| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Mature
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ The Silence of Dust ~ by Spiced Wine Teen
Returning to Sören’s universe, Vanimórë decides to go to Sydney, Australia to hide from any who might...
Fragments from Middle-earth by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Ficlets of under 1000 words written for past BTMEM Challenges. They feature mostly Aragorn, Faramir, Halbarad and OCs
Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 89
Stories: 1734
Chapters: 8801
Word count: 26791793
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16583
Reviewers: 220
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 13
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
04/21/19 08:28 pm
Tolkien Reverse Summer Bang Sign-up’s now Open. Please see News for the links!
Alquien
04/18/19 11:55 pm
Praying for you, your dad and all of your family Nelya.
Narya
04/18/19 11:03 pm
All the best, Nelya - I hope your Dad is able to go home tomorrow xxx
ziggy
04/18/19 05:59 pm
Ah, Nelya- so sorry to hear this. Hope all goes well and that he is home tomorrow- they wouldn't be saying that if they didn't think he was well enough.xx
Naledi
04/18/19 04:06 pm
I'm sorry to hear about your dad, Nelya. I hope he's able to go home soon xxx
Spiced Wine
04/18/19 10:26 am
I am so very sorry, Nelya. I will be thinking of you all, and I do hope he can come home.
Gabriel
04/18/19 09:22 am
Oh my gosh! Nelya! I am so sorry about your Dad, I hope his strength returns and he is able to go home tomorrow. My thoughts are with you all. :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/18/19 04:32 am
and my mom was keeping me hopping a bit before he got ill.
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/18/19 04:32 am
I have been quite unproductive recently as far as fic goes. My dad's in the hospital currently with heart failure although good news is he may go home tomorrow!
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/18/19 04:31 am
Ziggy I found Dawn's review quite intriguing and I'm interested in seeing the film. I am also hyped about the Amazon series. Perhaps too much so!
Shout Archive



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2015 13:13 · For: Elrond loses his Interesting.

You're indignation  is so amusing! It needs ot be read aloud really- such a strong authorial voiuce- and did I say indignant!



Author's Response: This chapter was written for my husband. He is the one who quit reading LOTR at the Council of Elrond and he is still really annoyed about it. He has never read a word past there. He went to the movies because I dragged him with me but he made sure he didn't like them. The Council of Elrond has traumatised him SO much the whole rest of the book is off limits to him! Such a shame, the Hobbit is his favourite childhood book..... It's all Elrond's fault!!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2015 20:34 · For: Elrond loses his Interesting.
Hahaha! This is just ace :) oh, that Council scene. The movie actually didi it better - although I did get thoroughly sick of reading the words "strangers from distant lands, friends of old" in every Fellowship fic going for about five years.

(Also, to be fair, if Elrond had proclaimed a Council, it's a safe bet that Sauron wouldn't have let all the envoys and delegates go trekking peacefully across Middle-earth. He'd want to know what was happening, maybe kidnap a few of them, or send some spies in - maybe there's a story there!)

Author's Response: Oh that's a great idea! Sauron chasing his tail trying to find out exactly what Elrond was up to...... The movie scene WAS better. Well it was much shorter for starters! Poor Elrond, he just comes across as so boring....to me anyway, and he really, really shouldn't.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2015 20:30 · For: Aragorn and Legolas
This is great! I never thought of it this way, but it made me laugh :)

Author's Response: Thank you! This is my sore point. Poor Aragorn, I know I am a bit tough on him!


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2015 22:16 · For: Elrond loses his Interesting.

I have never heard this about the Council of Elrond!  Granted, I haven't actually read the council in...a long ass time (expect for the bits with Boromir, I love him, the poor dear). 

But yeah, Elrond has all this going for him, really he should be like the most badass character in the Third Age (except for Glorifndel of course), and yet my interest in him starts taking a plummet the minute lotr starts lol!  Poor Elrond, he's probably doing all kinds of fab things behind the scene.  Like, sure he healed Frodo's wound, but what we didn't know was that he was one of those riders going out to meet the Ringwaiths first!  Or we didn't hear about how he and Glorifndel totally rocked it during the Ring War and wiped the goblin populace in the Misty's down a few thousand little buggers lol!



Author's Response: This originated from my husband. The Council of Elrond killed LOTR for him, but I have heard others say the same. To tell the truth it is only now that I am reading the Silmarrilion that I am beginning to see how fascinating Elrond actually is. In the LOTR he is just Captain Boring and that's how I have always seen him. Now I don't get why. What happened?? It's like Tolkien just got sick of writing him or something??I don't get it!


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2015 15:06 · For: Elrond loses his Interesting.
Maybe the Valar want Elrond to chair one of their meetings when he arrives in Valinor and decided to prepare him for the job ahead of time?

Author's Response: OMG! You are right!! That must be it. Judging by the council of Elrond he would be a perfect Chair for Valar meetings. They would love him. The more time spent talking and not doing,the better. Wish I had thought of this!!!


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 04, 2015 22:36 · For: Aragorn and Legolas

This is so true.  I hadn't seen Aragon this way until I read Ziggy's writing of Aragon and Legolas' friendship, and it smacked me the face!  Aragorn just urrrg!  He was so inconsiderate to Legolas.  The Sea-longing, my god the Sea-longing!  Why did he ask Legolas to come with him on the Paths of the Dead after Galadriel's warning?  I mean, yes, I get he had a huge weight on his mind, but the guy is so often portrayed as Legolas' BFF, but he sure didn't act like one in the books.  And don't get me started on the Council of Elrond!

You write such truth, such truth :D



Author's Response: Oh I love Ziggy's writing of this. I think it's the first story I read that really drew attention to Aragorns neglect of Legolas during that time.There is a wonderful scene with Aragorn and Gimli after Legolas has been injured where Gimli really lets rip and tells Aragorn just what he thinks of him. I love it! And as for the council of Elrond.....yeah that was totally uncalled for! I am a movie Aragorn fan, I love him in the movies I think because he is more humble, more undecided and questioning of himself whereas Book Aragorn, to me comes across as a bit of an arrogant jerk a lot of the time.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 04, 2015 10:22 · For: Aragorn and Legolas

Exactly! The whole Paths of the Dead plan has always bothered me. Aragorn heard Galadriel's warning and he knows Gondor well, knows that the Paths would take Legolas close to the sea, but he never shows the least concern. Bastard!

And don't get me started on the whole Aragorn/Arwen thing.

But at least we can take comfort in one thought - Aragorn dies in the end and Legolas doesn't. Hahahaha!



Author's Response: Ha! Yes, Legolas's immortality means he wins out in the end! It is not the plan about the paths of the dead that upsets me so much, if that was what they had to do then so be it, as the fact Aragorn is just so completely unconcerned. I don't think he even once acknowledges Legolas's message or his sea longing. He just doesn't care!! Glad to know there is someone else who questions Aragorns wonderfulness out there!


You must login () to review.