| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Do not ask for permission by Kalendeer Explicit
"Do not ask for permission", Curufin's voice whispered in my ear, and I wondered at the game he wanted me to play.
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
The Hounds of Love by Verhalen Explicit
Sören Sigurdsson and "Mark Lowry" are continuing what they started in Sausalito over the summer. But they have some challenges...
~ A Throne of Shadows ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
Set after Last Night I Dreamt I Went to Summerland Again, Vanimöré wishes to reunite Maglor and his son...
~ Last Night I Dreamt I Went to Summerland Again ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
At the Monument, after Dagor Dagorath, Vanimöré wakes from a dream. Anything is better than doing nothing and...
Transmitting by curiouswombat Teen
Returnverse. Legolas' party of elves, a dwarf, and The Key, set off to explore their new lands. Ithilienne, left behind...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...

Site Info

Members: 494
Series: 95
Stories: 1789
Chapters: 9150
Word count: 28360326
Authors: 143
Reviews: 16835
Reviewers: 226
Newest Member: Enyalie
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
12/12/19 10:05 am
Welcome, Enyalie :)
Spiced Wine
12/09/19 09:46 am
Well, I’m not sure, Gabriel, but Fandom Stocking, which I think isn’t running this year (on DW) is similar
Gabriel
12/09/19 12:14 am
Oh, thanks Spiced! That sounds lovely.
Spiced Wine
12/08/19 08:23 pm
Is it where you write little gifts for someone’s ‘stocking’?
Gabriel
12/08/19 12:57 am
Not a problem, Ziggy. And what's a Christmas Stocking exactly? I'd be up for anything really. Anything to keep me writing.:D
ziggy
12/07/19 08:46 pm
I'm thinking there probably aren't enough of us to do the advent Calendar every day, Gabriel- I haven't got capacity to do every other day... maybe a Christmas stocking? Week before Christ
Spiced Wine
12/06/19 10:16 am
Happy Friday :)
Spiced Wine
12/05/19 05:13 pm
Some people do a round robin each December, Astorey. One person will write a chapter, then someone else write the next, and so on
astorey_91
12/05/19 01:38 pm
It’s probably a little bit late to ask this (I’m sorry), but, what is the advent calendar? :) lol A writing event? :)
Naledi
12/04/19 10:16 pm
I completely forgot about the advent calendar! I'm going to have to bow out this year, I'm afraid, because I'm stupidly busy at the moment.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Love Over Gold

Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2015 3:17 · For: Chapter 4

This was a great story!  The way you wrote Erestor was beautiful.  I loved how ethereal he was, almost like mist that kept slipping from Glorfindel’s grasp.  And Glorfindel was wonderful, the way he understood that Erestor needed his space and not to push, but at the same time couldn’t help falling in love and pursuing him.  And the image of all the gold being taken from Glorfindel’s hair was really heartbreaking even though I know it is just hair, it just feels so much a part of who he is.  It was the perfect thing for him to give in return.

Wonderful story!



Author's Response:

Thank you :) Would you believe I first tried writing this as a cute litttle fluff piece? And Erestor kind of looked at me and said 'I don't think so'.  One of the most interesting parts of writing this was watching Erestor take in this new world and slowly change, fit into it, without losing who he really was. Glorfindel's gift to Osse was my beta's suggestion and as soon as I heard it I knew it was perfect - the gold in his hair, his most identifying characteristic as well as the literal meaning of his name. I'm so glad you also liked the choice :)



Name: jules (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2015 8:54 · For: Chapter 4
beautiful - as an abalone shell!
"It is just hair" - love it! (wish I could think of my own so!)

Author's Response:

Aww, thank you so much for liking it :)

(I hear you about hair, lol)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2015 0:27 · For: Chapter 4

This is a really beautiful ending -nicely reworked folk/fairy tale. Lovey. and so beautifully written as always.



Author's Response:

Thanks very much, Ziggy :) I'm glad the ending worked for you, I wanted something a lot happier than the original fairytale but not utter fluff either - it is not a fluffy type of fic.



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: October 05, 2015 16:18 · For: Chapter 4

A lovely end.  I can just imagine the white haired Glorfindel; somehow I think it would suit him - and make the silvery-haired Celebrian smile.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Wombat :) I think he would be very striking with white hair, and every time Erestor looked at him he would know how much he is loved. Though I suppose somehow or other the gold must have grown out again, because of Tolkien's description centuries later.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: October 05, 2015 9:05 · For: Chapter 4
So beautiful!

And tense and dramatic and full of love.

I loved the whole thing, wonderful story!

Author's Response:

It worked way better than I ever expected when I started, lol. Thanks so much Cheeky, I hoped it would be all of those things, but especially full of love. Glad you feel it worked :)



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2015 9:26 · For: Chapter 3

Ah - and now we find out what the price was, and still is...

I really like Celebrian here - she is often one of my favourites when she is in stories.



Author's Response:

I enjoy Celebrian.  Someone raised by those parents and then married to Elrond must have  seen a lot of strange things and have some very interesting views on the world. I always love writing her.  I'm very glad you liked her here - thank you :)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2015 7:07 · For: Chapter 3
Oh he is gone! So sad even though I knew it was coming. My heart is breaking for Glorfindel.......and Erestor. Can't wait to see the next chapter.

Author's Response:

He found his way slowly back to his birthright, and then his time was up, yes :) Hope you're going to enjoy the last chapter :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2015 5:41 · For: Chapter 3

I sort of expected it but that doesn't make it any eaisier- ther ehas to be some sort of 'price' as in all good faolk tales and I love the way this mirros but is not hte same as those old tales of the Silki/ seal folk that did this. Beautifully written as always.



Author's Response:

There's some bargaining in the final chapter... *g*.  I wasn't sure how to deal with a 're-imagining of a fairy tale' prompt, but my instinct was to write parallel to the original story, not copy it outright, and try and keep the characters recognisable --- I'm hoping in the end I managed that.  I'm so happy you're enjoying it, Ziggy :)



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: October 01, 2015 0:01 · For: Chapter 2

I almost missed this chapter!  Now I wonder what deal Erestor might have made to be able to visit Imladris. 

I do like this strange, fey, not quite a merelf, Erestor.



Author's Response:

I enjoyed writing Erestor so much, watching him adapt and change. And yes, there is a price involved, indeed :D



Name: jules (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2015 1:47 · For: Chapter 1
This is an interesting and lovely story. I like the way Erestor keeps Glorfindel guessing. As in the Little Mermaid story, I wonder what price he is paying for his legs

Author's Response:

Thanks, I'm glad you're enjoying it :) And oh yes, there is a price, though it may end up being more than he's willing to pay.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2015 8:56 · For: Chapter 2
I am loving this story. It is such an unusual idea! Now my question is, does Erestor get to keep his legs?
These two are certainly very hot together!

Author's Response:

There was a lot of chemistry there, indeed.  I'll admit this isn't something I'd ever have thought to do, but that's the joy (terror) of fic swaps, you can get kicked pretty toroughly out of your comfort zone :D When I finally worked out what to do (or got shoved in the right direction by my beta) it was really interesting to write. Will he keep his legs? We-ell, that depends on how close this sticks to the original *g*



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 27, 2015 23:11 · For: Chapter 1

As always, lovely.



Author's Response:

Thank you :) I would have posted all four chapters but I'm doing it one at a time on Livejournal to avoid spamming people, so I thought I'd do the same here, avoid confusing myself :D



You must login () to review.