| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Jeli in Valinor by Glorfindel Explicit
King Oropher and Lord Cirdan have sailed to Valinor and are reunited with their daughter, Jeli, who died over a thousand...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Elwing's Balrog by Keiliss General Audiences
When 12 year old Elwing, the fey, half-elven grandchild of Beren and Lúthien, realises that she might age and die...
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
All of You by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas and Elrohir find each other in the Greenwood . . . And Elrohir finds his own self.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Thranduil arrives with help The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1582
Chapters: 8123
Word count: 24391412
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14658
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Alquien
10/15/17 08:09 pm
Happy Birthday, cheeky! Best wishes! I hope you enjoy your special day! :)
Spiced Wine
10/15/17 01:28 pm
Has probably learned all about the Silmarillion and Appendices of LOTR from paying these games :D
Spiced Wine
10/15/17 01:27 pm
Fanfic is fanfic is fanfic,, Narya :) I'd really like to read it actually. Kev is absorbed; what with me filling in the background, he
Narya
10/15/17 12:46 pm
Actually, Spiced...with your administrator hat on, how would you feel about someone posting a fic here based on Shadow of Mordor?
Narya
10/15/17 12:44 pm
Like Spiced, I really enjoy watching the cut scenes - it's like someone wrote excellent fanfic and then animated it.
cheekybeak
10/15/17 01:57 am
My 21 year old stepson is here visiting and playing Shadow of War right now! He raves about it.
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Wise Ones

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 0:51 · For: Chapter 1

I have posted here first in the past adn then Ao3 and ffent, but I agree that Faerie seems to not be very active. There are those of us who ALWAYs review each others work I htink but many have slipped away and I have found this last fic has really only had about 3 reviewers.It does make me wonder if it'sworth writing - but for as long as I do, I'll keep posting here until i stop getting anything:(



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2016 20:11 · For: Chapter 1

Just replying to your question- I post on ffnet and Ao3 as well as here. What I do is keep all the reviews in my inbox until I pos the next chpater and then collect them all in a folder so I can look at how many I have overall. THAT keeps me writing- or at least it keeps me posting. And there are some grear readers who always review and encourage and like you, that keeps me going. There is always someone begging you for an update. I am really pleased for you for the Silvan getting 1000k reviews- that's amazing. I never got that many. Very jealous. I thnk ffnet went through a phase of being teenage girls and loads of Mary Sues- but I htink Ao3 has now become that a bit -anyway, there are enough readers for us all and keep writing!!!

X



Author's Response: I havent seen you on ffnet!!! Ok, The Silvan was a great success, but of course it is non slash, ;) So do you upload to ffnet and ao3 first, and then FAerie? There doesn't seem to be much activity here, is that just me or is this slowing down?


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2016 23:03 · For: Chapter 1

Ah- I feel bad I never reviewed. I htink I just don't have time to read AND write in my job ,not until the holidays and then I just want to catch up with my own writing,. I used to read loads more and review all the time when I didn't write.Don't stay away from here, Alpha- you'd be such a loss:(



Author's Response: I certainly don't intend to make you feel bad! You are one of my favourite authors. But not reading and reviewing happens to us all at some point. You might love an author but not read every single thing they write. Perhaps because the plot doesn't convince, or because the portrayal of you favourite character doesn't fit with the way you envisage them. i understand that, but two reviews here, for a slash story I feel was not badly written at all... I just couldn't understand. What Had I done wrong? and so I experimented. FIrst with The Wild Ones, which I consider inferior writing but that got amazing feedback on ffnet, and then with The Silvan which I consider better, and that got over a thousand reviews. What did this prove to me? Well, that the lack of reviews here was not a reflexion of poor writing. I needed to know that, otherwise I would have stopped writting altogether. I could never publish here as a first again, but if the story has proved successful elsewhere, then I might try, because at least the lack of reviews will not demotivate me. But tell me. Do you not publish elsewhere? Where do you find the motivation to continue writing??


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2016 8:38 · For: Chapter 1

Yes- I know ehat you mean about getting despondent with so few reviews. I'm going to check out the non-slash story and reviews- wonder why that is? On Ao3 I think it;s different. Also there is tumblr now and that seems to be really taking off although I don't see how tumblr works to be honest!! Don't stop writing, Alpha. I write for myself because I want to read the stories and I do go back and read them sometimes and think, did I write this? And as long as there are one or two other people who are stil lreading, it's worth it I think. The read count is always much higher than reviews happily:)

x



Author's Response: I do see that. Having said that, after writing The Silvan and getting such amazing feedback, it's difficult to go back and xpose yourself to disappointment. It has been such an experience, to write s story and learn so much, squeeze every drop of skill from yourself because you know you are being read you cant let down, don't want to. When I published the last story on this site, All It Is, I got two reviews and that was what pushed me over the edge I think. i could never get my head around Tumblr! Haven't been there for ages. So no, I won't stop writing. In fact now I am writing more than I ever have, and enjoying it. I am just reticent to publish here, something that makes me sad, because I always loved this place.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2016 23:48 · For: Chapter 1

Not slash!!!????? Still, it will be a glorious ride with the wood-elves!

Faerie has got a bit quieter but to be honest I am so busy I can't keep up. Have you dropped out then? Surely not? Just checked your profile and seen you haven't posted anyhting since November- are you OK?



Author's Response: Not dropped out, just not motivated to write and get no reviews. Sounds familiar, right? I have been publishing as Nimruzir on ffnet and wattpad. I am actually re editing the protege with the idea of writing another story in that series, but after such amazing feedback on my non slash stories, it's going to be hard to willingly submit to disappointment. I think you know what I mean. I still love the genre though, albeit I haven't found anything particularly interesting recently. Any recommendations?? it's honestly great to hear from you. What have YOU been up to?


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2016 19:58 · For: Chapter 1

I have been dreadful at following /reviewing this but have rediscovered the JOY of your writing- the exuberance of your slash- which is more fun than anyone else's!! Happy Fanfic day:) (belated.



Author's Response: Hey Ziggy - you know when I saw the email, I thought I had received more spam. Determined to kill the bot, I saw it was a review from you!! This fic isn't slash though- LOL - sorry. It's just a little follow up to the Wild Ones - much more light hearted than my usual fare - and asexual :(( I suppose I just wanted to rest from the more involving stuff. How is life on Faerie these days??


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2015 9:53 · For: Chapter 11

Yay - what a beautiful end to both stories! I shouldn't have read Cheeky's review first, though - it's put all sorts of ideas into my head ;)

I love how at the end you show how the races complement each other and are stronger together. The friendships forged will be all the stronger for having overcome the misunderstandings that abounded at the start. I'm so glad Lindir had his moment as well and that he got his deserved recognition from the Wood-elves.

Wonderful story, Alpha, and who knew you could sustain the no-slash rule for that long!



Author's Response: Thanks Naledi. I know, I am quite surprised at myself too. thanks for never failing to comment, it kept me going when otherwise I would have stopped publishing here. You're a star!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2015 6:33 · For: Chapter 11
And then Elrohir and Legolas retired to a private talen and indulged in a very unplatonic evening, and no one suspected a thing, except Glorfindel who was very jealous.....but had to pretend he wasn't of course....

See I can imagine slash off stage!

And Yay for Lindir, I am so pleased he had his moment in the sun.

Author's Response: Well that would be a lovelt spin off. Write it!!!!! Thank you for sticking in there. You're a star.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 21, 2015 0:05 · For: Chapter 10

I love the closeness between Legolas and Elrohir. Their shared experience has deepened their bond. I'm so glad Elrond's treatment worked. I never really doubted he would fail but it was lovely to see the Noldor earn the respect of the Silvans. 

I really can't wait to see what happens when Lindir performs. I suspect there won't be a dry eye at the feast. It's going to be amazing!



Author's Response: Ah. I can be predictable. yes, it is all working out. and now for Lindir ...


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: November 20, 2015 19:01 · For: Chapter 10
Well thank goodness for Elrond. He really has transformed himself in this story.

As for Legolas and Elrohir, I seriously get the feeling they wish they could escape, run off to a slash story and get it on!

Feel sorry for Lindir, even though he is so pragmatic about the teasing and happy with Legolas and Elrohir's acknowledgement. Still, poor guy, I would like him to get his own back just for once!

Author's Response: Elrond has redeemed himself hasnt he! Lindir get his own back? keep watching ...


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2015 18:16 · For: Chapter 9
Yay! Another update so soon!

Well I have every confidence Elrond can fix those hands even if he does look like a fly.......ha, ha, love that mental image!

Poor Elrohir, he is very annoyed this is a non slash story you know........very annoyed!

P.s. I don't think Glorfindel has to worry about the Silvans being scared of him.

Author's Response: Glad you liked the fly analogy ! LOL, you are incorrigible, honestly. Thanks for commenting!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2015 15:17 · For: Chapter 9

Aargh! And there was me thinking Elrohir had been quick-thinking not to reveal Legolas's identity when in fact they'd been falling over themselves to sacrifice themselves to save the other. Of course a Thranduilion would win over an Elrondion in the Greenwood. I can't wait to see the conversation between the two when Elrohir chooses to reveal what he's remembered, although as Elrohir had tried to deflect the Orcs by announcing he was Elrond's son, I don't see how he can be too angry.

I love the Noldor optical device that Elrond's created. Good to see engineering saving the day. At least, I hope so. Poor Legolas is in such pain I really hope Elrond can mend his hands.

Thanks for the quick update again. I love this story!

 



Author's Response: Thanks Naledi. yes, it's all working out. Not long to go now for this story, after which I will be taking a rest from publishing on this site. i would love your input on my new story which I am now publishing on ffnet, so if you can bring yourself to do it, pleas take a peak. i will try to update and finish this story later today.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2015 5:23 · For: Chapter 8
You promised us no angst!!!!!
Legolas with arrows through his hands is definitely angst!

Loved Elrohir, he has come such a long way....and Glorfindel, my hero!

Also really liked the connection between Thranduil and Elrond. Hopefully Elrond can fix those hands.

Author's Response: Oops sorry, well, jusst a little bit, nothing major, not really. More of Glorfindel coming up, and yes, Lord Elrond healer extraordinaire to the rescue!! Thank you, as always.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2015 10:59 · For: Chapter 8

Now at last the Noldor get a chance to shine - Glorfindel displaying his battle prowess and Elrond to (I sincerely hope!) save Legolas when any other healer would probably be forced to amputate his hands. Poor Legolas, though. His pain and suffering is a high price to pay for rebuilt trust between the realms.

I love your description of the view from the balcony. I'm glad Elrond gets the chance to see the beauty and majesty that still remains of the Greenwood and I love his reaction: 'I am a fool.' Probably the wisest thing he's said since the start of his visit.

Now I just hope he can put his learning to good use and save Legolas! Can't wait for more :)



Author's Response: Thank you Naledi!!! One good thing about getting so little response is that updates are much quicker! The scene from the balcony is inspired by a similar scene from Arcane Land. Even in the new story I am preparing, we will see this side of the Greenwood too. I love the idea of a hidden paradise that nobody expects to see. So, enter Elrond and his Noldorin wisdom. Thank you, as always.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2015 19:03 · For: Chapter 7

Oh no! Poor Legolas. Even if the orcs don't know his true identity (well done, Elrohir for remembering to call him Tau) I can see that an Elven archer would be hated. Hurry up and rescue them, Glorfindel!

I love the moment between Thranduil and Elrond. The return of Celebrian's ring has to help improve relations between them. Love the reference to the film, btw with the dwarves taunting Thranduil :)

Great chapter, Alpha - thanks for the speedy update d84;a039;



Author's Response: Thank you!! next chapter coming right up!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2015 18:06 · For: Chapter 7
NOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!

Argh poor Legolas, Come on Glorfindel, show us what you are made of!

Loved the chat between Elrond and Thranduil. Is it possible Elrond is becoming a little less arrogant?!
Please don't leave Legolas stuck with the orcs for long!

Author's Response: Well that wasnt too long, I have been magnanimous this time. glorfindel is on the way, never fear!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 08, 2015 11:27 · For: Chapter 6

At last! It's good to see Elrond and Thranduil finally understanding one another. It was interesting about the Noldor's foresight being blocked concerning the war in the Greenwood. I wonder what they're going to do about that?

Of course I love your noble Legolas, bravely putting himself between Elrohir and danger. I have a bad feeling that Doran isn't going to bring help before the Orcs catch up with Legolas and Elrohir. Knowing you, things could get pretty nasty for our heroes.

Great chapter, Alpha, full of suspense. Thanks for the update!



Author's Response: Elrond is wise - just a little arrogant, that's all. I'm glad you liked that little plot line. If I ever continue this series, I might go down that path. Doran is a fast runner, but - well, the orcs are only minutes away - no elf is THAT fast ... As I said to Cheeky - thanks for keeping the story going on Faerie, if it wasn't for you guys and Veveco, I would have stopped publishing it.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2015 20:37 · For: Chapter 6
Oh no. Cliffhanger!
Please let Doran get there in time. I want to see majestic Glorfindel ( minus cloak) in an Orc fight. I have a very bad feeling this is gong to go badly though.
Glad to see Elrond starting to come down from his high horse. That needed to happen!!
Please do t leave us waiting too long to find out what happens to poor Legolas.

Author's Response: Yes! I never used to write them, but everyone else did it to me, so I decided on universal justice as the best bet. What a shame, all that lush, Gondolin fabric :( I won't leave you waiting at all - only you and Naledi seem to be reviewing now, so - as soon as I edit the next chapter, up it goes. Thanks for keeping this story alive on this site!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: November 02, 2015 8:50 · For: Chapter 5
Oh no! What a disaster. Poor Elrohir, Poor Legolas, poor Glorfindel and his wonderful Gondolin cloak.....and poor Lindir being bullied.
And Elrond better watch out for Thranduil, that's all I can say!

Author's Response: Poor lovelies!!! LOL Now Glorfindel needs to grieve for his lost cloak.. And pride!! Luckily he is too busy trying to rescue the lads.


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2015 21:34 · For: Chapter 5
Super Legolas to the rescue!!
Poor Elrohir, I hope you won't be too cruel with him (although it is always tempting for a writer, isn't?)

Author's Response: Absolutely, very tempting, in fact, oh no!!!


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2015 21:12 · For: Chapter 4
Uh, at least Glorfindel is trying to understand the wood elves, if not quite successfully so. I guess it is progress compared to the other Noldor (minus Elrohir)

Author's Response: he is intrigued, yes, and will be looking for answers. Now, lets see if Elrond can get his head around them.


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2015 21:07 · For: Chapter 3
Elrond lost and too proud to ask for help - precious! Nice to see Legolas and Elrohir getting along though.

Author's Response: I loved this too, I must admit. They do understand each other and should I ever extend this series, there would be plenty of adventures to be had!


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2015 21:01 · For: Chapter 2
Of course, Thranduil being his royal self :) I guess the Noldor are in for a few surprises...

Author's Response: Surprises? Oh yes, lots of those, coming rught up!


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2015 20:58 · For: Chapter 1
Catching up on this fic! I loved the scene with the woodland warriors! I can't help but think that Legolas played extra wild just for the sake of the stiff Noldor. Interesting to see these "wise" ones portrayed like this also...

Author's Response: hey! Nice to see you back. there is more about their wildness a little later on, but yes, he has certainly made an impact on the Noldor!!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2015 13:25 · For: Chapter 5

Aargh poor Elrohir. I can't help wishing it was Elrond trapped by his fine cloak rather than Elrohir, who has never acted as though he were better than the Silvans. But really you would think he'd have had the sense to unpin his cloak! 

And now you've left us on another cliffie - you're cruel, you know that? What terrible thing is coming now? Oh, and Lindir. You've only hinted at his involvement so far  but I get the feeling his part in the story is about to take an important turn. Is the portrait Legolas's mother?

I'm loving this story. Please update soon and put me out of my misery!



Author's Response: Hehehehe, yes - he is the arrogant sod, isn't he? You're right about Lindir. The poor, weak and squeamish Lindir will fight his own battle, with his own weapons :))


You must login () to review.