| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Light of a Thousand Stars by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas returns home from patrol in the South to find his Father's stronghold drenched in sadness. Prequel to "Darkness in...
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Thranduil arrives with help The...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Mature
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
Danger in Ithilien by Linda Hoyland Mature
An early morning ride has dire consequences for Faramir.

Site Info

Members: 466
Series: 78
Stories: 1554
Chapters: 7909
Word count: 23496884
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13905
Reviewers: 213
Newest Member: LaurengeBleue
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 7
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
04/22/17 01:23 am
Has anyone heard anything else from Spiced lately?
Ysilme
04/17/17 11:36 am
Big hugs to you, Spiced, I hope you're already a bit better! ***hugs***
Alquien
04/17/17 04:38 am
Hope you are feeling better now Spiced. *hugs*
ziggy
04/16/17 01:40 am
So glad to see you back, Spiced:x
Spiced Wine
04/15/17 09:30 am
Thank you, my loves. I hope you all have a lovely Easter
Yseult
04/15/17 07:22 am
Oh, Spiced! Sending you lots of good thoughts and vibes for a speedy recovery. Hugs!
Gabriel
04/14/17 10:04 am
Hi there, Cheekybeak, great to see there's another Kiwi out there too.
Naledi
04/14/17 08:50 am
Glad you're okay, too, Gabriel!
cheekybeak
04/14/17 08:38 am
Oh! Gabriel, another kiwi. Hi!
Gabriel
04/14/17 04:00 am
Thanks for thinking of us all in nz, Naledi, we're good.
Shout Archive


Reviews For House of Princes

Name: PoppyMarie (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2015 7:31 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
You did an amazing job of capturing the Helcarax


Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2015 0:18 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
Lovely!! I love your Noldor. And were is this Fandom Stocking archive and how can I get access to it?

Author's Response: Thank you, Nash. The collection is here
, and it's multi-fandom, so not just Tolkien. They're removed on the 25th Jan, I think.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 14:39 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~

I have to say, logically and tactically in EVERY sense Feanor made a mistake in leaving Fingolfin behond and it could only be petty jealousy- 'he's MY dad and you're not avenging him!' but why bother rousing the Noldor in the first place? Or it was a test of Fingolfin? Or he was splitting up Nelyo and Findekano (which I may explore another time:) )

 

Ecthelion, all obsidian and white-ice,

urgh slaver drool. Neve rthough much about him until now...

 

And these wonderful glimpses of foresight that layer the text, give such richness so it is not merely the present but peers through time, links the past and the future and gives resonance to the present deeds- just such very very good writing.

 “You are generous, Finrod. Be wary of such generosity in times to come. And be wary, too, of the sons of Fëanor.”

 

Finrod felt his mouth draw into a taut line.

“Is this another prophecy you will not speak of?” he asked, then: “I doubt I will have aught to do with the Fëanorions.” Some of them had been his friends in Valinor: Maedhros, Maglor, Celegorm. Did that matter now? “Fingolfin means to bring them to account.”

 

“Unexpected things may happen in war,” Glorfindel said quietly. “And you — we — all face the same enemy. But the Oath binds them tighter than any kinship save the blood between them. Remember it.”

 

Finrod nodded. He knew it. “I will.”

 

Sorrow flashed and vanished in Glorfindel's eyes like a falling star. They walked out into darkness and firelight and a wind blowing now, from the South.

 

 

 

I love this stroyline- I was thinknig we were in for another wonderful epic but I dont feel cheated. Your understnading on Ingwe motivation and his freeziong is very beleivable and takes me form hostility to sympathy for him- and yes, he will be somethin to see in battle indeed!

But this is a great moment- underlining the lonliness, the loss and the huge impact of the Return on Valinor. Hard to quite imagine how everyone who remeained will cope with the return of these magnificant, experienced, fiery Exiles- 

Finrod did not know how he appeared at that moment, but Glorfindel told him later: “So beautiful, so very fine. And in your eyes the stamp of anguish and rage and life lived we Exiles alone have earned.” He did not expect that Glorfindel would look like a man shot by an arrow from hiding, nor that he would bow as to a king, before long strides took him to stand before Finrod.

 

But this ending -i'm afraid- had me in tears, for Glorfindel and the change in him (and now I htink it will be from ALITE I suppose because this is for Esteliel) and for Finrod because Glorfindel is clearly not his soul:

He saw how Glorfindel's name and fame began to weigh on him as the years turned, and he grieved, for Glorfindel changed. His brightness did not diminish, but he lost something: the compassion that had carried a frightened youth off the Helcaraxë, the nobility that had faced a Balrog, the generosity of that sacrifice.

 

“What do you see?” He heard the question, could not answer. The images pounded into his mind, relentless as surf. And then there was a face, young, vulnerable, huge eyes, a tender mouth, pale, shining hair. He was a stranger, but Finrod, who found his greatest pleasures in being cruelly dominated, recognised the same desire in those great, ice-blue eyes. Not a Noldo, this youth; he reminded Finrod of the Sindar, or the Green Elves of Ossiriand he had met when he journeyed East, something in the piquant curves of his face...

 

“What is it?” Glorfindel asked again, and the vision faded like incense-smoke. Like the smoke, it left a lingering sweetness.

 

Finrod smiled. “I saw love,” he said.

 

Spiced- this is worth awards. I wish fanfic had its onw Booker because you would be a deserving winner. I am sure Esteliel is just blown away by this.



Author's Response: F


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 14:09 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Stranger From The Mountain ~

Oh YES!!! punches the air- Spiced at her BEST- a most deeply thrilling and glorious Glorfindel and an as yet rather lovely and not quite finished Finrod- there is a lovely sexual niavety, innocance almost in spite of THAT NIGHT! (oh my) because of inexperience and the hint that he is submissive in the way that you have Bainalph. Beautifully written as always but I think not a word, not an image out of place, each one carefully and fabulously depicted- like a small jewel each scene- so very visually stunning.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading, Ziggy :) Yes, Finrod is definitely inexperienced through the majority of this fic, but knows what he wants, and Glorfindel showed him.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2015 1:14 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~

Wow.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2015 20:15 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Rising Sun ~
I really enjoyed this.
I sometimes feel Finrod can be a bit bland , at least until his dramatic ,( but rather futile ) death. He is almost too nice and friendly. It makes sense there is a more passionate Finrod lurking below a political mask.
I like the idea of Glorfindel being a Vanya and Ingwe's son. That all fits nicely into place in my mind. He certainly looks like a Vanya and must get his powerful presence from somewhere. I did wonder if he really could have crossed the ice and been undiscovered until the end.
It was gripping to read and carried me along to the end. Until now I hadn't given any thought to the fact these two were both the elves we know to have been reborn quickly and that link between them. Surely it can't have been random!! Well it's nice to think it wasn't!

Author's Response: I never felt like writing Finrod until I shipped him with Celegorm in Magnificat. Some people do seem to write him as almost saintly, but I believe there was more to him under that :)

Thank you for your kind comments; I am so pleased you enjoyed reading.


You must login () to review.