| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
~ Night of Embers ~ by Spiced Wine Teen
Claire and Edenel speak as the storm rages about the Manse. One-shot sequel to Storm Warning, and gift to Narya.    Part...
Fragments from Middle-earth by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Ficlets of under 1000 words written for past BTMEM Challenges. They feature mostly Aragorn, Faramir, Halbarad and OCs
Fables of Faramir and Family by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A selection of short pieces mostly written for challenges concerning Faramir and his family and friends.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
A Hand to Hold by Narya Teen
After seeing the lives of Maglor and Claire in the Portal, Vanimórë travels to their Earth, knowing that he can offer them...
Old Bones by Narya General Audiences
Maglor examines some old relics in the Basilica di Santa Maria in Cosmedin. Written for Valentine's Day; posting a few days...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 89
Stories: 1718
Chapters: 8748
Word count: 26631047
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16474
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 19
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
02/22/19 08:15 pm
Happy Friday!
Spiced Wine
02/22/19 02:21 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
02/21/19 10:06 am
I forgot I could add some B2Me bingo prompts to that last story.
Ysilme
02/18/19 08:34 pm
Happy Birthday, Naledi! I also claimed my B2MeM cards today. So difficult to choose! *g*
Narya
02/18/19 02:20 pm
Happy birthday, Naledi! :D
Naledi
02/18/19 01:31 pm
Ooh, thanks everyone! And Ziggy - thanks so much for my birthday treat! I can't wait to read it. I'm packing for my holiday, but I'll really enjoy curling up with it this evening :)
Spiced Wine
02/18/19 11:49 am
Many Happy Returns Naledi :) Hope you have a lovely day!
Gabriel
02/18/19 11:48 am
Happy Birthday to you, Naledi! *Hugs*
ziggy
02/18/19 10:38 am
Happy Birthday Naledi- been rushing to finish this chapter to post on your birthday instead of the Elladan and Imrahil slash fest I know you REALLY want!! xx
Spiced Wine
02/16/19 01:52 pm
B2Me is underway folks. Amazing collection of Bingo Cards!
Shout Archive



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2015 8:29 · For: Prologue
Oh I am so excited to start reading this. I have a habit of dropping on and off from reading as work deadlines approach.

You know I've always imagined Thranduil to bear this heavy burden, heavies of the elves in my mind, with nor ring to protect him. I think its why so many of us in the fandom are compelled to him, and why this is lovely. Of course an elf is going to be shaped by the onslaught of shadow. I like that raw, emotional, and human quality you lend him here, yet there is also something quite eerie. Looking forward to it!

Author's Response:

Thank you! :o) I'm so happy the way I imagine his character came out so clear to you.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2015 14:24 · For: Epilogue
This was a good ending with Thranduil finding his balance in life. Hopefully Celeborn will teach him at some time how to use the tree to call upon Galadriel and himself when Thranduil is in need.

The mental journey that Thranduil has taken here has strengthened him to withstand the attacks from Dol Gondur in the future. It will not be that long before the One Ring is brought to Imraldris and the last of the wars begin. A lovely tale.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm happy that you found it enjoyable.

I didn't think that the tree might also work in this way, but it's a good idea. I would rather hope Thranduil has learned his lesson and will seek help much sooner, if he ever needs it again, and perhaps generally find more possibilities to be just himself and not only the King! :o) I yet have to think about what will happen with Thranduil in the coming years, and with Celeborn. I see this encounter as the one which has laid the foundations for their later dealings with the Greenwood, after the Ring War; and the Battle under the Trees will be doubtlessly an interesting tale to tell.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2015 14:44 · For: Hope
I love this chapter. My brain has finally awoken and figured out what you were writing after the last chapter, but I had been reading so much BoFA lately that did not approach the depth of your story that I just wasn't getting it at first

Thranduil, or indeed anyone, needs a mentor or a sounding board when things seem dark and uncaring. Because he feels that being the king precludes him from seeking a confessor if you want to call them that, Thranduil was falling into a dark hole. Having Celeborn answer his plea really seems to be what Thranduil needs at this time.

Author's Response:

I'm glad it worked out for you now! :o) And thanks for taking the time to read and review. My Thranduil indeed needs somebody to confide in and to give him comfort; I think everybody needs that now and then, no matter in which situation or position they are.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2015 15:14 · For: Sorrow
I admit I have been confused by this story. I thought at first that you were talking about the return from the war that killed Oropher, then realized that you were talking about the Battle of the Five Armies. Of course, most of the writings by Tolkien are about the dwarves and Bilbo but I didn't think the elves had taken no worse a loss there than even what they were losing in the fight to the south. So now it appears that Thranduil may be affected by some outside evil or foresight of what will come.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and leaving me your thoughts! I hope you enjoyed reading it despite the initial confusion. I have to admit this quite surprised me, though ;o) - I don't know how I could have made it more clear when the story is taking place. There is the summary, the source I'm mentioning, and the two quotes the story starts with.

Thranduil is not affected by foresigth or some unknown outside evil, but by the very palpable darkness that permeates the former Greenwood, coming from Dol Guldur. Adding to that, there is a not inconsiderable battle fatigue, caused by the most recent battle at the Erebor, but of course also by the past events of his life - the continous fight against the darkness - which he has no ring of power to use against, the War of the Last Alliance where he lost his father and part of his people, and, of course, also the numerous battles and fightings that must have happened throughout all his life. He is older than Elrond, after all, and has very likely seen it all. The figth against the Dragon in the way I'm referring to is very much my headcanon, of course, as is the fact that he is so deeply affected at the time of this story by all the losses he is responsible for. There is a reason to that, too, which will be revealed in the next chapter.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2015 1:58 · For: Prologue

As always, a smashing insight and beatuifully told- great visuals and texture.



Author's Response:

Thank you! *beams*



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2015 18:11 · For: Prologue
A very dark and almost sad beginning. I love the way that Thranduil appears in the clearing almost as if he has stepped out of smoke. He is definitely not feeling the joy that should have come from the death of Smaug. Anxious to see where you are going with this next.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing. I like that image of Thranduil stepping out of smoke! :o)
I'm afraid things are going to get a lot darker yet for Thranduil until they get better. This is not a happy story, but a hopeful one, at least - I couldn't bear not to give him that!

 



You must login () to review.