| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14773
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 20, 2016 14:39 · For: How The Maidens Got Their Swords

In my continuing crusade of posting not-spam...

This was a fun snippet! I remember Noggin the Nog well (about the only children's tv I'm allowed to remember now!) and I love your storytelling style. Wonderful tale, too. I can totally imagine this being part of the lore of the Rohirrim.



Author's Response:

I really want to give you an internet hug for being you and not a spambot!  Thank you.

I'm so pleased you enjoyed the Noggin/Sag style of this - it was a bit different but fun to do.



Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2015 1:07 · For: How The Maidens Got Their Swords
I really enjoy this style of writing! Is the story part of canon ? If it isn't it fits so well with the rohirrim that it should be. Thanks for posting I enjoyed reading x

Author's Response:

Thank you.  It doesn't contradict canon, so is more of a gap-filler.  Neither of the Tolkiens, as fas a i know, published anything about the origin of the Shield Maidens - but then JRRT mentions the women so infrequently that this is not surprising!  So thank you so much for thinking it could be canon.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2015 23:32 · For: How The Maidens Got Their Swords
What a wonderful story! I could see Eowyn sitting in the firelight telling this tale and Lothiriel sitting on her cushions (can't resist that) and seeing that while the men march off to battle it is often the women at home who are responsible for keeping the hearths and fields safe from harm. Eowyin had me cheering on the battle wives.

Author's Response:

Thank you - it was fun to write, playing with the traditional story-telling style. 

I think it might integrate into Cushions - I'm not 100% sure.  As you can tell, from this appearing (and there are a couple of othr B2MeM things either finished or almost finished), I have been writing - and the next chapter of Cushions is almost done, you will be pleased to know!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2015 22:47 · For: How The Maidens Got Their Swords

HUrray for the shieldmaidens and the unexpectedly enlightened Eorlingas! Love this x



Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it - it was fun writing in this style - I definitely could here Noggin the Nog in the background as I wrote!



You must login () to review.