| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13823
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 21
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
03/28/17 11:13 pm
Wow- Naledi- you were Maths!! I am an English teacher and so agree. I am so careful - don't always get it right but try to make sure every interaction is positive.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
Shout Archive



Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2015 16:14 · For: Letters from the Undying Lands
That makes a lot of sense, i studied forestry and wilderness management for four years and learned a lot of how much Wood People used back in the old days, huge areas were left open for years, and cows and sheep and goats made sure no trees could Return. I think you are right, the straight road must have been open both ways, at least for some :)

Author's Response: It seems, however, that I'm the only author here who has used this idea in his stories, thus far. Others have created situations in which their characters contact persons in Valinor, but their scenes involve the use of a palant


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2015 4:26 · For: Letters from the Undying Lands
You've made some very good points here, especially regarding the growth/regrowth of the forests.

I also think it likely that was some form of trade going on with Valinor, though perhaps the Valar simply turned a blind eye to goods being traded (well, it's not like they're passengers... except for one notable occasion, that is. :) If nothing else, it doesn't make sense that the ships would return completely empty. (Having dealt with trucks & trucking from the business end, the idea of an "empty" return trip for any but the very local hauls makes me shiver.)

Author's Response: Indeed. Consider also the possibility that a few Elves might even briefly return to Middle Earth to visit relatives who, for whatever reason, had decided to stay.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2015 20:00 · For: Letters from the Undying Lands

Can I just say that this makes a lot of sense to me - apart from anything else I have wondered about how Cirdan copes with all his trained sailors only ever going one way - and I do think it would be a real waste of vessels for them all to be sitting in harbours in the West.



Author's Response: Indeed! That was also my feeling exactly. Thank you for your interest and support.


You must login () to review.