| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13822
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
Shout Archive


Reviews For House of Princes

Name: PoppyMarie (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2015 7:31 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
You did an amazing job of capturing the Helcarax


Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2015 0:18 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
Lovely!! I love your Noldor. And were is this Fandom Stocking archive and how can I get access to it?

Author's Response: Thank you, Nash. The collection is here
, and it's multi-fandom, so not just Tolkien. They're removed on the 25th Jan, I think.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 14:39 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~

I have to say, logically and tactically in EVERY sense Feanor made a mistake in leaving Fingolfin behond and it could only be petty jealousy- 'he's MY dad and you're not avenging him!' but why bother rousing the Noldor in the first place? Or it was a test of Fingolfin? Or he was splitting up Nelyo and Findekano (which I may explore another time:) )

 

Ecthelion, all obsidian and white-ice,

urgh slaver drool. Neve rthough much about him until now...

 

And these wonderful glimpses of foresight that layer the text, give such richness so it is not merely the present but peers through time, links the past and the future and gives resonance to the present deeds- just such very very good writing.

 “You are generous, Finrod. Be wary of such generosity in times to come. And be wary, too, of the sons of Fëanor.”

 

Finrod felt his mouth draw into a taut line.

“Is this another prophecy you will not speak of?” he asked, then: “I doubt I will have aught to do with the Fëanorions.” Some of them had been his friends in Valinor: Maedhros, Maglor, Celegorm. Did that matter now? “Fingolfin means to bring them to account.”

 

“Unexpected things may happen in war,” Glorfindel said quietly. “And you — we — all face the same enemy. But the Oath binds them tighter than any kinship save the blood between them. Remember it.”

 

Finrod nodded. He knew it. “I will.”

 

Sorrow flashed and vanished in Glorfindel's eyes like a falling star. They walked out into darkness and firelight and a wind blowing now, from the South.

 

 

 

I love this stroyline- I was thinknig we were in for another wonderful epic but I dont feel cheated. Your understnading on Ingwe motivation and his freeziong is very beleivable and takes me form hostility to sympathy for him- and yes, he will be somethin to see in battle indeed!

But this is a great moment- underlining the lonliness, the loss and the huge impact of the Return on Valinor. Hard to quite imagine how everyone who remeained will cope with the return of these magnificant, experienced, fiery Exiles- 

Finrod did not know how he appeared at that moment, but Glorfindel told him later: “So beautiful, so very fine. And in your eyes the stamp of anguish and rage and life lived we Exiles alone have earned.” He did not expect that Glorfindel would look like a man shot by an arrow from hiding, nor that he would bow as to a king, before long strides took him to stand before Finrod.

 

But this ending -i'm afraid- had me in tears, for Glorfindel and the change in him (and now I htink it will be from ALITE I suppose because this is for Esteliel) and for Finrod because Glorfindel is clearly not his soul:

He saw how Glorfindel's name and fame began to weigh on him as the years turned, and he grieved, for Glorfindel changed. His brightness did not diminish, but he lost something: the compassion that had carried a frightened youth off the Helcaraxë, the nobility that had faced a Balrog, the generosity of that sacrifice.

 

“What do you see?” He heard the question, could not answer. The images pounded into his mind, relentless as surf. And then there was a face, young, vulnerable, huge eyes, a tender mouth, pale, shining hair. He was a stranger, but Finrod, who found his greatest pleasures in being cruelly dominated, recognised the same desire in those great, ice-blue eyes. Not a Noldo, this youth; he reminded Finrod of the Sindar, or the Green Elves of Ossiriand he had met when he journeyed East, something in the piquant curves of his face...

 

“What is it?” Glorfindel asked again, and the vision faded like incense-smoke. Like the smoke, it left a lingering sweetness.

 

Finrod smiled. “I saw love,” he said.

 

Spiced- this is worth awards. I wish fanfic had its onw Booker because you would be a deserving winner. I am sure Esteliel is just blown away by this.



Author's Response: F


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 14:09 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Stranger From The Mountain ~

Oh YES!!! punches the air- Spiced at her BEST- a most deeply thrilling and glorious Glorfindel and an as yet rather lovely and not quite finished Finrod- there is a lovely sexual niavety, innocance almost in spite of THAT NIGHT! (oh my) because of inexperience and the hint that he is submissive in the way that you have Bainalph. Beautifully written as always but I think not a word, not an image out of place, each one carefully and fabulously depicted- like a small jewel each scene- so very visually stunning.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading, Ziggy :) Yes, Finrod is definitely inexperienced through the majority of this fic, but knows what he wants, and Glorfindel showed him.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 1:14 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~

Wow.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2015 20:15 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
I really enjoyed this.
I sometimes feel Finrod can be a bit bland , at least until his dramatic ,( but rather futile ) death. He is almost too nice and friendly. It makes sense there is a more passionate Finrod lurking below a political mask.
I like the idea of Glorfindel being a Vanya and Ingwe's son. That all fits nicely into place in my mind. He certainly looks like a Vanya and must get his powerful presence from somewhere. I did wonder if he really could have crossed the ice and been undiscovered until the end.
It was gripping to read and carried me along to the end. Until now I hadn't given any thought to the fact these two were both the elves we know to have been reborn quickly and that link between them. Surely it can't have been random!! Well it's nice to think it wasn't!

Author's Response: I never felt like writing Finrod until I shipped him with Celegorm in Magnificat. Some people do seem to write him as almost saintly, but I believe there was more to him under that :)

Thank you for your kind comments; I am so pleased you enjoyed reading.


You must login () to review.