this? Something is different from when we last saw him in Ithilien.

And so Erion believes Elladan will never love him and this is an end to it. That is sad. I wonder though how Elladan will react to him making himself unavailable? I wonder what Elladan's motives really are?
I am pleased to see Elladan sketching again. A sign, I think, of some real healing happening with him. I loved his explanation to Erion of the doubt over his elven soul vs his dubious, possibly mortal body, because he is right. Who knows when they will die....even an immortal.

It is a bit like Father, like son, for Erion now....he is reminding me a bit of Erestor, longing for Lindir from afar, denying himself ....but is he really like Erestor? Denying himself for no good reason? Or is he right?

Loved Erestor and Erion at the end. Beautiful father/son moment!

Author's Response:

Gosh, you are giving me an infatuation with Elladan myself! The way you describe him through Erion's eyes is so delicious. He is irresistible! 

:grins:  Well, Elladan is hot, so it wasn’t too much of a challenge lol

You were right when you said Erion and Elladan would be perfect for each other, and that Erion was exactly what Elladan needed.   I wonder if a part of Elladan knows that even if he’s not ready to admit it (or is all just physical desire on his part?  We shall see!)?  He’s desired Erion for a while, but has he never acted on it because he was afraid?  

In this scene they shared a powerful moment of connection, and Elladan let himself reach for something he wanted but had also denied himself.  I think, if Erion hadn’t brushed off Elladan’s fears of being in love with him, Elladan would have done as Erion predicted and pulled himself back, putting up walls between them again, but when Erion made light of his past infatuation, Elladan allowed himself to be blinded for the moment because he WANTED to be blinded. 

I am pleased to see Elladan sketching again. A sign, I think, of some real healing happening with him. I loved his explanation to Erion of the doubt over his elven soul vs his dubious, possibly mortal body, because he is right. Who knows when they will die....even an immortal.

It was interesting getting to write a character who went through years of his life believing himself immortal, only to discover he was not (physically).  He’s view of life and the world around him had to shift to incorporate this.  Now, instead of looking upon his life like an elf, he sees it through the eyes of a mortal.

“It is a bit like Father, like son, for Erion now....he is reminding me a bit of Erestor, longing for Lindir from afar, denying himself ....but is he really like Erestor? Denying himself for no good reason? Or is he right? 

 

This really surprised me!  I had to think about it for a sec.  I hadn’t actually seen Erestor in Erion with this longing from afar before you pointed it out, but yes, it’s there :(  But, to me, Erion handles it very differently.  He doesn’t beat himself up, or continue to dwell on what he will never have.  He gets up and continues living.  I suppose…as much as Erion loves Elladan, I don’t think he is defined by his love in the same way; being with there person he loves is not essential for him to find happiness in the world.  Erion does feel things deeply, but he is not crushed by those feelings.  (Sorry if I’m making a mess of trying to put this into words!)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2016 8:28 · For: Chapter 6
Hmm, what to do about Elrohir? Because whatever he is doing at the moment isn't working. How does he switch that Maia blood off??

I don't think Maglor is the answer, he is only a stop gap. And leaving Elladan behind isnt it either because it just puts him at risk and although I am pleased he had the self awareness not to drag Elladan down into his mire this time, it does Elladan no good if Elrohir goes off and destroys himself.

Yet Elrohir seems to be poisoning Elladan's whole life....tainting every bit of it, (not consciously but just because he is who he is.) The scene with Legolas was delicious and I was so happy to see Elladan connecting with someone. They seem a lovely match for each other at the moment, he and Legolas. (And it makes perfect sense they would connect over Aragorn's Inpending death) but then Elrohir....or the issue of Elrohir...tainted that lovely sweetness they had.

I love your Legolas by the way he is so.....so......just so lovely!

I like the pain you are writing for the twins visiting Minas Tirith. I am Just starting a story ...not in the Legolas/Elrohir universe, but a non Slash one, in which the twins avoid Minas Tirith for that very reason. It is just too hard for them, so that makes such perfect, perfect sense to me.

They want to be there to soak up every remaining moment left to them with Aragorn and Arwen and yet at the same time they can't bear to be there and see the aging. Tortuous, and I am glad Elladan and Legolas have each other to help themselves through that. If only Elrohir doesn't spoil it!

Author's Response:

Hmm, what to do about Elrohir? Because whatever he is doing at the moment isn't working. How does he switch that Maia blood off?? 

This is the question!  What, oh what to do with Elrohir!?  You’re right that Maglor is not the answer.  He cannot heal Elrohir, or even reach him really, he can only stem the tide for a time.  It’s sad because Maglor does care about Elrohir, and he worries for him and sees himself that he’s not reaching him and yet doesn’t know what to do. 

I am glad too that Elrohir was able to let Elladan go to live his own life and find healing.  Elrohir is such a mess, but he is a good brother who is devoted to Elladan.  He tries his best.  But you are right too that just letting Elladan go and watching him heal is not going to be enough to save Elrohir from himself :(

Yet Elrohir seems to be poisoning Elladan's whole life....tainting every bit of it, (not consciously but just because he is who he is.) The scene with Legolas was delicious and I was so happy to see Elladan connecting with someone. They seem a lovely match for each other at the moment, he and Legolas. (And it makes perfect sense they would connect over Aragorn's Inpending death) but then Elrohir....or the issue of Elrohir...tainted that lovely sweetness they had.

Elrohir is intertwined with every aspect of Ellladan’s life.  Even when Elrohir is not there, Elladan thinks of him.  But as you said, it’s not a conscious thing.  Elrohir does not try to bind Elladan too him so that he cannot escape and must be wrapped up in him forever.  In fact, I’d say the tainting is as much Elladan’s fault as it is Elrohir being who Elrohir is, because it’s Elladan who keeps clinging to Elrohir and dragging him back into his thoughts even when Elrohir is not there.  Ellladan has as much wrapped himself around Elrohir and made him the center of his world as Elrohir has done the same. I don’t blame either of them though for this.  I think it was only natural given that they are twins and have shared and experienced the darkest moments of their lives together.  And, unlike your Elladan and Elrohir, these two have no significant others, so the co-dependency is even more extreme and it’s been going on for so long it’s going to be hard to really life without the other right there by their side.

I like the pain you are writing for the twins visiting Minas Tirith. I am Just starting a story ...not in the Legolas/Elrohir universe, but a non Slash one, in which the twins avoid Minas Tirith for that very reason. It is just too hard for them, so that makes such perfect, perfect sense to me. 

They want to be there to soak up every remaining moment left to them with Aragorn and Arwen and yet at the same time they can't bear to be there and see the aging.”

I am glad to hear it made sense, and good luck with your story!  I am sure it will be wonderful :) 

 

I can so easily see the twins finding Minas Tirith unbearable, but of course they keep coming back because Aragorn and Arwen don’t have much time left, and there is a kind of desperation, or panic, that they have to spend every moment with them before they die….only spending times with them means they can’t ignore the signs of aging, so they are constantly tormented by their coming loss.  It’s a vicious cycle :(



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2016 5:05 · For: Chapter 5
OMG....Erion and Eldarion??!! I didn't see that coming! Erion is a total playboy. I did like what I saw of Eldarion here although he does seem very young. I wonder what Aragorn would think of this? He always seems quite staid and uptight to me, (I mean Aragorn in general, not your Aragorn in particular,)

Anyway....back to the twins. Oh Elrohir is such a mess and I don't warm to him. He is hard to like and sympathise with because he is so.....anti everything. And he feels like a millstone around Elladan's neck and I like Elladan, so, Elrohir, he's not my favourite. The Maia blood theory is interesting though. I remember us discussing this at one time but can't remeber what we decided....about twins and genetics and twins with identical blood being affected by that differently....and if that was even possible. I watched a programme last week about this. They were studying identical twins where one was fat and one thin because....why? Theoretically that shouldn't happen genetically. BUT they have discovered some genes can be switched on and off and in the twins who were fat their fat genes had been switched on—by an event that happened to only them and not their twin, stress, trauma, etc, etc—and so the thin twins sailed on happily unaffected. That kind of reasoning would fit these two, because of course they both have Maia blood presumably but only in Elrohir has it been switched on.

I am sad Erion is going around brooding on his mortality and withholding himself from Elladan because of that. I did wonder in the last chapter at the twins even discussing that because they are half elves themselves so would they not be more sure of Erion's fate? I guess theirs is spelled out for them as descendants of Elrond but......you would have thought by now it was obvious he was immortal??

It is sad this is holding him back.

Good though to see his childish hero worship is mellowing into something more mature. He can see Elladan's faults now and still love him despite that. He is more in a place to embark on something mature and adult now. If he would let himself.

Elladan and Erestor's relationship is interesting and I am wondering what lies behind Elladan's "dislike" is it just becuase Erestor was close to Elrond? It does feel very much like a dysfunctional father/son thing. The whole contempt mixed with a desperate need for respect. I wonder why.......or is Erestor symbolic of Elrond for Elladan and this IS his relationship with his father we are seeing played out here?

Great chapter and I am eager for more!!!

Author's Response:

OMG....Erion and Eldarion??!! I didn't see that coming! Erion is a total playboy. I did like what I saw of Eldarion here although he does seem very young. I wonder what Aragorn would think of this? He always seems quite staid and uptight to me, (I mean Aragorn in general, not your Aragorn in particular,) 

Erion did end up having a lot of casual sex partners!  He is such a playboy lol  Did Eldarion seem young?  He’s got to be at least a few years over majority here, but it’s probably his inexperience showing.  I doubt he’s had many male partners in Gondor.  Not with him being the prince.  He’d have to be very careful, and he’d need to be able to trust the person not to spread rumors.  Gondor isn’t accepting of homosexuality.

As for Aragon…well he did grow up in Imladris with Elladan and Elrohir from brothers.  While he himself is not interested in other men, if he’d been prejudiced that wouldn’t have gone over well at all with his family, so I think he’s OK with it, though I am sure he would have wished his son had been attracted to women as that would have made Eldarion’s life a little easier.

Anyway....back to the twins. Oh Elrohir is such a mess and I don't warm to him. He is hard to like and sympathise with because he is so.....anti everything. And he feels like a millstone around Elladan's neck and I like Elladan, so, Elrohir, he's not my favourite.

I can really understand this.  When I am reading Ziggy’s Elrohir I am torn between hating and loving him, he’s just that well written!  He really is holding Elladan back, you are right, but I doesn’t mean to, and I think he’ll see what he’s doing to Elladan very soon.  We shall see how he responds!

I am glad the Maia-blood idea worked.  I wasn’t so sure it would.  I remember discussing that with you too, I am glad there is at least some proof in the real world that this isn’t just a farfetched theory of mine :) 

I don’t think the twins ever questioned their own immortality, since they have their father as an example, and they are even more Elven then him.  But I actually think they have a point to question Erion’s.  The world half-elf thing has been a mysterious business from the get go.  There doesn’t seem to be any in-world explanation for why some half-elves get immortality and others don’t.  Like why didn’t the descendent of the Pirnces of Dol Amroth get immortality?  And why can’t Aragon and Arwen’s kids make the same Choice Elrond and Elros did?  Luthian gave up her immortality like Arwen, but Dior seems to have leaned more towards the race of Elves then men the way he’s described.  I just think this is something that no one in Middle-earth has all the answers for, so it’s natural that the twins are going to wonder.  Yes, Erion has an Elven soul….but what if Elwing and Dior did too and Elrond had told his sons that?  Elwing’s fate hadn’t been decided until she came to Valinor, and neither her or Dior lived long enough to see if they would have aged and died.

“It is sad this is holding him back.

Well, I think it comes down to the fact that he truly loves Elladan.  His love isn’t a selfish, possessing love, that’s not who Erion is.  So he’s going to choose to deny himself if that means he can spare Elladan the pain of falling in love with him and then having to watch him die :(

“Elladan and Erestor's relationship is interesting and I am wondering what lies behind Elladan's "dislike" is it just becuase Erestor was close to Elrond? It does feel very much like a dysfunctional father/son thing. The whole contempt mixed with a desperate need for respect. I wonder why.......or is Erestor symbolic of Elrond for Elladan and this IS his relationship with his father we are seeing played out here? 

 

I think you’ve hit the nail on the head with this.  Erestor is so tangled up with Elrond in Elladan’s head that his feelings spill over one onto the other.  And Erestor played like a godfather type role in his life, but after his mother’s torture and sailing, when Elrohir and he were in those darkest years of pain, the twins treated Erestor as badly as they did their father.  And I think Elladan carries a lot of shame for that.  He knows he lost Erestor’s respect, and he wants desperately to earn it back, but at the same time he can’t admit that to himself :(



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2016 3:33 · For: Chapter 4

Sorry, Cheekybeak!  I sent you the wrong reply to your review :face plant:  That's what comes from writing replies in a Word doc and not on the site.

Here's my reply:

I am so glad you are enjoying the story so much!  Yay!

“Erion is a joy. So absolutely determined not to fall into the traps of either of his parents weaknesses. I adore him and his cockiness....much of which is just his shield.”

Erion is quite a bit different from the usual characters I write.  I wanted him to come across as fun and full of light, so I am glad it’s working!  He is like the hope of the future.  But with depth too (I hope).  He’s not just a character used like a tool to bring lightness into the story, or to have that one conversation with the main characters that encourages them before he disappears from the narrative.  I wanted him to be fully dimensional. 

You are quite right that he uses his cockiness, that flippancy in his nature, as a shield at times.  And other times as a weapon.

“I love your Elladan. More than I thought I would initially. He is quiet and thoughtful and tethered cruelly to a life he no longer wants because of his brother. It seems a harsh fate.”

We shall see if he can find a life of his own, outside the vengeance and Orc-hunting, cuz you’re right, right now he’s tethered to his brother’s fate when he probably could have found peace long ago.

“He behaves impecably here although Erion does not realise just how much pain Elladan has protected him from. I so want to see inside Elladan's head now. Is there some thing there.....the beginnings of something deeper or is this all just chivalry? “

Elladan has every right to refuse to sleep with Eirion, and I too think he made the right choice to do so.  1. Because he’s aware Erion hero-worships him and possibly more, so it wouldn’t be just sex for Erion.  2. While Erion is equivalent to a Human 18 right now, Elladan is like 3,000 years old, and vastly more experienced.  While a Human will never equal the life experience of an Elf, I do think that equality of maturity can be gained as a Human ages.  But right now, it would be like a Human 30+ year old sleeping with an 18 year old. 

But while I understand that Elladan was just trying to keep Erion safe when he refused to let Erion go out into the city, I also think Erion is an adult and can make up his own mind and is smart enough not to do something stupid.  Elladan is treating Erion like a child, refusing to see that Erion is no longer one.  And I can understand it.  I think most of the Elves in Imladris, if not all, treat Erion this way.  I am sure Aragon went through the same thing.  But I do think Elladan’s heart was in the right place.

“And OMG Elladan is sexy!! Those descriptions of him were magnificent! No wonder Erion is head over heels for him....so delicious. More naked Elladan scenes please!”

:grins:

 

Thank you for the review!  It is an encouragement :hugs:



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: July 12, 2016 22:44 · For: Chapter 4
I love this story SO much! So glad you have gone back to it!

Erion is a joy. So absolutely determined not to fall into the traps of either of his parents weaknesses. I adore him and his cockiness....much of which is just his shield.

I love your Elladan. More than I thought I would initially. He is quiet and thoughtful and tethered cruelly to a life he no longer wants because of his brother. It seems a harsh fate.

He behaves impecably here although Erion does not realise just how much pain Elladan has protected him from. I so want to see inside Elladan's head now. Is there some thing there.....the beginnings of something deeper or is this all just chivalry?

And OMG Elladan is sexy!! Those descriptions of him were magnificent! No wonder Erion is head over heels for him....so delicious. More naked Elladan scenes please!

Author's Response:

Ah, Melkor!  He wants Feanor soooooo bad.  :evil grins:  But he can’t have, nope, nope, nope.  Maybe in some other world :D  First he’ll need to stop being so controlling and stop trying to own Feanor, cuz there’s no way Feanor is going to let that fly!

“I actually wonder at Maglor's reasons and Irimë. He can't just have decided to sleep with Fingolfin "because he won't tell", or he could have had him much earlier, so why this timing?

You are right that there is more to it!  I…never really wrote this time period of Irime/Maglor’s relationship.  As you know, I started Vengeance 1 at the tail end of their relationship, mere months before it expired.  We are still really close to the end here.  Maglor has been seeing Irime for years, but has slowly been freeing himself from her.  This act, of daring to sleep with someone else, of reclaiming his body and sexuality for himself, was a landmark in his struggle to break free of her.  I think after this moment, Irime found it very hard to keep hold of him.  WE saw how quickly he slipped away from her in that first scene in Vengeance.  It’s from her POV, so I don’t think she realizes just how far he’s actually drawn away from her already, but it only takes one or two more meetings from that scene before their relationship is over.

 

Thank you for the review!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2016 6:45 · For: Chapter 3
So first we had weary, flat, dispirited Elladan who had memories full of passion but seemingly none of that passion left and now we have Elrohir who is a churning mess of only passion. Passion uncontrolled. But his promise ....like Elladan's has also vanished.
I am still curious why Elrohir can no longer heal....and what could return that gift to him. It is so entwined in how he sees himself...his value that I do wonder if it is just a symptom of Elrohir's self hatred.

Where Elladan is depressed wretchedness, Elrohir is pain. Raw raging pain.

Love this story!!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2016 5:38 · For: Chapter 1
Ahh I knew this lovely story would make me feel better.

Erion is such a beautiful soul. I hope he doesn't change ever. He will mature obviously as he is little more than a child here but I never want him to lose that positivity he has. Life throws Erion problems and he shrugs and carries on. He is just what overburdened and depressed Elladan needs.

Because Elladan is depressed, at least he seems that way to me. He has given up the things he loves. He has no optimism for anything. He has so much promise, all that drive and focus and love for his people. I want to see him return to the Elladan he once was who we have never seen. I want him to achieve things!! to fulfil his potential......and to repair his relationship with his father. Elladan could be glorious. He could be what he dreamed of as a child, a great leader. He has lost himself.

Erion reminds me so much of Gildor. Not sure if I have already said that previously. They both have this sunny, upbeat nature and slightly hyper attention deficit. I am interested to see what Gildor has ended up like.

We end this chapter with Erestor and his frustration and disapproval. I don't blame him. He feels exactly as I feel towards the twins, as I felt when I first met them. They made me so angry. Erestor loves Elrond, has cared for Elrond for years and all he can see is the hurt the twins have piled upon their father. Perhaps he mourns too for the Elladan we got glimpses of here. The Elladan who has been lost.

P.s. This is just a totally self indulgent review. No need to reply.....unless you want to!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2015 2:14 · For: Chapter 3
Yes, or they could have the same amount of Maia blood but something has happened specifically in his development to make his more active.......more dangerous. Because we are talking about a tiny amount by the time it gets to the twins....
So something has acted upon Elrohir, maybe even as far back as the womb to magnify his Maia blood and it never happened to Elladan.

Author's Response:

Yes, I was just thinking that it might be something like this!  Not sure what though, but I do think that it might have as much tied in with the Maia-blood's nature (want to come to the top and take control of Elrohir) that is saw something more vulnerable in Elrohir and Elros that it could use/manipulate, and coupled with something in their childhoods or the womb...for Elros his childhood is definitely traumatic enough!  But you know, I think vulnerable isn't quite he right word, I think that Elros and Elrohr as more passionate then their more logic driven twins, Elladan can be very hot-tempered too at times, but nothing like Elrohir who is ruled by his heart/emotions (I am thinking back to your last chapter in That Wondrous Song where we hear Elladan thinking just the same thing and I was nodding alone while reading!).  So maybe its more in the difference of Elladan and Elrohir's natures, and Elros and Elrond's, that allows the blood to make prey out of Elorhir and Elros, using their hot burning against them :(



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2015 2:00 · For: Chapter 3
Yeah identical twins have identical dna because they originate from the one egg. What happens to that dna after they have separated in to two can be different, the way it grows, changes, mutates. So one could develop cancer for example and the other one not.......although for some cancers/diseases if your identical twin gets it your odds of getting it too sky rocket because they are in fact a carbon copy of yourself at a cellular level.
One twin can also have developmental problems that another doesn't because something happened specifically to that twin in the womb. Everything from the moment the egg splits may be different but their genetic makeup is exactly the same.

Author's Response:

Thank you for lending me your brain for a moment lol you're the best :D

So I guess the only way Elrohir would have more Maia-blood then Elladan is if the Maia-blood entered the equation after the egg split...hmm...I shall think on this some more.



You must login () to review.