| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13822
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 12
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
Shout Archive



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 03, 2016 21:34 · For: Close enounters of the creepy kind

Eek! If Thuringwethil can take on any form, this could get very complicated. I hope Amy's right about her valar half taking over. But I'd wondered whether Galadriel's vision was going to come true, and now we know.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2016 22:38 · For: Not exactly Dracula

Aargh! No - don't let Thranduil be nobbled by the vampire. The others might not like him, but I do! Oh, and I hope Elrohir and Legolas get together as well :)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2016 22:21 · For: The face of the enemy

I love Thranduil here - a wonderful aura of power and danger. How's he going to react now he knows Amy is Orome's daughter?



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2016 19:36 · For: Ride into darkness

Ooh - Thranduil as a seductive megalomaniac? I like him already!

I liked the bit about the light of the Orcs' souls getting separated from the corrupt part of them when they were killed. I've not seen that idea before, but it's nice to know the elves that were corrupted to make the Orcs were saved in the end :)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2016 12:45 · For: Towards darkness

And they're off! I can't wait to see how Gandalf plans to get them around the spiders.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2016 12:18 · For: A merging of souls...

Yay! Elladan doesn't have to choose mortality after all. I like how they discovered the truth about Amy. Now I just hope they can find a way to close the portal without killing her.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2016 11:56 · For: From the earth they arises...

Oh no - I can't bear the thought of Elladan and Elrohir being separated. I hope there's a way around this.

I like the idea of them going to Mirkwood, though. I doubt Thranduil will be pleased!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2016 11:30 · For: From kisses to mayhem

Oh no! What's happened now?

I'm a bit worried about Elladan recognising Amy as his 'one'. I don't like to think of him choosing mortality. Also, if Amy isn't supposed to be in Middle-earth, how could she be intended for him at all? Clearly Eru works in mysterious ways!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 15, 2016 19:50 · For: What once was may yet return

Yay! Gandalf's arrived! But what has he seen?



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 15, 2016 18:48 · For: a whole lotta lovin' going on...

She is something that shouldn’t even exist, a relic of a time long gone, a ghost of a darkness once vanquished. “

Galadriel sat down again, slowly, Elrond looked shocked and Elladan had grown pale. Amy hoped that this didn’t ruin her chances with him.

That made me chuckle! I Amy's wry commentary on what she's seeing in Imladris, despite the dire outlook.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 15, 2016 17:54 · For: Itsy bitsy spider...

Eek! I hope something can be done to avert the future Galadriel's seeing!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 15, 2016 13:56 · For: Where the f### is the toilet?

Hahaha! Poor Amy - Middle-earth really isn't the place to be if she's arachnophobic! And that dream...does it mean none other than Ungoliant hitched a lift with her?



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 15, 2016 13:25 · For: A warriors death

Ah - I'm guessing Amy's just met Elladan and Elrohir. I love her first reaction to them - made me laugh, despite their desperate situation. Who wouldn't want hair like the elves?!

Now I wonder how the elves are going to react to 21st century humans!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 14, 2016 19:10 · For: Out of the frying pan and into madness galore

Oh my! Something tells me they've landed in Middle-earth. I wonder which part?

Is it horrible of me to be glad the selfish jock met a nasty end?!



Author's Response:

He he, no, you are not being horrible, he had it coming he he :)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 14, 2016 12:35 · For: What the fuck is going on?

Wow - great action in this chapter. I can't help wondering if the guy who gave amy the rifle deliberately made sure she couldn't defend herself. I'm glad I was right about the Warg, even though it's bad news for Amy! And the twins are called El and Rin? Looks like I was right about them too!

Margaret's death was so sad. Maybe she only made a short appearance in the story, but she was a lovely character. It's nice to see there's more to Mrs Southall than met the eye at first as well. This promises to be an entertaining fic!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 14, 2016 11:54 · For: Nuns, guns and goths

An intriguing start. Mysterious twins found wandering in a forest? Elured and Elurin, maybe? Also I'm thinking this strange beast might be a warg. If it is, I feel sorry for anyone that runs into it!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2016 12:56 · For: Where the f### is the toilet?

Ok- I have to just stop here and say how much I am enjoying reading this. I'll be honest and say it was Karlmir's reviews that made me give it a chance and I did skim the first chapters a little to see if it was something I wanted to read but here I am thoroughly immersed and intrigued and enjoying it. I did love this scene with Elladan though- particularly humorous and entertaining. I was worried it would be your usual MAry Sue girl falls into ME and that put me off but I am very glad I stuck with it. Your writing is superb, with wonderful descriptions that give enough without overwhelming and there is just enough strangeness created by the movement from one world into this. 



Author's Response:

Wow, thanks for reading and reviewing, i am very glad you liked it. I may change a bit as the story develops though, there is a reason why she ended up where she did. I am rather proud of that spider scene, it did turn out rather fine, and i think that the differences between the elves and these strangers will be rather apparent as they get more familiar with eachother too. Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to review, it is greatly appreciated, have a great day :)



Name: Karlmir Stonewain (Signed) · Date: January 01, 2016 15:46 · For: Where the f### is the toilet?
This story is rather exciting. I'm surprised that no one else has reviewed it yet.

Author's Response:

I am very glad that you like it, it will probably become a bit more traditional along the way but i think the main character and her friends will keep things interesting still :) thank you so much for reviewing, so glad to see a real review that isnt some darn spam bot, cursed be them :) Have a nice day :)



Name: Karlmir Stonewain (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2015 14:03 · For: A warriors death
I must say that this is certainly the most original Middle Earth fan fiction story I've ever read, thus far. I look forward to your next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, very glad you like it. I think a huuge Cultural clash is on the way, and some both hilarious and serious situations. Thank you so much for Reading and leaving a review, it makes my day :)


Name: Karlmir Stonewain (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2015 14:45 · For: Nuns, guns and goths
Is this story supposed to be taking place at any particular state park, or is the location fictional?

Author's Response: Hello, thanks for Reading :) I was a bit inspired by both Yosemite and Yellowstone :) Sort of mixed those two together, it is very AU so... Hope you like this Chapter, updates will come, but i dont know when. Have a great day :)


You must login () to review.