| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13823
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
03/28/17 11:13 pm
Wow- Naledi- you were Maths!! I am an English teacher and so agree. I am so careful - don't always get it right but try to make sure every interaction is positive.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
Shout Archive



Name: Karlmir Stonewain (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2016 14:09 · For: How i got hooked
I greatly enjoyed your fascinating story and look forward to reading more of your work.

Author's Response:

Thank you, i hope you will enjoy it :) Have a great day, and thank you for reading and leaving a review :)

 



Name: Karlmir Stonewain (Signed) · Date: January 12, 2015 2:23 · For: How i got hooked
Thank you for writing such a detailed, inspiring essay. I look forward to reading your stories.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 11, 2015 13:44 · For: How i got hooked
to see the way Tolkien used words and how closely his method resembles that of the old sagas, the rhythm of the language and story is very similar, at least in the Silmarillion.

That is probably why I love the Silmarillion so much. Its language really speaks to me.

This is a great essay, Nuredhel; those feelings are so familiar to me. I remember first reading Lord of the Rings, and looking up from it and saying to my brother (who also became a fan and now his daughter writes fanfic :) 'He wrote this for me!' Not of course, that I meant that literally, I meant that no other book gave me the feeling that this was real, that it was part of our heritage on Earth. If he wanted to create a mythology, as he said, he succeeded. I felt it belonged to the world and to me - and all of us.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it, i Guess most fan fic writers do recognize those feelings, at least among the Tolkien writers. And the feeling of it being written just for you is very familiar, indeed he did create a great Mythology. The world would be so much poorer without it. Thank you very much for Your review :)


You must login () to review.