| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13822
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 22
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
Shout Archive



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2015 8:29 · For: Prologue
Oh I am so excited to start reading this. I have a habit of dropping on and off from reading as work deadlines approach.

You know I've always imagined Thranduil to bear this heavy burden, heavies of the elves in my mind, with nor ring to protect him. I think its why so many of us in the fandom are compelled to him, and why this is lovely. Of course an elf is going to be shaped by the onslaught of shadow. I like that raw, emotional, and human quality you lend him here, yet there is also something quite eerie. Looking forward to it!

Author's Response:

Thank you! :o) I'm so happy the way I imagine his character came out so clear to you.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2015 14:24 · For: Epilogue
This was a good ending with Thranduil finding his balance in life. Hopefully Celeborn will teach him at some time how to use the tree to call upon Galadriel and himself when Thranduil is in need.

The mental journey that Thranduil has taken here has strengthened him to withstand the attacks from Dol Gondur in the future. It will not be that long before the One Ring is brought to Imraldris and the last of the wars begin. A lovely tale.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm happy that you found it enjoyable.

I didn't think that the tree might also work in this way, but it's a good idea. I would rather hope Thranduil has learned his lesson and will seek help much sooner, if he ever needs it again, and perhaps generally find more possibilities to be just himself and not only the King! :o) I yet have to think about what will happen with Thranduil in the coming years, and with Celeborn. I see this encounter as the one which has laid the foundations for their later dealings with the Greenwood, after the Ring War; and the Battle under the Trees will be doubtlessly an interesting tale to tell.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2015 14:44 · For: Hope
I love this chapter. My brain has finally awoken and figured out what you were writing after the last chapter, but I had been reading so much BoFA lately that did not approach the depth of your story that I just wasn't getting it at first

Thranduil, or indeed anyone, needs a mentor or a sounding board when things seem dark and uncaring. Because he feels that being the king precludes him from seeking a confessor if you want to call them that, Thranduil was falling into a dark hole. Having Celeborn answer his plea really seems to be what Thranduil needs at this time.

Author's Response:

I'm glad it worked out for you now! :o) And thanks for taking the time to read and review. My Thranduil indeed needs somebody to confide in and to give him comfort; I think everybody needs that now and then, no matter in which situation or position they are.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2015 15:14 · For: Sorrow
I admit I have been confused by this story. I thought at first that you were talking about the return from the war that killed Oropher, then realized that you were talking about the Battle of the Five Armies. Of course, most of the writings by Tolkien are about the dwarves and Bilbo but I didn't think the elves had taken no worse a loss there than even what they were losing in the fight to the south. So now it appears that Thranduil may be affected by some outside evil or foresight of what will come.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and leaving me your thoughts! I hope you enjoyed reading it despite the initial confusion. I have to admit this quite surprised me, though ;o) - I don't know how I could have made it more clear when the story is taking place. There is the summary, the source I'm mentioning, and the two quotes the story starts with.

Thranduil is not affected by foresigth or some unknown outside evil, but by the very palpable darkness that permeates the former Greenwood, coming from Dol Guldur. Adding to that, there is a not inconsiderable battle fatigue, caused by the most recent battle at the Erebor, but of course also by the past events of his life - the continous fight against the darkness - which he has no ring of power to use against, the War of the Last Alliance where he lost his father and part of his people, and, of course, also the numerous battles and fightings that must have happened throughout all his life. He is older than Elrond, after all, and has very likely seen it all. The figth against the Dragon in the way I'm referring to is very much my headcanon, of course, as is the fact that he is so deeply affected at the time of this story by all the losses he is responsible for. There is a reason to that, too, which will be revealed in the next chapter.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2015 1:58 · For: Prologue

As always, a smashing insight and beatuifully told- great visuals and texture.



Author's Response:

Thank you! *beams*



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2015 18:11 · For: Prologue
A very dark and almost sad beginning. I love the way that Thranduil appears in the clearing almost as if he has stepped out of smoke. He is definitely not feeling the joy that should have come from the death of Smaug. Anxious to see where you are going with this next.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing. I like that image of Thranduil stepping out of smoke! :o)
I'm afraid things are going to get a lot darker yet for Thranduil until they get better. This is not a happy story, but a hopeful one, at least - I couldn't bear not to give him that!

 



You must login () to review.