| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Slashy Advent Calendar 2020 by Naledi General Audiences
The annual Advent madness begins. Legolas and Elrohir journey across the Misty Mountains when a blizzard leads to disaster...
Half-brothers in heart, full lovers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. A romance.
Different beat of the heart by FirstAmazon General Audiences
Maitimo suffers an accident and can't quite understand if it's him or his head that it's making him think funny. In other...
Reclaiming Khazad-dûm by Ellynn Teen
In the seventh century of the Fourth Age of Middle-earth dwarvish King Durin VII leads his people to reclaim their greatest...
Guarded Heart by Narya General Audiences
Gwindor's attention is not where it should be, and his brother has noticed.
Transmitting by curiouswombat Teen
Returnverse. Legolas' party of elves, a dwarf, and The Key, set off to explore their new lands. Ithilienne, left behind...
The Circles: Book 5: Through the Valley of Death by Angmar and Elfhild Mature
Recaptured by the Haradric slave traders, Elfhild and Elffled once again find themselves forced to resume their journey to...

Site Info

Members: 525
Series: 98
Stories: 1828
Chapters: 8816
Word count: 27607485
Authors: 146
Reviews: 17244
Reviewers: 229
Newest Member: Koa
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 54
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 21
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
12/04/20 03:39 pm
We could do with a few more!
Naledi
12/04/20 03:38 pm
Happy Friday everyone! The first chapter of the Slashy Advent Calendar is now up. Let me know who else wants to join in so we can plan how many posts and when. So far it's me and FirstAmazon
Spiced Wine
12/04/20 11:04 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
12/03/20 10:52 pm
Here’s a touch of normality at least :) Have a wonderful time, everyone :)
FirstAmazon
12/03/20 10:43 pm
That sounds a lot of fun, Naledi! I hope more people hop in! :D Gabriel, perhaps?
Naledi
12/03/20 10:26 pm
Who else is in? Ziggy? Can you manage anything?
Naledi
12/03/20 10:25 pm
I've been inspired today and have written the 1st chapter. I'll post tomorrow. Once we know who else is in we can decide when each of us will post and how many to write.
Naledi
12/03/20 10:23 pm
from what the previous person posts. We used to do 1 a day but I think that will be too much this year.
Naledi
12/03/20 10:22 pm
Yay! welcome on board, FirstAmazon! Basically,we write a round robin, posting chapters between now and Christmas Eve. take it in turn to write a chapter, following on from
Narya
12/03/20 09:42 pm
I will be cheering you all on!
Shout Archive


Reviews For House of Princes

Name: PoppyMarie (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2015 7:31 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
You did an amazing job of capturing the Helcarax


Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2015 0:18 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
Lovely!! I love your Noldor. And were is this Fandom Stocking archive and how can I get access to it?

Author's Response: Thank you, Nash. The collection is here
, and it's multi-fandom, so not just Tolkien. They're removed on the 25th Jan, I think.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 14:39 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~

I have to say, logically and tactically in EVERY sense Feanor made a mistake in leaving Fingolfin behond and it could only be petty jealousy- 'he's MY dad and you're not avenging him!' but why bother rousing the Noldor in the first place? Or it was a test of Fingolfin? Or he was splitting up Nelyo and Findekano (which I may explore another time:) )

 

Ecthelion, all obsidian and white-ice,

urgh slaver drool. Neve rthough much about him until now...

 

And these wonderful glimpses of foresight that layer the text, give such richness so it is not merely the present but peers through time, links the past and the future and gives resonance to the present deeds- just such very very good writing.

 “You are generous, Finrod. Be wary of such generosity in times to come. And be wary, too, of the sons of Fëanor.”

 

Finrod felt his mouth draw into a taut line.

“Is this another prophecy you will not speak of?” he asked, then: “I doubt I will have aught to do with the Fëanorions.” Some of them had been his friends in Valinor: Maedhros, Maglor, Celegorm. Did that matter now? “Fingolfin means to bring them to account.”

 

“Unexpected things may happen in war,” Glorfindel said quietly. “And you — we — all face the same enemy. But the Oath binds them tighter than any kinship save the blood between them. Remember it.”

 

Finrod nodded. He knew it. “I will.”

 

Sorrow flashed and vanished in Glorfindel's eyes like a falling star. They walked out into darkness and firelight and a wind blowing now, from the South.

 

 

 

I love this stroyline- I was thinknig we were in for another wonderful epic but I dont feel cheated. Your understnading on Ingwe motivation and his freeziong is very beleivable and takes me form hostility to sympathy for him- and yes, he will be somethin to see in battle indeed!

But this is a great moment- underlining the lonliness, the loss and the huge impact of the Return on Valinor. Hard to quite imagine how everyone who remeained will cope with the return of these magnificant, experienced, fiery Exiles- 

Finrod did not know how he appeared at that moment, but Glorfindel told him later: “So beautiful, so very fine. And in your eyes the stamp of anguish and rage and life lived we Exiles alone have earned.” He did not expect that Glorfindel would look like a man shot by an arrow from hiding, nor that he would bow as to a king, before long strides took him to stand before Finrod.

 

But this ending -i'm afraid- had me in tears, for Glorfindel and the change in him (and now I htink it will be from ALITE I suppose because this is for Esteliel) and for Finrod because Glorfindel is clearly not his soul:

He saw how Glorfindel's name and fame began to weigh on him as the years turned, and he grieved, for Glorfindel changed. His brightness did not diminish, but he lost something: the compassion that had carried a frightened youth off the Helcaraxë, the nobility that had faced a Balrog, the generosity of that sacrifice.

 

“What do you see?” He heard the question, could not answer. The images pounded into his mind, relentless as surf. And then there was a face, young, vulnerable, huge eyes, a tender mouth, pale, shining hair. He was a stranger, but Finrod, who found his greatest pleasures in being cruelly dominated, recognised the same desire in those great, ice-blue eyes. Not a Noldo, this youth; he reminded Finrod of the Sindar, or the Green Elves of Ossiriand he had met when he journeyed East, something in the piquant curves of his face...

 

“What is it?” Glorfindel asked again, and the vision faded like incense-smoke. Like the smoke, it left a lingering sweetness.

 

Finrod smiled. “I saw love,” he said.

 

Spiced- this is worth awards. I wish fanfic had its onw Booker because you would be a deserving winner. I am sure Esteliel is just blown away by this.



Author's Response: F


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 14:09 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Stranger From The Mountain ~

Oh YES!!! punches the air- Spiced at her BEST- a most deeply thrilling and glorious Glorfindel and an as yet rather lovely and not quite finished Finrod- there is a lovely sexual niavety, innocance almost in spite of THAT NIGHT! (oh my) because of inexperience and the hint that he is submissive in the way that you have Bainalph. Beautifully written as always but I think not a word, not an image out of place, each one carefully and fabulously depicted- like a small jewel each scene- so very visually stunning.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading, Ziggy :) Yes, Finrod is definitely inexperienced through the majority of this fic, but knows what he wants, and Glorfindel showed him.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 1:14 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~

Wow.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2015 20:15 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
I really enjoyed this.
I sometimes feel Finrod can be a bit bland , at least until his dramatic ,( but rather futile ) death. He is almost too nice and friendly. It makes sense there is a more passionate Finrod lurking below a political mask.
I like the idea of Glorfindel being a Vanya and Ingwe's son. That all fits nicely into place in my mind. He certainly looks like a Vanya and must get his powerful presence from somewhere. I did wonder if he really could have crossed the ice and been undiscovered until the end.
It was gripping to read and carried me along to the end. Until now I hadn't given any thought to the fact these two were both the elves we know to have been reborn quickly and that link between them. Surely it can't have been random!! Well it's nice to think it wasn't!

Author's Response: I never felt like writing Finrod until I shipped him with Celegorm in Magnificat. Some people do seem to write him as almost saintly, but I believe there was more to him under that :)

Thank you for your kind comments; I am so pleased you enjoyed reading.


You must login () to review.