| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Magnificent Faerie Advent Calendar 2018 by cheekybeak Teen
It’s that time again. What is in store for us when Aragorn drags half of Minas Tirith to Imladris for Yule? 
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Borderlands by Marchwriter General Audiences
Better, Nellas said to herself and the trees who listened, to remain apart from Men. Better so than to become entangled in...
Be All My Sins Remembered by Marchwriter Teen
Wisdom is hard bought — more often by bitter experience than any sort of grace. While hunting in the wilderlands of Beleriand...
Oasis by Marchwriter Mature
On the verge of perishing in the desert after a fruitless search, a determined Elrohir locates a caravan of Easterlings...
West of the Dark East of the Sun by Marchwriter Teen
Determined to clear Ithilien of the enemy, Faramir is forced to decide the fate of a stranger trespassing in Gondor's realm.
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1696
Chapters: 8660
Word count: 26377532
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16291
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
12/16/18 01:24 am
Thank you for that Spiced! It sounds really intriguing. A great Christmas present. :)
Spiced Wine
12/15/18 10:19 pm
I have the paperbacks as I don’t like Kindle too much
Spiced Wine
12/15/18 10:19 pm
Path of a Novice and Road of a Warrior by R.K. Lander — it will be a trilogy
Gabriel
12/15/18 09:52 pm
Wow! Congratulations to Alpha Ori, Spiced! I didn't even know she'd written a book. Good for her! Here's hoping she wins many more. What's the name of her book(s)?
Spiced Wine
12/15/18 07:23 pm
Alpha Ori’s won a Best Indy Book Award in Fantasy and Paranormal! So very proud of her!
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/15/18 05:36 pm
It was lovely, Ziggy. Can't believe we are 10 days from Christmas already! Ch 15 posted!
ziggy
12/15/18 02:31 pm
Sounds lush, Nelya- I have just taken my horses out in the pouring rain and wind for a quick zip round the lanes-we're all soaked! But happy.
Spiced Wine
12/15/18 12:32 pm
That sounds delightful on a foggy and chilly day!
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/15/18 02:54 am
happy Friday all! Thick fog and chilly here today so I am curled up with a cup of tea and a fire in the fireplace. And my favorite pudding so I am a happy girl. Wishing you all happy weekends!
Narya
12/14/18 01:54 pm
Happy Friday :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For House of Princes

Name: PoppyMarie (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2015 7:31 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
You did an amazing job of capturing the Helcarax


Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2015 0:18 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
Lovely!! I love your Noldor. And were is this Fandom Stocking archive and how can I get access to it?

Author's Response: Thank you, Nash. The collection is here
, and it's multi-fandom, so not just Tolkien. They're removed on the 25th Jan, I think.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 14:39 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~

I have to say, logically and tactically in EVERY sense Feanor made a mistake in leaving Fingolfin behond and it could only be petty jealousy- 'he's MY dad and you're not avenging him!' but why bother rousing the Noldor in the first place? Or it was a test of Fingolfin? Or he was splitting up Nelyo and Findekano (which I may explore another time:) )

 

Ecthelion, all obsidian and white-ice,

urgh slaver drool. Neve rthough much about him until now...

 

And these wonderful glimpses of foresight that layer the text, give such richness so it is not merely the present but peers through time, links the past and the future and gives resonance to the present deeds- just such very very good writing.

 “You are generous, Finrod. Be wary of such generosity in times to come. And be wary, too, of the sons of Fëanor.”

 

Finrod felt his mouth draw into a taut line.

“Is this another prophecy you will not speak of?” he asked, then: “I doubt I will have aught to do with the Fëanorions.” Some of them had been his friends in Valinor: Maedhros, Maglor, Celegorm. Did that matter now? “Fingolfin means to bring them to account.”

 

“Unexpected things may happen in war,” Glorfindel said quietly. “And you — we — all face the same enemy. But the Oath binds them tighter than any kinship save the blood between them. Remember it.”

 

Finrod nodded. He knew it. “I will.”

 

Sorrow flashed and vanished in Glorfindel's eyes like a falling star. They walked out into darkness and firelight and a wind blowing now, from the South.

 

 

 

I love this stroyline- I was thinknig we were in for another wonderful epic but I dont feel cheated. Your understnading on Ingwe motivation and his freeziong is very beleivable and takes me form hostility to sympathy for him- and yes, he will be somethin to see in battle indeed!

But this is a great moment- underlining the lonliness, the loss and the huge impact of the Return on Valinor. Hard to quite imagine how everyone who remeained will cope with the return of these magnificant, experienced, fiery Exiles- 

Finrod did not know how he appeared at that moment, but Glorfindel told him later: “So beautiful, so very fine. And in your eyes the stamp of anguish and rage and life lived we Exiles alone have earned.” He did not expect that Glorfindel would look like a man shot by an arrow from hiding, nor that he would bow as to a king, before long strides took him to stand before Finrod.

 

But this ending -i'm afraid- had me in tears, for Glorfindel and the change in him (and now I htink it will be from ALITE I suppose because this is for Esteliel) and for Finrod because Glorfindel is clearly not his soul:

He saw how Glorfindel's name and fame began to weigh on him as the years turned, and he grieved, for Glorfindel changed. His brightness did not diminish, but he lost something: the compassion that had carried a frightened youth off the Helcaraxë, the nobility that had faced a Balrog, the generosity of that sacrifice.

 

“What do you see?” He heard the question, could not answer. The images pounded into his mind, relentless as surf. And then there was a face, young, vulnerable, huge eyes, a tender mouth, pale, shining hair. He was a stranger, but Finrod, who found his greatest pleasures in being cruelly dominated, recognised the same desire in those great, ice-blue eyes. Not a Noldo, this youth; he reminded Finrod of the Sindar, or the Green Elves of Ossiriand he had met when he journeyed East, something in the piquant curves of his face...

 

“What is it?” Glorfindel asked again, and the vision faded like incense-smoke. Like the smoke, it left a lingering sweetness.

 

Finrod smiled. “I saw love,” he said.

 

Spiced- this is worth awards. I wish fanfic had its onw Booker because you would be a deserving winner. I am sure Esteliel is just blown away by this.



Author's Response: F


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 14:09 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Stranger From The Mountain ~

Oh YES!!! punches the air- Spiced at her BEST- a most deeply thrilling and glorious Glorfindel and an as yet rather lovely and not quite finished Finrod- there is a lovely sexual niavety, innocance almost in spite of THAT NIGHT! (oh my) because of inexperience and the hint that he is submissive in the way that you have Bainalph. Beautifully written as always but I think not a word, not an image out of place, each one carefully and fabulously depicted- like a small jewel each scene- so very visually stunning.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading, Ziggy :) Yes, Finrod is definitely inexperienced through the majority of this fic, but knows what he wants, and Glorfindel showed him.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 1:14 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~

Wow.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2015 20:15 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
I really enjoyed this.
I sometimes feel Finrod can be a bit bland , at least until his dramatic ,( but rather futile ) death. He is almost too nice and friendly. It makes sense there is a more passionate Finrod lurking below a political mask.
I like the idea of Glorfindel being a Vanya and Ingwe's son. That all fits nicely into place in my mind. He certainly looks like a Vanya and must get his powerful presence from somewhere. I did wonder if he really could have crossed the ice and been undiscovered until the end.
It was gripping to read and carried me along to the end. Until now I hadn't given any thought to the fact these two were both the elves we know to have been reborn quickly and that link between them. Surely it can't have been random!! Well it's nice to think it wasn't!

Author's Response: I never felt like writing Finrod until I shipped him with Celegorm in Magnificat. Some people do seem to write him as almost saintly, but I believe there was more to him under that :)

Thank you for your kind comments; I am so pleased you enjoyed reading.


You must login () to review.