| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

At Sea in the Middle of Ithilien by UnnamedElement Teen
This is the story of Legolas' Sea-longing long after it started, through the eyes of his lover, and all the ways it pulls...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
What is Lost by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Maedhros and Maglor in the immediate aftermath of the Nirnaeth Arnoediad. Flashbacks to Tirion. Maedhros and Fingon first...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
I Will Wait by lotrfan General Audiences
For the SWG April/May A Woman's Sceptre Challenge.Prompt:“Some say cavalry and other claim infantry or a fleet of long...
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 79
Stories: 1571
Chapters: 8074
Word count: 24232894
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14478
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Ysilme
09/21/17 01:12 pm
Good to hear, NelyafinweFeanorion! :D
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/19/17 04:20 am
It worked!
ziggy
09/18/17 11:05 pm
I always use arda-lambion and don't worry too much about the grammar! Life's too short:)
Narya
09/17/17 09:30 pm
Anyone know of a reliable Quenya translator?
ziggy
09/17/17 06:31 pm
Welcome FINALLY Nelyafinwefeanorian!! Hurray- you are here:)
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:25 pm
Okay, I hope it works. Maybe it was just some glitch :/ As I say it has happened once or twice before but goodness knows why
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:12 pm
I'll try again from this acct today and see if it works. Thanks to everyone for the encouragement and help and esteliel for the emails.
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:10 pm
I tried last night and it didn't work. I created another account name and tried that and that story posted. At least I think it did--I see it up there on the most recent. I'll try this accoun
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:36 am
The only thing I can think to do is for esteliel or myself to use your password, log in and post your first chapter. I believe the last time this happened it's what I did.
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:34 am
What did esteliel say, Nelyafinwe?
Shout Archive



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 26, 2015 10:08 · For: Chapter 2
Omg! Your description of Fingon casually bringing Maedhros a Silmaril!!! So gorgeous. Almost worth a AU Oneshot!
I can just see him.....
" Hey Maedhros, I found this......thought you might like it."

Author's Response:

This AU would be the cuddliest thing every!  And AS close to a happy ending as the Silmarillion could take lol.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 25, 2015 22:59 · For: Chapter 3

Love you too, Encairion! You are so fab xxx



Author's Response:

You are so good to me, that sound you hear is my heart fluttering lol



Name: Ten thousand leaves (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2015 23:49 · For: Chapter 1

Oh, you're back, you're back, how I missed you and your writing! I really hope you've had a good summer. 

I had such an enjoyable time reading this story, even though it was sad and poignant, very much your style, but there's this glimmer of hope, desperate and small, but unyielding, and it's lovely. Threw me right back into the Price universe (dear god, I had SUCH a widhdrawal after it! I keep comparing most fics I read to it and find them lacking, ahahah )

I really liked your depiction of Elwing, of her descent into madness, and how she did make an attempt to fight it. One thing that seriously intrigues me is the sentient Silmaril and how Feanor willed its actions (and they were actions?) from beyond this world. I was thinking that it tried to will its owner to come find/help his sons and I'm wondering if with time, if there's such a notion as time in Mandos, Feanor learns how to influence and drive people (and gods?) through his Jewels. 

Now I'm doubly curious about the silmaril that is still in Maglor's keeping.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for writing this, Earendil's backstory was something I've wanted to read about within the Price universe and it is a lovely gift. 

Lemme just tell you one more time how glad I am to see you posting and writing again. And I sure as hell hope YOU have fun doing it.

Lots of love!



Author's Response:

“Oh, you're back, you're back, how I missed you and your writing! I really hope you've had a good summer. “

Yes, I am finally back!  Thank you for all the support you gave me this summer, I cannot say it was the best since I was in a bad place, but that is over now, and I am doing much better :)  I hope you are doing fabulously, you deserve it :hugs:

“I had such an enjoyable time reading this story, even though it was sad and poignant, very much your style, but there's this glimmer of hope, desperate and small, but unyielding, and it's lovely.”

I am so happy you enjoyed it!  You are so right that sad is just up my alley lol but, for all my love of angst, I love a happy ending just as much :)

“(dear god, I had SUCH a widhdrawal after it! I keep comparing most fics I read to it and find them lacking, ahahah )”

Thank you :blushes:

“I really liked your depiction of Elwing, of her descent into madness, and how she did make an attempt to fight it.”

She was a challenge to write, because I didn’t like her, but I didn’t want to bash her, as bashing is usually just a lack of character depth.  She must have had reasons for her actions, as much as I hated those actions, and I found that unless she was the kind of terrible person who would willingly choose her vengeance against the Feanorions over her sons and people, she must not have been in her right mind.  With everything I’d already written of the Silmarils, if made sense that she had fallen into obsession with it, like her father did before her.

“One thing that seriously intrigues me is the sentient Silmaril and how Feanor willed its actions (and they were actions?) from beyond this world. I was thinking that it tried to will its owner to come find/help his sons and I'm wondering if with time, if there's such a notion as time in Mandos, Feanor learns how to influence and drive people (and gods?) through his Jewels. “

Wow, this is intriguing!  I guess I never really saw it as Feanor himself acting through the Silmaril, but rather an echo of who he was when he made the Silmarils that had been imprinted into the Silmaril during its forging.  That said, your interpretation is all kinds of interesting!  I was having this really interesting discussion with mangacrack on her review where she pointed out that the Silmaril had been in the possession of a lot of powerful people, and that got me wondering if it could have soaked up some of that power and kind of built it up inside itself until it was able to influence the person possessing it.  The idea that it is Feanor himself who is doing the directing would open up a ton of interesting questions, that’s for sure!  I imagine the Silmaril would want to find its way into the hands of the gods so it could influence them (unless it doesn’t have the power to control a Vala like that?). 

You bring up the question of Maglor’s Silmaril too.  Well, I rather think this one hasn’t ‘developed’ the same way Elwing’s Silmaril did, as it has been with Morgoth all this time, and if there was anyone who could resist the Silmarils (besides Feanor and his blood), then it would be Morgoth, for all he lusted after them.  So, Maglor’s Silmaril hasn’t reached the point of being able to communicate, and then there is the fact the Silmaril pretty much took over Elwings mind and body, and I don’t see it doing that to Maglor or Glorfindel, as they are Feanor’s blood.  But that doesn’t mean it is just a pretty jewel, oh no, we shall see, oh yes we shall lol!

“Thank you, thank you, thank you for writing this, Earendil's backstory was something I've wanted to read about within the Price universe and it is a lovely gift. “

I have honestly been blown away by the wonderful reception this story has received.  I actually wrote it quite a while ago, but never posted it because I didn’t think many people would be interested in reading it.  I wrote it mainly for my own pleasure and curiosity over my new love Eärendil :D  So to see how much you, and other readers, have enjoyed it, has been such an unexpected blessing!

Yes, I promise that I have been enjoying writing again (though it is no less hard work then it has always been, but the hard work is worth it :))  And it is wonderful to be back and connect like this again.  Thank you again for the lovely review :hugs:



Name: kasura (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2015 6:58 · For: Chapter 3
So excited to see you have a new story out, and there will be more chapters of your other series coming out soon. Hooray!

I love your Earendil in The Price of Vengeance II, which is a character I totally dislike before reading your stories, because he's such a Valar golden boy. How could he just calmly sailed across the sky every night with a gem on his brow that his wife sacrificed their sons for?

This story really adds more depths to his character, and answers the question of why. I love he got a chance to find love/companionship with Maglor, and hope they do end up together.

I totally just don't like Elwing...I am always amazed that she knew the Feanorians are going to attack,it's pretty obvious from having rejected letters from Maedhros many times, and didn't bother to evacuate her people to safety? Did she really think her people can withstand and repel an experience, desperate army?

Also I really love the Silmaril speaking to Earendil! That's my favorite part in this story. I wonder if the Silmaril is part Feanor and part light? A lot of passages in Silmarillion are trying to discredit Feanor and dispute his legit ownership of the Silmarils, which is extremely repulsive to me. Truly happy to see the Silmaril speaks up and defends Feanor and Feanorions' rights :)

Please also write more on Price of Memory. I love Erestor and Lindir's story, and Glorfindel's, and can't wait to read more of them.

And your stories completely changed my perspective of 'unlikable' characters in Silmarillion - such as Maeglin, Curufin, and make me love them! Maeglin and Curufin just broke my heart...esp when Curufin was undone when Luthien and Beren ripped that Silmaril phial away from him. That's pure evil, and so heartbreaking. I cried so much when I read that part. Curufin needs a hug.

I know the Silm has so many characters it's hard to focus on one, but please write more Caranthir and Celebrimbor :)

Your stories are so awesome! I don't have enough words to express how awesome they are! hope to see more new chapters soon :)

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review, I absolutely love hearing from new readers!  What a treat :D

“I love your Earendil in The Price of Vengeance II, which is a character I totally dislike before reading your stories, because he's such a Valar golden boy. How could he just calmly sailed across the sky every night with a gem on his brow that his wife sacrificed their sons for?”

I totally didn’t like him either for the longest of time, because I saw him as a Valar golden boy too.  But then his story just fell on me, and I’ve adored him since.  I just love hearing how others are falling in love too. :supports Eärendil love:

I’ve been doing some thinking/revising of ship ideas, but one that will not change is Maglor/Eärendil.  I couldn’t do that Eärendil, poor baby, not after he’s finally found love, as messed up as that love is at the moment!

“I totally just don't like Elwing...I am always amazed that she knew the Feanorians are going to attack,it's pretty obvious from having rejected letters from Maedhros many times, and didn't bother to evacuate her people to safety? Did she really think her people can withstand and repel an experience, desperate army?”

Well, I’ll be the last person to try and defend Elwing lol  I agree with you that the Feanorions must have sent warning of their attack/demands for the Silmaril like they did in Doriath.  I’ve read stories where they attacked out of the blue, but I don’t believe that.  After everything, they would have sent more letters to Elwing then Dior.  As for Elwing, well, in this story I think she was too far gone in her addiction to the Silmaril to let it go, even for her sons.  I don’t think she was thinking clearly at all, but rather like a drug addict, not that that makes me like her any more, but I can pity her at the least now (I used to really dislike her, and I still do in a lot of portrayals).

“That's my favorite part in this story. I wonder if the Silmaril is part Feanor and part light?”

I am so glad you liked it :)  I think an Elven-smith leaves a part of themselves in every work they create, especially their works of power/magic.  The Silmarils power came both from the light they held and from the magic Feanor fed into them from himself, so in a large way they are both light and Feanor :)

“Please also write more on Price of Memory. I love Erestor and Lindir's story, and Glorfindel's, and can't wait to read more of them.”

I loved hearing this, and I promise that after I post the next chapter or two of Revolutionary, I will take up Memory again.  I love Erestor and Lindir too, and I have some more Glorfindel written in that story as well!

“such as Maeglin, Curufin, and make me love them! Maeglin and Curufin just broke my heart...esp when Curufin was undone when Luthien and Beren ripped that Silmaril phial away from him. That's pure evil, and so heartbreaking. I cried so much when I read that part. Curufin needs a hug.”

Ahhh, my babies!  Maeglin, for me, is probably my favorite character in the Silmarillion, and I couldn’t help writing him sympathetic, because to me, his story is.  And Curufin, what an unexpected love he turned out to be!  I just love hearing how much you fell in love with him, he blew me away.  Some of his scenes, like when he fell apart after Luthien and Beren and the scenes between him and Maedhros before Doriath, ended up being some of the most emotional for me to write.  I’ve written some scenes with him in Revolutionary, and, of course, I cried lol!

“I know the Silm has so many characters it's hard to focus on one, but please write more Caranthir and Celebrimbor :)”

I think you must be reading my mind :grins:  I can promise lots more of both of these guys!  Strange as it may seem for Caranthir, but we are going to learn a lot more about them both in Vengeance 2!  I have tons of scenes planned out, now to just write them lol

“Your stories are so awesome! I don't have enough words to express how awesome they are! hope to see more new chapters soon :)”

::hugs::  You made my day with this!  I cannot tell you how wonderful it is to learn something I’ve written has touched you as a reader.  It is the best gift ever!



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2015 14:53 · For: Chapter 3

You! *points at several new documents*

This is all your fault. Not even back a week and your fic is already driving my mind up the walls. Because it's awesome like this. I've truly missed this, instantous inspiration just by reading your fic's. New material is always welcome.

First: The Silmaril Speaking! Holy yes. I squaled when it happened because ... why not. This Silmaril at least could've an awareness of itself. It passed through the hands of so many (powerful) people. Even though my first thought was "Feanor in Elwings body".

Could you imagine? Feanor wakes up in Elwing's body, has two more sons all of sudden and shows up with them at Himring. It's simply delightful.

Eärendil's reaction is approciate as well. I can understand how he can't stand to look at Elwing, let alone name her his wife. It goes along with my headcanons for their personalities, though I saw Eärendil more detached before I read "The Price of Duty." Now I imagine he follows every of Elros descendants, learns their names and fates.

I remember an old fic of him cheering on Aragorn, watching him during a difficult trip.

But yes, Elwing is basically an addict. Though in the one draft I've on her it's more "dependent" since it's hard to let go of something you had since childhood. A bit like children inheriting their mother's diseases / habits / effects of drinking during pregancy but that doesn't fit with Elrond's & Elros' sanity. Or (!) they became sane because of Maedhros & Maglor who countered the effects of the Silmaril they were exposed to. 

*wonders about oswane and elflings*

... anyway, great fic. Thanks for getting me to write again.



Author's Response:

“I've truly missed this, instantous inspiration just by reading your fic's. New material is always welcome.”

I love hearing this! The thought that anything I write could inspire you, you, who is so creative and original in everything you write, wow!

“The Silmaril Speaking! Holy yes. I squaled when it happened because ... why not.”

The best reason ever. Lol.

“It passed through the hands of so many (powerful) people.”

I hadn’t thought of that, but yes!  What if the Silmaril was like building up power?  Each new possessor gave over a little of themselves to it as they gave themselves over in their obsession with it!  Morgoth would have given the least, I think, because he would have had more control over his magic/power, which is why the Silmaril were trapped so long, powerless in his procession.  But Dior and Elwing were well and truly obsessed with it.  Hours and hours of them alone with it would have caused the Silmaril to grow stronger until it could finally manifest its will in Elwing’s body!  Oh gosh I love this!  It’s you and your brilliant mind :)

“Even though my first thought was "Feanor in Elwings body".

Could you imagine? Feanor wakes up in Elwing's body, has two more sons all of sudden and shows up with them at Himring. It's simply delightful.”

Holy shit!  Where do you come up with this genius?  Now I am dying for a story where this happens!  And I love that Elros and Elrond would be Feanor’s new sons awwww!  And how weird would that be for Feanor, suddenly a woman?  But he’d totally kick ass lol  And what would his sons be like when Elwing/Feanor comes ridding into their camp, two little kids clinging to her/him?  Wow, I want this!

“Now I imagine he follows every of Elros descendants, learns their names and fates.

I remember an old fic of him cheering on Aragorn, watching him during a difficult trip.”

Oh my heart!  It’s both heart-warming and so very sad, because I can see Eärendil searching for a glimpse of Elros in every one, but having to watch each of them die :wails:

“but that doesn't fit with Elrond's & Elros' sanity.”

How awful for them!  Here’s something scary: what if Elwing had been obsessed/dependent on the Silmaril during their birth?  What if the necessary nurturing of an Elven mother to her growing baby did not happen, which led to Elros and Elrond being born pre-mature, or with some kind of health problems like not fully developed lungs, or a birth defect?  And add on top of that them being addicted to the Silmaril like a baby can be born with a meth addiction?  No, no, no, this is too awful to think about! 

It is so good to hear from you, and to hear you are off to write :D  I am so thrilled you enjoyed the story, and have enjoyed your review and the ideas it spanned in my head as I always do :hugs:



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2015 2:09 · For: Chapter 2
She chose to pick up the Silmaril and try to use it for the strengthening of her people, even though she knew what happened to Dior and Thingol.....

I seriously don't get why she did this. Why, why, why didnt she just give it back?? She had had two really clear examples of why keeping the silmaril was NOT a good idea. How did she ever think it could have been any different for her?


First: Fingolfin never would have tried to keep it for himself. But let’s run with the scenario that he did…hmmm, I think it depends on Fingolfin’s motivations. ......

Yes you are right, Half brother in blood, Full brother in Heart, Fingolfin would have handed the Silmaril straight back to Feanor.....or Maedhros, had he ever managed to extract one. Even with the Helcaraxe and all, Fingolfin would,never have kept one.....nor would Fingon, obviously.......Turgon however, well Turgon post Helcaraxe, he may well have kept it. I dont think he would have used it though, I think he would have despised it but held on to it out of spite/ hatred for the Feanorians killing his wife but it would have repulsed him, a symbol of all his loss.

Author's Response:

“I seriously don't get why she did this. Why, why, why didnt she just give it back?? She had had two really clear examples of why keeping the silmaril was NOT a good idea. How did she ever think it could have been any different for her?”

I think it was arrogance, really.  She believed the same would not happen to her, somehow.  Maybe she thought her reasons for picking the Silmaril up were too pure to allow corruption (believing it was greed and lust for it that had been her father and grandfather’s fall).  Why she didn’t give it back to the Feanorions was because of hate/vengeance, I am sure.  Even if she’d never used it, she would have fed it to the sea before surrendering to the sons of Feanor.

Turgon however, well Turgon post Helcaraxe, he may well have kept it. I dont think he would have used it though, I think he would have despised it but held on to it out of spite/ hatred for the Feanorians killing his wife but it would have repulsed him, a symbol of all his loss.”

Yes, spite/vengeance would have been his primary motivator, I agree.  I think he would not have been as foolish as Elwing either.  Turgon changed a lot in Beleriand, but I think he was wise enough to understand the Silmaril, as a work of Feanor’s, would never serve him.  And then he was also there in the hour of the Oath’s swearing, he would have understood its power more than Elwing.

You are right, Fingon would never have used it either.  I can see him now, causally bringing it over to Maedhros as a ‘gift’ lol  And making sure to be there when Maedhros realized what he’d brought, just so he could see the look of Maedhros’ face and treasure that relief/sweet-sorrow (because it reminded Maedhros of his father)/joy for always :D



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2015 21:29 · For: Chapter 3
I am so glad you liked this story, I know these aren’t your favorite characters, so it means a lot that you gave this one a shot :) E


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2015 4:38 · For: Chapter 3

Brilliant- the frozen and empty city- of course, the Noldor left so it would seem empty and I liked the frozen associations- frozen in time but that pristine untouchable coldness too. And that he needed to SIlmaril to get through the barrier makes a lot of sense.

And your idea of the Valar -that description of Eonwe TRYING to be compassionate but not really knowing what that was- intersting. I like the idea that they are inhuman, really not like 'us'. And the Silmaril;s willingness ot do anyhting for the seven faces, the two still left upon the shores of Ennor- tragic, sad, poetic. There's an intersting link here between the Silmaril then and Earendil - fathers for their sons. And I found myself intrigued by eonwe, who is not quite as cold as his actions suggest.

So very good to see you writing again my dear. I have MISSED you!!



Author's Response:

Brilliant- the frozen and empty city- of course, the Noldor left so it would seem empty and I liked the frozen associations- frozen in time but that pristine untouchable coldness too.”

I certainly wouldn’t have wanted to live in Valinor during this time lol!  But yes, I think the Teleri especially are frozen in time.  They haven’t moved past the Kinslaying in any way, and I think that is because their lives are so stagnate.  The Noldor in Tirion I think would be just as bad, as they suffered as much a shock to their society as the Kinslaying when ¾ or something of their people left.  Imagine what that would have done to not only their economy, but their overall moral!  Only the Vanyar have changed, and in some ways the Vanyar’s changing may have seemed like rubbing it in the face to some of these others.  The Vanyar were happy and progressing as a whole, their culture thriving, even as they lived side-by-side with societies whose citizens felt gutted and ghostly.

“And the Silmaril;s willingness ot do anyhting for the seven faces, the two still left upon the shores of Ennor- tragic, sad, poetic.”

When Feanor made the Silmarils he put some part of himself into him, and so much of him was about his sons, so I think the Silmarils’ strongest desire/only desire is to be back with these seven faces.

“So very good to see you writing again my dear. I have MISSED you!!”

I’ve missed you too!!! :tackles you:  The world is such a better place when I have the energy to write and talk to the wonderful people I’ve met like you, Ziggy.  I wish it was like this always :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2015 4:29 · For: Chapter 2

I think you have completely convinced me about Elwing's addiction- everything you said in your response ot my reivew I agrree with.

 

Thsi scene with Earendil and the boys is enchanting and very 'real' I love teh textures you write, you are very sensual in the real sense of using smells and touch etc. But I htink you have an expert eye for the beaviours of people as well- the details, and that makes this a really lovely piece. I have very clear images in my head of this.

 

The viloence Elwing inflicts on her husband is very very well done and I liked the way she became bird-like again, in a frenzy really- inhuman nad hte claws rather than fingers, but a very female weapon as well. Very compaelling and uncomfortable. She really is lost and I htink you have made the Silmaril convincing in its addictive nature. I really liked hte image of him seeing the boys in the Silmaril- that was very well done- I was looking at imagesof them like watching a film almost- fabulous ideas.



Author's Response:

 Thsi scene with Earendil and the boys is enchanting and very 'real' I love teh textures you write, you are very sensual in the real sense of using smells and touch etc. But I htink you have an expert eye for the beaviours of people as well- the details, and that makes this a really lovely piece. I have very clear images in my head of this.”

This is a lovely thing to here, and quite the confidence booster :)  All these complements are things I hope desperately to be true about the writing quality, so it leaves me floating to hear them!

“The viloence Elwing inflicts on her husband is very very well done and I liked the way she became bird-like again, in a frenzy really- inhuman nad hte claws rather than fingers, but a very female weapon as well.”

I really wanted to show the Maia in her blood.  You may recall (or may not, it’s been a while lol), that I’d written that the mixing of Valar/god-blood with the Children was not necessarily a good thing as we saw with Elros and his children.  It’s my thoughts that when Elwing pulled on her Maia-blood to escape the Fëanorions, she made the mixing even worse, and the Maia-blood became stronger, which then in turn made her addiction to the Silmaril all the more potent because the Valar’s nature is to crave it –or rather the light of the Imperishable Flame within.

“I really liked hte image of him seeing the boys in the Silmaril- that was very well done- I was looking at imagesof them like watching a film almost- fabulous ideas.”

I am glad to hear this struck you so powerfully :)  I don’t know if it came across in the writing, but I wanted the Silmaril to ‘awaken’ in a way/ become more aware, when Eariendil was inside it because it felt that familiar longing of a father for his sons, and that was such a powerful part of who Feanor was, that it was what the Silmaril needed to solidify its purpose/strongest desire and start on the path of sentinance.  It was also Earendil’s love that allowed him to escape from the Silmaril unharmed, both then, and all those years he bore it without it driving him mad.  The Silmaril was aware enough to know him, and see both a bit of a kindred soul as well as one that did not wish to use it for his own gain.

Thank you for these reviews, it’s so great to hear how much you enjoyed the story!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2015 13:55 · For: Chapter 1

AH- you have returned with a vengeance Encairion! I would never have read a story about these two unless it was by you and you manipulated me very cleverly in htis- I was actually beh=ginnig to have some symathy with Elwing. And the way you gradually showed her deterioration over htis chapter, is exaclty as I am sure it was- liek a naddiction. And it;s so compelling- your reasoning, and her motivation for picking it up in the first palce. How true that felt!

 

I particualry liekd the scene with Earendi and the boys- that sense they have of a stranger- who doesn't smell familiar- we completely underestiamte smell- how brilliant to incvlude that ehre. And I loved the way Earendil thought of the sea- it reminded me of Aragorna dn being a ranger

 

He’d found freedom out there where all binds of duty and fears were cut. Everything was easier when it was just him conquering nature, one with the sea, boundless upon that heaving chest devoid of borders, encroaching armies of Darkness, and faces and faces and faces of terrified refugees looking for saviors. 

 

Eärendil did not have the weight of responsibilities Gil-galad or Elwing had placed upon them, but he was Turgon’s grandson and Tuor the Hero’s son. He knew expectations. He knew what it was to have faces turned to him, hoping, desperate: save us, save us, save us! 

 

He didn’t know how Gil-galad endured it. 

 

That was very thought provoking- the rpessure on them both - the escape and hte easy excsues he can find. 

 

Brilliant hcapter my dear. And wonderfully there is more to read already!!! Don'tknow how I missed htese updates:)



Author's Response:

Me?  Manipulate you into anything :blinks innocently:

You have gotten me to read and enjoy some characters I never had before, you wonderful writer, you :)

Did you know, Elwing was actually one of my least favorite characters before writing this?  I still don’t like her, but I don’t hate her.  Jut pity her now.  But gods, if she wasn’t in thrall to the Silmaril, then yeah, no forgiveness.  It’s not only that she abandoned her sons to what she must have believed to be certain death, it was that she didn’t hand the Silmaril over to begin with!  If she weren’t a thrall, then her reasons for keeping it from the Feanorions would have been largely vengeance, and that is no reason to risk a second Doriath.  Also, if she was so consumed with hate as that, then I don’t see so many people choosing to take her as their leader and standing by her when the Feanorions came.  I imagine a number of Elves were enchanted to a lesser degree by the Silmaril, especially those closer to her who saw it pretty often when in her presence, and these would have been the Elves who were supposed to be advising her.

“I particualry liekd the scene with Earendi and the boys- that sense they have of a stranger- who doesn't smell familiar- we completely underestiamte smell- how brilliant to incvlude that ehre. And I loved the way Earendil thought of the sea- it reminded me of Aragorna dn being a ranger”

I have a huge weakness for cute little kids, I am sure you’ve noticed, I seem to find myself writing them pretty often lol  And so I couldn’t resist writing the twins, but typical me, if couldn’t be pure fluff, there had to be a mix of angst in there as well :snorts:  I like the connection you made between Eärendil’s seeking the freedom of the sea, and Aragorn the freedom of the life of a ranger.  Tolkien writes it as if, once Aragorn made the decision to pursue the crown, he was this great king.  But I wonder.  He was a leader, no doubt about it, but was he really a ruler?  I wonder if him just not wanting the life of a king might have been one of the reasons he was so hesitant to take that path…or am I mixing book and movie cannon up here?  It’s been a long time since I read lotr.

“Brilliant hcapter my dear. And wonderfully there is more to read already!!! Don'tknow how I missed htese updates:)”

Thank you, my dear :hugs:  You are such an encouragement :)   Don’t worry, I posted this story all at once, so no, you didn’t miss any sneaky updates *g*



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2015 17:10 · For: Chapter 3
Also, having the Silmaril speak and explain what it was and why the damned Valar had no right to it - which I completely believe - was masterly!

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I hate the idea that the Valar have any claim to the Silmaril, even the smallest thread, so I wanted to cut the thread they thought they could stand on: being the creators of the original light/flame within the Silmarils.  Not that that should have given them a right to something that was inspired by that work, geez, what a twisted logic!  But I didn’t even what their shadow of possession over the Silmarils. 



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2015 14:17 · For: Chapter 3
This is absolutely how I believe it all would have happened: the Elwing becoming addicted to the Silmaril to the point of placing it before her sons, the Valar unmoved by anything but the Silmaril - and wanting every-one to know it, thus sending E


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2015 12:27 · For: Chapter 3

I cried. I didn't expect it, but I cried. This was so heart-breaking, and I really loathe the Valar now. You really captured their other-ness, as well as their cruelty. (Am I wrong to think Eönwë is in his own way a captive of sorts? That necklace sounds very much like a slave collar...)

Beautiful work! I bow in awe before your skill as a writer ^^



Author's Response:

You are too kind :blushes:  I am thrilled you enjoyed the story so much, and even more that it moved you to tears (as mean as that sounds lol to know it stirred such emotion is incredible!)

“(Am I wrong to think Eönwë is in his own way a captive of sorts? That necklace sounds very much like a slave collar...)”

You are not wrong!  Eönwë, all the Maiar in fact, in this AU were meant to be the intercessor, the bridge, between the Valar and the Elves because the Valar are too alien to understand the Children.  But the Valar are all about control and power, and they saw the Maiar as lesser beings so they bound them.  This, and a lot more, is explained better in The Price of Duty.  I tried to keep this story as a standalone, but Eönwë just had to make an appearance lol

To hear how much you enjoyed the story is fabulous, thank you so much for reviewing :hugs:



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2015 12:16 · For: Chapter 2

This was awesome. Elwing went from creepy to terrifying, and the description of the Silmaril was beautiful. Am I wrong, or does the Silmaril actually want to go back to Fëanor and sons? And of course, poor Eärendil. He really never had much of a choice in what was demanded of him. 



Author's Response:

“Am I wrong, or does the Silmaril actually want to go back to Fëanor and sons?”

Oh yes, it wants nothing more than to be re-connected with them. 

“And of course, poor Eärendil. He really never had much of a choice in what was demanded of him.”

I know, the poor dear!  When I compare the choices Eärendil (or even Elwing) had in comparison to the Elves of the Age of the Two Trees, I can really see how he was boxed in a corner.  He wasn’t the only one though.  Those were desperate times with the numbers of leaders and ‘heroes’ for the people running scarce.  And of course, there was the issue of an impossible war.  They couldn’t win, and Eärendil saw that, so the only choice was to try to reach Valinor, which meant leaving his family.

It’s wonderful to hear the story has moved you, and that you can feel for him so much :D  Thanks for the review :)



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2015 11:53 · For: Chapter 1

I never had much sympathy for either Elwing or Eärendil, but after just one chapter of this story I really feel for him. Elwing's obsession with the silmaril is creepy, and pretty much how I always imagined that went...  



Author's Response:

Thank you for taking the time to read and review!  Before I started writing Eärendil in another story, he was a bleh character for me, and Elwing has always been one of my least favorite.  But then I started writing him, and I fell in love.  Elwing I can summon pity for now, she did lose everything, even her mind, but I cannot say she is a fandom favorite for me, so I understand where you are coming for exactly :D



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2015 4:22 · For: Chapter 3
Earendil's fate breaks my heart. I could only get through reading this by thinking about his escape back to Maglor, his temporary freedom. Him getting one back over the Valar.

God I hate those Valar so much. Seriously cant wait to read about the elves destroying them.

Forcing him into immortality when he identified with men. So cruel.....but then what they did to Elros...,even worse. ( although it was the making of him)

Loved reading more of Earendil. I have missed your stories SO MUCH!! You have no idea!

Author's Response:

“Earendil's fate breaks my heart. I could only get through reading this by thinking about his escape back to Maglor, his temporary freedom. Him getting one back over the Valar.”

His fate is one of the worst, I think.  It would have been better if he’d died then endure such a life….Except that he got to experience that brief freedom, and got to visit Elros on occasion.  For that he would have endured an eternity of his miserable existence.  Thank the gods that will not be his final fate!

Ugg, those Valar!  They never stop, do they?

Thank you again for the reviews, it has meant so much to receive such a warm welcome back.  I am glad you enjoyed this :D



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2015 4:05 · For: Chapter 2
Ah Poor Earendil. He is so tragic.
He is also more forgiving than I am. I don't think I could ever have looked Elwing in the face again, addiction or no addiction.
She had choices, I cannot conceive of how she made the one she did.

And it could have been so much worse, at least Maglor raised her boys well.

I love how Manlike Earendil is, how well hidden is his elvishness. Turgons grandson though, still a child of Finwe. I wonder if the silmaril recognised that in him.

Was it only non Finweions they destroyed? Hmmm I wonder what would have happened if Fingolfin had ever got his hands on one?

Author's Response:

“He is also more forgiving than I am. I don't think I could ever have looked Elwing in the face again, addiction or no addiction.”

Yes, he is a very forgiving person.  He forgave Maglor, he will no doubt forgive Maeglin, there are only the Valar he will never forgive.  He’s just not the kind of person who falls into hate easily. 

“She had choices, I cannot conceive of how she made the one she did.”

I do believe she had choices in the beginning.  She chose to pick up the Silmaril and try to use it for the strengthening of her people, even though she knew what happened to Dior and Thingol.  Later though, I don’t think she, or most people, could have stopped themselves from picking the Silmaril in the end, the thralldom was just too tight.  It’s rather tragic, I think, but she did have choices in the beginning, few though those choices were.  The pressure she must have been under when she chose the Silmaril, was incredible.  She was young, and while she had a stubborn strength and a faith in the prevailing of good over evil, she had so many demanding on her and so little experience.  I can understand why she chose the Silmaril.  She is actually one of my least favorite characters in the Silm because she chose the Silmaril over Elrond and Elros during the Kinslaying, but after writing this version of events I can at least pity her.

“Was it only non Finweions they destroyed? Hmmm I wonder what would have happened if Fingolfin had ever got his hands on one?”

Ah, that is an interesting question!  First: Fingolfin never would have tried to keep it for himself.  But let’s run with the scenario that he did…hmmm, I think it depends on Fingolfin’s motivations.  He was deliberating keeping it from Feanor or Feanorion’s blood, I think the Silmaril would not have been kind to him.  But if there were no Feanorions left, or if he was just holding onto it temporarily, then I think the Silmaril would have tolerated his possession of it and caused him no harm.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2015 3:45 · For: Chapter 1
OMG, new story from you!! So exciting. So excitiing! I am home with my boy who is not so well today and this has made my afternoon

Oh Eadrendil, babe there is no way she is going to do what you want. Never believe an addict.

I am so pleased to see some more of your Earendil. I really like him.....and gosh...that picture..he is gorgeous.

The silmarils are seriously bad news to anyone not a Feanorian aren't they. That spirit of Feanor.... It just overwhelms them.

Loved Elrond and Elros. Just gorgeous, and Earendil's love for them. So sad to know what lies ahead.

Author's Response:

Oh no, your little guy is still sick!  This is one long fever, and especially with him being so young, hope he’s not in danger of anything more serious!

“Oh Eadrendil, babe there is no way she is going to do what you want. Never believe an addict.”

You said it!  Unfortunately he wants desperately for things to work out, poor dear.

“I really like him.....and gosh...that picture..he is gorgeous.”

Lol I know :drools:

“The silmarils are seriously bad news to anyone not a Feanorian aren't they. That spirit of Feanor.... It just overwhelms them.”

Yep, the Silmarils don’t take kindly to non-Feanororian handling them.  I actually have a theory that the longer they are in someone’s possessions, the more hold they have over them, not only as an addiction, but to gather the power of independence too, like we saw at the end with Elwing.  If they had had a choice and enough power over their holder, they would have tried to make Dior or Elwing give them back to the Feanorions, but it wasn’t until Elwing was utterly consumed with the Silmaril that it could take over.  It’s pretty creepy.  But the Silmaril, for all it is an echo of Feanor’s spirit at the time of its forging, is not a person, and is very single-minded in its purpose: return to its maker/maker’s blood.  It doesn’t possess things like empathy or mercy for the one keeping it from its goal.

I am so thrilled you enjoyed the story :squeals:  Thanks a billion for the review, darling :hugs:



You must login () to review.