| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
The Secret Language Brother by Encairion Mature
Caranthir and Curufin’s story Part of the Price of Eternity series
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Summer Heat by Glorfindel Explicit
A modern day, elves who never sailed, detective story in the style of film noir. Erestor was the most evil...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 78
Stories: 1562
Chapters: 7953
Word count: 23631500
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14039
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Caunedhiel
05/27/17 03:49 pm
Thanks Ziggy ! I keep posting everywhere and handed out posters. fingers crossed xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:03 pm
you can go in and look. Don't give up. He'll be somewhere tucked up warm and living off mice. I pray anyway.xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:02 pm
Caunedhiel- keeping everything crossed for your moggy's safe return- I have had one go missing for days and it was stuck in a neighbour's garage- GO BACK and look everywhere- ask people if you
Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Naledi
05/20/17 04:57 pm
Yes the bit I did was near Ludlow - around the Knighton and Kington sections. I love Ludlow, too!
Shout Archive



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2015 8:29 · For: Prologue
Oh I am so excited to start reading this. I have a habit of dropping on and off from reading as work deadlines approach.

You know I've always imagined Thranduil to bear this heavy burden, heavies of the elves in my mind, with nor ring to protect him. I think its why so many of us in the fandom are compelled to him, and why this is lovely. Of course an elf is going to be shaped by the onslaught of shadow. I like that raw, emotional, and human quality you lend him here, yet there is also something quite eerie. Looking forward to it!

Author's Response:

Thank you! :o) I'm so happy the way I imagine his character came out so clear to you.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2015 14:24 · For: Epilogue
This was a good ending with Thranduil finding his balance in life. Hopefully Celeborn will teach him at some time how to use the tree to call upon Galadriel and himself when Thranduil is in need.

The mental journey that Thranduil has taken here has strengthened him to withstand the attacks from Dol Gondur in the future. It will not be that long before the One Ring is brought to Imraldris and the last of the wars begin. A lovely tale.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm happy that you found it enjoyable.

I didn't think that the tree might also work in this way, but it's a good idea. I would rather hope Thranduil has learned his lesson and will seek help much sooner, if he ever needs it again, and perhaps generally find more possibilities to be just himself and not only the King! :o) I yet have to think about what will happen with Thranduil in the coming years, and with Celeborn. I see this encounter as the one which has laid the foundations for their later dealings with the Greenwood, after the Ring War; and the Battle under the Trees will be doubtlessly an interesting tale to tell.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2015 14:44 · For: Hope
I love this chapter. My brain has finally awoken and figured out what you were writing after the last chapter, but I had been reading so much BoFA lately that did not approach the depth of your story that I just wasn't getting it at first

Thranduil, or indeed anyone, needs a mentor or a sounding board when things seem dark and uncaring. Because he feels that being the king precludes him from seeking a confessor if you want to call them that, Thranduil was falling into a dark hole. Having Celeborn answer his plea really seems to be what Thranduil needs at this time.

Author's Response:

I'm glad it worked out for you now! :o) And thanks for taking the time to read and review. My Thranduil indeed needs somebody to confide in and to give him comfort; I think everybody needs that now and then, no matter in which situation or position they are.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2015 15:14 · For: Sorrow
I admit I have been confused by this story. I thought at first that you were talking about the return from the war that killed Oropher, then realized that you were talking about the Battle of the Five Armies. Of course, most of the writings by Tolkien are about the dwarves and Bilbo but I didn't think the elves had taken no worse a loss there than even what they were losing in the fight to the south. So now it appears that Thranduil may be affected by some outside evil or foresight of what will come.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and leaving me your thoughts! I hope you enjoyed reading it despite the initial confusion. I have to admit this quite surprised me, though ;o) - I don't know how I could have made it more clear when the story is taking place. There is the summary, the source I'm mentioning, and the two quotes the story starts with.

Thranduil is not affected by foresigth or some unknown outside evil, but by the very palpable darkness that permeates the former Greenwood, coming from Dol Guldur. Adding to that, there is a not inconsiderable battle fatigue, caused by the most recent battle at the Erebor, but of course also by the past events of his life - the continous fight against the darkness - which he has no ring of power to use against, the War of the Last Alliance where he lost his father and part of his people, and, of course, also the numerous battles and fightings that must have happened throughout all his life. He is older than Elrond, after all, and has very likely seen it all. The figth against the Dragon in the way I'm referring to is very much my headcanon, of course, as is the fact that he is so deeply affected at the time of this story by all the losses he is responsible for. There is a reason to that, too, which will be revealed in the next chapter.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2015 1:58 · For: Prologue

As always, a smashing insight and beatuifully told- great visuals and texture.



Author's Response:

Thank you! *beams*



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2015 18:11 · For: Prologue
A very dark and almost sad beginning. I love the way that Thranduil appears in the clearing almost as if he has stepped out of smoke. He is definitely not feeling the joy that should have come from the death of Smaug. Anxious to see where you are going with this next.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing. I like that image of Thranduil stepping out of smoke! :o)
I'm afraid things are going to get a lot darker yet for Thranduil until they get better. This is not a happy story, but a hopeful one, at least - I couldn't bear not to give him that!

 



You must login () to review.