| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The encounter by FirstAmazon General Audiences
He made his way blindly deep into the forest, following his ears and his eyes, toward that which lured him madly. The nightingale...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...
The King's Scribe by Narya General Audiences
Three Hobbits come to Gondor bearing a precious artefact. Their guide is a dark-haired Elf who is more than he seems.
Wine Cometh Before War by KimicThranduilion Teen
Thranduil is a sloppy drunk; Oropher admires his family and waxes philosophical. The Queen is done with them both.
Legolas in Esgaroth by ziggy General Audiences
The story of Esgaroth in which Legolas disgraces himself, but enjoys himself immensely. Ch9: In which Legolas shows his true...
Into Darkness Fell His Star by Narya General Audiences
A bard of AnnĂºminas cannot find the right melody for his song - but help is waiting in the shadows.Written for Back to Middle-earth...
Trials of Revision by mangacrack Explicit
Tuor falls in love with the Prince instead of the Princess and Idril betrays Gondolin.

Site Info

Members: 504
Series: 95
Stories: 1812
Chapters: 9159
Word count: 28047601
Authors: 144
Reviews: 17034
Reviewers: 228
Newest Member: XiaoQing1o
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
04/05/20 01:24 am
I hope everybody is safe and well.
Narya
04/05/20 01:24 am
Aww, ziggy, thank you! (I am so behind on your fics, I'm really sorry.)
ziggy
04/04/20 11:15 am
And I was excited to see YOU had posted, Narya. A beautiful piece of writing -reminded me of my first reading of LOTR.
Narya
04/03/20 10:25 pm
Oooh, Mangacrack, I'm excited to see you've updated!! I will save that to read over the weekend :D
Narya
04/03/20 10:25 pm
Happy Friday, peeps!
Spiced Wine
04/02/20 02:56 pm
Hello and welcome, XiaoQing1o
Fadesintothewest
04/02/20 04:09 am
Hi Narya!! Good to hear from folks!
Narya
04/01/20 09:24 pm
And hi, Fadesintothewest, good to see you!
Narya
04/01/20 09:24 pm
Welcome, XiaoQing1o :)
Spiced Wine
03/31/20 10:16 am
Yes, the health workers all across the world are absolute heroes!
Shout Archive


Reviews For House of Princes

Name: PoppyMarie (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2015 7:31 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
You did an amazing job of capturing the Helcarax


Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2015 0:18 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
Lovely!! I love your Noldor. And were is this Fandom Stocking archive and how can I get access to it?

Author's Response: Thank you, Nash. The collection is here
, and it's multi-fandom, so not just Tolkien. They're removed on the 25th Jan, I think.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 14:39 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~

I have to say, logically and tactically in EVERY sense Feanor made a mistake in leaving Fingolfin behond and it could only be petty jealousy- 'he's MY dad and you're not avenging him!' but why bother rousing the Noldor in the first place? Or it was a test of Fingolfin? Or he was splitting up Nelyo and Findekano (which I may explore another time:) )

 

Ecthelion, all obsidian and white-ice,

urgh slaver drool. Neve rthough much about him until now...

 

And these wonderful glimpses of foresight that layer the text, give such richness so it is not merely the present but peers through time, links the past and the future and gives resonance to the present deeds- just such very very good writing.

 “You are generous, Finrod. Be wary of such generosity in times to come. And be wary, too, of the sons of Fëanor.”

 

Finrod felt his mouth draw into a taut line.

“Is this another prophecy you will not speak of?” he asked, then: “I doubt I will have aught to do with the Fëanorions.” Some of them had been his friends in Valinor: Maedhros, Maglor, Celegorm. Did that matter now? “Fingolfin means to bring them to account.”

 

“Unexpected things may happen in war,” Glorfindel said quietly. “And you — we — all face the same enemy. But the Oath binds them tighter than any kinship save the blood between them. Remember it.”

 

Finrod nodded. He knew it. “I will.”

 

Sorrow flashed and vanished in Glorfindel's eyes like a falling star. They walked out into darkness and firelight and a wind blowing now, from the South.

 

 

 

I love this stroyline- I was thinknig we were in for another wonderful epic but I dont feel cheated. Your understnading on Ingwe motivation and his freeziong is very beleivable and takes me form hostility to sympathy for him- and yes, he will be somethin to see in battle indeed!

But this is a great moment- underlining the lonliness, the loss and the huge impact of the Return on Valinor. Hard to quite imagine how everyone who remeained will cope with the return of these magnificant, experienced, fiery Exiles- 

Finrod did not know how he appeared at that moment, but Glorfindel told him later: “So beautiful, so very fine. And in your eyes the stamp of anguish and rage and life lived we Exiles alone have earned.” He did not expect that Glorfindel would look like a man shot by an arrow from hiding, nor that he would bow as to a king, before long strides took him to stand before Finrod.

 

But this ending -i'm afraid- had me in tears, for Glorfindel and the change in him (and now I htink it will be from ALITE I suppose because this is for Esteliel) and for Finrod because Glorfindel is clearly not his soul:

He saw how Glorfindel's name and fame began to weigh on him as the years turned, and he grieved, for Glorfindel changed. His brightness did not diminish, but he lost something: the compassion that had carried a frightened youth off the Helcaraxë, the nobility that had faced a Balrog, the generosity of that sacrifice.

 

“What do you see?” He heard the question, could not answer. The images pounded into his mind, relentless as surf. And then there was a face, young, vulnerable, huge eyes, a tender mouth, pale, shining hair. He was a stranger, but Finrod, who found his greatest pleasures in being cruelly dominated, recognised the same desire in those great, ice-blue eyes. Not a Noldo, this youth; he reminded Finrod of the Sindar, or the Green Elves of Ossiriand he had met when he journeyed East, something in the piquant curves of his face...

 

“What is it?” Glorfindel asked again, and the vision faded like incense-smoke. Like the smoke, it left a lingering sweetness.

 

Finrod smiled. “I saw love,” he said.

 

Spiced- this is worth awards. I wish fanfic had its onw Booker because you would be a deserving winner. I am sure Esteliel is just blown away by this.



Author's Response: F


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 14:09 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Stranger From The Mountain ~

Oh YES!!! punches the air- Spiced at her BEST- a most deeply thrilling and glorious Glorfindel and an as yet rather lovely and not quite finished Finrod- there is a lovely sexual niavety, innocance almost in spite of THAT NIGHT! (oh my) because of inexperience and the hint that he is submissive in the way that you have Bainalph. Beautifully written as always but I think not a word, not an image out of place, each one carefully and fabulously depicted- like a small jewel each scene- so very visually stunning.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading, Ziggy :) Yes, Finrod is definitely inexperienced through the majority of this fic, but knows what he wants, and Glorfindel showed him.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 1:14 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~

Wow.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2015 20:15 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
I really enjoyed this.
I sometimes feel Finrod can be a bit bland , at least until his dramatic ,( but rather futile ) death. He is almost too nice and friendly. It makes sense there is a more passionate Finrod lurking below a political mask.
I like the idea of Glorfindel being a Vanya and Ingwe's son. That all fits nicely into place in my mind. He certainly looks like a Vanya and must get his powerful presence from somewhere. I did wonder if he really could have crossed the ice and been undiscovered until the end.
It was gripping to read and carried me along to the end. Until now I hadn't given any thought to the fact these two were both the elves we know to have been reborn quickly and that link between them. Surely it can't have been random!! Well it's nice to think it wasn't!

Author's Response: I never felt like writing Finrod until I shipped him with Celegorm in Magnificat. Some people do seem to write him as almost saintly, but I believe there was more to him under that :)

Thank you for your kind comments; I am so pleased you enjoyed reading.


You must login () to review.