| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13822
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 25
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
Shout Archive



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 11, 2015 3:40 · For: Shock

Wow- a real clanger there! LOve the description of erestor's hurt.



Author's Response:

Thank you! :o)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 11, 2015 3:39 · For: Joy

Well I love this chapoter, being a horseyt sort of gal. And it gives Galadriel a nice softer, kinder side than she is normally given.



Author's Response:

She has so many facettes, hasn't she? I like her very much in general, but particularly when she is not the Lady of Lothlórien, but the woman, mother, wife, cousin, sister, girl, whatever...



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 11, 2015 3:37 · For: Discovery

Yes- I remember now. I've read this before and am thoroughly enjoying reading it again. It was that lovely description of erestor that twieaked my memory.



Author's Response:

:D I'm glad it works this way, thank you so much!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 11, 2015 3:34 · For: Journey

Lovely description of Lothlorien but I really like grumpy Glorfindel who pats his poor little plain horse because he thinks she might feel it.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I had much fun imagining Glorfindel's reaction to a horse not up to his old standards.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 11, 2015 3:32 · For: Prologue

This is so delicious- espeically Galadriel's peal of laughter- very vivid. I have found this as a kiss-away-the-spam-bot review but really like it and am going to read on. So the spam bot did me a favour!!



Author's Response:

Thank you again! *hugs* Such a delight to see so many notifications this morning, thinking it was a spam bot again, and seeing it was from you! What a lovely trea. I'm also happy you like my Galadriel here.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2015 6:43 · For: Epilogue

You certainly fulfilled the brief Ysimle, which wasn't east, and I like the Erestor we have here contrasting with the cooler and rather insecure and defensive Glorfindel.



Author's Response:

Thank you again! I'm happy you gave this a chance. Since I posted this fic on the exchange it has been brooding again in my mind, and I still find the half-brother incest part feeling too forced into that story and relationship. The story doesn't sing well to me, which is why I'm planning to rewrite it, with a slightly different spin on their relationship, and without a real incest situation. I have an idea which might be much more intriguing, relationship-wise... ;o) and while Erestor the groom is not my headcanon Erestor, he has already become dear to me and demands more screen time. He decidedly knows what he wants, that one.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2015 6:42 · For: Shock

Oops- so his father was unfaithful and, he has slept with his brother!! What a tangled web! But what a way to find out- blabbermouth Amdir!



Author's Response:

A tangled web indeed, although I fear it shows that I found it difficult to put that bit of back-story in. It's not the subject itself, but one I find very difficult to do justice whithin the limitied time and fic-lenght possibilities of an exchange. The unfaithful part is difficult, I admit; I have difficulties with the expectation of elves left alone by death or migration of their spouses to Valinor, or moving to Valinor leaving their spouses behind, that they should remain lonely until they meet again - if that happens. I'm mulling some ideas over in my head-canon, but I'm not really satisfied with any possible solution yet. *g*



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2015 6:39 · For: Joy

This is a nice touch- so this is how he got Asfaloth (the first anyway)



Author's Response:

Thank you! I think Glorfindel has had more than one Asfaloth. Perhaps he will continue breeding with this first one, and every time a descendant looks similiar enough, he inherits the name as well?



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2015 6:38 · For: Discovery

Hm.Erestor the groom? An unusual occupation but oddly fitting. And very nicely described:)



Author's Response:

Thanks! The assignment was quite a challenge, although I was looking forward to write the pairing for the first time. But I knew I had to change them both considerably from my usual headcanon to be able to write it to the recipient's liking.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2015 6:33 · For: Prologue

I missed htis fic! So sorry. But that means there are lots of chapters to read! Nicely intriguing start and I love Elrond's embarrassment.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  This is acutally the first time somebody said they missed a fic of mine, which is quite a lovely feeling. ;o)



You must login () to review.